The Run-Out Groove (Vinyl Detective 2)
His first adventure consisted of the search for a rare record; his second the search for a lost child. Specifically the child of Valerian, lead singer of a great rock band of the 1960s, who hanged herself in mysterious circumstances after the boy's abduction. Along the way, the Vinyl Detective finds himself marked for death, at the wrong end of a shotgun, and unknowingly dosed with LSD as a prelude to being burned alive. And then there's the grave robbing...

The Run-Out Groove (Vinyl Detective 2) Details

TitleThe Run-Out Groove (Vinyl Detective 2)
Author
FormatPaperback
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseMay 9th, 2017
PublisherTitan Books (UK)
ISBN1783297697
ISBN-139781783297696
Number of pages320 pages
Rating
GenreMystery, Fiction, Crime, Humor, Comedy

The Run-Out Groove (Vinyl Detective 2) Review

  • Bill Lynas
    May 15, 2017
    Andrew Cartmel's second adventure for The Vinyl Detective sees our hero searching for a rare record & a missing person. Cartmel's style is wonderfully easy to read & there are many moments when this novel just makes me smile again & again. The characters are as eccentric as ever, whether they are heroes or villains, & I eagerly await the next book in the series.
    more
  • Lynsey Summers
    May 11, 2017
    The second in a trilogy, The Vinyl Detective - The Run-Out Groove, is another well written, laugh out loud (well, I did) confident offering from Andrew Cartmel.Thrust back into the world of the Vinyl Detective (name of the character is, as yet, not revealed - which must be quite tricky for the author to work around!) I did wonder how similar the storyline would be to the first, given essentially at the beginning the protagonist was after another rare record.  I need not have worried, it is vastl The second in a trilogy, The Vinyl Detective - The Run-Out Groove, is another well written, laugh out loud (well, I did) confident offering from Andrew Cartmel.Thrust back into the world of the Vinyl Detective (name of the character is, as yet, not revealed - which must be quite tricky for the author to work around!) I did wonder how similar the storyline would be to the first, given essentially at the beginning the protagonist was after another rare record.  I need not have worried, it is vastly different and again, despite the humour running throughout it is actually a serious plot.Packed with another set of punchy characters, I was glad to see the return of some others, namely Nevada, Tinkler, Stinky and Fanny and Turk (the cats) and to travel around the rocker scene of past era's in the search for the truth about wild child Valerian.  We are given a colourful history of the women in question via people who were close to the singer, and discover some uncomfortable truths about her family along the way.Of course, when the truth is somewhat misty, it is usually so for a reason and the Vinyl Detective and Co quickly discover there is someone that wishes for it to remain that way.  Not quite sure if they are in 'Paranoia Heights' after their last dramatic escapade, the gang must try and determine who they can trust, if anyone.Although it didn't have me quite as 'on the edge of my seat' as book number one, I did thoroughly enjoy book number two and would again highly recommend it.  I also learned what, exactly, a Run-Out Groove is.
    more
  • Miriam
    May 10, 2017
    Overall I liked the book. The characters were developed further and the mystery was good and the solution made sense in hindsight. There was just one fly in the ointment: there are two scenes, and a couple of singular instances, that are so violently fat-phobic and ableist that I had to put down the book and fume about it. The language used is so violent and dehumanizing that I really considered just not finishing the book. One scene is so awful that I felt unclean just reading these words with Overall I liked the book. The characters were developed further and the mystery was good and the solution made sense in hindsight. There was just one fly in the ointment: there are two scenes, and a couple of singular instances, that are so violently fat-phobic and ableist that I had to put down the book and fume about it. The language used is so violent and dehumanizing that I really considered just not finishing the book. One scene is so awful that I felt unclean just reading these words with my eyes. Anyone with body image issues should not read this book under any circumstances. After the particularly awful scene it did get slightly better, and at least the ableism stopped, but in this case, basic decency is not enough, and even that Cartmel falls short of.
    more
  • Richie Brown
    May 14, 2017
    Another page-turner from Mr Cartmel, an author wonderfully adept at happy coincidences. This is easily as good as the first Vinyl Detective novel where we see the musical backdrop switch from obscure jazz to psychedelic rock.All our favourites from the first novel are back: Nevada, Tinkler, Clean Head, Stinky Stanmer and those loveable cats Fanny and Turk.The central mystery keeps you guessing throughout. I thought I'd cracked it several times, but didn't.Just 12 months until our next instalment Another page-turner from Mr Cartmel, an author wonderfully adept at happy coincidences. This is easily as good as the first Vinyl Detective novel where we see the musical backdrop switch from obscure jazz to psychedelic rock.All our favourites from the first novel are back: Nevada, Tinkler, Clean Head, Stinky Stanmer and those loveable cats Fanny and Turk.The central mystery keeps you guessing throughout. I thought I'd cracked it several times, but didn't.Just 12 months until our next instalment...
    more
  • Steve Gillway
    May 17, 2017
    This was just the right book for me as work is a bit hectic at the moment. I know it is all carefully plotted with things deftly explained and highlighted before they become vital. But is is warm and comforting, the characters are entertaining and there are enough red herrings to maintain interest. All this nominally twisting around the sixties/seventies musical culture and collecting records. Suspend belief.
    more
  • Russell Guyver
    May 24, 2017
    Great follow up to the first novel. I love collecting so this novel series hits the right geekness in mt plus a cracking storyline. More please!A real page turner with a real homely feel. Good twists and turns that set you guessing. More books please!
    more
  • Wayne
    May 26, 2017
    Crime novel based in the world of vinyl hunting. Both of my passions - what's not to like when it's well written?
  • Jay
    May 12, 2017
    I finished this book the other day. I liked it but the full review is one for Mystery Scene magazine so I'll update this when I get the online link for the article.
Write a review