Good Karma
A charming, heartfelt tale of love lost and regained in a gated community in Savannah, Georgia.After almost forty years in New Jersey, Catherine, Ralph, and their beloved Boston Terrier Karma are hitting the road, relocating to a gorgeous, serene island off the coast of Savannah, Georgia, where Catherine can work on her backhand and Ralph can hit the links. But upon their arrival in the Seven Oaks gated community, it becomes apparent that Catherine and Ralph’s visions of retirement couldn’t be more different. While Catherine is intrigued by their quirky neighbors, Ralph’s golf-and-poker routine seems to be interrupted only by his flirtations with their zealous real estate agent.As the pair drift further apart, Catherine cannot help but sense her marriage is at risk. Then, she meets recent widower Fred at the dog park. United by their dogs, they embark upon a friendship that could be something more—until she discovers that he’s not quite what he seems. As she sorts out fact from fiction and discovers what sorts of secrets might be hiding behind Seven Oaks’ pristine picket fences, she’ll have to make a decision affecting her future happiness and her chance at newfound love.

Good Karma Details

TitleGood Karma
Author
Formatebook
ReleaseJun 6th, 2017
PublisherHarper Paperbacks
ISBN0062659715
ISBN-139780062659712
Number of pages336 pages
Rating
GenreFiction, Womens Fiction, Chick Lit, Animals

Good Karma Review

  • Mary
    March 28, 2017
    You work hard your whole life with the goal being retirement in a nice place where you can enjoy life, your spouse, and keep doing the things you love. That’s what Catherine assumed would happen when she and her husband made the move south to a lovely gated community near Savannah. What she didn’t expect was that he would want to enjoy activities without her. Every day. She’s feeling ignored, uncared for, and lonely.Fred’s wife died a while ago. He’s wading through grief but trying to keep a foo You work hard your whole life with the goal being retirement in a nice place where you can enjoy life, your spouse, and keep doing the things you love. That’s what Catherine assumed would happen when she and her husband made the move south to a lovely gated community near Savannah. What she didn’t expect was that he would want to enjoy activities without her. Every day. She’s feeling ignored, uncared for, and lonely.Fred’s wife died a while ago. He’s wading through grief but trying to keep a foot in the day-to-day. His dog is the reason he goes out each day – mainly to the local dog park where he sees other community residents. He’s seventy-five and wondering if his best years are behind him. There are more characters who can relate to the same feelings as Catherine and Fred and they all intersect in unexpected ways at Seven Oaks.Good Karma is a quirky, poignant, entertaining novel that I enjoyed and think will strike a chord with readers of a certain age or readers looking for something a little different. *I received a book from the publisher in exchange for my honest review
    more
  • Amy
    February 16, 2017
    Loved this book! It was a great story with awesome characters, and wonderful dogs! So thankful to have won this book with a Goodreads giveaway! The characters are believable, the story doesn't revolve around sex, and is a well written story that will keep you reading. Lovely story about dogs and their people.
    more
  • Katelyn
    December 21, 2016
    Fun story about a couple that retires to a gated community in Savannah, Georgia. Catherine doesn't think Ralph appreciates her or their Boston Terrier Karma, and he seems to appreciate their young realtor with the low cut blouse a little too much. When Catherine meets the lovely widowed Fred and his Great Dane Sequoia, she feels a spark. Will she explore it or stay true to leaves-his-dishes-on-the-counter-Ralph? Quirky features include Catherine's friend Amity, a divorced English teacher who goe Fun story about a couple that retires to a gated community in Savannah, Georgia. Catherine doesn't think Ralph appreciates her or their Boston Terrier Karma, and he seems to appreciate their young realtor with the low cut blouse a little too much. When Catherine meets the lovely widowed Fred and his Great Dane Sequoia, she feels a spark. Will she explore it or stay true to leaves-his-dishes-on-the-counter-Ralph? Quirky features include Catherine's friend Amity, a divorced English teacher who goes "creeping" into houses while people are on vacation to briefly live their lifestyles and water their forgotten houseplants.
    more
  • Laurie
    May 4, 2017
    Loved this book! Christina's characters are funny and engaging. What a charming book to escape to and meet some quirky folks. Also, loved the Dog Park being part of the story.
  • Judy Fogarty
    June 26, 2017
    In GOOD KARMA, a zany ensemble cast wrestles with retirement, loss, loneliness and love, not at an exotic (Marigold) hotel but at a gated golf community in Savannah. The fun begins early on at the community's dog park and lasts until the final pages of this novel, rich in hilarity and heart. As New Jersey transplants Catherine and Ralph settle into retirement, their childless marriage grows more colorless with every round of golf he plays and every wink he gives their brassy blonde realtor. Cath In GOOD KARMA, a zany ensemble cast wrestles with retirement, loss, loneliness and love, not at an exotic (Marigold) hotel but at a gated golf community in Savannah. The fun begins early on at the community's dog park and lasts until the final pages of this novel, rich in hilarity and heart. As New Jersey transplants Catherine and Ralph settle into retirement, their childless marriage grows more colorless with every round of golf he plays and every wink he gives their brassy blonde realtor. Catherine soon discovers that what she wants is to matter—to someone other than Karma, her Boston terrier. Meanwhile, a few streets over, newly widowed Fred can't seem to get on with his life. He senses his wife's spirit everywhere, and his Great Dane, Sequoia, forever waiting at the sliding glass door, does too. Real life. Real people. But these characters have a comic edge. Catherine dresses her "baby," Karma, in colorful hats. Nostalgic Fred bemoans life with the "interweb." And there are totally outrageous characters too: Ida Blue Childs, a hefty pet psychic who wears a flowing caftan and Lady Danger lipstick even when sitting at home with Dr. Phil; Amity, a lonely woman who breaks into houses to "live other people's lives"; and Mr. Peabody, an alligator who is always lurking in one of the community's lagoons.It's Karma and Sequoia who bring disillusioned Catherine and romantic Fred together to see if love can really be lovelier the second time around. And it's GOOD KARMA—tender, hilarious and big-hearted—that will make Christina Kelly an author to remember and to thank for a sharp, sparkling read.
    more
  • Kathleen Gray
    June 9, 2017
    How nice to read a well written novel about mature people who are facing change. Kelly is a terrific storyteller and has created a wonderful highly believable world in the gated community in Savannah. Catherine and Ralph thought they had the same expectations for retirement but those of us who have been there know how sometimes what we say and what we think and what reality becomes are different. Not bad, just a matter of adjustment. Fred is interesting too (no spoilers). Karma the dog- well- pe How nice to read a well written novel about mature people who are facing change. Kelly is a terrific storyteller and has created a wonderful highly believable world in the gated community in Savannah. Catherine and Ralph thought they had the same expectations for retirement but those of us who have been there know how sometimes what we say and what we think and what reality becomes are different. Not bad, just a matter of adjustment. Fred is interesting too (no spoilers). Karma the dog- well- perhaps the most important character of all. Thanks to edelweiss for the ARC. I really enjoyed this. It's a little different but it made me laugh more than once even as I sympathized with EVERYONE (including Karma!).
    more
  • Ann
    May 5, 2017
    This was an interesting story of people retiring from New Jersey to Georgia. Like so many couples they discover that they aren't quite as much in love as they once were. Thinking she'd be happy with her dog and year round tennis, Catherine finds she happier when her husband Ralph is at the club golfing. She meets Fred at the dog park and wonders if she should risk her marriage. This story has some laughs and giggles as it navigates the tough subject of infidelity and divorce.
    more
  • Nancy Brandon
    March 11, 2017
    You don't have to be a dog lover to love this book. Karma and Sequoia will warm your heart, and Ida Blue will have you giggling throughout her story. But the most charming element of the novel is the growing relationship between Catherine and Fred, who exhibit that thrill of new love often attributed to teenagers, but actually emergent any time two soul mates meet. Open or download this one as soon as you can! It's due out this summer.
    more
  • Tiffany Borne
    June 14, 2017
    I was not very intrigued by this book, and it took me a while to finish. Several times I thought about putting the book down, but can't leave a book unfinished. I felt the book took a while to get started, and by the time I found it started to get interesting, I had already lost interest. The ending of the book was nice, but the story line was just not for me. I think this book just did not suit my taste. I received this book from a good reads giveaway.
    more
  • Mimi Fintel
    June 28, 2017
    I really enjoyed this fluffy read. The setting was a gated community of primarily retired folks located on an island off the coast of Savannah, GA. The characters in the book are exactly that - characters! The characters you meet in the novel have lives that end up intersecting with one another. This would be a good summer read!
    more
  • Chris Conley
    June 20, 2017
    How refreshing to have a "romance" that features retired folks as the main characters!
  • Sandy Post
    June 28, 2017
    Enjoyed reading this book and getting to know the quirky characters. Also enjoyed the fact that they were older retired folks, the dogs and the setting. I would read this author again!
  • Denise Larson
    June 8, 2017
    This was a very fun read. There were interesting characters, plot twists and witty dialog. I can recommend this book to anyone who wants to be thoroughly amused for a few hours.
  • Christina Kelly
    December 28, 2016
Write a review