Romancing the Throne
Scandal, secrets, and heartbreak abound in this juicy, modern girl-meets-prince story—perfect for fans of Stephanie Perkins and Jennifer E. Smith.For the first time ever, the Weston sisters are at the same boarding school. After an administration scandal at Libby’s all-girls school threatens her chances at a top university, she decides to join Charlotte at posh and picturesque Sussex Park. Social-climbing Charlotte considers it her sisterly duty to bring Libby into her circle: Britain’s young elites, glamorous teens who vacation in Hong Kong and the South of France and are just as comfortable at a polo match as they are at a party.It’s a social circle that just so happens to include handsome seventeen-year-old Prince Edward, heir to Britain’s throne.If there are any rules of sisterhood, “Don’t fall for the same guy” should be one of them. But sometimes chemistry—even love—grows where you least expect it. In the end, there may be a price to pay for romancing the throne...and more than one path to happily ever after.

Romancing the Throne Details

TitleRomancing the Throne
Author
FormatHardcover
ReleaseMay 30th, 2017
PublisherKatherine Tegen Books
ISBN0062406620
ISBN-139780062406620
Number of pages400 pages
Rating
GenreYoung Adult, Romance, Contemporary, Teen, Young Adult Contemporary, Love, Womens Fiction, Chick Lit

Romancing the Throne Review

  • Celeste_pewter
    February 10, 2017
    Why does everyone in this book sound American?I went to grad school in the U.K., with some British students at the social level of Prince William. I would dare say that I have a fairly strong command of British slang, culture and ideology. Everyone in this book sounds like they're from LA - where I'm originally from - and it was annoying and distracting to read. It really feels like the author took some stereotypical British books and films, and dumped them all into this book. She has characters Why does everyone in this book sound American?I went to grad school in the U.K., with some British students at the social level of Prince William. I would dare say that I have a fairly strong command of British slang, culture and ideology. Everyone in this book sounds like they're from LA - where I'm originally from - and it was annoying and distracting to read. It really feels like the author took some stereotypical British books and films, and dumped them all into this book. She has characters named "Flossie" and "Tarkie" - Courtney, not everyone in Britain has ridiculous names. The book will probably pass muster for younger readers, but most definitely did not pass muster for me.ETA: took off another star, because Courtney had her characters say, "....Get into Oxbridge universities."Courtney, Oxbridge = Oxford and Cambridge. It's two universities. British people would say, "Get into Oxbridge." Did you even try and research this book?
    more
  • Cindy ✩☽ Savage Queen ♔
    November 7, 2016
    Not really liking the cover, and re-reading the synopsis I am a bit worried. Like I never really enjoy sibling love triangles cause you know someone is going to not only get hurt; but have to face that hurt/betrayal for - essentially - ever.
  • Natalie (Never trust a duck)
    November 9, 2014
    The fact that it's inspired by Kate and Pippa is fantastic.
  • Jilly Gagnon
    June 27, 2016
    What a charming, unique romance for all of us royals-obsessed Americans! A roman a clef to the Middleton sisters (with the twist that Charlotte (Pippa), the younger sister, dated Edward (Wills) first!), it's juicy, plotty, and delicious FUN.Perfect beach read, whether or not you have a beach at hand!
    more
  • Anna Shafer
    February 26, 2017
    Well, that was just impossibly charming. Sweet and flirty romance-- but a sister story at the bottom of things.
  • Christina
    February 10, 2017
    What a fun, fluffy, flirty romp! Perfect for fans of The Royal We and all things UK!
  • Sarah
    August 24, 2016
    "inspired by the real life relationships of Pippa and Kate Middleton"UM OK YES PLEASE. but also, this makes me very very nervous.
  • Ms. Yingling
    March 15, 2017
    I really enjoyed this one, but British books are no long really popular with my students. I'm even looking at weeding the Louise Rennison titles, so I am regretfully going to pass on this one.
  • Josie
    March 5, 2017
    3.5 stars - I typically love these royal-type romance novels however this one started off excellent and ended pretty on a fairly high point however the middle sort of lost me. Definitely a book that includes themes of family, romance, royals, self discovery, betrayal, etc. A more in depth review to come closer to the release date.
    more
  • Teresa
    December 28, 2016
    When the Weston sisters start going to the same posh boarding school they are both excited for a chance to go to school together (the oldest, Libby, has always gone to a different school) and see each other every day. But when the future king of England, Edward, comes between the sisters they will have to dig deep to make their relationship work.Fun, easy read...not much too it but overall I was entertained. Their Nana was by far my favorite character and I wish that she was in the book a bit mo When the Weston sisters start going to the same posh boarding school they are both excited for a chance to go to school together (the oldest, Libby, has always gone to a different school) and see each other every day. But when the future king of England, Edward, comes between the sisters they will have to dig deep to make their relationship work.Fun, easy read...not much too it but overall I was entertained. Their Nana was by far my favorite character and I wish that she was in the book a bit more, reminded me of my own grandmother. Thanks to Harper for the ARC!
    more
  • Amanda Searcy
    January 19, 2017
    Fun and light—but also with a deep side. Yes, it's about a royal romance, but at its core it's really a story about sisters. This is your summer beach read!
  • Wellness Kids
    March 16, 2016
    A thrilling ride amongst the elite! would highly recommend!!! A page turner for sure
  • Jen Petro-Roy
    December 6, 2016
    Such a fun read! I'm a sucker for royalty stories and this would be perfect for fans of Will/Kate and The Royal We.
Write a review