The Black Elfstone (The Fall of Shannara, #1)
The first book of the triumphant and epic four-part conclusion to the Shannara series, from one of the all-time masters of fantasy.Through forty years of New York Times bestselling Shannara novels, Terry Brooks always had an ending in mind: a series that would bring it all to a grand conclusion. Now that time is here. The Four Lands has been at peace for generations, but now a mysterious army of invaders is cutting a bloody swath across a remote region of the land. No one knows who they are, where they come from, or what they are after—and most seem content to ignore these disturbing events. The only people who sense a greater, growing threat and wish to uncover the truth are society’s outcasts: an exiled High Druid, a conflicted warrior, a teenage girl struggling to master a prodigious magic . . . and a scrappy young orphan, improbably named Shea Ohmsford.

The Black Elfstone (The Fall of Shannara, #1) Details

TitleThe Black Elfstone (The Fall of Shannara, #1)
Author
FormatHardcover
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJun 13th, 2017
PublisherDel Rey Books
ISBN0553391488
ISBN-139780553391480
Number of pages352 pages
Rating
GenreFantasy, Fiction, Science Fiction Fantasy

The Black Elfstone (The Fall of Shannara, #1) Review

  • Aidan
    April 27, 2017
    A return of form of sorts for Brooks, who is back to writing large, sweeping epic fantasy after spending a decade or more focusing on smaller stories. The Black Elfstones is vast in its scope and implications, and brings to mind the best of Brooks' last big epic, The Heritage of Shannara series.As much as I've enjoyed some of the recent Shannara novels (after not enjoying several in a row over), this one is far and away Brooks' best work in a long time. Brooks is promising an end to the Shannara A return of form of sorts for Brooks, who is back to writing large, sweeping epic fantasy after spending a decade or more focusing on smaller stories. The Black Elfstones is vast in its scope and implications, and brings to mind the best of Brooks' last big epic, The Heritage of Shannara series.As much as I've enjoyed some of the recent Shannara novels (after not enjoying several in a row over), this one is far and away Brooks' best work in a long time. Brooks is promising an end to the Shannara series with this new four-book set, and things are off to a very promising start with The Black Elfstone.
    more
  • Kim
    May 7, 2017
    This Review as first posted on my blog KimSlr - bookish [Overview/Cover]When I saw this cover while browsing trough NetGalley it instantly caught my attention. To me it screams epic fantasy, as well as some action. So I checked GoodReads and after I saw that it was the first book in a series and read the synopsis, which sounded awesome, I decided to request the book. Once I got approved for it and added it so my shelfs on GoodReads I realized that, while it is the first part in the 'The Fall of This Review as first posted on my blog KimSlr - bookish [Overview/Cover]When I saw this cover while browsing trough NetGalley it instantly caught my attention. To me it screams epic fantasy, as well as some action. So I checked GoodReads and after I saw that it was the first book in a series and read the synopsis, which sounded awesome, I decided to request the book. Once I got approved for it and added it so my shelfs on GoodReads I realized that, while it is the first part in the 'The Fall of Shannara' series, it's like the 100th book in the whole 'Shannara' world/series. After reading about the 'Shannara Chronicles' in general and looking at various diffrent reccommended reading orders I decided to go ahead and read it, even without having read anything else first. [This book in relation to the rest of the Shannara World]So can you read this book without having read anything else in the series first? Well first of, you can obvisously read anything in any order you want, but here is my reccommendation:If you don't want to read the older books, and simply read this book and the sequels that are planned for it, you totally can. Had I not looked it up before hand, I wouldn't have known there are other books set in this world and I did not feel like I was missing anything.Should you read this book if you have already started on this world, and plan to continue with it later, or if you haven't yet started, but plan to? I guess it depends on your opinion on spoilers. This book takes place quite a while after all the other books, so you won't be directly spoilerd for a specific plot line, but you could be spoilerd in terms of how this world evolves and maybe even on some plot points, considering some of the characters in this story might be descendants of characters of previous books. As I've not read any of the other books I can't give you a definitive answer to that but in my opinion, if you're really, really, really strict about spoilers you should wait to read this book. If you don't like immidiate spoilers but don't care as much about things that might happen hundreds of years later, you can read this. If you're like me, and don't care about spoilers at all, go for it, this book is amazing![My Opinion]But now, let's get into the book. I've never read anything by Terry Brooks before, but I'm definitely going to now. I really enjoyed his writing style and worldbuilding, as it wasn't overwhelmingly detailed, as epic fantasy worlds can often be, but it still was quite descriptive and I could vividly imagine this world and the characters. It was very easy to read and to follow, but in no way boring. The pacing was great as well, everything happened in a realistic time frame and Brooks perfectly managed to speed up things that needed speeding up and writing things that were more important in a more detailed fashion. The plot was very interesting and kept me glued to the page the whole time. A lot of diffrent things were happening between various characters. I found it very interesting, how this book went in two diffrent directions at once. On one hand was Tarsha in her quest to learn magic from Drisker Arc, as well as the other Druids dealing with an invading force, which is exactly what I hoped for when I picked this book up. Some action-packed fighting scenes, some politicking, some Assasins and a young girl learning to use her incredible powers.On the other hand was Tarshas brother, who has to deal with the same powers Tarsha has, only they have taken a much darker turn and now he has to deal with mental illness, beeing a prisoner and, probably, rape. I honestly can't speak to the accuracy of the representation of metal illness and sexual abuse, but I felt it gave the story even more depth and I'm very curious to see how this plotline developes in the next few books, as this is nothing I've yet read about in any fantasy books. I don't feel like I can say a lot about the characters, because I feel like I didn't really get to know them very well, yet, but I believe that, when the story continues I will grow to like Drisker Arc and Dar Leah quite a bit. I'm not so sure about Tarsha yet, she is a strong young women, trying to do everything to help her brother and learn to use her magic as much, and as fast, as possible. On the other hand she also seems kinda entiteld and selfish.[Overall]I really enjoyed this book. I reated it 4 stars and I honestly can't wait for this series to continue, so I can see more of these characters.
    more
  • Will
    June 1, 2017
    So it begins, or ends. I first started this series in the early 1980’s and kept up through the Heritage of Shannara series. I lost interest at the Voyage of the Jerle Shannara series. I then Jumped back in with the Genesis of Shannara series in the early 2000's and have since read most all of the series. You can see some of my thoughts regarding in a previous blog post.I want more stores between Legends series and First King of Shannara as it seems to be ripe for more stories. But Terry Brooks h So it begins, or ends. I first started this series in the early 1980’s and kept up through the Heritage of Shannara series. I lost interest at the Voyage of the Jerle Shannara series. I then Jumped back in with the Genesis of Shannara series in the early 2000's and have since read most all of the series. You can see some of my thoughts regarding in a previous blog post.I want more stores between Legends series and First King of Shannara as it seems to be ripe for more stories. But Terry Brooks has continued into the future and we are now looking at the The Fall of Shannara in which the end of the series. Hopefully not the last stories.This books seems to start over 200 years after the Defenders series and continues all that you have come to know and love in Shannara, with one difference. Paranor, Wishsong, Leah, and Druids are all here. Troll battles, secret assassin guild, keep the story moving and interesting. This book, while I enjoyed it, was also a bit frustrating due to the one difference. (view spoiler)[ Absolutely no question, mystery, unknown is made known. Clearly the first book of a series that leaves you frustrated and speculating. The book is nothing but a set up for something later. Not a normal Shannara book. Even the name of the book is not mentioned until the last 30 or so pages. (hide spoiler)]A book written for those already invested in the series. Maybe not for all others.
    more
  • Kelly
    May 6, 2017
    We've come down to the final books in the Shannara series, and Brooks is off to an amazing start. I'm conflicted on how I feel about the series ending. Sword of Shannara was one of my first fantasy books, it helped to spawn my love of the genre. There have been books in the series that I love to this day, and others I'd prefer to forget. As much as I wish it could go on, it's time, and The Black Elfstone is the perfect place to begin. I just hope the rest of the Fall of Shannara will do it justi We've come down to the final books in the Shannara series, and Brooks is off to an amazing start. I'm conflicted on how I feel about the series ending. Sword of Shannara was one of my first fantasy books, it helped to spawn my love of the genre. There have been books in the series that I love to this day, and others I'd prefer to forget. As much as I wish it could go on, it's time, and The Black Elfstone is the perfect place to begin. I just hope the rest of the Fall of Shannara will do it justice.
    more
  • Alana Platt
    May 11, 2017
    As always this is an excellent book from Terry Brooks. This is set in Shannara kind of like basically every other book he's written but it still makes itself distinct from the other series.In the beginning of the book, it hooked me right away. The battle secene near the beginning was super awesome as well and, although I didn't read it all in one sitting, it was still one of the best books I've read in awhile. One thing I would like to comment on is that the best thing about this series is that As always this is an excellent book from Terry Brooks. This is set in Shannara kind of like basically every other book he's written but it still makes itself distinct from the other series.In the beginning of the book, it hooked me right away. The battle secene near the beginning was super awesome as well and, although I didn't read it all in one sitting, it was still one of the best books I've read in awhile. One thing I would like to comment on is that the best thing about this series is that it requires no previous knowledge of any of the books/book series set in Shannara. The only advantage it gives you is knowing the land and maybe being able to have kind of a cool fangirl moment when you notice that so-and-so did the really awesome and amazing thing where the characters are now or are traveling to.I would recommend this book to anyone who likes fantasy or has enjoyed fantasy in the past. This book had the feel of a Harry Potter book but there was no school (there was magic though).
    more
  • Marc Rasp
    May 24, 2017
    I really enjoyed the new book. A little grimy and dark but not over the top. Great characters. I loved the druid, I think he was written really well, I kinda wished I could train with him. I would have liked to have learned a little more about the two wishsong characters before the end but that will come. Overall one of my favorites in a long line of enjoyable books.
    more
  • Paula
    April 19, 2017
    June 13, 2017
Write a review