Kill All Happies
Last Call at Happies! Tonight, 8 P.M. Senior Class Only! Please with the Shhhh…. This is it. Graduation. And Vic Navarro is throwing the most epic party Rancho Soldado has ever seen. She’s going to pull off the most memorable good-bye ever for her best friends, give Happies—the kitschy restaurant that is her desert town’s claim to fame—a proper send-off into bankruptcy, and oh yes, hook up with her delicious crush, Jake Zavala-Kim. She only needs to keep the whole thing a secret so that her archnemesis, Miss Ann Thrope, Rancho Soldado’s nightmare Town Councilwoman and high school Economics teacher, doesn’t get Vic tossed in jail. With the music thumping, alcohol flowing, bodies mashing, and Thrope nowhere to be seen, Vic’s party is a raging success. That is, until Happies fans start arriving in droves to say good-bye, and storm the deserted theme park behind the restaurant. Suddenly what was a small graduation bash is more like Coachella on steroids with a side of RASmatazz pie. The night is so not going as planned. And maybe that’s the best plan of all.

Kill All Happies Details

TitleKill All Happies
Author
FormatHardcover
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseMay 2nd, 2017
PublisherDisney-Hyperion
ISBN1423157222
ISBN-139781423157229
Number of pages288 pages
Rating
GenreContemporary, Young Adult, Romance

Kill All Happies Review

  • Bookables Heather
    April 19, 2017
    3.Liked this book but wanted more. I found the characters to be a little unrealistic and the book was muddled down with it's own slang & etc. Very short & easy to fly through though!
  • Selene
    May 21, 2017
    2.5 Stars This was just meh. Also, I need clarification, is this suppose to be young adult or new adult?
  • Nicole Hewitt
    April 28, 2017
    This review and a giveaway of the book can be found on my blog: Feed Your Fiction AddictionI have a confession to make: I didn’t think I was going to like this book. In fact, when I received it in the mail and re-read the blurb, I thought to myself, “Why did I accept this book for review? What was I thinking? This is not my kind of book at all!” You see, I’m not usually a fan of the type of book that glorifies teenage partying and general bad behavior, and when I re-read the blurb, I was pretty This review and a giveaway of the book can be found on my blog: Feed Your Fiction AddictionI have a confession to make: I didn’t think I was going to like this book. In fact, when I received it in the mail and re-read the blurb, I thought to myself, “Why did I accept this book for review? What was I thinking? This is not my kind of book at all!” You see, I’m not usually a fan of the type of book that glorifies teenage partying and general bad behavior, and when I re-read the blurb, I was pretty sure that was what I was in for. I was wrong … sort of. Okay, fine, in some ways I was kind of right, but somehow Rachel Cohn made me like this book anyway.What Fed My Addiction:Vic. The main reason Kill All Happies ended up appealing to me is that the MC, even under relatively crazy circumstances, is surprisingly smart and level-headed. Oh, don’t get me wrong, she’s a teenager, and she makes some very “teenage logic” type decisions (now that I have teenagers of my own I know this logic oh-so-well). The fact that she’s throwing an entire party basically because she’s hoping to have sex with her best friend’s hot brother is not my favorite of motivations—but that’s not all there is to Vic. She cares about things—her friends, her community, what Happies restaurant symbolizes to them all. And she’s actually trying to be pretty intelligent about the party itself—she doesn’t judge anyone for acting crazy, but she repeatedly takes care of things to make sure nothing goes too far (well, she tries, at least). She needs this party as an outlet because her life as she knows it is ending (not because of happies, but because she and her friends are leaving), and she’s not 100% sure where it’s headed next. At the same time, we get a clear picture that Vic is more than capable—she’s just a bit lost. This makes her relatable (at least to me).Happies restaurant. The Happies restaurant element is actually what drew me in in the first place (that's why I first accepted the book for review---something about the concept drew me in). I loved the idea of this old diner (and even older amusement park) with a weird cult following. The parts of the book that involved the Happies fans were all sorts of amusing, and I could vividly imagine the old, broken down theme park. (Wouldn't it be incredibly fun to visit something like that?)The romance. I was fairly certain that the romance in this book was going to be a low-point for me, considering the fact that we knew from the start that Vic was just out for a booty call with her best friend’s older brother. He seems relatively sleazy, at that—not sure what he had going for him besides the fact that he’s hot. But Cohn turns things around on us and keeps us guessing, and I ended up loving how everything ended in the romance department.What Left Me Hungry for More:Underdeveloped secondary characters. Honestly, this book is about Vic, and everyone else is sort of a backdrop. Even Vic’s best friends feel a teensy bit like cardboard cutouts because we just don’t get to know them enough to truly care about them or their relationship with Vic. Because this book focuses a lot on the crazy events of the party night and on Vic’s experiences, there just isn’t time to do a lot of intense character development with the secondary characters. I still enjoyed many of them, but I would have liked a bit more. Then there was the “villain” of the book, Thrope, who pretty much came off as a cartoon character. We never get any true insight into why the heck Thrope is so insane, so we kind of just have to accept her at face value.Not reading this for realism. There were lots of points where I was rolling my eyes at the craziness, especially with interactions at the beginning and end of the book between Vic and Thrope. This book is a fun read, not a particularly grounded or realistic one.And, yep, it does glorify teen bad behavior at some points. Not gonna lie, I didn’t love everything that went on at Vic’s party, but I recognize that I’m not the target audience, and I felt like it was balanced a lot by Vic herself, who did seem to have a good head on her shoulders (except for her crush). My biggest issue is that there was casual drug use (even by Vic), which always really bugs me. I have personal issues with teen drug use being portrayed as “no big deal” based on events that happened to people close to me in my past, so I’m never a fan of this in books.I think “fun read” sums this book up pretty darn nicely. You certainly can’t go into this book expecting to take it too seriously—but if you’re like me, you’ll be surprised by how much Vic will grow on you, and you’ll kind of be rooting for that Happies party to go down in history for its awesomeness (and for its level of catastrophic failure). I give this book 3.5/5 Stars (which has easily been rounded to 4).***Disclosure: I received this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. No other compensation was given and all opinions are my own.***
    more
  • Christy
    April 2, 2017
    DNF @ page 68 because I can't handle the slurs. Nope.
  • Mike & Becca Sianez
    May 17, 2017
    My full review of Kill All Happies by Rachel Cohn: https://youtu.be/z-UXRLDF8Lw?list=PLz...
  • The Belle
    May 8, 2017
    Victoria Navarro has just graduated high school and is looking for a way to make the moment count. With one of her best friends jetting off to spend a year doing humanitarian work in Africa, and her own impending departure to San Francisco (thus completely dismantling the trio of girlfriends that have dubbed themselves "The Cuddle Huddle"), Vic is anxious to create some long-lasting memories and blow out of town with a bang. And it is imperative that she have her best friends, Fletch and Slick, Victoria Navarro has just graduated high school and is looking for a way to make the moment count. With one of her best friends jetting off to spend a year doing humanitarian work in Africa, and her own impending departure to San Francisco (thus completely dismantling the trio of girlfriends that have dubbed themselves "The Cuddle Huddle"), Vic is anxious to create some long-lasting memories and blow out of town with a bang. And it is imperative that she have her best friends, Fletch and Slick, right by her side. Rancho Soldado, a sleepy small town located in the shadow of Las Vegas, is just as ready for a big blow-out as she is. Happies, their resident safe place and iconic, tourist claim-to-fame, is closing up shop under the black cloud of bankruptcy. Bev Happie is ready to leave her childhood behind her and at the tender age of 75, is set on moving to Florida to begin anew with money made from the sale. Happies has been an institution in the town since her toddler years and although she's sad to see it end, Bev has no idea how to make things work anymore. Rancho is just far enough off the map that tourism has tapered off steadily enough over the years and hardly anyone comes through anymore - except the diehard Happies fans who are obsessed with the nostalgia that lives within the four walls of the restaurant and attached theme park. When Bev finally gives in to Vic's insistent begging, an idea is born. Vic is going to throw the biggest send-off party her town has ever seen; both for Happies and the graduating class. She will be able to say goodbye to life as she's known it in style and maybe, just maybe, she'll finally be able to hook up with the guy she's had her eyes on for years. Getting everything put together on short notice isn't going to be easy, especially with Vic's arch nemesis, Miss. Ann Thrope dogging her every step. Thrope has been looking for any opportunity to ruin her life for years and Vic just knows that if her old teacher gets wind of the party-of-the-century due to debut this weekend, all bets will be off. Fortunately for the Senior Class, Vic Navarro has never backed down from a chance to undermine her sworn enemy. Life is looking up.But as the party begins, it's just one problem after another:Jake, Vic's love interest and Slick's older brother, is in charge of the beer (courtesy of his broke-down car turned beer truck, christened The Chug Bug) but she can't seem to get him alone. And everything has to be on the down-low because Slick has expressly forbid her best friend from touching her brother.Evergrace Everdell, the weird and annoying homeschooled kid who wasn't invited, shows up anyway and starts causing trouble. She's spouting off nonsense about Vic not knowing the truth about her best friends, and it's making her uneasy.Zeke, the tall and emo brother to her crush, keeps following her around trying to be the voice of reason. Once he throws her cell phone into the night in an attempt to force her into having fun, she's technologically crippled and becomes unable to find her friends in the growing crowd.And despite orders that the party be kept as secret as possible and no social media posts made, everyone has blasted the news that last call at Happies is happening now. The result is tons of Happies fans have descended upon the town and broken into the long since condemned and off-limits theme park in back of the old restaurant - breaking the one rule Bev gave to Vic in exchange for giving her a location for the party.All hell has officially broken loose. Will Vic be able to find her friends and put some troubling rumors to rest? Will she finally be able to share more than a stolen kiss with the guy she's been crushing on for years, without her best friend finding out? Will she be able to keep the party under control long enough that someone doesn't inadvertently set the place on fire? Will she be able to host this evening of debauchery under Thrope's nose and pull of the con of all cons?And will she actually be able to say goodbye to Happies and Rancho Saldado for good?Kill All Happies is the new book from Rachel Cohn, an author best known for her work on Nick and Norah's Infinite Playlist and Gingerbread. She is a writer who celebrates a strong, female protagonist and Vic Navarro, star of Kill All Happies, is no exception. Cohn has a way of offering interesting and quirky characters that readers will enjoy getting to know. While Kill All Happies does indeed have several of these wonderful additions (Zeke, the punk-rocker with a heart of gold; Chester, the stoner older brother with a few surprises up his sleeve; Mayor Jerry, the resident hippie) I found that the antagonist, Miss. Ann Thrope, was sorely lacking. I would have loved for her to be a meatier villain with more depth - and I also would have enjoyed a stronger resolution between Vic and her mortal enemy. In fact, I would have preferred a stronger resolution for many things at the closing of the story. I was left wanting so much more. Rating this book a 3.5 stars out of 5 is hard, because I did enjoy the story a lot. What I didn't enjoy was what I felt to be an excessive use of profanity that in my opinion, dumbed the characters down. Not all teenagers feel the need to drop the F-bomb every other word just to get their points across, and I always find myself a bit annoyed when authors assume this. It's as if they have in their head that this is how a teenager speaks, and so they elaborate upon that dialect. Another issue I had was while I appreciate a bit of reckless debauchery as a rite of passage for any kid in the middle of that awkward transition from older teenager to adult, I was a bit put off by the careless mentions of casual sex and hookups. I'm not an idiot, I know teenagers have sex, but I had a hard time believing that the majority of girls feel so unemotional about it. I think the author was using casual sex as a way to empower Vic and instead, it just made her appear a bit disconnected. Maybe I'm old and out of touch, but as the mother to a teenage daughter, it just seemed odd. I loved - loved - loved the nostalgic feel of Happies and wish there was more background on the place that brought so many people - from all over the United States - together. It sounds like a place I would personally love to visit. Bev Happie was charming and a true staple in her community, which made it surprising that Rancho Saldado was okay with the place being closed down. But because Happies was so beloved, I had a hard time understanding how the devoted Happies fans would come into the old theme park and begin virtually destroying it via vandalism. It didn't quite make sense and was out of place. I recommend Kill All Happies to YA readers 16 and up, due to the language and sexual conversations. Please be advised that no actual sex is involved ( just talk of it, and is not graphic in nature).
    more
  • BookHookup
    May 9, 2017
    You can find Christina's original full review of this title here on The Book Hookup.*Disclaimer: An ARC of this title was provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review. However, that did not influence this review in any way. All thoughts, quotes, and opinions will be of this version and not of the published edition.♥ Quick Thoughts and Rating: Actual rating of 3.5 stars! With a sassy heroine and her two tried-and-true, Cuddle Huddle besties, the wrong guy, the right guy, and one l You can find Christina's original full review of this title here on The Book Hookup.*Disclaimer: An ARC of this title was provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review. However, that did not influence this review in any way. All thoughts, quotes, and opinions will be of this version and not of the published edition.♥ Quick Thoughts and Rating: Actual rating of 3.5 stars! With a sassy heroine and her two tried-and-true, Cuddle Huddle besties, the wrong guy, the right guy, and one last post-graduation celebratory hoorah at a theme park set for demolition, Kill All the Happies had me anticipating the worst but relishing in all the epicness of the best of times in this story that kept me laughing and turning the pages. I couldn't have predicted how awesome this night would turn out for the characters in this book filled with one disaster after the next trying to interrupt their fun-flow, or how frustratingly human some of those characters would turn out to be by the end.One thing I do know is this: Cohn captured the teen spirit like none other and this book was–forgive the language, but our heroine, Vic, and her beloved Bev Happie would definitely approve–a fucking riot!♥ Review: Let's get the nitty gritty out of the way, shall we? The thing is there is nothing live-shattering or earth-moving about the premise of this book. It's doesn't include a philosophical plot or verbose prose to make you ponder the deeper meaning of life. Hell, half of the time it borders on absolute absurdity, but the point of this novel (to me) was fun times, teenage debauchery, and to be a book that doesn't make you have to think too damn hard, and, as a matter of fact, I appreciated it for its simplicity. It had a fun cast of main and secondary characters (though, admittedly, some of them could have been fleshed out just a tad more) and a kind of insane plot built on the ideals of a teenage girl at the cusp of adulthood during the height of her revenge plot and lusty thoughts for her best friend's older brother.  Perhaps it was the right book at the right time, but the truth is, I enjoyed it. I laughed out loud and traversed this ridiculousness of it all with the characters until the very end. I don't want to go too much in-depth in regards to the plot, so I won't. However, I do want to add that it's definitely an experience, that's for sure.I think the best part for me was the friendships and how even the best of friends have their secrets and their flaws even within a tiny group such as the Cuddle Huddle. Oh, they fought–did and said some hurtful things–but in the end, the resiliency they had to overcome that tiny bit of bad in a time when so much of their lives was changing was perfect. We're human. We screw up, we will all inevitably make mistakes, some of them will even be huge ones, and the people you can always count on to support you even when you mess up the most is your best friends, and Vic was mighty damn lucky to grow up with the group she did.As for what I didn't necessarily love, well, the pacing lulled in so many places for me. If I wasn't so keyed up to see how the night would unfold from all the various shenanigans and the wild crowd in attendance, then I imagine it would have taken me quite a lot longer (than my already-longer-than-usual-reading pace) to finish this. ♥  Teaser Quote:      The two of us headed toward the Happies back door as Slick called to us from the Chug Bug. "I love you so much the moon farts snowflakes."      I called back, "We love you so much we'd even slay Bambi's mom if she got all up in your shit."     Fletch said, "We love you so much that afterward we'd take you with us in our murder-suicide pact 'cuz we're so distraught for being such fuckheads who'd kill Bambi's mother."     "Aw, you guys are the best," said Slick. "I love you so fucking much."     "SHUT UP!" the brothers Z-K said. –quote taken from the ARC of Kill All the Happies, pg. 109 ♥ Rec It? Sure! The pacing may not have had my heart racing but the entertainment of this crazy cast certainly kept me flipping the pages.♥  A very special thanks to Disney-Hyperion (especially the lovely Ms. Cassie) for providing me with an advanced copy of this title.
    more
  • Michelle
    May 18, 2017
    **You can see this full review and more at Book Briefs: https://bookbriefs.net**Kill all Happies is a standalone young adult contemporary novel by Rachel Cohn. I know this is going to sound crazy, but this is the first book I have read by Rachel. Kill All Happies is a story of a senior class' last hurrah. And boy oh boy is it one heck of a night for them. I really enjoyed this crazy over the top story. It was a lot of fun to read. It was certainly not like any graduation party I have seen in rea **You can see this full review and more at Book Briefs: https://bookbriefs.net**Kill all Happies is a standalone young adult contemporary novel by Rachel Cohn. I know this is going to sound crazy, but this is the first book I have read by Rachel. Kill All Happies is a story of a senior class' last hurrah. And boy oh boy is it one heck of a night for them. I really enjoyed this crazy over the top story. It was a lot of fun to read. It was certainly not like any graduation party I have seen in real life, but I am sure graduation parties like this have taken place many times. Rachel Cohn has a very snappy and funny writing style. It was one of the things I enjoyed most about the story. The first page of the book had me laughing out loud, which I knew was going to a sign of great things to come. Happies is a local restaurant, that also has an amusement park?! What? How could something that sounds that cool, close down? Victoria, or Vic, was the favorite worst server at Happies, and she wants to throw the party to end all parties for her graduating class. At first, I wasn't a huge fan of Vic, but I tell you what...she totally grew on me. I thought this book was going to be all about superficial fun. And I think mostly it was. And that part was a blast. But there was this unexpected element of nostalgia, that I really appreciated from Vic and from Kill all Happies. It helped me relate to her on a deeper level. Because I totally get the sadness that comes with saying goodbye to your high school friends and the stress that comes with the uncertainty of college or other future plans. It was this aspect of Kill all Happies that I really loved. The romance was ok and and the secondary characters were all ok as well. The plot was hilarious. It kind of reminded me of the hangover movies, or those other movies that take place in one 24 hour period where everything goes wrong. And each time it one ups the last time. I mean some of the things were epically ridiculous, which I loved. It makes me laugh just thinking about some of the things that happened in this book. But you know what? The crazier the story got, the more I liked Vic. (she certainly does curse a lot though. I have nothing against cursing, but it felt a little heavy handed at times.) Kill all Happies is a really fun ride. I loved all the zany antics, and I really loved Rachel Cohn's writing style. If you are looking for a really funny young adult read that has a little romance, lots of bad decisions (and some good ones) and lots of fun, Kill all Happies is one heck of a fun read. I really enjoyed this one. This review was originally posted on Book Briefs
    more
  • Beth Roberts
    May 29, 2017
    DNF at 41%.Alrighty, then. I am pretty sure I will be reviled for the following ranting review, but I just gotta say what's on my mind.When I was in school, being taught and encouraged to write fiction, the party line of the day was, "Write what you know." Maybe that's why I didn't pursue writing - maybe I just don't know much, but I know this: I'm a middle-aged heterosexual white chick. I grew up in the fifth largest city in the US, which has larger-than-average Hispanic, black, Asian, and LGBQ DNF at 41%.Alrighty, then. I am pretty sure I will be reviled for the following ranting review, but I just gotta say what's on my mind.When I was in school, being taught and encouraged to write fiction, the party line of the day was, "Write what you know." Maybe that's why I didn't pursue writing - maybe I just don't know much, but I know this: I'm a middle-aged heterosexual white chick. I grew up in the fifth largest city in the US, which has larger-than-average Hispanic, black, Asian, and LGBQTIA(etc.) populations. I was raised by progressive liberal Democrats in the Republican South.Personally, I think people are people before they're anything else. And I think everybody should be able to be whomever they wish to be. I'm a live-and-let-live kinda gal, mostly.But I'm getting old, because three times in the last week I've had to look up new sexual identity terms on Urban Dictionary. I had no idea you could identify as Bi but have a strong attraction to inanimate objects as well.On Booktube, I keep hearing about Diversity Bingo, and reading to tick off slots on your Diversity Card.Ooooh-kay.I read because I love to read. If a story appeals to me, I'll read it. With a lot of recent YA novels, however, I feel like the authors aren't writing what they know so much as ticking off slots on their Diversity Bingo cards in a blatant money grab.Seriously, when I look at people, I'm usually trying to determine if they'll make good friends or coworkers. Their diverse sexual proclivities don't concern me at all. Nor do many of them want to know that I am strongly attracted to Latino males.This book. I picked it up because it has a cute package. Yes, I am also shallow. I like cute things. It has a map of a theme park that kinda reminded me of a place from my childhood.And then this book ran off the rails with such diverse diversity it never developed a storyline. The characters were so busy being diverse characters they forgot to develop any sort of personalities beyond cookie-cutter standups.I'm all for gay marriage, interracial marriage, sperm donors, Third-World adoptions, and sex with mail boxes if that's your thing (just not my mail box, please). If you want to write about those things, that's great, too. It just seems to me, though, that if you throw all the colors of the rainbow into one book because it's the current cool thing to do, you muddy everything up, your cause loses its point and you end up with a shallow, gray, ugly mess.The best people are the ones who just go around being themselves. Usually the message comes across without a hammer.
    more
  • Christina
    May 8, 2017
    You can find my full review of this title here on The Book Hookup.*Disclaimer: An ARC of this title was provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review. However, that did not influence this review in any way. All thoughts, quotes, and opinions will be of this version and not of the published edition.Actual rating of 3.5 stars!This was far from anything revolutionary in the world of YA contemp, but it made me laugh out loud more than a handful of times and the characters had spunk. Y You can find my full review of this title here on The Book Hookup.*Disclaimer: An ARC of this title was provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review. However, that did not influence this review in any way. All thoughts, quotes, and opinions will be of this version and not of the published edition.Actual rating of 3.5 stars!This was far from anything revolutionary in the world of YA contemp, but it made me laugh out loud more than a handful of times and the characters had spunk. Yes, it bordered on absurd more often than not, but with teenagers and their grand graduation party, what more could you possibly expect.Mostly, I loved the heroine and her two best friends. I also loved the boy, even if it wasn't the boy it was supposed to have been. The pacing was off for me, though, and I was missing a bit of deeper explorations of certain characters, so that's where my rating fell off the most.♥ A very special thanks to Disney-Hyperion (especially the lovely Ms. Cassie) for providing me with an advanced copy of this title.
    more
  • Cristi-Lael
    May 31, 2017
    I'm rather bummed that I didn't enjoy this book more. The premise sounded very fun, the cover and title are adorable, and I've read Cohn's work with David Levithan and liked it quite a lot. However, I did not like this book, and it definitely didn't read like a seasoned author wrote it. I'm sure part of the problem was that I'm not a fan of irreverent teen books. I'm completely fine with teens being strong willed and standing up for themselves, but this crossed a line and these teens didn't have I'm rather bummed that I didn't enjoy this book more. The premise sounded very fun, the cover and title are adorable, and I've read Cohn's work with David Levithan and liked it quite a lot. However, I did not like this book, and it definitely didn't read like a seasoned author wrote it. I'm sure part of the problem was that I'm not a fan of irreverent teen books. I'm completely fine with teens being strong willed and standing up for themselves, but this crossed a line and these teens didn't have respect for much of anyone or any thing. I dislike that greatly. But I think what bothered me the most is that the story was disjointed. It jumped all over the place and conclusions were reached that didn't have a pathway to get there. Characters were flat, situations were contrived, conclusions and conversations were far fetched and unbelievable. Now, much of this would be expected from a budding author whose work hasn't been edited yet, but not from a seasoned author. It was a let down, to be sure.
    more
  • Shyla Colt
    June 2, 2017
    I was expecting this book to feel like a fun 80s read. The whole story centers around know last bash at the local restaurant there closing for good. What I got was a female lead, Victoria Vic who I greatly disliked. She read as extremely immature, single-minded, and not very likeable. There were plenty of interesting places and background stories, but this feel flat. It lacked the quirky, funny, and fresh feel I've come to associate with Rachel Cohn.The plot felt flimsy and I was disappointed wi I was expecting this book to feel like a fun 80s read. The whole story centers around know last bash at the local restaurant there closing for good. What I got was a female lead, Victoria Vic who I greatly disliked. She read as extremely immature, single-minded, and not very likeable. There were plenty of interesting places and background stories, but this feel flat. It lacked the quirky, funny, and fresh feel I've come to associate with Rachel Cohn.The plot felt flimsy and I was disappointed with the things not explored. Also, not okay with field referring to themselves or each other as dumbsluts. #nothanks There were some fun moments , but overall this was a luke warm read for me.
    more
  • E. M.
    March 18, 2017
    In the small desert town of Rancho Soldado, Nevada, the restaurant Happies is beloved by its residents. But it is about to close its doors, for good. Victoria "Vic" Navarro, a former employee of Happies and a high school senior, decides to throw an epic graduation party there before the place shuts down. Unfortunately, not everybody in Rancho Soldado is for an Happies' last brawl. Ann Thrope, a rigid teacher who's feuding with Vic, makes it her personal mission to stop the party. But, Vic's dete In the small desert town of Rancho Soldado, Nevada, the restaurant Happies is beloved by its residents. But it is about to close its doors, for good. Victoria "Vic" Navarro, a former employee of Happies and a high school senior, decides to throw an epic graduation party there before the place shuts down. Unfortunately, not everybody in Rancho Soldado is for an Happies' last brawl. Ann Thrope, a rigid teacher who's feuding with Vic, makes it her personal mission to stop the party. But, Vic's determined; she and her friends will have their RASmatazz pie and eat it too before the night is over. 2.5 StarsKill All Happies is a contemporary teen novel by author Rachel Cohn. I've read Lily and Dash's Book of Dares by Cohn, so I already knew the writing style would appeal to me. I'm not necessary a fan of Cohn, but a remember thinking Lily and Dash's Book of Dares was a charming, light-hearted read. Kill All Happies is, technically, an interesting concept. Granted, the crazy, over-the-top graduation party has been done before many times, but Kill All Happies sets itself apart with a string of original and diverse characters and endearing setting. Rancho Soldado, although very different, reminded me of Stars Hollow, Gilmore Girls' fictional town. It had the same feeling of warmth and close-knit community. Although I enjoyed the setting and characters of Cohn's novel, I thought that many things were problematic. At 288 pages, Kill All Happies should have been an easy read, but I found myself putting it down several times out of boredom. While many elements of the novel were interesting, the emphasis was put, most of the time, on least taking content. For example, Vic and her friend group have a special dynamic which wasn't fully explored and mostly stayed on the surface, while Vic interacted more profoundly with less interesting characters. The events of the book spread over less than 24-hours, however, it is difficult to believe that so many happened in so little time. The lack of realism is really an issue in Kill All Happies. Cohn manages to maintain a realistic outlook of teenagers for most of the book, with a few slips here and there. However, when Cohn slips, she really falls down hard.Victoria "Vic" Navarro is the main character of Kill All Happies. She's your typical teenager; selfish and entitled, but also insecure. I felt like Cohn painted a realistic portrait of an eighteen year-old high school senior. However, the swearing was a bit heavy at times. It was unnecessary and lowered the quality of the novel. One of the things that I appreciated about Cohn's novel was the many colorful characters. There was a lot of potential in the way the were introduced. However, most of them weren't developed enough, or at all. Ann Thrope is a cardboard cut-out of a villain, without any nuances. Not enough pages were given to Slick and Fletch, Vic's best friends, or the girls' friendship. I thought that was a shame that Cohn had three interesting characters she chose not to develop. (view spoiler)[It is repeated many times throughout Kill All Happies that the most important thing for Vic is her group of friends, but the readers can't empathize with her when said friendship falls apart because Cohn gave us nothing to care about the friendship. (hide spoiler)] Another issue I had with Kill All Happies was that it had too many characters for its length. I had to go back many times because I couldn't remember certain characters that were introduced in the beginning of the book, only to reappear dozen of pages later. Some of the content in Kill All Happies was misguided. I especially didn't like the main character's comment on domestic violence and how it couldn't happen in Rancho Soldado because they weren't "hicks". To have a character that oblivious about domestic violence and abuse was irritating. (view spoiler)[Furthermore, Vic assumed that Zeke was gay for years because of his choice of clothing and colorful dye in his hair. Again, Vic is oblivious. So oblivious, it falls onto the ridiculous side. The whole thing was distasteful. (hide spoiler)]Kill All Happies is an average teen novel with an interesting premise, but underdeveloped characters. Unfortunately, I wouldn't be able to recommend this book to younger teenagers because of the explicit content which includes swearing, underage drinking, drug use , etc.
    more
  • Sanjana
    January 25, 2017
    Note: I received an e-copy of this book from Disney-Hyperion via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.POSSIBLE SPOILERS AHEAD!Kill All Happies is a fun book, light hearted filled with warmth. The book edges towards absurdity at certain parts, but all of it comes off as charming enough that I didn't mind it. The story focuses on the night of the Happies party, told to us by Victoria, who didn't really stand out from any of your run-off-the-mill YA character. However, being generic is not so Note: I received an e-copy of this book from Disney-Hyperion via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.POSSIBLE SPOILERS AHEAD!Kill All Happies is a fun book, light hearted filled with warmth. The book edges towards absurdity at certain parts, but all of it comes off as charming enough that I didn't mind it. The story focuses on the night of the Happies party, told to us by Victoria, who didn't really stand out from any of your run-off-the-mill YA character. However, being generic is not something you can hold against her. She is a well written eighteen year old, who sounds and acts like it, which I think serves the purpose. The book also has a slew of other characters, some of them adorable in their own way (like Zeke), while a lot of them simply fade to the background.One thing that did bother me was the lack of character dimensionality. Due to the fact that all the events transpire over a single night and there were plenty of characters, I ended up seeing all of them as very one dimensional people. When Vic had a fight with her friends, I couldnt care much, because I didnt care too much about her friends. Her arch-nemesis, Thorpe, didnt anger or annoy me, because she wasn't around or developed enough for me to care about. Most oft these just seemed like plot points for the sake of it, to move the story forward. However, it would have been interesting to learn more about some of these characters. (I have to mention Vic's brother Chester here, who seemed way too interesting to have been so underdeveloped).The romance in the story also sort of springs out of nowhere. (view spoiler)[ While the two characters did seem to share a fun chemistry and were their best when they were interacting with each other, I felt like them just kissing and getting together by the end of the night seemed a little too contrived. It wouldve made more sense for an open possibility of a romantic future between them, without forcing it near the end of the book. Also, Jake was a huge problem for me. The fact that Jake, who I'm assuming is way over 18, had images of himself making out with underage girls on his phone doesn't sit right with me. Maybe I'm reading too much into it, but the fact that everyone brushed that off didnt feel right. Also, boo Mercedes, for blaming her friends while her brother was the sleazy pervert. Not cool! (hide spoiler)]The plot is predictable, but fun. You look at the cover of the book and you expect an adorable YA book, the feel good kind. And this is exactly what you get out of it. The book did have its moments, particularly when the book talks about Happies. You can imagine the old theme park, the diner, you feel the love that everyone has for it. It makes you want to find Happies too, youre rooting for it by the end of the book. I think thats the major win for me. I would recommend this book for anyone who wants a fun, light hearted read, to breeze through in one day.
    more
  • RemiV Foliage
    February 11, 2017
    *I received this book as an ARC from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review*I like Rachel's writing. This book is loud and fun. It made me wonder if my graduation party could have been like that. The story took place in only a few days. There were too many things happened in just three days (or two? depends on how you see the a.m. hours) So many things in these hours reduced the authenticity of the characters.
    more
  • Hallie
    March 22, 2017
    Note: I received an advance copy of this book from NetGalley.Rachel Cohn's latest book sounds really fun. A big party after high school graduation, tons of pies, an abandoned restaurant and theme park, and all your best friends. And there were fun parts of this book like the exploration of the run down theme park but it suffered from stereotypes, underdeveloped characters, and surface diversity without accurate representation. Vic was a believable teenager who was sometimes selfish, but loved he Note: I received an advance copy of this book from NetGalley.Rachel Cohn's latest book sounds really fun. A big party after high school graduation, tons of pies, an abandoned restaurant and theme park, and all your best friends. And there were fun parts of this book like the exploration of the run down theme park but it suffered from stereotypes, underdeveloped characters, and surface diversity without accurate representation. Vic was a believable teenager who was sometimes selfish, but loved her friends and her town. I appreciated that her best friend pointed out that Vic romanticized her hometown and often turned people into "one-dimensional roles" for her convenience. Vic was able to confront the way she hid behind villianizing someone, like her teacher, in order to avoid her real life. This is a believable trait that many people have but some of the assumptions and roles Vic made were racist and unnecessary. For example, she sees a group of Chinese businessmen and assumes they are "homogenizing" her town and "destroying" the environment. The scene ends with Vic feeling vindicated in her moral superiority because she's against big box stores and never confronts her stereotypical assumptions or finds out what they businessmen were doing. Vic also has a brief moral dilemma about giving beers to a "devout Muslim" though she hasn't expressed the same fear for any of her other underage classmates that she's sold beers to. Because the girl wears a hijab, referred to only as a scarf in this book several times, Vic feels as if it's her place to judge if this girl should be drinking or not because she has an outward sign of her religion. Vic walks into a few other sticky situations because she jumps to conclusions and not all of them are confronted by the end of the book.I was incredibly disturbed by a particular scene when (view spoiler)[ a high school student slipped psychedelic mushrooms to a teacher without the teacher's consent. This is not appropriate behavior for someone of any age and Cohn never addressed this behavior. It was celebrated as a funny way to get revenge on a teacher. (hide spoiler)]Overall, this book had potential but didn't quite work for me. I liked Vic and her close group of friends but it was hard to root for any of them with the short time frame and no flashbacks to establish their friendship.
    more
  • Suzanne Dix
    June 1, 2017
    Victoria (Vic) Navarro is throwing the most epic high school graduation party at the now out of business Happies Restaurant and Theme Park. Happies has been a local fixture in Rancho Soldado for generations and Vic is determined to give the place a final tribute. Naturally, Vic and best friends Genesis and Mercedes have to keep this party on the down low and for sure need to make certain that Miss Ann Thrope (pun definitely intended), the meanest teacher in Rancho Soldado doesn’t find out becaus Victoria (Vic) Navarro is throwing the most epic high school graduation party at the now out of business Happies Restaurant and Theme Park. Happies has been a local fixture in Rancho Soldado for generations and Vic is determined to give the place a final tribute. Naturally, Vic and best friends Genesis and Mercedes have to keep this party on the down low and for sure need to make certain that Miss Ann Thrope (pun definitely intended), the meanest teacher in Rancho Soldado doesn’t find out because she will definitely shut it down. Vic, a master planner, is scarily persuasive and pulls together this party in less than 12 hours, recruiting Mercedes’ two brothers, Jake and Zeke, to respectively supply the beer and create the playlist. Vic has serious aspirations to end the night with Jake but one crazy misadventure after another (a Happies fan club crashes the party, Miss Thrope is on the war path, and Zeke is proving to be surprisingly good “date” for the evening) throw all her plans out the window. The narration is hilarious and with so much tongue in cheek humor, this novel offers many laugh out loud moments. A funny, if at times raunchy, escapade that will do well with collections that need some lightweight fiction to balance heavier, emotionally charged realistic fiction. Recommended grades 10 and up.
    more
  • Christiane
    February 28, 2017
    ‘If you can’t beat them, party!’ – This was so much fun! Finally a book that throws caution to the wind and rejects deep and complex characters and a well-developed plot. As much as I crave those, it’s sometimes just very refreshing to read something that’s pure joy. I’ve been reading quite a lot of YA novels recently, and all shared a common trait: they desperately tried to come up with something unique and meaningful. This book, however, never pretends to do either of these things and I loved ‘If you can’t beat them, party!’ – This was so much fun! Finally a book that throws caution to the wind and rejects deep and complex characters and a well-developed plot. As much as I crave those, it’s sometimes just very refreshing to read something that’s pure joy. I’ve been reading quite a lot of YA novels recently, and all shared a common trait: they desperately tried to come up with something unique and meaningful. This book, however, never pretends to do either of these things and I loved it for it. So what’s the story?Victoria (Vic) Navarro lives in Rancho Soldado, a small desert town in Southern California, where the weather is sweltering and the people easy-going. Although Rancho Soldado hasn’t much to offer, Vic feels very tied to her hometown for several reasons. Reason number one: the Cuddle Huddle aka she and her two best friends Slick and Fletch, who have been inseparable since childhood. Secondly, there’s Slick’s older, incredibly hot and out-of-bounds-for-Vic brother Jake. And, most importantly, there’s ‘Happies’, a restaurant famous for its Pies as much as its owners who, for generations, have brought joy and happiness (and high-calorie food) to the residents of Rancho Soldado. ‘Happies’ even has a nationwide fan club whose fans are just known as ‘Happies’. But said restaurant is about to close down. Vic and her friends are also at a crossroads. They just graduated high school and now prepare to leave the nest and each other. If this doesn’t call for a ginormous, crazy, revelry of a party, what does?! And maybe Vic can even impress small-town hunk Jake and finally get her much longed for wish to get cozy with him in the back of his beer delivering van. Unfortunately, Vic hasn’t reckoned with how far Miss Ann Thrope, teacher, former beauty pageant winner and Satan’s spawn who makes Dolores Umbridge look like kind nursery teacher, would go to deter Vic from her plans to give all her schoolmates a well-deserved farewell. So what’s going to happen when Ms. Thrope arrives with a rifle in hand and declares to ‘Kill all Happies’?Well, find out for yourself if you are into crazy stories that don’t pretend to explore the deeper meaning of life. Instead, this story is charged with sizzling heat and sex, and features likable characters and lots of beer and RASmatazz Pie! It strongly reminded of some 90s and Noughties teen movies that didn’t give a damn about expectations or politics and instead were just plain silly. The ones that were slashed for being ridiculous but everyone secretly enjoyed enormously. Of course, this book cannot be taken seriously and obviously has some flaws in plot development. Also, some things are too predictable. But then again, who cares? I don’t think this mashup of American Pie and Teaching Mrs. Tingle will ever see a school library, but every high school student will want to get their hands on it nevertheless. Particularly girls will enjoy these self-confident female characters who are very open about their sexuality and who just take possession of whatever comes their way: friends, boys, self-actualisation, big dreams as well as small ones. In the end, it’s also an ode to small-town life. This tale of a dying childhood in an economically dying town is full of nostalgia without being kitschy. I’d love to celebrate Taco o’clock with Vic and the Cuddle Huddle on their front porch with a cold drink on a hot night reminiscent of days gone by.(Thanks to netgalley and Disney-Hyperion for this digital ARC.)
    more
  • Becky
    April 29, 2017
    Originally published at www,bickeringbookreviews.comI received an eARC of this book through Netgalley in exchange of for an honest review."Kill All Happies" takes place on graduation night. Our heroine is Victoria, Vic, Navarro recent high school graduate who is planning on flee her small town life to the big city glamour of San Francisco. But before she leaves she has one simple plan. She wants to throw the perfect graduation party so she can lure her brother's best friend into a hot hook-up. V Originally published at www,bickeringbookreviews.comI received an eARC of this book through Netgalley in exchange of for an honest review."Kill All Happies" takes place on graduation night. Our heroine is Victoria, Vic, Navarro recent high school graduate who is planning on flee her small town life to the big city glamour of San Francisco. But before she leaves she has one simple plan. She wants to throw the perfect graduation party so she can lure her brother's best friend into a hot hook-up. Vic even has the perfect place: Happies, the former amusement park that was once beloved by her community but has since been closed down. Can Vic pull of the perfect night of debauchery and get her guy?This book has everything that I usually love in a fluffy novel. There is a sassy heroine, a fun premises, and just the right level of melodrama. But it just didn't work for me. I never warmed up to Vic. She was too intense and blasé but never actually likable. The cast of characters surrounding her felt like cliches of the cool kids who were never developed beyond caricatures and the dreamy boy that she was desperate to be with just came off as a jerk. The actual plot was basically a bunch of people say "Want to party now" and a few people saying "No you can't party now". I don't demand a book to be brilliant and this premise could have allowed for a fun mindless read except all the zany misadventures culminated into me not caring at all about what was happen. The only plus in for me was the relationship between Vic and her brother. Their interactions were limited but they felt genuine. "Kill All Happies" with it's interesting premise and time tested author should have become a must read but with it's lack of character development and slow moving plot the book has definitely found a spot on my skip it list.
    more
  • Mrs. Kenyon
    May 12, 2017
    It is the day after graduation and Vic is planning to host the best after graduation party Rancho Soldado has ever experienced. She finally has permission from the selling owner of Happies to have this last hurrah before the buildings are torn down. Vic wants a last good party with her friends and she is hoping this will also be the perfect opportunity to hook up with Jake, her secret crush. The party is a success and everyone is having a good time, but when Happies fans decide they want to join It is the day after graduation and Vic is planning to host the best after graduation party Rancho Soldado has ever experienced. She finally has permission from the selling owner of Happies to have this last hurrah before the buildings are torn down. Vic wants a last good party with her friends and she is hoping this will also be the perfect opportunity to hook up with Jake, her secret crush. The party is a success and everyone is having a good time, but when Happies fans decide they want to join this final celebration, this fun party becomes an uncontrollable monster.Kill All Happies is a stand-alone novel that takes a while to take off, but eventually will pull readers in. Whether readers are looking forward to their own graduation party or are fondly remembering it, the party vibe is easily relatable. There are some stupid decisions and logical consequences, but Cohn doesn’t present the story as a lesson-to-be-learned tale. A good read, but won’t be added to everyone’s TBR list.
    more
  • Erin
    June 1, 2017
    I'm boosting it up another star because I remember graduating high school and feeling torn between wanting to hang on to the world you know but also wanting to bolt out of there like a bat out of hell. Basically, the idea is good enough--high schooler wants to throw one last bash at a restaurant/amusement park that's going under the day after. Insert evil villain teacher, best friends, a boy, and another boy. Hilarity ensues. It's okay. It's not great, the MC's decisions are eyeroll worthy and I I'm boosting it up another star because I remember graduating high school and feeling torn between wanting to hang on to the world you know but also wanting to bolt out of there like a bat out of hell. Basically, the idea is good enough--high schooler wants to throw one last bash at a restaurant/amusement park that's going under the day after. Insert evil villain teacher, best friends, a boy, and another boy. Hilarity ensues. It's okay. It's not great, the MC's decisions are eyeroll worthy and I'm not stoked about the constant use of 'dumbslut' as a term of...endearment I guess. If I were in high school I'd probably dig this more, and I can see this as a made for tv movie or something with geared down language.
    more
  • Alysa
    May 25, 2017
    I listened to the audio book. I honestly almost stopped listening within the first chapter or two. I couldn't stand the narrator. Everything about her voice was bothering me. I especially hated her voice for guys. Every one of them was either stoned guy sounding or emo weird kid sounding. Idk..After a while I did start to enjoy the story. I like how the main girl (what's her name?) said things like... the sound of her stomach growling out loud was embarrassing but not as much as a fart would hav I listened to the audio book. I honestly almost stopped listening within the first chapter or two. I couldn't stand the narrator. Everything about her voice was bothering me. I especially hated her voice for guys. Every one of them was either stoned guy sounding or emo weird kid sounding. Idk..After a while I did start to enjoy the story. I like how the main girl (what's her name?) said things like... the sound of her stomach growling out loud was embarrassing but not as much as a fart would have been. That reminded me of something I'd say/think. I totally saw that relationship coming btw. I never "see things coming." Which leads me to believe that throws book really was 💯. P.S// I never want to that voice sing the happies song ever again. 🙄😭🙄
    more
  • TaBetha
    May 25, 2017
    Such a fun and easy read! I listened to the audiobook while I was working and really enjoyed it. It was easy to follow without giving it 100% of my attention. I don't think I've laughed so much during reading/listening in a long time. If you're looking for a read that you don't have to think about to enjoy, this might be the one.Note: even though this deals with a graduation party, I'd say it's more New Adult than Young Adult. There are a lot of sexual references and the language is a bit rough Such a fun and easy read! I listened to the audiobook while I was working and really enjoyed it. It was easy to follow without giving it 100% of my attention. I don't think I've laughed so much during reading/listening in a long time. If you're looking for a read that you don't have to think about to enjoy, this might be the one.Note: even though this deals with a graduation party, I'd say it's more New Adult than Young Adult. There are a lot of sexual references and the language is a bit rough for YA.
    more
  • Paige
    June 6, 2017
    This book was really good and full of surprises. It took place in roughly a day and a crazy day it was! I recommend this book to anyone who doesn't mind people swearing and who can read YA books smoothly.
  • Elizabeth Pratt
    May 22, 2017
    The perfect end of summer, before school starts novel. I'm the dumbass that read it at the end of spring though. 10/10 Would recommend especially to those who, like me, are heading into a new stage of their life and have no idea what they're about
  • katherine ✨
    May 7, 2017
    DNF at 25%, I just can't get into it...Yeah not for me, maybe another time?? :/
  • Justin Hosten
    June 4, 2017
    Quite a funny book, especially the name of the central villain. More coarse language than I thought was necessary, though.
  • Anna
    June 6, 2017
    I actually really liked Zeke until he turned out to be straight. Literally what the hell.
  • Reving
    May 30, 2017
    http://revingsblog.blogspot.com/2017/...
  • meg chia
    February 4, 2017
    I was sent and early e-copy of this book via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.RATING : 4.5 starsThis book is basically about Vic who is graduating from high school, decided that she wanted to throw one last party at Happie's. Impromptu set-up and last minute decorations, the party was on and everyone was here! This is a book about an epic party gone wrong and maybe finding love and regain friendship in it!Firstly let me just tell you HOW HAPPY I WAS WITH THE ENDING! THE LAST FEW CHAPTE I was sent and early e-copy of this book via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.RATING : 4.5 starsThis book is basically about Vic who is graduating from high school, decided that she wanted to throw one last party at Happie's. Impromptu set-up and last minute decorations, the party was on and everyone was here! This is a book about an epic party gone wrong and maybe finding love and regain friendship in it!Firstly let me just tell you HOW HAPPY I WAS WITH THE ENDING! THE LAST FEW CHAPTERS WERE THE BEST! I loved how everything was wrapped up and it's an amazing contemporary! I was so happy with the friendship and romance in this book! OH MY GOSH! I NEVER REGRETTED REQUESTING THIS TITLE!Plot, this book is set in the course of the day before the party, the party and the day after so it's a short period of time, only within the three days but the content was packed and so a lot of things happened in the book so even it's only set the day before, during and after the party it's an amazing book regardless!A+ FOR THE WRITING! I may have just found a new favorite author! Rachel Cohn has the sense of humor that I needed in the book! It's so funny and witty and the way she described the things that happened, it's totally my cup of tea! I really, really loved the way she writes and how she conveyed events, things and characters into words.CHARACTERS ARE JUST TOP NOTCH! My favorite had to be Zeke Zavala-Kim! He's such a cute character and so lovable! Of course, I also enjoyed Vic's narration and her thoughts when she was facing problems and et cetera. I really loved the friendship between Vic and The Cuddle Huddle, and the romance in the story was just SO DELICIOUS! I delved into the book thinking it would be a cliche kind of party but in the party, it was wrapped with friendship and maybe a little bit of love in it which was not what I've expected at all! I rated this a 4.5 because I think the ending was kind of rushed and it ended in a blink of an eye! I want to know more of Thrope's backstory but was disappointed a little when it was just a short little paragraph of explaining but at least it did the job! I would totally recommend this to anyone who loves party books and a funny character! This one is a must read for those who like things to get out of control, and the ones who love to break rules, and of course, party!
    more
Write a review