Are You Anybody?
You know him from his breakout role as Hank Kingsley on The Larry Sanders Show, his outrageous turn as George and Oscar Bluth on Arrested Development, and his Emmy Award-winning performance as Maura Pfefferman on Transparent. A Broadway star, a television legend, an accomplished screen actor whose singular wit and heartrending performances have been entertaining audiences for more than four decades, but the question remains: Who the hell is Jeffrey Tambor?In his illuminating, often hilarious, and always honest memoir, Tambor looks back at the key moments in his life that taught him about creativity and play and pain and fear. The son of what you might call "eccentric" Russian and Hungarian Jewish parents, Tambor grew up in San Francisco a husy kid with a lisp, who suffered in his "otherness" and found salvation in the theater.While he learned his art from the best of the best--Al Pacino, George C. Scott, Garry Shandling, Mitch Hurwitz, Jill Soloway--he also introduces his many unexpected teachers, from the nameless man in a Detroit bookstore who gave him the love of reading, to his young children who (at this ridiculously late stage in his life) have reintroduced him to play, bravery, and the simple joy of not giving a shit.Tambor shares the triumph of landing his first Broadway role, but not before experiencing the humbling that is commercial work (and how even saying "my socks don't cling" can prove a challenge). He invites you behind the scenes of his wildly successful television shows, but he doesn't leave out the pit stops he made at addiction, Scientology, and what it feels like to get fourth billing after Sylvia the Seal on The Love Boat.At last, Tambor answers the question "Are you anybody?" with a promise that success doesn't mean perfection and failure most definitely is an option.

Are You Anybody? Details

TitleAre You Anybody?
Author
FormatHardcover
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseMay 16th, 2017
PublisherCrown Archetype
ISBN0451496353
ISBN-139780451496355
Number of pages304 pages
Rating
GenreAutobiography, Memoir, Nonfiction, Biography, Audiobook

Are You Anybody? Review

  • jeremy
    May 27, 2017
    a funny, bold, sad, touching, self-deprecating, fascinating memoir, jeffrey tambor's are you anybody? takes you through the actor's life on both stage and screen. from his youth and early commercial work to his starring role on transparent, tambor opens up candidly, offering wisdom, insight, guidance, and a compelling glimpse into his own personal life (both tragedy and triumph). you'll laugh, you'll cry, you'll wait ever more impatiently for the return of arrested development. i would spend the a funny, bold, sad, touching, self-deprecating, fascinating memoir, jeffrey tambor's are you anybody? takes you through the actor's life on both stage and screen. from his youth and early commercial work to his starring role on transparent, tambor opens up candidly, offering wisdom, insight, guidance, and a compelling glimpse into his own personal life (both tragedy and triumph). you'll laugh, you'll cry, you'll wait ever more impatiently for the return of arrested development. i would spend the rest of my life looking for that red bowtie, trying to connect to that feeling it gave me, that access, that magic. i sometimes struggle to find it, and on occasion i do, and in the most unexpected places—onstage, on a set, in a grocery store, behind the wheel of a car in a strange town, in a book, as a sidekick, as twin brothers, and, to no one's surprise more than mine, as a woman.
    more
  • Dusti
    May 29, 2017
    This new work by Jeffrey Tambor is candid, hilarious, and heartwarming. In every sentence he makes himself vulnerable to the reader, taking us into his mind and sharing his strengths, his weaknesses, his fears, and his successes. I loved every second of this book and I recommend it for anyone who enjoys memoirs or who are fans of Mr. Tambor's work.
    more
  • Karina (Kai)
    May 26, 2017
    One of the best memoirs I've read to date. It's funny, as you would expect, and witty but mostly it is so so wise as Tambor is incredibly generous with all that he's learned.
  • Jeff Bakst
    May 25, 2017
    New appreciation for actors...and Jeffrey Tambor himself...I will look at his work and many if not all things quite differently now...thank you
  • Aisling
    June 1, 2017
    "If there is a God, She lives within the sound of laughter. I search for laughter like one of those old men with a metal detector on the beach looking for pennies. Laugher is the reason I'm living." Beautiful, right? I read that bit multiple times. This is almost 200 pages in so don't think the whole book is deeply moving and profound like this, nor is it a deeply philosophical hard slog; especially in the beginning it is quite choppy and almost glib. But what Mr. Tambor does is, by anecdote aft "If there is a God, She lives within the sound of laughter. I search for laughter like one of those old men with a metal detector on the beach looking for pennies. Laugher is the reason I'm living." Beautiful, right? I read that bit multiple times. This is almost 200 pages in so don't think the whole book is deeply moving and profound like this, nor is it a deeply philosophical hard slog; especially in the beginning it is quite choppy and almost glib. But what Mr. Tambor does is, by anecdote after anecdote, truly build a memoir. It is not only soul baring but highly educational (actors, comedians--buy this book!), entertaining, and chronicles the truly extraordinary life of an amazing man. This is my first memoir in a long time (because you know they can be dreadful) but I am so, so glad I read it. You really can't ask for more than a book amuse, move, educate and make you think/change you in some way. This book does. Five stars is not enough. Hi, Mr. Tambor!(No, I'm not conceited enough to think Mr. Tambor will read my review--read his book and you will know why I wrote that.)
    more
  • Teresa
    June 1, 2017
    Went to Jeffrey Tambor's book signing at Skylight Books in Los Angeles (turns out he's a co-owner of the store, an early investor). Very lovely, funny man and book feels like having a conversation with him - also poignant and honest about his upbringing with an alcoholic parent. Gives good advice for actors that he's received all good the way, also applicable to life in general. Nice chapter about Garry Shandling (R.I.P).
    more
  • Lori
    May 29, 2017
    Meh
  • Megan Parrott
    June 1, 2017
    I recently devoured the first three seasons of “Transparent,” so Jeffrey Tambor’s book seemed like a natural follow-up. Tambor is warm and inviting, and I really enjoyed his Hollywood/stage insights, as well as his generous life lessons. Tambor’s vulnerability is relatable, despite his rather accomplished career. I especially connected with this: “I love to be by myself, but know that people are nearby.”This is a good mantra to live by as well: “You’re in thrall to no one and nothing, to somethi I recently devoured the first three seasons of “Transparent,” so Jeffrey Tambor’s book seemed like a natural follow-up. Tambor is warm and inviting, and I really enjoyed his Hollywood/stage insights, as well as his generous life lessons. Tambor’s vulnerability is relatable, despite his rather accomplished career. I especially connected with this: “I love to be by myself, but know that people are nearby.”This is a good mantra to live by as well: “You’re in thrall to no one and nothing, to something that doesn’t even exist.”
    more
Write a review