Crime Song (Frank Marr #2)
Frank Marr ("a masterly piece of characterization" - Tana French) is back. Marr, a retired D.C. police detective working as a private eye for a defense attorney, has a serious problem. He is secretly a drug addict, and his long-time supply of cocaine is about to run out.While staking out an upscale nightclub in an attempt to target the stash-houses of dealers from whom to steal for his fix, he settles on a target: a young college student. After a long night in pursuit of his quarry, Marr returns home to find he has been burglarized. Though his drugs are safe, several items are missing: his .38 revolver and his cherished music collection (with dozens of albums belonging to his deceased mother.) Marr immediately begins investigating the crime himself.But when the dealer Marr had been following is stabbed to death in his own fortified home, Frank is certain that the burglary and murder are related. With good cops, bad cops, and exceptionally dangerous drug lords on his tail, Frank is determined to find out the truth, even if it kills him. This time, it just might.

Crime Song (Frank Marr #2) Details

TitleCrime Song (Frank Marr #2)
Author
Formatebook
ReleaseMay 2nd, 2017
PublisherMulholland Books
ISBN0316466379
ISBN-139780316466370
Rating
GenreFiction, Mystery, Crime, Contemporary

Crime Song (Frank Marr #2) Review

  • Kelsey
    April 18, 2017
    I enjoyed this book more than I thought I would.It was not too slow and not too fast. And the mystery of it all was good. The author's experience as a cop really lended itself well to the story. And I really enjoyed his writing. I would recommend this book to others
    more
  • Chris
    May 17, 2017
    I was totally blown away by the first book in this series, this one was good, but not quite as compelling, in my opinion. Still, the misadventures of the multi-addicted, ethically challenged and sometimes brutal protagonist make this a worthwhile and harrowing ride through the mean streets of D.C.
    more
  • John McDermott
    May 22, 2017
    Many thanks to Goodreads and Mulholland Books for my first-time Giveaways win !! Woohoo! All I now have to do is give an unbiased review. Crime Song by David Swinson was excellent and I can highly recommend it. A must read for all fans of American crime fiction especially if you like George Pelecanos and Elmore Leonard. You'll find no clever serial killers or grand heists within these pages; this is firmly rooted in the everyday reality of street crime and their consequences. These novels ,for m Many thanks to Goodreads and Mulholland Books for my first-time Giveaways win !! Woohoo! All I now have to do is give an unbiased review. Crime Song by David Swinson was excellent and I can highly recommend it. A must read for all fans of American crime fiction especially if you like George Pelecanos and Elmore Leonard. You'll find no clever serial killers or grand heists within these pages; this is firmly rooted in the everyday reality of street crime and their consequences. These novels ,for me,succeed or fail on their characters and dialogue and in this David Swinson triumphs. His experience as a police officer has given him an insight as to how street officers and criminals really speak and his dialogue has a rhythm and flow that makes it a pleasure to read. All his characterisations are tremendous but it his main protagonist,Frank Marr, that is particularly well done. A once decent man and cop who has become totally compromised by his addiction to cocaine. The conflict between Frank trying to do the right thing and his habit makes for an engaging read.Give this one a go. Highly recommended.
    more
  • Ramona
    May 19, 2017
    As always I would like to thank Goodreads, Mr Swinson and Mulholland Books forthe opportunity to read this novel. I liked this book but it was dark so if you are looking for a nice little mystery with minimal violence this is not the book for you. The characters are flawed and often brutal ,right and wrong are intermingled, but I could not put it down when I began reading it .
    more
  • Denise
    May 13, 2017
    I really enjoyed this book as so much crime fiction is conventional and samey these days. However this book is about Frank who whilst being a private investigator is also a drug addict. It all gets very messy for Frank when his cousin is embroiled in a case he is working on. I read this in 2 days which says it all really. Originality in a saturated genre is rare so check it out
    more
  • Matt
    May 19, 2017
    My book review for Crime Song can be found here on my blog:https://th3fakescotsman.wordpress.com...*I won this book in a Goodreads giveaway, so I'd like to thank David Swinson and Mulholland again for giving me the chance to read this book *
  • Bill Hendrick
    May 21, 2017
    Good, but I liked the 1st one better, more action
  • Nise'
    May 21, 2017
    Frank is a flawed character that at times is hard to like, he tries to do right, but his methods aren't always honest. A great follow-up, with plenty of action, to the first book The Second Girl
  • Joann TRAVIS
    May 9, 2017
    I had a hard time staying interested in the book it wouldn't keep my interest.
  • Mulholland Books
    May 4, 2017
    Frank Marr is back!
Write a review