Crawl Space
In the basement, through the appliances and past the veil that separates realities, lies a rainbow-hued world where a group of kids have found retreat from their suburban mundanity with a coterie of iridescent creatures. But in the fraught realm of adolescence, can friendship survive the appeal of the surreal?Jesse Jacobs was born in Moncton, NB, and now draws comics and things from his home in Hamilton, ON. In 2009, his books Small Victories and Blue Winter were short listed at the Doug Wright Awards for Canadian Cartooning. He received the Gene Day Award for Canadian Comic Book Self-Publisher of 2008. Even the Giants (AdHouse, 2011) marked his major publishing debut after several award-winning, self-published titles, and his work has appeared in the acclaimed Latvian comics anthology š!, as well as the 2012 edition The Best American Comics edited by Françoise Mouly and published Houghton Mifflin Harcourt. He made his debut with Koyama Press in 2012 with the psychedelic creation myth By This Shall You Know Him, which was followed by the trippy take on nature versus nurture, Safari Honeymoon in 2014.

Crawl Space Details

TitleCrawl Space
Author
FormatHardcover
ReleaseMay 16th, 2017
PublisherKoyama Press
ISBN1927668417
ISBN-139781927668412
Number of pages96 pages
Rating
GenreSequential Art, Comics, Graphic Novels, Fantasy, Graphic Novels Comics

Crawl Space Review

  • Serena
    May 21, 2017
    Is it possible to give this a 10/5?
  • Robert
    April 11, 2017
    This is Jesse Jacobs' third book with Koyama Press and his third slam dunk. His drawings are hypnotically intricate, and his wittily surreal explorations of systems of nature & different planes of reality are always intriguing. He's got that Vision Thing happening, in a big way.
    more
  • Maggie Gordon
    May 24, 2017
    The rainbow cover of Crawl Space attracted me at TCAF so I asked the dude manning the table to pitch it to me. He said it was kinda like a Narnia story where you go through a laundry machine instead of a wardrobe, and you end up in a bit of an acid trip alternative world with a lot of rainbows. Sold. What is Crawl Space about? Basically that pitch. A teenage girl finds this strange new world, she invites some friends, that doesn't go well, but she seems to reach some new form of enlightenment. T The rainbow cover of Crawl Space attracted me at TCAF so I asked the dude manning the table to pitch it to me. He said it was kinda like a Narnia story where you go through a laundry machine instead of a wardrobe, and you end up in a bit of an acid trip alternative world with a lot of rainbows. Sold. What is Crawl Space about? Basically that pitch. A teenage girl finds this strange new world, she invites some friends, that doesn't go well, but she seems to reach some new form of enlightenment. The artwork is is a vibrant, twisting explosion of weird, and the book is worth buying for the visuals alone. Seriously, just find a copy and read it and enjoy the sensory overload!
    more
  • Ryan Werner
    June 4, 2017
    "The first of several incredible full-page panels go all-in on the psychedelic foundation of the book. From the first time I saw it, I felt that the art on this single page told me the majority of what I needed to know about the pages ahead of it, from the variety of shapes to the simple repetition of the colors. The fading in the middle distance made me think that Kerouac and Wonka got together to build a dream."FULL REVIEW UP SOON AT HEAVY FEATHER REVIEW
    more
  • Robert Bussie
    May 25, 2017
    This is a beautifully drawn and colored graphic novel. The intricate art work compliments the story of discovering beauty and becoming obsessed with it. The story also touches about how people can destroy beauty with their selfishness. A quick read with amazing art work.
    more
  • Brian O'Connell
    May 24, 2017
    Jesse Jacobs delivers a thought-provoking excursion into the depths of psychedelic. The drawings/colors are beautiful and the story is fascinating, if not quite up to par with his other comics from Koyama. The ending is truly chilling.
  • Derek Parker
    May 17, 2017
    I'm a fan of Jacobs's comics, but I must say that this one had a bigger impact on me than the earlier books. Crawl Space is more sophisticated, both visually and narratologically. It's a work that helps instruct you how to approach it.
  • Comics Alternative
    June 2, 2017
    http://comicsalternative.com/episode-...
  • Scotto Moore
    May 14, 2017
    The story of what happens when school kids discover they can physically enter the DMT realm via a portal in a washing machine. No really.
  • Eric
    May 19, 2017
    A bit predictable and maybe too serious in its didactic message towards the proper spiritual use of psychedelic substances. It's still fairly good and tries some interesting things, though I'm not sure how successful it is in accomplishing its purpose. Despite my initial impression, by the time I finished it, I found it to be less quirky and sort of flat, literally and figuratively, compared to what we have seen from Jesse before. I get what Jesse was shooting for with this, but I didn't feel li A bit predictable and maybe too serious in its didactic message towards the proper spiritual use of psychedelic substances. It's still fairly good and tries some interesting things, though I'm not sure how successful it is in accomplishing its purpose. Despite my initial impression, by the time I finished it, I found it to be less quirky and sort of flat, literally and figuratively, compared to what we have seen from Jesse before. I get what Jesse was shooting for with this, but I didn't feel like it reached any particular destination other than relaying the most obvious of messages, such as -don't freely give out LSD to your drunk highschool friends at parties-. Stuff like that. I just did't find the cleverness here that I found with Safari Honeymoon or By This Shall You Know Him.
    more
Write a review