Holiday in the Hamptons (From Manhattan with Love #5)
The perfect summer escape…?Professional dog-walker Felicity Knight loves everything about New York…until her ex-husband starts working at her local vet clinic. She hasn’t seen Seth Carlyle in ten years, but one glimpse of him – too gorgeous, and still too good for her – and Fliss’s heart hurts like their whirlwind marriage ended yesterday. So when her grandmother in The Hamptons needs help for the summer, it seems the perfect way to escape her past…Their relationship might only have lasted a few scorching months, but vet Seth knows Fliss – if she’s run away to The Hamptons, it’s because she still feels their connection and it terrifies her. He let her go once before, when he didn’t know any better, but not this summer! With the help of his adorable dog Lulu, and a sprinkling of beachside magic, Seth is determined to make Fliss see that he’s never stopped loving her…

Holiday in the Hamptons (From Manhattan with Love #5) Details

TitleHoliday in the Hamptons (From Manhattan with Love #5)
Author
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJan 1st, 1970
Rating
GenreRomance, Contemporary Romance

Holiday in the Hamptons (From Manhattan with Love #5) Review

  • Lisa Jayne
    March 24, 2017
    THREE SUMMER ESCAPE STARS. "The perfect summer escape…?" I've not previously read anything before by this established author, but that wasn't going to stop me. One look at this blurb and it had me requesting on netgalley with no time to waste. This author already has existing books in the 'from Manhattan with love' series but this was to read as a standalone, with the being said now I've had a taster of what this author has to offer I'm definitely interested in reading more. What did I love?Ther THREE SUMMER ESCAPE STARS. "The perfect summer escape…?" I've not previously read anything before by this established author, but that wasn't going to stop me. One look at this blurb and it had me requesting on netgalley with no time to waste. This author already has existing books in the 'from Manhattan with love' series but this was to read as a standalone, with the being said now I've had a taster of what this author has to offer I'm definitely interested in reading more. What did I love?There was lots to like about this novel. I loved the family relationships and friendships scattered liberally throughout this romance novel and I also enjoyed the gorgeous setting at the Hampton's. Sarah Morgan also had a special way of making the reader feel right on 'set' with plenty of description scenes and romantic detail. I adored the tenacity of the hero and I liked the brokenness of the heroine. There was heart warming parts, teary moments and plenty of romance to keep me glued to this couples romantic progression. Why not five?This romance book was thorough, well written and solidly put together. I really enjoyed this authors style and for the most part her attention to the detail. For my tastes, the first 30% or so of the story telling was a little on the slow side and I don't think I can say that the author kept my full attention. However, with that being said there was something about this book that kept me going and after that point I have to admit that I was quickly hooked. My rating falls somewhere between a three and a four star; a likeable read but I needed that something more to convince me to rate higher.Final thoughts ...This is a second chance at love story and then some. Those who love that trope will be happy to read this book and read all the angst and navigating that this couple encounter to get to their special ending. There is plenty to like about this novel and I'm certainly going to make sure I hook myself up with some other works by Sarah Morgan. Enjoy ... kisses.
    more
  • Sarah
    March 26, 2017
    Following on from New York Actually (Daniel and Molly's story) this continues the story of Fliss (one of Daniel's younger twin sisters) When she was 18 Fliss married Seth and shortly after they were divorced....now 10yrs later Seth has turned up in Manhattan in Fliss's neighbourhood afraid of confronting the past Fliss jumps at an opportunity to visit her grandma in the Hamptons where they used to holiday as children/teenagers little does she know Seth's new home is also in the HamptonsI love th Following on from New York Actually (Daniel and Molly's story) this continues the story of Fliss (one of Daniel's younger twin sisters) When she was 18 Fliss married Seth and shortly after they were divorced....now 10yrs later Seth has turned up in Manhattan in Fliss's neighbourhood afraid of confronting the past Fliss jumps at an opportunity to visit her grandma in the Hamptons where they used to holiday as children/teenagers little does she know Seth's new home is also in the HamptonsI love the way the story is written piecing the past relationship together bit by bit while also fixing the present relationship into place.It was nice to see characters from previous books pop into this story
    more
  • Laura
    March 18, 2017
    I found this book quite slow to start. Seth and Fliss had got married at 18 but it only lasted 3 months and they haven't seen each other for 10 years. Apart from the first time they kiss in the prologue, we don't read about their marriage together, we're just 'told' a few things. The book picked up around 40%. Fliss didn't have a great childhood and she didn't have a good relationship with her father. She's a twin and she grew up believing she was the bad twin. From the minute Seth and Fliss mee I found this book quite slow to start. Seth and Fliss had got married at 18 but it only lasted 3 months and they haven't seen each other for 10 years. Apart from the first time they kiss in the prologue, we don't read about their marriage together, we're just 'told' a few things. The book picked up around 40%. Fliss didn't have a great childhood and she didn't have a good relationship with her father. She's a twin and she grew up believing she was the bad twin. From the minute Seth and Fliss meet again, it's obvious they still have feelings for one another. I liked Seth and Fliss although Fliss was a bit annoying at times when it was obvious that Seth wanted to be with her. Their first time together when they were 18, they had rushed into the sexual side of their relationship so this time Seth wants to take that side of things slowly (and he did, the sex scene is tame and doesn't happen until two thirds of the way through the story). He wants to get to know more about Fliss. She keeps a wall up and he wants to knock it down.I did feel the connection between them and the emotion. It was quite a sweet story and rather predictable but I enjoyed it in the end. I presume Fliss' twin sister Harriet will be getting her own story?ARC provided by Netgalley
    more
  • Marie
    March 19, 2017
    "Holiday in the Hamptons" couldn't come quick enough for me. I absolutely loved the previous book in this new series and was hoping that this next one would cover the very spiky character of Fliss. Luckily for me, this book focuses on Fliss and her ex-husband, Seth.Fliss is a very interesting character, partly because she is a twin and partly because she has a slightly abrasive attitude and you wonder how she got that way. Her twin sister, Harriet or Harry is completely the opposite in temperame "Holiday in the Hamptons" couldn't come quick enough for me. I absolutely loved the previous book in this new series and was hoping that this next one would cover the very spiky character of Fliss. Luckily for me, this book focuses on Fliss and her ex-husband, Seth.Fliss is a very interesting character, partly because she is a twin and partly because she has a slightly abrasive attitude and you wonder how she got that way. Her twin sister, Harriet or Harry is completely the opposite in temperament even though they look the same.The book starts by going back to when Fliss turned 18 and her blossoming romance with Seth Carlyle. The obvious attraction and more between them really makes you curious as to how it all unraveled and went wrong.As she does so brilliantly, Sarah reveals things gradually through the book. We discover the real reason why Fliss and Seth broke up and why Fliss behaves the way that she does. I loved that, in addition to discovering more about Fliss, we also learn some secrets about her parents and get to know her grandmother better too. All these things give a much better understanding of this complicated character.Even though this book is set predominantly in the Hamptons, we still experience the dog theme as Fliss soon gets roped into providing a dog walking service. I don't know if the author has a dog herself but she certainly writes about them convincingly.Since Daniel, brother of Fliss, had shown an instant dislike on seeing Seth again after many years, I assumed that Seth had been the main cause of the break-up. I really could not have got it more wrong. Seth isn't a bad boy at all and neither is Fliss the bad twin as she keeps calling herself.This was a fantastic addition to the series and, while I didn't love it quite as much as "New York, Actually," it was another fantastic read that kept me awake late at night as I tried to finish it off. I'm so looking forward to the next book and getting to know Harriet better. Where her love interest will come from is anyone's guess although I suspect he will have to love animals in the same soppy way that she does. I voluntarily reviewed an advance copy of this book and have given my honest opinion of it.
    more
  • Mrs
    March 26, 2017
    Holiday in the Hampton's is a really good read. Fliss and Seth were lovers in the past when Fliss was only 18. Due to Fliss, her twin sister and brother being treated so badly by their father Fliss has always felt she was the bad twin and worthless so can't believe anyone could love her. Reenter Seth after 10 years determined this time he is not going to loose Fliss again.So begins a great tale of angst, previous heartbreak but above all love that survives.I thoroughly enjoyed this book and was Holiday in the Hampton's is a really good read. Fliss and Seth were lovers in the past when Fliss was only 18. Due to Fliss, her twin sister and brother being treated so badly by their father Fliss has always felt she was the bad twin and worthless so can't believe anyone could love her. Reenter Seth after 10 years determined this time he is not going to loose Fliss again.So begins a great tale of angst, previous heartbreak but above all love that survives.I thoroughly enjoyed this book and was cheering both Seth and Fliss on.Thanks to net galley and publisher for opportunity to review this book
    more
  • Ukgardenfiend
    March 28, 2017
    There are twins - Harriet and Fliss - who are identical, but not to those who really know them. They have a very controlling father with anger issues and a placating mother. Fliss is constantly being told by her father that she is useless and worthless . Fighting against that viewpoint and protecting Harriet from her father and other bullies has dominated Fliss's life and behaviour. Harriet constantly retreats from conflict and is very quiet and nervous, often stammering when confronted.Both twi There are twins - Harriet and Fliss - who are identical, but not to those who really know them. They have a very controlling father with anger issues and a placating mother. Fliss is constantly being told by her father that she is useless and worthless . Fighting against that viewpoint and protecting Harriet from her father and other bullies has dominated Fliss's life and behaviour. Harriet constantly retreats from conflict and is very quiet and nervous, often stammering when confronted.Both twins flourish in the Hamptons as children each summer, as they stay with their maternal grandmother in her cottage. The father is rarely there and the sea and sand and familial warmth are safe havens for them both.But Fliss’s headstrong behaviour lands her in an early marriage and divorce to Seth, their brother’s best friend.And it the theme of safe haven that pervades the story. A quiet place, serene, with emotional warmth.
    more
  • Sophie
    March 27, 2017
    I am always excited to get my hands on anything new from Sarah Morgan and this latest installment did not disappoint. Following on from New York Actually, Holiday in the Hamptons follows the story of Fliss as she visits her grandmother and not so incidentally tries to avoid her ex-husband Seth. I particularly love the way that Sarah Morgan always writes smart, believable heroines and Fliss is no exception. She’s charming, engaging and you’re rooting for her to find her happy ending. I devoured t I am always excited to get my hands on anything new from Sarah Morgan and this latest installment did not disappoint. Following on from New York Actually, Holiday in the Hamptons follows the story of Fliss as she visits her grandmother and not so incidentally tries to avoid her ex-husband Seth. I particularly love the way that Sarah Morgan always writes smart, believable heroines and Fliss is no exception. She’s charming, engaging and you’re rooting for her to find her happy ending. I devoured this book in 2 days and afterwards wanted to jump straight on a plane to The Hamptons. The author painted such a vivid picture of the people and places that it really came alive. For readers of previous Sarah Morgan books, it was lovely to catch up with Matilda and Chase from Midnight at Tiffany’s as well, I love how while all of Morgan’s books can be read individually there are touchpoints between them making it all the richer for long time readers.The only problem I had with this book is that now I have to wait for the next chapter of the story, and it can’t come quick enough!I received an early copy of this book from NetGalley
    more
  • Laura
    March 26, 2017
    review to follow
Write a review