Avatar (North and South, #3)
Fire Lord Zuko and Earth King Kuei arrive in the Southern Water Tribe amid protests of Gilak's imprisonment. While the leaders hold council to solidify Malina and Hakoda's unification plans, Gilak breaks free and leads a powerful rebellion! In the face of these two opposing tribes, Katara will have to make peace with her nostalgia and distrust to save the home she loves from being permanently torn apart. Written and drawn by the creative team behind the best-selling "The Search, The Rift, " and S"moke and Shadow," Gene Luen Yang and Gurihiru, in collaboration with "Avatar: The Last Airbender "and "Legend of Korra" creators Michael Dante DiMartino and Bryan Konietzko, this is the ultimate continuation of "Avatar" and the perfect companion to "Legend of Korra"!

Avatar (North and South, #3) Details

TitleAvatar (North and South, #3)
Author
FormatPaperback
ReleaseMay 9th, 2017
PublisherDark Horse Books
ISBN1506701302
ISBN-139781506701301
Number of pages80 pages
Rating
GenreSequential Art, Comics, Graphic Novels, Fantasy

Avatar (North and South, #3) Review

  • Britt
    May 10, 2017
    I am a bit sad because I believe this is the last Avatar the Last Airbender comic so the Gaang's story is really over. It makes me want to rewatch and reread everything again. I feel like this story could go on and on but that would make it, for me, somehow lesser because who wants to listen to a never-ending story?As for this conclusion of this trilogy, I felt like it was less strong than some of the others. The final showdown was not that impressive to me. However, I am glad that Avatar never I am a bit sad because I believe this is the last Avatar the Last Airbender comic so the Gaang's story is really over. It makes me want to rewatch and reread everything again. I feel like this story could go on and on but that would make it, for me, somehow lesser because who wants to listen to a never-ending story?As for this conclusion of this trilogy, I felt like it was less strong than some of the others. The final showdown was not that impressive to me. However, I am glad that Avatar never backs down to tell stories which are difficult and still very relevant in real life. I think I really noticed that in this trilogy.The Southern Water Tribe, after the Air Nomads, was hit the hardest during the Hundred Year War. Now after the war, they are debating how to rebuild. The Northern Water Tribe wants to help but some of them have nasty plans in store to exploit the South Pole's oil (see how relevant?). After a century of war, the South Pole looks at her culture and what she wants to preserve and which new technologies she wants to use.Of course, not everyone agrees. After the nasty Northerner's plans are revealed xenophobia because to raise among some of the civilians (see the relevance) and start to protest other foreigners too, thus, the Fire Nation (thus more understandable, Zuko agrees, since the Fire Nation's crimes) and the Earth Kingdom. "Foreigners Out"There wasn't full closure on those problems which I understand since everyone in the real world here hasn't figured it out either. So I don't think it would have been that convincing if Yang would give a magical solution for these problems.I think Guri Hiru always did a good job with their art and since this is the last comic, I just wanted to point that out. Gene Luen Yang did a good job with the characters' essence. So even though he did not create them, he portraited them well.
    more
  • Earl
    May 12, 2017
    It's good to reconnect with Team Avatar in this new trilogy continuing the storylines from the TV series.I had the read and enjoyed the other four trilogies before watching and loving the series- and even watched the spin-off series The Legend of Korra- so I've become more of a fanatic with official new stories.Katara and Sokka return home only to find everything's changed. It's a battle between maintaining and preserving the past while trying to move forward. The stakes are high when both sides It's good to reconnect with Team Avatar in this new trilogy continuing the storylines from the TV series.I had the read and enjoyed the other four trilogies before watching and loving the series- and even watched the spin-off series The Legend of Korra- so I've become more of a fanatic with official new stories.Katara and Sokka return home only to find everything's changed. It's a battle between maintaining and preserving the past while trying to move forward. The stakes are high when both sides have valid points and loyalties shift and lives threatened.I highly recommend reading the each series as a whole when each part comes out or waiting for the omnibus editions and maybe space them out because the plot lines may seem formulaic as each member of Team Avatar practically have to tackle a new world after a devastating war and coming to terms with the old and new ways of life.
    more
  • Chris Lemmerman
    May 7, 2017
    This one's okay as a conclusion. I like the emotional arc that Katara's gone through across the story, helping put the new post-Ozai world into perspective for her. Most of the other characters are window dressing as they take on Gilak and his anti-foreigner manifesto.I do like that everything's not totally tied up in a bow by the end; change isn't that easy to deal with, even if you can come to a compromise, so Avatar remains very accurate in its portrayal of a realistic world.And of course, Gu This one's okay as a conclusion. I like the emotional arc that Katara's gone through across the story, helping put the new post-Ozai world into perspective for her. Most of the other characters are window dressing as they take on Gilak and his anti-foreigner manifesto.I do like that everything's not totally tied up in a bow by the end; change isn't that easy to deal with, even if you can come to a compromise, so Avatar remains very accurate in its portrayal of a realistic world.And of course, Guruhiru's artwork is still right in line with the cartoon. I'm surprised they're managing to pencil most of Gwenpool as well as this, especially since this one's longer than the usual 64 pages. I know they're a studio and not just like two people or something but it still surprises me.
    more
  • Rawan
    May 11, 2017
    this is probably my favourite issue ever released, i just to see team avatar back in action again in action for the last time and now forever and km so sad that the comics have finally ended bc atla has been in my life since i can remember and it means the world to me jdjdjdrjs i love the characters so much and it is such a great show and such beautiful plot and characters and character development hdhshee im sad its over but nevertheless turf wars is coming out soon and we will be getting korra this is probably my favourite issue ever released, i just to see team avatar back in action again in action for the last time and now forever and km so sad that the comics have finally ended bc atla has been in my life since i can remember and it means the world to me jdjdjdrjs i love the characters so much and it is such a great show and such beautiful plot and characters and character development hdhshee im sad its over but nevertheless turf wars is coming out soon and we will be getting korrasami kiss so thats whats keeping me more positiveWOOOOOO
    more
  • Shandra
    May 12, 2017
    Still love Aang and Team Avatar! This story arc wrapped up well with this 3rd volume, and it was great to see the whole gang back together, even for just a little while. I definitely recommend all the Avatar: The Last Airbender comics. It would probably be helpful to have seen the shows for full understanding, though.(I was a little sad when I realized that this might be the last of the Aang comics, but I'm so excited to see what they do with Korra!)
    more
  • Marsha Altman
    May 11, 2017
    I think this entire run of Avatar: TLA comics has gotten better as its gone along and the author has gotten a better handle on the characters as slightly older versions of their cartoon selves, handling complex issues in the post-war era. This particular trilogy ("North and South") isn't my favorite, but it's definitely up there.
    more
  • Neurocomp
    May 5, 2017
    the entire trilogy was amazing....and the beginning of part #3 started off great, but as much fun as teh ending was, it felt well short compared to the other 4 comic trilogies. The evolution of southern bending, however, was a good idea.
  • TinTin Kalaw
    May 10, 2017
    A fine conclusion to the North and South trilogy :D I love how the creators of Avatar explores the struggles of the nations post-war. It's really well-written. I can't wait what else the creative team has in store to continue the ATLA story.
  • Shadowdenizen
    May 4, 2017
    4.5 stars.A strong finish to the best of the Avatar comics series. (Though to be totally honest, much as I love Avatar, I'm finding myself beginning to gravitate towards "Legend of Korra" more.)
  • Μιχαλης
    December 26, 2016
    fantastic
  • Greta Riordan
    October 7, 2016
    I think there should have been a more definitive ending. but otherwise really great. I loved all the points the Sth Water Tribe made about uniting with the other Nations and opening embassies in the Nations.
Write a review