Dividing Eden (Dividing Eden, #1)
From the author of the New York Times bestselling Testing trilogy comes a sweeping new fantasy series, perfect for fans of Victoria Aveyard and Sarah J. Maas.Twins Carys and Andreus were never destined to rule Eden. With their older brother next in line to inherit the throne, the future of the kingdom was secure.But appearances—and rivals—can be deceiving. When Eden’s king and crown prince are killed by assassins, Eden desperately needs a monarch, but the line of succession is no longer clear. With a ruling council scheming to gain power, Carys and Andreus are faced with only one option—to take part in a Trial of Succession that will determine which one of them is worthy of ruling the kingdom.As sister and brother, Carys and Andreus have always kept each other safe—from their secrets, from the court, and from the monsters lurking in the mountains beyond the kingdom’s wall. But the Trial of Succession will test the bonds of trust and family.With their country and their hearts divided, Carys and Andreus will discover exactly what each will do to win the crown. How long before suspicion takes hold and the thirst for power leads to the ultimate betrayal?

Dividing Eden (Dividing Eden, #1) Details

TitleDividing Eden (Dividing Eden, #1)
Author
Formatebook
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJun 6th, 2017
PublisherHarperTeen
ISBN0062453866
ISBN-139780062453860
Number of pages336 pages
Rating
GenreFantasy, Young Adult

Dividing Eden (Dividing Eden, #1) Review

  • Sarah
    March 21, 2017
    (I received an advance copy of this book for free. Thanks to HarperCollins and Edelweiss.) “The council will create a series of trials for our prince and princess to participate in that will decide the true successor to the Throne of Light.” This was a YA fantasy story, about a set of twins forced to compete for the crown.I liked Carys, and I liked how much she looked out for her brother Andreus. She seemed to go above and beyond the call of duty to keep him safe and to keep his secret hidden, (I received an advance copy of this book for free. Thanks to HarperCollins and Edelweiss.) “The council will create a series of trials for our prince and princess to participate in that will decide the true successor to the Throne of Light.” This was a YA fantasy story, about a set of twins forced to compete for the crown.I liked Carys, and I liked how much she looked out for her brother Andreus. She seemed to go above and beyond the call of duty to keep him safe and to keep his secret hidden, and it was clear how much love she had for him. Andreus on the other hand seemed a little weak and easily swayed for me.The storyline in this was about Carys’ and Andreus’ father and older brother being killed, and the queen being unable to take the throne leaving twins Carys and Andreus as next in line to rule. However, because both had equal right to the throne, they had to take part in a Trial of Succession – fighting against each other to see who would who would be the next ruler, which was especially brutal because it pitted sibling against sibling, and because they had no other option. I liked how Carys tried to find a way for them both to survive the trials though, and continued to have her brother’s best interests at heart right the way through the book. I also thought the pace was pretty good, and I liked that things kept happening to keep the story interesting. The ending to this was quite eventful, and it will be interesting to see what happens in the next book.7 out of 10
    more
  • Caitlin
    April 23, 2017
    BUDDY READ WITH MY OTHER HALF, AMBER I haven't binge read a book in one sitting for a while. Something about this book had me so hooked and I honestly couldn't put it down. It was pretty much everything I expected and I'm so excited to see where this story goes! It had a lot of potential and I definitely recommend checking it out when it releases. The story itself was pretty cliche and straight forward - there's twin heirs to the throne after the rest of the royal family either dies or goes craz BUDDY READ WITH MY OTHER HALF, AMBER I haven't binge read a book in one sitting for a while. Something about this book had me so hooked and I honestly couldn't put it down. It was pretty much everything I expected and I'm so excited to see where this story goes! It had a lot of potential and I definitely recommend checking it out when it releases. The story itself was pretty cliche and straight forward - there's twin heirs to the throne after the rest of the royal family either dies or goes crazy and in order for one of them to be crowned, they have to go through a series of trials. There's a whole bunch of deceit and scheming and a whole shit tonne of politics which I absolutely loved. There's a hint of magic mixed in at the end and honestly this book just has so much potential. I have no idea if this will be a series or only a duology, but I'm excited to see what comes next. I'm 10/10 slacking on reviews at the moment and I don't even care anymore. Pick this book up when it comes out - it's pretty dang good. I received an ARC for review but that in no way influences my opinions
    more
  • Cait • A Page with a View
    January 31, 2017
    Release date: June 6, 20172.5 stars. I liked the idea of the story, but the actual execution was pretty underwhelming. Carys and Andreus are twins and both have a claim to the throne. A seer said that one of them would be cursed at birth and the other would be pure of spirit... and if the cursed child lived then the curse born with it would spread across the kingdom. Their mother wanted them both to live, though. But when (view spoiler)[the king and their older brother are killed and the queen g Release date: June 6, 20172.5 stars. I liked the idea of the story, but the actual execution was pretty underwhelming. Carys and Andreus are twins and both have a claim to the throne. A seer said that one of them would be cursed at birth and the other would be pure of spirit... and if the cursed child lived then the curse born with it would spread across the kingdom. Their mother wanted them both to live, though. But when (view spoiler)[the king and their older brother are killed and the queen goes mad, (hide spoiler)] one of them has to take the throne. Nobody was ever told which twin was born first and the rule of their kingdom says that if both of them have an equal claim, then they're both passed over and a new line is installed instead. Buuut the Book of Knowledge says that the Council of Elders can hold a series of public trials to measure "the claimants' abilities to uphold the seven virtues necessary to wield power and avoid the temptations elevation to the crown can bring." The story's told through the split POVs of both twins, neither of whom seemed very bright if they couldn't figure out what was going on the entire time. Plus, the story was super clear on how they grew up protecting each other, buuuut then suddenly someone's able to drive a wedge between them really easily?! That escalated quickly. And it was just painfully obvious who the traitor was. Most of the story felt like some awkward conversation between friends that you're part of yet can't really join in on because you weren't there... I don't know how else to explain it. Like I was listening to the whole thing but could never really connect with anything. Basically, the execution could have been a lot better. It was just a lot of infodump worldbuilding and then withholding information to build suspense or whatever.I really did like the general idea!! I obviously cared enough to keep reading the entire book. But the little bit of mystery at the end is nowhere near interesting enough to get me to tune into the sequel.Thank you to the publisher for sending me an ARC.
    more
  • Jasmine from How Useful It Is
    March 28, 2017
    About: Dividing Eden is a fiction novel written by Joelle Charbonneau. It will be published on 6/6/17 by Harper Teen, an imprint of Harper Collins, 336 pages. The genre is young adult fantasy. This book is intended for ages 13 and up, grades 8 and up. My Experience: I started reading Dividing Eden on 3/24/17 and finished it on 3/28/17. I enjoy reading this book. I like the start of it and the fantasy world. There were hints of magic toward the end of the book, but I wish there were more of it th About: Dividing Eden is a fiction novel written by Joelle Charbonneau. It will be published on 6/6/17 by Harper Teen, an imprint of Harper Collins, 336 pages. The genre is young adult fantasy. This book is intended for ages 13 and up, grades 8 and up. My Experience: I started reading Dividing Eden on 3/24/17 and finished it on 3/28/17. I enjoy reading this book. I like the start of it and the fantasy world. There were hints of magic toward the end of the book, but I wish there were more of it throughout the book. I do enjoy the lack of trust that requires Princess Carys and Prince Andreus to meet in secret for privacy and to seek secret passageways within the castle to avoid the guards. I like how the author introduces readers about the prince and princess each having their own secrets that they kept and slowly revealing it out. I like that this book brings in a new fantasy with the concept of windmills and the power to control the light for the kingdom and its citizens.This book has two point of views: Princess Carys and Prince Andreus, 17 years old twins where Princess Carys grows up protecting her brother Prince Andreus at all costs. They protect each other’s secrets and keep guard for each other. Their older brother Micah is the crowned King and often accompanied their father, King Ulron (Keeper of Virtues, Guardian of Light, Ruler of Eden) at court and out on the battlefield. The kingdom of Eden utilize windmills to provide light and believe in seers to foretold the future. Despite having a seer at the castle, seer Imogen failed to predict what’s to come. When Princess Carys and Prince Andreus found themselves having to compete against each other in sets of trials set by the high lords of Eden to take over the throne, they found their relationship is at risk. Concerns of who to trust and who is plotting against the throne are high risks.The plot, world building, and characters in this book are worth the read. I like Princess Carys. She questions and analyze situations. She’s a critical thinker. I’m not too fond for Prince Andreus much, despite him saving Max. I really like Errik and his witty conversations. I’m curious of what secrets Lord Garret and Errik have up their sleeves. I am looking forward to reading the sequel. The ending leave me in a bit of a cliffhanger. I could use a little bit more humor, magic, and a little bit more adrenaline rush due to the plotting and the secrets but overall, this book is worth the read and I do recommend it.Pro: secrets, who to trust, trials/challenges, good pacing, interesting plot, good ending twist, more than 1 POV, coverCon: not enough magic & adrenaline rush, xhelozi & adderton is weak in this storyI rate it 4.5 stars!***Disclaimer: Many thanks to the author Joelle Charbonneau, publisher Harper Teen, and Edelweiss for the opportunity to read and review. Please assured that my opinions are honest.xoxo, Jasmine at www.howusefulitis.wordpress.com
    more
  • Cookie
    February 9, 2017
    i'm intrigued but this line: "perfect for fans of Victoria Aveyard and Sarah J. Maas" sure as hell does not help. not every pitch needs to be to those authors.
  • Cindy ✩☽ Savage Queen ♔
    November 7, 2016
    From the BuzzBooks preview, I'm not sure if I am entirely sold on this just yet. But that's probably because I haven't gotten to see the brother-sister dynamic, which is really what I want to see. I love books that really show strong sibling relationships. Fingers crossed this is one of them. ---The cover and the synopsis have me interested
    more
  • Amber Robertson
    April 24, 2017
    ADDING THIS NOW WHILE I SPEAD THROUGH MY CURRENT READ BECAUSE IM DESPERATE TO READ THIS WITH MY SOULMATE CAITLIN.
  • Jaime (Two Chicks on Books)
    January 6, 2017
    I have been dying to read this since I first heard about it! I loved Joelle's Testing Trilogy and I was super excited to see that she was writing a fantasy! It was everything I hoped and more! I'm just sad I have to wait so long for the next book! The writing was fantastic, the characters complex and compelling, and the world building was amazing!!! Bravo Joelle!
    more
  • joey (thoughts and afterthoughts)
    May 20, 2017
    While I can say with certainty that I sped through the last 1/3 of the book, the first half is the boring type of info-dumping. It's necessary, yes, but I wish the world building could have been shown by example rather than the MCs stroking their gratuitous brains of theirs.The competition is what I expected The Crown's Game to be like; not some willy nilly "for my next trick" nonsense but actually life-and-death scenarios. And that's great. By the same merit, however, part of it was a bit misle While I can say with certainty that I sped through the last 1/3 of the book, the first half is the boring type of info-dumping. It's necessary, yes, but I wish the world building could have been shown by example rather than the MCs stroking their gratuitous brains of theirs.The competition is what I expected The Crown's Game to be like; not some willy nilly "for my next trick" nonsense but actually life-and-death scenarios. And that's great. By the same merit, however, part of it was a bit misleading and/or confusing because each "test" was based off the seven virtues and some of the challenges tested more than one. While part of me would be open to seeing one challenge per, I get why it was compacted into a few.The romance in this book is so meh, and Andreus, the guy MC, whom you get a POV for since it's dual first POV narrative, is guided by his princely dick. That's it. He's some brilliant light engineer to ward of baddies but his wit is no match for his dick and the love of his life. Expletives. Anyways, at least the female POV seemed well written (for now, let me dissect it later) as it concerns the use of substance/drugs as a coping mechanism.There's also this hilarious scene where:(view spoiler)[someone is dying and the assailant who delivers the killing blow demands the individual dying reasons for the WHY, and they're like "YOU KNOW NOTHING JON SNOW!!" (hide spoiler)]Silver lining: no one (character) is safe in this book.2? 2.5? 3? I haffff no idea.//Full review to come.
    more
  • Rachel Strolle
    May 16, 2017
    Basically THREE DARK CROWNS plus THE CROWNS GAME.
  • Alanna
    January 30, 2017
    Dividing Eden is the first in a new series by Joelle Charbonneau, author of the bestselling Testing Trilogy. Set to release on June 6th, 2017, Dividing Eden is an engaging new fantasy series, sure to be enjoyed by fans of Victoria Aveyard’s Red Queen series, among others. (DISCLAIMER: I received an advanced reader copy of Dividing Eden by Joelle Charbonneau from HarperTeen in exchange for an honest review).I wasn’t sure what the expect from Dividing Eden – the premise seemed a bit goofy to me, b Dividing Eden is the first in a new series by Joelle Charbonneau, author of the bestselling Testing Trilogy. Set to release on June 6th, 2017, Dividing Eden is an engaging new fantasy series, sure to be enjoyed by fans of Victoria Aveyard’s Red Queen series, among others. (DISCLAIMER: I received an advanced reader copy of Dividing Eden by Joelle Charbonneau from HarperTeen in exchange for an honest review).I wasn’t sure what the expect from Dividing Eden – the premise seemed a bit goofy to me, but I am always willing to give anything that qualifies at YA Fantasy a try. I am glad that I did, because Dividing Eden definitely impressed, despite minor flaws.What I Liked:As individuals, Carys and Andreus were well drawn, engaging characters, who, despite the constant comparison between them, maintained their individuality throughout the novel. The two begin fiercely loyal to one another, despite their secrets and resentment. Carys has spent her entire life defending her brother from the threat of a forgotten prophecy and a mysterious illness. Hardened by the hardships and punishments she has faced to keep her brother safe in a cruel household, Carys has few allies and even fewer friends, not to mention a dangerous addiction to a mysterious painkiller. For his part, Andreus has spent years hiding his illness for fear of a prophecy spoken to his mother before his birth, but unlike his sister, this secret has not hardened him. Andreus is a ladies man, with a dangerous attraction to his brother’s former fiance. He’s wickedly smart, but his illness limits his athleticism, putting him at risk from attacks at all sides, and at risk for exposure.The quick-paced action of the plot kept the story engaging. Carys and Andreus were constantly engaged in espionage, challenges and a battle of wills, making for an engrossing plot that simply flew by.In particular, the clandestine nature of the “villains” was very interesting to me – I liked that not everyone who had a hand in the death of the king and crown prince was revealed, leaving some lingering questions for the next book in this series!What I Didn’t Like:The dissolution of Carys and Andreus’s relationship – while necessary to the plot, the reasons behind the dissolution of their relationship felt goofy and forced, especially after Charbonneau had previous built the twins relationship up to be some unshakable. And then has the simplest jealousy shake it to its core, as if it never had any stability in the first place (which it must have, for the two to do the things they had done for one another).The Trial of Succession between the twins felt overly contrived and goofy – especially the first competition. I don’t know what I expected, but that wasn’t it.Overall Verdict:Dividing Eden by Joelle Charbonneau is a solid, well-written start to a new series from a strong author. The plot was engaging and fast-paced, making for an interesting read. Carys and Andreus were strong protagonists, balanced by equally powerful antagonists veiled in shadows. Overall, Dividing Eden is definitely worth the read (3.5/5).You can check out more of my reviews at One Page at a Time Books
    more
  • Miranda
    January 12, 2017
    I received an ARC in return for a fair review.Cyrus and Andreus' world is turned upside down when their father and brother are killed in an attack, but grief is not the only challenge they face. They must now compete against one another for the crown. Stakes are high and danger is rampant as they compete through several trials, many of which could prove deadly. Which will come out the victor?3.5 stars. The story is well-thought out and the writing is pretty good, but I just couldn't accept the c I received an ARC in return for a fair review.Cyrus and Andreus' world is turned upside down when their father and brother are killed in an attack, but grief is not the only challenge they face. They must now compete against one another for the crown. Stakes are high and danger is rampant as they compete through several trials, many of which could prove deadly. Which will come out the victor?3.5 stars. The story is well-thought out and the writing is pretty good, but I just couldn't accept the complete change in relationship between the two MC. If they grew up defending and protecting each other and were so close, I just don't accept that their could be such a drastic change within just a few pages. Especially to such a strong degree to want to kill someone else. Just doesn't work for me. Family is family, and strong friendships are the same, and when you have both it's a very strong bond to break, especially with such weak rumors and over such a short time frame. Huge issue with this. It either needed a lot more introspection on the part of the characters or a longer time frame with additional issues to grow the wedge to be believable.The rest of the story works well. Side characters are brought in for more depth, though some could use a little more polishing and possibly some more screen time to show their worth to the story. Overall, a decent read, but just not one I was very happy with.
    more
  • Margaret
    March 8, 2017
    This is a review of an ARC from NetGalley.Carys and Andreus are twins, heirs to the throne of Eden, but never expected to rule. When their father and older brother are assassinated, they must challenge one another to see who will take the crown, or let it fall to enemies who want to destroy their family.This was a pretty standard YA fantasy set-up. The book has an odd mix of technology and swords and sorcery - everyone's riding horses and fighting with swords, yet they use wind-driven turbines t This is a review of an ARC from NetGalley.Carys and Andreus are twins, heirs to the throne of Eden, but never expected to rule. When their father and older brother are assassinated, they must challenge one another to see who will take the crown, or let it fall to enemies who want to destroy their family.This was a pretty standard YA fantasy set-up. The book has an odd mix of technology and swords and sorcery - everyone's riding horses and fighting with swords, yet they use wind-driven turbines to power their electric lights. It becomes clear fairly quickly that both Carys and Andreus have secrets they're hiding from the general public, if not each other, but the book takes its time to fully explain exactly what they are. There are the expected schemers and plots, but I did like how neither sibling seemed to be an out and out hero - they both had their flaws, and it was easy to see how wedges could be pushed between them.About two-thirds of the way through I realized there were far too many loose threads out there for things to get wrapped up in one volume, and I sighed, realizing it was yet another YA trilogy. Is that a rule now for fantasy authors? I wonder how much of this is driven by the author, and how much by agents and publishers tying to get as many titles out as possible.
    more
  • Kaylene
    April 22, 2017
    I am a bit confused about how I feel about this book. While it wasn’t bad, it wasn’t as great as I was hoping.I have always loved YA books about royalty, so I was very excited about this one. Fighting for the crown, secrets and deceit, not to mention “monsters lurking in the mountains beyond the kingdom wall”. I was super excited about Dividing Eden. But sadly I was a bit disappointed. It seemed like a fast paced book though I felt like there was a lot more talk than action. The Trial of Success I am a bit confused about how I feel about this book. While it wasn’t bad, it wasn’t as great as I was hoping.I have always loved YA books about royalty, so I was very excited about this one. Fighting for the crown, secrets and deceit, not to mention “monsters lurking in the mountains beyond the kingdom wall”. I was super excited about Dividing Eden. But sadly I was a bit disappointed. It seemed like a fast paced book though I felt like there was a lot more talk than action. The Trial of Succession was not as exciting as I was hoping. In my opinion, the trials were a bit lame. Though I felt like the trials were the main plot of the book, those parts were always really rushed. I felt no connection to the characters whatsoever, which could be because this was written in 3rd person POV which is not my favorite. I did really like Carys, one of the MC’s and I like how we started seeing a darker side to her twin Andreus. I felt like all the secondary characters lacked depth though some were important to the story. I also struggled with the relationship between the 2 MC’s. They are twins who have always protected each other and they had a very strong bond. However, one thing happens and all of a sudden their relationship falls apart. It seemed a bit unrealistic to me and I think it would have been better to have had more conflict and more time to show their relationship disintegrate. Another thing I was confused about was the “monsters lurking in the mountains”. There was a few references about these monsters but there was only one run-in with them and even then it was very rushed. It seemed like they were an important part of the story but not mentioned hardly at all. What I did like about this book was everyone had their secrets which slowly unraveled throughout the book and it was interesting to see some characters with a darker side I wasn’t expecting. Overall, this book kept me interested but it wasn’t what I was expecting and I don’t know if I will pick up the sequel. 3 Stars
    more
  • Natasha
    February 12, 2017
    With so many villains, murders, and secrets to keep track of..this unpredictable YA fantasy with a delicious twist is certainly one of my favourite find this year. Can't wait for the sequel!
  • Sara Grochowski
    April 11, 2017
    I'm really looking forward to the next installment. I need more Carys!
  • Samantha Myers
    February 13, 2017
    This was my first time reading anything by Charbonneau. I had been previously introduced to her by a friend who recommended the Testing Series but I have yet to pick them up or try them. This book gave me mixed feelings actually. I was reminded a bit of the Red Queen novels but put that thought aside as I read this one. But, like another reviewer mentioned if the two characters, Carys and Andreus, are supposed to have a strong bond with each other and they quickly disregard that for the throne i This was my first time reading anything by Charbonneau. I had been previously introduced to her by a friend who recommended the Testing Series but I have yet to pick them up or try them. This book gave me mixed feelings actually. I was reminded a bit of the Red Queen novels but put that thought aside as I read this one. But, like another reviewer mentioned if the two characters, Carys and Andreus, are supposed to have a strong bond with each other and they quickly disregard that for the throne it seemed rushed in that aspect especially. Great in theory, but it felt rushed and I do wish there was a bit more to back the changes in characterization once that happens.Having said that, despite my one complaint (that someone else also echo'd), I did find the novel enjoyable and the rest of the problems the characters face to be well written and easy to follow. The ending does make me want to give book 2 a try and I hope that the author expands on things that were hinted at (and/or) not included in this installment.
    more
  • Gaby (lookingatbooks)
    October 26, 2016
    OMG OMG OMG THIS COVER!!
  • Rebecca
    May 28, 2017
    Eeek! I’m so happy that Dividing Eden was actually really good, especially since so many YA books fail to live up to the hype generated on social media! I can’t say that I’ve seen an excess of promotions for this one and it deserves the promos! My eye was initially drawn to Dividing Eden by the simple, elegant cover design and a synopsis that promised some serious sibling rivalry- something that hasn’t yet become overdone in the genre. The aforementioned siblings are Princess Carys and Prince An Eeek! I’m so happy that Dividing Eden was actually really good, especially since so many YA books fail to live up to the hype generated on social media! I can’t say that I’ve seen an excess of promotions for this one and it deserves the promos! My eye was initially drawn to Dividing Eden by the simple, elegant cover design and a synopsis that promised some serious sibling rivalry- something that hasn’t yet become overdone in the genre. The aforementioned siblings are Princess Carys and Prince Andreus of Eden- twins that have always had each other’s backs no matter what. This begins to change after the king and their elder brother Prince Micah are killed (supposedly) by a neighboring enemy and their mother is declared unfit to rule. The two must compete against one another in a series of trial to gain the throne and this, as one would expect, drives the once close siblings further and further apart. What makes this really interesting is the fact that both are hiding things that would be detrimental if brought to light – Carys is addicted to a painkiller and Andreus has episodes that sound similar to a panic or asthma attack (I’m no doctor). There’s a whole big mess that happens because of kept secrets and trusting the wrong people. If you add in snow monsters, curses, and a hint of future sight you have a rather dramatic and enticing story.Carys and Andreus were great characters from the start and each developed even more distinct personalities as the book progressed. They made real choices that people would make based on feeling betrayed, fearful, neglected, etc. and they were understandably naïve about certain things, particularly Andreus who didn’t have to be as forward thinking or cunning as Carys. I liked Carys from the moment she had slitted pockets sewn into her dresses so she could access her weapons- a girl should always have something sharp handy! What bothered me was how the queen suddenly just snapped and decided that she was going to go get eaten by the Xhelozi – I have suspicions about this… poison perhaps?Anyway, I was pleasantly surprised that Dividing Eden exceeded my expectations and even made me wish it was a little longer. I was SO rooting for Carys at the end and I hope she crushes her enemies thoroughly in the sequel. It would be so satisfying. I highly recommend Dividing Eden for those who enjoyed Kendare Blake’s newest book, Three Dark Crowns. The stories have some similar themes that I really enjoyed!
    more
  • Mojoreb
    May 6, 2017
     Dividing Eden by Joelle Charbonneau (Man, that's a long name to write) is a solid, yet a bit disappointing start to a series. It just feels so standard especially with a premise that is a bit different from other trials-like novels.    I don't recall a novel that pits twins against one another in a Hunger Games-like setting. Carys and Andreus were competent protagonists that you kind of cared about it. Carys is headstrong, confident, yet uses a sort of drug to keep herself together which added  Dividing Eden by Joelle Charbonneau (Man, that's a long name to write) is a solid, yet a bit disappointing start to a series. It just feels so standard especially with a premise that is a bit different from other trials-like novels.    I don't recall a novel that pits twins against one another in a Hunger Games-like setting. Carys and Andreus were competent protagonists that you kind of cared about it. Carys is headstrong, confident, yet uses a sort of drug to keep herself together which added a nice twist to standard heroines. Although, her character arc fell a bit flat and predictable. She just ended up being another Katniss-like protagonist which was dissappointing. Andreus is a blue collar worker and innovative and I found him to be the more compelling of the two and his character arc was a nice turn, although a bit predictable about halfway through the book. Some of his best moments came from when he had to make a difficult decision which is what drives his character arc. The writing for them was still good and I cared for one of them by the end.    The supporting characters were fairly standard. You have the love interest (who develops exactly how I thought she would), the wicked council of elders, etc. It feels as if Charbonneau was just checking a list of a standard young adult novel. The plot was predictable, although the trials themselves were fairly interesting and are the highlights of the novel. Outside of a few events, it does tend to drag a bit in between and I felt there was some unnecessary drama that could have been avoided.    I just feel that the novel could have been a lot better and more fleshed, but it ended up turning into a solid, but run of the mill opening novel. While the twins were well-written, Carys fell a bit flat in terms of her arc. The supporting characters were fairly stock and the plot was quite predictable. The ending does leave the series at an interesting place and kept me interested for future books. Still, it is still worth reading, just not buying it.
    more
  • Kristin
    January 27, 2017
    With a monarchy in ruins, a queen descending into madness and unseen threats to the throne, twins Carys and Andreus find themselves facing a Trial of Succession to determine who shall rule Eden. While monsters run amuck in the mountains, the twins, who’ve hidden each others secrets from all outsiders, have little time to question the Council of Elders and their complicit plan to head the Hall of Virtues. Carys and Andreus are forced to fight each other through a series of tests to determine who With a monarchy in ruins, a queen descending into madness and unseen threats to the throne, twins Carys and Andreus find themselves facing a Trial of Succession to determine who shall rule Eden. While monsters run amuck in the mountains, the twins, who’ve hidden each others secrets from all outsiders, have little time to question the Council of Elders and their complicit plan to head the Hall of Virtues. Carys and Andreus are forced to fight each other through a series of tests to determine who will rule the throne. Will Carys and Andreus’s bond be broken beyond repair by a Trial of Succession or will they persevere and continue to protect each other through the peril and pandemonium?
    more
  • My Secret Book Spot
    February 23, 2017
    I totally picked this book because of the cover and the synopsis and I am sooo grateful I did. It has intriguing characters, action, adventure, love, betrayal and revenge. I love Charbonneau's writing style and felt like she took real time to invest in her characters, her plot development, and the overall message that she wanted to send with this book. I will definitely be waiting on book two while I recommend the heck out of book one!!
    more
  • Jaime Leroy
    May 22, 2017
    I got this as an Advanced Readers copy and am both ecstatic and irritated by this. I love this author and this book did not disappoint, but now I'll have to wait well over a year for the next in the series. If my previous experiences with this author have shown me anything, the book will be worth the wait.
    more
  • Lauren
    May 28, 2017
    Fine - not really anything special or new. Good writing
  • Tamara
    May 26, 2017
    DNF at page 69.This was a reading copy I got from work and unfortunately I don't dig it. I wasn't a fan of the writing, or the plot, or the characters. It sounds similar to Three Dark Crowns and The Crown's Game so I guess if you enjoyed them and are in the mood for some YA fantasy give this a go.
    more
  • ☾ Rachel
    March 15, 2017
    RTC
  • Erin
    March 17, 2017
    4.5 - I love that this was a story about siblings. It's a nice change of pace from the romance-centric YA. Getting to see both their perspectives through each chapter was wonderful. I was left screaming at how stupid and blind Andreus was being. Carys is nothing but loyal to him and The devolution of their relationship broke my heart. It felt like a study in how power can effect someone. By the end of the book I couldn't even recognize him. This book left us with a major cliffhanger and so many 4.5 - I love that this was a story about siblings. It's a nice change of pace from the romance-centric YA. Getting to see both their perspectives through each chapter was wonderful. I was left screaming at how stupid and blind Andreus was being. Carys is nothing but loyal to him and The devolution of their relationship broke my heart. It felt like a study in how power can effect someone. By the end of the book I couldn't even recognize him. This book left us with a major cliffhanger and so many questions that I know have to read the next book. HAVE TO!
    more
  • Mrs.Heather Lassley
    March 9, 2017
    I started this book with high expectations and for the most part enjoyed it. What I struggled with is how much I could figure out was going on before it happened. It was too heavy with foreshadowing. By the end I was invested but it took me awhileTo get there.
    more
  • Deborah Morgan
    March 6, 2017
    First book of the series, and it promises to be yet another winner. Twins, undivided by nothing, until the crown must be given to one.
  • Darryn
    February 25, 2017
    I received a copy of this book from Edelweiss for an honest review.I loved this book. The dynamic between the two siblings is wonderfully executed, surprising and heartbreaking. The world building was interesting but it feels like it is just beginning of something much bigger. I can't wait for the next installment.
    more
Write a review