The Other Side of Impossible
True stories about people who triumphed over seemingly impossible medical diagnoses using untraditional, inventive therapies and perseverance and about what scientists are discovering on the psychology of healing and the mind-body connection from the author of the New York Times Magazine article about her own son, The Boy with the Thorn in his Joints, which led to this book about other families.

The Other Side of Impossible Details

TitleThe Other Side of Impossible
Author
FormatHardcover
ReleaseMay 2nd, 2017
PublisherRandom House
ISBN081299647X
ISBN-139780812996470
Number of pages320 pages
Rating
GenreNonfiction, Science, Biography

The Other Side of Impossible Review

  • Rae Meadows
    March 24, 2017
    I might be slightly biased because the author is my sister, but this book is fantastic, truly compelling, about people (mainly parents) who exhaust traditional medicine and have to forge their own paths. It includes the story of my sister's son, diagnosed with rheumatoid arthritis when he was four, which appeared in the New York Times Magazine (http://www.nytimes.com/2013/02/03/mag...)My sister Susannah is an excellent journalist, a former senior writer at Newsweek, and this book is scrupulously I might be slightly biased because the author is my sister, but this book is fantastic, truly compelling, about people (mainly parents) who exhaust traditional medicine and have to forge their own paths. It includes the story of my sister's son, diagnosed with rheumatoid arthritis when he was four, which appeared in the New York Times Magazine (http://www.nytimes.com/2013/02/03/mag...)My sister Susannah is an excellent journalist, a former senior writer at Newsweek, and this book is scrupulously researched, full of science, and a book you'll have a hard time putting down for the stories of these determined people. It might even change your life. Read it!
    more
  • Darin Strauss
    March 25, 2017
    I don't know who this author is*, but her book is a tour de force. "The Other Side of Impossible" is packed tight with great stories, with real-life characters who fight (and often beat) impossible odds. If you are battling -- or if you know someone who is battling -- a cruel diagnosis, you need to get this book. And it's a great read. Not only are all the people herein brave and interesting**, Meadows writes with precision and music and lots of surprising jokes. You'll read this book with enjoy I don't know who this author is*, but her book is a tour de force. "The Other Side of Impossible" is packed tight with great stories, with real-life characters who fight (and often beat) impossible odds. If you are battling -- or if you know someone who is battling -- a cruel diagnosis, you need to get this book. And it's a great read. Not only are all the people herein brave and interesting**, Meadows writes with precision and music and lots of surprising jokes. You'll read this book with enjoyment, in a headlong rush.___________________________________*Ok, ok. She's my wife. But do we really *know* anyone?**Maybe not all the people herein; I myself make a frowning cameo.
    more
  • Jeff Giles
    March 24, 2017
    What an inspiring, empowering, beautifully written book about families who loved each other so much that they refused to believe there were no more options. Meadows is the best kind of reporter-- she can distill and clarify the most complicated medical thinking, but also bring human beings to life with great, vivid, often funny detail. Western medicine is in no way an enemy, but it is certainly not all there is. I applaud this book, and every one of the people in it.
    more
  • Doug Moe
    March 24, 2017
    Susannah's reporting in the NY Times Magazine on this was super interesting and I'm excited to read her book! In a time when people are struggling to make sense of the contradictions in new medical information and the re-thinking of old beliefs, it's good to have someone to illuminate these issues.
    more
  • Eleanor
    May 15, 2017
    How far would a desperate woman go to give herself and her child a chance at a normal life? In "The Other Side of Impossible," Susannah Meadows describes her son, Shepherd, who struggled with juvenile idiopathic arthritis. His joints swelled up, he was in excruciating pain, and the medications prescribed by his doctor did not rid him of all his symptoms. Along with her own son's history, the author tells true stories of children with debilitating food allergies; seizures; severe ADHD; and a phys How far would a desperate woman go to give herself and her child a chance at a normal life? In "The Other Side of Impossible," Susannah Meadows describes her son, Shepherd, who struggled with juvenile idiopathic arthritis. His joints swelled up, he was in excruciating pain, and the medications prescribed by his doctor did not rid him of all his symptoms. Along with her own son's history, the author tells true stories of children with debilitating food allergies; seizures; severe ADHD; and a physician with Multiple Sclerosis. In all of these cases, the individuals concerned sought advice, did research on the Internet and, with their physicians' permission, tried alternative healing. They came to believe that factors such as a leaky gut (intestinal permeability), an imbalance in the patient's microbiome, and certain foods (dairy and gluten in particular) may contribute to inflammation that increases the severity of autoimmune disorders.Meadows, a reporter who has written for Newsweek and the New York Times, does not make the extreme claim that the methods she discusses are effective for everyone or are FDA approved. On the contrary, visiting naturopaths and integrative medicine specialists is a bit scary. They may suggest supplements, herbal remedies (beware, since not all of these are safe), radical changes in diet, probiotics, acupuncture, and other non-standard treatments. Still, when the usual drugs do not work and a person's quality of life is steadily deteriorating, it is understandable that some individuals will go to great lengths to find answers.Meadows is a skilled technical writer and researcher who shares enlightening and provocative comments from her interviews with physicians, scientists, patients, and their families. In addition, she lucidly explains how each patient fared before and after they tried alternative healing. The author humanizes her subjects with details about their personalities and relationships, and shows how chronic illness can bind families or tear them apart. Susannah Meadows and others like her are pioneers who deserve our admiration for their courage, tenacity, and self-sacrifice. Since "anecdotal evidence does not demonstrate cause and effect," further studies are needed to determine whether extreme dietary restrictions, fecal transplants, and other unconventional therapies should be used more widely to help those with autoimmune disorders.
    more
  • Price
    May 30, 2017
    I feel quite inadequate in reviewing this book...I will way this: Read this book because you never know if you or a friend of yours will find it invaluable.There are several individuals presented in this book with various maladies. There is the individual experiencing medical challenges, family members, doctors, nurses, health centers, and integrative health specialist, and some specialists that, I believe, would fall outside any standard definition of a health care professional. They are outlie I feel quite inadequate in reviewing this book...I will way this: Read this book because you never know if you or a friend of yours will find it invaluable.There are several individuals presented in this book with various maladies. There is the individual experiencing medical challenges, family members, doctors, nurses, health centers, and integrative health specialist, and some specialists that, I believe, would fall outside any standard definition of a health care professional. They are outliers who for some inexplicable reasons may offer a pathway to healing and improved quality of life.Initially, the authors presents her own personal experiences with her child and the inability of multiple medical interventions to abate the spread of a a progressive serious disease. Following recommendations, hunches, last hope the author comes upon an individual who alleviates the pain and discomfort and is an integral player in recovery. That experience served as a springboard for exploring other individuals suffering from severe and life threatening conditions.Read the book for no other reason than to be introduced to Dr.s and clinics throughout the country. It is not necessary to accept her reserved conclusions but it may prove to be helpful to consider other factors relating to one's health.
    more
  • Ellen Abrams
    March 24, 2017
    I was able to snag an advanced reading copy of this exceptional book. And I'm so glad I did. Susannah Meadows is such a good journalist that she draws any reader into the fascinating stories of men, women, and children who have attempted to overcome seemingly insurmountable health obstacles. Rather than depressing, these essays are life-affirming. It includes her own family's battle with a debilitating illness and how allowing for an improbable solution made all the difference.
    more
  • Kira Smith
    March 24, 2017
    I love this book. Meadows follows the journeys of several women, many of whom, like her, would not take western medicine's "no" for an answer when it came to their children's health. As a journalist Meadows uncovers many unaccepted, and even rejected, truths about medicine and healing, and as a mother she lays bare why we have to fight for the truth. NOW is the time to read about women heroes and this book should not be missed!
    more
  • Dan Mcginn
    March 24, 2017
    I read an advance copy and loved this book. It's informative and inspirational and should be required reading for anyone with a loved one facing a serious illness. I can think of a half dozen people to whom I plan to give this as a gift.
  • Rhonda Lomazow
    May 8, 2017
    A fantastic informative book.Reading about people with medical challenges who share their stories their road through research medical help diets experimenting with different drugs to find hope healing,
  • Evyn
    March 24, 2017
    I've read Susannah Meadows' moving and thoughtful work in the New York Times, and Newsweek, and I'm very much looking forward to reading this book. It sounds like there are inspirational stories within.
  • Ledra
    March 24, 2017
    Having read Susannah's article with great interest in the NY Times magazine ("The Boy with the Thorn in this Joints"), I am really looking forward to reading her recently published book.
  • Jorps
    March 24, 2017
    I loved the NYT article from the Sunday magazine a while back--what an amazing and enlightening story. I can't wait to read this book!
  • Plichtyme.Com
    March 25, 2017
    I loved reading this book! Each story is gripping and inspiring and beautifully written. I really feel like I got to know all these people, and I was rooting for all of them.
  • Liz
    March 24, 2017
    This book was amazing, and it has me thinking very suddenly and very seriously about the role of diet in my overall health. #microbiome4eva
  • Margaret
    March 27, 2017
    I was lucky enough to read an early copy of "The Other Side of Impossible," and I'm excited for it to soon find a well-deserved wide general audience. This book is completely original: it's thoroughly researched, highly readable, and relatable even if the reader hasn't struggled with the same medical issues as those profiled, because it's really about the struggle to leave our comfort zones in times of crisis. Meadows's credibility as a reporter and as a patient advocate lends a heft to a collec I was lucky enough to read an early copy of "The Other Side of Impossible," and I'm excited for it to soon find a well-deserved wide general audience. This book is completely original: it's thoroughly researched, highly readable, and relatable even if the reader hasn't struggled with the same medical issues as those profiled, because it's really about the struggle to leave our comfort zones in times of crisis. Meadows's credibility as a reporter and as a patient advocate lends a heft to a collection of stories that in other hands might have been merely anecdotal. It's an inspiring and substantial effort. I can't recommend this book highly enough!
    more
  • Andrea
    March 29, 2017
    Engaging, obsessively researched (in a good way) and inspiring for anyone who wants to go beyond the status quo in dealing with a challenging health condition. Makes for an interesting and a fast read.
  • Michael
    March 25, 2017
    Profiles of ordinary people going to extraordinary lengths to cure themselves and the ones they love. Meadows is a beautiful writer, and the stories she tells are fascinating and inspiring.
Write a review