Everafter Vol 1
From the team that brought you Fables: The Wolf Among Us comes a new chapter of the Fables legacy! In a post-Fables world where magic abounds, it can be wielded for the greater good or used to plant the seeds of anarchy and terrorism.The Shadow Players are a global network of agents--both Fable and mundane--tasked with policing a newly enchanted world and protecting humanity from itself. Everafter features the return of series favorites Bo Peep, Peter Piper, Hansel, and Connor Wolf, as well as exciting new characters and a terrifying new villain! Written by Fables: The Wolf Among Us veterans Matthew Sturges and Dave Justus with gorgeous art by Travis Moore (Fables: The Wolf Among Us, JLA All-Stars), you won't want to miss this series that Fables creator Bill Willingham himself told us we had to get into your hands as quickly as possible!Collecting: Everafter: From the Pages of Fables 1-6

Everafter Vol 1 Details

TitleEverafter Vol 1
Author
FormatPaperback
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseMay 9th, 2017
PublisherVertigo
ISBN1401268366
ISBN-139781401268367
Number of pages320 pages
Rating
GenreSequential Art, Comics, Fantasy, Graphic Novels, Graphic Novels Comics

Everafter Vol 1 Review

  • Nenia *the flagrant liberal* Campbell
    April 16, 2017
    Instagram || Twitter || Facebook || Amazon || PinterestWow, it's been forever since I finished and reviewed a book (read: days). Is it cheating that it's a comic book? Maybe. But it's a DC imprint - and an advanced copy, at that. Cue excitement, because DC has turned down probably hundreds of requests for ARCs from me over the last four years. They, and Disney-Hyperion, are responsible for crushing so many of my book dreams, that when I found out I'd been approved to read not just EVERAFTER but Instagram || Twitter || Facebook || Amazon || PinterestWow, it's been forever since I finished and reviewed a book (read: days). Is it cheating that it's a comic book? Maybe. But it's a DC imprint - and an advanced copy, at that. Cue excitement, because DC has turned down probably hundreds of requests for ARCs from me over the last four years. They, and Disney-Hyperion, are responsible for crushing so many of my book dreams, that when I found out I'd been approved to read not just EVERAFTER but also SUPERGIRL, I shrieked in disbelief and excitement.Note to readers of this book: from what I understand from the credits ascribed to this book (and please correct me if I am wrong), the original creator of Fables, Bill Willingham, does not appear to be associated with this work. That was a major bummer to me, because I loved the story of the original Fables series. It had a dark, film noir aspect to it, like Once Upon a Time meets Sin City, and the artwork was fantastic.The art in EVERAFTER is not bad, either. I like the comic books that go for a more realistic style without super beefed up characters - not everyone has to look like an action figure. It's just as gritty as the Fables I remember, except the gore factor has upped. There were three or four disembowlings in here, to the point where I started to wonder if I picked up an AU version of The Walking Dead by mistake. There are even zombies in here. Zombies. In a Fables spin-off. What is going on?The apocalypse.Obvs.I don't want to spoil too much and to be honest, I was so confused by the events in this book that I'm not sure I could do an adequate synopsis. But basically, the Fables have created this supernatural agency responsible for protecting humans against magic. The story is set in San Francisco, which I loved, because I'm from the Bay, and involves evil Native American spirits and a girl who can resurrect zombies and who has a unicorn familiar named *snicker* "Mister Prisms."For most of the book, I considered giving the book a two star rating. The story was too dark and really confusing. I had assumed that because it was a spin-off and the first in a series, I would be able to go in cold. After finishing, I'm no longer sure that's true and am interested in seeing what people who've actually completed the series think. That said, the book started to pick up towards the end, and I loved, loved, the short story at the end about Szymon the magician. That was more what I expected from EVERAFTER: a magical character study, with depth and tragedy and humor. This book gets an extra star solely because of the awesome short story at the back that I almost - foolishly - skipped.Takeaway points:1. Way too many pictures of intestines outside of the human body.2. I still have no idea what the hell was going on for 80% of the book.3. Jordan Yow is kind of awesome and I want a Mister Prisms plushie of my own.4. Connor Wolf is sexy AF.2.5 to 3 stars
    more
  • Steve
    March 25, 2017
    I received this from Edelweiss and Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This was just okay, nothing really jumped out and captured my attention. I didn't connect with any of the characters and the storyline was so-so.
  • Wayne McCoy
    May 29, 2017
    'Everafter Vol. 1: The Pandora Protocol' by Lilah Sturges and Dave Justus brings together the first 6 issues of Everafter: From the Pages of Fables. It's best to have an understanding of who these characters are before diving into this volume.It's a post-Fables world, but some of Fables find themselves still around and working for the Shadow Players, kind of a James Bond type spy agency led by a guy named Feathertop. While Bo Peep, Peter Piper and Hansel are trying to get to St. Louis to capture 'Everafter Vol. 1: The Pandora Protocol' by Lilah Sturges and Dave Justus brings together the first 6 issues of Everafter: From the Pages of Fables. It's best to have an understanding of who these characters are before diving into this volume.It's a post-Fables world, but some of Fables find themselves still around and working for the Shadow Players, kind of a James Bond type spy agency led by a guy named Feathertop. While Bo Peep, Peter Piper and Hansel are trying to get to St. Louis to capture/stop a new threat, something horrific happens. Meanwhile, Connor Wolf, shapeshifter and uncontrollable braggart, is introduced to Feathertop as a new agent. Will Connor be a help or a hindrance or will Peter Piper end up killing him first?It does lack something that the original creator, Bill Willingham, brought to the series, but it still holds up as a concept. The new weird threat they are after is darn creepy, even if she reminded me of a character from The Twilight Zone. The art is solid. I liked this book and I'd like to read more in this new series.I received a review copy of this graphic novel from Vertigo, DC Entertainment, and NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. Thank you for allowing me to review this graphic novel.
    more
  • Amanda
    May 10, 2017
    I was so excited to read this: a Fables spin-off that brings together an eclectic cast of characters as a sort of magical spy crew. Think Mission Impossible meets The Avengers in a world where magic is real, dangerous, and out-of-control.Unfortunately, this was rather a let-down. The enchanting spirit and cool characters of the original Fables are nowhere to be found - while the storylines are interesting enough they failed to capture my imagination. Bill Willingham's unique storytelling voice i I was so excited to read this: a Fables spin-off that brings together an eclectic cast of characters as a sort of magical spy crew. Think Mission Impossible meets The Avengers in a world where magic is real, dangerous, and out-of-control.Unfortunately, this was rather a let-down. The enchanting spirit and cool characters of the original Fables are nowhere to be found - while the storylines are interesting enough they failed to capture my imagination. Bill Willingham's unique storytelling voice is a tough act to follow, and it doesn't help when a central character (Connor Wolf ) is so fundamentally unlikeable. He's meant, I think, to be a young "early Will Smith"-type (cocky, snarky, but fundamentally good-hearted); but instead is a rampantly arrogant asshole who endangers his team (and the world they're supposed to be protecting) with his selfish and immature behaviour. He's the son of Bigby Wolf - one of the coolest characters in comicdom, and a certified badass who's earned his stripes - but you'd never guess it. He comes off as an entitles rich-boy brat. I guess Snow and Bixby weren't great disciplinarians.Honestly, it's okay. If it were a standalone and not connected to Fables... Maybe the comparison wouldn't be so jarring.  But as part of the Fables... er... stable of titles, it's a disappointment.Provided by Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Nightlizard
    April 28, 2017
    I liked it, but nothing more. I am not familiar with original and sometimes I was lost and had no idea what's going on. Overall I liked the story and the art was good, but I guess I need to get back to it when I read the original. *Digital review copy provided by NetGalley & the publisher in exchange for an honest review or rating.>
    more
  • Rick Hunter
    May 11, 2017
    I've read the first 4-5 volumes of Bill Willingham's Fables. That's only about 1/4 of the way through the series. Seeing as how I have no clue how that series ended, I wasn't sure what I'd be getting into with this continuation, especially since this isn't even written by Willingham. The "Fables" were magical beings from another realm that had to flee the powerful forces of someone known only as "The Adversary". Once the Fables came to our world, they became the basis for our Fairy Tales. The Fa I've read the first 4-5 volumes of Bill Willingham's Fables. That's only about 1/4 of the way through the series. Seeing as how I have no clue how that series ended, I wasn't sure what I'd be getting into with this continuation, especially since this isn't even written by Willingham. The "Fables" were magical beings from another realm that had to flee the powerful forces of someone known only as "The Adversary". Once the Fables came to our world, they became the basis for our Fairy Tales. The Fables were extremely long lived. They weren't immortal because they could be killed, but many injuries that would have taken humans a long time to recover from took very little time to heal for a Fable. Humans, known as "mundies" or "mundanes" to the Fables, each know some Fairy Tales based on the individual Fables. The more humans that know about a specific Fable the longer lived and quicker recovering that Fable is. I'm having to guess here, but I imagine that near the end of Bill Willingham's Fables series, they defeated the Adversary which caused an Everafter event. This event caused some humans to develop magical powers turning them into Fables. Other beings from different folklore around the world have come to life as well. Chaos has spread over the world. The Fables had always kept themselves secret until now, but since the Everafter event, the whole world knows about them. Some of the Fables have chosen to help protect mankind against the Fables that have much more nefarious plans.The Shadow Players is a secret agency, think MI6 and James Bond with magical powers, that is main force trying to protect the humans. The book starts off with Little Bo Peep, Hansel, and Peter Piper trying to make their way to young girl that destroyed almost everything in St. Louis, Missouri. While these 3 are out in the field on assignment, Snow White and the Big Bad Wolf, 2 of the major players in the original Fables series, bring their son Conner Wolf to the head of the Shadow Players, Feathertop, so that Conner can become their newest agent. The reader, along with Conner, gets introduced to all of the people behind the scenes at the Shadow Players agency. Conner gets sent on his first mission and makes some rookie mistakes. Native American folklore comes into the story, and we get better acquainted with all of the lead characters. I'm not going to go into any more detail than that because it would much of the book.The first 5 issues in the book tell one big story while the final issue stands on its own. I'm not often a fan of single issues stories because they seem to be just filler material. I really enjoyed this one though. A magician tells a beautiful about how he saw a magic show at a birthday party as a child which led him to pursue a career as a stage magician. Once the Everafter event happened, he gained real magical powers. He then goes on to tell her how Feathertop approached him to come work a mission for the Shadow Players.Dave Justus & Lilah Sturges are the writers for the series. This duo has captured the essence of the original series and its adult-oriented humor. I laughed out loud a few times while reading this book. The spoken dialogue between characters is the best part of the book. The plot itself is good, but Justus and Sturges really hit the nail on the head when it comes to character interactions. While this is a continuation of Fables, it also serves as a brand new starting point. A lot of time is spent introducing characters to the readers which slows things down a bit, but that can be expected with volume 1 of almost every comic series ever created. Overall, the book writing was quite enjoyable and has me looking forward to more of the series. The writing score is 4 stars. Travis Moore pencils issues #1-5, and Steve Rolston handles #6. Moore has the better artwork. Everything Moore draws is highly detailed. All of the characters look great so there isn't one character that really stands out as being better than any of the others. The style of art used really matches the dark, adult tone of the series. Rolston's art has a more cartoonish feel to it and seems like it would be more at home in a children's book. The characters look good, but the style just doesn't fit the mature tone of the rest of the book. Rolston's art being so out of place detracts a little from the art score, but not much because it's only in one issue and the rest of the book looks fantastic. 4.5 star for the art.Anybody that has read the original Fables series or any of its spin-offs will enjoy this one. I wouldn't really suggest starting here if you're new to the Fables world, but it's certainly possible since the writers give you some background info to get you up to speed. Still, you'd be missing out on some great stuff in the series if this is your starting point. This one gets an overall rating of 4.25 stars. ***** I got a digital copy of this from the site Netgalley.com in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Chris
    May 12, 2017
    So, I found the conclusion of Fables a little anti-climactic. To be fair I felt like it had lost a bit of steam since the conclusion of the War arc. It was still cool to see those characters but it kind of already felt like the Ever After.But, I've always been a sucker for the spin-off books, so I was curious about this one. Going in blind I had no idea what it was about.And it's rejuvenated my love for this universe. I like that it openly acknowledges magic coming out of the closet in the mundy So, I found the conclusion of Fables a little anti-climactic. To be fair I felt like it had lost a bit of steam since the conclusion of the War arc. It was still cool to see those characters but it kind of already felt like the Ever After.But, I've always been a sucker for the spin-off books, so I was curious about this one. Going in blind I had no idea what it was about.And it's rejuvenated my love for this universe. I like that it openly acknowledges magic coming out of the closet in the mundy world rather than trying to cram it back in.I like that it's almost a smaller story in that it only focuses on a couple of people rather than a whole community. A couple of people who have very specific skillsOne of the afore mentioned spin offs I love is the Cinderella spy series, so it was cool to find this also follows a group of spies.It's awesome that Peter Piper and Bo Peep get more screentime. I've loved them ever since I read Peter & Max, as for their new parter Connor Wolf... my feelings are mixed.Firstly he's really pretty, Dick Grayson as drawn by Mikel Janin pretty. So kudos to Travis Moore. I hope he sticks around.Secondly, Connor is a bit of a dick. It's been awhile since I've read the main series, and he's aged a little since then but I don't recall a lot about the character. I feel like he was kind of the forgotten kid to a point. All the others had interesting adventures but I really can't recall what he did.And honestly, he's kind of a likable dick. He tries to hard, he acts like he's the best but it's pretty clear he's just insecure and it's probably related to his family. It's hard to really stand out amongst such incredible people, especially his martyred brother.So, I'm willing to cut him some slack. I like his relationship with Peter, it reminds me of Dick Grayson's relationship with his partner in the < a href="https://www.goodreads.com/series/1566... series.Is this as good as Fables in its heyday? No, but that's hard act to follow. It's on the right track and it feels good to be getting new Fables stories again.
    more
  • Glennis
    May 9, 2017
    Set after the main line Fables stories have ended several fables are still here and working for an agency trying to protect the world from the new magic. Connor Wolf is now grown and after a quick cameo by his parents he goes to work for the new agency. Sent out with the team on a mission on his first day with no team training he uses his initiative when things don’t go to plan. The good news is this works and they uncover the group that is stealing the objects and what they want them for. After Set after the main line Fables stories have ended several fables are still here and working for an agency trying to protect the world from the new magic. Connor Wolf is now grown and after a quick cameo by his parents he goes to work for the new agency. Sent out with the team on a mission on his first day with no team training he uses his initiative when things don’t go to plan. The good news is this works and they uncover the group that is stealing the objects and what they want them for. After reading the first arc and a one-shot story added in this volume it left me cold. Yes, there was interesting stuff seeded into the plot that you know will come out later on down the story line but for the most part I don’t feel that motivated to read any more of them. Maybe I’ll change my mind if other people I know are reading it and loving it I might give it another shot. Review copy provided by the publisher through Edelweiss
    more
  • Lauri
    May 27, 2017
    Üllatavalt hea, eriti arvestades asjaolu et kogu Fablesi-frantšiis hakkab esiteks juba oma mahukusega ilgelt ära tüütama, ja teiseks, kogu see põld on ikka nii ära küntud juba, et väga raske on miskit kullapotti adratera taha saada. Kas just nüüd kullapott, aga ütleme et arheoloogilise väärtusega roostes mõõk ja kiiver ilmusid seekord välja küll. Tegu on sama tiimiga kes seisis ka "The Wolf Among Us" projekti taga, ja see oli ju mäletatatavasti keskmisest Fablesi-stooriliinist - eriti lõpupoole Üllatavalt hea, eriti arvestades asjaolu et kogu Fablesi-frantšiis hakkab esiteks juba oma mahukusega ilgelt ära tüütama, ja teiseks, kogu see põld on ikka nii ära küntud juba, et väga raske on miskit kullapotti adratera taha saada. Kas just nüüd kullapott, aga ütleme et arheoloogilise väärtusega roostes mõõk ja kiiver ilmusid seekord välja küll. Tegu on sama tiimiga kes seisis ka "The Wolf Among Us" projekti taga, ja see oli ju mäletatatavasti keskmisest Fablesi-stooriliinist - eriti lõpupoole - ju suurusjärkude võrra andekam, intelligentsem ja oluliselt rohkem vaimset pingutust nõudev, igasugustest Fablesi sohipoegadest ja -tütardest nagu Jack, Cinderella ja Fairest rääkimata...Et siis suht meeldiv asi, vaatamata teatavale eelarvamusele ja ka kergele tülgastusele ükskõik millise Fablesi teemaga kasvõi kaudselt seotud asja vastu.
    more
  • Sarah
    May 6, 2017
    4.5 stars. happy to be getting more Fable material! and Bo Peep and Piper were some of my favorite characters in the original Fables, so it's exciting to see them as main characters!
  • Deborah
    May 15, 2017
    Great start, can't wait for more in this series!
  • Katie Atmakur
    May 10, 2017
    This book is so incredible i love every page of it the author of it is so talented!!
  • Maxoel Costa
    February 14, 2017
    A série se inicia algum tempo depois do fim da série "Fábulas" e tem ênfase no evento que chamam de "everaftering" (numa tradução tosca, o "parasempremente"). No caso, um grupo de agentes, formado por Fábulas e Humanos, é formado para lidar com as consequências desse evento. A série lembra um pouco as histórias de espionagem da Cinderela, mas sem o mesmo brlho, com o perdão do trocadilho. Não conheço nada do Dave Justus, mas a Lilah Sturges nunca foi uma escritora brilhante, vide o seu run em Ma A série se inicia algum tempo depois do fim da série "Fábulas" e tem ênfase no evento que chamam de "everaftering" (numa tradução tosca, o "parasempremente"). No caso, um grupo de agentes, formado por Fábulas e Humanos, é formado para lidar com as consequências desse evento. A série lembra um pouco as histórias de espionagem da Cinderela, mas sem o mesmo brlho, com o perdão do trocadilho. Não conheço nada do Dave Justus, mas a Lilah Sturges nunca foi uma escritora brilhante, vide o seu run em Mansão dos Segredos e a co-autoria de Jack of Fables com Bill Willigham.
    more
  • Sage Thoughts
    April 19, 2017
    Content Ratinghttp://sagethoughtsonbooks.blogspot.c...This is not for kids, despite the fairytales.
  • Jamie-Lee
    March 1, 2017
    Not as exciting as previous Fables but intriguing none the less. Curious to find our more about Jordan and the world of Nimira and the new Fables that are still popping up!
  • Micheline
    April 18, 2017
    It was nice to hop back into one of my favourite worlds, but was moderately disappointed that none of my favourite characters made more then a passing token appearance. Despite this being the kick off to a new series it would be almost impossible for someone not particularly familiar with original to have any idea what's going on. Heck, I needed to brush up on a few things when I was left scratching my head a few pages in. While I enjoyed seeing one of the cubs feature prominently in the story a It was nice to hop back into one of my favourite worlds, but was moderately disappointed that none of my favourite characters made more then a passing token appearance. Despite this being the kick off to a new series it would be almost impossible for someone not particularly familiar with original to have any idea what's going on. Heck, I needed to brush up on a few things when I was left scratching my head a few pages in. While I enjoyed seeing one of the cubs feature prominently in the story arc I find it strange that one of the most notably passive cubs is written as a cocky Casanova.I'm interested in where the Fables world will go and am excited to see what sort of Mundy Fables we will be introduced to. I feel like there is a lot of modern material available to explore, as well as the less famous folklore and myths. Like I said, Fables is one of my absolute favourites, the world building is phenomenal, and for that reason I will keep on top of all of their new releases, I just might wait a few volumes before I start investing in the trade paperbacks.
    more
  • Jenn
    April 20, 2017
    First time I've read anything in this universe and I would read more! I love how it takes characters from our fairy tales and works them into our world, which now has magic of it's own because of their presence, and creates new stories. There's a bit of a cliffhanger. but nothing too big.
    more
  • Becca
    April 25, 2017
    I LOVE LOVE LOVED this book. The story, the characters, the illustrations. Amazing.I would say I am pretty fussy when it comes to fairy tale adaptions. If you are remaking a classic that everyone knows, loves, and recognizes, I kinda expect it to be amazing and mindblowing and give my characters a spotlight I love and didn't think was possible. Everafter did just that. They took some classic and already loved characters; Bo Peep, Peter Piper, and Hansel; and put them in a apocalyptic world where I LOVE LOVE LOVED this book. The story, the characters, the illustrations. Amazing.I would say I am pretty fussy when it comes to fairy tale adaptions. If you are remaking a classic that everyone knows, loves, and recognizes, I kinda expect it to be amazing and mindblowing and give my characters a spotlight I love and didn't think was possible. Everafter did just that. They took some classic and already loved characters; Bo Peep, Peter Piper, and Hansel; and put them in a apocalyptic world where they are badass fighting heroes. The illustrations are perfect, the colours and the style are just so fitting to the story and the characters. And the plot will blow you away - this is a series where I will fall in love with the classic characters all over again and want to know how their lives and the new world they live in carries out.
    more
  • Ije the Devourer of Books
    March 26, 2017
    Review to follow.
Write a review