Twelve Days
A paranormal thriller from a master storyteller: A broken family struggles to hold itself together against a plot to unleash global genocideAround the world, leaders and notorious criminals alike are mysteriously dying. A terrorist group promises a series of deaths within two months. And against the backdrop of the apocalypse, the lives of a small shattered family and a broken soldier are transformed in the bustling city of Atlanta.Olympia Dorsey is a journalist and mother, with a cynical teenage daughter and an autistic son named Hannibal, all trying to heal from a personal tragedy. Across the street, Ex–Special Forces soldier Terry Nicolas and his wartime unit have reunited Stateside to carry out a risky heist that will not only right a terrible injustice, but also set them up for life—at the cost of their honor. Terry and the family's visit to an unusual martial arts exhibition brings them into contact with Madame Gupta, a teacher of singular skill who offers not just a way for Terry to tap into mastery beyond his dreams, but also for Hannibal to transcend the limits of his condition. But to see these promises realized, Terry will need to betray those with whom he fought and bled.Meanwhile, as the death toll gains momentum and society itself teeters on the edge of collapse, Olympia's fragile clan is placed in jeopardy, and Terry comes to understand the terrible price he must pay to prevent catastrophe.

Twelve Days Details

TitleTwelve Days
Author
FormatHardcover
ReleaseJun 27th, 2017
PublisherTor Books
ISBN0765375974
ISBN-139780765375971
Number of pages368 pages
Rating
GenreThriller, Contemporary

Twelve Days Review

  • Brad
    April 20, 2017
    Thanks to Netgalley for the ARC!I admit that I've been a fan of Stephen Barnes for years, but I also admit that it's mainly been because of his co-authored works with Larry Niven. I think that's going to change after this!This novel reads like a modern bestselling thriller that SHOULD be a modern bestselling thriller. It also has supernatural elements that are all tied to the dark side of the Kundalini and Hindu Yogis thrust upon the world stage as evil people and world leaders are murdered in g Thanks to Netgalley for the ARC!I admit that I've been a fan of Stephen Barnes for years, but I also admit that it's mainly been because of his co-authored works with Larry Niven. I think that's going to change after this!This novel reads like a modern bestselling thriller that SHOULD be a modern bestselling thriller. It also has supernatural elements that are all tied to the dark side of the Kundalini and Hindu Yogis thrust upon the world stage as evil people and world leaders are murdered in gruesome ways.Specifically, however, this is a character and plot-driven novel in the very best sense. It's fast-paced and exciting, full of surprises and depth. But mostly, I'm impressed by the depth of knowledge Barnes has about fighting styles, esoteric meditations, and traditions.Regardless, the craft in this novel is fantastic and fast and pretty damn gorgeous. It's more of a modern thriller, through and through, but that didn't bother me. This should be a huge crowd pleaser. If it isn't, then I'll be very surprised and rather sad.This really should be a bestseller!
    more
  • Bookwraiths
    July 10, 2017
    Originally reviewed at Bookwraiths.Never having read any story penned by Steven Barnes, I didn’t know exactly what to expect from Twelve Days, especially since it was a paranormal thriller (which isn’t my usual reading genre). After finishing this fast-paced, taunt narrative, I now have to say I’m sold on this author and am anxious to pick up more from him.The world is in crisis! The globe held hostage by a terrorist group which threatens (then begins) an apocalypse. Each day a set number of peo Originally reviewed at Bookwraiths.Never having read any story penned by Steven Barnes, I didn’t know exactly what to expect from Twelve Days, especially since it was a paranormal thriller (which isn’t my usual reading genre). After finishing this fast-paced, taunt narrative, I now have to say I’m sold on this author and am anxious to pick up more from him.The world is in crisis! The globe held hostage by a terrorist group which threatens (then begins) an apocalypse. Each day a set number of people on a “Dead List” to meet their end. The victims powerful world figures. The rising death toll and lack of understanding on how it is occurring and how to to stop it causing tensions to mount across the globe.Attempting to live a normal life is journalist Olympia Dorsey. Her whole world until now centered on raising her teenage daughter Nicki and her autistic son Hannibal. Olympia’s deepest desire to discover a cure for her son’s condition or, at least, a way to improve his life. The mysterious Madame Gupta, head instructor of a school of martial arts, holding out the promise of making Hannibal’s life better. But is this invitation one of hope or horror?Lending aid to Olympia is her neighbor (and former lover), Terry Nichols; this ex-Special Forces soldier a father figure for young Hannibal. And while Terry is far from a perfect guy, his strong bond with Hannibal has him reevaluating his choices, contemplating his future (even as he joins his old military friends on a heist) and willing to protect Olympia’s family from the danger which pursues them.Like all thrillers, Twelve Days is a lightning quick ride through a mine field; the characters rushing headlong from one exciting sequences to another. There is mystery, suspense, full out action, intrigue, and nail-biting sequences mixed with more than expected character development. Steven Barnes’ admixture of a weird supernatural element adding an otherworldly element to an international thriller, but the story of Olympia, Nicki, Hannibal, and Terry grounding this tale in the real world. And for the type of story it was, this book was a fun-filled, emotional ride.The only criticism I have with the narrative is the global crisis. It was ominous, mysterious, and, unfortunately, undeveloped for my tastes. Perhaps the supernatural element of the crisis is what left me indifferent, since it seemed a bit out of place in a modern thriller, but whatever the specific cause, I never felt the danger of global genocide was very real. Rather, the whole affair seemed more a grand hoax or supernatural conspiracy theory. Perhaps others will find it more compelling, but it just did not work for me.Twelve Days is a roller coaster thrill ride. The fact that it was built around a family and their love made it even more filling. And if you are a fan of modern thrillers with paranormal twists, then this novel by Steven Barnes is one that you should not miss.I received this book from the publisher in exchange for a fair and honest review. I’d like to thank them for allowing me to receive this review copy and inform everyone that the review you have read is my opinion alone.
    more
  • Janet
    May 30, 2017
    This was a 3 to 3.5 out of 5 star read for me.Around the world, people are dying, and a terrorist cell says that there will be many more assassinations in the city of Atlanta. Threatened with the apocalypse, a family in tatters turns to their neighbor, Terry Nicolas for help. Nicolas, it turns out, is ex-special forces and is also struggling with his own issues. Olympia Dorsey and her cynical daughter and autistic son Hannibal bring a real human element to the novel. Nichols joins up with his ol This was a 3 to 3.5 out of 5 star read for me.Around the world, people are dying, and a terrorist cell says that there will be many more assassinations in the city of Atlanta. Threatened with the apocalypse, a family in tatters turns to their neighbor, Terry Nicolas for help. Nicolas, it turns out, is ex-special forces and is also struggling with his own issues. Olympia Dorsey and her cynical daughter and autistic son Hannibal bring a real human element to the novel. Nichols joins up with his old ragtag group of ex-military friends to perform a heist, but stand to lose what’s left of their honor. It is a great ride joining this group on their journey, even if they aren’t always on the side of law and order. This book brings the real meaning of “thriller” novel to the reader. There is a lot of information on martial arts in the novel, and honestly, that (and the graphic sex scenes) was difficult for me to read. As long as you are ok with that in your novels, this is a fast-paced and exciting plot-driven storyline that is full of surprises for you as you read.I received an ARC in exchange for an honest and unbiased review. I would like to thank Netgalley, Tor Books, and Steven Barnes for the opportunity to read and review this pulse-pounding novel!
    more
  • OutlawPoet
    April 11, 2017
    This is my first book by Steven Barnes. It won’t be my last.If I had to narrow the genre down to just few words, I’d say this was a metaphysical horror thriller. While I was honestly a bit more into the horror and the thriller aspects than the metaphysical stuff, I still found myself completely entrenched in our story.Barnes came up with a humdinger of a plot involving mysterious assassinations (and quite possibly the end of the world as we know it) and I was dying to know how it would all end…o This is my first book by Steven Barnes. It won’t be my last.If I had to narrow the genre down to just few words, I’d say this was a metaphysical horror thriller. While I was honestly a bit more into the horror and the thriller aspects than the metaphysical stuff, I still found myself completely entrenched in our story.Barnes came up with a humdinger of a plot involving mysterious assassinations (and quite possibly the end of the world as we know it) and I was dying to know how it would all end…or if it would all end.I loved our characters. Especially a ragtag group of ex-military who aren’t always on the side of law and order, but who do retain their own sense of morality.I’ll happily read Barnes again. The man tells a riveting story that simply doesn’t let you go!*ARC Provided via Net Galley
    more
  • Phillip III
    July 5, 2017
    The announcement of global genocide, of a purposely brought on apocalypse, feels and sounds more like an elaborate hoax than a viable threat. That is until the demonstrations begin.The world is being held hostage. An unknown group is promising the death of high-ranking political, and powerful citizens from across the world. Each day a certain number of people on a long, long list will just die. It is proof the organization behind the devious plan isn't fooling around. They mean business.Only as The announcement of global genocide, of a purposely brought on apocalypse, feels and sounds more like an elaborate hoax than a viable threat. That is until the demonstrations begin.The world is being held hostage. An unknown group is promising the death of high-ranking political, and powerful citizens from across the world. Each day a certain number of people on a long, long list will just die. It is proof the organization behind the devious plan isn't fooling around. They mean business.Only as the mysterious and unprotectable death tolls mount do tensions rise, and fear intensify. No one knows who is behind the caper, and no one knows how to stop the deaths from happening. It looks like, by the end of the year, millions, if not billions, will have perished.Journalist, Olympia Dorsey, is concerned about her job, but she has more pressing matters demanding her attention at home. Her autistic son, Hannibal has a chance for something better. A possible cure. A possible clearer insight into her son's mind, and the way it works differently from the minds of others. Understanding may be a way to bring about some peace of mind.The Golden Dreams Daycare specializes in working with special children. And the founder, Madame Gupta believes Hannibal is perfect for their martial arts-learning program.Terry Nichols, former Special Forces soldier, is Olympia's neighbor. He's developed something of a bond with Hannibal, sliding into the role of father-figure for the boy. His past is far from squeaky-clean, even his immediate past, and yet there is something about the boy, about the family from across the street, that has Nichols reevaluating his life, his life choices.When a sinister group known as the Salvation Sanctuary shows too much interest in Hannibal and his special abilities, what looks like the promise of answers and cures becomes nothing shy of a death-filled nightmare. Olympia's maternal, and survival instincts kick in. Saving her son, her own life, and those of the people she cares for most forces her to set aside fear and fight.The entire world is in danger. It becomes too apparent that the only way to win, to live, is by saving Hannibal. He is the key. The problem, is there any way to stop the crazy cult behind the vicious attacks? Or is the entire world doomed?TWELVE DAYS was taut. Fast. Steven Barnes writes clearly, concise. His characters are very well developed, and the plot engrossing. I read the book in two sittings. I constantly needed to know what was going to happen next!Phillip TomassoAuthor of the Severed Empire seriesand The Vaccination Trilogy
    more
  • Matthew Galloway
    July 9, 2017
    I had a tough time finishing this one. It felt chock full of cliches, plus I just didn't like any of the characters.
  • 'Chel
    April 18, 2017
    I read maybe 10% of this and won't be picking it back up.After reading Boy on the Bridge's portrayal of an autistic title character, this book felt forced and it made me feel gross.The amount of mature sexual content in that 10% was off the chart and also gave me the blechs. Nope.
    more
  • William Bentrim
    July 11, 2017
    Barnes work is very thought provoking. This story focuses on the untapped potential of the human brain. It is touted as a paranormal thriller but frankly I believe there are many factors of the human brain that we have yet to identify, quantify or explore. Consequently I would label this as a thriller and skip the paranormal. What is normal anyway?A charismatic cult leader has plans to change the world. A small boy who is on the autistic spectrum may be the key to her success. Standing in the wa Barnes work is very thought provoking. This story focuses on the untapped potential of the human brain. It is touted as a paranormal thriller but frankly I believe there are many factors of the human brain that we have yet to identify, quantify or explore. Consequently I would label this as a thriller and skip the paranormal. What is normal anyway?A charismatic cult leader has plans to change the world. A small boy who is on the autistic spectrum may be the key to her success. Standing in the way of her exploiting the child is a former military man with a martial arts background and a mother who adores her special needs child.There is lots of action and questionable decisions in this book. It was an enjoyable read.I recommend it.Web:https://stevenbarneslife.wordpress.com/
    more
  • Dawn
    May 3, 2017
    Thanks to Netgalley for the ARC.3.5 starsAn interesting book, placed in the paranormal genre, but i had a difficult time seeing it as such. The storyline was interesting, and the characters being African American was a plus! (I had no idea the author was also AA). The plot was fast paced when it wasn't mired in the metaphysical/mental aspects of the story--and that was a large part of the story. It slowed down the pace considerably and had me skipping over parts or reading quickly. Just wasn't i Thanks to Netgalley for the ARC.3.5 starsAn interesting book, placed in the paranormal genre, but i had a difficult time seeing it as such. The storyline was interesting, and the characters being African American was a plus! (I had no idea the author was also AA). The plot was fast paced when it wasn't mired in the metaphysical/mental aspects of the story--and that was a large part of the story. It slowed down the pace considerably and had me skipping over parts or reading quickly. Just wasn't interested.
    more
  • Aimee
    June 3, 2017
    Thank you to Netgalley and the publisher for the Advanced Read Copy in exchange for an honest review.This story fell a bit short for me. I really wanted to feel the danger that the world seemed to be in and that part of the story seemed unfinished. I appreciate that the story focused on a single mom and her love of her children. There was good character development and I really rooted for the main characters. I enjoyed the sort of weird supernatural element to the story but did feel that at time Thank you to Netgalley and the publisher for the Advanced Read Copy in exchange for an honest review.This story fell a bit short for me. I really wanted to feel the danger that the world seemed to be in and that part of the story seemed unfinished. I appreciate that the story focused on a single mom and her love of her children. There was good character development and I really rooted for the main characters. I enjoyed the sort of weird supernatural element to the story but did feel that at times if was a little but too out there. This was a fun easy read and I enjoy the ride all in all even if I felt like there were parts I didn't love.
    more
Write a review