Wonder Woman, Volume 2
A part of DC Universe: Rebirth!New York Times best-selling writer Greg Rucka continues his return to Wonder Woman! The team of Rucka and artist Nicola Scott weave the definitive and shocking tale of Diana's first year as Earth's protector.Paradise has been breached, Ares stirs, and the Amazons must answer with a champion of their own...one who is willing to sacrifice her home amongst her sisters to save a world she has never seen. Wonder Woman's journey begins in this epic origin story!Collecting: Wonder Woman 2, 4, 6, 8, 10, 12, 14

Wonder Woman, Volume 2 Details

TitleWonder Woman, Volume 2
Author
FormatPaperback
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseMay 9th, 2017
PublisherDC Comics
ISBN1401268803
ISBN-139781401268800
Number of pages168 pages
Rating
GenreSequential Art, Comics, Superheroes, Dc Comics, Graphic Novels, Wonder Woman, Graphic Novels Comics

Wonder Woman, Volume 2 Review

  • James DeSantis
    January 14, 2017
    I almost went with a 5. I would have too, if last issue was as good as the rest. So this is the origins of WW. Now listen, I'm sure this has been done before. I don't really give a fuck about that though. This is my first time reading a Origin Story for Wonder Woman and I thought it was REALLY well done. So you get to see some time with Diana on the island learning who she is and what she's going to become. Then Steve lands and you get more backstory on his people, and it's actually really sad b I almost went with a 5. I would have too, if last issue was as good as the rest. So this is the origins of WW. Now listen, I'm sure this has been done before. I don't really give a fuck about that though. This is my first time reading a Origin Story for Wonder Woman and I thought it was REALLY well done. So you get to see some time with Diana on the island learning who she is and what she's going to become. Then Steve lands and you get more backstory on his people, and it's actually really sad but luckily not swept into depression. Once you learn even more of what Diana is for and when she leaves the Island it gets even BETTER. The next few issues of Diana learning about us as people is magical and awesome. Like a baby learning to walk she learns everything about the world and it's done really well. The negative in the story was the last issue. Here comes Ares, the God of War, and he gets taken out in about 7 pages. It was...lame. I thought it be a far bigger treat, more epic, but came up with just a meh feeling in the end. However, to push score back up is the art, which is WONDERFUL, and some of the best I've seen in awhile. Really gives each person their own look and feel and the action is stunning and easy to follow. So overall this is a wonderful origins story and a very strong storyline to get into WW. If you just read this by itself it's also really strong. I recommend this for anyone who wants to know about the badass warrior we all love right before her movie comes out! A 4/5.
    more
  • Arya Stark
    January 26, 2017
    Wonder Woman is currently so excellent I highly recommend it just like how New 52 started arguably Wonder Woman rebirth is the strongest series from the relaunch.Odd numbered volumes focuses on a more modern day WW and even numbered volumes focuses on more classic powered WW both are excellent with brilliant plot and art work. Highly recommended.
    more
  • Brendan Nicholls
    March 26, 2017
    Great first year arc that introduces the character to a world of new readers. Ends well and takes viewers away from the normal storylines that have saturated the rebirth series. This should have been vol 1 but for some odd reason they decided to cover year one as the second volume. Wonder Woman is a strong rebirth series and as I start to find which books I'll continue and which ones I will, this seems to be staying at the top.
    more
  • Joey Hines
    February 21, 2017
    Ignore that this is called "volume 2"; this is a perfect place to start reading Wonder Woman. Great take on Diana's origin story, that also introduces Steve Trevor, Etta Candy, Barbara Ann Minerva (Cheetah), and others along the way. Barbara Ann even gets her own flashback issue, which is a highlight.You could read this before volume 1, as it provides backstory that lends resonance to many moments in "The Lies".
    more
  • Ken Moten
    January 12, 2017
    This was a very good start to Greg Rucka second-run on this character. I will be reading the beginning of his first stint on this character shortly and hope it is as good as this one. Though Rucka's take on her origin is not going to equal the masterpiece that George Pérez accomplished, it does do a good job at taking the good elements of that story and updating them for the current DC Universe. This volume is something like a distillation of that run. This title was one of three reasons I start This was a very good start to Greg Rucka second-run on this character. I will be reading the beginning of his first stint on this character shortly and hope it is as good as this one. Though Rucka's take on her origin is not going to equal the masterpiece that George Pérez accomplished, it does do a good job at taking the good elements of that story and updating them for the current DC Universe. This volume is something like a distillation of that run. This title was one of three reasons I started reading DC Comics again.
    more
  • Anthony
    January 14, 2017
    For me this is the better of the two volumes so far from Rucka and his Wonder Woman rebirth. The other volume did pick up more towards the end, but I enjoyed this one more overall. And the artwork is so good.
  • Marcela
    January 14, 2017
    (Read in single issues.) Greg Rucka is one of the most talented feminist fiction writers in comics. He uses his platform to speak truth, and he always does right by Diana. Such a pleasure to read.
  • Christy
    March 4, 2017
    Sad to see the end of Nicola's art. Amazing creative team!
  • Linda
    February 15, 2017
    Really enjoyed this one. I like that it works as a standalone as well as a companion piece to the odd numbered issues. I love the stranger in a strange land trope and that people are amazed by her and drawn in by her warmth. My compliments to the artist. Diana looks incredible (though I laugh at how beefcake-y Steve Trevor is) and everyone has a distinct look (so basic, yet so often missing). I've only seen Nicola Scott's work in Black Magick, so I am impressed by how well she handles the action Really enjoyed this one. I like that it works as a standalone as well as a companion piece to the odd numbered issues. I love the stranger in a strange land trope and that people are amazed by her and drawn in by her warmth. My compliments to the artist. Diana looks incredible (though I laugh at how beefcake-y Steve Trevor is) and everyone has a distinct look (so basic, yet so often missing). I've only seen Nicola Scott's work in Black Magick, so I am impressed by how well she handles the action - it's always clear what is happening and she doesn't skimp on the face acting as Diana reacts to what is happening.
    more
  • PaperRose
    February 11, 2017
    I'm a sucker for an origin story! It's the second one I've read in the past twelve months, the first being The Legend of Wonder Woman. This one was definitely better--it had the right mix of the original story and enough new stuff thrown in to keep me interested. And that panel where Wonder Woman and a lizard stick out their tongues at each other? I don't think I'll ever get over it.And you know what I definitely cannot get over? The fact that Wonder Woman's still being written by a man. HIRE SO I'm a sucker for an origin story! It's the second one I've read in the past twelve months, the first being The Legend of Wonder Woman. This one was definitely better--it had the right mix of the original story and enough new stuff thrown in to keep me interested. And that panel where Wonder Woman and a lizard stick out their tongues at each other? I don't think I'll ever get over it.And you know what I definitely cannot get over? The fact that Wonder Woman's still being written by a man. HIRE SOME WOMEN, OR I SWEAR TO ATHENA I WILL MARCH INTO DC HEADQUARTERS AND KICK SOME ASS.
    more
  • S
    February 15, 2017
    Beautiful art, slightly weak writing.
  • Utkarsh Bansal
    January 13, 2017
    The moment you put "Year One" in the title, you know this comic is going to be the go-to origin story for this character for a long time, if not forever. And I think this volume earned that. It has a simple plot and simple ideas (terrorism, faith, communication), and emphasizes what makes Diana special, making it perfect for readers new to Wonder Woman or even new to comics as a whole. But based on the script alone, I would probably have given this 3 stars. The extra star is for the beautiful ar The moment you put "Year One" in the title, you know this comic is going to be the go-to origin story for this character for a long time, if not forever. And I think this volume earned that. It has a simple plot and simple ideas (terrorism, faith, communication), and emphasizes what makes Diana special, making it perfect for readers new to Wonder Woman or even new to comics as a whole. But based on the script alone, I would probably have given this 3 stars. The extra star is for the beautiful art by Nicola Scott.Highly recommended if you want to know whether Wonder Woman is the kind of superhero you could be interested in. If it's the superhero part that interests you, continue reading Greg Rucka's run with Wonder Woman: The Hiketeia. If the Greek mythology interests you, read Brian Azzarello's Wonder Woman, Volume 1: Blood
    more
  • Kelsey
    January 24, 2017
    Ugh, it's killing me how this is being released in singles. THEORETICALLY, since this book double ships, you can almost read the two stories side-by-side, ~5 years ago and today. Not so much in practice, though; it's too interrupted. That will no doubt be cleaned up by reading the trades.Good introduction to Diana, Steve Trevor, Etta Candy, Barbara Ann, and (my heart be still!) Sasha Bordeaux. Diana leaves Themyscira and pays the ultimate price of forgetting the way to paradise. In doing so, her Ugh, it's killing me how this is being released in singles. THEORETICALLY, since this book double ships, you can almost read the two stories side-by-side, ~5 years ago and today. Not so much in practice, though; it's too interrupted. That will no doubt be cleaned up by reading the trades.Good introduction to Diana, Steve Trevor, Etta Candy, Barbara Ann, and (my heart be still!) Sasha Bordeaux. Diana leaves Themyscira and pays the ultimate price of forgetting the way to paradise. In doing so, her introduction to the rest of the world is a mall shooting - something that is so plausible that that particular issue has stuck with me for months. Very moving.Rucka isn't going to blow the industry wide open with a shocking new twist for this one, but it's a nice consolidation of WW's mythos, which seemingly gets a new origin in every retelling.
    more
  • Michelle Hart
    November 27, 2016
    YESYESYESYESYESYESYESYESYESYESrucka's wonder woman relaunch is the punchy, optimistic, feminist comic we need right now. it's not perfect--it has wonky pacing issues; the conflict is brought up and resolved within the last two issues--but there's so much heart here. i mean...
    more
  • Emmanuel Nevers
    January 24, 2017
    This was an interesting new take on Princess Diana's origin story and was beautifully well done. This is I think the first time that it is addressed that the amazons speak a different language and there is a language barrier at first between Steve Trevor and Wonder Woman. Overall the story and art are gorgeous!
    more
  • areej
    January 26, 2017
    Great origin story, will definitely stick in my memory for years to come! I must mention how incredibly beautiful the artwork for this volume is too, it adds so much more elegance to the entire story.
  • Denise Malta
    January 17, 2017
    Amazing start to a new era of wonder woman
  • Erica McGillivray
    February 2, 2017
    Such a great reimagining of how Wonder Woman came from Themyscira to Man's World. Scott draws an excellent Diana. Etta and Barbara are fabulous, and Steve is the damsel he should be.
  • Dan
    January 13, 2017
    Good, as always!
  • Amy Smith
    January 30, 2017
    It's only 4 stars because I think they should have combined Year One and the Rebirth issues together. They play off each other and it's a more enriching read when you alternate them.
  • Iris Nevers
    January 11, 2017
    I really liked Year One for Wonder Woman!
Write a review