MatchUp
In this incredible follow-up to the New York Times and USA TODAY bestseller FaceOff, twenty-two of the world’s most popular thriller writers come together for an unforgettable anthology.MatchUp takes the never-before-seen bestseller pairings of FaceOff and adds a delicious new twist: gender. Eleven of the world’s best female thriller writers from Diana Gabaldon to Charlaine Harris are paired with eleven of the world’s best male thriller writers, including John Sandford, C.J. Box, and Nelson DeMille. The stories are edited by #1 New York Times bestselling author Lee Child and feature:-Lee Coburn and Joe Pickett in “Honor & …” by Sandra Brown and C.J. Box -Tony Hill and Roy Grace in “Footloose” by Val McDermid and Peter James -Temperance Brennan and Jack Reacher in “Faking a Murderer” by Kathy Reichs and Lee Child -Jamie Fraser and Cotton Malone in “Past Prologue” by Diana Gabaldon and Steve Berry -Liz Sansborough and Rambo in “Rambo on Their Minds” by Gayle Lynds and David Morrell -Jeffrey Tolliver and Joe Pritchard in “Short Story” by Karin Slaughter and Michael Koryta -Harper Connelly and Ty Hauck in “Dig Here” by Charlaine Harris and Andrew Gross -Regan Pescoli and Lucas Davenport in “Deserves to be Dead” by Lisa Jackson and John Sandford -Lucan Thorne and Lilliane in “Midnight Flame” by Lara Adrian and Christopher Rice -Bennie Rosato and John Corey in “Getaway” by Lisa Scottoline and Nelson DeMille -Ali Reynolds and Bravo Shaw in “Taking the Veil” by J.A. Jance and Eric Van Lustbader

MatchUp Details

TitleMatchUp
Author
FormatHardcover
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJun 13th, 2017
PublisherSimon Schuster
ISBN1501141597
ISBN-139781501141591
Number of pages464 pages
Rating
GenreShort Stories, Thriller, Mystery, Anthologies, Crime, Fiction, Suspense, Action, Adventure, Mystery Thriller

MatchUp Review

  • Sandy
    April 25, 2017
    I love these collections. Some days it’s so hard to find time to block out the rest of the world & disappear into a great book. With these shorties, you can spend 20 minutes in your favourite hiding spot & enjoy a complete story from some of the best known thriller writers.Each is a collaboration between 2 authors & there are some interesting pairs here. There are 11 tales in all, representing a diverse range of sub genres…..contemporary, historical, paranormal, romance & pure cr I love these collections. Some days it’s so hard to find time to block out the rest of the world & disappear into a great book. With these shorties, you can spend 20 minutes in your favourite hiding spot & enjoy a complete story from some of the best known thriller writers.Each is a collaboration between 2 authors & there are some interesting pairs here. There are 11 tales in all, representing a diverse range of sub genres…..contemporary, historical, paranormal, romance & pure crime. Everyone will have their personal favs so I won’t review them all. Instead, here are some random thoughts & my top 3 picks.If you read thrillers at all you’re going to recognize these iconic characters who have become just as famous as their creators. Dr.Temperance Brennan, Cotton Malone, Reacher, Carol Jordan & Roy Grace are just a few. But I bet you didn’t expect to run across John Rambo (yes, THAT Rambo…). Even that F**kin’ Flowers puts down his fishing rod long enough to get in on the action. And for every reader who swoons when Jamie Fraser stalks by, kilt a-swinging…...well, nuff said.My picks were “Faking a Murderer” starring Dr. Temperance Brennan & Jack Reacher; “Deserves to be Dead” featuring Virgil Flowers & Regan Pescoli; and “Short Story” with Joe Pritchard & a young Jeffrey Tolliver.As with all collections, some of the collaborations are more successful than others but the list of winners will vary from reader to reader. As much as I enjoy catching up with “old friends”, this is also a great way to try on a new-to-you author & maybe find another series to add to your groaning TBR pile.
    more
  • Matt
    May 13, 2017
    First and foremost, a large thank you to NetGalley, Lee Child (editor), and Simon & Schuster for providing me with a copy of this book, which allows me to provide you with an unbiased review.When asked to take the editorial lead in the latest International Thriller Writers (ITW) anthology, Lee Child jumped at the opportunity. What might be daunting for some--herding twenty-two well-known authors together like feral cats--turned out to be a great pleasure for Child and, in the end, the reader First and foremost, a large thank you to NetGalley, Lee Child (editor), and Simon & Schuster for providing me with a copy of this book, which allows me to provide you with an unbiased review.When asked to take the editorial lead in the latest International Thriller Writers (ITW) anthology, Lee Child jumped at the opportunity. What might be daunting for some--herding twenty-two well-known authors together like feral cats--turned out to be a great pleasure for Child and, in the end, the reader. This compilation pits writers into teams of two to concoct a wonderful series of short stories. Each author was asked to bring their 'A' game and a favourite protagonist, in hopes that having to share the page (and the locale of each story), which ended up being a little more difficult than simply parachuting characters together. Child's other hurdle was to place a male and female author together, a 'matchup' of epic proportions, to see how they could work together. The end result saw readers treated to the 'what if' of forensic anthropologist Tempe Brennan working alongside ever-travelling Jack Reacher; bibliophile Cotton Malone living history and the standing stones through which Claire Randall met her beloved in Scotland; and Philly lawyer, Bennie Rosato, crossing paths with the King of Sarcastic Comments, John Corey. Where else would you find a Minnesota cop who wants to fish in the middle of a major crime bust at a cabin in Montana, or a woman who speaks to the dead through their buried bones outside of Alexandria? Child is able not only to find the ideal matches for this anthology, but also sends the reader into a tailspin as they are presented with a number of never before thought-out possible storylines. Child is masterful, though a great deal of praise must go to all who took the time and effort to pen eleven wonderful stories. Surely something of a summer gift for the reader to enjoy poolside.I have always enjoyed collections such as these, especially when the ITW gang comes out to play. There are so many out there and since the genre is so wide, one is never entirely sure what to expect. Child presents these stories in no particularly themed order, but the end result turns out to be something that is high octane from start to finish. While I tend to gravitate to the crime and legal thrillers, there are many that push outside of my comfort zone, though I cannot find a single story that did not captivate me, even when the narrative flirted with the paranormal. I have a large 'to be read' list, but reading these stories has left me wondering if I ought to check out some new authors and their characters, as they intrigued me, even during the brief encounter of a short story. Pitting sub-genres against one another and character professions that were sure to clash, these authors ironed out the difficulties and left the reader with a polished product, perfectly balanced and ready for easy literary consumption. While I could have read these stories for hundreds of more pages, I realise that there is a limit to the number of submissions and authors used, though I am eager to see what is next for the ITW in the years to come.Kudos, Mr. Child, et al. for such a great anthology. I am hooked to these collections and love the cross-section of story writer that emerges from these classic matchups. Please keep sharpening your skills for the next editorial call out that is sure to arise.Like/hate the review? An ever-growing collection of others appears at: http://pecheyponderings.wordpress.com/
    more
  • Karen
    April 10, 2017
    I picked this up for one purpose which was to read the Diana Gabaldon short story. I have to say, as a story, it was interesting, but I was a bit disappointed that there Jamie Fraser wasn't the focus. In fact, he hardly appeared at all. Those who know the Outlander story will recognize what is happening and for that, it was interesting, but if you're looking for a Jamie Fraser fix, you'll likely be disappointed.
    more
  • Tracy
    April 11, 2017
    Even better than Faceoff! REALLY love the pairings, and the history behind them :)
  • RachelW (BamaGal)
    March 7, 2017
    Matchup is a sequel of sorts to Faceoff and is another anthology of short story collaborations pairing some well know authors across genres. As with any anthology, some stories work better than others. Still, it’s very nice when well known characters meet up; and to read another author’s take on a beloved character.Probably my favorites of the anthology are the stories by Lee Child, Charlaine Harris, Diana Gabaldon, Kathy Reichs, Sandra Brown, and John Sandford. There were a couple of stories th Matchup is a sequel of sorts to Faceoff and is another anthology of short story collaborations pairing some well know authors across genres. As with any anthology, some stories work better than others. Still, it’s very nice when well known characters meet up; and to read another author’s take on a beloved character.Probably my favorites of the anthology are the stories by Lee Child, Charlaine Harris, Diana Gabaldon, Kathy Reichs, Sandra Brown, and John Sandford. There were a couple of stories that stood out for me – Regan Pescoli and Lucas Davenport in “Deserves to be Dead” by Lisa Jackson and John Sandford; and Temperance Brennan and Jack Reacher in “Faking a Murderer” by Kathy Reichs and Lee Child. Most of the stories were very good, and all stories readable/enjoyable.
    more
  • Judy Lesley
    May 4, 2017
    I received an e-ARC of this collection of short stories through NetGalley and Simon & Schuster. Thank you.The connection point for all the authors in this anthology is that they are members of the International Thriller Writers group. In this collection each story is a collaboration between a male and a female writer. The stories also often result in having a female and a male protagonist. Some of the authors requested to work with a specific author, the others were paired with someone they I received an e-ARC of this collection of short stories through NetGalley and Simon & Schuster. Thank you.The connection point for all the authors in this anthology is that they are members of the International Thriller Writers group. In this collection each story is a collaboration between a male and a female writer. The stories also often result in having a female and a male protagonist. Some of the authors requested to work with a specific author, the others were paired with someone they knew but had not worked with before. Some were familiar with writing short stories, for some it was their first venture into that territory but they had been given the chance to work with an author who had short story experience. I already had two authors in the list of twenty-two which I consider favorites, I found five more I could add to my list for checking out their books. Seven out of twenty-two wasn't quite as many as I had hoped for.One of the problems I encountered was that one of the main characters in each story seemed to dominate the story. I would have expected an author who had a character strong enough to carry an entire novel, or even a series of novels, to have as much of a strong influence in a short story. Maybe it was just my perception that so many of the stories had one weak and one stronger character. Most of the stories are contemporary in nature with private investigators and members of some aspect of law enforcement being the predominant reason for their involvement in solving the crime. There is one time travel story and one which has a paranormal element and I was surprised to find that these were two of my least favorite offerings even though I enjoy reading paranormal suspense.There is good representation of the thriller short story presented here. I liked that I felt very comfortable putting the collection down after reading only several stories (which usually is a signal for trouble with liking the book for me) and then picking it back up to read one or two more without losing interest in the overall book. Each story is preceded by an introduction by Lee Child giving the background of how the two authors in a story were placed together and a brief detail of how they picked the basic idea of their story and what method they used in writing the collaboration. There are biographical sketches of each author in the back of the book. Ultimately this was a pleasant reading experience and I found some authors/main characters I want to explore further. That has to be regarded as a success for the project.
    more
  • Jacqui
    May 6, 2017
    Matchup is a collection of short thrillers, but with a twist. Each story pairs a male and female author and takes one of their most famous characters and matches them up in a brand new story.Some of the most iconic characters come together to solve crimes in this anthology, and what makes it remarkable is that the characters span different decades or even species, yet the authors make it work. Joe Pickett and Lee Coburn start the collection with gunshots fired in a ranger's park. Footloose bring Matchup is a collection of short thrillers, but with a twist. Each story pairs a male and female author and takes one of their most famous characters and matches them up in a brand new story.Some of the most iconic characters come together to solve crimes in this anthology, and what makes it remarkable is that the characters span different decades or even species, yet the authors make it work. Joe Pickett and Lee Coburn start the collection with gunshots fired in a ranger's park. Footloose brings us a story of a foot fetish gone wrong. Jack Reacher and Temperance Brennan team up when one of them is falsely accused of murder. Past Prologue gives us an intriguing look at what could happen with time travel and artefacts being passed through the centuries. Liz Sansborough gets help from Rambo in solving a crime in a unique way. Short Story is certainly not that at all, being the longest in the collection, but cuts an interesting take on a scam gone wrong. Harper Connelly uses her mystical ability to speak to the bones of the dead to change sceptic Ty Hauck's mind. Deserves to be Dead follows a case of mistaken identity and abuse. Lucan Thorne and Lilliane Williams work together to make sure that humans are not able to prove the existence of supernatural creatures. Getaway is anything but a vacation, since secrets lurk in the woods. Bravo Shaw and Ali Reynolds close the collection and find themselves retrieving a religious relic while dodging those who would kill to claim it.I really enjoyed this matchup of stories. Even though all of the stories are crime thrillers the authors came in from different angles and looked at crime in different ways. The partnerships among the authors created almost seamless transitions between the writing styles and nowhere was it blatantly obvious that it was a collaboration. I truly admire the way they were able to blend characters together that in some instances would never have been in the same time period let alone part of the world.This is a highly recommended collection and many thanks to NetGalley for the advance copy.
    more
  • Lou Jacobs
    May 8, 2017
    What a marvelous anthology of Original stories .... 11 female and 11 male authors are paired together along with their respective iconic characters .... all writers represent the most accomplished of their genre - the Thriller. What results is a chance to pair-up some of the genre's most beloved protagonists .... and in 20 to 40 minutes of reading an enjoyable adventure is unfolded. Naturally, as with all collections, some stories are "home runs" and others go for "single & doubles" ... bu What a marvelous anthology of Original stories .... 11 female and 11 male authors are paired together along with their respective iconic characters .... all writers represent the most accomplished of their genre - the Thriller. What results is a chance to pair-up some of the genre's most beloved protagonists .... and in 20 to 40 minutes of reading an enjoyable adventure is unfolded. Naturally, as with all collections, some stories are "home runs" and others go for "single & doubles" ... but, most are for "extra bases". Where else can you have your beloved characters encounter other iconic characters! .... Dr Temperance Brennan is aided by Jack Reacher .... Liz Sansborough is benefited with the Myth of "RAMBO" .... Bennie Rosato is teamed up with John Corey .... and Lucan Thorne encounted "Lilliane" ... AMAZING!! This also provides readers with NEW characters and authors to discover .... I received an e-ARC of this book from Netgalley in exchange for an unbiased review .... What a FUN READ !!! ....
    more
  • Stephanie
    May 11, 2017
    What an absolutely wonderful read!Matchup is a thriller anthology edited by Lee Child, one of my personal favorites, where 23 of the best of the best thriller writers today have matched up to write a short story. The fun thing is it’s 11 female and 11 male authors who've teamed up to write a brand new story with their most iconic characters. Wow, does this make for some thrilling crime solving and excellent story telling!Some of the authors and their characters were already my favorites but ther What an absolutely wonderful read!Matchup is a thriller anthology edited by Lee Child, one of my personal favorites, where 23 of the best of the best thriller writers today have matched up to write a short story. The fun thing is it’s 11 female and 11 male authors who've teamed up to write a brand new story with their most iconic characters. Wow, does this make for some thrilling crime solving and excellent story telling!Some of the authors and their characters were already my favorites but there were other authors I had never read, so this was a great introduction to their work—I will definitely be adding some of their works to my to-read pile!I especially loved the seamless way the stories unfolded. All the authors worked so well together that if I had not known the short stories were collaborations, I could easily have assumed one author wrote each story. “Faking a Murderer” by Lee Child and Kathy Reichs probably my favorite! I love both Jack Reacher and Temperance Brennan, so it was great to see the two characters work together to solve a murder. “Past Prologue” by Diana Gabaldon and Steve Berry was another great read, especially with the time travel element introduced through Gabaldon’s character Jamie Fraser combined with Berry’s Cotton Malone although I would have loved to have more Jamie Fraser in the story. I’m a huge fan of Lisa Scottoline’s character Bennie Rosato, but I had never read anything by Nelson DeMille. After reading their short story "Getaway”, I’m a fan of both Demille and his character John Corey; it was a great, fast-paced, engaging mystery! There are others that I can list that I loved: “Short Story” by Karin Slaughter and Michael Koryta, which was another new experience since I’d never read anything by Kortyta but am a huge Slaughter fan; “Dig Here” by Charlaine Harris and Andrew Gross, both authors I’m huge fans of; “Deserves to be Dead” by Lisa Jackson and John Sandford, again two of my favorite authors.This is a perfect anthology for any thriller fan since you can spend about 20 minutes on one story and get lost in a thrilling adventure! Many stories in the anthology are excellent, none are bad, and all are highly enjoyable and masterfully written! Definitely 5 Stars of great fun!I want to thank NetGalley, Simon & Schuster, and the authors for providing me with an advanced copy of MatchUp to read in exchange for my fair and honest review.
    more
  • Ron
    May 31, 2017
    Take 22 members of the International Thriller Writers Association, divide them into 11 teams, and make sure that there is a male and female on each team. Then have the teams use one of their iconic characters in a mashup story. As an example, there is John Sandford's Virgil Flowers on a fishing trip to Montana where he ends up aiding Lisa Jackson's Regan Pescoli in a murder investigation. The fun is seeing characters from different authors in the same short story. Some of the stories are thrille Take 22 members of the International Thriller Writers Association, divide them into 11 teams, and make sure that there is a male and female on each team. Then have the teams use one of their iconic characters in a mashup story. As an example, there is John Sandford's Virgil Flowers on a fishing trip to Montana where he ends up aiding Lisa Jackson's Regan Pescoli in a murder investigation. The fun is seeing characters from different authors in the same short story. Some of the stories are thrillers while others are more detective tales, and some turn out to be duds when the authors pull the action out of the tale in the end. But, look at the lineup of authors and you are likely to find plenty of tales to enjoy.
    more
  • Diane Saul
    May 24, 2017
    This is a collection of short stories. Each story is a collaboration between 2 authors, which is an interesting concept. The stories cover multiple genres so there is something for everyone here. There are too many stories to review each individually, but I will say most were good, some better than others. If you don't have time to sit down and read a full length book this is the perfect solution for you. It also gives you the perfect opportunity to try a new author. Thank you to net galley for This is a collection of short stories. Each story is a collaboration between 2 authors, which is an interesting concept. The stories cover multiple genres so there is something for everyone here. There are too many stories to review each individually, but I will say most were good, some better than others. If you don't have time to sit down and read a full length book this is the perfect solution for you. It also gives you the perfect opportunity to try a new author. Thank you to net galley for an advanced copy.
    more
  • Judy
    May 6, 2017
    This book is an absolute treasure chest filled with gems! I have never read a book of short stories that was so much fun to read and so skillfully written. The teaming of some of the most accomplished thriller writers is a winning combination. This year they paired male and female writers to jointly write the stories. Every story is excellent! Anyone who loves thrillers will certainly love this book. Highly recommended!Thanks to the authors and to Simon & Schuster through NetGalley for an ad This book is an absolute treasure chest filled with gems! I have never read a book of short stories that was so much fun to read and so skillfully written. The teaming of some of the most accomplished thriller writers is a winning combination. This year they paired male and female writers to jointly write the stories. Every story is excellent! Anyone who loves thrillers will certainly love this book. Highly recommended!Thanks to the authors and to Simon & Schuster through NetGalley for an advance copy in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Darcysmom
    May 24, 2017
    I received an ARC of this book from Netgalley for free in exchange for an honest review. This anthology has it all: super star writers, beloved characters, snappy dialogue, and thrills galore! It was tremendously fun to read short stories that paired authors and their beloved creations with each other. I truly enjoyed every story. This book was the perfect way to kick off my vacation.I highly recommend Match Up!
    more
  • Tina Arnold
    May 22, 2017
    While I was not familiar with all of the authors in this compilation I was familiar with most. I really enjoyed the pairings and being introduced to new characters and stories to explore. Highly recommend this book if you are constantly looking for a new good read. This will give you insight to multiple authors and their works.
    more
  • Della
    May 28, 2017
    Match Up, Lee Childs, Editor 4.5 StarsJune 13, 2017, Release Date I love a good short story and this book did not disappoint! Famous characters from famous thriller authors are thrown together in a story and need to work together to solve the crime. Unique. I highly recommend.
    more
  • Sarah
    May 22, 2017
    This was pretty freaking amazing! It was great to see all my favorite characters get into some situation with some of my other favorite characters. And most of the stories were good! Very impressive collection. Review to come in SLJ AB4T
  • JoAnn
    May 18, 2017
    I received an ARC via Netgalley and this is my unbiased review.A terrific collection of suspense novel by a great groups of authors. There is something in the set for every one. I highly recommend to lovers of good suspense.
  • Irene
    May 6, 2017
    Enjoyed most of the stories. Authors well paired. Very easy and quick read.
  • Ann
    March 4, 2017
    What a great anthology of short stories featuring some wonderful collaborations of well known writers from several genres. My two favorites are Kathy Reichs and Lee Child and Charlaine Harris and Andrew Gross. The stories are all a perfect length and well written. You'll recognize some of their most famous characters. A perfect gift for all readers. Diana Gabaldon's Claire Randall Fraser + Steve Berry's Cotton MaloneLisa Scottoline's Bennie Rosato + Nelson DeMille's John CoreySandra Brown's Lee What a great anthology of short stories featuring some wonderful collaborations of well known writers from several genres. My two favorites are Kathy Reichs and Lee Child and Charlaine Harris and Andrew Gross. The stories are all a perfect length and well written. You'll recognize some of their most famous characters. A perfect gift for all readers. Diana Gabaldon's Claire Randall Fraser + Steve Berry's Cotton MaloneLisa Scottoline's Bennie Rosato + Nelson DeMille's John CoreySandra Brown's Lee Coburn + C.J. Box's Joe PickettKathy Reichs's Temperance Brennan + Lee Child's Jack ReacherVal McDermid's Tony Hill + Peter James's Roy GraceCharlaine Harris's Harper Connelly + Andrew Gross's Ty HauckGayle Lynds's Liz Sansborough + David Morrell's RamboKarin Slaughter's Jeffrey Tolliver + Michael Koryta's Lincoln PerryLara Adrian's Lucan Thorne + Christopher RiceJ.A. Jance's Ali Reynolds + Eric Van Lustbader's Bravo ShawLisa Jackson's Regan Pescoli + John Sandford's Lucas Davenport
    more
  • Holly
    April 6, 2017
    Matchup is a collection of short stories, written in male/female pairs, by world class thriller novelists. Somehow they manage to write the stories together, each having their signature character team up with the other’s signature character. And it works. Boy, does it work!The stories range from thriller, of course, all the way to oddly humorous with everything in between. Naturally, I enjoyed some more than others but they were all good; many excellent. For me, the best part about this format w Matchup is a collection of short stories, written in male/female pairs, by world class thriller novelists. Somehow they manage to write the stories together, each having their signature character team up with the other’s signature character. And it works. Boy, does it work!The stories range from thriller, of course, all the way to oddly humorous with everything in between. Naturally, I enjoyed some more than others but they were all good; many excellent. For me, the best part about this format was discovering new authors. I’ve already lined up my next read – from a new (to me anyway) author who was paired with one of my all-time favorites.Thank you to the author and publisher for the ARC in exchange for my honest review.
    more
  • Sara
    March 29, 2017
    This was a great collection. I read them all and really enjoyed all but one. No, I wont say. :)
  • Steven McDonald
    April 14, 2017
    Although I haven't read a number of the authors featured let alone been introduced to their characters, this 'match up' teases glimpses of each iconic character in short story form. An excellent idea that whets your appetite for more. The pages turn at an alarming pace and after an interesting introduction by Lee Child, we dive straight in. Iconic and unforgettable female characters share pages with their male counterparts. Each story grips from the off and this is a worthy sequel to the mega su Although I haven't read a number of the authors featured let alone been introduced to their characters, this 'match up' teases glimpses of each iconic character in short story form. An excellent idea that whets your appetite for more. The pages turn at an alarming pace and after an interesting introduction by Lee Child, we dive straight in. Iconic and unforgettable female characters share pages with their male counterparts. Each story grips from the off and this is a worthy sequel to the mega successful Face Off. Standouts are Kathy Reichs and Lee Child as well as Lisa Jackson and John Sanford. A highly recommended read. Don't be surprised if after reading this collection you find yourself ordering each authors back catalogue.
    more
  • Sherrie Saint
    April 5, 2017
    I love anthologies and especially when some of my favorite authors are involved. I will definitely add this one to my collection.
  • Debra Jeakins
    April 24, 2017
    MATCHUP:EDITED BY LEE CHILD takes the best of the best when it comes to mystery/thriller/suspense authors (male & female) and matches them together to come up with some really great short stories. Each writer has taken their time out of creating their individual series to create these short stories for us, the reader. I sailed thru this book because of my love of each of these stories. Long enough to develop the plots well but short enough to be in this book. A must read for any mystery love MATCHUP:EDITED BY LEE CHILD takes the best of the best when it comes to mystery/thriller/suspense authors (male & female) and matches them together to come up with some really great short stories. Each writer has taken their time out of creating their individual series to create these short stories for us, the reader. I sailed thru this book because of my love of each of these stories. Long enough to develop the plots well but short enough to be in this book. A must read for any mystery lover.I recieved this book free from netgalley in exchange for an open and honest review.
    more
Write a review