A Work of Art
Letting go after her abrupt break-up with Samson is harder than Julene thought it would be, especially since her ex has wasted no time in burying himself in the local dating scene. But during an extended visit to her parents overseas, Julene rediscovers her love of art, and a burgeoning career develops. Samson, on the other hand, after trying valiantly--and unsuccessfully--to forget Julene, has settled instead on his own new career. When Julene returns home to Australia, a coincidental meeting leads to an emotional reunion--but her love and patience will be tested when she finds out just how busy Samson has been in her absence. Yes, they have both made mistakes they can work through and move past--but when a specter from Samson's past looms, Julene wonders: Can she trust him again?

A Work of Art Details

TitleA Work of Art
Author
FormatPaperback
ReleaseMay 2nd, 2017
PublisherShe Writes Press
ISBN1631521683
ISBN-139781631521683
Number of pages256 pages
Rating
GenreWomens Fiction, Chick Lit

A Work of Art Review

  • Quynh
    April 12, 2017
    Thank you to She Writes Press and NetGalley for this ARC in exchange for an honest review.The book opens with the main characters, Julene and Samson, going about their daily lives. It was then understood that they recently had a breakup but we don't know the cause. The mystery of that breakup didn't last very long as the cause was revealed just a couple of chapters in. After the breakup, Julene discovers her passion for art again and became successful. As well, the situation Julene finds herself Thank you to She Writes Press and NetGalley for this ARC in exchange for an honest review.The book opens with the main characters, Julene and Samson, going about their daily lives. It was then understood that they recently had a breakup but we don't know the cause. The mystery of that breakup didn't last very long as the cause was revealed just a couple of chapters in. After the breakup, Julene discovers her passion for art again and became successful. As well, the situation Julene finds herself in can be related to by many women. However, the story lacked the insightfulness that could have been achieved through better writing execution. The characters' actions also didn't feel true or realistic given the situation. Samson, who have been warming his sheets with another woman dumps her and automatically Julene takes him back even though the breakup was so bad she had to leave town for six months? As a reader, I like when authors show me their world they want to portray. There was too much telling in this book and even so, the description or lack thereof in certain parts, missed the mark. One of my favorite hobbies is drawing, and considering the vocation of the character, I expected some description of Julene's art process. It was just told that her art magically gets created and accepted by the art world, I don't think I ever got a sense of what her art would look like. I felt like I got the summary of the characters day-to-day activities in each chapters. It got mundane and boring really quickly. The dialogue felt forced and some situations felt very awkward. For example, Julene and her date laughing hysterically over her use of the word "pizzazz". Not sure why or how it was so funny, or was it an Aussie joke that I completely missed?I had to force myself to finish the book in order to give this a fair rating. Unfortunately this book did not work for me.
    more
  • Hristina
    April 13, 2017
    Copy received through NetGalleyThis book is too fast-pace, even for me. There is an amazing story in it, but it isn't told the right way. It's frustrating because I think there was some interesting characters here too, but they got lost. The writing style in the book, and the execution of it don't do it justice.If I was judging on just story, this would've been strong 4 stars, but I can't give them with everything else going on.
    more
  • Valeen Robertson
    April 28, 2017
    A Work of Art is not a masterpiece, unfortunately. Its premise is tried and true: a woman breaks up with her cheating boyfriend and later discovers she's pregnant. Said ex goes on to sleep with everything with two legs after the breakup until he discovers his ex is pregnant, then does everything he can do to get her back.I guess my main problem with A Work of Art is that it's all rather flat. There is nothing particularly interesting or unique about Julene or Samson and their actions and reactio A Work of Art is not a masterpiece, unfortunately. Its premise is tried and true: a woman breaks up with her cheating boyfriend and later discovers she's pregnant. Said ex goes on to sleep with everything with two legs after the breakup until he discovers his ex is pregnant, then does everything he can do to get her back.I guess my main problem with A Work of Art is that it's all rather flat. There is nothing particularly interesting or unique about Julene or Samson and their actions and reactions. They're not horrible people, but they're not particularly nice people either. They're just...there, bland and boring. The intimate scenes are fade to black, which is something that when done well and within an interesting story with interesting characters, can be OK. Here, however, it just adds to the flat aspect of the entire story.I couldn't connect to, or relate to, any of the characters, nor did I like any of them. The whole thing is just rather unlikable, with tons of unnecessary detail that feels too much like telling with little passion involved. A Work of Art is just not enough for me: not enough passion, not enough sweetness, not enough excitement, not enough strong emotion, not enough, period.I received an ARC through NetGalley for an honest review.
    more
  • Georgina Penney
    February 23, 2017
    I was hopeful when A Work of Art appeared in the post. The cover is gorgeous and the blurb intriguing so expectations were high.In short, I wasn't disappointed. Lally makes you like her characters with her frank, engaging style, then runs you through the wringer along with them before leaving you satisfied. I can't say too much without giving away the plot but I will say that I read this book in one sitting and will definitely be revisiting it again. Fans of Liane Moriarty should love this one. I was hopeful when A Work of Art appeared in the post. The cover is gorgeous and the blurb intriguing so expectations were high.In short, I wasn't disappointed. Lally makes you like her characters with her frank, engaging style, then runs you through the wringer along with them before leaving you satisfied. I can't say too much without giving away the plot but I will say that I read this book in one sitting and will definitely be revisiting it again. Fans of Liane Moriarty should love this one. I certainly did.
    more
  • Tina Mcglothin
    May 4, 2017
    A Work of Art is beautifully done. The characters are so well written you can easily imagine them. The growth of the characters and the events thrown at them throughout the book kept you wanting to read more. You want the best for the characters, hoping that life doesn't ruin the opportunity of love. Situations have you thinking about what you would do if it happened to you. A great book for Lally's debut. Looking forward to more great books from her!
    more
  • Jennifer
    May 10, 2017
    I received a copy of this book from the publisher via the Goodreads First-reads program.
  • Ciara Sherry
    March 21, 2017
    Good story, very poorly executed.Full review here: https://gingernutblog.wordpress.com/2...
  • Vanessa
    February 16, 2017
    Thanks to She Writes Press for the ARC via NetGalley!
  • Julie
    May 2, 2017
    This is a great first novel from Micayla Lally. It is a perfect beach read or late night with a glass of wine read. The characters are believable. The premise is outrageous. And the whole thing comes together so nicely until two thirds of the way through when you are hit with something potentially awful. You are left to wonder, What would I do in this awful situation? A little slow to start, but after a while I couldn't put it down. Lally also has a comfortable easy tone to her writing so that h This is a great first novel from Micayla Lally. It is a perfect beach read or late night with a glass of wine read. The characters are believable. The premise is outrageous. And the whole thing comes together so nicely until two thirds of the way through when you are hit with something potentially awful. You are left to wonder, What would I do in this awful situation? A little slow to start, but after a while I couldn't put it down. Lally also has a comfortable easy tone to her writing so that her characters could be people you know in your own life. Well done!
    more
Write a review