Winter in Paradise
Spend the coldest days of winter on a Caribbean beach with New York Times Bestselling author Elin Hilderbrand. Join New York Times Bestselling author Elin Hilderbrand on the stunning beaches of St. John for the beginning of her thrilling new winter series-The Paradise. Welcome to Paradise, the first book in the Paradise series, has everything that readers have come to know and love about an Elin Hilderbrand novel, plus a healthy dose of intrigue. Irene Steele’s idyllic life-house, husband, family-is shattered when she is woken up by a late-night phone call. Her beloved husband has been found dead, but before Irene can process this tragic news, she must confront the perplexing details of her husband’s death. He was found on St. John island, a tropical paradise far removed from their suburban life. Leaving the cold winter behind, Irene flies down to the beautiful Caribbean beaches of St. John only to make another shocking discovery: her husband had a secret second family. As Irene investigates the mysterious circumstances of her husband’s death, she is plunged into a web of intrigue and deceit belied by the pristine white sand beaches of St. John’s. This exciting first book in the Paradise series will transport readers to a new beach locale-another world that Elin knows as well as her beloved Nantucket-and have them longing for winter

Winter in Paradise Details

TitleWinter in Paradise
Author
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseOct 9th, 2018
PublisherLittle, Brown and Company
ISBN-139780316435505
Rating
GenreFiction, Mystery, Contemporary, Womens Fiction, Chick Lit

Winter in Paradise Review

  • Erin
    January 1, 1970
    5 sun kissed take me to the beach stars Elin Hilderbrand heard the silent sobbing of her devoted readers after she ended the Winter Street series and has rewarded us by creating a new trilogy series set in the Virgin Islands; specifically St John. Irene Steele, second cousin to Winter Street's Mitzi Quinn, is at 57 facing a lot of challenges. It's the end of another year, her employer wants her to retire, her husband, Russ, is away on business, her mother in law is ailing and her two grown son 5 sun kissed take me to the beach stars Elin Hilderbrand heard the silent sobbing of her devoted readers after she ended the Winter Street series and has rewarded us by creating a new trilogy series set in the Virgin Islands; specifically St John. Irene Steele, second cousin to Winter Street's Mitzi Quinn, is at 57 facing a lot of challenges. It's the end of another year, her employer wants her to retire, her husband, Russ, is away on business, her mother in law is ailing and her two grown sons don't seem to need her anymore. Then her phone rings and Irene receives the news that her husband is dead, having died in a helicopter crash. Mitzi and her sons, Baker and Cash, head to the Island where more secrets await. Winter in Paradise is contemporary family drama done right. It's coupled with the right amount of tension, heartache, and romance. Irene Steele might just be my favorite EH character at the moment as she faces an uphill battle of reeling from the secrets her husband kept hidden, trying to grieve but also trying to forgive. This book is definitely going to make the book club circuit! Thanks to Netgalley for an ARC in exchange for an honest review
    more
  • Kendall
    January 1, 1970
    Happy publication date to this book <3 <3. Oh MY!! Ok.. my first thought is why in heck have I waited SO long to read a Elin Hilderbrand book?! No excuses! This was FANTASTIC!I've got to go back to all her previous series and get going here! ;).I fell in love with everything about this book. The characters are relatable, deep, emotional, and the setting is godly! haha. Hilderbrand I think you've just convinced me where I want to take my honeymoon with my new husband next year!Irene's husba Happy publication date to this book <3 <3. Oh MY!! Ok.. my first thought is why in heck have I waited SO long to read a Elin Hilderbrand book?! No excuses! This was FANTASTIC!I've got to go back to all her previous series and get going here! ;).I fell in love with everything about this book. The characters are relatable, deep, emotional, and the setting is godly! haha. Hilderbrand I think you've just convinced me where I want to take my honeymoon with my new husband next year!Irene's husband dies in a tragic helicopter accident... along with his deception of living an entire double life in the island of St. John's. Can you imagine.. not only finding out your husband is dead but also living a double live in a beautiful island of St. John's?! Yikes....In grief, Irene drops everything along with her two sons Baker and Cash who travel to the island of St. John's. Of course, nothing is as easy as it may seem and secrets upon secrets are waiting for them. Winter in Paradise is the perfect amount of romance, heartache, love, and tension. I would not categorize this as a romance per say but it's so much more than that and I am SO glad I read this. If this is anything like Hilderbrand's previous novels... I am definitely in for a treat!I loved Irene Steele's character the most... but characterization is so strong in this novel. This is a must read my friends!! Beautifully well crafted novel!! Huge 5 stars for Winter in Paradise! Highly recommend.Huge thank you to Little Brown and Company and Netgalley for the advanced arc in exchange for my honest thoughts.Publication date: 10/9/18Published to GR: 9/30/18
    more
  • Amy
    January 1, 1970
    If you’re anything like me and were super sad when Hilderbrand’s last series came to an end then I’m sure you’re going to fall in love with this new series as well. Per usual the characters are immediately relatable and feel like fast friends and the setting is idyllic. It’s a departure for the author, it’s not set in Nantucket but in St. John and I’m currently trying to figure out how to talk my husband into taking me there for our tenth wedding anniversary!Irene’s husband dies in a tragic acci If you’re anything like me and were super sad when Hilderbrand’s last series came to an end then I’m sure you’re going to fall in love with this new series as well. Per usual the characters are immediately relatable and feel like fast friends and the setting is idyllic. It’s a departure for the author, it’s not set in Nantucket but in St. John and I’m currently trying to figure out how to talk my husband into taking me there for our tenth wedding anniversary!Irene’s husband dies in a tragic accident and if that isn’t devastating enough the discovery of his secret double life is revealed. You hear from Irene and her two sons Baker and Cash and you also hear from St. John’s locals, Huck and Ayers. (Quick side note, don’t these characters have the most interesting names?! They’re not pointless either, they all have a story and meaning) One of the many things that intrigued me about this was that it focuses on a group of people who’s lives were heavily impacted by one man but since he dies at the start of the book you never actually get to hear from him. You definitely get a strong sense of who Russ is through the other characters narrative, but he’s this silent, looming presence who intersected lives that otherwise would’ve never crossed paths.I was a little hesitant about reading a Hilderbrand book not set in Nantucket but I worried needlessly because the authors ability to bring a setting to life is unmatched. I have this perfect picture in my mind of how the islands look, feel, sound and smell and that’s why I need to experience it for myself! Throw in a mysterious angle and amazing characterization and you have such a fun read, I’m already dying for the second book in the series and I don’t even know if it’s done being written yet! 😂Winter in Paradise in the words: Escapist, Picturesque and Lush.
    more
  • Book of the Month
    January 1, 1970
    Why I love itby Etaf RumAs an author, it’s not a stretch to say that books are the one true love of my life. Though there’s magic in all of them, I am most captivated by plot-driven stories that deal with the mysteries of everyday life—stories that pose the question: What if everything you know is a lie?Irene seems to have the perfect life as a wife, mother, and magazine editor. But when her husband dies in a mysterious helicopter crash in the Caribbean, she’s left to wonder: Was everything real Why I love itby Etaf RumAs an author, it’s not a stretch to say that books are the one true love of my life. Though there’s magic in all of them, I am most captivated by plot-driven stories that deal with the mysteries of everyday life—stories that pose the question: What if everything you know is a lie?Irene seems to have the perfect life as a wife, mother, and magazine editor. But when her husband dies in a mysterious helicopter crash in the Caribbean, she’s left to wonder: Was everything really as perfect as it seemed? Leaving the suburbs behind, Irene journeys to the Caribbean in search of answers not only about her husband, but also about herself—about the woman she wants to be and the life she wants to lead.I was drawn from the start to this vivid story of heartbreak, betrayal, and the life-altering effects of being blindsided by love. Hilderbrand writes with such detail and clarity that I felt like I was on vacation in St. John right beside Irene and her family. Winter in Paradise is as well-crafted as it is compelling, and while—fair warning—this story ends with a cliffhanger, I can’t wait to read the sequel and find out what happens next to the Steele family.Read more at: https://www.bookofthemonth.com/winter...
    more
  • Stephanie
    January 1, 1970
    Last year after reading the last book in Elin Hilderbrand's "Winter Street" series I felt happy because the book was just so wonderful yet a bit heartbroken because although I love and adore my favorite queen of the summer beach read, her "Winter Street" books have always been my favorites. That is until now. Those books have huge competition for favorites after I just finished the first book in her newest series, Winter in Paradise! If the next two in the series are as good as the first, then I Last year after reading the last book in Elin Hilderbrand's "Winter Street" series I felt happy because the book was just so wonderful yet a bit heartbroken because although I love and adore my favorite queen of the summer beach read, her "Winter Street" books have always been my favorites. That is until now. Those books have huge competition for favorites after I just finished the first book in her newest series, Winter in Paradise! If the next two in the series are as good as the first, then I'll be in for reading heaven!Maybe it's the new setting that made me love this book so much; I mean how can you NOT love a book set in St. John?? Of course, I love the setting of Nantucket where all of Hilderbrand's other books take place, but there is just something extra special about the blue waters of the Caribbean, the sand, the people, just the whole lush and vibrant locale! Reading Winter in Paradise immediately transported me back to this past spring when my husband and I took an anniversary cruise to the Caribbean and although we went to St. Thomas and not St. John, I could still picture everything in my mind exactly the way Hilderbrand described in such beautiful and exquisite detail! She's a master at describing her settings, but she's, even more, a master at writing characters who you feel like you not only know but want to be friends with (most of them anyway because there's always someone awful in one of her books!).Irene is reeling with grief after finding out that her husband Russ has died in a helicopter crash near St. John on New Year's Day. She had no idea he was even in the Caribbean although he was traveling for work as he always seemed to be ever since taking a new job more than a decade ago-a job that changed their lives from struggling middle class to very wealthy. No one will tell her anything about what happened besides some mysterious details that leave more questions than answers, so she and her two adult sons, Cash and Baker, fly to St. John.What awaits them there is more than lush beaches, crystal clear water, and stunning views. Irene, Baker, and Cash arrive at a multi-million dollar villa that they discover belonged to Russ and begin to uncover a web of deception and secrets he'd been keeping from his wife and sons for years. In true Hilderbrand style, the novel is full of juicy drama and scandal, mainly brought on by the actions of a dead man. It's interesting to see how the main characters in the book, who also include islanders Huck, granddaughter Maia, and family friend Ayers, who all three lost someone they loved in the same crash that killed Russ face their grief differently and how the characters interact when they finally cross paths.This is definitely a book about grieving, heartache, and loss but also about love and forgiveness.  I found that I admired Irene so much for having the strength she did under the most tragic and painful circumstances not to be bitter but to actively forgive and do what was right. I think she's one of the best characters that Hilderbrand has written (and in aside she's cousin to Mitzi from the "Winter Street" series, so she has to be pretty great!). Of course, Winter in Paradise left me feeling all kinds of warm fuzzies...that is until the ending that makes me need the second book right this minute! What a way to leave readers in suspense but the good kind! Because between now and next year, I'll be doing my own detective work and trying to sleuth things out...until then, I'm going to dream of tropical beaches and exotic drinks that only taste that good in the Carribean!Make sure you start your holidays off perfectly by reading Hilderbrand's fabulous new start of a holiday trilogy, Winter in Paradise coming out on October 9, 2018! **Thank you, NetGalley and Little, Brown and Company for an ARC to read in exchange for my fair and honest review.**
    more
  • Elle's Book Blog
    January 1, 1970
    Release Date: October 9, 2018 Genre: Women's Fiction Actual Rating: 4 starsElin Hilderbrand has quickly become a favorite author of mine. Her books have originality, relatable characters, and tackle real life issues (for the most part). Her writing style is also my favorite. She weaves her stories though the eyes of several different characters so readers can get a glimpse of everyone and everything involved in whatever is happening. I can't recall many authors who write like this (it's real Release Date: October 9, 2018 Genre: Women's Fiction Actual Rating: 4 starsElin Hilderbrand has quickly become a favorite author of mine. Her books have originality, relatable characters, and tackle real life issues (for the most part). Her writing style is also my favorite. She weaves her stories though the eyes of several different characters so readers can get a glimpse of everyone and everything involved in whatever is happening. I can't recall many authors who write like this (it's really hard to explain to be honest) and I truly love it. Winter in Paradise is the first book in what is going to be a Trilogy. I wasn't expecting this when I went in, I thought this would be a complete standalone, but it simply can't be. This one ends with a lot of loose ends (and a bit of a twist). So I am excited to read the next one. In Winter in Paradise, readers will meet 5(ish) characters and their connections to one another that comes from the death of a husband. Elin doesn't confuse us with multiple POV's, but rather enriches our knowledge of their lives. She tells AND shows us how all these people, some of whom never knew the others exist, are connected. It's shocking and frankly quite scandalous. You will also be transported to a beautiful island that is rich in detail- a place I have never been to but would love to go. You get a feeling that you are there with these characters and following them on an epic journey of love, lies, broken hearts, and healing. It's a wonderful story, one I can't wait to see move forward. If you enjoy the authors previous books this is the book that should be on your TBR this winter. I would recommend it (along with her other novels) wholeheartedly.
    more
  • Jamie Rosenblit
    January 1, 1970
    Elin Hildebrand signature style of writing & a Caribbean island - what is not to love?! I devoured this book in one day and loved every single page. My only regret is now I need to wait a year for book two in this amazing Paradise series! When Irene receives a middle of the night call informing her her husband has died on St. John USVI, she is baffled - what was her husband doing there?! Irene along with her two sons, Cash & Baker (who both have quite a few issues of their own) travel to Elin Hildebrand signature style of writing & a Caribbean island - what is not to love?! I devoured this book in one day and loved every single page. My only regret is now I need to wait a year for book two in this amazing Paradise series! When Irene receives a middle of the night call informing her her husband has died on St. John USVI, she is baffled - what was her husband doing there?! Irene along with her two sons, Cash & Baker (who both have quite a few issues of their own) travel to St. Johns to gather the remains of their husband and father, respectively. Now, this would not be an Elin Hildebrand book without some juicy drama, so of course, once the Steele family arrives, they discover that Russ owned a multi million dollar villa...with a second family. As the Steele family uncovers more and more about the life of the man they thought they knew, they encounter many USVI locals and romance and more starts to build. In true Hildebrand style, look for a cameo from the Winter series early on! And be sure to pick this one up in October!Thank you to Little Brown for an advanced copy. All opinions are my own.
    more
  • Melanie
    January 1, 1970
    This was my October 2018 Book of the Month pick!Blog | Instagram | Twitter | Tumblr | Youtube | Twitch
  • Jen
    January 1, 1970
    Hilderbrand is out of Nantucket and into the Caribbean. Winter in Paradise is written in her classic style and I loved every bit of it. The characters have heart and are immediately likeable, though brothers Cash and Baker come off as little, bratty siblings though they are grown men. Actually, to be honest, that is exactly what they are. Holding grudges since college, these two will undercut each other at every chance given. Especially when it comes to Ayers. Holding a special place in my heart Hilderbrand is out of Nantucket and into the Caribbean. Winter in Paradise is written in her classic style and I loved every bit of it. The characters have heart and are immediately likeable, though brothers Cash and Baker come off as little, bratty siblings though they are grown men. Actually, to be honest, that is exactly what they are. Holding grudges since college, these two will undercut each other at every chance given. Especially when it comes to Ayers. Holding a special place in my heart though, is Maia. Daughter to beloved Rosie, Maia is my daughter’s age and just as precocious. She’s an old soul, a smart girl- an emerging teen, yet still a child. I wanted to wrap her up in a big mama bear hug. Then there is Irene. Irene gathers strength even she didn’t know she had. Thinking life was just fine, things kind of get turned upside down and she has to travel down to St. John to get some answers. Of course, don’t expect those answers by the end of this book. No, Winter in Paradise is the first in a new series for Hildebrand and true to form, she leaves you wanting so much more. Though I have come to adore the Nantucket setting of Elin’s books, this move to St. John and the BVIs is welcome. A regular there herself, Hildebrand brings that familiarity you know so well from her other series and you feel immediately at home. You may end up wanting to drop everything and move there. Become an islander. Which is what I will be doing. Some day. Catch ya in the Caribbean…I received an advanced copy of this book. All opinions are my own.
    more
  • Toni
    January 1, 1970
    We start the "Winter in Paradise" series on New Year’s Day, the first day of a whole new year, laid out before us, untouched, as if each day comes in a shiny bag, to be selected one by one like candy. Irene Steele of Iowa City, Iowa starts her day in her beloved Victorian style home, all fully refurbished and redecorated, thanks to the generous income from her husband’s Russ’s job of the last thirteen years, she encouraged him to accept. Unfortunately, a great deal of travel came with that great We start the "Winter in Paradise" series on New Year’s Day, the first day of a whole new year, laid out before us, untouched, as if each day comes in a shiny bag, to be selected one by one like candy. Irene Steele of Iowa City, Iowa starts her day in her beloved Victorian style home, all fully refurbished and redecorated, thanks to the generous income from her husband’s Russ’s job of the last thirteen years, she encouraged him to accept. Unfortunately, a great deal of travel came with that great salary, which is why Russ had to fly off right after Christmas leaving Irene alone On New Year’s.Miles away in Denver Colorado, her adult son Cash, was given the news just the other day, that the seed money and the two sporting-goods stores, given to him to run by his father, had just gone belly-up. How is he ever going to break this news to his parents, and worse of all, his ever-competitive older brother.Baker, a few years older than Cash, lives in Houston, Texas with his very successful, heart surgeon wife Anna, and their four-year-old son, Floyd. Since Anna must operate in the hospital, and Baker can trade stocks from home, he has decided to be the primary care-giver to his son. Surprisingly, mostly to him, he totally enjoys it; including volunteering at Floyd’s school. This leaves Anna too comfortable to work endless hours and hardly ever sees her son and husband.Back in Iowa, Irene gets ready to go to, what has become a tradition for the last seven years, a New Year’s Day dinner with her best friend Lydia. “Have they been doing this that long,” thinks Irene. As she walks the four short blocks to dinner she’s still wondering why Russ hasn’t called yet, this is unlike him; even though he did send a bouquet of calla lilies that morning. After a great dinner, wine, ‘girl talk’ and a stop at the bookstore, Irene heads back home still wondering about Russ. She missed a call on her cell during dinner from an unfamiliar area code and as she enters the house their landline is ringing, showing that same area code. Irene swiftly picks up and hears a woman’s voice say, “Is this Mrs. Steele?” “This is she,” says Irene.After some discussion, Irene discover the woman is Todd Croft’s secretary. Todd is Russ’s boss. “Something has happened, an accident.” the woman says. “Happened?” says Irene. “I’m afraid your husband is dead.” she says.What happens next, and during approximately three weeks, will be a complete shock to Irene, Cash and Baker. They will fly to St. John in the USVI, where they were told Russ’s remains were, as well as “some property” he owns. They will slowly discover or say uncover some of Russ’s secret life in the lovely island paradise. Most people have heard of Russ, but they’ve never seen or met him, because they call him, the “Invisible Man.” Even the best friend of the local woman who died with Russ that day never met him, nor did her family. So, the Steele family is in for some detective work all while trying to keep their identities under wraps as well. The intrigue will have you turning pages until the very end, unceasingly; while enjoying the lavish descriptions of St. John and the surrounding islands. Oh, about the ending, well you’re just going to pant, dripping saliva, like Pavlov’s dogs, until the next book. Tropical Cocktail anyone? Thank you NetGalley, Little, Brown and Co. and Elin Hilderbrand
    more
  • Robin
    January 1, 1970
    Irene and her sons travel from Iowa to the Caribbean where her husband has died in a helicopter crash but what they find shakes them to their cores. This is the start of a new series with newly created characters and instead of Hilderbrand's usual Nantucket, it is set on St. John. As usual, the characters are appealing (except her sons could be a little on the annoying side) and the intrigue about her husband's death and the family dynamics kept me turning pages.A fun new series that leaves one Irene and her sons travel from Iowa to the Caribbean where her husband has died in a helicopter crash but what they find shakes them to their cores. This is the start of a new series with newly created characters and instead of Hilderbrand's usual Nantucket, it is set on St. John. As usual, the characters are appealing (except her sons could be a little on the annoying side) and the intrigue about her husband's death and the family dynamics kept me turning pages.A fun new series that leaves one hanging (two more are scheduled) but that's OK, I think most readers will figure out things aren't quite what they appear to be. And be ready to pack your bags and book a flight to St. John; it sounds heavenly. Thanks to the publisher for the digital advance reading copy.
    more
  • Haley
    January 1, 1970
    My feelings about this book have truly shocked me. I absolutely loved Elin’s last Winter books so to say I was excited about this new series is an understatement. Unfortunately, for me, this story was way over the top and at times a bit boring. Irene Steele is celebrating New Years Eve at home alone and receives the worst news anyone can ever get— her husband, who is away on business, has died in a plane accident. When facts about the accident come to light, she realizes that her husband was lea My feelings about this book have truly shocked me. I absolutely loved Elin’s last Winter books so to say I was excited about this new series is an understatement. Unfortunately, for me, this story was way over the top and at times a bit boring. Irene Steele is celebrating New Years Eve at home alone and receives the worst news anyone can ever get— her husband, who is away on business, has died in a plane accident. When facts about the accident come to light, she realizes that her husband was leading a secret life in the Caribbean Island of St. John. Irene and her two grown sons travel to St. John to figure out what exactly happened and why they didn’t know about his secret life on this beautiful island. Sounds super intriguing right? I thought so, too. But as I began reading I was overwhelmed with very little dialogue and a lot of telling instead of the author showing us the story. Instead of writing a huge review with everything that didn’t work for me, I’m just going to create a short list of a few of the major points.1. This book contained not a love triangle, but a love square. Three men all “in love” with one woman. So over the top. 2. Insta-love— and not the realistic kind. More of a “I see her and know before she even opens her mouth that I’m in love with her.”. Extremely unrealistic and frustrating. 3. Character flaws. I really hated both brothers. They were petty and just spoiled men. I didn’t fully understand their animosity and dislike towards each other. I think the author tried to put SO many characters in one book that she didn’t fully make me empathize or like the characters. 4. Not enough dialogue. Like I said above there was just a lot of telling us things. We didn’t discover or learn about the characters through situations or the plot. The way we learned about the characters really muddied the plot for me so I could’t fully enjoy the mystery. Like her other Winter series, this book ends on a cliffhanger and will span a couple more books as we learn about what the dad was hiding. Will I read the next book? At this point I’m not sure. Maybe next year I’ll feel differently and decide to pick it up. But at this point, this reader is so disappointed that she didn’t LOVE the book. . . so the answer is no.
    more
  • Donna Hines
    January 1, 1970
    Elin!!! You have done it again this time in PARADISE! I couldn't wait to be swept away and you didn't disappoint.Irene is living a nice cushy life until she gets word that there's been a plane crash on St. John.However, her world is about to become darker as her husband harbored some awful secrets including a hidden life she knew nothing about.A web of intrigue and lies awaits her arrival on this gorgeous island which in real life has just been coming together after terrible acts by mother natur Elin!!! You have done it again this time in PARADISE! I couldn't wait to be swept away and you didn't disappoint.Irene is living a nice cushy life until she gets word that there's been a plane crash on St. John.However, her world is about to become darker as her husband harbored some awful secrets including a hidden life she knew nothing about.A web of intrigue and lies awaits her arrival on this gorgeous island which in real life has just been coming together after terrible acts by mother nature.Russel seems to have had his cake and eaten it too.I'll tell you this one is a real shocker with unseen twist and turns around each corner.I love when what appears one way is quite different and in some cases life altering.If you're lucky enough to read this do so immediately. You wont' want to wait a minute more.Thank you to Elin, the publisher, NetGalley, and Aldiko for this ARC in exchange for this honest review.I wish I had a higher rating to offer.
    more
  • Christina
    January 1, 1970
    4.5 Stars!!!!Ladies and gentlemen, Elin Hilderbrand has done it again. In Winter in Paradise, Hilderbrand delivers a page-turning, deliciously juicy tale chock full of lies, deceit, and passion with a side of sun, sand and refreshing cocktails. I have to admit, I wasn’t sure I was going to love this novel as much since it’s Elin’s first trip away from Nantucket Island. I LOVE Elin’s Nantucket. It’s a truly special treat to travel there with every one of her stories set on the dusty beach roads 4.5 Stars!!!!Ladies and gentlemen, Elin Hilderbrand has done it again. In Winter in Paradise, Hilderbrand delivers a page-turning, deliciously juicy tale chock full of lies, deceit, and passion with a side of sun, sand and refreshing cocktails. I have to admit, I wasn’t sure I was going to love this novel as much since it’s Elin’s first trip away from Nantucket Island. I LOVE Elin’s Nantucket. It’s a truly special treat to travel there with every one of her stories set on the dusty beach roads of that precious little Island. I shouldn’t have worried. Nestled right on the white sandy beaches and under the turquoise blue waters of St. John’s in the Virgin Islands, Winter in Paradise is just as decadent as any Nantucket book we’ve read. The characters are complex, layered and perfectly developed in a way that makes you think you actually know and care about these people and think about them when you’re not actually reading. The plot- a midwestern magazine editor at the end of her career gets a devastating phone call that her husband is dead after a helicopter crash on St John Virgin Island- is perfectly crafted in all the right ways. You won’t be able to put this book down. You’ll NEED to know how it ends, and if your theories are correct. It wouldn’t be a true EH novel if we didn’t get the unique character names we look forward to like Ayers, Baker and Cash. I loved these characters and their complicated dynamics. Beware the cliffhanger! I absolutely loved the way the book ended. I flew through the final 10 pages of the book KNOWING something huge was about to reveal itself. The ending was, like the crystalline water and blissful sunshine of paradise, perfection. Can’t wait for book 2!
    more
  • Julie Barrett
    January 1, 1970
    Winter in Paradise by Elin HilderbrandStarts out where all are stateside based. There are many and they don't appear to be connected til you read further.Wish there was a list of characters at the start-feel lost.Love the details, very descriptive of the island and the culture...Like how everyone is connected and you learn over time just how close they are. Liked being on island time and how the tourists adjust.Love hearing of the different jobs on the island.Interesting how the two brothers are Winter in Paradise by Elin HilderbrandStarts out where all are stateside based. There are many and they don't appear to be connected til you read further.Wish there was a list of characters at the start-feel lost.Love the details, very descriptive of the island and the culture...Like how everyone is connected and you learn over time just how close they are. Liked being on island time and how the tourists adjust.Love hearing of the different jobs on the island.Interesting how the two brothers are in love with the same woman-all kinds of love are shown in this story.Like the mystery of the invisible man-so cool and the pirate-it just fits perfectly.Petroglifics and trails are treasures and conch shell holds a special place in my heart also as my grandmother gave me one.Like where the future will find them...love that this is a trilogy, can't wait to uncover more mysteries and secrets.Received this review copy from Little, Brown and Company via Netgalley and this is my honest opinion.
    more
  • Elizabeth
    January 1, 1970
    Tl;dr: Another outstanding contemporary from Elin Hilderbrand--a smashing start to a trilogy.Winter in Paradise is so good! How good is it? Well, I hate beaches, get a sunburn if I'm outside for twenty minutes on a cloudy day, and yet Ms. Hilderbrand has me convinced that I would have fun in St John's. Yep. That good Winter in Paradise has something for every fan of contemporary women's fiction-- well written, relatable characters, a bit of house and food porn (I confess, I dig both), and a damn Tl;dr: Another outstanding contemporary from Elin Hilderbrand--a smashing start to a trilogy.Winter in Paradise is so good! How good is it? Well, I hate beaches, get a sunburn if I'm outside for twenty minutes on a cloudy day, and yet Ms. Hilderbrand has me convinced that I would have fun in St John's. Yep. That good Winter in Paradise has something for every fan of contemporary women's fiction-- well written, relatable characters, a bit of house and food porn (I confess, I dig both), and a damn good story that sucks you in and has you reading as fast as you can. It's a story about family, love, betrayal, maybe the start of something new, and has a bit of intrigue too.That's a lot for one book, but Ms. Hilderbrand keeps everything rolling along smoothly, and with so much understanding. I love how she writes every relationship in this book, and that's no small feat.The only downside is that it's the first book of a new trilogy and, if like me, you get attached to Irene, Huck, Ayers, Cash, Maia, and Baker (though I admit, I'm a Cash girl), you'll find yourself saying "Noooooooo!" at the end and looking for more pages.Spoiler: There aren't any ;-) Looks like the second book will be out next fall, but until then, I highly recommend you pick up Winter in Paradise and enjoy a getaway that's compelling, a little heartbreaking, and hopeful all at once.I dud receive an ARC, but had already preordered the book, and am glad to add it to my Elin Hilderbrand collection. Now I just need the next book...
    more
  • Stephanie
    January 1, 1970
    Gosh. I’m so torn on this one. I’m a big fan of this author but this one just kind of missed the mark for me. I found the love triangle part really annoying and unlikely. I mean… both brothers fell head over heels in love with this girl immediately? And am I really supposed to believe that a day trading pothead from Houston would use the words “unwashed floozy”? Honestly both brothers seem like jackasses to me.Also I feel like there was a lot of telling us instead of showing us. I wish there was Gosh. I’m so torn on this one. I’m a big fan of this author but this one just kind of missed the mark for me. I found the love triangle part really annoying and unlikely. I mean… both brothers fell head over heels in love with this girl immediately? And am I really supposed to believe that a day trading pothead from Houston would use the words “unwashed floozy”? Honestly both brothers seem like jackasses to me.Also I feel like there was a lot of telling us instead of showing us. I wish there was more dialogue. It just felt very stilted to me for lack of a better word. Nevertheless I’m excited to read the second book in the series.
    more
  • Rebecca
    January 1, 1970
    Thanks to the publisher, via Netgalley, for an advance e-galley for an honest review.It's not quite right to describe a book as a "pleasure" when it centers around devastating deaths and secrets, but getting the opportunity to visit a new island with Elin Hilderbrand, who has built a career writing about islands in a way that makes them feel like additional, beloved characters, is a treat. This is the kind of heartfelt, juicy, dramatic story that I want from Hilderbrand, and it's perfect for eit Thanks to the publisher, via Netgalley, for an advance e-galley for an honest review.It's not quite right to describe a book as a "pleasure" when it centers around devastating deaths and secrets, but getting the opportunity to visit a new island with Elin Hilderbrand, who has built a career writing about islands in a way that makes them feel like additional, beloved characters, is a treat. This is the kind of heartfelt, juicy, dramatic story that I want from Hilderbrand, and it's perfect for either beach reading or "pretending you're on a beach because winter never ends" reading. The first in a new trilogy, and the only bummer is waiting a year to see what happens next.
    more
  • Kim
    January 1, 1970
    Comes out in Oct
  • Dana
    January 1, 1970
    Hilderbrand's books just get better and better and better (and they were REALLY good to start, years ago). Winter in Paradise is book number one in her new series. This one, Winter in Paradise, is irresistible. I could not stop reading it, read most of it in one sitting, and then finished it up the next day. It's a mystery (though not a thriller, and there is no violence) along the lines of Anita Shreve's The Pilot's Wife. This theme has been done by Shreve and others, but in the hands of Hilder Hilderbrand's books just get better and better and better (and they were REALLY good to start, years ago). Winter in Paradise is book number one in her new series. This one, Winter in Paradise, is irresistible. I could not stop reading it, read most of it in one sitting, and then finished it up the next day. It's a mystery (though not a thriller, and there is no violence) along the lines of Anita Shreve's The Pilot's Wife. This theme has been done by Shreve and others, but in the hands of Hilderbrand, it was a fun romp I didn't want to end. Most of the novel is set in the US Virgin Islands where Hilderbrand travels each year for 5 weeks, or so, to write, so she was able to fully describe every beach, bar and hidden gem in her novel. A helicopter goes down on New Year's Eve. Irene Steele in Iowa learns that her husband of 35 years was on that helicopter. A stepfather and best friend in the USVI learns that their step daughter/best friend, mother of a precocious 12 year old was also on that flight, as was one other person, the pilot. From there, no one's lives are ever the same. Irene and her grown sons, Baker and Cash, (with their own lives and issues) fly to Iowa to accompany their mother to the USVI to find out what happened to Russ Steele, who had never told any of them that he traveled there. He was gone a lot, "on business" but they thought he was in Florida. The plot gets juicier as both young men fall for the best friend of Rosie, the young woman who perished along with Russ somewhere in the water over the British Virgin Islands, when they were taking a side trip on New Year's Eve. Something doesn't make sense about Russ's secret life, especially since the house where he lived on the island has been wiped clean of all his possessions, and his boss is unreachable, and all traces of the company have been removed from the internet. We are left hanging about many things (and I have a hunch about things not being as they seem) but there will be a sequel, though we have to wait a year for it! It will be a long year as I am so anxious to find out the truth. This was a great book with everything we could want...a mystery, a romance, and a magical setting! I highly recommend you get your hands on Winter in Paradise, and treasure every word!
    more
  • Debi Lantzer
    January 1, 1970
    Through my association as a blogger with NetGalley, I have the great opportunity to receive and review books in advance of their publish date.  Today's book - Winter in Paradise by Elin Hilderbrand - is being released October 9, 2018! You don't want to miss this one.If you read Hilderbrand's books like me, you were probably sad when her last series came to an end.  Now that Winter in Paradise is out, I'm sure you'll fall in love with the new series, Paradise, just like me! Not surprisingly, this Through my association as a blogger with NetGalley, I have the great opportunity to receive and review books in advance of their publish date.  Today's book - Winter in Paradise by Elin Hilderbrand - is being released October 9, 2018! You don't want to miss this one.If you read Hilderbrand's books like me, you were probably sad when her last series came to an end.  Now that Winter in Paradise is out, I'm sure you'll fall in love with the new series, Paradise, just like me! Not surprisingly, this new trilogy series is set in the Virgin Islands -- specifically St John!The story's protagonist, Irene Steele of Iowa City, Iowa, is grief stricken following the death of her husband, Russ. Irene learns that Russ died in a helicopter crash near St. John on New Year's Day, and she's stunned.  She had no idea Russ was even in the Virgin Islands. Russ took on a new job thirteen years ago that moved their family from struggling middle class to very wealthy, but he seemed to always be traveling for work since that time.Irene is unable to get any details about Russ' death and the details that is able to receive only leave her with more questions than answers. As a result of her failure to get information, Irene and her two adult sons, Baker and Cash, head to St. John themselves to gather the remains of their husband and father, respectively.  When they arrive, they learn about the multi-million dollar villa that Russ owned with a second family.  In case that secret didn't shock the enough, they also start to discover - and uncover - all the secrets Russ had kept from Irene, Baker and Cash for many years. The characters are wonderfully complex and well developed, which allows readers to become invested in the relationships they develop with these people. I don't write spoilers, but I will warn you: beware of the cliffhanger.  I personally loved the way the book ended - the author had me flipping through the final pages of this book knowing something huge was going to happen. I can't wait for book two in the series!
    more
  • Sarah
    January 1, 1970
    Elin Hilderbrand is an automatic read for me. I hate waiting all year for her new summer novel so I'm super excited that she now writes a Winter series as well. Winter in Paradise is the start of her new Winter series. Irene Steele is the cousin of our friend Mitzy in the 1st Winter series and we all loved the Quinn family, as flawed as they were. The Steeles are no exception. Irene receives a phone call at her husband is dead and that he was on St. John. Irene and her 2 sons, Baker and Cash, he Elin Hilderbrand is an automatic read for me. I hate waiting all year for her new summer novel so I'm super excited that she now writes a Winter series as well. Winter in Paradise is the start of her new Winter series. Irene Steele is the cousin of our friend Mitzy in the 1st Winter series and we all loved the Quinn family, as flawed as they were. The Steeles are no exception. Irene receives a phone call at her husband is dead and that he was on St. John. Irene and her 2 sons, Baker and Cash, head to St. John to try and make sense of it all. They meet a few islanders who could potentially help them figure out what was going on, but even they aren't quite sure since they didn't know Irene's husband, only his mistress who he was cheating on Irene with. Both Baker and Cash have their own drama while on the island and it'll be interesting to see how the romance angle plays out over the next few novels. There's a cliffhanger ending that leaves readers wanting more! I can't wait to read the rest of the series!
    more
  • Peggy Jaeger
    January 1, 1970
    Elin Hilderbrand has taken us from her usual Nantucket settings to the Virgin Islands for her newest offering, Winter in Paradise.What do you think you'd feel if everything you thought about your life, your marriage, and your world, was a lie? That's the question Irene considers when she's informed her husband has died in a helicopter crash, accompanied by a women Irene didn't know existed on an island she never knew her husband had visited. And not just visited- but one in which he has made int Elin Hilderbrand has taken us from her usual Nantucket settings to the Virgin Islands for her newest offering, Winter in Paradise.What do you think you'd feel if everything you thought about your life, your marriage, and your world, was a lie? That's the question Irene considers when she's informed her husband has died in a helicopter crash, accompanied by a women Irene didn't know existed on an island she never knew her husband had visited. And not just visited- but one in which he has made into a home.With her usual character roving point of view, Hilderbrand takes us to St.Johns and through Irene's journey to learn just who the man she was married to for almost 40 years really was.Thanks to Netgalley for an arc of this book. It was intriguing and written in the style Hildrebrand has come to be famous for.
    more
  • Pam Wildes
    January 1, 1970
    Thank to you NetGalley for this ARC of Winter in Paradise. As much as I loved this book, I am very frustrated by how long it is going to take to get the next book in this series. It never fails that I really just want to keep reading and know the family's that Elin Hilderbrand gives us. This book doesn't disappoint for Elin's fans. Little by little she doles out information for these new characters that we are learning about. And before long you have finished this entire book in a day. Yes, a da Thank to you NetGalley for this ARC of Winter in Paradise. As much as I loved this book, I am very frustrated by how long it is going to take to get the next book in this series. It never fails that I really just want to keep reading and know the family's that Elin Hilderbrand gives us. This book doesn't disappoint for Elin's fans. Little by little she doles out information for these new characters that we are learning about. And before long you have finished this entire book in a day. Yes, a day while doing other things but continuing to sneak back to read. I just loved loved this book and am anxiously waiting until next summer for the next installment!
    more
  • Monica
    January 1, 1970
    In Elin Hilderbrand’s new novel Winter in Paradise, we leave her usual setting of her beloved Nantucket and she brings us to the tropical setting of St. John in her newest Winter series. We meet Irene who loves her life and has everything she has wanted except more time with her husband who works so much for all they have. She also has two grown sons who are going through tough times of their own but everyone’s lives are about to change when Irene gets a phone call that her husband has died.Iren In Elin Hilderbrand’s new novel Winter in Paradise, we leave her usual setting of her beloved Nantucket and she brings us to the tropical setting of St. John in her newest Winter series. We meet Irene who loves her life and has everything she has wanted except more time with her husband who works so much for all they have. She also has two grown sons who are going through tough times of their own but everyone’s lives are about to change when Irene gets a phone call that her husband has died.Irene is stunned when she learns that her husband has lead a double life and she begins to wonder who exactly was she married to? She learns that he lead this totally different life in St. John and that he didn’t die alone that he did, in fact, have a mistress and possibly a secret child. So what is Irene to do but go down there and try to find out who her husband really was and decides to bring her two sons along for the ride. One son is trying to find his way in life. He is so different from his father, he is carefree and just wants to enjoy life while his brother is exactly like their dad he is a go-getter and is all about business but he has pushed that away to take care of his son full time while his wife a doctor focuses on her career. However, he is shocked when moments before he finds out about his fathers' death his wife tells him she is leaving him for another woman.In St. John we meet a cast of other characters who play major parts in this story. We find out more about the mistress and her best friend whom both of Irene sons fall for. We also met the mistresses stepfather who has a spark of sorts with Irene which I’m totally on board with. There are a lot of characters on this small island but you never get confused and they just bring lots of depth to the story.I really enjoyed this first book in her new series, I think the set up for the next novels is definitely there and the storyline is really good. I like how she has added elements of mystery with this one and how there is so much to explore in regards to Irene’s husbands’ death. What exactly happened? Was it really an accident or was it something more sinister? And what exactly was his job and who did he work for? I can't wait to discover all these things in the future and hopefully, my questions will be answered. This was definitely a good first book and I can't wait to learn more about these really interesting characters.
    more
  • Brenda
    January 1, 1970
    The Winter Street series was the only other books by Elin Hilderbrand that I read, which I really enjoyed! This new series is starting off great! I loved the characters and wanted to know what was going to happen with each of them. It was a quick read and the plot moved along at a great pace. I can't wait for the next books!
    more
  • Cynthia Musiel
    January 1, 1970
    I absolutely loved this book and immediately got into the characters. They were relatable and in the end, I wanted to read more. A cliffhanger! Cannot wait for the next one to come out. Love, suspense, and a distant location made this a great read. And it did not matter that the location was set in a tropical area one bit.
    more
  • Eva • All Books Considered
    January 1, 1970
    I didn’t want it to end! Can’t wait for more
  • Ashley Clark
    January 1, 1970
    Elin’s characters pull you in make you want to read more. I was a little nervous since this one does not take place on Nantucket, however it has the same charm and fills you with the desire to visit as all her other novels. This novel did not disappoint and I can’t wait to read more!
    more
  • Jessica Howard
    January 1, 1970
    Super fun; but also very poignant. Full review will come for Shelf Awareness (got a Digital ARC from Netgalley).
Write a review