Batman
Innocent victims maimed or broken by Batman's greatest enemies band together, and they blame Batman and his fellow vigilantes for what happened to them just as much as they blame the psychopaths who hurt them. Batman and his newly trained team of allies must take on these troubled souls, but one of Batman's teammates can't help but think they might have a point... From writer James Tynion (Batman/TMNT) comes the second volume of the return of Detective Comics! Collecting: Detective Comics 943-947

Batman Details

TitleBatman
Author
FormatPaperback
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseMay 16th, 2017
PublisherDC Comics
ISBN1401268919
ISBN-139781401268916
Number of pages168 pages
Rating
GenreSequential Art, Comics, Dc Comics, Batman, Superheroes, Graphic Novels, Graphic Novels Comics

Batman Review

  • James DeSantis
    February 15, 2017
    Don't be confused by the 3 star. The actual Victim Syndicate storyline is great. It's well told, powerful, and exciting. It's the Batwoman storyline I could have lived without. (Issue 948 and 499 which is what they say will be included in the volume on Amazon) The victim syndicate is all about the fallout of Robin and Batman dealing with a group of people who wants to prove how dangerous the bat is. How many lives he touches negatively. What I really enjoyed here is watching Batman doubt himself Don't be confused by the 3 star. The actual Victim Syndicate storyline is great. It's well told, powerful, and exciting. It's the Batwoman storyline I could have lived without. (Issue 948 and 499 which is what they say will be included in the volume on Amazon) The victim syndicate is all about the fallout of Robin and Batman dealing with a group of people who wants to prove how dangerous the bat is. How many lives he touches negatively. What I really enjoyed here is watching Batman doubt himself. Wondering if he even remembers names or faces of the people he hurt indirectly in dealing with villains. The snydicate isn't just the regular "bad guys" they def have some true and good motive. It's just their approach that is wrong. Also we get to see the other character's deal with Tim's death. Especially Spoiler, who still won't forgive Bruce. Which is very understandable. I didn't love how quick her change was but I did like the fact she simply doesn't forgive him right away. It's called doubt, it's called emotion, and sometimes they trump logic. I really enjoyed that. The Batwoman storyline at the end was cool to get some background on her, but I just...I dunno didn't care. She's the least interesting member for me and I was having a hard time focusing or caring about her plot. It felt like a waste. So for here I'd go VS storyline - 4. Batwoman - 2 = 3 overall. Or 3.5. Either way another solid volume, much better than current Batman solo series.
    more
  • Artemy Nizovtsev
    January 25, 2017
    Another solid volume of Detective Comics by James Tynion. The main storyline, The Victim Syndicate, started out a bit unexciting, but ended up being pretty good. Focused mostly around Spoiler, Clayface and Red Robin, it was a pretty interesting and emotional story, dragged down a bit by Tynion's clunky writing style. The second two-issue story about Batwoman was pretty bland, probably because it was a continuation of the Monster Men event, which I skipped. Still, I am pretty excited about the up Another solid volume of Detective Comics by James Tynion. The main storyline, The Victim Syndicate, started out a bit unexciting, but ended up being pretty good. Focused mostly around Spoiler, Clayface and Red Robin, it was a pretty interesting and emotional story, dragged down a bit by Tynion's clunky writing style. The second two-issue story about Batwoman was pretty bland, probably because it was a continuation of the Monster Men event, which I skipped. Still, I am pretty excited about the upcoming Batwoman Rebirth, and will definitely check it out. At least Detective Comics continues to be much better than the solo Batman series, so there's that.
    more
  • Lashaan Balasingam (Bookidote)
    February 21, 2017
    James Tynion IV continues his unexpectedly entertaining run of Detective Comics with volume 2, The Victim Syndicate . Taking place directly after the unfortunate events in Rise of the Batmen , the story starts off by serving us an aftermath assessment for each character forming the newly formed squad under Batman and Batwoman's wings. Inevitably, the events have taken a huge toll on every one, some more than others, and things seem to be a lot more fragile for everyone. Questions about their p James Tynion IV continues his unexpectedly entertaining run of Detective Comics with volume 2, The Victim Syndicate . Taking place directly after the unfortunate events in Rise of the Batmen , the story starts off by serving us an aftermath assessment for each character forming the newly formed squad under Batman and Batwoman's wings. Inevitably, the events have taken a huge toll on every one, some more than others, and things seem to be a lot more fragile for everyone. Questions about their purposes in life and their motivations on a daily basis are put through the doubt blender and there's nothing like a new group of freaky and shady characters to make matters a bit more dark and complicated.The Victim Syndicate is definitely not your typical squad of villains as they have joined forces for one particular reason. They see Batman as the cause of their supernatural condition. Having been the collateral damage of an altercation between Batman and another big-name villain, each of the Victims find solace in blaming Batman and his friends for their predicament. This alone can be seen as a brilliant premise to dive deeper in all those innocent victims that get hurt or fall while the focus of the action remains on Batman and his nemesis. Does this set things up for something extraordinary for this storyarc? Yes and no.What was particularly well-done was the leader of the Victim Syndicate, the First Victim. His character remained mysterious throughout the whole storyarc and his mere presence installed fear in us. His origin was kept a secret the better part of the story, while every other member had a rapid-fire revelation on who and how they became who they are now. Even in the final showdown, everyone (except the First Victim) was dealt with in a quick and efficient manner. While some of these moments were quite powerful, some of them fell short. I'd probably point my finger at the writing because with James Tynion IV, you get the most wordy dialogues ever, but they aren't consistently amazing. He sometimes overdoes it for my taste and deviates from the character's personality. (view spoiler)[ Spoiler (hide spoiler)] plays a big part throughout this storyarc, especially because she's the one who's having the hardest time to deal with the events from the past volume. Throughout the story she often serves as a cliff-hanger to a lot of moments. Just when you think you know what's going on, something else is delivered. I can definitely appreciate these plot twists and find them quite tantalizing. Two other characters are also newly introduced into this Rebirth series, (view spoiler)[ Batwing and Jean-Paul Valley (hide spoiler)]. While the former gets a more prominent role in the narrative, the later was teased. In fact, he was teased so hard that the transition from his cliff-hanger moment to his reveal in the next issue made no sense to me. I wish they had taken the time to build him, it would've been quite a "rebirth" for that particular character.I believe it was the last issue of the storyarc regarding The Victim Syndicate that had me hesitant. For one, I wasn't sure anymore what the First Victim's powers/weapons were. One second he seems unbeatable, the next he's just a wooden log with nothing special. The arrival of the "game-changer" character is what sort of bothered me as well. While it was obviously being built-up for this very moment, it's the speech and the tactics used by said character that felt so underwhelming and unconvincing. However, I do see the whole idea behind this move and what the volume as a whole is trying to tell us. After all, you'll never see a more doubt-ridden and sad-faced (I'm not even kidding about this one; it really gets weird to look at sometimes) Batman anywhere else.Similar to Batman (Volume 2) I Am Suicide by Tom King, this volume also features a two-part story at the end involving Batwoman. Co-written with Marguerite Bennett in order to promote the Rebirth series of Batwoman that just recently came out, this story connects with the crossover event Night of the Monster Men and continues along the sub-plot regarding Batwoman and her dad that was mentioned earlier in The Victim Syndicate. This mini-story somehow managed to make the crossover event sound a lot more interesting than it actually was. The artwork is quite decent and the idea of tackling the purpose of Batwoman, compared to Batman was also interesting. However, the way they delivered her purpose felt wrong, but it's quite hard to judge until you read Batwoman's Rebirth series. In fact, this two-part story simply sets things up for Batwoman Rebirth #1 and didn't have anything more to offer regarding the Victim Syndicate. In the end, volume 2 continues in the right direction and James Tynion IV is definitely a great writer for this series. There are things that need work, but this nonetheless entertaining.Yours truly,Lashaan | Blogger and Book ReviewerOfficial blog: http://bookidote.wordpress.com
    more
  • Storm
    April 1, 2017
    Issue #943: 4/5 STARSFor some reason I've been stocking up on these issues without reading them and I'm just now getting to it. And I forgot how much I like this series. I especially found the moments with Stephanie touching and I really appreciate the comic actually showing the results of Tim's death.As I predicted after volume 1, they are bringing some more light to Cass and Clayface. I liked their little moments in the book as well.Issue #944: 4/5 STARSI'm really intrigued by this whole "firs Issue #943: 4/5 STARSFor some reason I've been stocking up on these issues without reading them and I'm just now getting to it. And I forgot how much I like this series. I especially found the moments with Stephanie touching and I really appreciate the comic actually showing the results of Tim's death.As I predicted after volume 1, they are bringing some more light to Cass and Clayface. I liked their little moments in the book as well.Issue #944: 4/5 STARSI'm really intrigued by this whole "first victim" thing. I think it's going to be a pretty cool story. I also enjoyed getting to know more about Batwing in this issue. I didn't read Batwing from the New 52, so I'm enjoying him so far.I can see something is building with Clayface and I can't wait to see where that goes.Issue #945: 5/5 STARSSuch an amazing issue, with an excellent hook at the end.Issue #946: 5/5 STARSIssue #947: 5/5 STARSThis was awesome! I can't begin to explain how much I love that they are paying off on the emotional affects of Tim's death.This issue, I think, is the conclusion of the Victim Syndicate storyline that has the first victim taken down. Except that already happened. This pits Spoiler against the Bat Family. She is done with the world as it is, and the destruction Batman has caused.I believe her and feel for her and hate that she is hurting. I almost lost it during the transition between Stephanie and Tim's funny photos towards the end of the issue. I can't wait for when Tim renters reality and I hope that pay off is AMAZING. It has to be this title that he comes back in, because it's the only Batman book I'm reading.
    more
  • Jorge Lopez
    March 22, 2017
    I have a huge conflict rating this book/ series. From one side, everything is so out of character that I know I shouldn't be enjoy it: Batman creating a team, Clayface I (Basil Karlo) playing on the side of the good guys, Batwoman being part of the Batfamily, what happened during the first arc of the Rebirth series, the Red Robin situation and so on.But on the other side, it's too much fun to deny that it is a very entertaining read, even better than the main Batman series and even second to the I have a huge conflict rating this book/ series. From one side, everything is so out of character that I know I shouldn't be enjoy it: Batman creating a team, Clayface I (Basil Karlo) playing on the side of the good guys, Batwoman being part of the Batfamily, what happened during the first arc of the Rebirth series, the Red Robin situation and so on.But on the other side, it's too much fun to deny that it is a very entertaining read, even better than the main Batman series and even second to the Batfamily series that I have read after Nightwing.
    more
  • Utkarsh Bansal
    January 26, 2017
    The Victim Syndicate continues DC's bid to turn everything good mediocre. The story is about superheroes and collateral damage, and adds nothing new to what we've already seen in, say, Captain America: Civil War. It sets up the next arc about the League of Assassins and the Batwoman spinoff series in a way that's uninteresting to read, but gives me hope for those stories themselves. Overall, this was a fun little story, with anything special about the series having been stripped down.
    more
  • Luke Sims-Jenkins
    February 11, 2017
    Love this book! It's the opposite of what the current Batman book is. James Tynion IV and just gets these characters. All of their actions and dialogue shine through every page. Every character in this book gets a chance to kick ass and or have some wonderful character moments.The Victim Syndicate follows on wonderfully from Rise of the Batmen and Night of the Monsters. Tynion juggles a growing and evolving cast of charters perfectly and gives them all something interesting to do. As stories pro Love this book! It's the opposite of what the current Batman book is. James Tynion IV and just gets these characters. All of their actions and dialogue shine through every page. Every character in this book gets a chance to kick ass and or have some wonderful character moments.The Victim Syndicate follows on wonderfully from Rise of the Batmen and Night of the Monsters. Tynion juggles a growing and evolving cast of charters perfectly and gives them all something interesting to do. As stories progress, seeds are planted for whats to come and I'm loving every minute of it. Detective Comics is bang for your buck with terrific art, stories, characters and action. Everything just keeps on building and I'm looking forward to whats next.
    more
  • Fahim Ahmed
    January 10, 2017
    The Victim Syndicate is so much better than I am Suicide that it's sad. Great story, looking forward to reading the Batwoman story now.
  • Unai
    January 12, 2017
    La idea está bien, muy serio todo y con argumentos validos.... pero pufff me ha costado la vida leerlo. Todo correcto, pero algo falla que se me ha hecho aburridísimo.
Write a review