How Dare the Sun Rise
This profoundly moving memoir is the remarkable and inspiring true story of Sandra Uwiringyimana, a girl from the Democratic Republic of the Congo who tells the tale of how she survived a massacre, immigrated to America, and overcame her trauma through art and activism.Sandra was just ten years old when she found herself with a gun pointed at her head. She had watched as rebels gunned down her mother and six-year-old sister in a refugee camp. Remarkably, the rebel didn’t pull the trigger, and Sandra escaped.Thus began a new life for her and her surviving family members. With no home and no money, they struggled to stay alive. Eventually, through a United Nations refugee program, they moved to America, only to face yet another ethnic disconnect. Sandra may have crossed an ocean, but there was now a much wider divide she had to overcome. And it started with middle school in New York.In this memoir, Sandra tells the story of her survival, of finding her place in a new country, of her hope for the future, and how she found a way to give voice to her people.

How Dare the Sun Rise Details

TitleHow Dare the Sun Rise
Author
Formatebook
ReleaseMay 16th, 2017
PublisherKatherine Tegen Books
ISBN0062470167
ISBN-139780062470164
Number of pages304 pages
Rating
GenreNonfiction, Autobiography, Memoir, War

How Dare the Sun Rise Review

  • Kai
    March 2, 2017
    “It was light out when we found them, the sun rising slowly in a pale blue sky, casting a warm glow over the fields of sorrow and grief. I remember thinking: How dare the sun rise, as if it were any other day, after such a gruesome night.”First of all how do you rate someone’s life? You can’t give one or two stars and say things like “uh, didn’t like it” or “boring”. That’s not how it works.This is the first time that I’ve heard of Sandra Uwiringiyimana. Sandra is a young woman, born in the Cong “It was light out when we found them, the sun rising slowly in a pale blue sky, casting a warm glow over the fields of sorrow and grief. I remember thinking: How dare the sun rise, as if it were any other day, after such a gruesome night.”First of all how do you rate someone’s life? You can’t give one or two stars and say things like “uh, didn’t like it” or “boring”. That’s not how it works.This is the first time that I’ve heard of Sandra Uwiringiyimana. Sandra is a young woman, born in the Congo. Her tribe, the Banyamulenge, come from a province in Congo called South Kivu. They have Rwandan origins and as their appearance, language and accents differ from Congolese and Rwandan people, they don’t belong to either nation and are often discriminated against. Sandra is working towards a broader awareness of her tribe’s situation. She spoke in front of the United Nations and was interviewed by Charlie Rose during the Women in the World Summit in 2012. She wants more fairness and to end the hate and persecution that her people suffer from.I don’t want to take away too much beforehand so let me just say a few things. This book tackles lots of important topics, including discrimination, persecution, feminism, mental health and family. It is moving and empowering and most of all: It’s real. I started reading Sandra’s book – about how she was raised, survived a massacre and later immigrated to the US – thinking only “Oh this sounds interesting.” I’m in a position where I have the luxury, the choice to face ugly news and truths or to blend everything out. Sandra could not. Further into the book I started to actually realize that this was real, that Sandra is someone who has left and is still leaving footprints. The events she describes in this book can be glimpsed on Youtube or Instagram. That’s when reality hit me. A reporter asked Sandra in an interview how she survived the horrors of her past, like having a gun pointed at your head, seeing people getting slashed and burned. It felt like such a terrible question. How could you ask anyone this? But what Sandra is doing is brave and crucial. She fights for justice and for acceptance.This book is a raw and emotional autobiography, and while I wished to read more about what lead to this books creation, and about Sandra’s work as a Global Ambassador, I think it’s an amazing biography.Find more of my books on Instagram
    more
  • Ashley
    April 13, 2017
    I was approved for this book for review. All thoughts are my own. This was such a powerful book! I loved it, I mean I really loved it! To hear what Sandra has been through was heart breaking, but it also opened up my eyes to other atrocities that plague the world and how they go unnoticed or forgotten by the public. Sandra reminds us that although it may not be happening to us it definitely is happening all over the world. This is such an inspiring story that I want to read more about young adul I was approved for this book for review. All thoughts are my own. This was such a powerful book! I loved it, I mean I really loved it! To hear what Sandra has been through was heart breaking, but it also opened up my eyes to other atrocities that plague the world and how they go unnoticed or forgotten by the public. Sandra reminds us that although it may not be happening to us it definitely is happening all over the world. This is such an inspiring story that I want to read more about young adults like her as well as adults who have grown up in war torn countries.
    more
  • Rachel Strolle
    January 16, 2017
    The most significant thing about How Dare the Sun Rise, is that it not simply the story of a "war child." It is the story of a girl who had to watch her 6 year old sister get gunned down. It is the story of a girl who was looked at as an outcast no matter where she went. It is the story of a girl who left behind everything she knew to come with her family to America. It is the story of a girl who felt she didn't fit in a culture that was so different from the one she had known. It is the story o The most significant thing about How Dare the Sun Rise, is that it not simply the story of a "war child." It is the story of a girl who had to watch her 6 year old sister get gunned down. It is the story of a girl who was looked at as an outcast no matter where she went. It is the story of a girl who left behind everything she knew to come with her family to America. It is the story of a girl who felt she didn't fit in a culture that was so different from the one she had known. It is the story of a girl who has to put her mental health before the approval of her family. This is a memoir you must read.
    more
  • Gerard Villegas
    December 30, 2016
    Finished the ARC of this and I couldn't put it down. Refugee Sandra details her family's flight from the war torn Congo and their struggles as immigrants living in an urbanized landscape of America. Told with brutal honesty and an insightful look into the world as an outsider looking in, it is certainly one memoir every young person needs to read when it releases in the US in May. Highly recommended.
    more
  • Leigh Collazo
    January 28, 2017
    More reviews at Mrs. ReaderPants.REVIEW: Though the subject matter was incredibly sad and violent, the conversational first-person narrative made this easy and engaging to read. I love Sandra's quiet power in how she compares her life in The Democratic Republic of the Congo and her new life as a middle-schooler in the USA. Some of the comparisons are funny, and some are just horribly sad.I love the bottom line message about how race in the USA is a much bigger deal than it is in Africa. Sandra t More reviews at Mrs. ReaderPants.REVIEW: Though the subject matter was incredibly sad and violent, the conversational first-person narrative made this easy and engaging to read. I love Sandra's quiet power in how she compares her life in The Democratic Republic of the Congo and her new life as a middle-schooler in the USA. Some of the comparisons are funny, and some are just horribly sad.I love the bottom line message about how race in the USA is a much bigger deal than it is in Africa. Sandra talks about how she never really thought about her skin color in Africa, even though there were many different skin tones and even white people in Africa, it wasn't a big deal until she got to the USA. She also tackles large issues like poverty, everyday racism, PTSD, and depression. I loved this book for it's strong narrative voice and its ability to tell a very needed story in a simple and engaging way. This book is easy to get into right from the start and stays poignant all the way through to the very end. Though she hobnobs with celebrities by the end of it all, Sandra remains a humble person and simply wants to get her voice out there and make a difference for the millions of displaced individuals in Africa and around the world. THEMES: war, race, poverty, family, death, PTSD, depression, refugees, rapeTHE BOTTOM LINE: A must-have for any middle or high school library. How Dare the Sun Rise tackles important issues like war and race with quiet dignity and hope. Beautifully-written and moving.STATUS IN MY LIBRARY: On-order.RATING BREAKDOWN: Overall: 5/5 Creativity: 5/5 Characters: 5/5 Engrossing: 5/5 Writing: 5/5 Appeal to teens: 5/5 Appropriate length to tell the story: 5/5 CONTENT: Language: none Sexuality: mild; talk of menstruation and tampons taking your virginity Violence: high; attempted child rape, bloody massacre, arson, bullying, everyday racism Drugs/Alcohol: none
    more
  • Andrea at Reading Lark
    April 23, 2017
    Review Posted on Reading Lark 4/27/17: http://readinglark.blogspot.com/2017/...This was a powerful memoir, but a difficult one to read. Sandra Uwiringiyimana is a young woman who grew up in the Democratic Republic of the Congo. War was a constant worry for her and her family; they were often displaced as fighting broke out. Things were even worse for Sandra's family as they came from a tribe that faced severe persecution in Congo. While Sandra's life in Africa, has many happy memories associated Review Posted on Reading Lark 4/27/17: http://readinglark.blogspot.com/2017/...This was a powerful memoir, but a difficult one to read. Sandra Uwiringiyimana is a young woman who grew up in the Democratic Republic of the Congo. War was a constant worry for her and her family; they were often displaced as fighting broke out. Things were even worse for Sandra's family as they came from a tribe that faced severe persecution in Congo. While Sandra's life in Africa, has many happy memories associated with it, it also holds some of her deepest pain.The book begins in happier times when Sandra recalls playing with her pet monkey, laughing with her little sister, and getting into trouble with one of her older brothers. She describes life in her village and remarks on how much she loves attending school. Sandra's family is unique in the fact that they value education for females in a society that does not always see this as good use of time for girls. Many girls learn the basics and then begin to train for their lives as wives and mothers. Sandra's parents want their children to have options in life beyond becoming a spouse. I admired Sandra's parents and the way they operated their home and managed their large family. My heart also broke for them when Sandra's oldest brother, Heritage, was kidnapped and forced to fight in the army. Sandra's father refuses to rest until his son is returned home which will eventually happen, but Heritage will be plagued by his time as a young soldier and fitting into life with his family will take time.As the family is beginning to make headway with Heritage, war breaks out. At the age of ten, Sandra finds herself living in a refugee camp in Burundi after her family had to flee their home in Congo. Life in a refugee camp is stressful and tedious. There seems to be a good bit of boredom for the kids and the adults carry the heavy burden of figuring out what is next for their family. One night as Sandra is getting ready to sleep next to her youngest sister, Deborah, who is only six, men with guns invade the camp. A violent and bloody massacre ensues which will forever change Sandra's life and outlook on the world. When the sun rises the next morning, Sandra realizes that her family will never be the same. Her account of this event is heartbreaking and difficult to read. I kept thinking of how her mother must be feeling during the entire event as she didn't know where all of her children were and if they had survived the brutal night. As a mother, my heart broke for her; I cannot imagine living through something so horrible.I was also shocked as this massacre was not something I had heard about before. As Sandra states in the book, so many Americans don't realize what is happening in Africa. I'm guilty of that. The news tends to dominate political matters and focus on other regions of the world, but reading Sandra's story and learning more about the plight of her people makes me want to be more educated about the current situations in Africa. After the massacre, the family moves to Rwanda where things are difficult and they live in extreme poverty. Things begin to look up for them when they learn about a possible relocation to the United States. After multiple interviews, the family is relocated to Rochester, New York. Sandra believes that her family has been handed a golden ticket. She will finally be able to experience the freedom and wealth that she believes all Americans possess, but she quickly realizes that the America on tv isn't reality for all Americans. Her family lives in a poorer neighborhood which comes with its fair share of crime. Furthermore, Sandra quickly begins to realize that race in America is not a simple thing. Her honest and heartfelt dialogue on race in the U.S. was another aspect that was difficult for me to read. I know that race still plays a huge factor in how people interact with one another, but it still hurts my soul to know that people in 2017 make assumptions about others solely based on race. I can only hope that one day we will learn to embrace our differences rather than use them to continue to divide us.I highly recommend this memoir as it touches on topics that are significant to current global and domestic issues. I could easily see it being used in a World History or US History class. Sandra's story deserves to be heard and Americans need to be informed about the current climate in Africa. I also applaud Sandra for being brave enough to share her story with the world. We need more young women like her speaking out and fighting to put a stop to injustice.One Last Gripe: My only complaint with this one is the pacing. Some sections I craved more detail as they sped by too quickly while other segments felt like they moved too slowly.Favorite Thing About This Book: This is one of those books that sticks with you. Days after I have finished it, I can't stop thinking about it and Sandra. No child should have to experience the trauma she endured.First Sentence: The night began softly.
    more
  • Jordan
    May 18, 2017
    you know a book is good when you stay up until 1 am reading it without taking any breaks
  • Shirley Cagle
    February 6, 2017
    This memoir is a believable and moving account of the life experiences of a young Banyamulenge woman. She escaped a bloody massacre in a refuge camp in Africa in which her younger sister and other family members were murdered. This first-hand account details her family's struggle in the aftermath of the attack and their trials and tribulations after a refugee resettlement to Rochester, NY. Her activism on behalf of her people has been recognized in national and international circles.
    more
  • Sarah
    May 18, 2017
    Had to read this quickly since I just found out she's my author for TBF!
  • Natasha
    February 17, 2017
    This heartbreaking story about the struggles of a girl trying to survive her war torn country and later on trying hard to adapt to life in the US as a refugee is certainly an eye opener.
  • Julie
    February 4, 2017
    Damn. HOW DARE THE SUN RISE does not pull punches. It's a real, horrifying look at living in a war zone, being a refugee, and trying to resettle in a new country where suddenly race is an issue. An absolutely stunning, must read book.
  • Hannah
    February 21, 2017
    Wow... *full review to come after SLJ publication, but for now I'll just say this one hit me hard in such a good way*
  • Ashley
    May 18, 2017
    This book was incredible. I didn't know much about the war in the Congo, and reading this book completely floored me. I was amazed because Sandra is my age and she went through so much. But overall I think this book really shows that people are just people no matter where they're from (She asked her mother, when she was trying to have her social life in highschool, if she would like to see her sit around the house all day, and her mother responded the exact way my mother would). This book helped This book was incredible. I didn't know much about the war in the Congo, and reading this book completely floored me. I was amazed because Sandra is my age and she went through so much. But overall I think this book really shows that people are just people no matter where they're from (She asked her mother, when she was trying to have her social life in highschool, if she would like to see her sit around the house all day, and her mother responded the exact way my mother would). This book helped educate not only about the displaced refugees, but also about the story of this one girl in her struggle with race in America. It's well told, I was laughing and crying (more crying than laughing really), honest, and poignant, and I rate it 5/5.
    more
  • Ivanna
    May 27, 2017
    I loved this book. Sandra's writing is genuine and tells her story in a way that is easy to identify with. When I interact with a refugee or anyone who has been through a severe trauma or massacre, it's easy for me to think that if they seem ok, they ARE ok. How Dare The Sun Rise helped me understand how complex, deep, and even delayed the struggles can be for someone in Sandra's position. Her story also clearly revealed the things people said and did that eased her transition, or made it misera I loved this book. Sandra's writing is genuine and tells her story in a way that is easy to identify with. When I interact with a refugee or anyone who has been through a severe trauma or massacre, it's easy for me to think that if they seem ok, they ARE ok. How Dare The Sun Rise helped me understand how complex, deep, and even delayed the struggles can be for someone in Sandra's position. Her story also clearly revealed the things people said and did that eased her transition, or made it miserable. As someone who wants to welcome people in similar situations, I can see with more clarity how I might do that practically.
    more
  • Mrs. Pava
    May 30, 2017
    Despite the difficult CONTENT, the reading level here is pretty easy, making this a very nice book for students who are interested in the topic, but aren't ready to handle a book like A Long Way Gone or Gowd Drew Tired of Us. Sandra was at the Teen Book Festival in Rochester (5/2017) and was inspiring, talking about channeling her pain into her activism and how that was actually critical to her healing.
    more
  • Elizabeth
    May 16, 2017
    I loved this book and it couldn't be more timely. The things this child went through from ten years old are inconceivable. It is an important time in our history to learn about what it means to be an immigrant. There are lots of people in the world who are forced to leave the only home they've ever known. Not everyone wants to be an American and the American Dream is not the end-all-be-all of existence.
    more
  • D.S.
    May 17, 2017
    This young woman's life story is an important gift to the world. Her resilience is astonishing. I'm grateful to be alive at this time, when I can contribute to her ongoing work as a wounded healer, which she mentions at the end of the book. The power of her voice is undeniable, and the world is a much better place because she is in it.
    more
  • Amy
    May 29, 2017
    Skim read.Enjoyed reading about the experience of an Congolese refugee in Rochester, NY who is baffled by the racial codes and assumptions of the U.S. I found the writing plain and found the massacre scenes too intense, but the short chapters and authentic voice make this book appealing for teen and memoir collections.
    more
  • Heather Varner
    May 28, 2017
    Fantastic autobiography, that I would recommend strongly to many, but most especially young people, as Sandra's story is one that truly encapsulates the privilege so many of us love with, in a very approachable voice.
  • Fay
    May 28, 2017
    A truly inspirational memoir about a young girl's experience as a refugee in the Congo and ending up in the United States. A non stop read.
  • Lisa
    May 25, 2017
    Had the author visit and she was wonderful- only 22.
  • Ethan Walker
    May 20, 2017
    wow
  • Mary Librarian
    March 22, 2017
    Sandra's story of terror, heartbreak, and hope is an eye opening look at the warring happening in the Congo and the troubling race relations in the US. Very informative and the storytelling style almost felt like she was in the room with you sharing her life. From advanced reader copy.
    more
  • Lisa
    May 18, 2017
    A enlightening read into the dangers of growing up in war torn parts of the world. Sandra's writing vividly portrayed the fear and terror that her and her family lived with. I felt that the writing lacked the sophistication that would put it on the Sequoyah list but the book definitely could fill a niche in many libraries collections.
    more
Write a review