Public Relations
Young PR star Rose Reed is thrown into the big leagues when her boss leaves town the day of the firm's meeting with Archie Fox, a young, hot, internationally famous British singer-songwriter. The meeting is going badly until Rose suggests a staged romance with up-and-coming, young indie star Raya. He'll do it, but only if Rose becomes his publicist. As the faux-mance begins to rehabilitate Archie's faltering career, Rose finds his herself having unexpected, inconvenient and definitely unprofessional feelings for the crooner. But do late night texts and impromptu burrito binges mean he feels the same? In the end, Rose will have to decide whether to let her fantasy crush go, or to risk her reputation to be with the charming, handsome, scoundrel-y but sweet pop star she's grown to love.

Public Relations Details

TitlePublic Relations
Author
FormatPaperback
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseMay 9th, 2017
PublisherGrand Central Publishing
Number of pages368 pages
Rating
GenreRomance, Contemporary, New Adult, Womens Fiction, Chick Lit, Contemporary Romance, Adult Fiction, Fiction, Music, Musicians

Public Relations Review

  • Nissa | Of Pens and Pages Book Blog
    May 9, 2017
    3.5 stars!Review at Of Pens and Pages.I love fake relationship stories, especially the ones that involve at least one celebrity. Public Relations took a whole new take on the faux-mance trope. Instead of a couple falling in love while being in a fake relationship, the romance blooms between the client and the publicist. In this case, we have English pop star Archie Fox and PR extraordinaire Rose Reed. It was a breath of fresh air.For the first time in her PR career, Rose Reed takes the reins and 3.5 stars!Review at Of Pens and Pages.I love fake relationship stories, especially the ones that involve at least one celebrity. Public Relations took a whole new take on the faux-mance trope. Instead of a couple falling in love while being in a fake relationship, the romance blooms between the client and the publicist. In this case, we have English pop star Archie Fox and PR extraordinaire Rose Reed. It was a breath of fresh air.For the first time in her PR career, Rose Reed takes the reins and handles a PR stunt for their company's hot new client—musician Archie Fox. The stunt? A fake relationship between Archie and up and coming singer Raya. Her life is now filled with constant social media listening, tips to a trusted paparazzi, and plans for her client's future dates. All the while taking a dip in the dating pool.Handling the job isn't hard for Rose, but ignoring her feelings for the man who was too charming for his own good? Now that's a different story.Obviously someone plans the fake relationships in fictional and real celebrity faux-mances, but we rarely see what it's like for them. As someone who works in a similar arena as Rose, I really enjoyed reading about what goes on behind the scenes. I could relate to her so much and enjoyed her interactions with her best friend and workmates.I wasn't too sure about Archie. For me, he seemed like a cardboard cut-out version of Harry Styles. Don't get me wrong. I love the man and was a fan of One Direction, but I don't know. He's an English pop star with a penchant for silk shirts, ripped skinny jeans, and boots. And there was a part where his tattoos were described. There was a mention of a pair of birds across his chest. Archie's character seemed two-dimensional. Or maybe I just didn't see enough of him to know who he really is.(I still love you, Harry!)Most of the story was about Rose's life in PR. Because of that, some of the parts felt dragging. I also think that because of that, there wasn't enough time to expose the readers to the blooming romance between Rose and Archie. I loved each interaction between the two, but there wasn't enough to establish a real connection between them.I think this book is more woman's fiction or chick lit than romance and would recommend it as such. From what I've read, it was more about Rose's life as a 20-something trying to balance life inside and outside work—a career in PR she genuinely enjoys and is good at and an awkward and sometimes painful attempt at finding love in Tinder.Public Relations is a novel told in the heroine's perspective. It's unique, relatable, and very millennial. I think Harry Styles fans, slow burn lovers, and Young and New Adult readers will enjoy this light and fresh novel.*ARC received in exchange for an honest review. Blog | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram
    more
  • Chris Carroll
    April 24, 2017
    This is a fun and quirky novel about the life and times of an upcoming PR rep. I enjoyed the interaction between her and her best friend – funny and so relateable. As well as the inter-office relationships. Very true to life. In fact, I have seen some of these issues myself! The authors did a great job setting up the unique and interesting characters, so in that aspect it was a pleasurable and in-depth discovery.But being a midlife wife, the story lands very far into the YA (young adult) categor This is a fun and quirky novel about the life and times of an upcoming PR rep. I enjoyed the interaction between her and her best friend – funny and so relateable. As well as the inter-office relationships. Very true to life. In fact, I have seen some of these issues myself! The authors did a great job setting up the unique and interesting characters, so in that aspect it was a pleasurable and in-depth discovery.But being a midlife wife, the story lands very far into the YA (young adult) category. A lot of music references and conversations that is decidedly YA. Multiple references of social media stalking (shhhh – it’s part of the job), tracking information, interacting with the younger crowd. Very much a millennial read.This was fine for me. I understood it because I work in this arena. However, for someone of my age group or someone who is not involved online, this could be difficult factor to relate to how it works in the story.The authors were also leading up to a potential love match in a very subtle way. The first half of the book was really mainly about the life and times of the PR rep. It wasn’t until you were quite far into the story that you understood “a crush” was occurring. And then you didn’t know if it was reciprocated or not. But stringing us along is not necessarily a bad thing.The last quarter and the ending to me was the best part of the whole story. It made up for a lot of the way the book was written and the obscurity of the up-and-coming potential romance. Plus, they set up a possible second book??The authors did do a great job in creating interesting and unique characters that you want as your BFF’s. They all had a wonderful role in the book that made it engaging and hard to put down. Plus, the book is written in first person which makes it a very personal story with a unique perspective. The writers included a lot of humor and feeling into the story that make this a stand out that you won’t soon forget.Overall, this book was very well written with great characters and a witty plot. We all had that rock star crush at one time or another in our lives. This book is today’s version, targeted to the current culture of the big city 20-somethings. Perfect for that lazy weekend or beach read!
    more
  • Jen
    February 12, 2017
    I've been in a bit of an overall life slump and looking for something fun and different to read, so I picked this off Netgalley. The weird, confusing cover is doing this book NO favors at all -- no, this is not a gender-bending remake of the 80s movie Mannequin -- inside is actually a cute and engaging piece of romantic chick lit. (I found it in the New Adult section, where the cover stands out like a sore thumb amidst all the naked, tattooed abs, but there's not a player or a virgin or a whiff I've been in a bit of an overall life slump and looking for something fun and different to read, so I picked this off Netgalley. The weird, confusing cover is doing this book NO favors at all -- no, this is not a gender-bending remake of the 80s movie Mannequin -- inside is actually a cute and engaging piece of romantic chick lit. (I found it in the New Adult section, where the cover stands out like a sore thumb amidst all the naked, tattooed abs, but there's not a player or a virgin or a whiff of angst in sight -- it really reads to me like classic 90s chick lit.)Rose is a twenty-something in Manhattan, trying to move up the ranks at her PR firm. Rose's boss can't make a meeting about how to boost the flagging career of British singer-songwriter Archie Fox,** so Rose is told to sit in, take notes, and keep her mouth shut. But when a (male) colleague's horrible proposals start to tank the meeting, Rose blurts out her own idea: a fauxmance between Archie and an up-and-coming indie singer.Archie not only approves the fauxmance idea, he asks Rose to act as his handler during it, despite the fact that her firm thinks she's too junior for the job. And -- of course -- as Rose is masterminding every romantic detail of Archie's new relationship, she's falling hard for him herself.I've always had a weird fascination with celebrity fauxmances, but usually books about them have the pretending-to-be couple fall for each other, so I liked that this book gave things a new twist. I'm not usually the biggest fan of love-with-a-celebrity stories, but this one won me over.Rose was a really great main character and - as a former twenty-something who's lived the non-glamorous life in Manhattan - I thought the book really got all the small details right. I'll admit that this book did take a while to get going. Weirdly, my very favorite parst of the book were 1) learning how fauxmances work from behind the scenes and 2) all the PR stuff. I was fascinated by the way Rose tracked the success of the fauxmance on Twitter and Instagram.The romance was sweet and very, very, very slow-burn. If you read NA for the steamy romance, this is way more PG and may not be for you. But definitely check this one out if you're a fauxmance fan like me or just looking for a cute romance!**Okay, so Rebecca The Book Lover's Goodreads review has pointed out Archie's eerie similarity to Harry Styles. Whom I know next to nothing about. So that's seriously weird and may cause me to reconsider my opinion. Read more of my reviews on YA Romantics or follow me on Bloglovin The FTC would like you to know that the publisher provided me a free advance copy of this book, that free books can be enjoyable or not, and other readers may disagree with my opinion.
    more
  • Rebecca
    March 6, 2017
    This book is exactly what you would expect from two authors who work for Buzzfeed. There were some good moments in the book but they don't happen until at least 70% into the book. Up until then the book is slow and the characters are boring. I enjoyed reading about Rose's relationship with her boss but her relationship with her best friend fell flat for me. Her relationship with Archie was fun to read but they don't actually get together until about 80% into the book. One of my complaints is tha This book is exactly what you would expect from two authors who work for Buzzfeed. There were some good moments in the book but they don't happen until at least 70% into the book. Up until then the book is slow and the characters are boring. I enjoyed reading about Rose's relationship with her boss but her relationship with her best friend fell flat for me. Her relationship with Archie was fun to read but they don't actually get together until about 80% into the book. One of my complaints is that Rose's second love interest is an attractive, 36 year old surgeon using Tinder to find a relationship. If that is how Tinder is actually used, then I have been grievously misinformed. The number of pop culture references were also a little much. Now onto my main criticism of the book: Archie is Harry Styles. Someone who isn't a fan of One Direction may miss this but it was something I couldn't look past. Allow me to list out some things that Archie and Harry have in common: 1.) British 2.) pop singer 3.) long hair usually pulled up into a bun 4.) two identical bird tattoos on chest 5.) heart tattoo on shoulder 6.) wears sparkly ankle boots 7.) wears a flamingo shirt 8.) dated an older woman at the beginning of his career. One or two I could've looked past but it began to become unbearable towards the end.If you are looking for some easy to read chick-lit (or fanfiction), then Public Relations may be for you but I wouldn't risk the time.And in case you didn't believe me:FlamingosTattoosMy Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/beccatheboo...My Blog: http://rebeccathebooklover.blogspot.com
    more
  • Emily
    March 11, 2017
    Sexy, sweet and funny. I'd watch the hell outta this movie, and I adored this book.
  • Chanpreet
    May 26, 2017
    Workplace romances, especially when taboo, are some of my favorite books to read. They just have an oomph other books in a similar setting don't. So I was expecting lots of hot, smoldering glances and fireworks from the get go, but that wasn't what I got. Instead, I got a story that slowly developed, and then a third of the way in, became really interesting and exciting, and not because I got the glances and fireworks I was expecting. Allow me to elaborate. Rose Reed finds herself publicist afte Workplace romances, especially when taboo, are some of my favorite books to read. They just have an oomph other books in a similar setting don't. So I was expecting lots of hot, smoldering glances and fireworks from the get go, but that wasn't what I got. Instead, I got a story that slowly developed, and then a third of the way in, became really interesting and exciting, and not because I got the glances and fireworks I was expecting. Allow me to elaborate. Rose Reed finds herself publicist after speaking up in a meeting with hot, super star, Archie Fox and his manager. She realizes the recommendations a partner in the firm she's in is making heinous suggestions as to what will help revive Archie's fan base and help him pick up new followers and fans. Rose feels she's immune to Archie's good looks and talent, but as her time working with him progresses, things begin to change.Now the book is told entirely from Rose's point of view. So while it's really easy to understand what's going on with Rose, it's much harder to get a read on what's happening to the people around her. For example. Rose usually has a great first date, but the second date is where she finds something wrong with the guy and ends things there. She doesn't see it that way, but her best friend Harper calls it a second date curse. Rose goes on a number of dates with someone and he says something on their first date that upsets her. I didn't understand what upset her or other events that happened. It was also hard to see how/why/when she became attracted to Archie and if he was interested in her. All of the above being said, I liked Rose. She worked hard, had her head in the right place, and besides being a little self concerned about things, she seems like the type of person I'd like to be friends with. And I also liked Archie. For a superstar and international phenomenon, he seemed down to Earth. His thoughts and motivations were a total mystery. I even like Raya, the star Rose set Archie up with. I mean she seemed a little idealistic, but at 20 with stardom looming on the horizon, who wouldn't be. I even liked Harper, Rose's BFF who also works with her. Besides the characters, I really liked how the story included parts of what happens in PR and the Hollywood glam machine. It wasn't too gritty, but it also wasn't glossed over either.This is my first book Katie Heaney and Arianna Rebolini. It didn't grab me right away, but when it did, I couldn't put it down. The characters are great, as is the story. If it starts out slow for you the way it did me, don't give up on it. The end of the book and everything that comes before it is worth it.
    more
  • Cyndi
    May 8, 2017
    This smart, funny and romantic read will lighten and lift your spirits. Public Relations is the first collaboration between author's Katie Heaney and Arianna Rebolini and I'm certainly hoping for more. This was just a such an enjoyable read, the perfect balance of hope and angst. In it the authors capture the world of marketing and impact of social media. This serves as a great reminder that what we see is often fed to us with cunning calculation. Rose is an endearing character. A young woman wo This smart, funny and romantic read will lighten and lift your spirits. Public Relations is the first collaboration between author's Katie Heaney and Arianna Rebolini and I'm certainly hoping for more. This was just a such an enjoyable read, the perfect balance of hope and angst. In it the authors capture the world of marketing and impact of social media. This serves as a great reminder that what we see is often fed to us with cunning calculation. Rose is an endearing character. A young woman working her way through the entertainment business PR field when she finds herself suddenly managing a campaign to reinvigorate the declining popularity of a rock star, Archie Fox. Her idea to bolster his popularity means spending time with Archie and encouraging his "new relationship" with up and coming music sensation Raya. Well, you can imagine the surprise when Rose is suddenly unsure if the relationship she created is more than she so carefully planned it to be. With bruised ego's and half truth's being flung about, how would she be able to trust what's real? The problem lies in the chemistry between Rose and Archie. The banter between them is flirty, sweet, and fun and they just seem to get each other. The undercurrent of sexual chemistry between them which creates a conundrum with Roses's work ethics and the potential to ruin the entire plan and possibly her career. I got where Rose was coming from both in my heart and in my head and was rooting for her all the way. The story is fast paced and the characters are perfectly developed - we just get a good rounded sense of all the primary and secondary characters. I pretty much gobbled this up in one sitting as I could hardly wait to see how Rose would solve the problem that hits as the truth comes out. Would she be brave or bury her head in the sand? I encourage any reader of contemporary romance to pick this up. There's something that everyone can relate to, whether it be work circumstances, your entertainment interests, or friendships. 5 Stars!*I was gifted a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review*
    more
  • caren
    April 14, 2017
    Love, love, loved this.
  • A.J. (Lacy Literacy)
    February 22, 2017
    I DNFed at around 12%. I had a lot of hope going in. I really enjoy heroines that are in public relations. One of my favorite romances, Love On My Mind, has a heroine that is in public relations. Plots with PR reps that are trying to improve their love interests image are a shoe in for me. Unfortunately, Public Relations was extremely tedious. Reading to the point that I got to, which wasn't even the half way point, was a difficulty. The characters did not grab me, and there were also a lot of p I DNFed at around 12%. I had a lot of hope going in. I really enjoy heroines that are in public relations. One of my favorite romances, Love On My Mind, has a heroine that is in public relations. Plots with PR reps that are trying to improve their love interests image are a shoe in for me. Unfortunately, Public Relations was extremely tedious. Reading to the point that I got to, which wasn't even the half way point, was a difficulty. The characters did not grab me, and there were also a lot of pop culture references that fell completely flat. Public Relations was not for me.
    more
  • Three Chicks
    April 26, 2017
    Review by Trinette DungeeRose Read stubbles onto the project of a lifetime in the PR Firm she works for. Who knew offering a simple suggestion regarding the image of their newest client would have her up close and personal in his life. When Rose’s feelings toward Archie start to take a very unprofessional turn she’s not so sure how lucky this project was. I had a very hard time connecting with these characters. I’m not sure what it was but I just couldn’t get into story. I liked the story line a Review by Trinette DungeeRose Read stubbles onto the project of a lifetime in the PR Firm she works for. Who knew offering a simple suggestion regarding the image of their newest client would have her up close and personal in his life. When Rose’s feelings toward Archie start to take a very unprofessional turn she’s not so sure how lucky this project was. I had a very hard time connecting with these characters. I’m not sure what it was but I just couldn’t get into story. I liked the story line and there were certain parts that had me totally engrossed but it wasn’t consistent. I liked Archie and Rose’s friend Harper but I just could not make myself like Rose. I don’t know what it was about her but I just couldn’t make myself like her. This is not unusual and had nothing to do with my not being able to really become completely engrossed in this book. There were moments when I couldn’t figure out who was speaking to whom. There were times when the internal dialogue Rose had with herself was so lengthy that it seemed like it should have just be an actual conversation between her and whoever she was speaking with. While this book didn’t work with me entirely, I do think it was a good story line and I did like the humor and the banter between Rose and Archie. The sarcasm and dry humor were right up my alley.
    more
  • Sionna
    May 14, 2017
    *I received this book through Netgallet in exchange for an honest review*Oh my word, I'm in love with this book. I went into it with some anticipation, but didn't want to make myself too excited, in case I hated it and then never wanted to try New Adult fiction again lol. I will say, it isn't the deepest book in the world, but it isn't supposed to be. This is a fun, easy read, that spoke about things I KNOW! I was able to relate to book for the first time in a loooooong time.True, I don't use Ti *I received this book through Netgallet in exchange for an honest review*Oh my word, I'm in love with this book. I went into it with some anticipation, but didn't want to make myself too excited, in case I hated it and then never wanted to try New Adult fiction again lol. I will say, it isn't the deepest book in the world, but it isn't supposed to be. This is a fun, easy read, that spoke about things I KNOW! I was able to relate to book for the first time in a loooooong time.True, I don't use Tinder (haven't) since I'm engaged, but I've heard the stories and listen to my friends complain. Skype interviews? Common. Not falling the path you originally thought? TRUEDorky awkward dates? Seriously, this book has it all. “Black is classic!” I said, sounding slightly shrill.“It’s also for mourning.”I was so into this book that I did not check the time and before I knew it I was up WAY past bed time, but I still finished ^_^ It was too good to stop; I had to keep going to see how things worked out (even though we all know how it works out). Things I didn't like: not much really... while she did go through struggles, I did kinda think things went a little too easy for her and of course the romance starts because of a 'spark', an interest in looks alone... which I'm pretty meh about, but this couple is so cute I couldn't NOT love them. I will also say, I thought Archie could be.... flat. We don't get to really know him, which is a bummer. All in all, it is a light read which shouldn't be taken too seriously. I'd recommend it to younger adults (18-30) who are looking for a fun, light-hearted read to cleanse their palate between other novels. After all, the flashing lights weren't so blinding as long as we kept our eyes on each other.
    more
  • Bookgasms Book Blog
    May 10, 2017
    Public Relations will snag your attention right from the start introducing us to Rose Reed, a harried, overworked, overachiever at a large public relations firm in New York City. She’s risen up the ranks faster than any other associate, and has been handed an opportunity to manage the “remake” of a British pop star, one Archie Fox. And it doesn’t hurt one bit that he’s young and hot, either.One of Rose’s first responsibilities is to get Archie back into media in a positive way—what better way th Public Relations will snag your attention right from the start introducing us to Rose Reed, a harried, overworked, overachiever at a large public relations firm in New York City. She’s risen up the ranks faster than any other associate, and has been handed an opportunity to manage the “remake” of a British pop star, one Archie Fox. And it doesn’t hurt one bit that he’s young and hot, either.One of Rose’s first responsibilities is to get Archie back into media in a positive way—what better way than a new romance with an up and coming indie singer, Raya. Once that “relationship” is out into the world, Rose’s job becomes even more difficult—she needs to keep Rachie relevant and she needs to reign in her growing crush. Crush, you say? Yup, before the tabloid ink is dry, Rose finds herself at a crossroad—does she ruin her reputation by giving into her fantasy or does she choose to keep things professional? Funny, she thinks her heart’s going to really give her a choice…I really enjoyed this slow burn novel. Rose and Archie are extremely likeable characters, I just wish there were more interaction between them. Don’t get me wrong, the simmering heat and developing relationship was fun to watch, it got a bit painful at times when Rose got overwhelmed by everything going on around them. It was delightful watching Rose put her feelings aside and outright reject them as she scheduled time for Archie and Raya to be seen together. I also really liked Rose’s best friend, Harper! She’s the perfect calm “Ying to Rose’s Yang” best friend. Some of their whispered office shenanigans were laugh out loud hilarious. All in all, Public Relations is a quick, fun, quirky summer read. ~ Missy, 3.5 stars
    more
  • Beth
    May 19, 2017
    Recommended for: Basic Bitches who know itThis book looks great. I love the cover. I love the premise. I even like that the authors, both with Buzzfeed bylines and addresses in Brooklyn, teamed up to give readers a look at the world of Public Relations and trying not to fangirl too hard over your own clients.Rose Reed is a junior level PR exec who falls into main-staging the upcoming album release of a major British pop-star/songwriter, Archie Fox. Archie needs a bit of a re-brand, and a love st Recommended for: Basic Bitches who know itThis book looks great. I love the cover. I love the premise. I even like that the authors, both with Buzzfeed bylines and addresses in Brooklyn, teamed up to give readers a look at the world of Public Relations and trying not to fangirl too hard over your own clients.Rose Reed is a junior level PR exec who falls into main-staging the upcoming album release of a major British pop-star/songwriter, Archie Fox. Archie needs a bit of a re-brand, and a love story, so Rose, tumblr savvy and young enough to be his core demographic, finds the perfect catch: an FKATwigs/Alexandra Savior hybrid who is about to blow up will be his newest “collaboration.”Archie is patently modeled on Harry Styles, complete with an old TSwift-style heartbreak and some recognizable tattoos. He seems to be a little more interested in Rose than she expects him to be, and over the course of the novel she vacillates between trying to keep her feelings professional, and letting her crush go full blown.There is less romance in this novel than there is good old girl crushing, but it’s still a fun read. I’ll let you guys decide if you think the authors really sold Archie falling for Rose, or if it reads like self-insert RPFic. Regardless, it’s a PERFECT summer read. I read it on the beach in record time while my kids burned because I forgot to reapply their sunscreen.
    more
  • Kelly Hager
    May 17, 2017
    Rose is working in a PR firm and has just landed her first major client. It's her job to make sure the world thinks that Archie Fox is dating Raya, an up-and-coming musician. Except she's pretty sure she likes Archie...and he may like her back!This book is a pure delight. It's effervescent and should be read on the beach or poolside. It's the ideal vacation read and I dare you to not smile while you read it. I love Rose. She's clever and so clearly career-driven, so watching her decide to risk e Rose is working in a PR firm and has just landed her first major client. It's her job to make sure the world thinks that Archie Fox is dating Raya, an up-and-coming musician. Except she's pretty sure she likes Archie...and he may like her back!This book is a pure delight. It's effervescent and should be read on the beach or poolside. It's the ideal vacation read and I dare you to not smile while you read it. I love Rose. She's clever and so clearly career-driven, so watching her decide to risk everything was a total cheer-worthy moment. I loved every second of reading this. Recommended.
    more
  • Allison (The Allure of Books)
    May 19, 2017
    This would make THE BEST movie!
  • Tim Manley
    May 17, 2017
    I haven't ENJOYED a book as much as I enjoyed this one in a long time.It's fun, it's escapist, it's got good sex in it. It made me miss my subway stop, it made me laugh, it made me go !!!I also learned a lot about how to dress celebrities, stalking Instagram-famous teens, and (honestly) what the world of PR is like.Thumbs up, five stars, great book.
    more
  • Karmen
    May 8, 2017
    Public Relations has a mix of humor, romance with quirky characters! If you are fan of Hollywood celebrities and gossip (like I am!), then this book is for you. Rose Reed's career didn't pan out as she dreamed. Her goal was to write about the music industry and discovering artists. Instead she ends up being an assistant for one of the toughest PR agency/rep. Her duties usually entail menial work, but when she is asked to sit in for her boss with a high-profile client, her career and life change Public Relations has a mix of humor, romance with quirky characters! If you are fan of Hollywood celebrities and gossip (like I am!), then this book is for you. Rose Reed's career didn't pan out as she dreamed. Her goal was to write about the music industry and discovering artists. Instead she ends up being an assistant for one of the toughest PR agency/rep. Her duties usually entail menial work, but when she is asked to sit in for her boss with a high-profile client, her career and life changes. Archie Fox is the bad boy rock star who needs an image overhaul and hires Rose's PR firm. And when Rose speaks up about ideas for his career, Archie and team want her to be the point publicist. And being in constant contact with each other, things may start to heat up between this rock star and his publicist...What I enjoyed about Public Relations is the reality that this probably does happen in Hollywood. Everything you read and see online isn't always what they appear. This is a great read that proves what you read and see online may not be the truth! I'm looking forward to more from these new authors!
    more
  • Books and Boys Book Blog
    May 6, 2017
    ** ARC provided by author in exchange for honest review **A YA romance with a inter-office relationship is what you get when you read Public Relations by Katie Heaney & Arianna Rebolini. This slow burn/ PG quirky novel with bouts of humor with subtle hints of love will have you reading in one sitting! Rosie Read’s boss needs help on a PR meeting due to his absence, but she is only supposed to be a fly on the wall... No talking and only taking notes, but when a colleague decides to tank the m ** ARC provided by author in exchange for honest review **A YA romance with a inter-office relationship is what you get when you read Public Relations by Katie Heaney & Arianna Rebolini. This slow burn/ PG quirky novel with bouts of humor with subtle hints of love will have you reading in one sitting! Rosie Read’s boss needs help on a PR meeting due to his absence, but she is only supposed to be a fly on the wall... No talking and only taking notes, but when a colleague decides to tank the meeting, she speaks her mind… landing herself dead center in Archie Fox’s path.  Her suggestion for the British singer-songwriter: fauxmance between him and an up-and-coming Indie singer, Raya. Archie loves this idea to the point he fights her PR firm to have her has his handler. With all the concoctions Rosie is coming up for him and his faux-romance, she is falling hard and fast. Lines become blurred and actions are considered unprofessional… she starts to question if she jumped to fast at the opportunity to help the big name client. I liked Rosie and her best friend Harper. Their interactions were refreshing and fun to read. I feel like Harper is what keeps this story afloat and keeps Rosie on her toes. Harper needs her own novel, what do you say Ms. Heaney & Ms. Rebolini?!
    more
  • Autumn
    May 10, 2017
    Rose Reed wasn’t even supposed to speak during the morning meeting. She was only to appear in the absence of her boss and ended up in charge of Weaver-Girard’s newest acquisition – music’s favourite bad boy Archie Fox.Her idea of staging a romance between Archie and teen sensation Raya is an instant hit. It’s the chance that she’s been waiting for. If only she could keep her mind on business and not on her unexpectedly sweet client.“He just finished up in Europe. Oh my God, you didn’t see that V Rose Reed wasn’t even supposed to speak during the morning meeting. She was only to appear in the absence of her boss and ended up in charge of Weaver-Girard’s newest acquisition – music’s favourite bad boy Archie Fox.Her idea of staging a romance between Archie and teen sensation Raya is an instant hit. It’s the chance that she’s been waiting for. If only she could keep her mind on business and not on her unexpectedly sweet client.“He just finished up in Europe. Oh my God, you didn’t see that Vine from his last night in Madrid? With the hip thrust?” She tossed her head back in feigned ecstasy. “It probably killed about ten thousand girls in that stadium.”Archie Fox shot to instant stardom on YouTube and never looked back. Rebranding his image with his new publicist isn’t the chore that he thought it would be. Rose is honest and real – two qualities that are increasingly rare in his life. Can he convince her to put her heart and career on the line for love or will she always think of him as just another cardboard cutout?Archie laughed, but then he leaned in closer to me and I stopped smiling. He looked at me for a moment or two (it was impossible to tell how long) and then I saw, in my peripheral vision, the package of fish rising up between us. “Rose,” he croaked, holding the fish in front of his face. “Please. Don’t mess this up. My friend and I shan’t have died in vain.” I laughed, and swatted the fish away. “I think that’s my cue to open a bottle of wine.” I pointed to a smaller paper bag on the counter. It was a complete (and not unpleasant) surprise to find that Archie Fox, international rock star, tabloid-rumored lothario and bad boy, was kind of… a dork.Public Relations is the perfect fast-paced swoony read to kick off the summer of 2017! Katie Heaney and Arianna Rebolini have crafted a fascinating combination of modern media culture and heartwarming romance that is as edgy as it is entertaining.You will laugh out loud one moment and then cheer for Team Archie the next – and you’ll remember exactly how much fun it is to be a fangirl…
    more
  • Debbie
    May 30, 2017
    I found this to be a quick, easy read and a delightful story!We meet Rose Reed, a young up and coming PR person, gets the chance of a lifetime when she's tossed into a meeting with British pop sensation, Archie Fox, due to her boss being called out of town unexpectedly. She was not supposed to talk, but spins an idea that Archie & his manager both like, and they request SHE be in charge of his career rehab. They toss him into a faux relationship with young up and coming pop star Raya. The pu I found this to be a quick, easy read and a delightful story!We meet Rose Reed, a young up and coming PR person, gets the chance of a lifetime when she's tossed into a meeting with British pop sensation, Archie Fox, due to her boss being called out of town unexpectedly. She was not supposed to talk, but spins an idea that Archie & his manager both like, and they request SHE be in charge of his career rehab. They toss him into a faux relationship with young up and coming pop star Raya. The public is buying it, and it appears to be working.However, things start to brew between Rose & Archie that neither saw coming. One thing leads to another and their relationship could jeopardize both his career rehab and her career.I thought this was a fun story and I just loved Rose (& grew to love Archie) and was cheering for them the whole way through!Thanks to Netgalley & Grand Central Publishing for allowing me an ARC copy of this in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Barbara
    May 14, 2017
    4/5. I received a free copy of this book from the publisher via the Goodreads giveaway."Public Relations" is a funny, modern story told from the perspective of our main character, Rose Reed. The youngest in her PR firm, Rose is busy making a name for herself and impressing her boss. When her boss is called away to an emergency meeting, Rose fills in for her at a meeting with British music star Archie Fox, whose recent shunning of the press has had bad results for his career. To fix this, Rose su 4/5. I received a free copy of this book from the publisher via the Goodreads giveaway."Public Relations" is a funny, modern story told from the perspective of our main character, Rose Reed. The youngest in her PR firm, Rose is busy making a name for herself and impressing her boss. When her boss is called away to an emergency meeting, Rose fills in for her at a meeting with British music star Archie Fox, whose recent shunning of the press has had bad results for his career. To fix this, Rose suggests a staged romance with rising star Raya and Archie agrees with the idea- as long as Rose remains his publicist. Happy for her big break Rose takes on the job with huge consequences for both her professional and personal life.I really enjoyed this book and read the it cover-to-cover in one sitting. Rose was hilarious and very, very relatable (although this may be only to Rose's exact demographic). I found myself laughing at her Tinder escapades and loved the positive female relationships. With the friendship between Rose and Harper, the professional mentorship between Rose and Joanna and even the budding friendship with Rose and Raya, the book definitely passes the bechdel test (which, bonus points, it also mentions).Moreover, I thought the authors did a great job of building the relationship between Rose and Archie. The relationship was slowly built instead of having the characters instantly fall for each other which I appreciated. Overall, this smart, funny romcom is thoroughly enjoyable and I would highly recommend it to other readers.
    more
  • Priscilla Garcia
    March 8, 2017
    3.5 stars When I read the description for this book I was pretty excited. Then that beautiful cover reeled me more in. But sadly this book lacked Romance. On the first few chapters I was thrilled. I love when the Lead girl doesn't fall for the MC right away. Specially I love the Love/hate relationships, which I was hoping on this book when I read she couldn't stand Archie. But that didn't last for long. Another thing is that they didn't have so many scenes together which I didn't like at all. I 3.5 stars When I read the description for this book I was pretty excited. Then that beautiful cover reeled me more in. But sadly this book lacked Romance. On the first few chapters I was thrilled. I love when the Lead girl doesn't fall for the MC right away. Specially I love the Love/hate relationships, which I was hoping on this book when I read she couldn't stand Archie. But that didn't last for long. Another thing is that they didn't have so many scenes together which I didn't like at all. I appreciate when a lead girl doesn't stick like glue to the Male Lead but not to this point. I also know that some leads can win your heart with one sentence but I didn't feel it in this book. I wish I could of love Archie More because usually I love this type of MC's but maybe because this book lack of interaction between the leads I couldn't see Archie in more facets that would of attract me. I did love the female lead and more her interactions with her bestfriend. They saved this book in my point of view. I didn't love her as a set (with the MC) but I loved her as a individual. Overall I didn't hate it but I didn't love it. "Received an advance reader copy in exchange for a fair review"
    more
  • Eve
    March 4, 2017
    Rose Reed is up and coming, working for a company as a PR who's due to meet with British singer songwriter Archie Fox. Only, her boss is leaving the company the day their meeting is set for.Rose manages to save the meeting by suggesting a fake romance is staged between Archie and new indie star Raya, Rose has full trust from Archie's front as it was his request despite the lack of confidence from the company Rose works for.Rose sets them up and plans meetings etc with Raya and her publicist but Rose Reed is up and coming, working for a company as a PR who's due to meet with British singer songwriter Archie Fox. Only, her boss is leaving the company the day their meeting is set for.Rose manages to save the meeting by suggesting a fake romance is staged between Archie and new indie star Raya, Rose has full trust from Archie's front as it was his request despite the lack of confidence from the company Rose works for.Rose sets them up and plans meetings etc with Raya and her publicist but finds herself with growing feelings and therefore unprofessional interest in her now client Archie after they start texting each other and having late night conversations.Rose's best friend Harper, is a lesbian and so no jealousy between the friends a occurs which is refreshing. She is totally happy with Rose and Archie growing closer together after seeing how many times Tinder hasn't produced a boyfriend match longer than a couple of dates, for her best friend.I really enjoyed this book, Archie comes across as a typical guy in the music industry only he seems to be nicer than some stars in real life though still a heartthrob type to the girls. It's great to see a story focus a on staged love and real love happening over time. It was an engaging, thrilling read which I thank the publisher for allowing me to review it for them.
    more
  • Rummy
    March 11, 2017
    I received a copy of this book from Net Galley.The book threw me for a loop. When I started reading it I thought the book was set in the UK because of how the characters spoke and the language used to describe the scenery. A fun book to read and I look forward to checking out more books by these authors.
    more
  • Perks Of Being A Fangirl
    February 25, 2017
    As soon as I read the blurb I knew that this was right up my alley and when I looked at the fun quirky cover it was an absolute yes from me and pressed the request button. Overall, I loved this book! It was a light-hearted read which I had thoroughly enjoyed albeit predictable. The authors do a wonderful job creating likeable characters especially Harper who was such a fun character and I think I've become a Harper fan girl. Additionally, I think I should confess that it's a little guilty plea As soon as I read the blurb I knew that this was right up my alley and when I looked at the fun quirky cover it was an absolute yes from me and pressed the request button. Overall, I loved this book! It was a light-hearted read which I had thoroughly enjoyed albeit predictable. The authors do a wonderful job creating likeable characters especially Harper who was such a fun character and I think I've become a Harper fan girl. Additionally, I think I should confess that it's a little guilty pleasure of mine to read about a normal girl being swept away by a famous somebody living the life of reality or fabricated truths. Rose is assertive and determined to succeed in her career which deserves a round of applause for creating a strong main character however, much like another reviewer has mentioned, she's a bit flaky on relationships and everything else so it may get frustrating but I think the cuteness and fun whilst reading outweighed the frustration I had. Harper was definitely the character which provided all the laughs but also the voice of reason when Rose becomes a bit self centered. She's the supportive best friend that every girl needs when you're in a bit of a pickle, encouraging you to do things out of your comfort zone aka swiping right on all potential tinder dates and getting more excited than the person going on the date. Although Archie is considered a main character of this novel, I have little to say about him. He's your typical famous character however, in a more contemporary form like YouTube. As most of us are so invested into social media nowadays, it was an insightful novel to showcase the work and somewhat manipulation that viewers experience to gain an uproar.
    more
  • Arousa
    February 22, 2017
    Thank you NetGalley & publishers!3 stars.This book had a lot of potential and though I did like it, I did not love it. The romance was slow-burn but it didn't feel like it because the main characters, Archie (pop-star) and Rose (his new PR) rarely had any time together. This is the part where the potential could have expanded into something like an actual love story. I liked Rose, she was funny, witty, and I loved her thoughts but I didn't really connect to Archie cause I barely knew him! An Thank you NetGalley & publishers!3 stars.This book had a lot of potential and though I did like it, I did not love it. The romance was slow-burn but it didn't feel like it because the main characters, Archie (pop-star) and Rose (his new PR) rarely had any time together. This is the part where the potential could have expanded into something like an actual love story. I liked Rose, she was funny, witty, and I loved her thoughts but I didn't really connect to Archie cause I barely knew him! And it wasn't until about, 70ish-80% that they even got together. It felt rushed...and then the ending was so abrupt and I wanted more. The good things this book had was an engaging main character. I actually really liked Rose and the things she said made me laugh. This book was fun to read regardless of the lack of romance aspect. I loved the writing, the dialogue, the setting, and the info (which really didn't sound like info-dumping) about the lifestyle of a PR. I was intrigued by how everything worked in the background.
    more
  • Samantha Myers
    February 13, 2017
    I received an advance reader copy (from Netgalley) in exchange for a fair review. Thanks to Grand Central Publishing and the author(s) for a chance to review this.I was in a little bit of a depressive slump when I requested this. It seemed up my alley and the cover did stand out to me among all of the others in Netgalley and the plot sounded like a cute one. There's been a lot of romances (or faux shomances) in fiction and television as of late and this is a nice addition to the pile.The charact I received an advance reader copy (from Netgalley) in exchange for a fair review. Thanks to Grand Central Publishing and the author(s) for a chance to review this.I was in a little bit of a depressive slump when I requested this. It seemed up my alley and the cover did stand out to me among all of the others in Netgalley and the plot sounded like a cute one. There's been a lot of romances (or faux shomances) in fiction and television as of late and this is a nice addition to the pile.The characters were fully realized and I liked the extra little touches in the book regarding the PR-ness that Rose navigates between Archie and Raya while also becoming a "slow burn" type of novel in regards to Rose and her feelings for Archie. This ones definitely a cute addition to the genre and definitely lifted my mood.
    more
  • Teresa
    February 28, 2017
    This book was a great palate cleanser, nothing too heavy and not too light! Rose Reed is an up and coming PR star that is tasked with the handling of one of the biggest pop singers in the world, Archie Fox. When late night texting and impromptu lunches begin to make Rose have more than friendly feelings for Archie, she can only wonder if he feels the same way. A cute, feel good story that had me rooting for Rose and Archie until the end. Thanks to Hachette for the ARC!
    more
  • Angel Hatfield
    May 23, 2017
    Joanne was the head of the - Weaver Gerald Public Relations- music civisions. Harper was Rose's best friend , cubicle mate and and ally in perpetual fear of Joanne. Joanne had left for Dubar as Trevor had sent for her. Trevor James was one of the biggest client’s at the firm Kelsey works at. Trevor was a complete drama queen. Rose was a media relations associate. Rose is to go to a meeting for Joanna. They were putting together a band for Archie Fox. Weaver, Daniel, and Witz will be there your j Joanne was the head of the - Weaver Gerald Public Relations- music civisions. Harper was Rose's best friend , cubicle mate and and ally in perpetual fear of Joanne. Joanne had left for Dubar as Trevor had sent for her. Trevor James was one of the biggest client’s at the firm Kelsey works at. Trevor was a complete drama queen. Rose was a media relations associate. Rose is to go to a meeting for Joanna. They were putting together a band for Archie Fox. Weaver, Daniel, and Witz will be there your job is to not speak but take detailed notes and email them to Joanne. Rose was only there to keep them accountable. Rose was both terrified and incredibly flattered that Joanne referred to rose as the “ music person”. Archie Fox was an international pop star. What Rose knew about Archie Fox is he blew up about five years ago with an ameteur vidoe of one of his open- mike- night performances got a million views on YouTube within thirty six hours.Dave had been there for Rose as she got rejected from Spin, The Valley Voice, New York Magazine and Rolling Stone for a summer fellowship. Dave had got his dream job on the first try- an editorial internship at MacMillian. Rose was finally offered an internship at The Dish, a gossipy pop-culture site with a sizable following. Rose got comfortable sending professional emails. Rose learned how to convert news items into flash and succulent articles people would read. The most meaningful time at The Dish was Rose’s access to the occasional interview whenever actors or singers were at the office. One in particular to a singer named Michaela Jones changed everything. Michaela had fronted pop punk band in the two thousands disappeared for some time and recently came back as a folksy solo artist. Rose was obsessed with her. Anthony was the closest thing Rose had to a work friend. He let Rose in on the interview with Michaela. Then Michael’s publicist walked .Rose walked in she expected Ryan Weaver, Sam Daniels and Keiran Fitz to be there but instead Archie Fox was there.Rose noticed he looked tired, and slightly older than she thought but he was still cute. First it was suggested Mission 5 wanted Archie to model their trademark brotastic beachwear but Archie didn’t want to be a model. Then the men asked if Archie had considered Vlogging. It was the most direct efficient route to Archie’s audience. Then they mentioned Archie being seen with someone else trending right now, another musician. Then the men mentioned Madison Reener but Archie’s manager Marie felt Madison was a little wholesome for Archie. Then the males mentioned Dame Wallis. Rose brought up Raya and said Ray was up and coming , young, and cool. Then Archie said he liked Raya. Archie was a fan of her music, he had seen her one or two times and he found Raya good company. Maria said it sounded good to her. Maria also said she wanted Rose as Archie’s point person and told Rose she would be in touch with her. Rose was to be Archie’s personal public relations representative. It had been five years since Rose’s only serious relationship ended. As he had cheated but to be honest the magic had been missing for a long time. I liked this story a lot and I also liked the plot a lot. It dragged a little for me but didn’t really hurt the story for me. This story kept my attention from the beginning to the end. I loved how much of a friend Harper was to Rose. I also liked Raya a lot. I loved Archer and Rose together and was rooting for them. I loved how things ended up. I loved the characters and the ins and outs of this story and i recommend.
    more
  • Sam (Clues and Reviews)
    May 8, 2017
    When her boss leaves town, PR agent, Rose Reed, is finally given her chance to take the reins with a client; too bad that client is a hot, rugged, young, international singer-songwriter, Archie Fox. Ignoring her unexpected, inconvenient and unprofessional budding feeling for Archie, Rose arranges a staged romance with an up and coming indie singer. Things start to get complicated, and, in the end, Rose will have to decide whether to let her feelings go or to risk her reputation…it’s all just ano When her boss leaves town, PR agent, Rose Reed, is finally given her chance to take the reins with a client; too bad that client is a hot, rugged, young, international singer-songwriter, Archie Fox. Ignoring her unexpected, inconvenient and unprofessional budding feeling for Archie, Rose arranges a staged romance with an up and coming indie singer. Things start to get complicated, and, in the end, Rose will have to decide whether to let her feelings go or to risk her reputation…it’s all just another day at the office…Public Relations (Kate Heaney and Arianna Rebolini) has been one of my top guilty pleasure reads of this year. Fun and fluffy, this was an easy read that I breezed through. It really reminded me a bit of The Devil Wears Prada with a slightly nicer boss and in PR, instead of fashion. My only regret? I didn’t read it while at the beach. I am obsessed with celebrity gossip; I am one of those people who refer to celebrities by their first names like they are my friends (“I’ll never get over what Brad did to Jen!”). So, needless to say, I was interested in the concept of this one and seeing the “behind the scenes” type of look into the celebrity lifestyle. For the most part, I found that this one read like a more mature YA type of novel, especially in regards to all the social media references; I could easily see a reader in a different age group being put off by this and not being able to connect. Since I consider myself a member of the “social media stalking” generation, I had no issues with that. As for plot and characterization, I found that the stock characters and the generalized plot was comforting to me; sometimes I just want to know where a novel is going and this one did that for me. Boy meets girl, girl likes boys, some stuff happens and it gets tricky, everyone lives happily ever after. Overall, I’d say if you are looking for something to read at the beach or want something light and entertaining, this would be a good choice. I also feel it would be a good foray for readers who generally enjoy Young Adult fiction; this would be a nice transitional read! I give it 4/5 stars, famous ones, with British accents.
    more
Write a review