Eliza and Her Monsters
In the real world, Eliza Mirk is shy, weird, and friendless. Online, Eliza is LadyConstellation, anonymous creator of the wildly popular webcomic Monstrous Sea. Eliza can’t imagine enjoying the real world as much as she loves her digital community, and has no desire to try.Then Wallace Warland, Monstrous Sea's biggest fanfiction writer, transfers to her school. Wallace thinks Eliza is just another fan, and Eliza begins to wonder if a life offline might be worthwhile. But when Eliza’s secret is accidentally shared with the world, everything she’s built—her story, her relationship with Wallace, and even her sanity—begins to fall apart. With illustrations from Eliza’s webcomic, as well as screenshots from Eliza’s online forums and snippets of Wallace's fanfiction, this uniquely formatted book will appeal to fans of Noelle Stevenson’s Nimona and Rainbow Rowell’s Fangirl.

Eliza and Her Monsters Details

TitleEliza and Her Monsters
Author
FormatHardcover
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseMay 30th, 2017
PublisherGreenwillow Books
ISBN0062290134
ISBN-139780062290137
Number of pages400 pages
Rating
GenreContemporary, Young Adult

Eliza and Her Monsters Review

  • Lala BooksandLala
    March 2, 2017
    Adorable. Intense. Nerdy AF.
  • Francesca Zappia
    February 15, 2017
    UPDATE: If you preorder Eliza and Her Monsters before 5/30/17, send proof of purchase & mailing address to elizapreorders@gmail.com and get a bookplate, bookmark, exclusive art, and more! Pics/details here: https://www.instagram.com/p/BTR3ATeh8...————————————————————————I didn't do this for Made You Up but I'm doing it here because maybe someone will find the explanation helpful.Eliza and Her Monsters is a pretty personal story for me. I wrote it in the hopes that it could help other very in UPDATE: If you preorder Eliza and Her Monsters before 5/30/17, send proof of purchase & mailing address to elizapreorders@gmail.com and get a bookplate, bookmark, exclusive art, and more! Pics/details here: https://www.instagram.com/p/BTR3ATeh8...————————————————————————I didn't do this for Made You Up but I'm doing it here because maybe someone will find the explanation helpful.Eliza and Her Monsters is a pretty personal story for me. I wrote it in the hopes that it could help other very introverted and anxious creative types and those who feel the keen double edge of fandom and life online.There are two other stories inside this one. The first is Monstrous Sea. That one's obvious. Monstrous Sea is my oldest story and, full disclosure, my favorite; I gave it to Eliza because it made her feelings about it real. Unfortunately, only the very tip of the Monstrous Sea iceberg is visible in this book, and it's not available to read anywhere. (Yet.)The second is Eliza's favorite book series, The Children of Hypnos, which is a real thing I wrote and am currently putting up on Tumblr and Wattpad (https://www.wattpad.com/story/9547883...). There are new chapters every Monday and Friday @ 1pm EST, and if you like the idea of nightmare hunters, strong friendships, or creepy weird dream nonsense and ridiculous anime weapons, you should check it out.If you have any questions, always feel welcome to ask them on my profile. :)
    more
  • Korrina (OwlCrate)
    October 27, 2016
    Obsessed! Oh, this was so good. I can only imagine how wonderful it will be with the artwork added in (my manuscript doesn't have it).
  • ➹мαүғℓσωεя
    December 2, 2016
    4/30/2017 update we're down to O N E fricken month, i cant wait this long plz i need this omg someone save a soul and give this to me ((i got rejected by edelweiss i've never felt betrayal this strong))~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~Oh look, the queen is publishing another booK AND LOOK AT THAT COVER. Damn, imma be sitting here anxiously till I get my hands on this BEAUTY!
    more
  • Amber Robertson
    April 14, 2017
    I was provided with an eARC but all thoughts and opinions are my own. GUYS ADD THIS TO YOUR TBR RIGHT NOW. IM SOBBING. I AM IN LITERAL HYSTERICS OVER THIS BOOK. I HAVENT CRIED OVER A BOOK IN FOREVER BUT THIS. PICK IT UP ON RELEASE DAY. BLOODY DO IT BECAUSE I AM HYPING THIS HARD. IT HAS A FANGIRL FEEL TO IT BUT IS SO MUCH BETTER. OH, MY HEART. OH MY WALLACE. OKAY, SO BASICALLY IVE DECIDED I CAN'T WRITE THIS REVIEW WITHOUT KEEPING MY KEYBOARD ON CAPS LOCK. WELCOME. FRANCESCA ZAPPIA DISPLAYS MENTAL I was provided with an eARC but all thoughts and opinions are my own. GUYS ADD THIS TO YOUR TBR RIGHT NOW. IM SOBBING. I AM IN LITERAL HYSTERICS OVER THIS BOOK. I HAVENT CRIED OVER A BOOK IN FOREVER BUT THIS. PICK IT UP ON RELEASE DAY. BLOODY DO IT BECAUSE I AM HYPING THIS HARD. IT HAS A FANGIRL FEEL TO IT BUT IS SO MUCH BETTER. OH, MY HEART. OH MY WALLACE. OKAY, SO BASICALLY IVE DECIDED I CAN'T WRITE THIS REVIEW WITHOUT KEEPING MY KEYBOARD ON CAPS LOCK. WELCOME. FRANCESCA ZAPPIA DISPLAYS MENTAL HEALTH PERFECTLY. SHE DOESN'T MAKE IT A BIG DEAL. SHE SNEAKS IT IN AND KEEPS IT REALISTIC. WHICH IS SOMETHING THAT MAKES THIS BOOK MAGICAL. ON TOP OF THE MC DRAWING COMICS (which is pretty dang cool) AND JUST BEING AWKARD - I FELT THIS BOOK IS IMPORTANT. THEN THERE IS WALLACE. WALLACE IS AN ANGEL. SOMEONE FIND ME A GUY LIKE WALLACE. NOT JUST BECAUSE HES TALL AND IS BUILT LIKE A FOOTBALL PLAYER (though, like, yum???) BUT BECAUSE HE IS THE SWEETEST MALE CHARACTER I HAVE READ IN A LONG TIME. HE IS AN ANGEL. THEN WE HAVE SNIPPETS OF THE COMIC. SNIPPETS FROM WALLACE'S STORY. GEEKY CHARACTERS WHO COSPLAY. AND JUST OVER AROUND GEEKY SWEETNESS. THE STORY ITSELF IS BEAUTIFUL. A SUPER FAST READ. I AM SUPER HAPPY I READ IT SO FAST. I AM HYPING THIS BOOK UP BECAUSE IT DESERVES IT. I NEED THIS IN A PHYSICAL COPY. AHHHH. It's SO GOOD.
    more
  • Sarah
    March 10, 2017
    (I received an advance copy of this book for free. Thanks to HarperCollins and Edelweiss.) “I didn’t make Monstrous Seas to be a phenomenon – I made it because it was the story I wanted. I make it now because there’s something inside of me, crushed around my heart, that says I must do it. This is what I was put on Earth to create, for me and for my fans. This story. This is mine, and it is my duty to bring it to the world.” This was a YA contemporary story about a girl who authored on online c (I received an advance copy of this book for free. Thanks to HarperCollins and Edelweiss.) “I didn’t make Monstrous Seas to be a phenomenon – I made it because it was the story I wanted. I make it now because there’s something inside of me, crushed around my heart, that says I must do it. This is what I was put on Earth to create, for me and for my fans. This story. This is mine, and it is my duty to bring it to the world.” This was a YA contemporary story about a girl who authored on online comic series. Eliza was quite a quiet and private girl and seemed to like not being the centre of attention. I did feel sorry for her in the way her parents didn’t seem to understand who she was or what she was doing at all though, and kept pushing her to leave her computer and find ‘real’ friends. “I do have friends. Maybe they live hundreds of miles away from me, and maybe I can only talk to them through a screen, but they’re still my friends. They don’t just hold Monstrous Sea together. They hold me together.” The storyline in this was about Eliza being the author of an online comic, which was really popular. She then met a new boy at school who was a fan of the series, and wrote fanfiction about it, and we got a bit of a romance building, even though Eliza didn’t tell him that she was really the author of Monstrous Sea. The romance in this was quite slow and sweet, but I really hated the way Eliza held back such a major secret, especially when her new boyfriend, Wallace, opened up to her about something really important. “Wallace won’t forgive me. How can anyone else?” The ending to this was okay, and I was pleased that things worked out okay in the end.7 out of 10
    more
  • Antonia
    October 8, 2016
    don't care what this is about, I'm gonna read it because Francesca Zappia
  • Danielle (Love at First Page)
    January 4, 2017
    The first 60% - 5 starsThe last 40% - 2 starsBook*, what on earth happened to you?! :,( *Wallace
  • Dahlia
    April 8, 2017
    This was so freaking good. Such a must-read if you're into fandom at all, and especially if you find life and friendship online more comfortable than in person.
  • Madison
    March 17, 2017
    Wow. Wow. Wow! WOW. This book. This book. No words. Actually, so many words, just none of them powerful enough to convey how absolutely perfect and beautiful and amazing and clever this book is. My mantra is simply going to be 'Read this. Thank me later.'Some books are so good they blow all other books completely out of the water. How can I give this book five stars when it deserves five billion? This just became my favourite book of the year. Yes, I realise the year is not even halfway through. Wow. Wow. Wow! WOW. This book. This book. No words. Actually, so many words, just none of them powerful enough to convey how absolutely perfect and beautiful and amazing and clever this book is. My mantra is simply going to be 'Read this. Thank me later.'Some books are so good they blow all other books completely out of the water. How can I give this book five stars when it deserves five billion? This just became my favourite book of the year. Yes, I realise the year is not even halfway through. It's still my favourite book for the entire year. Eliza is the creator of the online webcomic Monstrous Sea. Online she is in control, popular, and clever. Outside of the online world she is unpopular, shy, and counts the minutes until she can return to her drawing. Then, she meets a new student to the school. A boy who seems as shy as she is. A boy who is a huge fan of Monstrous Sea. A boy with whom she can finally be honest face-to-face as well as online - just not about her identity as the creator of Monstrous Sea.I could talk forever about what I love about this book. The drawings!!! The fact that it contains two additional stories, both of which are actually real and can be read (soon). That it's about mental health and yet it really isn't. It's about a normal, gifted, anxious girl. Her art, her struggles with interacting with people, life. It conveys all the ups and downs of mental health so subtly and beautifully and...yeah. I love Eliza. Wonderful, creative, hiding, Eliza. She has created something so magical, yet doesn't know how to transform that confidence and certainty she feels online and with her work to the outside world. She shuts out her family and everyone around her. The cover. I love the cover!!!The progression of the story is timed to perfection. Nothing is rushed. Everything has its moment. The character development and relationships are beautiful. You'll notice I'm not giving a huge amount of details. Remember, 'Read this. Thank me later.' I love the world Eliza (and Francesca) has created. Some of the lines are so PERFECT. I can completely understand Eliza's fans' fandom. And while a tattoo may not be for me, I'm definitely going to need to use some of those quotes. The romance in this book is superb. Again, timed perfectly. It is an addition to Eliza's story. And it has the most wonderful build up. And those kisses - not sure I've ever read such anticipation...sigh. Wallace isn't perfect - in fact, that imperfection just might be what Eliza likes most about him. But together, they work so very well.This truly is a stunning book in all regards. I can't wait to put this on our library shelf, my personal bookshelf, and share it with as many readers as possible. The publishers provided an advanced readers copy of this book for reviewing purposes. All opinions are my own.Find more reviews, reading age guides, content advisory, and recommendations on my blog Madison's Library.
    more
  • Jewel DiSalvo
    September 17, 2016
    I wish I was Doctor Who ,because if I had a TARDIS I would totally time travel to 2017 to read this book. ( hopefully there will be a cameo of Alex and Miles being their disgustingly adorable selves )
  • Tina
    October 24, 2016
    I read a manuscript of this book about one year ago to date. If you like Made You Up, you will most certainly love Eliza! Chessie brings back her trademark endearing humor in another wonderful mix of adorable romance, quirky characters, and multilayered plotting (plus the cool formatting here, which is typically reserved for YA horror, but hey, Eliza is just that awesome). I would also recommend this book to fans of Fangirl and Afterworlds.More later.
    more
  • Darci Cole
    October 19, 2016
    Guys I got to beta read this book like a year ago and even then it was AMAZING. You'll fall in love with Eliza and everyone else, and before long you'll be begging for more monsters! I cannot wait to have it on my shelf!!!!
  • Katherine Locke
    February 15, 2017
    A raw, emotional, and honest look into one girl's life, as an introvert, as the creator of a major webcomic, and as a girl with panic disorder (and possibly also depression? But panic disorder is on the page). It demands a lot from its readers: a willingness to admit that maybe, for all that we love fandom and creating and the internet life, we might need something more, like things and people IRL too. But it also never undermines the realness of an online life, or an online persona, and I appre A raw, emotional, and honest look into one girl's life, as an introvert, as the creator of a major webcomic, and as a girl with panic disorder (and possibly also depression? But panic disorder is on the page). It demands a lot from its readers: a willingness to admit that maybe, for all that we love fandom and creating and the internet life, we might need something more, like things and people IRL too. But it also never undermines the realness of an online life, or an online persona, and I appreciated that (as another person who grew up in fandom, loves it, and relies on it). Online people are people too, and while some of them are terrible, Eliza's online friends are real friends. They have their own stories and lives and they matter too. This is one worth rereading, sharing, and discussing. Important note for those to whom disability and mental illness portrayal matters: the book did not magically erase Eliza's panic disorder and was a really good authentic portrayal of panic disorder and panic attacks. As someone with panic disorder, I'm saying this one's a good one.TWs for mentions of a suicide (tertiary character, not on the page) and of suicidal ideation (on the page, main character). If you or someone you know is considering suicide, please call the National Suicide Prevention Hotline at 1-800-273-8255.
    more
  • Nafia Zalal
    October 21, 2016
    OMG THE COVER IS EFFING GORGEOUS!!! I TOTALLY FORGOT HOW TO BREATH WHEN I SAW THE COVER!!!! SHIT I WANT THIS RIGHT NOW!!!! *Screaming like a psycho shit*
  • Mic
    October 19, 2016
    This book is magical, the end, goodbye.
  • Sharon
    December 12, 2016
    OK I'm pretttttty sure this is going to be the best thing ever because Made You Up was a masterpiece.
  • Kelli Spear
    April 26, 2017
    GAH!!!!I just finished this a few minutes ago and have been struck dumb by the sheer brilliance of this story. I was afraid that I would be disappointed. But, man...I am in awe.It has been a long time since I've felt this way about a book. It's been a long time since I wished a book didn't have to end. And that's pretty crazy considering the emotional depth of Eliza and Her Monsters. But I was captivated. Consumed. Enthralled.To be honest, I didn't expect it to feel this way. I can't even put it GAH!!!!I just finished this a few minutes ago and have been struck dumb by the sheer brilliance of this story. I was afraid that I would be disappointed. But, man...I am in awe.It has been a long time since I've felt this way about a book. It's been a long time since I wished a book didn't have to end. And that's pretty crazy considering the emotional depth of Eliza and Her Monsters. But I was captivated. Consumed. Enthralled.To be honest, I didn't expect it to feel this way. I can't even put it all into words. I loved Eliza. She's so alive in a way that most characters strive for but always fall short of. I related to many aspects of how she felt about herself and the world around her. And at times, I felt absolutely gutted by how she perceived herself. She really took flight when Wallace came into the picture. I could see a change in her. She still held back, but she was opening up to someone in person. And that was HUGE.I'm not going to lie---I was frustrated by her actions at times, too. I hated that she couldn't/wouldn't tell Wallace the truth. ESPECIALLY AFTER HE OPENED UP TO HER!!! I tried to see it from her point of view, but, it's difficult unless you have the same mindset. She didn't grasp how her lack of honesty could affect someone she cared about. And when it all came crashing down...well, that was almost unbearable.This is where the story gets tough. Brutal and honest. No less gripping, though. As Eliza tries to deal with her monsters alone, it's clear to readers that she needs outside help. There's more going on than she is even aware of. Reading it was hard enough, so I cannot imagine living it. I wanted to go into the book and hug her. Or beg her to talk to someone. There's a scene at the end (which I won't spoil) that had my stomach lurching. I was so afraid that my fears about Eliza would come to fruition. And I didn't know how I'd handle that kind of ending. Because by now, she was MY friend.This story is poignant. Something that's incredibly important and should be experienced by all. The formatting: the comics, IMs, texts, notes, etc. are just an added bonus. And they often added humorous elements. I really loved every character from Eliza to Wallace to Em to Max---even Sully and Church grew on me by the end! The family dynamic plays a huge part in the story. Eliza and Her Monsters is an outstanding look at mental health/illness. Not only in showing us from the affected person's point of view, but also the perspectives of loved ones. Easily the best book I've read so far in 2017, I have no doubt it will remain in the top 5 by December.
    more
  • Shannon Alexander
    March 23, 2017
    This book. This book is beautiful.
  • Gretal
    January 20, 2017
    If I could, I would give this book a hundred stars. It was just so good and relatable and the art work was stunning! It is currently 1 AM, so I don't really know how intelligible this review will be, but please please read this book. If you have ever felt uncomfortable "in real life" and have sought refuge online, if you have made friends online who are just as important to you as friends offline, if you have struggled with anxiety, if you love to create things, just please read this book. The a If I could, I would give this book a hundred stars. It was just so good and relatable and the art work was stunning! It is currently 1 AM, so I don't really know how intelligible this review will be, but please please read this book. If you have ever felt uncomfortable "in real life" and have sought refuge online, if you have made friends online who are just as important to you as friends offline, if you have struggled with anxiety, if you love to create things, just please read this book. The author did such a great job capturing and portraying those feelings and struggles of Eliza that I, and many others, deal with.I loved so much about this book. May 30th cannot come fast enough.
    more
  • Kaylie
    January 6, 2017
    I really enjoyed this one! The characters were so raw and real and I loved them, especially Eliza despite her many flaws.
  • Cindy ✩☽ Savage Queen ♔
    November 7, 2016
    This sounds cute and fun! I'm game =D
  • Elise
    May 2, 2017
    Dakcksbqvskdhwvwjcksvwhgahwkshshwv9/10-This book was amazing. Wonderful. Spectacular.-The mix of fantastic characters, great writing style, and a fast-paced, intriguing plot are the whole-hearted contributors to my love of this book.-One thing that really stuck out to me when reading about Wallace is how much he defies stereotypes. He's really tall and muscular, and he does like sports, but he's also quiet, meticulous, and loves writing and being a part of a fandom. I really appreciated the auth Dakcksbqvskdhwvwjcksvwhgahwkshshwv9/10-This book was amazing. Wonderful. Spectacular.-The mix of fantastic characters, great writing style, and a fast-paced, intriguing plot are the whole-hearted contributors to my love of this book.-One thing that really stuck out to me when reading about Wallace is how much he defies stereotypes. He's really tall and muscular, and he does like sports, but he's also quiet, meticulous, and loves writing and being a part of a fandom. I really appreciated the author for constructing Wallace as a character in this way.-I loved watching Eliza's character arc throughout the book. I loved how the author had a running analogy with monsters, both inner, and outer. I also loved how Eliza looked to her characters for inspiration. So cool. So relatable.-Speaking of, the majority of this whole book was relatable, in the best of ways.-The writing style was a great mix of author's craft and simplicity. It flowed really well.-I really liked how the book incorporated chat boxes and Eliza's art, as well as emails and things.-Max and Em were great. I loved their banter between each other, and how supportive they were to Eliza.-Sully and Church supporting Eliza was so great. Sibling support is the best!-Eliza's parents, although not perfect, really care for her. I liked watching that.-I WANT TO READ MONSTROUS SEA AND THE CHILDREN OF HYPNOS.-I really liked how the romance wasn't all in-your-face. 'Twas nice and cute and fluffy and sweet.
    more
  • Ashley
    April 17, 2017
    Review to come.
  • Ry
    March 2, 2017
    fandom. family. fun.(spoiler free review; release date: 5/30/2017)-I adored this book. The summary calls it "Fangirl meets Nimona" which is absolutely accurate. The romance was wonderful as well as the illustrations and it was all sO sO sO gOoD.-The fandom aspect was one of my favorite parts. I've never been hugely involved with any fandoms and this story gave me a good idea of what it's like to be in one. It was also very interesting to see the perspective of the person running the fandom while fandom. family. fun.(spoiler free review; release date: 5/30/2017)-I adored this book. The summary calls it "Fangirl meets Nimona" which is absolutely accurate. The romance was wonderful as well as the illustrations and it was all sO sO sO gOoD.-The fandom aspect was one of my favorite parts. I've never been hugely involved with any fandoms and this story gave me a good idea of what it's like to be in one. It was also very interesting to see the perspective of the person running the fandom while creating the story.-Watching Eliza emerge from her shell was delicious. The character development she went through throughout this book was extremely fun to watch and I'm so so happy for her.-All of the characters were wondrous and I will most definitely not forget about them anytime soon. I especially loved Eliza, Sully, Church, Wallace & Davy (who doesn't love a dog who is basically Bertie Woofter Goetz Hoffman's twin brother?)-I WANT TO READ MONSTROUS SEA SO SO BADLY. Luckily I'll be reading Children of Hypnos ASAP because Francesca Zappia is already writing it eekekekekeke!!-The family aspect was great and I wish Eliza would've let her brothers and parents into her world sooner.
    more
  • Angel
    April 24, 2017
    I love this book. I love Eliza, and her talented, anxious, precious self. I really really love this book.
  • Anne
    March 18, 2017
    Man I really loved this one. Full review to come.
  • Nara
    April 18, 2017
    SO DAMN GOOD.100% recommend to everyoneReview to come!RatingsOverall: 9/10Plot: 4.5/5Romance: 5/5Writing: 5/5Characters: 4/5Cover: 4/5
  • Emma
    April 8, 2017
    Description reminds me a bit of Radio Silence so I am here for it.
  • Sam Kozbial
    April 19, 2017
    Rating: 4.5 starsI loved it!Review to follow. BLOG|INSTAGRAM|BLOGLOVIN| FRIEND ME ON GOODREADS
Write a review