Just a Normal Tuesday
If you are reading this, I am already gone.It’s just a normal Tuesday…until sixteen-year-old Kai finds a suicide note from her beloved older sister, Jen. Now Kai is the only child in a family reeling with grief. Unable to make sense of her sister’s choice, Kai begins to lose control. She cuts class. Lashes out at the people closest to her. Pops the same pills that killed her sister.As she spirals toward rock bottom, her parents offer her a lifeline: a summer away at camp. Grief camp…for teens. Kai reluctantly agrees to attend, even though she’s not exactly in the mood for s’mores. But she finds solace in meeting kids like her, and slowly she begins to come back to life—and even love—at The Treehouse.

Just a Normal Tuesday Details

TitleJust a Normal Tuesday
Author
FormatHardcover
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseMay 2nd, 2017
PublisherKids Can Press
ISBN1771387939
ISBN-139781771387934
Number of pages256 pages
Rating
GenreYoung Adult, Drama

Just a Normal Tuesday Review

  • Trinity Irwin
    February 1, 2017
    Get ready, I have a lot to say about this one.Suicide is such a risky subject. A complex staircase that has so many crumbling railings that loved ones have to navigate in their grief. This book captured that so perfectly. I want to start by saying thank you to Kim Turrisi for pouring out her heart and soul into this. It couldn’t have been easy to be so open and raw as she was writing this book. In the acknowledgements she informs her readers that she herself lost her sister to suicide when she Get ready, I have a lot to say about this one.Suicide is such a risky subject. A complex staircase that has so many crumbling railings that loved ones have to navigate in their grief. This book captured that so perfectly. I want to start by saying thank you to Kim Turrisi for pouring out her heart and soul into this. It couldn’t have been easy to be so open and raw as she was writing this book. In the acknowledgements she informs her readers that she herself lost her sister to suicide when she was young and with that I know that every bit of this book holds the truth of someone who has dealt with that specific kind of pain. I cried so much throughout reading this. Sometimes from my heart touching the pages, other times I’m not even sure why. Maybe it was the author’s impeccable way of placing her feelings into her work. Because I know that Turrisi went through this and not just her character, I felt like when I was reading her book, I was actually reading her. And let me tell you, connecting to an author like that is something really special that not all can do. The book begins when Jen (Kai’s older sister) has sent Kai a letter telling her has killed herself. Kai goes off the deep end, not sure how to handle this sudden tragedy in her life. The book allows you to fall in love with Jen and to see that special sister relationship the two had, which in turn makes the death so much more heartbreaking. Because Kai is having such a hard time dealing with it all and her parents don’t know how to help her, they send her to a grief camp. She doesn’t see this helping her but soon finds that opening up about how she feels and coming to terms with what has happened does help. If I had to describe this written work in one word it would have to be, “Raw.” One more time I’d like to say to Kim Turrisi, thank you so much for allowing me to venture the secrets of your soul. It was quite something.I voluntarily reviewed an ARC of this book Via NetGalley.
    more
  • Olivia (The Candid Cover)
    March 12, 2017
    Just a Normal Tuesday is a beautifully written book that explores the aftermath of suicide. The main character, Kai, is a raw and relatable teen who has to learn to deal with the death of her beloved sister. Turrisi’s message is one that resonates throughout the narrative and really turns it into a guide for grief as well as a story of those who are left to pick up the pieces.Turrisi’s writing is so captivating and right from the explosive beginning to its heart-wrenching end, the reader will ha Just a Normal Tuesday is a beautifully written book that explores the aftermath of suicide. The main character, Kai, is a raw and relatable teen who has to learn to deal with the death of her beloved sister. Turrisi’s message is one that resonates throughout the narrative and really turns it into a guide for grief as well as a story of those who are left to pick up the pieces.Turrisi’s writing is so captivating and right from the explosive beginning to its heart-wrenching end, the reader will have a hard time setting this one down. One of the wonderful aspects of this story is the way in which the author describes the strong feelings that Kai is having during the book. The descriptions are both vivid and real, drawing the reader into Kai’s mindset while she struggles with her grief, substance abuse, and eventual acceptance.Kai is a character that is easily identifiable to readers. The fact that she is flawed, gives her a realistic and interesting personality. As the book progresses and Kai starts to discover and understand herself, it is her sense of hope that makes her relatable. She is also quite a resilient character who undergoes so many changes, yet is able to somehow overcome them.One of the themes that pulses throughout Just a Normal Tuesday is: you are not alone. Kai learns that she has a network of people that she can rely on, such as her friends and parents, as well as those she meets at grief camp. It is this message that sets this book apart from other books for teens that have the theme of suicide. The reader comes away with a message that people grieve differently and there are many ways to cope.The wonderful writing, relatable protagonist and strong themes make Just a Normal Tuesday not your normal book about teen suicide. Readers will come away from this novel with a set of strategies and a deeper understanding of what it is to grieve the loss of a loved one. Ensure that your box of tissues is nearby when you read this one!
    more
  • Jessica
    April 22, 2017
    All my reviews can be found at: http://jessicasreadingroom.com~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~This will be a difficult review to write as Just a Normal Tuesday is difficult to read. It deals with the issues of death, suicide, and teens. Kai is sixteen and comes home from school and finds a letter in the mail from her sister Jenn. She finds this strange as no one write letters any more when they can call or text, especially when Jenn lives close by. Then Kai opens the letter and her All my reviews can be found at: http://jessicasreadingroom.com~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~This will be a difficult review to write as Just a Normal Tuesday is difficult to read. It deals with the issues of death, suicide, and teens. Kai is sixteen and comes home from school and finds a letter in the mail from her sister Jenn. She finds this strange as no one write letters any more when they can call or text, especially when Jenn lives close by. Then Kai opens the letter and her life changes forever as it is a suicide note from Jenn. Kai rushes to her sister’s apartment but it’s too late. This is just the beginning of Kai’s story. This is Kim Turrisi’s first novel and what a debut it is! Just a Normal Tuesday is raw, gritty, and real! After her sister’s death Kai spirals out of control. She drinks heavily and begins taking drugs, including the prescription drugs her sister took. The feelings Kai has feel so real! Once her family and friends realize she needs serious help she is sent to a grief camp against her will.The second half of the book focuses on the grief camp and we see the transformation Kai experiences as she gets comfortable with her group she is assigned to. We see all the teens change for the better as they go through camp. We come to care about them all and want them to all overcome their grief from their various losses. Just a Normal Tuesday ends with a positive note towards the future.In the Author’s Note Kim Turrisi shares that when she was fifteen her sister committed suicide. She shares how writing Just a Normal Tuesday helped her with forgiveness and the loss of her sister. Everything feels so authentic that it seems like she took the feelings Kai had when she was out of control from her own experiences. The words she wrote could only come from someone who had experienced that kind of grief. With that you feel a connection to the author. At times it felt like these were Kim’s feelings and experiences. Just a Normal Tuesday is that real.I want to share that I lost my dad just a few days after my nineteenth birthday. It was not in the way that Kai lost her sister, but it was still a heavy loss that I still feel at times. Reading Just a Normal Tuesday brought back that time for me and the memories and feelings from then and because of this at times it was difficult to read. I knew it was going to be difficult when I began it, but it is a book you do not want to put down. Just a Normal Tuesday is very highly recommended for anyone who has lost someone, especially at a younger age. The target demographic is 14-18 but anyone could read this book and take something away from it. I want to end with this: My dad passed away on May 4, 1999 which was a Tuesday. “It was just a normal Tuesday. And then it wasn’t.”- Kai**Special thanks to Kids can Press and KCP Loft for sending me an arc. Just a Normal Tuesday deeply touched me and it was a pleasure to review it.
    more
  • Marci Curtis
    April 11, 2017
    I’ve heard so many wonderful things about this book, and now I totally understand why. Just a Normal Tuesday was a big, beautiful, brave grenade to the heart, absolutely destroying me in the best possible way.And the characters. Gah. So startlingly real. So much so, that I FELT each and every one of them, from friends to parents to counselors to children.And Graham. GRAHAM. *heart eyes* A thousand thank yous, Kim Turrisi, for sharing this gorgeous, important story about grief, love, and friendsh I’ve heard so many wonderful things about this book, and now I totally understand why. Just a Normal Tuesday was a big, beautiful, brave grenade to the heart, absolutely destroying me in the best possible way.And the characters. Gah. So startlingly real. So much so, that I FELT each and every one of them, from friends to parents to counselors to children.And Graham. GRAHAM. *heart eyes* A thousand thank yous, Kim Turrisi, for sharing this gorgeous, important story about grief, love, and friendship, and that thin gray line where they all intersect. <3
    more
  • Giselle (Book Nerd Canada)
    April 11, 2017
    This is such an important book to read. There were so many moments that made me so sad that I couldn't help but cry my eyes out. Kim Turrissi's writing is just so easy to digest, so easy to read that it makes you relate to the main character's woes that much easier. This is a book about grief. About life after someone you love leaves you by suicide. And in the acknowledgements section, she writes that her own sister committed suicide. This is why the book was just so raw and emotional and real. This is such an important book to read. There were so many moments that made me so sad that I couldn't help but cry my eyes out. Kim Turrissi's writing is just so easy to digest, so easy to read that it makes you relate to the main character's woes that much easier. This is a book about grief. About life after someone you love leaves you by suicide. And in the acknowledgements section, she writes that her own sister committed suicide. This is why the book was just so raw and emotional and real. The pain is real. I actually cried reading that acknowledgment. For someone who has been depressed and suicidal myself, this book is easy to relate to. But reading from the grieving sister's point of view is even more heartbreaking. I loved this one and couldn't put it down. A heart-breaking read that will have you grateful for all the love that you have in your life. I know I won't be able to forget it. RATING 4/5QUOTES"Dying is black and white, but suicide is gray." (33)"The thing about best friends is you don't have to say anything and they know what you need." (78)"You can't be angry at a dead person." (149)"Only when it's dark enough, you can see the stars." (232)
    more
  • Hannah
    November 18, 2016
    Publication date : 2nd May 2017Net Galley ARCI should not have started reading ‘Just another Tuesday’ in the morning before a lecture. With every chapter I teared up and felt such extreme emotions. ‘Just another Tuesday’ follows the story of Kai, whose sister has just died. It was such an emotional read. It makes you very grateful for your own life and is written so beautifully that you really feel the pain Kai feels and here desperation for understanding. You can also really understand and feel Publication date : 2nd May 2017Net Galley ARCI should not have started reading ‘Just another Tuesday’ in the morning before a lecture. With every chapter I teared up and felt such extreme emotions. ‘Just another Tuesday’ follows the story of Kai, whose sister has just died. It was such an emotional read. It makes you very grateful for your own life and is written so beautifully that you really feel the pain Kai feels and here desperation for understanding. You can also really understand and feel her desperation to escape the pain she is feeling. The first half of the book was really fantastically focused on this and I really felt this was such a realistic and interesting first half. The book then looks into Kai trying to deal with her grief. This was also done really well, she is able to work through her emotions and progress to semi normal. I think that is really important to show this element in a book about grief as I think if you were going through something similar and picked up this book then that is an element that could help you. One bit I didn’t like (surprisingly) is that the book started off with a clear focus on familial love and I wasn’t soon keen when this started to change. Kai was a really interesting and very relatable character. I definitely felt that I could completely understand how she handled her grief. I thought how she was portrayed very well and we really got to know her as a character. You felt so many emotions towards her and her experience. Very well written. General I thought it was a brilliant book and I loved how it tackled the topic. It made me so emotional!
    more
  • Karen Whittard
    November 3, 2016
    Huge thank you to NetGalley,Kids can press and Kim Turriai for the opportunity to read this book for an honest reviewAn incredibly raw, gut wrenching, heartbreaking start, light, healing, friendship love and honesty in the middle and a beautiful ending. Bringing the reader on a remarkable journey. An incredibly author I really went on this journey with Kai. It was just a normal Tuesday for Kai that was until she found a letter addressed to her which reads 'My very bestest sister Kai. If you are Huge thank you to NetGalley,Kids can press and Kim Turriai for the opportunity to read this book for an honest reviewAn incredibly raw, gut wrenching, heartbreaking start, light, healing, friendship love and honesty in the middle and a beautiful ending. Bringing the reader on a remarkable journey. An incredibly author I really went on this journey with Kai. It was just a normal Tuesday for Kai that was until she found a letter addressed to her which reads 'My very bestest sister Kai. If you are reading this I am already gone'. In one split second Kai's life will never be the same again. Sucked into the dispaire and hopelessness of loosing her sister Jen to suicide. Kai turns to drink and drugs to help her cope. Kai lasses out against the people who love her most and who are grieving too her parents. Consumed with sadness. Kai's parents send a reluctant Kai to a grief camp hoping that the camp can help heal and fix their daughter in ways that they can't.Although Kai is reluctant to go. When Kai is there she finds other teenagers who can relate and understand Kai in ways no one else can. Kai is no longer alone and can see light at the end of the very long tunnel. Kim does a wonderful job with this book shedding light on suicide, mental illness, substance abuse and loss. Kim sets out a process for healing and moving forward for people who have been through the same things as Kai. This is also a hopeful story which sets out to prove that when life throws the worst at you. Things can get better. You can heal and you can learn to love again.
    more
  • Leslynn
    November 9, 2016
    Copy courtesy of NetGalleyIt's clear (even before reading the afterword) that the author has lived this hurt, or done a shit ton of accurate research. This book deals with some hard-core truths, which not everyone will enjoy. A heart-wrenching story of loss, love and finding a reason to live again. Read it if you dare!
    more
  • Dani
    November 24, 2016
    Thanks to NetGalley and the publisher for providing me with an ARC in exchange for an honest review.3.5 stars rounded up to 4 stars because while it was missing connective tissue, the purpose was fulfilled!Teen Kai returns home on just a normal Tuesday to find a letter from her older sister, Jen. It says she's already gone but Kai rushes over to try to save her. Unable to deal with what she finds Kai spirals into hardcore drug and alcohol use which don't work well with the dark thoughts that sta Thanks to NetGalley and the publisher for providing me with an ARC in exchange for an honest review.3.5 stars rounded up to 4 stars because while it was missing connective tissue, the purpose was fulfilled!Teen Kai returns home on just a normal Tuesday to find a letter from her older sister, Jen. It says she's already gone but Kai rushes over to try to save her. Unable to deal with what she finds Kai spirals into hardcore drug and alcohol use which don't work well with the dark thoughts that start to invade her reality. Luckily her best friends have her back and report her descent to her parents who send her to a grief camp where she learns she is not alone in losing someone she loves. There she meets friends for life who help her to keep moving forward...The first half of the book sets up the death of Kai's sister and her descent in the face of the suicide. The second half of the book Kai is at a camp for grieving kids who have lost loved ones. I really enjoyed the contrast of the two Kai's and how it showed therapy, recreational and otherwise, helps deal with grief and other extreme emotional situations. I liked Kai's best friends at home, they seemed realistic to me, even if Kai is quite self-centered. The kids at the camp (Ben, Jack, Graham and Cass) were also developed well with enough presence that I too felt effected by their stories of grief. I liked that Cass was so different from Kai and yet they had a joint bond because of their grief. It shows girls reading that bonds can be made in any situation no matter how different or odd they feel they are compared to others. There is this whisper of a love triangle for about a minute. I liked that Kai quickly moved on, chose the boy she liked and the triangle went away. This felt more true to life to me. While multiple choices are totally present in life we as the heroine tend to chose and keep moving. Then Jack became this great interaction about their loved ones, not everyone descends into substance abuse, some even appear to be upbeat but they still need to grieve and heal. And someone she could squee over with Cass! Ben made me so heart sore, but I loved the different perspective he gave on loss and the pressures that kids are under. The best relationship though was with Graham, her love interest. His relationship with his brother was the same but different as the one with her sister. This really made them coming together make sense to me and better yet you could feel their connection. Not only is the love interest a big plus but I loved how they come together as a group and help one another have a refuge to share their loss. They are all doing the activities together and it makes them feel more acceptable. “Okay, squeeze it out. You’re gonna be okay,” Marco says with such calm in his voice. Then it happens. The simple act of another hand squeezing mine lightens my burden. For the first time since Jen left me. Grief doesn't fly by quite so fast as portrayed in the story. It read as if you get over a loved one dying as quickly as heart break. Suicide, especially, can't be further from the truth, especially if this was due to depression. I know that wasn't the intention but without connective tissue in the story to show passage of time and the healing process it just feels rushed. A strong use of the questions that linger after suicide did mitigate this effect to a point. An overwhelming question I had at the end was why? Why kill yourself Jen if your life was so good and you loved your sister Kai so much? Kai also was left with this lingering question. Just because you are healing doesn't mean you let go of the questions. My only other reservation was the way drugs and alcohol were portrayed. It was gratuitous. While setting up Kai's status quo it seemed to me she made use of drugs and alcohol regularly in the course of her everyday life. As a result young readers will assume this is perfectly normal for a teenager. For those teens with a privileged lifestyle maybe and this may make the book seem more realistic to some. But to me it seemed dangerous to present such regular abuse of drugs and alcohol as typical for teens in general so much so that only a descent into hardcore abuse would appear natural when Kai's sister died. There were also a lot of F bombs dropped in the beginning. Also Kai makes out with Graham on their first "date." This may make me a prude but neither seem to add anything to me. The cursing was quickly dropped. And I actually quite like Graham but there seems to be no stops on Kai or on her way of life. This distanced me from Kai and her emotions more than I would have liked! I wanted to really relate to her and that was hard to do at first, once we hit camp Kai seemed to change overnight to this regular girl who I could totally relate to (making out or not!) I really appreciated how this was a healthy look at mourning and therapy and not a dysfunctional running amuck in the end... BOTTOM LINE: A true portrayal of how grief counseling and therapy works for the better...
    more
  • Bonnie Gonzales
    April 22, 2017
    I saw on the back cover it was for ages 14-18 and here I am in my seventies and was just turning the pages thinking how great the author was doing with such a sad, gut wrenching subject, so don't let that age listing stop you from reading the book. Yes the book touched my heart and I shed some tears but I really appreciated how the author wrote, I was never lost, and I really felt the heart warming moments the group at grief camp felt. Great writing made for a great read.
    more
  • Monique
    March 15, 2017
    *I received a copy of this book via NetGalley*Full ramble hereMoving. Heartbreaking. Soulful. Emotional.These four words don’t even begin to describe the journey you take with Kai in Just A Normal Tuesday.If you are looking for something well written and deeply meaningful, give this book a chance.
    more
  • Saarah Niña
    November 25, 2016
    One of a kindYou don't tend to find books which deal with grief, death, the loss of a dear one, and the heavy, loaded, word: suicide. And you certainly don't find books where a young teenager is having to deal with these issues. As the author acknowledges, suicide affects a lot of people and a lot of families. There should be no stigma in discussing it, without this stigma we may actually be able to save lives. The main character, Kai, is excited for the summer, she has plans for how she will sp One of a kindYou don't tend to find books which deal with grief, death, the loss of a dear one, and the heavy, loaded, word: suicide. And you certainly don't find books where a young teenager is having to deal with these issues. As the author acknowledges, suicide affects a lot of people and a lot of families. There should be no stigma in discussing it, without this stigma we may actually be able to save lives. The main character, Kai, is excited for the summer, she has plans for how she will spend her gap-year. And her sister, Jen, is her only ally. Without Jen to persuade and convince their parents, the plans for travelling to Europe will probably never happen. Immediately, when reading the first chapter of the book, I was taken aback to how the writer was immediately able to take us back to our college days, the feeling of complete freedom, and the buzzing excitement. Now imagine brimming with excitement rushing home only to pick up letters your sister left, for you and your parents. Suicide letters. I cried, it was real, raw and powerful. It was too much, and it was just enough. We can't let people keep ignoring, or flitting past and around suicide, and all things deemed to be 'embarrassing', or 'socially inappropriate'. This book broke me down, I couldn't for a second imagine the extent of Kai's pain. I wanted to leap right into the page, give her a hug and cry with her. This book was written intelligently, and I can't think of a better way to have put the story to a page. I felt that this book was perfectly appropriate for teenagers, the sort of story you'll find on Wattpad. Except, there was excellent spelling and grammar at all times, and it was a story like no other. I could read this a dozen times over, this is a story that will instantly restore your faith in humanity. Just a Normal Tuesday serves as reassurance that when you are broken down, there will be someone to help you up, and to help you move forward. You are not alone. Kai was lucky to have found others just like her, at grief camp. Her inner circle of amazing. But no one in her circle was dealing with suicide, but still there was no judgement. They were helping one another out during a time of trouble. Those are the grounds for a beautiful friendship. There at grief camp, she falls in love for the first time, she experiences what it is really like to connect with others, and she moves forward. It's incredibly important that we remind ourselves that there are others out there who are facing what we face, or have faced. Like the author, I want to help others see that they are being 'represented'. That they have a voice they can relate to. Often, this knowledge is all they need. This book is a wonderful form of reassurance, and I'm glad to have read it. An easy recommendation.I received this book through NetGalley.
    more
  • Brittni (The Long Island Readium)
    December 2, 2016
    JUST A NORMAL TUESDAY by Kim Turrisi is set to be published May 2, 2017 by Kids Can Press, thanks to them and Net Galley for an ARC.Sixteen year old Kai is having just a normal Tuesday, that is until she gets home and finds three envelopes made out to her, her mom and her dad from her sister Jen. Suicide notes. What follows next is an emotionally raw, heartbreaking, and powerful insight into what's next for suicide survivors. Kai self-medicates with drugs and alcohol, skips school and eventually JUST A NORMAL TUESDAY by Kim Turrisi is set to be published May 2, 2017 by Kids Can Press, thanks to them and Net Galley for an ARC.Sixteen year old Kai is having just a normal Tuesday, that is until she gets home and finds three envelopes made out to her, her mom and her dad from her sister Jen. Suicide notes. What follows next is an emotionally raw, heartbreaking, and powerful insight into what's next for suicide survivors. Kai self-medicates with drugs and alcohol, skips school and eventually comes to a breaking point that her friends can't keep secret. It's at this point her parents, unable to help her as they are swallowed in their own grief, send her to a camp for children suffering the death of a loved one. It is here that Kai meets a boy, makes new friends and begins the healing process. This book tugged at my emotional heartstrings, I cried in nearly every chapter as I imagined the pain and confusion Kai and her family were experiencing. As someone who has lost a loved one to suicide, I understand all too well the grief, anger, confusion and guilt that follows. Kim Turrisi gave an amazing insight into what the suicide survivors grapple with after the loss of a loved one. Everyone should add this to their TBR.
    more
  • Sara
    November 18, 2016
    I lost a sister when I was in my early 20s, the same way Kai lost hers. Unlike any author I have read, Kim Turrisi captures the raw pain and anger I felt as a survivor. Very rarely do you find a voice as truthful about issues never talked about. I was with her every step, from denial to recovery. Seeing the response of those around her, from HER point of view, was enlightening for me as I looked back at my own experiences. Kim has a way with words, a way of making you feel as if you are inhabiti I lost a sister when I was in my early 20s, the same way Kai lost hers. Unlike any author I have read, Kim Turrisi captures the raw pain and anger I felt as a survivor. Very rarely do you find a voice as truthful about issues never talked about. I was with her every step, from denial to recovery. Seeing the response of those around her, from HER point of view, was enlightening for me as I looked back at my own experiences. Kim has a way with words, a way of making you feel as if you are inhabiting her body and mind, a 16 year old undergoing unthinkable trauma. This should be required reading for middle grade to high school so that kids and teens understand how their actions have impact on their loved ones. And for adults, a must read, really a road map, to understanding today's teens.
    more
  • Louise Allison
    May 4, 2017
    What a great book - a sixteen year old girl 'Kai' grows up in an unloving and unemotional family. Her and her older sister mean everything to each other. Then Jen Jen commits suicide and leaves Kai spiralling out of control. Her parents are going through their own hell and cannot help her until she has a complete melt down and is sent off to grief camp. To her surprise the camp is the making of her. Sharing emotions is something she has never done, grief camp takes her out of her comfort zone an What a great book - a sixteen year old girl 'Kai' grows up in an unloving and unemotional family. Her and her older sister mean everything to each other. Then Jen Jen commits suicide and leaves Kai spiralling out of control. Her parents are going through their own hell and cannot help her until she has a complete melt down and is sent off to grief camp. To her surprise the camp is the making of her. Sharing emotions is something she has never done, grief camp takes her out of her comfort zone and into a whole new world. This book reminds you what it is like to be a teenager and what it is like to experience emotions for the first time, including first love. Thank you for turning a sad sad tale into an strength finding inspirational read Kim.
    more
  • Wendy Brant
    November 15, 2016
    As someone who has lost a loved one to suicide, I found this story to be heart wrenching, honest, and cathartic. Suicide elicits so many emotions: shock, denial, anger, guilt, and Turrisi captures all of them from the viewpoint of a younger sister struggling to answer the biggest question: why? I think what I liked most about Just a Normal Tuesday was Kai's journey through the pain to the healing, finding comfort in community and sharing with others who have suffered a similar loss. Kai's voice As someone who has lost a loved one to suicide, I found this story to be heart wrenching, honest, and cathartic. Suicide elicits so many emotions: shock, denial, anger, guilt, and Turrisi captures all of them from the viewpoint of a younger sister struggling to answer the biggest question: why? I think what I liked most about Just a Normal Tuesday was Kai's journey through the pain to the healing, finding comfort in community and sharing with others who have suffered a similar loss. Kai's voice is witty and smart and the ending will leave you full of hope for her future. I think any teen (or adult, for that matter) who has lost a loved one will relate to the gamut of feels in this one. <3
    more
  • Kim Tomsic
    March 10, 2017
    Raw! Beautiful! Heart-wrenching! Hopeful!
  • Jason Gallaher
    March 4, 2017
    This is such a heart-wrenching, beautiful book. In the author's note we are told that the author went through suicide in her own life, and you can feel that in Turrisi's writing. The difficulties that Kai faces and the questions and frustrations Kai has feel very authentic. This is an experience I hope I never have to go through, but feel like I've learned a lot on how to empathize with anyone who has experienced suicide in their life.
    more
  • Diana
    December 18, 2016
    Just a Normal Tuesday by Kim Turissi starts on a normal day before Kai’s world is shattered by her sister’s suicide. The book takes us through all the motions from when Kai found the suicide note to her finding the body. It started off an emotional read and went on this way for most part of the book. What I found interesting is that the author did not just gloss over the details of the death. There were details about the funeral as we saw the family making decisions about the clothes for the dec Just a Normal Tuesday by Kim Turissi starts on a normal day before Kai’s world is shattered by her sister’s suicide. The book takes us through all the motions from when Kai found the suicide note to her finding the body. It started off an emotional read and went on this way for most part of the book. What I found interesting is that the author did not just gloss over the details of the death. There were details about the funeral as we saw the family making decisions about the clothes for the deceased and the kind of coffin to pick. It was easy to connect with their characters and get to understand how each one of them was dealing with the grief.This book has quite heavy themes of suicide and mental health issues. It gives an in depth look of the victims. In this case, I was surprised by the methodically way that Jen planned her death yet her family had no clue that she was even depressed. It made me wonder about how many times people around us hide their pain so well that we don’t know what they are going through until it is too late. The book focuses on the grief of those left behind, the suicide survivors. The different emotions that the family went through from denial, pain, anger to guilt.I already mentioned just how heavy this book is but it actually got heavier as the story progressed. Kai ends up in a grief camp and is surrounded by teens and even younger kids dealing with grief. In her group, we meet people who have lost loved ones. There is a kid who lost her grandmother, another who lost his dad in Afghanistan, a twin who lost his brother in an accident…there is so much pain all around. However, through the pages, we also get to experience the character’s healing as they deal with their pain.Just like in the first chapters where the author gave details about Jen’s death and her funeral, readers also get details about the grief counseling. We get to learn the exercises that the teens had to take and how this helped them. This helps in understanding their personal journeys There is a bit of romance that blossoms at the camp which was great to read about in the midst of all the sadness.Just a Normal Tuesday by Kim Turissi is an issue-oriented YA that covers themes of death and mental health issues. Other themes that come up in the story include; substance abuse, family, friendship and healing. This is the kind of book that will break you and then fix you up again. If you want to get an understanding on issues of grief, suicide and coping then I definitely recommend this book. I also think that readers who like issue-oriented YA books may like this book.
    more
  • John Clark
    January 29, 2017
    Kai’s life is pretty much great, until the Tuesday she finds three letters in the mail. Then her world falls apart. The letters, one to her, the others to her parents, are from her older sister Jen who she idolizes. Each letter contains a suicide note. Despite a frantic drive with her friend TJ to Jen’s apartment, it’s too late. When they arrive, the police and EMTs have already broken the door on her apartment and when Kai rushes in, desperately hoping it’s not too late, she finds her sister ly Kai’s life is pretty much great, until the Tuesday she finds three letters in the mail. Then her world falls apart. The letters, one to her, the others to her parents, are from her older sister Jen who she idolizes. Each letter contains a suicide note. Despite a frantic drive with her friend TJ to Jen’s apartment, it’s too late. When they arrive, the police and EMTs have already broken the door on her apartment and when Kai rushes in, desperately hoping it’s not too late, she finds her sister lying in bed and well past any chance of being revived. What follows is a vivid, profound and intensely emotional portrait of a girl so devastated by loss that she loses any ability to care—for herself, for her friends, for living. It takes a crisis witnessed by her grieving parents, to snap her (and them) back to some semblance of reality. Desperate to avoid losing another child, her parents enroll her in a month long grief camp tor kids of all ages. Kai is less than thrilled to go, but really has no choice. It’s that or continue spiraling further into her own black hole. At camp, she’s placed in a group with three boys and another girl. Watching the process each goes through and the way they bond as well as peel away layer after layer of sadness and isolation, is eye opening and extremely heart warming. The author draws on her own feelings of sadness and isolation as a teen under similar circumstances to make this a strong, strong story. Despite some profanity, it’s a book that deserves serious consideration for both school and public libraries. Teens who have lost a friend, family member or classmate can get a lot from this one.
    more
  • Annette Jordan
    November 9, 2016
    This is a little book that just might break your heart. It tells the story of 16 year old Kai, who is about to graduate high school and planning a summer of fun with her big sister before a gap year of travel. Then one Tuesay on her way home from school she is surprised to find three letters from her sister in the mailbox. Adressed to Kai and each of her parents , each letter is a goodbye...This is a really honest book about grief and the sense of loss and abandonment felt by those left behind w This is a little book that just might break your heart. It tells the story of 16 year old Kai, who is about to graduate high school and planning a summer of fun with her big sister before a gap year of travel. Then one Tuesay on her way home from school she is surprised to find three letters from her sister in the mailbox. Adressed to Kai and each of her parents , each letter is a goodbye...This is a really honest book about grief and the sense of loss and abandonment felt by those left behind when a loved one dies, in this case by suicide, but as later events in the book reveal, no matter what the cause the sense of loss is still the same. Kai passes through a whole range of emotions as her grief unfolds , denial that her sister is really gone, anger with herself and her parents for not picking up on what was really going on in her sister's life and a self destructive spiral that forces her family to enrol her in a grief camp where she eventually learns to accept and start to come to terms with what has happened. I did not know until I had finished reading that the author was writing from experience, but I felt as I was reading that this might have been the case, the book was too raw and too honest to think anything else. The overwhelming feeling at the end of the book is definitely one of hope, and that it is ok and right to continue on with life, even though it may be hard.
    more
  • Paula
    December 16, 2016
    Thanks to Goodreads and Kids Can Press for a free copy of Just A Normal Tuesday. This is the story of 16 year old Kai, who is having anything but a normal Tuesday after finding a suicide note from her older sister in the mail. What happens next is chronicled beautifully and realistically in this character-driven young adult novel. The reader is expertly brought into the world of the survivors, not just Kai and her parents but other teens that Kai meets at Grief camp. I became caught up in Kai's Thanks to Goodreads and Kids Can Press for a free copy of Just A Normal Tuesday. This is the story of 16 year old Kai, who is having anything but a normal Tuesday after finding a suicide note from her older sister in the mail. What happens next is chronicled beautifully and realistically in this character-driven young adult novel. The reader is expertly brought into the world of the survivors, not just Kai and her parents but other teens that Kai meets at Grief camp. I became caught up in Kai's character, so concerned about her downward spiral and then rooting for her rehabilitation at grief camp. Kim Turrisi tells us in the Author's Note at the end of the novel that her older sister killed herself when Kim was a teenager. I felt that she handled this difficult subject matter with sensitivity and understanding. There is a real air of authenticity to this novel. I would recommend Just a Normal Tuesday to anyone interested in issue and character-driven novels, especially those who have lost a loved one.
    more
  • Mightynobody
    December 6, 2016
    I received Just a Normal Tuesday by Kim Turrisi through a Goodreads giveaway and finished it in just over a day. It's a YA novel that tackles the heavy issue of suicide and Turrisi handles the material deftly and beautifully. Drawing from her own personal story, Kim Turrisi weaves an interesting and touching story about Kai, a girl in her mid-teens whose older sister and hero decides to take her own life, who now has to navigate the world without her.Sometimes when you read YA fiction, the chara I received Just a Normal Tuesday by Kim Turrisi through a Goodreads giveaway and finished it in just over a day. It's a YA novel that tackles the heavy issue of suicide and Turrisi handles the material deftly and beautifully. Drawing from her own personal story, Kim Turrisi weaves an interesting and touching story about Kai, a girl in her mid-teens whose older sister and hero decides to take her own life, who now has to navigate the world without her.Sometimes when you read YA fiction, the characters don't feel quite real, but I never felt that way while reading Just a Normal Tuesday. Each character felt genuine, as did the grief they were dealing with. The story never dragged nor felt like it wallowed too long in pity. It's just a well crafted narrative built around a heartrending topic. I would recommend Just a Normal Tuesday to just about anyone.
    more
  • Laura Henderson
    October 27, 2016
    WOW! And I mean wow! This book brings fourth so many emotions. This book was so raw and so real. Kim does a beautiful job of showing such unfiltered emotions. This book was like a punch to the gut. You truly feel Kai's pain as she starts her downward spiral. You almost want to reach in and pull her out. This beautiful heartbreaking story really shows you how some deal with loss and its not pretty. I found the novel to be beautiful but had a small problem with some of the writing and the usage of WOW! And I mean wow! This book brings fourth so many emotions. This book was so raw and so real. Kim does a beautiful job of showing such unfiltered emotions. This book was like a punch to the gut. You truly feel Kai's pain as she starts her downward spiral. You almost want to reach in and pull her out. This beautiful heartbreaking story really shows you how some deal with loss and its not pretty. I found the novel to be beautiful but had a small problem with some of the writing and the usage of words, but I feel this can be over looked as it does not take away from this novel. Kim shows us how to live life after loss and how we get passed the "why" question and learn to move on. This book starts in the dark and soon brings you to the light as you cry and are saddened and learn to soon laugh and move on. What a beautiful debut novel. 4 stars from me.
    more
  • Aurora Batty
    December 4, 2016
    When I started to Just a Normal Tuesday by Kim Turrisi I thought that Kai, the main character, was going to solve a mystery and that her sister’s suicide was just a cover up of murder but this wasn’t that type of book at all. This story is raw, emotional and very serious. We follow Kai from discovering her sister’s (Jen) suicide, through her grief, anger and self destruction. As she hits about rock bottom her friends rally around her and her family takes her to a grief camp where she comes to te When I started to Just a Normal Tuesday by Kim Turrisi I thought that Kai, the main character, was going to solve a mystery and that her sister’s suicide was just a cover up of murder but this wasn’t that type of book at all. This story is raw, emotional and very serious. We follow Kai from discovering her sister’s (Jen) suicide, through her grief, anger and self destruction. As she hits about rock bottom her friends rally around her and her family takes her to a grief camp where she comes to terms with her feelings about her sister’s death.This book just might be one that everyone should read, especially if they are learning how to cope.See my full on my blog here:https://aurorabattysbooks.wordpress.c...
    more
  • Maureen
    January 12, 2017
    It was Just a Normal Tuesday. Kai needed to complete homework. Then she was headed to Taco Tuesday to plan her prom outfit. But a quick trip to the mailbox brought three letters from her older sister Jen, one for Kai and their parents. In one brief moment, Kai's world crashed around her and she had to learn to navigate as an "only child" in the aftermath of Jen's suicide.This YA novel has all the feels. It is brutal, yet tender. At one moment your heart breaks for Kai, and at the next you find y It was Just a Normal Tuesday. Kai needed to complete homework. Then she was headed to Taco Tuesday to plan her prom outfit. But a quick trip to the mailbox brought three letters from her older sister Jen, one for Kai and their parents. In one brief moment, Kai's world crashed around her and she had to learn to navigate as an "only child" in the aftermath of Jen's suicide.This YA novel has all the feels. It is brutal, yet tender. At one moment your heart breaks for Kai, and at the next you find yourself cheering her on. Just a Normal Tuesday's author Kim Turrisi wrote from the heart. When she was 15 her sister also committed suicide. This novel hits hard and doesn't sugar coat. I was given an Egalley of this novel by Edelweiss in exchange for a fair and unbiased review.
    more
  • Rosana Carlos
    November 30, 2016
    This book it's not about grief, deal with death or blame yourself or the others. The book is about emotions and how to deal with then when you most need. Isn't easy to find such subject in a book young adult but I can ensure you the author made this carefully. If you lost some loved one, the book wouldn't suit your desire for answers but will help to mend your soul and you to deal with your lost and pain. I loved the writing and the way the author led the end. I really recomend this book to ever This book it's not about grief, deal with death or blame yourself or the others. The book is about emotions and how to deal with then when you most need. Isn't easy to find such subject in a book young adult but I can ensure you the author made this carefully. If you lost some loved one, the book wouldn't suit your desire for answers but will help to mend your soul and you to deal with your lost and pain. I loved the writing and the way the author led the end. I really recomend this book to everyone, doesn't matter if you lost or not someone, "Just a normal tuesday" deal with feelings and that's what we need these days.
    more
  • Uma Aiyer
    November 5, 2016
    I received a copy of the book from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This book isn't about the grieving process. It isn't also about dealing with loss. It's a heart breaking perspective on what life is when you lose someone very dear to you. From hearing of their death to handling it... This book is a fair picture of how we all handle such news. Imo the bit about Kai falling in love at grief camp was a little over the top... But it was written so carefully that I couldn't help but love I received a copy of the book from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This book isn't about the grieving process. It isn't also about dealing with loss. It's a heart breaking perspective on what life is when you lose someone very dear to you. From hearing of their death to handling it... This book is a fair picture of how we all handle such news. Imo the bit about Kai falling in love at grief camp was a little over the top... But it was written so carefully that I couldn't help but love it.
    more
  • Shotobhisha
    January 6, 2017
    3.5 starsI really enjoyed this book. It tackled losing someone you love in a way that wasn't very cliche. It showed that everyone has different coping mechanisms to loss and ways to deal with grief. The grief camp seemed extremely realistic and was an interesting idea as I had never heard of something like it. I do feel like some parts of the book dragged on unnecessarily and others were rushed but overall, this is a good read and I definitely recommend.
    more
  • HNGC Library
    October 29, 2016
    Kai's best friend and sister, Jennifer, kills herself. Kai finds out when she opens the mail and reads a letter from Jennifer informing Kai of her death. This event throws Kai into a tailspin. She starts drinking heavily, taking prescription pills and checking out of life. After a while her parents step in and send her to a summer grief camp. At camp Kai meets others who have been handed a sudden loss and over time learns positive ways to deal with her pain.
    more
Write a review