Secrets of the Tulip Sisters
A wonderful story full of romance, forgiveness and the unavoidable ties that bind, SECRETS OF THE TULIP SISTERS is Susan Mallery at her very best.Kelly Murphy's life as a tulip farmer is pretty routine—up at dawn, off to work, lather, rinse, repeat. But everything changes one sun-washed summer with two dramatic homecomings: Griffith Burnett—Tulpen Crossing's prodigal son, who's set his sights on Kelly—and Olivia, her beautiful, wayward and, as far as Kelly is concerned, unwelcome sister. Tempted by Griffith, annoyed by Olivia, Kelly is overwhelmed by the secrets that were so easy to keep when she was alone.But Olivia's return isn't as triumphant as she pretends. Her job has no future, and ever since her dad sent her away from the bad boy she loved, she has felt cut off from her past. She's determined to reclaim her man and her place in the family…whether her sister likes it or not. For ten years, she and Kelly have been strangers. Olivia will get by without her approval now.While Kelly and Olivia butt heads, their secrets tumble out in a big hot mess, revealing some truths that will change everything they thought they knew. Can they forgive each other—and themselves—and redefine what it means to be sisters? Told with Mallery's trademark heart and humor, the Tulip Sisters are in for the most colorful summer of their lives…

Secrets of the Tulip Sisters Details

TitleSecrets of the Tulip Sisters
Author
Formatebook
ReleaseJul 11th, 2017
PublisherHQN Books
Number of pages384 pages
Rating
GenreRomance, Fiction, Womens Fiction, Chick Lit, Contemporary Romance, Contemporary

Secrets of the Tulip Sisters Review

  • Suzanne Leopold
    July 13, 2017
    Kelly Murphy and her father Jeff own a tulip farm in Tulpen Crossing, Washington. They have lived alone for over ten years after her mother left the family for Phoenix. Her younger sister Olivia left home around the same time for boarding school to curb her “wild ways”. Olivia sided with her mother after the divorce and they work together in the same estate office. Eager to rekindle her ties with her family, Olivia decides to visit Tulpen Crossing. Kelly hasn't warmed up to Olivia’s return and i Kelly Murphy and her father Jeff own a tulip farm in Tulpen Crossing, Washington. They have lived alone for over ten years after her mother left the family for Phoenix. Her younger sister Olivia left home around the same time for boarding school to curb her “wild ways”. Olivia sided with her mother after the divorce and they work together in the same estate office. Eager to rekindle her ties with her family, Olivia decides to visit Tulpen Crossing. Kelly hasn't warmed up to Olivia’s return and is unsure how to move forward in their relationship. Through the years she has relied on best friend Helen for advice. She owns the local coffee shop and influences how Kelly handles her sister. Throughout the story Kelly, Olivia, and Helen each hold back secrets from one another. When all the truths start to unfold, all of their their relationships take a step forward. This story is about family, romance, and the power of friendships. There are many secondary characters that add interesting fabric to the story. This was a fun read by Susan Mallery.
    more
  • Amanda - Mrs B's Book Reviews
    July 31, 2017
    *Review to come
  • Elle ✦ Pretty Little Books ✦
    June 24, 2017
    Release Date: July 11, 2017 Genre: Women's FictionI haven't read many books by Susan Mallery but that will change now after reading this one! WOW. I was literally pulled into this story and couldn't put it down. It's engaging, captivating, and completely engrossing. It's filled to the brim with emotion and even has moments of fun. And in all honestly, I didn't want it to end. Now I have to go and put more of the authors books on my TBR because if they are anything like this one then i'll be h Release Date: July 11, 2017 Genre: Women's FictionI haven't read many books by Susan Mallery but that will change now after reading this one! WOW. I was literally pulled into this story and couldn't put it down. It's engaging, captivating, and completely engrossing. It's filled to the brim with emotion and even has moments of fun. And in all honestly, I didn't want it to end. Now I have to go and put more of the authors books on my TBR because if they are anything like this one then i'll be hooked to her work.** Full review will be posted come release week **
    more
  • Kari
    July 20, 2017
    If there is one thing that the Susan Mallery does well, and I mean really well. is writing about family and friendships. If you are in the mood for a great story with both of those things, then The Secrets of the Tulip Sisters is the book for you. I adored this story. It's messy, gut-wrenching, funny and awkward. It's also a story about how we perceive ourselves and others. It's about personal growth and feeling comfortable in your own skin. And, finally, finding forgiveness.As I said, I loved t If there is one thing that the Susan Mallery does well, and I mean really well. is writing about family and friendships. If you are in the mood for a great story with both of those things, then The Secrets of the Tulip Sisters is the book for you. I adored this story. It's messy, gut-wrenching, funny and awkward. It's also a story about how we perceive ourselves and others. It's about personal growth and feeling comfortable in your own skin. And, finally, finding forgiveness.As I said, I loved this book. While there is romance in the book, it was the relationship between Kelly and here sister Olivia that really made the book for me. Their family dynamic has been pretty dysfunctional. I was really rooting for them to find their way back to becoming the sisters they should have been all along. It was wonderful to watch. I also thought that Olivia had the most growth out of the sisters. I loved watching her find her confidence again. As for romance, my favorite out of the three was Helen and Jeff's. I wasn't in the least bit bothered by the age gap. Their relationship was so adorable and I loved every minute of it.I highly recommend this one. It is a wonderful story to get lost in and would make a great vacation read this summer. Go out and get it, you won't be sorry!
    more
  • Kathryn
    July 1, 2017
    4.5 stars. Secrets of the Tulip Sisters was a winning read for me. I really enjoyed the characters, the constant roller coaster ride of relationships between various people, and most of all the sisters themselves, Kelly and Olivia.Both girls hold secrets that the other doesn't know and some of them could push them over the brink of never speaking to each other again! Olivia has just returned home after many years away. Their mother left them when they were young girls, just let me say... no one 4.5 stars. Secrets of the Tulip Sisters was a winning read for me. I really enjoyed the characters, the constant roller coaster ride of relationships between various people, and most of all the sisters themselves, Kelly and Olivia.Both girls hold secrets that the other doesn't know and some of them could push them over the brink of never speaking to each other again! Olivia has just returned home after many years away. Their mother left them when they were young girls, just let me say... no one would want her for a mother and that's for sure. I liked both girls and the journey they take as they renew their relationship, and reach out into romantic relationships as well.Olivia is a very organised person with a number of talents that see her making herself very useful to the people of Tulpen Crossing as she sets about showing them how they might improve their businesses. Its not long into the time she realises Ryan isn't the one for her, however unbeknown to her Sven, the one she attaches herself to might be a time bomb waiting!Kelly has a best friend Helen, they are great mates, however Helen is falling for someone that is going to rock Kelly's world. How will that work out? I wasn't sure right to the last move, but it all worked out for the best in the end.I loved the job that Griffith had building tiny houses, and the tulip growing business that Kelly is so involved in. These combined with Olivia's love of design and improving the appearance of her sister and others just sweetened this story.Griffith was a piece of work! He is determined to have a relationship with Kelly but no commitment or love, he was burned once in marriage and never again. Of course the man is living in lala land, he's on the road even though he doesn't realise it. His care and concern over Kelly is admirable and the lengths he goes to - superb. Especially with one difficulty that Kelly has that he deals with by some research and very straight talking.A wonderful, romantic story with that something extra that made it a delightful read.
    more
  • Debra
    May 18, 2017
    3.5 starsKelly Murphy has a pretty routine life. She works with her father as a successful tulip farmer. Six months ago her long term relationship ended and she is very aware that her high school crush, Griffith Martin is back in town. What makes things even more interesting is that Kate's younger sister, Olivia, who she has not seen in 6 years has also come back to town. Olivia was sent away to finish school when she was 15 after her parents divorce. Kate turns to her friend, Helen, as she alwa 3.5 starsKelly Murphy has a pretty routine life. She works with her father as a successful tulip farmer. Six months ago her long term relationship ended and she is very aware that her high school crush, Griffith Martin is back in town. What makes things even more interesting is that Kate's younger sister, Olivia, who she has not seen in 6 years has also come back to town. Olivia was sent away to finish school when she was 15 after her parents divorce. Kate turns to her friend, Helen, as she always does, for advice and a shoulder to cry on upon Olivia's return to town. Helen owns the local diner where Kate's father, Jeff goes every morning for coffee. Helen and Jeff have become friends over the years and also play together in a band. Griffith has come back into town and is managing a successful business. His younger brother, Ryan works for him but is not pulling his own weight at work. Griffith has made his interest in Kate known and is willing to do whatever it takes to be with her. Olivia decides to start over in her hometown after she grows closer to her father and sister. Helen is deeply routed in the hometown but is wrestling with her feelings for an older man.Almost everyone has secrets in this book. Kate, Olivia and Helen are three women with secrets. Eventually their secrets come out and they individually have to deal with them. To add turmoil into the mix, someone comes back into town to throw a wrench into everyone's happiness,. A blast from the past who will not be happy until everyone is unhappy.Is the book predictable? Yes, but aren't most romance books? If you go into this book with that in mind you will not be disappointed. This is a light fast read about family bonds, the bonds of friendship, and starting over. I appreciated that this book did not seem to end abruptly as most romance books do. I get so annoyed when I read a book and in one page everything is resolved, everyone declares their love and off to the chapel they go! This book came to an ending at the perfect pace. Nothing felt rushed or tied up too quickly. There is an epilogue which I also appreciated.I received a copy of this book from the publisher and Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.See more of my reviews at www.openbookpost.com
    more
  • Natalie
    March 30, 2017
    I received an ARC courtesy of NetGalley.I am a fan of the Fool's Gold series. This book features three women and their secrets as they try to find happiness with work, family, and romance.
  • Kiersten
    April 5, 2017
    Won an ARC of this and promised to give feedback:I don't normally ready a Susan Mallery book unless it's part of an anthology of short stories with another author (though I do enjoy the ones I have read). Secrets of the Tulip Sisters takes us to Northern Washington, to the heart of Tulip country, and we see how three women work through their mental blocks to grow and thrive. Kelly, Olivia, and Helen all have different secrets, but their secrets all intertwine in a way that leads to a decent stor Won an ARC of this and promised to give feedback:I don't normally ready a Susan Mallery book unless it's part of an anthology of short stories with another author (though I do enjoy the ones I have read). Secrets of the Tulip Sisters takes us to Northern Washington, to the heart of Tulip country, and we see how three women work through their mental blocks to grow and thrive. Kelly, Olivia, and Helen all have different secrets, but their secrets all intertwine in a way that leads to a decent story for reading on the beach (or while nursing sick kids, in my case). We see how each woman discovers each other's secrets, and how they learn to rebuild friendships and sisterhood. I would give it a 3.5 out of 5, only because I felt like Kelly and Olivia's parts of the story were too poorly handled. Helen's though, was excellent.
    more
  • Fran Soto
    June 20, 2017
    I received an advance copy of this book in a Goodreads giveaway.This is my first book by Susan Mallery and I'm wondering what took me so long to discover her writing. This is a story involves complicated family relationships, friendship, romance, forgiveness and second chances. I found the characters likeable and real. Easy to read writing style. I was drawn into the story from the beginning through the end. Very enjoyable book!
    more
  • Debbie
    June 27, 2017
    I am a huge fan of Susan Mallery but I did not care for this book. Without going into details too many ick factors.
  • DJ Sakata
    July 22, 2017
    Favorite Quotes:Every year Delja visited her daughter for three weeks. The entire town wept as the supply of cinnamon rolls dried up. Tempers grew short and people counted the days until Delja’s return.She was currently subscribing to the when-then philosophy— distant cousin to the if-then concept. When she lost weight, then she would be brave and throw herself at Jeff.I don’t want to hate her because that means I’m devoting too much energy to her. I want to not care. I need to find my Zen cente Favorite Quotes:Every year Delja visited her daughter for three weeks. The entire town wept as the supply of cinnamon rolls dried up. Tempers grew short and people counted the days until Delja’s return.She was currently subscribing to the when-then philosophy— distant cousin to the if-then concept. When she lost weight, then she would be brave and throw herself at Jeff.I don’t want to hate her because that means I’m devoting too much energy to her. I want to not care. I need to find my Zen center.I’d invite you over, but my mother is there and I like you too much to subject you to that.I know you could do better, but I hope you won’t try.My Review:I adore Susan Mallery’s work; I don’t think she could write a bad story even on a dare. I haven’t read all of her books but of the ones I have, I’ve noticed her characters tend to be complicated, complex, endearingly flawed, and much like real life people they are also frustrating at times yet they are always compelling and highly relatable. Secrets of the Tulip Sisters was an engrossing women’s fiction novel boasting an entertaining, well-balanced, and well-paced storyline with lots of family drama, several romances, clever humor, small town issues, and challenges to bonded friendships. The writing was colorfully amusing with clever banter and witty quips between characters, scalding hot sensual scenes, insightful observations, and a vile and conniving villain for everyone to despise.
    more
  • Michele
    July 2, 2017
    See full review at HarlequinJunkie.comTalk about a family with some issues. Secrets of the Tulip Sisters was a tangled web of decade old hurt feelings, lies of omission, and strained relationships. But true to Susan Mallery’s other work, the heartfelt emotions and awkward, real life–oftentimes funny–moments smoothed the way, making this a joy to read.You know you’re going to get a solid story when you pick up a book by Susan Mallery. That’s a given. But what surprised me with Secrets of the Tuli See full review at HarlequinJunkie.comTalk about a family with some issues. Secrets of the Tulip Sisters was a tangled web of decade old hurt feelings, lies of omission, and strained relationships. But true to Susan Mallery’s other work, the heartfelt emotions and awkward, real life–oftentimes funny–moments smoothed the way, making this a joy to read.You know you’re going to get a solid story when you pick up a book by Susan Mallery. That’s a given. But what surprised me with Secrets of the Tulip Sisters was that there were actually three romances woven in along with all the family and small town drama. And for me it worked. I have a feeling that some readers might find it all a bit too tangled together but there was an honesty in each character’s reactions and decisions that made it okay for me. Read More
    more
  • Chantal Ostiguy
    April 1, 2017
    This was another great story from one of my favorite author. I was given an ARC from Netgalley and this is my review. Without giving the plot of the story, I enjoyed this book very much. The story gets to you with laughter and sometimes tears. The book reads itself and time flies when you read it! Loved this book and can't wait to read more from Susan Mallery!
    more
  • Marlene
    July 14, 2017
    Originally published at Reading RealityI want to say that the Murphy family puts the fun back in dysfunctional – but too many of the relationships within this family are all dysfunction and damn little fun. Of course, those dysfunctions add to the drama of the story – and there is plenty of fun outside these very messy family dynamics.This is a story about three women, Kelly Murphy, her sister Olivia, and her best friend Helen, in their little small town of Tulpen Crossing, Washington. Tulpen Cr Originally published at Reading RealityI want to say that the Murphy family puts the fun back in dysfunctional – but too many of the relationships within this family are all dysfunction and damn little fun. Of course, those dysfunctions add to the drama of the story – and there is plenty of fun outside these very messy family dynamics.This is a story about three women, Kelly Murphy, her sister Olivia, and her best friend Helen, in their little small town of Tulpen Crossing, Washington. Tulpen Crossing is a lot closer to Spokane than Seattle, on the eastern side of the Cascades – a location that matters a lot in Washington state. Tulpen Crossing, and nearly everything in town, is named for it’s annual tulip crop, the economic engine of the entire town.The Murphy family have been growing tulips in Tulpen for generations. Kelly Murphy and her dad Jeff are continuing the family tradition. They also still share the Murphy family house, in spite of Kelly being well-past the age where most young adults fly out of the family nest – Kelly is 28. And seems to not think that love and marriage are for her. She watched her parents’ marriage implode, explode and every other ‘plode when she was in her early teens, and wants to stay as far away from that kind of mess as possible.Until it comes looking for her.Griffin Burnett is the prodigal son – he returned to Tulpen Crossing to set up his very successful Tiny House business. He’s had his eye on Kelly for a long time. He likes her no-nonsense no-games attitude, and he thinks her no-fuss, no muss style is beautiful, as is she. But he’s not interested in love and marriage either, just a long-term relationship of friendship, respect and, of course, benefits.Kelly, whose self-esteem issues know very few bounds, thinks he’s nuts. But she’s willing to try.And that’s where all the dysfunction in the Murphy family comes home to roost – and to stir up trouble. First Olivia comes back, after over a decade of absence. She got sent to boarding school when she was 15, not long after their mother abandoned the family – after seducing every single post-pubescent male for about 100 miles around Tulpen Crossing – and being far from discreet about it.Just as Olivia and Kelly begin to rebuild their very strained sibling relationship, Marilee returns to Tulpen Crossing in Olivia’s wake, not because she’s missed either of her daughters, but because she wants to stir up as much trouble as possible.She nearly succeeds beyond even her wildest expectations.Escape Rating B+: As much as I hate the label, Secrets of the Tulip Sisters falls squarely into that category so awfully named “women’s fiction”. While there are not just one but three romances in this story, it’s really about the relationships between Kelly, Olivia and Helen, how they support each other and sometimes how they sabotage each other, and their relationships with the town and the way that all of them step forward, sometimes hesitantly and sometimes boldly, into their own futures.One of the themes of the story is about the keeping of secrets. Olivia arrives in Tulpen Crossing with a huge secret. Every time she and Kelly begin to get their relationship back on track, a piece of that secret gets let out of its bag and derails their relationship. That the derailment is intended makes it all that much more heartbreaking.Kelly also has plenty of secrets. A whole lot of it is self-blame – she has persisted in the belief that it is all her fault that her mother left, and even more damning, all her fault that Olivia was sent to boarding school. She was 15 when she and her mother had the supposedly fateful argument, and 18 when she convinced her father to send Olivia to boarding school. As much as she needs to tell Olivia about her part in some of the worst parts of Olivia’s life – Kelly was not the adult in either situation. Her mother was always going to leave – and it was her father’s choice to send Olivia to boarding school. It helps a lot that, in retrospect, Olivia realizes that Kelly was probably right, no matter how selfish her motivations seemed at the time.And then there’s Helen. She too, has a secret that impacts the Murphy family. Helen, who is a few years older than her best friend Kelly, owns the local diner. And she’s been in love with Kelly’s dad for years. Jeff Murphy is clueless about Helen’s feelings, but well aware of his own – and can’t imagine that Helen, 16 years his junior, could possibly be interested in him.Of course he’s wrong. He’s wrong about a whole lot of things, as we discover when Marilee breezes back into Tulpen Crossing to screw with everyone’s heads and screw up everyone’s life. She’s irredeemable. But everyone else, learning to cope with the crises she leaves in her wake, finally rise to the challenge to find their happy and boot her out of their lives, and especially out of the headspace she’s taken from all of them over the years.At the end, everybody stands taller and stronger. And it’s wonderful.
    more
  • Mary
    July 14, 2017
    Kelly lives a routine life as a tulip farmer. Her life exploded when her spectacularly, embarassingly promiscuous mother walked out when she was a teen. Then her sister and essential ally, Olivia, was sent away to school. That was pretty much the last Kelly saw of either of them and she has lived with her father ever since. She is totally unprepared for the return to town of the gorgeous Griffith Burnett who makes it clear that he wants a relationship with her - with strings. Then, without notic Kelly lives a routine life as a tulip farmer. Her life exploded when her spectacularly, embarassingly promiscuous mother walked out when she was a teen. Then her sister and essential ally, Olivia, was sent away to school. That was pretty much the last Kelly saw of either of them and she has lived with her father ever since. She is totally unprepared for the return to town of the gorgeous Griffith Burnett who makes it clear that he wants a relationship with her - with strings. Then, without notice, Olivia moves home and Kelly's head nearly explodes trying to manage her mixed feelings. In all the drama, she completely misses that her best friend, Helen, on whom she is relying for support to get her through all this, also has something going on.I enjoyed this book except for the parents who were practically caricatures. Actually, I could have coped with the evil mother if it wasn't that the saintly father was just so silly. There was no adequate explanation of his choices. I still enjoyed the book which revolves around the three women, their secrets and their choices.
    more
  • Janga
    April 24, 2017
    4.5 StarsAnother winner from Susan Mallery. Review will be posted closer to publication date.
  • Trish
    July 27, 2017
    Secrets of the Tulip Sisters takes place in a little town called Tulpen Crossing, Washington. In this book you will meet tulip farmer Kelly Murphy and her prodigal sister Olivia. As the sisters sort out their differences and secrets kept and shared, they also are looking for love, connection, and happiness. Let me admit this first -- this book has both tulips and tiny houses, which predisposed me to love it. Tulips are my favorite flowers and I thought that reading about a tulip farm would be fa Secrets of the Tulip Sisters takes place in a little town called Tulpen Crossing, Washington. In this book you will meet tulip farmer Kelly Murphy and her prodigal sister Olivia. As the sisters sort out their differences and secrets kept and shared, they also are looking for love, connection, and happiness. Let me admit this first -- this book has both tulips and tiny houses, which predisposed me to love it. Tulips are my favorite flowers and I thought that reading about a tulip farm would be fascinating. It was! I loved the details about tulips and the day-to-day farming life recounted in this novel.It was a fun surprise to learn that Kelly's crush Griffin worked as a tiny house designer. Tiny houses are one of my obsessions! I really loved reading about the tiny houses Griffin designed and the way they were constructed and displayed at his business.This is just a perfect summer read. I really liked all the characters, loved the unique setting, and enjoyed the fresh, lively writing. The book begins:"Kelly Murphy was willing to accept certain injustices in the world. That brownies had more calories than celery. That wearing white pants meant getting her period - regardless of where she was in her cycle. That her car would be low on gas only on days when she was running late. What she did not appreciate or accept was the total unfairness of Griffith Burnett not only returning to Tulpen Crossing, Washington nearly a year ago, but apparently waking up last month and deciding that stalking her was how he was going to spend his day" (p. 7). How could you resist an opening like that? The book only gets better as you meet the characters and learn about their lives. This is my first Susan Mallery read, but it will not be my last. I recommend Secrets of the Tulip Sisters as a perfect book to pack for your vacation or enjoy at home on a lazy weekend.
    more
  • Lynn Brooks
    July 12, 2017
    A heartwarming story about love, loss, and picking up the pieces afterwards. Susan Mallery brings family dynamics to the forefront in her latest release. We meet two sisters who have been estranged for years and are all of a sudden thrust together again ... and have to learn how to co-exist without pulling each other's hair out! The characters are well developed, there's love, loss, humor and sex all rolled up into an entertaining read. It didn't take my breath away, but it was a really fun read A heartwarming story about love, loss, and picking up the pieces afterwards. Susan Mallery brings family dynamics to the forefront in her latest release. We meet two sisters who have been estranged for years and are all of a sudden thrust together again ... and have to learn how to co-exist without pulling each other's hair out! The characters are well developed, there's love, loss, humor and sex all rolled up into an entertaining read. It didn't take my breath away, but it was a really fun read.Kelly Murphy's life in small town Tulpen Crossing, Washington was just getting interesting when she's blindsided by her estranged sister returning to town! Sexy Griffith Burnett had recently returned to town and was making his interest in her more than obvious, but how can she concentrate on starting something up with him when her life all of a sudden feels like Public Enemy Number One has invaded?Olivia Murphy sashays back into town looking for trouble and planning to wrangle in the man that got away, but when she gets met with disappointment as soon as she arrives, she decides to sit back and see what other damage she can do. She's not expecting the friendliness and hospitality that is showered on her in town. She never felt like she belonged here in the past ... but could she have been jinxing herself with her attitude?Secrets are the norm around this town, and as they come out little by little, lives will be unraveled and they'll be left picking up the pieces of the after math!
    more
  • Cheryl
    July 7, 2017
    I have seen this book advertised all over the internet. Every time that I saw this book I wanted to read it that much more. Well, I am happy to report that this book is every bit as good as I had hoped for. Secrets of the Tulip Sisters is a wondrous read that is filled with engaging characters that confirms you are reading a Susan Mallery book. Sisters, Kelly and Olivia could not be that more different than oil and water. Yet, I loved them both. Kelly because of her practical side and Olivia for I have seen this book advertised all over the internet. Every time that I saw this book I wanted to read it that much more. Well, I am happy to report that this book is every bit as good as I had hoped for. Secrets of the Tulip Sisters is a wondrous read that is filled with engaging characters that confirms you are reading a Susan Mallery book. Sisters, Kelly and Olivia could not be that more different than oil and water. Yet, I loved them both. Kelly because of her practical side and Olivia for her fearless nature. However, as I got to know them both better, I realized that they weren't that different after all. They shared similar qualities but they just did not realize it until they brought the best out in each other. After reading this book, I have gained a bigger appreciation for botanist. There is a great science in growing plants that I never even thought about. For example, in this book, Kelly would chill the bulbs first and then plant them to bloom. She knew how long it would take from start to finish and when she needed to plant them for her distributors. Before I finish, I did want to add that the men in this book were great. There was Griffith, Sven, and Kelly and Olivia's father, Jeff. He even finds some romance of his own.
    more
  • Jennifer
    July 3, 2017
    Secrets of the Tulip Sisters is my first Susan Mallery novel, and I really enjoyed it! This story weaves together themes of love, family, friendship, hurt feelings, divorce, trust, and the ties that bind us all together.I enjoyed the playful and fun writing, the love story (stories!), and I was quickly engaged in this book. I especially loved Griffith, how direct he was, and how much he secretly loved Kelly even though he kept saying he didn't "do love" anymore.This is a romance novel in many wa Secrets of the Tulip Sisters is my first Susan Mallery novel, and I really enjoyed it! This story weaves together themes of love, family, friendship, hurt feelings, divorce, trust, and the ties that bind us all together.I enjoyed the playful and fun writing, the love story (stories!), and I was quickly engaged in this book. I especially loved Griffith, how direct he was, and how much he secretly loved Kelly even though he kept saying he didn't "do love" anymore.This is a romance novel in many ways, and also it is quite a bit more. The relationship between Kelly and Olivia was central and so important for them both to work through before they could finally create their own true paths in life. I particularly appreciated how the author didn't make Olivia a typical mean girl. I feel like Mallery quite easily could have chosen that path for that character, but instead we learn Olivia is broken because of decisions made for her at a young age, and she is sincerely trying to figure things out, so she can mend her relationships for the better. She's desperate for a place to belong, and you can't help but cheer her on.Lately in my reading life, I've been focused on choosing novels I can really trust to leave me with a happy ending. I don't mind bumpy rides or being torn apart through my novels, but I just want to make sure I'm put back together again at the end, and Secrets of the Tulip Sisters fit perfectly.
    more
  • Barb
    July 15, 2017
    Kelly Murphy's life as a tulip farmer is pretty routine—up at dawn, off to work, lather, rinse, repeat. But everything changes one sun-washed summer with two dramatic homecomings: Griffith Burnett—Tulpen Crossing's prodigal son, who's set his sights on Kelly—and Olivia, her beautiful, wayward and, as far as Kelly is concerned, unwelcome sister. Tempted by Griffith, annoyed by Olivia, Kelly is overwhelmed by the secrets that were so easy to keep when she was alone.But Olivia's return isn't as tri Kelly Murphy's life as a tulip farmer is pretty routine—up at dawn, off to work, lather, rinse, repeat. But everything changes one sun-washed summer with two dramatic homecomings: Griffith Burnett—Tulpen Crossing's prodigal son, who's set his sights on Kelly—and Olivia, her beautiful, wayward and, as far as Kelly is concerned, unwelcome sister. Tempted by Griffith, annoyed by Olivia, Kelly is overwhelmed by the secrets that were so easy to keep when she was alone.But Olivia's return isn't as triumphant as she pretends. Her job has no future and, ever since her dad sent her away from the bad boy she loved, she has felt cut off from her past. She's determined to reclaim her man and her place in the family...whether her sister likes it or not. For ten years, she and Kelly have been strangers. Olivia will get by without her approval now.While Kelly and Olivia butt heads, their secrets tumble out in a big, hot mess, revealing some truths that will change everything they thought they knew. Can they forgive each other—and themselves—and redefine what it means to be sisters?Told with Mallery's trademark heart and humor, the Tulip Sisters are in for the most colorful summer of their lives. Loved this book. 5 stars
    more
  • Bea
    July 23, 2017
    "Secrets of the Tulip Sisters" was my first Susan Mallery but it won't be my last. SofTS was a soap opera about two sisters, Kelley and Olivia, and Kelly's friend Helen. It was full of family drama, lots and lots of family drama, some of which pushed the boundaries of believable. The Van Gilders were a complicated family, who were seriously lacking in communication skills. I worried, when Olivia was introduced, that she was going to be a cliched bad girl but Mallery didn't go that route. Olivia, "Secrets of the Tulip Sisters" was my first Susan Mallery but it won't be my last. SofTS was a soap opera about two sisters, Kelley and Olivia, and Kelly's friend Helen. It was full of family drama, lots and lots of family drama, some of which pushed the boundaries of believable. The Van Gilders were a complicated family, who were seriously lacking in communication skills. I worried, when Olivia was introduced, that she was going to be a cliched bad girl but Mallery didn't go that route. Olivia, like everyone else, was flawed, but she was basically a good person. That's true of all the characters. Even in the midst of all the soap opera moments, and there were many, I cared about Kelly, Olivia, and Helen. I hoped things would work out and they could forgive each other. It seemed at times as if everyone in the book had a secret, big or small, and we see the damage that keeping secrets can cause and both the damage and healing that revealing secrets can bring. "Secrets of the Tulip Sisters" was full of surprises, happy moments, and characters whom you cared about and cheered for. Tulpen Crossing was a pleasant, if unrealistic, small town, and I enjoyed spending time there.I received a copy from the author for an honest review.
    more
  • marieno
    July 15, 2017
    Sacrets of the Tulip Sisters (If you want secret, you'll be happy, there are a lot of secrets!)What I like the most about the book:- The character of Olivia. Once again, you get a character that suffered but she's always to one who rise above it and most of the apology she got were cheap. People always made assumptions on her and when she said her confidence is mostly faked, people didn't seemed to believe her. They didn't see her loneliness and the hurt she carries. (I'm defending her character Sacrets of the Tulip Sisters (If you want secret, you'll be happy, there are a lot of secrets!)What I like the most about the book:- The character of Olivia. Once again, you get a character that suffered but she's always to one who rise above it and most of the apology she got were cheap. People always made assumptions on her and when she said her confidence is mostly faked, people didn't seemed to believe her. They didn't see her loneliness and the hurt she carries. (I'm defending her character because she didn't do it enough in the book. I admire her resilience and the fact that she was really strong.) I liked that she «reclaimed» her town and I liked her makeover of her sister and friend and the town)- The sex scene were «close door » It made the rhythm of the book faster and it was different - Kelly and Griffith as a couple. At first, I wasn't sure but they surprised me- Helen and Jeff. I liked Helen's café and Helen and Jeff musical «soirée»What I hated the most:- Sven! I loathe him. Talk about shallow and douchebag. I have to say, I hated him BEFORE his harsh words at the end. He was not nice! I think I hated him as much as Marilee.
    more
  • Darcy
    May 19, 2017
    This book is what I've come to expect from this author, small towns filled with quirky citizens, a few women that have issues with family, friends and romance. Kelly was a bit of a hot mess. She didn't seem to have any confidence, so it was great when Olivia helped her find it, something that helped build their relationship. Olivia had her own securities, ones that after talking with Kelly seemed to go away. Helen had things she really needed to talk to her BFF about, but it wasn't anything that This book is what I've come to expect from this author, small towns filled with quirky citizens, a few women that have issues with family, friends and romance. Kelly was a bit of a hot mess. She didn't seem to have any confidence, so it was great when Olivia helped her find it, something that helped build their relationship. Olivia had her own securities, ones that after talking with Kelly seemed to go away. Helen had things she really needed to talk to her BFF about, but it wasn't anything that she could talk about with Kelly. All of these woman seemed to have secrets, ones that when they came out caused hurt feelings. It was only after they talked things through that all the relationships were on track, causing them all to be closer.The ending made me smile, loved the new families that had been created.
    more
  • Peggy Jaeger
    June 20, 2017
    Sisters Kelly and Olivia Murphy are as different and estranged as two sisters can be, especially since they haven’t seen one another in years. When their promiscuous mother left town 13 years ago, leaving them with a stunned father, both girls grew into very different women.Years later, they come back together and journey towards forgiveness and family is beautifully told by Susan Mallery in The Tulip Sisters.Each character in the book – and there are many – is intricately woven and complex. The Sisters Kelly and Olivia Murphy are as different and estranged as two sisters can be, especially since they haven’t seen one another in years. When their promiscuous mother left town 13 years ago, leaving them with a stunned father, both girls grew into very different women.Years later, they come back together and journey towards forgiveness and family is beautifully told by Susan Mallery in The Tulip Sisters.Each character in the book – and there are many – is intricately woven and complex. The underlying theme of secrets, betrayals, and abandonment form a multifaceted storyline about a little town know for it’s tulip population. Mallery never disappoints. 5 stars from me. I was given an ARC of this book via Netgalley for an honest opinion
    more
  • Dottie Legatos
    June 21, 2017
    The Secrets of the Tulip Sisters is another winner from Susan Mallery. She seems to always know just how to write a great book, filled with love, laughter, family dynamics and small town friendships. Kelly and Olivia are sisters who’ve been estranged due to the breakup of their parent’s marriage. Now grown and trying to be on her own, Olivia returns to her father’s tulip farm in Washington where her sister works. Hurt feelings, secrets, lies, friendships and romances are explored and handled wit The Secrets of the Tulip Sisters is another winner from Susan Mallery. She seems to always know just how to write a great book, filled with love, laughter, family dynamics and small town friendships. Kelly and Olivia are sisters who’ve been estranged due to the breakup of their parent’s marriage. Now grown and trying to be on her own, Olivia returns to her father’s tulip farm in Washington where her sister works. Hurt feelings, secrets, lies, friendships and romances are explored and handled with TLC. I fell in love with this town and the characters from the start. I’m hoping Ms. Mallery re-visits New Holland, Washington real soon. Thanks to Netgalley for this ARC in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Mandy
    May 18, 2017
    I received an ARC copy for my review.Kelly is 29 and still lives with her father, helping him run the family tulip business. When her estranged sister Olivia returns home for the summer, Kelly and Olivia learn how to renew family bonds with each other and their father, and together they deal with their mother’s difficult personality. Add in the romantic interests of the two sisters and their father Jeff, plus Olivia and Kelly overcoming their insecurities, and this was an enjoyable romantic read I received an ARC copy for my review.Kelly is 29 and still lives with her father, helping him run the family tulip business. When her estranged sister Olivia returns home for the summer, Kelly and Olivia learn how to renew family bonds with each other and their father, and together they deal with their mother’s difficult personality. Add in the romantic interests of the two sisters and their father Jeff, plus Olivia and Kelly overcoming their insecurities, and this was an enjoyable romantic read. The characters were well developed.
    more
  • Isha Coleman
    July 11, 2017
    Susan Mallery is one of a handful of authors that can get a reader to laugh while wiping away heartfelt tears. Secrets of the Tulip Sisters is about what it means to be a family. It's not always pretty or easy but that's what makes it all worthwhile. Through the eyes of Kelly and Olivia, Ms. Mallery teaches the benefits of redemption and forgiveness. The Murphy sisters learn about love, pride and the power of healing in this soulful tale that warms the heart.
    more
  • Madison Warner Fairbanks
    July 17, 2017
    Secrets of the Tulip Sisters by Susan MalleryPowerful character development and depth. Amazing friends and family.I was especially impressed by Olivia. She got kicked around over and over, yet she's the one that manages everything. I love Susan Mallery's writing. Utterly engaging and emotionally fulfilling. I received a copy of this book at BEA but had already purchased a copy as well.
    more
  • Sandi
    July 22, 2017
    This book captured me right from the start with three intertwined stories about family reconnecting, dealing with the past, and moving forward in committed relationships. I found it hard to put down and would highly recommend this great summer read.
Write a review