A Deeper Grave (Shades of Death #2)
When the hunter becomes the hunted… Serial-killer hunter Nick Shade built his legendary career chasing monsters—sadistic criminals with a gruesome thirst for death. When he rescued Montgomery detective Bobbie Gentry from horrific captivity and helped her reclaim her life, he didn't intend to be a hero. Or a target. But now a copycat murderer haunts him, and reuniting with Bobbie is his best chance at neutralizing the threat. Bobbie can't forget the nightmares of her trauma—or the man who saved her. Working with Nick to outmaneuver the person behind a deadly vendetta feeds her hope that there's more to her world than ghosts and destruction. Maybe joining Nick's search for a killer is about gratitude. Maybe it's nothing more than cold revenge. But the only way they can protect themselves is to trust each other.

A Deeper Grave (Shades of Death #2) Details

TitleA Deeper Grave (Shades of Death #2)
Author
FormatPaperback
ReleaseMay 30th, 2017
PublisherMira Books
ISBN0778319938
ISBN-139780778319931
Number of pages368 pages
Rating
GenreRomance, Romantic Suspense, Mystery, Suspense

A Deeper Grave (Shades of Death #2) Review

  • Linda Strong
    March 7, 2017
    Two people want revenge. Detective Bobbie Gentry wants the man who killed her husband and young son and who kept her captive for several weeks. She was raped and tortured before being saved by Nick Shade.Nick Shade is a hunter of serial killers. How own father was a serial killer who dispatched may men and women over the years. He was eventually caught .. nailed by his own son. The father now resides behind bars and will remain so for the rest of his life. Nick is scared of becoming the same kin Two people want revenge. Detective Bobbie Gentry wants the man who killed her husband and young son and who kept her captive for several weeks. She was raped and tortured before being saved by Nick Shade.Nick Shade is a hunter of serial killers. How own father was a serial killer who dispatched may men and women over the years. He was eventually caught .. nailed by his own son. The father now resides behind bars and will remain so for the rest of his life. Nick is scared of becoming the same kind of monster that resembles his father. He hunts serial killers, exposes their secret life and turns them over to the police. Bobbie and Nick became close following her trauma, but then Nick disappeared. Out of the blue, the FBI calls Bobbie ... Nick's father wants to see her. He has information about Nick. What she is told when she consents is that there is a large group of like-minded serial killers who want Nick dead.Meanwhile, bodies are falling all around Bobbie. One family is slaughtered .. the teenage daughter abducted. Another woman goes missing ..and then a third. These are copy cat crimes reminiscent of Nick's father. And the killings get closer to Bobbie.And as expected, Nick shows up. Both of them become embroiled in solving these crimes and keeping Nick safe ... putting them both in life-threatening peril.The first 2 books in this series are The Blackest Crimson and No Darker Place. I highly recommend reading these books in order. There are cliff hangers involved. Debra Webb is one of my favorite authors. She writes terrific Romantic Suspense ... light on the romance, heavy on the mystery, crime, suspense. And with this book, she has surpassed my expectations.The characters are believable, and situations are highly suspenseful. I'm waiting patiently for the 3rd book in this series.Many thanks to Debra Webb, Harlequin (US & Canada), Netgalley for the digital copy of A DEEPER GRAVE. Opinions expressed here are unbiased and entirely my own.
    more
  • Dísir
    March 25, 2017
    Deeply riveting, 'A Deeper Grave’ tightens the noose on Bobbie Gentry and Nick Shade, yet draws circles around the whole burgeoning mystery as an unseen or unknown puppeteer yanks the strings of all those involved…towards an endgame that remains unclear. It’s clear that this series isn’t a simple whodunnit sort, but Debra Webb certainly cycles through the murder mystery tropes, then scrambles them so that a copycat serial killer is only a loose string in a larger web that ensnares. Like in most Deeply riveting, 'A Deeper Grave’ tightens the noose on Bobbie Gentry and Nick Shade, yet draws circles around the whole burgeoning mystery as an unseen or unknown puppeteer yanks the strings of all those involved…towards an endgame that remains unclear. It’s clear that this series isn’t a simple whodunnit sort, but Debra Webb certainly cycles through the murder mystery tropes, then scrambles them so that a copycat serial killer is only a loose string in a larger web that ensnares. Like in most crime drama series, you get the feeling that things are building up somehow, somewhere, yet it’s not all revealed yet, which is probably the perfect kind of cliffhanger ending that will only come with the dramatic finale. Very light on the romance and focused on the suspense, it’s an excellent read all around really and tightly plotted, except for the fact that I couldn’t get my head around how the characters never caught onto the very obvious clues about the copycat killer. Bobbie Gentry is finding her feet once again, though loss is a constant reminder of how much she has yet to lose. I liked her strength, her self-awareness and how she doesn’t deny her need for Nick both physically and emotionally. That she doesn’t give up on him in the end, makes me beyond eager to read their closing chapter together. However, I find that I’ve simply blinked and missed Nick—the other protagonist who remains so shadowy that I can’t get a grasp on his character—considering his importance in the book. Yet he remains a peripheral character given the very few scenes written in his POV and the glimpses we get of his Hannibal Lecter father don’t quite do justice to his tortured hero’s psyche. Multiple POVs instead, tell the story of the people in Montgomery PD’s broken unit and of Bobbie’s healing mental state and whether it is Webb’s intention for Nick to keep that intriguing distance from Bobbie and the reader, I’m hoping the third book—and what’s presumably his final reckoning—will strip him bare. It’s a series I’d wholly recommend, though it probably isn’t for those who want the requisite amount of angst, emotional navel-gazing and deep introspection that come with the romance portion. Yet as much as I wish for the latter, I can’t wait for Nick’s and Bobbie’s paths to converge properly this time around and the anticipation for the next book is already making me anxious. *ARC by netgalley(always grateful, mind)
    more
  • Cindy ~ SnS Reviews
    February 26, 2017
    So sick.. So creepy.. So depraved.. And so addicting. A killer orchestrating another killer along with manipulating the lives of others. The first two books dealt with Detective Bobbie Gentry who spent months recovering from both the physical and mental damage that the Storyteller killer did to her. She had lost her will to live but wasnt going to die before exacting justice on the man who killed her family and ruined her life. She was aided on this quest by Nick Shade who was the son of a famed So sick.. So creepy.. So depraved.. And so addicting. A killer orchestrating another killer along with manipulating the lives of others. The first two books dealt with Detective Bobbie Gentry who spent months recovering from both the physical and mental damage that the Storyteller killer did to her. She had lost her will to live but wasnt going to die before exacting justice on the man who killed her family and ruined her life. She was aided on this quest by Nick Shade who was the son of a famed serial-killer and who had made it his life calling to hunt down serial-killers and bring them to justice. During their time bringing the Storyteller down Nick made Bobbie want to live again. On the flip side Bobbie also managed to prick a hole in Nick's hardened heart and made him start to care – something he cannot afford to do not only because of his job but also because if his father found out he had a weakness he would exploit it. The main story in this one is a killer is on the loose in Mongomery again and he is mirroring previous killers Nick has brought down. At first its believed its Bobbie the killer is taunting but as the story moves along its clear that is not the case and its Nick who is being played like a puppet. We get more information about Nick's father and his life as a serial-killer and I can certainly see one heck of a showdown coming in future books as his father is a very intelligent cunning killer. It was good to see Bobbie back in fighting form and by the end of this book she's made the decision she is also going to fight for Nick whether he wants her to or not. I hope its not a long wait till the next book.
    more
  • Cathy Thompson
    April 7, 2017
    Thank you Debra Webb and Netgalley for the digital copy of this book in return for my honest opinion .Blood , guts , a depraved killer ! Detective Bonnie Gentry is back with Nick Shade , a serial killer hunter that plays by his own rules . Nick's father was a serial killer that committed horrific acts on his victims before being turned in by Nick , caught by police and sent to prison . There is a killer in Montgomery kidnapping young women , slaughtering people and committing vile acts on his vi Thank you Debra Webb and Netgalley for the digital copy of this book in return for my honest opinion .Blood , guts , a depraved killer ! Detective Bonnie Gentry is back with Nick Shade , a serial killer hunter that plays by his own rules . Nick's father was a serial killer that committed horrific acts on his victims before being turned in by Nick , caught by police and sent to prison . There is a killer in Montgomery kidnapping young women , slaughtering people and committing vile acts on his victims . Is he working alone or is someone pulling his strings ? Now he is coming after people close to Bobbie . Masterfully crafted thriller by Debra Webb . This book can be read as a standalone but I highly recommend you first read The Blackest Crimson , Bobbie's story . No Darker Place is ( Shades Of Death #1 ) Awesome series ! You won't be disappointed . I was given this ebook on Netgalley .
    more
  • Ellen Weaver
    April 5, 2017
    This is another outstanding book by Debra Webb. It's sooo good you'll be sorry when you're finished reading it!!!! I urge all suspense-loving readers to grab it pronto!!! If any have not yet read the prequel, The Blackest Crimson or No Darker Place, don't hesitate to grab these as well!!! The Shades of Death series is not to be missed!!!!
    more
  • Cindy Reifel
    April 3, 2017
    This book is horrifically scary and terrifyingly eerie! Det. Bobbie Gentry is now working quite a few murders, apparently committed by not one but, two or more, copycat serial killers. The more she and her crew work to clear possible suspects, the more of them pop up. Her newest friend and, at times, confidant, Nick Shade, shows up to help with the investigation, especially after he finds out that his father, a prolific serial killer, has asked for a jail visit with Bobbie to tell her that she a This book is horrifically scary and terrifyingly eerie! Det. Bobbie Gentry is now working quite a few murders, apparently committed by not one but, two or more, copycat serial killers. The more she and her crew work to clear possible suspects, the more of them pop up. Her newest friend and, at times, confidant, Nick Shade, shows up to help with the investigation, especially after he finds out that his father, a prolific serial killer, has asked for a jail visit with Bobbie to tell her that she and Nick will be the final victims. The farther I got into this book, the more confused I became as to who the real killer or killers actually were. I read this book in one sitting because I simply could not stop!Ms. Webb continues to blow my mind with this series.
    more
  • Sabrina
    April 4, 2017
    Thank you Debra Webb for a ARC of this book.terrifying, captivating, thrilling, dark and suspenseful. What a ride reading this book. I can not wait to see where Ms. Webb takes us in this series. Is Bobbie Gentry going to get revenge for the murder of her husband and child ? Is she going to get past her rape and torture? What is Nick Shade going to do about his serial killer father and his feelings for Bobbie? These are questions I can't wait to find out. Ms. Webb has woven a mystery I can wait t Thank you Debra Webb for a ARC of this book.terrifying, captivating, thrilling, dark and suspenseful. What a ride reading this book. I can not wait to see where Ms. Webb takes us in this series. Is Bobbie Gentry going to get revenge for the murder of her husband and child ? Is she going to get past her rape and torture? What is Nick Shade going to do about his serial killer father and his feelings for Bobbie? These are questions I can't wait to find out. Ms. Webb has woven a mystery I can wait to unravel. I can't express in words how much I recommend this book . If you love a highly crafted thriller, this is it.
    more
Write a review