Forbidden Promises (The O'Malleys, #4)
New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Katee Robert delivers the next book in her sizzling O'Malleys family series, hailed as "The Godfather meets Romeo & Juliet." FORBIDDEN PROMISES features Sloan O'Malley and her mysterious new next-door neighbor, Jude MacNamara.

Forbidden Promises (The O'Malleys, #4) Details

TitleForbidden Promises (The O'Malleys, #4)
Author
FormatKindle Edition
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseMay 30th, 2017
PublisherForever
Rating
GenreRomance, Contemporary Romance, Contemporary, Adult

Forbidden Promises (The O'Malleys, #4) Review

  • Wendy'sThoughts
    March 8, 2017
    5 Still Waters Run Deep Stars* * * * * Spoiler FreeNever assume the quiet woman in the background is all as she appears. It may seem she is quiet, dutiful and would never rock the boat….But if that was your take on Sloan from the past books, then you would be wrong. In this entry, Forbidden Promises (The O'Malleys, #4), Sloan learns all about Sloan… and so do we. Sloan saw the writing on the wall and knew she was to be the next sacrificed woman to wed in order for the Family to remain in a power 5 Still Waters Run Deep Stars* * * * * Spoiler FreeNever assume the quiet woman in the background is all as she appears. It may seem she is quiet, dutiful and would never rock the boat….But if that was your take on Sloan from the past books, then you would be wrong. In this entry, Forbidden Promises (The O'Malleys, #4), Sloan learns all about Sloan… and so do we. Sloan saw the writing on the wall and knew she was to be the next sacrificed woman to wed in order for the Family to remain in a power position. The Irish Mafia made up of the three Families which have run Boston, now have another player encroaching in their territories...and they aren't Irish, they are The Russians. With the help of one of her brothers and his wife...Sloan makes her escape to Washington State...to a small town to hunker down and start fresh. Here she is a clean slate...She may be educated but in many ways she has so many things she has never done...And working for a living is one of them. Sloan is a woman who is learning all about life as others know it. It is a crash course on blisters, fear of being fired and the joy of being told "You Did Good Today" from a boss. All of this is happening because Sloan applied to a diner and got the try out for the waitress position. It was a first step for her...and as exhausted as she was from those first days...She had never been happier.She also had never been more curious about her handsome, mysterious neighbor, too. She lived in a borrowed cottage arranged by her brother. It belonged to an aunt and was on the water. There was another cottage not too far away and when Sloan first arrived... she went there, thinking it was her new home. Well, that did not go over well...The man was mean, cold and had no interest in hearing why she made the mistake. He was also the town's curiosity...He didn't mix with anyone...went to the store when no one would be around and the only thing anyone knew was that he said was a writer.As Sloan walked home after surviving a whole week at the diner, she happened to look at the door of her neighbor's cottage...she was drawn like a magnet...And there he stood...leaning up against the door jam, drinking his coffee and looking straight at her...Sloan was mesmerized by this vision of Man...Broad Shoulders, Bare Chest, a perfect V to his hips all perfectly displayed with no shirt and loose...very loose cargo shorts slung low on his hips...His eyes catching her flushed face...his man bun, cut cheeks and chiseled jaw all looking straight at her. She was like a deer caught in headlights with the only thing breaking the connection was Him lifting his mug to her...then turning and closing the door.What the Hell was that!Jude MacNamara had no time or interest in an Innocent....and he knew that was what this woman was...Jude had a singular purpose for being here in this cottage, in this waterfront town. His whole life had lead up to this...and no little Innocent was going to ruin his perfectly planned revenge...For that was what had driven Jude his entire life. He was a product of love and then death. He learned from his mother's words to him what others did to his father and brothers...She didn't sing him lullaby's of little lambs...instead she sang of retribution in his ear...and it became his mantra. He was here to finally achieve his goal and the aunt was his target. He had waited over the years...he could wait a little longer...He would just have to fight the feelings he had for this woman...Katee Robert created this dynamic saga of three Irish Mafia families who for generations have ruled the underworld of Boston and the East Coast. Each family has their own way of doing things...and the decedents have continued on the same path over the years. Now, though, things have shifted and families have merged through marriage. There are new factors to consider and segments of these families are either trying to move away from the criminal to the legal...and others are adjusting to new leadership thrust upon them due to family members being locked up. And all of this has the additional element of The Russia Mob's emergence to power. This is the setting Robert devised for these intricate love stories involving these characters. It is compelling, impossible to put down and addictive as hell....and this latest entry is one of the best so far. Sloan is a woman who is not silly or blind to what she grew up in...She is very aware of what her family is and does. She wanted no part of it and never felt she was confident or strong...But in reality she is one of the strongest women in the family. She takes the leap to leave everything behind....everyone she loves and cares for...She isolates herself and start new with no real world experience to fall back on...She forces herself to fight for a job she hasn't a clue how to do...but is willing to prove to the owner she can....And when the situation presents itself to her...She is willing to be brave and go after a man she knows she has no future with...She is willing to push her boundaries and be brave... time and time again.Jude watches this woman and although he knows he should stay clear of her...he cannot...and when he realizes how dangerous he is for her and she for him...He rises up and becomes a better man...one that would do anything for her. What is captivating about these two is both are equals...Sloan may have started out as seemingly innocent...yet with this clear idea of what is right, wrapped up in the understanding of her world...and then His world...She stands strong.These two together are magnificent. Everything works...their times together...their fights and their commitment to each other. This book has every element to keep you locked and loaded for the series. We have the continuing story of intrigue and power with the Families and Russians. We have specific characters who are important players ...brothers and sisters who cause more chaos... there are attractions between people which should never happen but we are thrilled that it does...All of this continues our devotion to follow this series.I was one of the lucky ones who found this series very early... Katee Robert has not let me down...she has only made this series better and better with every entry. There seems to be only one more book left ... I will be front and center waiting on it... I can only imagine how amazing it is going to be. The Marriage Contract (The O'Malleys, #1)https://www.goodreads.com/review/show... The Wedding Pact (The O'Malleys, #2)https://www.goodreads.com/review/show... An Indecent Proposal (The O'Malleys, #3)https://www.goodreads.com/review/edit...~~~~~ Before Reading ~~~~~ Katee Robert created this world and it lives on her pages. I cannot wait to see the next installment with Sloan...for the the tease I read was perfect: Some lines should never be crossed . . . not even for love.Sloan O'Malley just left her entire world behind-her family, her wealth, and even her real name. For the first time in her life, she's free. She can live the "normal" life she's always wanted. A life without fear. But there's nothing safe about her intensely sexy next-door neighbor.Jude MacNamara has no room for innocence in his life. Only revenge. Still, he's never been able to walk away from the forbidden, and Sloan-who is every inch of pure, mouthwatering temptation-has forbidden written all over her. Only after it's way too late does he discover the real danger: claiming Sloan as his puts a target on her back. To protect her, Jude is willing risk everything . . . and to hell with the consequences.A gifted copy was provided by Forever (Grand Central Publishing) via NetGalley for an honest review.For more Reviews, Free E-books and Giveaways
    more
  • Alyssa
    September 13, 2016
    WANT WANT WANT WANT WANT WANT.:DHIIIIIIIII JUDE!!!!!! Brood away with your broody self. :D
  • Esther
    February 6, 2017
    ARC provided by Edelweiss and Publisher for an honest review.Review to come.
  • Timitra
    April 10, 2017
    I enjoyed Forbidden Promises, I loved the dirty talking hero and the heroine who started as a timid caterpillar and evolved into a fierce butterfly. I also loved that it was not only action packed, filled with hot sex but that it also focused on the politics between the ruling families. I'm going to liken what went down to a game of chess because lots of pieces were moved back and fort on the board forming strategic alliances that changed the dynamics between the them so much so that it's anyone I enjoyed Forbidden Promises, I loved the dirty talking hero and the heroine who started as a timid caterpillar and evolved into a fierce butterfly. I also loved that it was not only action packed, filled with hot sex but that it also focused on the politics between the ruling families. I'm going to liken what went down to a game of chess because lots of pieces were moved back and fort on the board forming strategic alliances that changed the dynamics between the them so much so that it's anyone's guess what the endgame will be. I for one cannot wait to see what happens next.I definitely recommend this book and series to not only lovers of mafia themed books but also to lovers of Contemporary romance that has a Romantic Suspense feel to it.ARC provided by publisher through Net Galley in exchange for a honest review
    more
  • nick
    February 25, 2017
    4.5/5This series is so damn good! Every book is better than the previous in the series and I can't get enough of these characters and these sexy sexy romances. Jude & Sloan were on FIRE here. And holy crap, Dmitri is an ass, but boy do I want him with Kiera! I just NEED Katee Robert to write more books in this series!RTC
    more
  • Diana
    October 3, 2016
    CAN WE GET AIDEN STORY PLEASE!
  • Christie«SHBBblogger»
    March 5, 2017
  • JG ~ Jezabell Girl & Friends
    March 30, 2017
    Currently reading…This ebook was kindly provided by the author, publisher and Netgalley prior to release date in return for an honest and unbiased review. We are proud to provide honest and unbiased reviews written from the heart. Email: [email protected]: http://jezabellgirlandfriends.com Facebook: http://facebook.com/jezabellgirlandfr... Twitter: http://twitter.com/Jezabell_girl Tumblr: https://www.tumblr.com/blog/jezabellg... Google+: http://google.com/+JezabellGirl Pinteres Currently reading…This ebook was kindly provided by the author, publisher and Netgalley prior to release date in return for an honest and unbiased review. We are proud to provide honest and unbiased reviews written from the heart. Email: [email protected]: http://jezabellgirlandfriends.com Facebook: http://facebook.com/jezabellgirlandfr... Twitter: http://twitter.com/Jezabell_girl Tumblr: https://www.tumblr.com/blog/jezabellg... Google+: http://google.com/+JezabellGirl Pinterest: http://www.pinterest.com/JezabellGirl Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/jezabell_girl
    more
  • Isha Coleman
    April 1, 2017
    ARC Review: Forbidden Promises (The O'Malleys) by Katee RobertTo escape the past it must be faced head on. Forbidden Promises begins with revenge and ends in redemption. Though not for the faint of heart, Ms. Robert packs heat. Forbidden Promises provides a feast for the senses. Sloan and Jude are nuclear together. Like a spark to a flame, there is danger around every corner, that feeds the sparks into a combustible flame. A spine tingling story of intrigue that keeps readers on the edge through ARC Review: Forbidden Promises (The O'Malleys) by Katee RobertTo escape the past it must be faced head on. Forbidden Promises begins with revenge and ends in redemption. Though not for the faint of heart, Ms. Robert packs heat. Forbidden Promises provides a feast for the senses. Sloan and Jude are nuclear together. Like a spark to a flame, there is danger around every corner, that feeds the sparks into a combustible flame. A spine tingling story of intrigue that keeps readers on the edge throughout.
    more
  • Eri (Airy Reads)
    March 31, 2017
    (probably closer to a 3.75 but rounding up for now)I like the mafia concept of this series, and Katee Robert definitely knows how to write chemistry etc. for the romance. I do wish that these books didn't spend as much time building up the next book(s) because I feel like the plot could be so much tighter. Overall Jude and Sloan were great though, and I'm always weak for the pet name "sunshine" for some reason haha. mini-review to come closer to release
    more
  • Crystal
    February 2, 2017
    LOVED this book! It didn't scare me as much as the others, because I knew Jude was badass enough to keep Sloan safe...from everyone!
  • Heather andrews
    March 16, 2017
    I really liked Jude the man knew how to care for his woman, “this might not be forever, sunshine, but you’re mine for the duration. And I take care of what’s mine.” There was so much sexual tension between Sloan and Jude and that was after they sleep together, the man just ignites something in Sloan, “that’s the dumbest effing thing I’ve ever heard.” He grinned when she jerked on his hair. “I like you when you’ve missed me.” Even injured Jude has a big appetite, "...he shifted fully onto his bac I really liked Jude the man knew how to care for his woman, “this might not be forever, sunshine, but you’re mine for the duration. And I take care of what’s mine.” There was so much sexual tension between Sloan and Jude and that was after they sleep together, the man just ignites something in Sloan, “that’s the dumbest effing thing I’ve ever heard.” He grinned when she jerked on his hair. “I like you when you’ve missed me.” Even injured Jude has a big appetite, "...he shifted fully onto his back. “But if you’re so concerned, you can ride my ***k so I don’t move too much.” I loved this book, Jude was quite the alpha, he was demanding, at times unforgiving, but man did he have a soft spot for Sloan.
    more
  • Gretchen (About That Story)
    March 10, 2017
    I freaking love, love, LOVE this series! It's an elaborate and intense world filled with twists and turns. Seriously exciting! It's a tangled web of deceit, drama, love, and family. Excellent characters and details. This was so, so good. Loved every second of Jude and Sloan’s story. Full review to come.Complimentary copy received for honest review.
    more
  • Danielle
    February 22, 2017
    Review to be on joyfully reviewed
  • Whispers From
    March 19, 2017
    Sloan belongs to a big mafia family. She leaves to get out from under their control. She hides out in Oregon and gets a job waitressing. She has a gorgeous next door neighbor but he's antisocial. She goes over to flirt and he turns her flat down.Jude has been living next to Sloan way before she arrived. He is a hired hit man and plans to take out the woman that owns Sloan's beach house. See he old woman's brother has his father, brothers, and their wives killed. His mother was pregnant with him Sloan belongs to a big mafia family. She leaves to get out from under their control. She hides out in Oregon and gets a job waitressing. She has a gorgeous next door neighbor but he's antisocial. She goes over to flirt and he turns her flat down.Jude has been living next to Sloan way before she arrived. He is a hired hit man and plans to take out the woman that owns Sloan's beach house. See he old woman's brother has his father, brothers, and their wives killed. His mother was pregnant with him and on her deathbed, she made him promise to get revenge.What Jude doesn't expect, is to fall for Sloan. Will he choose her over revenge? Will Sloan's family drag her back to the fold?Excellent story. Loved the characters and the story made you feel like you were right there. Sex that will have you taking a cold shower. *VOLUNTARILY REVIEWED THIS FOR NETGALLEY *
    more
  • Josephine
    March 3, 2017
    This was my favourite book out of the series so far. I loved Jude in all his big, badass, alpha ways, and I found his character development fun to watch. Sloan was the same for me; I've liked her in the previous books but this showed a different, stronger side to her. I loved that she just needed some more confidence in herself to stand up for what she wanted and what was right. Although the events happen quickly, over a short period of time, I didn't feel as though it was insta-love (not sure h This was my favourite book out of the series so far. I loved Jude in all his big, badass, alpha ways, and I found his character development fun to watch. Sloan was the same for me; I've liked her in the previous books but this showed a different, stronger side to her. I loved that she just needed some more confidence in herself to stand up for what she wanted and what was right. Although the events happen quickly, over a short period of time, I didn't feel as though it was insta-love (not sure how Katee did that, but she did!). I also loved the use of the secondary characters, it was awesome seeing Carrigan and James (who I love), and the others (even if Teague did piss me off royally in this book). I am still SO FREAKING EXCITED for Dmitri and Keira's book, but after reading this, I'm actually really excited for Aidan's book, too (a feat given I've pretty much hated him and found him deathly boring until now). Overall, Forbidden Promises was sexy, fun, had a perfect balance of drama and action, and made me excited to continue with this series. Bring on Undercover Attraction!
    more
  • Luna Lovebooks
    March 10, 2017
    I received a free e-copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. Review to follow soon!
  • Kristin
    March 8, 2017
    So happy I came back to this series :) Full review soon!
  • Cassidy
    February 27, 2017
    I won an ARC in a giveaway. I’ve been a fan of The O’Malleys Series since the beginning and Forbidden Promises didn’t disappoint. I was so excited to get to know Sloan better. In the end of the last book, we see her escape from Boston. It was fun to see Sloan be more independent and grow into her own. I really like the hero, Jude. I loved spending time in his head. I enjoyed the little bits where we saw players from the previous book and future books. It made me love my favorites more and excite I won an ARC in a giveaway. I’ve been a fan of The O’Malleys Series since the beginning and Forbidden Promises didn’t disappoint. I was so excited to get to know Sloan better. In the end of the last book, we see her escape from Boston. It was fun to see Sloan be more independent and grow into her own. I really like the hero, Jude. I loved spending time in his head. I enjoyed the little bits where we saw players from the previous book and future books. It made me love my favorites more and excite me for what is to come. I can’t wait until Undercover Attraction, the next book, to be released this fall.
    more
  • Michelle Cable
    February 18, 2017
    Received digital copy from Edelweiss.
  • Tamara
    April 10, 2017
    Rating and review coming at a later date.*ARC provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.
  • Brandy Thornton
    April 14, 2017
    Holy hotness batman. I loved everything about this book. Let me start by saying if you haven't read any of the other books in this series you may be lost reading this first. I recommend reading it from the start to get to know the players. Now as for this book. Jude and Sloans chemistry rocked. It's almost like they were made to bring out each other's dormant qualities. Sloan is meak and sheltered when she escapes her family with the help of her brother. But the minute she enters Jude's atmosphe Holy hotness batman. I loved everything about this book. Let me start by saying if you haven't read any of the other books in this series you may be lost reading this first. I recommend reading it from the start to get to know the players. Now as for this book. Jude and Sloans chemistry rocked. It's almost like they were made to bring out each other's dormant qualities. Sloan is meak and sheltered when she escapes her family with the help of her brother. But the minute she enters Jude's atmosphere she finds her backbone her voice. She becomes a pillar of strength. She amazed me through the entire book. Now Jude could be called cold hearted with good reason. He is avenging the deaths or more accurately the murders of his entire family. But there's also a tenderness to him that he only shows Sloan. Now don't get me wrong, some may not think its tenderness but even though he is still gruff about it it's there none the less. The one thing that did surprise me was how the brother I thought would have her back wasn't. It was the brother I didn't expect to that did. I loved that we also got to see a family reunion albeit a short one. And we got a taste of what to expect from the final two books. If it wasn't for being sleep deprived and having to play adult and go to work I would not have been able to put this down. Can't wait for Aidens book. Arc provided by publisher for an honest review.
    more
  • A Klue
    April 12, 2017
    Having read/reviewed/thoroughly enjoyed the previous books in this series, I must admit this one had a completely different feel. Looking back, I think a big reason was though Jude, the hero, wasn’t a mafioso made man, he came across with an even more hardened heart set on revenge, regardless of the consequences, than the previous characters. That for quite awhile transferred itself to him being unnecessarily cruel/harsh with Sloan, the heroine, who was about as sweet and unthreatening as a soft Having read/reviewed/thoroughly enjoyed the previous books in this series, I must admit this one had a completely different feel. Looking back, I think a big reason was though Jude, the hero, wasn’t a mafioso made man, he came across with an even more hardened heart set on revenge, regardless of the consequences, than the previous characters. That for quite awhile transferred itself to him being unnecessarily cruel/harsh with Sloan, the heroine, who was about as sweet and unthreatening as a soft, furry, little, lovable, baby kitten just looking for someone to take her home and love her unconditionally. Therefore, it took me quite a while to warm up to him. Sure, we are told about his tragic past and and need to take that into account, but, he was more heartless towards her than I expected. The numerous dirty talking/lengthy smexy encounters reflected that vibe so at times came across harsh, crass, mechanical, and frenzied, instead of consistently romantic. To put it bluntly, Jude was enough of a jerk, especially in the beginning, I found it difficult to like him. His decision to use Sloan for his own selfish reasons hardly set the stage for a hero you want to root for. For me, that didn’t happen until much later in the book. (view spoiler)[ He wants information from her so decides to seduce her/have lots of sex then walk away. Right after taking her virginity, he basically tells her they won’t ever actually sleep in the same bed because he always leaves right after the deed is done. He insists they will keep doing things his way until they tire of each other and walk away. But he said it more crudely, folks. She just goes along with it, even though it clearly upsets her. Yeah, that’ll teach him a lesson, huh? (hide spoiler)]For someone who claimed to have turned over a new leaf and was no longer going to take orders from anyone, Sloan, the sweet heroine, sure seemed to take them from Jude. Honestly, it made me question her commitment to this new, improved, tough girl persona she was claiming to now possess. After what I just mentioned, I thought for certain she would belt him a good one, preferably below the beltline. No, the few times she did strive to “show him” felt weak and nowhere near as assertive as she now claimed to be. At 52%, her self-respect flew out the window, when instead of pushing him away and making him become the man he needed to me, she initiated a smexy scene that felt clumsy and too frenzied. Jumping in the shower to try and stop a pregnancy, well, I’ll just let that bizarre scene speak for itself. Really, panic or not, that was a knucklehead moment that had me questioning why it was included. For a moment there, I was afraid he was accidentally going to drown her, folks.What did I like? Well, the underlying theme of the story was great. I liked how Sloan was determined to set her too controlling family, pampered life on a brand new course, even if it meant working at a low paying job, because she refused to be used as her father’s pawn. I was impressed a girl used to having it all was quickly adapting to living with less. I absolutely loved how protective her brothers were of her, so naturally I really enjoyed their cameo appearances, along with other brief scenes featuring characters from previous books. Seeing Jude finally start to question what he had planned was a huge relief. Yet, I wasn’t overly thrilled about his original callous attitude on a particular loved one of Sloan’s winding up dead/becoming collateral damage, like it was no big deal. Where’s the next and what is rumored to be the final installment headed? That, my fellow romance book loving friends, remains to be officially announced. I'm fairly certain it will be Aiden O'Malley and a heroine named Charlotte. Keira O’Malley and Dimitri (the head Russian mobster still set on getting revenge against the O’Malleys) are also two characters I hope to see become a couple. Well, that’s what I’m keeping my mafioso romance booking loving fingers crossed for anyway. Ms. Robert did such a great job creating so many interesting sub-characters in each book maybe we will get lucky and they will all get their own HEA.As for this book, I was thrilled to receive an ARC in exchange for an unbiased opinion. Since I'm a huge fan of this series, I'm certainly glad I read it. The author/publisher deserves a huge pat on the back for their excellent choices in such classy book covers. Though the smexy scenes and likability of the hero in this one wasn't on the same par for me as the other books, I was still happy to see this main couple get their HEA. I'm looking forward to Undercover Attraction, book 5, which will be released in November 2017. Title: Forbidden Promises, Series: The O’Malley’s (Book 4), Author: Katee Robert, Pages: 336, 5/30/17, revenge theme, virgin heroine, 11 years older hero, for hire hitman hero who wants revenge, VERY detailed/graphic smexy scenes with lusty language, talks tough but isn’t heroine, no cheating, no OW/OM drama, no love triangle, smexy scenes not as well-written as the other books.Book 1 - The Marriage Contract (Teague & Callista), 6/2/15, Pages: 368https://www.goodreads.com/review/show...Book 2 – The Wedding Pact, Pages: 352 (James & Carrigan), 4/26/16https://www.goodreads.com/review/show...Book 3 – An Indecent Proposal, Pages: 352 (Cillian & Olivia), 8/30/16https://www.goodreads.com/review/show...Book 4 - Forbidden Promises, Pages: 336 (Sloan & Jude), 5/30/17Book 5 - Undercover Attraction, 11/28/17, (Aiden and Charlotte)(This review is based on an advanced reader copy distributed via NetGalley in exchange for an unbiased, fair opinion. No compensation was provided to this reviewer, nor is there any affiliation between the reviewer and author/publisher/NetGalley.)
    more
  • Kristen Johnson
    April 11, 2017
    Full review to Come
Write a review