Deadman
Romance, mystery, and evil fill the halls of an old gothic mansion in New England. There's only one person in the world that can bring peace to this place: Boston Brand, a.k.a., Deadman! When a ghost cannot rest in the place that holds her, the DCU's authority on all things supernatural must help before all is lost!In this tale that evokes tension tension of classic romance comics as well as supernatural superhero storytelling, Deadman: Dark Mansion of Forbidden Love is a new take on the classic DC hero!Collecting: Deadman: Dark Mansion of Forbidden Love 1-3

Deadman Details

TitleDeadman
Author
FormatPaperback
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJun 6th, 2017
PublisherDC Comics
ISBN1401268412
ISBN-139781401268411
Number of pages144 pages
Rating
GenreSequential Art, Graphic Novels, Comics, Superheroes, Dc Comics, Fantasy, Supernatural, Horror, Graphic Novels Comics

Deadman Review

  • Sam Quixote
    May 15, 2017
    Deadman: Dark Mansion of Forbidden Love is another retelling of Bluebeard where a man and a woman go to some big house, the man turns out to be crazy and the woman runs away from him. Other famous versions include Charlotte Bronte’s Jane Eyre and Daphne du Maurier’s Rebecca. What does Deadman/Boston Brand have to do with it? Nothing really. And that’s the book! Ugh, awful. I’d hoped Alex + Ada co-writer Sarah Vaughn’s story, with the inclusion of deceased superhero Deadman, would be good in an o Deadman: Dark Mansion of Forbidden Love is another retelling of Bluebeard where a man and a woman go to some big house, the man turns out to be crazy and the woman runs away from him. Other famous versions include Charlotte Bronte’s Jane Eyre and Daphne du Maurier’s Rebecca. What does Deadman/Boston Brand have to do with it? Nothing really. And that’s the book! Ugh, awful. I’d hoped Alex + Ada co-writer Sarah Vaughn’s story, with the inclusion of deceased superhero Deadman, would be good in an offbeat way but it’s just a standard gothic romance. What’s worse is that Vaughn appears to be a Social Justice Warrior who’s infused the book with her regressive left politics. A female character, Sam, claims to be non-binary - that is, neither male nor female - and uses they/them pronouns. Oh. Fuck. No. Gawd. And, per that toxic ideology, the villain is a straight white male - the worst thing imaginable! Deadman gets a pass I guess because DC didn’t want their character shit on - while the heroes are a woman and a gay “non-binary” black woman, aka the best thing imaginable! I’ll try to keep my political rant as short as possible: I can’t stand the absurdly PC gobshite that’s infected liberals today. I don’t care if you want to be called male, female, or if you’re a hermaphrodite, but there’s no such thing as non-binary. It’s fucking stupid. You’re one of those things. To call yourself “non-binary” is preposterous, pretentious and nonsensical, not to mention ungrammatical! DC: please don’t pander to the SJWs, they are CANCER. Look what happened to Marvel when they did - their sales have been in the toilet for over a year! Comics Alliance went full SJW and it’s now dead. Everyday Feminism is going under as we speak. The Guardian is literally begging people to support its leftist propaganda machine when you visit their website. The Labour party in the UK and the Democrat party in the US are in freefall after siding with these extremists. Bottom line: these idiots poison everything they touch. I guarantee you also they make up a miniscule percentage of the comics reading audience; they won’t support you financially and they’re NEVER happy with anybody’s efforts to try to placate/accommodate them. Like Flat Earthers and other uneducated anti-intellectuals, it’s best to just ignore them. They’ll be gone soon enough while the actual fans reading this, and other DC books, who’re just looking for an entertaining story, will still be there.Even without the politics though, Dark Mansion would still be a crappy comic. It’s an unoriginal, cliche-ridden romance with an obvious (as well as confusing and contrived - I guess Berenice is bi or secretly gay even though that’s never established?) love triangle and unexciting “mystery” at its core; Deadman is an incidental and, at best, supporting character despite the book being supposedly starring him; and the whole thing reads like a half-baked episode of Scooby-Doo. It’s such a boring read. The art team do an outstanding job though. Lan Medina, Phil Hester and Jose Villarrubia have produced a gorgeous book and every page was a stunner - shame that it was all in service to Sarah Vaughn’s garbage script. I was disappointed because this looked like a really fun book. I liked and appreciated that DC were doing something unusual with one of their lesser-known characters so it’s a shame that it turned out the way that it did. Dull, uninspired, deeply generic and unfortunately tainted with regressive politics, Deadman: Dark Mansion of Forbidden Pants ain’t worth it.
    more
  • Nenia *the flagrant liberal* Campbell
    June 18, 2017
    Instagram || Twitter || Facebook || Amazon || PinterestSarah Vaughn also contributed to Alex + Ada, which is a Chobits-esque romance between a human and a robot, so when I saw that she had contributed to "DEADMAN," I applied for it without really knowing what this graphic novel was about. I liked her work! I like spooky books! The cover of this book seemed spooky! (I thought it was about vampires, actually....)I WAS WRONG LOLDARK MANSION OF FORBIDDEN LOVE is a title that conjures up the campy p Instagram || Twitter || Facebook || Amazon || PinterestSarah Vaughn also contributed to Alex + Ada, which is a Chobits-esque romance between a human and a robot, so when I saw that she had contributed to "DEADMAN," I applied for it without really knowing what this graphic novel was about. I liked her work! I like spooky books! The cover of this book seemed spooky! (I thought it was about vampires, actually....)I WAS WRONG LOLDARK MANSION OF FORBIDDEN LOVE is a title that conjures up the campy pulp novels of the 60s and 70s, but the graphic novel is actually really surprising...and I mean that in a great way. Not only does it have a Gothic mystery surrounding ghosts and revenge, it also features a bisexual heroine of color (half-Asian, half-white) and a non-binary hero of color (black). I was shocked...in the best way! How progressive of you, DC!The story is good, too. Bernice's fiance lives in a mansion and is working on his book. When she joins him, she's put off by the fact that the house seems to be filled with ghosts and a dark presence. One of the "ghosts" is Boston Brand (Deadman), who is trying to get rid of the dark energy as well. They meet a ghost named Adelia who was murdered but can't remember why or by whom, only that her fate somehow ties into the dark energy of the house...DARK MANSION OF FORBIDDEN LOVE has a Scooby Doo vibe to it that I found charming. I'm sure some people will be put off by the campy vibe, but I've watched dozens and dozens of Scooby Doo, so the classic ghost story element really appealed to me. I also really liked Deadman, because I'm a sucker for brooding, angsty heroes. He's like Bruce Wayne, without the asshole-ish tendencies. You really can't help but like him...he's so awkward and adorable and too precious for this world.ALSO - whoever designed these characters, I LOVE YOU. One of my biggest beefs with graphic novels is over the top cheesecake shots. There's a tendency in graphic novels to focus on the boobs, dress the characters in revealing costumes, and give them all 50s pin-up style figures. I get that it's a throwback to the Golden Era of Comic Books when they were all drawn that way, but it's also nice to see characters that look like you. They made Bernice curvy, gave her rather thick thighs, and she's smaller on top than she is on the bottom. Her outfits are also...ordinary. She looks like someone you'd see at a coffee shop. Let me be perfectly clear: I have no problem with women who want to dress sexy or are skinny; I have a problem with that being the only representation women get in comic books. Real women are not one size fits all and it was so great to see someone with a body type and fashion sense rather similar to mine in a graphic novel. I'm so glad DC gave this to me as an ARC. It was actually a really fun superhero comic, and I enjoyed the dark Gothic vibe, the ghost story, and the diverse rep (this is the first graphic novel I've read with a non-binary character!). The only reason I'm not giving it 4 stars is because the storyline was just a little bit too cliche, and as much as I enjoyed reading it, it's probably not a book I would purchase for myself or keep in a permanent collection. For others, though? Definitely!3 stars
    more
  • Gianfranco Mancini
    March 4, 2017
    Read as individual issuesAfter enjoying Boston Brand/Deadman in the Justice League Dark animated movie, at last I've read my first comic miniseries of the character and it was really good.Sarah Vaughn's "Deadman: Dark Mansion of Forbidden Love" was for me like reading "The Haunting of Hill House" meets "Crimson Peak", "The Sixth Sense" and (dead) superhero comics, a great ghost-story filled with twists, mistery and pinches of horror and romance.Art was really good too and just perfect for the st Read as individual issuesAfter enjoying Boston Brand/Deadman in the Justice League Dark animated movie, at last I've read my first comic miniseries of the character and it was really good.Sarah Vaughn's "Deadman: Dark Mansion of Forbidden Love" was for me like reading "The Haunting of Hill House" meets "Crimson Peak", "The Sixth Sense" and (dead) superhero comics, a great ghost-story filled with twists, mistery and pinches of horror and romance.Art was really good too and just perfect for the storyline and its gothic atmosphere.You don't need to know anything about Deadman to fully appreciate this amazing graphic novel.Only flaws here, the maybe not so much original (but still great) storyline and the white fonts on light blue background of Berenice's "thought balloons" that can make you blind if you read it on an tablet/e-reader without zoom function...Not for evertybody, but if you like gothic ghost stories and superhero comics this is the comic for you.Just remember yourself, dear reader, to avoid houses with their own names.
    more
  • Quentin Wallace
    March 25, 2017
    This was a surprisingly refreshing Gothic Ghost Story. In a way Deadman was just inserted into the story in order to make it relevant to DC, but he did play enough of a role to justify his appearance.A couple moves into a haunted mansion and of course secrets begin to emerge. Between this comic and the movie Crimson Peak it seems gothic horror may be making a slight comeback, which really wouldn't be a bad thing. The painted art in this series was very nice and fit the story great.If you like Go This was a surprisingly refreshing Gothic Ghost Story. In a way Deadman was just inserted into the story in order to make it relevant to DC, but he did play enough of a role to justify his appearance.A couple moves into a haunted mansion and of course secrets begin to emerge. Between this comic and the movie Crimson Peak it seems gothic horror may be making a slight comeback, which really wouldn't be a bad thing. The painted art in this series was very nice and fit the story great.If you like Gothic Ghost Stories this is something you should read, especially considering they are so rare in comics now. And if you're a fan of Deadman, he's in this enough to make it worth your while as well.
    more
  • Dan
    June 12, 2017
    First off the art is amazing. Never read any Deadman solo stories but this was fun to read. Not great but I'm glad I had a chance to read it.
  • Brendan Nicholls
    November 24, 2016
    Just learning of the central character and while I didn't miss him while the story was unfolding, won't allow my minimal knowledge to cloud my viewpoint. Great art and I like the woman lead but cannot understand the mythology, hopefully this is cleared up in the next issue.
    more
  • Dana Alma
    June 6, 2017
    I love romance comics! Dark Mansion of Forbidden Love serves up quite the Gothic romance. This comic is a bit of a change for the the Deadman's stories. Berenice can see ghosts, but it's not something she likes to embrace. There's a bit of a love triangle going on with her boyfriend who is always trying to write and her best friend. A very angry entity lives within the mansion. Yes, it's haunted. Berenice is in luck when Boston Brand, the Deadman shows up to help her out with unraveling the past I love romance comics! Dark Mansion of Forbidden Love serves up quite the Gothic romance. This comic is a bit of a change for the the Deadman's stories. Berenice can see ghosts, but it's not something she likes to embrace. There's a bit of a love triangle going on with her boyfriend who is always trying to write and her best friend. A very angry entity lives within the mansion. Yes, it's haunted. Berenice is in luck when Boston Brand, the Deadman shows up to help her out with unraveling the past. The ending packs a punch as the truth is revealed. The art work is perfect, the color psychology worked well giving an emotional depth to the story. I'll be adding this Deadman series to my collection of romance comics.
    more
  • Joe Kucharski
    May 27, 2017
    A gothic horror romance starring Deadman? Think about it. A match made in Nanda Parbat, right? Shockingly, no. Deadman: Dark Mansion of Forbidden Love mostly focuses around Berenice, a woman who is sensitive to, and can observe, ghosts, with Deadman underwhelmingly being used as a plot contrivance. Writer Sarah Vaughn provides a standard offering to the genre: murder, lost love, unrecounted love (inexplicably gay love at that; a plot element tacked on seemingly to satisfy a quota and never explo A gothic horror romance starring Deadman? Think about it. A match made in Nanda Parbat, right? Shockingly, no. Deadman: Dark Mansion of Forbidden Love mostly focuses around Berenice, a woman who is sensitive to, and can observe, ghosts, with Deadman underwhelmingly being used as a plot contrivance. Writer Sarah Vaughn provides a standard offering to the genre: murder, lost love, unrecounted love (inexplicably gay love at that; a plot element tacked on seemingly to satisfy a quota and never explored or explained), and the unsurprising return of a dastardly villain steeped in the dark arts. As for the art? Lan Medina showcases slick, detailed visuals that, when paired with digital painter Jose Villarrubia, transcends the typical graphic novel medium, look more akin to storybook art than superhero. Berenice is rendered as a normal, standard woman that definitely, and refreshingly, stands in contrast to the super-human existence of Boston Brand. The art also contrasts against the staggering commonness of the story itself. Vaughn and Medina work together to produce a few genuinely creepy moments, but those are quickly forgotten and generally dulled down by a slow-moving plot complete with meaningless internal dialogue that would certainly have Frank Miller screaming at the walls of his studio in frustration. If anything, Dark Mansion of Forbidden Love shows that nothing is scarier than longing looks at an antique store. Right. Thanks to DC Comics and NetGalley for the ghost of a chance to read the advanced collector’s edition. This is a genre ripe for the taking in the magical DCU; it just needs to be properly grabbed.
    more
  • Ramón Fernández Ayarzagoitia
    May 7, 2017
    ENG/ ESPI LOVED THIS. This is the kind of comic that reminds you that those lesser-known legacy characters can easily help create knew, original and exiting things. Maybe the best way to describe this story is that it is Guillermo Del Toro’s Crimson Peak reimagined to include Deadman in modern times. If this sounds weird to you, it is. If it sounds awesome, it also is. Don’t think, however, that it’s just derivative. This is its own thing, but the inspiration is both clear and appreciated.Narrat ENG/ ESPI LOVED THIS. This is the kind of comic that reminds you that those lesser-known legacy characters can easily help create knew, original and exiting things. Maybe the best way to describe this story is that it is Guillermo Del Toro’s Crimson Peak reimagined to include Deadman in modern times. If this sounds weird to you, it is. If it sounds awesome, it also is. Don’t think, however, that it’s just derivative. This is its own thing, but the inspiration is both clear and appreciated.Narration and art style blend perfectly to create this awesome gothic romance. It is emotional, fun, thoughtful and just creepy enough. Another 1,000 points for being diverse.You can read this knowing next to nothing about the character or DC continuity, and I highly recommend that you give this a chance. Tidbit: Dark Mansion of Forbidden Love is a 70’s DC obscure DC comics title, similar to House of Mystery and House of Secrets. I say it’s obscure because they changed its name after 4 titles, to the much more mundane name Forbidden Tales of Dark Mansion.LO AMÉ.Éste es el tipo de cómic que me recuerda todo lo que se puede hacer con un personaje “de legado” menos conocido. Describiría a la historia como Crimson Peak, de Guillermo Del Toro, pero con Deadman y en tiempos modernos. ¡Es rara la combinación? Sí. También es increíblemente buena. Cabe destacar que esto no significa que sea derivativa. Es una historia bien original pero con inspiraciones claras.La narrativa y el estilo de arte se mezclan a la perfección en este bellísimo romance gótico. Es emocional, divertido, inteligente y lo suficientemente tétrico. Se gana otros 1,000 puntos por incluir personajes étnica y sexualmente diversos.Puedes leerlo sin saber nada de la continuidad DC, y de verdad recomiendo que lo leas.Extra: Dark Mansion of Forbidden Love (Mansión oscura del amor prohibido) es un título setentero en olvido. Similar a la casa del misterio y la casa de los secretos. Está en el olvido en parte porque después de 4 números le cambiaron el título al muy mundano Forbidden Tales of Dark Mansion (historias prohibidas de la mansión oscura).
    more
  • John
    October 15, 2016
    The artwork in this is excellent.The story starts out slow but gains momentum page by page.Has a definite mystey/horror feel to it.
  • Rick Hunter
    June 8, 2017
    I'll start with the art on this one first. Lan Medina & Phil Hester are the artists on the book. I've been a fan of Medina's since I picked up the first volume of Fables. The art really fits the gothic romance tone of the story. A major reason that the art does match the tone of the story so well is because of colorist Jose Villarrubia. The main setting for the book is an old house that was built in the 1800's. The house design itself, what little we see of it anyway, gives off a gothic feel I'll start with the art on this one first. Lan Medina & Phil Hester are the artists on the book. I've been a fan of Medina's since I picked up the first volume of Fables. The art really fits the gothic romance tone of the story. A major reason that the art does match the tone of the story so well is because of colorist Jose Villarrubia. The main setting for the book is an old house that was built in the 1800's. The house design itself, what little we see of it anyway, gives off a gothic feel, but the colorist keeps things pretty dark to match the story. The female ghost is a bright blue so she really stands out in the darkness. The same can be said Deadman in his red leotard. The art was definitely the best thing about the book and gets 4.5 stars. Now lets get to writer Sarah Vaughn's story. Vaughn seemed more concerned with writing a love story between an Asian woman named Berenice that can see ghosts and woman named Sam that identifies herself as non-binary. She refers to herself, and wants others to refer to her, as they or them. That's just strange. Honestly, that's even weirder than having ghosts in the story. A good half of the book is devoted to these two characters, not always at the same time, but way more than was necessary. This is a Deadman book according to the title on the cover, but in actuality, he takes a backseat to these two lovebirds just so the author can further her extremely leftist liberal agenda. The greatest evil of the 21st century is people on the left trying to convince the rest of the world that there are more than 2 sexes, and that it's okay for anyone to create some imaginary new sex because they don't want to be what they are. These people are in desperate need of some mental health treatment, but the left wants the world to pretend that it's perfectly normal. Sorry that I got sidetracked, but the Deadman story got sidetracked as well and I had to cover the part of the story that went off the rails. Deadman doesn't do much in this book other than reveal to a couple of the characters, and to the readers, what actually happened in the situation that led the ghost lady's death. Other than that, he was pretty useless in the story. It's like Vaughn kept remembering that she was writing a Deadman story and only wrote stuff for him as an afterthought. The half of the story that revolves around the ghost of the house and her circumstances is unoriginal. There have been numerous tales through the years where a woman is kept in some way in an isolated mansion by the man she loves. Blue Beard, from fairy tale legend and later the Fables comics, kills each of his wives to and keeps the remains locked in the basement. The hackneyed half of the story added to the sickening liberal agenda of the other half combine to give the writing for this book a lowly score 1 star. The writing and art aspects of the book average together to give the book an overall rating of 2.75 star. The art saved the book from getting an abysmal score that the story deserved. I don't understand why editors in the comics industry keep trying to force stuff like this on the readers. The people that would enjoy the type of wretched love story Sarah Vaughn spewed onto paper is only an iota comics readers. Why churn out such rubbish that a vast majority of comics readers don't want anything to do with? I know I'll never read anything else Vaughn writes. Stay away from this one unless you just want to look at the pretty pictures.**** Note- I received a digital ARC of this from DC through Netgalley.com.
    more
  • Lilyn G. (Scifi and Scary)
    June 19, 2017
    I went into Deadman: Dark Mansion of Forbidden Love completely blind. I had never heard of the character Deadman/Boston Brand before. I don’t think I’ve ever read anything by either the writer or illustrator for this book. So, yeah, completely unfamiliar with all aspects of it.The art for Deadman: Dark Mansion of Forbidden Love was simple yet effective. Very straightforwardly illustrated for the most part. It served to make Deadman himself stand out that much more. The color choices went along w I went into Deadman: Dark Mansion of Forbidden Love completely blind. I had never heard of the character Deadman/Boston Brand before. I don’t think I’ve ever read anything by either the writer or illustrator for this book. So, yeah, completely unfamiliar with all aspects of it.The art for Deadman: Dark Mansion of Forbidden Love was simple yet effective. Very straightforwardly illustrated for the most part. It served to make Deadman himself stand out that much more. The color choices went along well with the illustration style. However, one area that gave me a lot of trouble reading Deadman was the white words on the light blue background that relayed the main female character’s internal thoughts. The white on red of Deadman’s was a bit easier. Because I read this as an epub, it was hard to find a ‘just right’ setting that enabled me to easily see the character’s internal thoughts and not have to scroll inch by inch down through the pages. It made for a somewhat uncomfortable reading experience that left me with a minor headache every time I tackled the story. A more clear font might have made a world of difference.I liked the diverse representation in Deadman: Dark Mansion of Forbidden Love. Berenice is (appears to be, at least) bi/ possibly pan-sexual, and Sam is non-binary as well as African American. I also appreciated the fact that that Berenice wasn’t your typical model-looking knockout so often found in comic books. She was actually rather plain and dressed in clothes normal women actually wear.As for the story itself, it was interesting. Deadman: Dark Mansion of Forbidden Love is sort of a superhero and gothic ghost story mashup. It takes place inside an old mansion that had been closed up for over 150 years. The story is dark with a definite air of mystery to it. The interactions between Brand and Berenice are fun. The twist with one of the other characters caught me by surprise. (It was a good thing, as some of the other elements of the book aren’t exactly subtle.)Given the pain that I suffered through to finish Deadman: Dark Mansion of Forbidden Love, I can’t say I’ll ever pick up another volume. However, fans of paranormal fantasy and superhero novels should definitely give Deadman a shot. If it wasn’t for the headache, I would have enjoyed the story a lot more than I did. It’s not the most well-written or meaningful, but it is entertaining nonetheless. And the message of acceptance is a nice one. Disclaimer: I received a copy of this book free from Netgalley for review consideration.
    more
  • Heather
    May 3, 2017
    Deadman: The Dark Mansion of Forbidden Love is a graphic novel that begins with Berenice, a woman that can see ghosts and apparitions. She has moved into the old mansion her boyfriend Nathan had inherited. In the beginning of the story, she admits that ever since they moved in, strange things have been happening. And now she confirms that a ghost that’s very attached to the human world is basically trapped in the mansion.The story was okay. In the beginning, I was a bit confused with a couple of Deadman: The Dark Mansion of Forbidden Love is a graphic novel that begins with Berenice, a woman that can see ghosts and apparitions. She has moved into the old mansion her boyfriend Nathan had inherited. In the beginning of the story, she admits that ever since they moved in, strange things have been happening. And now she confirms that a ghost that’s very attached to the human world is basically trapped in the mansion.The story was okay. In the beginning, I was a bit confused with a couple of the characters and their relationships with Berenice. Also I felt like the flashbacks for Berenice were a bit strange and I wasn’t quite sure what their relevance was. But I did enjoy the mystery in the story, which consisted of Berenice teaming up with the ghost to find out why the non-living is trapped in the mansion and who this dark shadow is that’s a threat to them. And the ending was great. It had a wonderful twist that I didn’t expect and it tied the story together with a neat little bow.The art was truly beautiful. It fit the style of the story and screamed gothic. But it was so well done and was extremely appealing, which is important in a graphic novel.The only thing I didn’t really like about it was how it was formatted for ebooks. I had a hard time reading some of the text, especially the inner dialogue for Berenice’s thoughts because they were highlighted in a cyan colored box and the text was white. I found myself having to zoom in on my device just to read it clearly enough. I’m sure it looks better in a paperback form but with it like this, it ruined the experience a bit.Overall, this was a pretty good graphic novel. I only wish it was a bit longer and had fleshed out some of the background information a bit more.
    more
  • JenLovesBooks
    May 3, 2017
    Deadman: Dark Mansion of Forbidden Love had all the spooky feels and a manor that of course every creepy story needs. There were spirits, Deadman of course, and the hair-raising thing that goes bump in the night. I like a good ghost story and this one was a very entertaining read and couldn't get enough of it. It wasn't all about Boston and his story, but about many people (and spirits) that interconnected through the supernatural.Glencourt manor was already unnerving, then the characters were a Deadman: Dark Mansion of Forbidden Love had all the spooky feels and a manor that of course every creepy story needs. There were spirits, Deadman of course, and the hair-raising thing that goes bump in the night. I like a good ghost story and this one was a very entertaining read and couldn't get enough of it. It wasn't all about Boston and his story, but about many people (and spirits) that interconnected through the supernatural.Glencourt manor was already unnerving, then the characters were added to make it a nice story that wasn't over the top or bland either. I really enjoyed Berenice's character in this collection and how she aided Deadman in trying to help Adelia find out what really happened to her and what the darkness was and wanted.I wished though that there were more of Sam in this novel. They brought a nice touch to the story and wanted to know more about their character and their ability to stay strong against the effects of the supernatural. I could tell their character was important and would mean a lot to Berenice as it moved along but felt bad for Nathan, well half of it.If you like Deadman and eerie reads, this one is a good one to pick up. It might seem a little familiar, but it didn't hurt the novel, well at least not for me. I can't wait to add this one to my collection.***I received this copy from DC Comics via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. All opinions are my own.***
    more
  • Bookgasms Book Blog
    June 15, 2017
    I have to say, this was not at all what I was expecting it to be. It was something else entirely, and I found it impossible to put down. There was so much story going on in such a short span of time, yet it had a flow to it that made it feel natural. Well, as natural as a super hero ghost can be. Berenice was a really great main character. On one hand, her quirky attitude and strength was a kick ass edition to the plot. Her lack of confidence in herself given her artistically rendered beauty see I have to say, this was not at all what I was expecting it to be. It was something else entirely, and I found it impossible to put down. There was so much story going on in such a short span of time, yet it had a flow to it that made it feel natural. Well, as natural as a super hero ghost can be. Berenice was a really great main character. On one hand, her quirky attitude and strength was a kick ass edition to the plot. Her lack of confidence in herself given her artistically rendered beauty seemed a bit trite, but it was easy to move past that as a reader. As the ending came closer, it became obvious that Deadman's story is far from over. To be honest though, it isn't his story I'm hoping to follow. I'd much rather read more about Berenice. I hope she has more story to tell in the future! ~ George 3.5 Stars
    more
  • Albert
    June 21, 2017
    Deadman: Dark Mansion of Forbidden Love by Sarah Vaughn is an old fashioned gothic ghost story. This tale deviants from the mainstream comic line of DC but the character of Deadman always has.A couple enter an old empty house. It's history is one of murder and death, but soon they begin to feel another presence. An angry and dangerous entity. What they don't realize is that tagging along with them is the superhero known as Deadman. A ghost himself, Deadman feels the malevolent spirit and soon fi Deadman: Dark Mansion of Forbidden Love by Sarah Vaughn is an old fashioned gothic ghost story. This tale deviants from the mainstream comic line of DC but the character of Deadman always has.A couple enter an old empty house. It's history is one of murder and death, but soon they begin to feel another presence. An angry and dangerous entity. What they don't realize is that tagging along with them is the superhero known as Deadman. A ghost himself, Deadman feels the malevolent spirit and soon finds himself in a battle to save the lives and souls of the innocents that have stepped into the haunted mansion.Deadman is a pretty awesome character but one I think that DC has not used near his full potential. You almost wished he was moved over to the Vertigo line of comics and lets see what those grittier writers could do with this character.A good classic ghost story.
    more
  • Joseph
    June 26, 2017
    I've always been a huge Deadman fan, and the idea to merge the hero with the gothic romance genre was pretty damn good. The subtitle to this series, Dark Mansion of Forbidden Love, was also the title of a four issue gothic romance series DC published back in the early 70s. So we get a bit of romance, a bit of horror, and a bit of history here.Writer Sarah Vaughn creates some great characters for this mystery book, and although the overall plot isn't that original, the characters really make it s I've always been a huge Deadman fan, and the idea to merge the hero with the gothic romance genre was pretty damn good. The subtitle to this series, Dark Mansion of Forbidden Love, was also the title of a four issue gothic romance series DC published back in the early 70s. So we get a bit of romance, a bit of horror, and a bit of history here.Writer Sarah Vaughn creates some great characters for this mystery book, and although the overall plot isn't that original, the characters really make it shine. I'd like to see Berenice and Sam again, someday. I want to see more of them and see how their story progresses. The art and colors are spooky and really help set the tone of the book.Best Deadman story I've read in years.
    more
  • Andi
    May 30, 2017
    Welcome to the world of the Deadman, AKA Boston Brand. Sarah Vaughn has created a rich and interesting world in Dark Mansion of Forbidden Love. Vaughn's characters are so interesting. They aren't your normal "heroes". They are quirky and endearing, which is what makes them so engaging. When you are outside what's considered normal, is it a gift or a curse? Vaughn explores this question, and more, in the Dark Mansion of Forbidden Love.The art in this book is beautiful. Vaughn weaves all of the el Welcome to the world of the Deadman, AKA Boston Brand. Sarah Vaughn has created a rich and interesting world in Dark Mansion of Forbidden Love. Vaughn's characters are so interesting. They aren't your normal "heroes". They are quirky and endearing, which is what makes them so engaging. When you are outside what's considered normal, is it a gift or a curse? Vaughn explores this question, and more, in the Dark Mansion of Forbidden Love.The art in this book is beautiful. Vaughn weaves all of the elements of a classic Gothic romance into a modern world. If you're not careful, you'll be up past your bedtime to read in a single sitting!
    more
  • Tasya Dita
    May 22, 2017
    Totally loved this. I never read any DC comics before and I never heard of Deadman, so this comic totally blew me away. I love the graphic and the coloring, they are so vibrant and vivid. I also really love the story, it's very intriguing and even though I already guessed how the story will go, I still really enjoyed to see how it all unfolded. Another thing I enjoyed is there are a lot of rep in this story, especially of non-binary character because it's the first time I ever read about one and Totally loved this. I never read any DC comics before and I never heard of Deadman, so this comic totally blew me away. I love the graphic and the coloring, they are so vibrant and vivid. I also really love the story, it's very intriguing and even though I already guessed how the story will go, I still really enjoyed to see how it all unfolded. Another thing I enjoyed is there are a lot of rep in this story, especially of non-binary character because it's the first time I ever read about one and it explains the term so much (I read about it before, but I was confused of the meaning). Can't wait to read the next installments!
    more
  • Lance Lumley
    June 29, 2017
    I have been out of the comic book reading for a while, but recently got this selection (mine was a 3 part issue) from a local comic store and I love this! I liked the Deadman character since the 1980s, and this comic is gothic, and rich with great artwork and a great story. This is a must for horror/mystery fans and has a Dark Shadows feel to it.For a more in depth review, go to my link at my site athttps://lancewrites.wordpress.com/201...
    more
  • Nicola Mansfield
    June 6, 2017
    Deadman is one of my absolute favourite characters! The art in this book is just gorgeous. A good ghost story where Deadman comes to a house to find that a ghost trapped inside has called to him, the first time he helps the dead rather than the living.A good story made for a quick read. Doesn't take place in current "Rebirth" universe but at some unspecified time in Boston Brand's afterlife. Without going into detail, I'll just say the whole trans love story was not necessary and obviously an ag Deadman is one of my absolute favourite characters! The art in this book is just gorgeous. A good ghost story where Deadman comes to a house to find that a ghost trapped inside has called to him, the first time he helps the dead rather than the living.A good story made for a quick read. Doesn't take place in current "Rebirth" universe but at some unspecified time in Boston Brand's afterlife. Without going into detail, I'll just say the whole trans love story was not necessary and obviously an agenda.
    more
  • Kristine
    June 7, 2017
    Deadman: Dark Mansion of Forbidden Love by Sarah Vaughn et. al. is a free NetGalley e-comicbook that I read in late May.At the very emo, very Black Sunday, very gothic Glencourt Mansion, Berenice encounters the Deadman (Boston Brand), his murdered love, Adelia, and the shadowed darkness that threatens to swallow up both the dead and the living (which is a shame, because Berenice really needs to make a choice between either Sam or Nathan). Even though the look and modern/late 60s horror style rea Deadman: Dark Mansion of Forbidden Love by Sarah Vaughn et. al. is a free NetGalley e-comicbook that I read in late May.At the very emo, very Black Sunday, very gothic Glencourt Mansion, Berenice encounters the Deadman (Boston Brand), his murdered love, Adelia, and the shadowed darkness that threatens to swallow up both the dead and the living (which is a shame, because Berenice really needs to make a choice between either Sam or Nathan). Even though the look and modern/late 60s horror style really appealed to me, the story was haplessly hallowed and melodramatic.
    more
  • Trey
    June 10, 2017
    The art in this volume was a plus, but the story was pretty thin. A bit predictable, considering the limited number of characters and settings. The whole thing could have been wrapped up in two Brave and the Bold issues instead of three extended premium issues in six chapters. I received a preview copy of this book from NetGalley.
    more
  • Chad
    June 12, 2017
    Take Crimson Peak and insert Deadman along with some gender politics, now you have pretty much the exact same plot as this book. I found the book yawn-inducing and unoriginal. This is the same story you hear in everything labeled Gothic Romance. Lan Medina's art was quite good though.Received an advance copy from DC and NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Ron
    June 28, 2017
    Boston Brand is a bit more than just a ghost. He is a ghost with a mission. But when he is drawn to Glencourt Manor and trapped, he finds he needs the help of the living to free the dead. The mystery lies with the ghost Adelia and her murder years ago. Once the reason for her death is uncovered, a way forward opens for most of the characters. An interesting haunted house tale.
    more
  • Amanda [Novel Addiction]
    June 7, 2017
    I liked it.
  • Lilyn G. (Scifi and Scary)
    June 7, 2017
    Review up soon.
  • Nightlizard
    June 11, 2017
    *Digital review copy provided by NetGalley & the publisher in exchange for an honest review or rating.
  • Natalie
    April 13, 2017
    Read as single issue comics. I'm giving it three stars but that's mostly for the lovely art. It's an ok little story but really doesn't have much of anything to do with Deadman, and if you don't already know who the character is you will probably be scratching your head about why he's even doing what he's doing. You'll be disappointed if you expected Deadman to be the main character of this book as he's used as more of side character in a LGBT romance. It's well done but just wasn't what I was e Read as single issue comics. I'm giving it three stars but that's mostly for the lovely art. It's an ok little story but really doesn't have much of anything to do with Deadman, and if you don't already know who the character is you will probably be scratching your head about why he's even doing what he's doing. You'll be disappointed if you expected Deadman to be the main character of this book as he's used as more of side character in a LGBT romance. It's well done but just wasn't what I was expecting I guess.
    more
  • Dave Wenzlick
    February 11, 2017
    Nice to see Deadman as the feature of a story.
Write a review