Silver Silence (Psy-Changeling Trinity, #1; Psy-Changeling, #16)
New York Times bestselling author Nalini Singh introduces a bold new chapter in her extraordinary paranormal romance saga with the Psy-Changeling Trinity series. Wild passion will encounter the darkest of betrayal...Control. Precision. Family. These are the principles that drive Silver Mercant. At a time when the fledgling Trinity Accord seeks to unite a divided world, with Silver playing a crucial role as director of a worldwide emergency response network, wildness and chaos are the last things she needs in her life. But that’s exactly what Valentin Nikolaev, alpha of the StoneWater Bears, brings with him.Valentin has never met a more fascinating woman. Though Silver is ruled by Silence—her mind clear of all emotion—Valentin senses a whisper of fire around her. That’s what keeps him climbing apartment buildings to be near her. But when a shadow assassin almost succeeds in poisoning Silver, the stakes become deadly serious…and Silver finds herself in the heart of a powerful bear clan.Her would-be assassin has no idea what their poison has unleashed...

Silver Silence (Psy-Changeling Trinity, #1; Psy-Changeling, #16) Details

TitleSilver Silence (Psy-Changeling Trinity, #1; Psy-Changeling, #16)
Author
FormatKindle Edition
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJun 13th, 2017
PublisherGollancz
Number of pages467 pages
Rating
GenreRomance, Paranormal Romance, Fantasy, Paranormal, Urban Fantasy, Shapeshifters, Adult, Science Fiction, Futuristic

Silver Silence (Psy-Changeling Trinity, #1; Psy-Changeling, #16) Review

  • Val ⚓️ ShamelessBitchySkanky ⚓️ Steamy Reads
    March 20, 2017
    ***Full Review Now Posted***4 Story Stars + 1 Hot Alpha StarI've said it once...I've said it twice...I will undoubtedly say it a million times...Nalini Singh is a QUEEN of paranormal/urban fantasy romance.If you consider yourself a paranormal romance fan and you HAVEN'T checked out this series yet, you are just straight screwing yourself, people. As I've also said before, Ms. Singh is in that top echelon of authors for me."Top Echelon" as in we are talking about the they-could-defecate-on-paper- ***Full Review Now Posted***4 Story Stars + 1 Hot Alpha StarI've said it once...I've said it twice...I will undoubtedly say it a million times...Nalini Singh is a QUEEN of paranormal/urban fantasy romance.If you consider yourself a paranormal romance fan and you HAVEN'T checked out this series yet, you are just straight screwing yourself, people. As I've also said before, Ms. Singh is in that top echelon of authors for me."Top Echelon" as in we are talking about the they-could-defecate-on-paper-and-I'd-want-to-read-it level of stalk here. It's just that simple, folks. This book marks the beginning of what Ms. Singh herself has called the second arc of the Psy-Changeling - now dubbed Psy-Changeling Trinity from here on out- series and she starts it off with something we have not seen before:A BEAR Changeling. And not JUST any bear Changeling.An ALPHA bear Changeling. A 6 foot, mega hot inch Russian alpha bear Changeling. Now, if you follow my reviews on this series, you know that I am blatantly biased and completely and utterly predisposed toward changelings. (For more in depth discussion on this topic, see HERE and HERE.) My favorite books in this series (with the exception of that second "HERE" above) always involve a Changeling. ALWAYS.And Valentin does NOT disappoint my friends. What a hot bearful of just plain #SCRUMPTIOUS. Seriously though, Valentin is now definitely an honorable mention in the Val's Psy-Changeling Husband Awards. Hawke and Kaleb are still tied for numero uno, with Lucas picking up first loser, and Clay bringing home the bronze...Leaving Valentin in a strong fourth place finish position. So - when you consider whom he's up against...That's, like, totally almost like winning. Silver was a cool glass of heroine and I really liked her. For whatever reason, I always seem to like the ice queens. Not sure why...They are always just very layered, in my opinion - when done right, of course - which Nalini does... right, that is. I really liked how this book started off - it jumped right in.There is a lot of forward movement with the overarching Trinity Accord/EmNet story line - which did make the story drag a bit in certain places, but I was fine with that. All in all, another winner by Ms. Singh and a great addition to the series that I already can't wait to re-read. And with that...I'm off to set up for this huge party my husband decided we needed to have. Cause, you know, my cooking and hostess skills are a personal strength. NOT. XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXThe moment you get THAT email saying you got approved for a Nalini Singh book. I know what I'll be reading on the plane tomorrow now for sure!XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXWho wants this so badly they might actually perish?
    more
  • Camila, the opinionated Catruler
    September 7, 2016
    Psy-Changeling Trinity?Questions: Who is Silver's love interest? Is it Bowen, or would that be too obvious? Someone else from the Human Alliance? Will we see more of Kit, possibly starting his own Pack and recruiting hot changelings?More important questions: Have Anthony and Nikita done the deed yet? When will Hawke and Sienna be "baking cookies"? Who else has been on the receiving end of Stefan's manual? Why is Ming still alive?The most important question of them all: Will we see shirtless Kale Psy-Changeling Trinity?Questions: Who is Silver's love interest? Is it Bowen, or would that be too obvious? Someone else from the Human Alliance? Will we see more of Kit, possibly starting his own Pack and recruiting hot changelings?More important questions: Have Anthony and Nikita done the deed yet? When will Hawke and Sienna be "baking cookies"? Who else has been on the receiving end of Stefan's manual? Why is Ming still alive?The most important question of them all: Will we see shirtless Kaleb, or just regular Kaleb?
    more
  • Lila
    September 7, 2016
    4,5 starsNo, but guys, this book is adorable.Bears are now my favorite changelings in this world.They are fun, like that friend you call when you want to have a good time out (but also possibly end up in jail).They are like giant, scary-looking lugs with claws who just want to cuddle and feed you sweets.They have ridiculous feud with wolves (I mean, they like to go out and run in the winter, instead of sleep in warm and relax? Who normal does that?!)And most importantly, there is no alpha postur 4,5 starsNo, but guys, this book is adorable.Bears are now my favorite changelings in this world.They are fun, like that friend you call when you want to have a good time out (but also possibly end up in jail).They are like giant, scary-looking lugs with claws who just want to cuddle and feed you sweets.They have ridiculous feud with wolves (I mean, they like to go out and run in the winter, instead of sleep in warm and relax? Who normal does that?!)And most importantly, there is no alpha posturing or male brooding in the woods, because bears are chill. I'll put the rest of review under spoiler until book is released, because it's a bit spoiler-ish on some parts of book and characters without giving the story away. :)(view spoiler)[Set in Moscow, directly after main players of previous arc established Trinity Accords, the story follows the courting of Silver Mercant, Kaleb Krychek's most capable assistant by StoneWater alpha, Valentin Nikolaev.It's not by accident I put the focus on romance part- Valentin made this book for me. I was always adamant in my preference for Nalini's world-building, especially in last couple of books, but for some reason, romance just worked for me here. Basically, Valentin is head over hills for Silver right from the start (we are informed he is trying to woo her for 10 months already), when there is sudden attempt on her life. In agreement with Ena Mercant, Silver ends up being his guest in Denhome, where he can protect her until they find out who's behind it. Hence, bear pack has a lot of page time and we are getting a lot of those, every-day cute pack moments that were really charming to read because bears (see above). Let me tell you more about our hero. Valentin is fun, playful and generally high spirited fellow (he has responsibilities, challenges and problems, but he's not overwhelming with it and it's not of source of some man pain that stops him from being happy or smthng like that). Where traditional alpha hero is impressed with heroine who doesn't back off and go toe-to-toe with him, Valentine would gladly sprawl all over ground, madly grinning, and let her walk over him because he likes how strong she is. It's not that he can't, it's not that he doesn't have backbone- it's just his mo; he is manipulative like that. :)He also has PhD in psychiatry, which I thought was kind of odd at first, but when you find out more about his background, it becomes clear why he chose that field. There were small touches in building new characters that were really neat and maybe it's the fact they are new changeling species... but everything about them reads fresh, funny and exciting, like NS wanted to tell us about these awesome bears for a long time. :)Silver is a perfect Mercant which is NOT equal to the perfect Psy as we know them- they have their own set of rules. But, Silver being who she is, is also why I liked the dynamic between her and Valentin. She doesn't have to change or adjust herself to him and his Pack, she just needs to let them in her life and stay who she is. I think that's especially obvious when it comes to Silence. She doesn't break her Silence because of him like we're used to reading- she considered it already following the knowledge of what it did to her people and her own shields, Valentine just gave her means and reason to do something about it sooner. Now, if romance did work, my issues are mostly tied to the new arc, or specifically, where it is supposed to go.In first arc (books #1-#12) main characters had a purpose and story had a direction (fall of Silence). We were aware of who is the enemy (The Council) and we knew that our heroes who were of all three races (psy, changelings and humans) have to work together to accomplish their goal. Mini-arc (books #13-#15), tied some loose ends and gave a world some gravity since that big of a change couldn't be enforced without problems and issues- even opposing parties had a point and right to be scared of new age until they knew more and saw consequences. But Silver Silence told me we are still hazy on those details when it comes to second arc. Here, the good guys are trying to maintain status quo, while bad guys throw obstacles at them, but without any clear target or reason why (from hating psy-changeling hybrid child, to hating Trinity because it includes humans to hating Psy for everything they did or just because they will thrive in chaos- there were just too many reasons for attacks on innocent people in books so far after Council was demolished and it's hard to keep track). Lack of coherence can also be attributed to the fact we don't have one, definite villain- we have these bad guys with sinister names (the Architect, The Patriot), but they are not rounded and they read the same and can only be distinguished by these different causes which again, are confusing and random or they even contradict at one point. Everything regarding attacks from these sinister groups in book was so-so, and I just powered through it to come to more interesting story which for me was definitely Bear pack.More observation:- possibly interesting in next books - there is still lingering fear among humans of Psy and their psychic powers and distrust that's deeply rooted. Considering they need them, I am curious to see how will NS resolve this in the future.- Gay bear was a cute touch. (◡‿◡✿)-I want more excerpts from Wild Woman magazine (hide spoiler)]Thank you to publisher and Nalini for kindly providing me an ARC for review.
    more
  • ♔ Jaela ♊ Killer ⚔ QUEEN
    September 18, 2016
    October 2016VALENTIN....September Oh wow, I always wanted to read Silver's story. She's Kaleb's assistant after all. Cold as stone.I hope her mate is a changeling. A cat maybe...? :)
  • Lacey (Booklovers For Life)
    October 11, 2016
    Love love LOVED THIS BOOK!!!! Bears are my new favorite shifters!! This was such a fantastic start to the new Psy-Changeling Trinity series. I loved Valentin and Silver's story – they made me swoon so, so hard. I can't wait to see what's next for this series!Full review to come!Thanks to the publisher for generously providing me an ARC to review.
    more
  • Arissa
    September 7, 2016
    ******* update - Oct 11, 2016*******(view spoiler)[The alpha of the StoneWater? A bear? HA! Of course, only a changeling would be arrogant enough to show up at someone's house 'at seven in the morning like he had every right to be there'."He’d told her to call him her medvezhonok, her teddy bear, that he wouldn’t mind."LOL I already like him. (hide spoiler)]******* update - Sep 07, 2016*******SILVER!! YEEESS! with who? Bowen? Pax?I'm so ready for this new arc! But I'll never be ready if you tell ******* update - Oct 11, 2016*******(view spoiler)[The alpha of the StoneWater? A bear? HA! Of course, only a changeling would be arrogant enough to show up at someone's house 'at seven in the morning like he had every right to be there'."He’d told her to call him her medvezhonok, her teddy bear, that he wouldn’t mind."LOL I already like him. (hide spoiler)]******* update - Sep 07, 2016*******SILVER!! YEEESS! with who? Bowen? Pax?I'm so ready for this new arc! But I'll never be ready if you tell me there will be no more Kaleb. That's just unacceptable.
    more
  • Beth
    April 21, 2017
    What can I say, I'm a sucker for a really good love story. Singh doesn't just give us one but two woo-ings and some really fantastic chemistry to swoon over. I absolutely loved Valentin and Silver story. Who wouldn't want to have someone love them with the persistence shown by the bear alpha...even if he was trying to think like a cat.You will never be disappointed by picking up a Nalini Singh novel. Silver Silence swept me away and right into the PSY/Changeling world.I received this ARC copy of What can I say, I'm a sucker for a really good love story. Singh doesn't just give us one but two woo-ings and some really fantastic chemistry to swoon over. I absolutely loved Valentin and Silver story. Who wouldn't want to have someone love them with the persistence shown by the bear alpha...even if he was trying to think like a cat.You will never be disappointed by picking up a Nalini Singh novel. Silver Silence swept me away and right into the PSY/Changeling world.I received this ARC copy of Silver Silence from Berkley Publishing Group. This is my honest and voluntary review. Silver Silence is set for publication July 13, 2017.For Reviews : http://tometender.blogspot.com
    more
  • Pavlina Read more sleep less blog❤❤
    April 1, 2017
    4 bear stars It was a long time since I read a book from Nalini Singh and omg I loved this one!!Everything was perfect, the storyline,the world she creates and the characters were lovable!!I like meeting these new characters!Valentin is so alpha male,bossy and charming!!!I like him from the beginning of the story.Silver and Valentin had a really good chemistry.Their romance can easily described as a slow burn.Overall Silver Silence was an interesting and captivating story!I'm excited for the nex 4 bear stars It was a long time since I read a book from Nalini Singh and omg I loved this one!!Everything was perfect, the storyline,the world she creates and the characters were lovable!!I like meeting these new characters!Valentin is so alpha male,bossy and charming!!!I like him from the beginning of the story.Silver and Valentin had a really good chemistry.Their romance can easily described as a slow burn.Overall Silver Silence was an interesting and captivating story!I'm excited for the next book!!!    
    more
  • Kate
    April 20, 2017
    I loved every hour, minute, second, millisecond, every letter, word, sentence and paragraph in this book. This says it all really. 10++++ Be sneaky like a cat Stars. Book 16 in the Psy/Changeling series and book 1 in the Trinity you’d think it couldn’t get any better? Well you are wrong. I really do not know how Ms. Singh does but she is a genius. If I had to name a favourite series in the paranormal romance genre then this would be one of them the other one? The Guild Hunter Series. If you h I loved every hour, minute, second, millisecond, every letter, word, sentence and paragraph in this book. This says it all really. 10++++ Be sneaky like a cat Stars. Book 16 in the Psy/Changeling series and book 1 in the Trinity you’d think it couldn’t get any better? Well you are wrong. I really do not know how Ms. Singh does but she is a genius. If I had to name a favourite series in the paranormal romance genre then this would be one of them the other one? The Guild Hunter Series. If you haven’t read the series then it is a must for 2017. I had high hopes for this book and I my anticipation for it was high and I can say that I wasn’t disappointed. Psy/Changeling are my favourite types of couples. Basically I love shifters. Valentin alpha of the StoneWater Bear Clan is persistent in courting his ice queen Silver Merchant. Ten months he has been courting her and it takes a poisoning to get Silver into clan territory. This is one of the best clans there is because Bears. Boisterous, love to party and well Bears. Especially the barnacle. Several bears- in bear form- stand up on their back paws to dance. At least two were holding beer bottles in their paws. One had tinsel wrapped around his neck and was, for some unknown reason, wearing sunglasses. Valentin is one of my favourite Heroes of this series. Silver fucking Merchant protégé to the Merchant house. Director to the EmNet. She is one of the very few that needs silence as a pure telepath she also has a gift that is a curse. She is pure ice, ruthless and a true equal. And yet I still thought that she is a fantastic heroine. Silver and Valentin together. Epic. True mates and bloody awesome. The Psy need the humans now more than ever. The plot is outstanding as per usual and although navigating new territory it doesn’t get boring. I was highly entertained the whole time throughout the book. I was trying really hard not to let those tears out and the hubby caught me. What I would love to see? BlackEdge (Wolves) & StoneWater (Bears) would be very cool Ms. Singh just saying. For the moment and the next one Review can also be found @http://jerisbookattic-reviewblog.blog...
    more
  • Suzanne (Under the Covers Book blog)
    March 24, 2017
    4.5 StarsLOVED IT! I didn't think I would but...bears!
  • Scholar
    September 7, 2016
    AFTER THE BLURB RELEASE:Valentin Nikolaev, alpha of the bear changeling pack is the hero of this book. Okay, sounds interesting.BEFORE RELEASE:Nalini Singh is starting a second chapter of her Psy-Changeling series with a book about the elusive, smart and beautiful Silver Mercant.We do not know yet who her significant other is going to be but she hinted that it is someone unexpected. Pax Marshall? Remi Denier? Angel? Adam Garret? Teijen? Malachai? Lt. Alexei? Lt. Matthias? Lt. Tomas? Bowen Knight AFTER THE BLURB RELEASE:Valentin Nikolaev, alpha of the bear changeling pack is the hero of this book. Okay, sounds interesting.BEFORE RELEASE:Nalini Singh is starting a second chapter of her Psy-Changeling series with a book about the elusive, smart and beautiful Silver Mercant.We do not know yet who her significant other is going to be but she hinted that it is someone unexpected. Pax Marshall? Remi Denier? Angel? Adam Garret? Teijen? Malachai? Lt. Alexei? Lt. Matthias? Lt. Tomas? Bowen Knight?I root for Pax Marshall because I think he is awesome but I think that Silver's hero might be Bowen Knight, leader of The Human Alliance. Last but not least, I hope that Psy-Changeling Trinity series gives us more scenes (and hopefully a book) between Nikita Duncan and Anthony Kyriakus. They are EVERYTHING!
    more
  • Shanna Matheo
    October 12, 2016
    Oct 12th 2016... I just read the sneak peek, excerpt thingy for this in NS's newsletter. I got 2 words:
  • RachelW (BamaGal)
    March 22, 2017
    Full review…Rocky start to the read that began evening out at about the 20% mark.The word building as always, is impeccable; intricate and delicately plotted. I liked Silver and Valentin; their romance and interactions, the building of their relationship. I enjoyed the time spent at the Bear clan's Denhome, and the characters there; loved it, as a matter of fact. So lively, loving, and amusing. The Bears definitely have distinct personalities from the other Changelings. All parts set in Denhome Full review…Rocky start to the read that began evening out at about the 20% mark.The word building as always, is impeccable; intricate and delicately plotted. I liked Silver and Valentin; their romance and interactions, the building of their relationship. I enjoyed the time spent at the Bear clan's Denhome, and the characters there; loved it, as a matter of fact. So lively, loving, and amusing. The Bears definitely have distinct personalities from the other Changelings. All parts set in Denhome and between Silver and Valentin were great fun, for that matter. Oh, and for all that Silver said she'd never break Silence, she capitulated pretty quickly when Valentin poured on the charm in close quarters.Unfortunately, some of the rest of the book was a bit slow at times for me. All the politics and machinations just bogged down my mind until I started glazing over, especially in the beginning. The Consortium, Alliance, Trinity Accord, HAPMA, EmNet…everything just started running together. The read overall was a little long and dense; it took me six days to get through the book. Singh had a lot of over-reaching series plot threads she wanted to get started in this story. Eventually things started tying together; but it took a long time getting there. This is definitely her most ambitious book to date.Many will love the intricacies of the political machinations more than I did. The love story was great, though; as was everything to do with the Russian Bear clan. They and the Wolf clan will apparently be picking up the Changeling threads in this new arc of the series. The setting has moved to Moscow and the surrounding countryside; but Singh's Moscow of 2082 is remarkably generic. Aside from a few Russian words and names, this could be set anywhere. For all that Singh spends great deal of time on the wordbuilding and the characters, the setting tends to fall to the wayside.Fans of the series will truly enjoy ‘Silver Silence'. Even though this is touted to be a new series set in the Psy/Changeling world; I don't recommend starting here for readers not already familiar with the world. There are still many familiar characters here; and I consider it more of a new plotline arc than a new series. Slave to Sensation was the first PNR book I ever read back in the day, beginning my long love affair with this genre. I continue to enjoy these stories, even though I have to say I prefer Singh’s “Guild Hunters” series.
    more
  • Annie (Under the Covers Book Blog)
    May 30, 2017
    review to come
  • (Tori-Smexybooks) smexys_sidekick
    April 11, 2017
    Beary enjoyable. :) My review will come closer to release date.
  • Angela
    February 22, 2017
    *happy sigh*I'm (even more) excited for this new story arc!Review to come.
  • Zuray
    November 6, 2016
    Me after reading the excerpt:Like, kill me now, I want this book like yesterday... I love my SnowDancers and DarkRiver peeps, but for some reason I think I will fall for the BlackWater Bears really hard...
  • ~lil maso~
    April 27, 2017
    HOLY.COW! I am Ang from PNR Book Lover Reviews and I am guest reviewing over here at Saucy Reviews On Kinky Korner. Why? Because Bloggers should help each other out, we should support each other and that’s what I love about Kylie and Myself.Anyways on to my Review, Silver Silence by my favorite author Nalini.What an emotional ride this was, I am so grateful…thankful to be guest reviewing my queen of PNR I am literally blown away with this story, I can’t even begin to explain how much I loved t HOLY.COW! I am Ang from PNR Book Lover Reviews and I am guest reviewing over here at Saucy Reviews On Kinky Korner. Why? Because Bloggers should help each other out, we should support each other and that’s what I love about Kylie and Myself.Anyways on to my Review, Silver Silence by my favorite author Nalini.What an emotional ride this was, I am so grateful…thankful to be guest reviewing my queen of PNR I am literally blown away with this story, I can’t even begin to explain how much I loved this story. It gave me all them feels, like I did almost 10 years ago when I picked up Slave to Sensation.This book was everything I was hoping it would be, as always Nalini takes us to this amazing real like the world that swallows us up, the character’s leap from the page and the emotions that she can pull from us while reading.Silver Mercant and her Gentleman Bear Valentin!Let’s pause here, Bears! YASS *inserts twirls and confetti* Bears are in equal place my other fav shifter alongside Wolfs, and wow Valentin nailed being a bear in every way, Hawk will always be my #1 man but seriously guys he’s up there with the best of them.Okay! Continuing. This story is like Season Two of the Psy-Changeling series so it's technically book 16 but it’s also book 1 in the Psy-Changeling Trinity. Honestly being a fan since the begging and have been able to read them all, I don’t really think you could go into this without reading the first 15 it just would not make any sense. In my opinion.This story picks up after the last book has established the Trinity Accords, and we watch the courting of an alpha gentleman bear Valentin and an ice queen Silver who is Kaleb’s assistant and in charge of EmNet. With this new chapter in this world the Psy, Humans, and Changelings the three races must work together as a united front.Nalini does some of the most freaking amazing world creating, in this book she must do that again only because its set-in Mosco with a different. New clan. As always, the romance is on point, Valentin is legit head over heels crushing on Silver but she is Silence in a way that she just needs to be. Without too many spoilers she has one intense power.Tp-AI love that he has been trying to woo her over the last ten months, and we come into the story at a point where she needs to lay low, and what better place to lay low with a clan of bears. Denhome hold their own secrets and I just love that under all Silvers iciness she is the perfect fit for our gentleman bear. I can’t gush enough about how much I really loved this new setting and to meet some new characters like Silvers brother, and to have him possibly going to be courted by another clan mate, I can’t wait to see them two guys falling hard. That’s my own take from that. “Today an apple, tomorrow ice cream, the next day licking honey from her body, it was all about strategy…and stubborn bearish hope.” Valentin, is beautiful inside and out him and his bear have picked Silver as there’s. Val is fun, playful and family means everything. I loved watching the interactions with his clanmates the cute and adorable baby bears, and his own family are the perfect recipe for a fantastic story. I am so excited to see where this next chapter in season two will take us. Mate. Family and clan that is a bear’s heart! What I thought was funny, is that Val kept telling himself be sneaky like a cat… be the cat. I legit love this man. “Mr I.A.M. Medvezhonok. Mr. I’m a Teddy Bear” So much happens with the Human alliance, the new bad guys and I have realized how hard it is to write a review you want to gush about without giving everything away. Dudes this is harder than I thought it would be.What I also loved that Silver had so many things in common with Valentin, she also believed family is and foremost #1 and when her life is in danger the lengths that Ena Merchant will go is a little creepy but you got to love that grandmother!With the fall of silence already happened in the first chapter of this series, we know what Silver has watched and seen what can happen. When it comes to her own silence it’s a great way to see her choice why and when she will break. (that was hard not to give it away) “Ain’t no party like a bear party. It’s the hangover that’s the problem. Worth it. Carpe-the-diem! Wolves are cool, bears are fools.” ~Graffiti on a Mosco wall You can never be upset picking up a Nalini story, this story was fresh and the writing is just beautiful with the way we just get caught up in all that is happening, I found myself laughing and crying and throwing tantrums because I just couldn’t believe what was happening before my eyes. The perfect blend of everything you want in a PNR story. “moyo solnyshko” – Sun of my heart. Sunshine of my life. *ARC received in exchange for an honest review* For more reviews, news and giveaways, check out Saucy Reviews on Kinky Korner at; Blog | Facebook | Twitter | Pinterest |InstagramDon't forget to check out PNR Book Lover Reviews at; Blog | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram
    more
  • D.B. Reynolds
    May 16, 2017
    Silver Silence takes Nalini Singh’s Psy-Changeling series across the globe to Moscow, where we meet Valentin Nikolaev, alpha of the Stonewater bear clan. He’s all charm and good looks, and so full of love for his bears that you forget how deadly a giant bear shifter can be . . . until someone he loves is threatened. When we first meet Valentin, he’s using some of that charm on Silver Mercant. Silver is psy, and readers will remember her as the deadly Kaleb Krychek’s number one assistant. To the Silver Silence takes Nalini Singh’s Psy-Changeling series across the globe to Moscow, where we meet Valentin Nikolaev, alpha of the Stonewater bear clan. He’s all charm and good looks, and so full of love for his bears that you forget how deadly a giant bear shifter can be . . . until someone he loves is threatened. When we first meet Valentin, he’s using some of that charm on Silver Mercant. Silver is psy, and readers will remember her as the deadly Kaleb Krychek’s number one assistant. To the world, Silver is perfect psy, but within her family, and with Valentin, we see her true self, which is far more complicated. In this story, Silver has taken on a new post as head of EmNet, the public face of the new Trinity Alliance between changeling, psy, and human. Whenever there’s a crisis anywhere in the world, EmNet responds. The main goal is to save lives, but it also serves to demonstrate the viability of the alliance, proving that the three races can work together for the common good. But someone doesn’t want EmNet or the Alliance to succeed, and he’s targeted Silver as the most visible figure of EmNet. Valentin saves Silver’s life and, typical bear, works her recovery to his advantage by persuading her grandmother that Silver should recuperate in the safety of his clan’s denhome. He’s convinced Silver is his mate, and now he must convince her. But nothing is easy in the psy-changeling universe, and Valentin soon discovers the fatal flaw in Silver’s psy DNA that could take her away from him forever. This is another wonderful story from Singh, with a whole new set of characters for us to fall in love with. My heart broke along with Valentin’s when he thought he’d lost his Starlight, which is what he calls Silver, and I struggled along with Silver as she fought, sometimes against her own nature, to recover her true self.
    more
  • Rowena
    February 22, 2017
    This book was everything I hoped it would be. Silver F*cking Mercant and her teddy bear were such a great pairing and I can't wait for more from the Psy-Changeling spin off. Lots of potential here and with Singh at the writing helm, this series will be another fantastic one.I really enjoyed getting to know Silver. I always knew that she was a force to be reckoned with but it was a different experience, seeing it up close and personal. Valentin was the best. I loved his determination to love Silv This book was everything I hoped it would be. Silver F*cking Mercant and her teddy bear were such a great pairing and I can't wait for more from the Psy-Changeling spin off. Lots of potential here and with Singh at the writing helm, this series will be another fantastic one.I really enjoyed getting to know Silver. I always knew that she was a force to be reckoned with but it was a different experience, seeing it up close and personal. Valentin was the best. I loved his determination to love Silver whether she remembered him or not. She was it for him and not even she could take that away from him. The strength of his love for her hit me with feels all over the place. I am so freaking glad that I got to know him. To know him is to love him.This book was freaking good. Read it so you can love it too.
    more
  • Tina
    May 22, 2017
    My overwhelming feeling of this book is that it is so damned charming!I find it fascinating that the character of Silver, known primarily in the series almost solely through her connection with Kaleb, can be so different from him. Kaleb's book is probably my favorite in the series and this one is a probably in the top five.The hero Valentin is a bear shifter who, as the book opens, has been trying to court the silent Silver in his own Bear-y way. While the other books in the series have given us My overwhelming feeling of this book is that it is so damned charming!I find it fascinating that the character of Silver, known primarily in the series almost solely through her connection with Kaleb, can be so different from him. Kaleb's book is probably my favorite in the series and this one is a probably in the top five.The hero Valentin is a bear shifter who, as the book opens, has been trying to court the silent Silver in his own Bear-y way. While the other books in the series have given us a lot of face time with the cats and the wolves, this one spends all the time with the bears and they are given a very distinct and playful personality. I loved the bears!Like any book that features a Psy as a protagonist, the author has to believably convey how the character breaks their silence. I was curious about Silver. I wasn't disappointed. One thing I really liked is that we get not one but two courtships in this book: the initial courtship of Valentin and and Silver which has a lighter, even whimsical tone then there is a bit of a twist in the middle and we get a second phase courtship between the two of them that has more of an intense tone one where the stakes feel a lot higher. This book was nicely romantic.Definitely not the place to start. It drops a lot of Psy terminology casually and that makes a lot more sense if you've read the previous book. It also continues the world building that follows a lot of the little pocket groups that popped up in the aftermath of silence.Also, gratifyingly, this book continues to redress some of the neglect of the humans. It doubles down on the importance of the role of humans in this world and how they are finally exerting some muscle.Overall, just a fun, charming and romantic book and loved meeting Valentin and the bears and getting to know Silver much, much better.**Honest review based on an ARC received from the publisher **
    more
  • Ceki
    May 26, 2017
    Wolves and cats are my thing. So when I found out that Nalini Singh would write about bears, I must admit, I was a bit skeptical. Yes, I know that there are many species of changelings, but I still wasn't expecting that. That is because even though I know that bears can be very dangerous, I always imagine a big and fluffy ball of fur that wobbles around in search of food. Well... this book destroyed silly thoughts such as these.I really enjoyed the beginning of the Psy-Changeling Trinity. Howeve Wolves and cats are my thing. So when I found out that Nalini Singh would write about bears, I must admit, I was a bit skeptical. Yes, I know that there are many species of changelings, but I still wasn't expecting that. That is because even though I know that bears can be very dangerous, I always imagine a big and fluffy ball of fur that wobbles around in search of food. Well... this book destroyed silly thoughts such as these.I really enjoyed the beginning of the Psy-Changeling Trinity. However, I would not recommend this book to newbies, they would feel overwhelmed. This is not only about steamy romance, there is a political background that would be hard to follow if you haven't read at least some of the prequels from the Psy-Changeling series.All in all, I really enjoyed the whole story, the main and supporting characters. There is nothing in particular that I disliked. I will only say this - you will love Valentin. He is not the overbearing, annoying alpha. He is sweet, patient but also very protective and brave. I think that is the perfect combination.*Provided by the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. This did not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.
    more
  • Dísir
    March 12, 2017
    It’s impossible to go into any of the Psy-Changeling books and not get blown away by the intricately detailed, futuristic world that Nalini Singh has shaped over the past 15 books. ‘Silver Silence’ is Silver Mercant’s story, the stoic, emotionless psy who finally meets her match in the Valentin Nikolaev the bear alpha and their epic romance—from wary suspicion to brief happiness to heartbreak—feels like a great love story unfolding amidst a shifting world that’s hurtling towards an unknown futur It’s impossible to go into any of the Psy-Changeling books and not get blown away by the intricately detailed, futuristic world that Nalini Singh has shaped over the past 15 books. ‘Silver Silence’ is Silver Mercant’s story, the stoic, emotionless psy who finally meets her match in the Valentin Nikolaev the bear alpha and their epic romance—from wary suspicion to brief happiness to heartbreak—feels like a great love story unfolding amidst a shifting world that’s hurtling towards an unknown future.The book isn’t a standalone, but admittedly, it can function as one especially if you don’t exactly wish to go through the first 15 books of the series to get to this point and half the title itself is the name of a mysterious psy who has appeared as Kaleb Krychek’s tough, capable but emotionless aide in the past few books. After ‘Allegiance of Honor’ closed the previous arc, Silver’s story heralds in a new age, so to speak, ushering in Psy-Changeling’s “season 2” and focusing on a period where all three races look towards unity as they seek to heal their deeply-fractured world.In fact, ‘Silver Silence’ takes up the complicated threads from the end of the last book and adds even more layers to this shifting world that inexorably hurtles towards an unknown future even as new and recurring characters find their mates. It also feel like a reboot of the series that is making me feel the excitement I haven’t felt in forever when a good book comes along.There are light-hearted moments as there are heart-wrenching ones and while I felt overwhelmed by the details at times as ‘Silver Silence’ kicks the action all back up into high gear, it’s hard not to look back at every turn and wonder just how far we’ve come since the first book. I laughed so hard at Singh’s introduction of the Bear changelings—their irrational behaviour that still somehow endears people to them above all—and loved every moment detailing how different they seemed to the rest of the changelings and pretty much fell for this bear clan as I did the wolves. There’s also renewed focus on the Human Alliance (though there’s already some gutting tragedy here!) which I hope will play a bigger role in the upcoming books and I simply can’t wait to see how far Singh goes to integrate these races in this new age.Singh pits opposing characters here as she normally does in her stories—an emotional, primal changeling with a psy conditioned for absolute control—but adds an intriguing history behind the distinguished Mercant family line and the Stonewater clan that makes Silver’s and Valentin’s story so much more than just an opposite-attracts kind of story. The type of pairing isn’t new (a psy with an alpha changeling) but Singh’s storytelling never gets dull here, because Silver/Valentin’s relationship is tied so deeply to the instability during the Age of Trinity yet isn't compromised by the unfolding of events. It’s also deftly handled such that it’s hard not to root for both Silver and Valentin, who are well-matched and unwavering when it comes to loyalty and desire, as they show the same kind of determination to be with each other no matter the circumstance. Their conflict and their different stances on sex (the virgin vs the experienced male) aren't simply written for the sake of adhering to a particular romance-novel format, but rather the history of these races explains why Silver/Valentin behave the way they do and does actually lend a measure of credibility for readers who like challenging these well-established romance tropes.After having gotten the rather fierce affirmation of Silver/Valentin’s HEA, to finish the first ‘episode’ of the new season is akin to waking up rudely to reality and the garish morning light, making you want to crawl back into the reading cave for the sequel…which isn’t yet on the horizon.*Full review to come(drunk grateful, mind)
    more
  • Holly
    February 28, 2017
    Silver was about what I expected from previous books. Naturally there's more to her than meets the eye. I was interested to learn more about the Mercant family. I wasn't disappointed. Both Silver and her family were fascinating. Still, Valentin was everything for me in this book. Playful, arrogant, adorable..I just wanted to eat him up.
    more
  • Kinga
    February 7, 2017
    There is a cover??? There is an expected publication date?? And a blurb? Omg, I've been having too many exams not to notice so many things...
  • Sofia
    September 7, 2016
    OMG I CAN'T WAIT
  • Francesca the Fierce (Under the Covers Book Blog)
    June 1, 2017
    4.5 Stars
  • Gretchen (About That Story)
    April 13, 2017
    Full review to come.Complimentary copy received for honest review.
  • Katie Michaels
    May 11, 2017
    Loved. Review to come.*ARC provided by publisher
  • Melody
    April 15, 2017
    I know I said I wasn't going to read this spin-off but I'm too curious not to try at least book 1 :p
Write a review