Under Parr
December 5th, 2013 left its mark on the North Norfolk Coast in more ways than one. A tidal surge and storm swept millennia-old cliff faces into the sea and flooded homes and businesses up and down the coast. It also buried a secret in the WWII bunker hiding under the golf course at Brancaster. A secret kept for years, until it falls squarely into the lap of Detective Sergeant Kate Brannon and her fellow officers.A skeleton, deep inside the bunker.How did it get there? Who was he…or she? How did the stranger die—in a tragic accident or something more sinister? Well, that’s Kate’s job to find out.

Under Parr Details

TitleUnder Parr
Author
FormatPaperback
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseMay 2nd, 2017
PublisherYlva Publishing
ISBN3955337448
ISBN-139783955337445
Number of pages308 pages
Rating
GenreMystery, Romance, Crime, Emergency Services, Police

Readers also enjoyed


Under Parr Review

  • Lex Kent
    May 23, 2017
    I thought Bramhall had a hit on her hands with the book Collide-O-Scope, but for me this book was even better. Really great read that held my attention from page one, until the end. I just hope we don't have to wait too long for book 3.The story picks up where book 1, left off. Gina is struggling from dealing with the violence she went through. Gina is worried Kate will leave her now that she is different. Besides the relationship being strained, Kate is thrown into a murder mystery of a skeleto I thought Bramhall had a hit on her hands with the book Collide-O-Scope, but for me this book was even better. Really great read that held my attention from page one, until the end. I just hope we don't have to wait too long for book 3.The story picks up where book 1, left off. Gina is struggling from dealing with the violence she went through. Gina is worried Kate will leave her now that she is different. Besides the relationship being strained, Kate is thrown into a murder mystery of a skeleton found in an old war bunker. Can Kate find the killer, while still keeping her relationship together?While the murder mystery is self contained within this book, I absolutely recommend reading Collide-O-Scope first. There is so much that Gina and even her daughter are dealing with, that you will miss without book 1. While Bramhall references things for new readers, it is not even close to the same as reading book 1.I want to be careful not to spoiler anything so I will keep this kind of short. This book was great. I loved the murder mystery. While I had an idea of who it is, it is much harder to figure out than book 1's mystery. I also thought it was interesting what Gina and her daughter was going through. So many books, people survive violence, and it is kind of swept under the rug. This book shows the kind of trauma people really go through. I just thought it was all really well written. While this book wraps up the murder mystery, it does leave one plot line left hanging. Bramhall, did leave a big clue, who it is, if you read the book carefully. Though I guess she could pull a 180 and just have it be a decoy. But if it is the person she left the clues for, damn book 3 could be really good:)I really like this series. It is so easy for me to recommend it for mystery fans. The romance is very slow, especially with all Gina is going through, but I hope it will still pick up in future books. Bramhall, please don't take too long to write book 3, I don't think I can stand the wait.An ARC was given to me by YLVA, for a honest review.
    more
  • Lexxi Kitty
    May 11, 2017
    I received an ARC of this book from NetGalley and Ylva Publishing in exchange for an honest review.This is a book with two main points of view (other than the prologue, there really are only two). Detective Sergeant Kate Brannon and Gina Temple.PlotlinesMajor Plots:1) Police investigating a mysterya) Skeleton found in a WWII bunker that got sealed by a storm that hit December 5 2013. While investigating the skeleton several other crimes were discovered and investigatedb) The police force, or at I received an ARC of this book from NetGalley and Ylva Publishing in exchange for an honest review.This is a book with two main points of view (other than the prologue, there really are only two). Detective Sergeant Kate Brannon and Gina Temple.PlotlinesMajor Plots:1) Police investigating a mysterya) Skeleton found in a WWII bunker that got sealed by a storm that hit December 5 2013. While investigating the skeleton several other crimes were discovered and investigatedb) The police force, or at least the task force dealing with ‘the case of the skeleton’, has a certain ‘issue’ with one of their members. Personality clash? Bad cop? Something’s going on.2) A mother and daughter attempting to deal with traumatic issuesa) Due to the nature of the events of the prior book, the townspeople and their children torment Sammy, Gina’s daughter; plus Sammy is still suffering mentally/emotionallyb) Due to the nature of the events of the prior book, the townspeople glare at and act mean towards Gina; plus Gina is still suffering mentally/emotionally Subplots1) Romancea) Trouble in paradise? See: Gina and daughter suffering from the traumatic events of last bookb) Someone stalking/romancing/something Gina2) Gina’s estranged mother pops up during the police investigationa) Complications related to the mother being back in the picture.b) ?First off, though, I need to note that unlike some mystery series that involve the police, you really do need to have read the first book in the series before reading this book here. Since one of the story lines is more or less directly tied to the prior book – a reaction to the events that occurred in that prior book.This book starts six weeks after Collide-O-Scope - well, no, literally the book starts before that first book, but that’s just the prologue. The prologue is set in December 5, 2013, when an old man stumbles around a nursing home, spots someone doing something wrong, stumbles out into a storm, and ends up in a WWII bunker. When the book moves to the main part, out of the prologue, it’s about four years later (or three?) and a skeleton has been found inside a WWII bunker on the North Norfolk Coast of England. The people from the first book fall into similar rolls as before, for the most part (and even when they don’t physically appear, they pop up in conversation, like Inspector Savage). Detective Sergeant Kate Brannon, one of the two main points of view, works the skeleton case while her boss, like in the last book, goes off to deal with a different case (the boss, by the way, being Detective Inspector Timmons). Working with Brannon is Detective Sergeant Stella Goodwin, who both head of the investigation. Meanwhile Detective Constable Jimmy Powers is Brannon’s assistant until he is replaced by Detective Constable Gareth Collier (because of a personality clash between Collier and his partner). Len Wild and Dr. Ruth Anderson also return. While Brannon is following the mystery angle of the book, Georgina ‘Gina’ Temple follows the PTSD angle. As in, her daughter had found a dead body in the prior book – her best friend, (view spoiler)[ and for three days she, the daughter – Sammy – had thought she had killed her friend (hide spoiler)], and Sammy also happens to go to a school where all but maybe one of the other children there were deeply impacted by the prior book ((view spoiler)[one or more parents ending up being out of work, and/or facing long jail time for the (view spoiler)[drug smuggling ring (hide spoiler)] [events] found in the prior book (hide spoiler)]) and the children blame Sammy. Bully her mercilessly. Meanwhile, Gina herself has her own emotional and physical scars to try to overcome – recall it’s only been six weeks. And so that’s the second track/plot line/angle – a mother and daughter attempting to fight the demons created by the prior book.That second plot line is interesting, in its way, though ultimately I find/found it to be a distraction I did not wish to read. It got in the way of the mystery, unfortunately. There was even one section that I ended up skipping (until I remembered I was reading an ARC so went back and read it; normally I’d have skipped certain paragraphs/sections/etc.).The book was interesting – following the police as they investigate one thing, a skeleton found in a WWII bunker, which leads to even more things to investigate. The mystery itself was a good twist on the standard murder mystery; the interactions between the police and others (and amongst themselves) was good. If the book had just been the Mystery, I would likely rate this book highly. But it isn’t. Frankly, while well written and seeming as if it’d make a good book on its own, the PTSD plot was, as noted, distracting to me and might have been less ‘boring’ if it had been its own book. Potentially. I mean, I’ve read PTSD books before – where that’s the main and mostly only focus. Publication Date: May 17 2017 (though you can purchase the book now from the Ylva Publishing website). Rating: Mystery: 4.3; Other Stuff: 3.3 = 7.6/2=3.8 overall rating of 3.8.May 12 2017
    more
  • Agirlcandream
    May 24, 2017
    Collide-O-Scope, the first book in the Norfolk Coast Investigation series introduced us to Detective Sergeant Kate Brannon and her team of investigators. We also met her future love interest Gina Temple and her precocious daughter Sam. I recommend reading Collide-O-Scope before reading Under Parr as many events in the first novel impact events in the second.Under Parr begins six weeks after the first novel with the discovery of a skeleton in an abandoned, sand- filled bunker. Thanks to a well wr Collide-O-Scope, the first book in the Norfolk Coast Investigation series introduced us to Detective Sergeant Kate Brannon and her team of investigators. We also met her future love interest Gina Temple and her precocious daughter Sam. I recommend reading Collide-O-Scope before reading Under Parr as many events in the first novel impact events in the second.Under Parr begins six weeks after the first novel with the discovery of a skeleton in an abandoned, sand- filled bunker. Thanks to a well written prologue the reader is privy to information the investigating detectives lack. Armed with this knowledge, the reader gets to sit back and watch the detectives work through leads and hunches trying to discover the identity of the victim and whether his death could be ruled accidental or a homicide. There are still unknowns but it does simplify (for the reader) the mystery. Brannon has her hands full directing her staff and working with a difficult new detective, DC Gareth Collier. She’s also dealing with issues in her personal life as her budding relationship with Gina is floundering.This was an okay read but did not live up to the more complex police procedural we saw in Collide-O-Scope. While it was nice to see Brannon’s team back in action, the author tries too hard to make Kate’s team seem witty and fun in the opening chapters. It all felt a bit forced. Once the investigation begins and the detectives get busy solving the mystery the story improves. It was interesting seeing how events in the first book impacted Sammy and Gina. It is rare in police procedurals to focus on the victims/witnesses from a previous case. This thread was filled with more drama and emotional range than the investigation. I thought the author did a good job of showing the challenges faced by both characters and how these issues impacted their lives and the relationship between Gina and Kate.The author drops dirigible-sized hints at more mysteries to come so I look forward to the next Norfolk Coast Investigation with a now seasoned team of investigators and a more confident DS Brannon. 3.5 starsARC received with thanks from publisher for an honest review.
    more
  • Elaine Tomasso
    May 17, 2017
    I would like to thank Netgalley and Ylva Publishing/ Book Enthusiast Promotions for a review copy of Under Parr, the second novel to feature DS Kate Brannon of the Norfolk police.The novel opens in 2013 when dementia sufferer, Alan, walks in on a man suffocating another care home occupant. After a struggle Alan stumbles off to get help. Cut to 2016 and DS Kate Brannon is called in to the discovery of a skeleton found in a sealed off bunker. Everything about the case is undetermined from the caus I would like to thank Netgalley and Ylva Publishing/ Book Enthusiast Promotions for a review copy of Under Parr, the second novel to feature DS Kate Brannon of the Norfolk police.The novel opens in 2013 when dementia sufferer, Alan, walks in on a man suffocating another care home occupant. After a struggle Alan stumbles off to get help. Cut to 2016 and DS Kate Brannon is called in to the discovery of a skeleton found in a sealed off bunker. Everything about the case is undetermined from the cause of death to the victim's identity so Kate has her work cut out.I enjoyed Under Parr. It has a good mix of a twisty plot and strong characterisation. Obviously the reader has more idea of motive than the police but the discoveries they make and secrets they uncover are mostly surprising and make for an absorbing read.I liked the fact that many of the characters who come under suspicion or just into contact with the police are genuinely nice people with a desire to help and nothing to hide. It makes for a refreshing change. Apart from the investigation there is a fair amount of interaction between Kate and her colleagues and her girlfriend, Gina. I think the banter between the characters is natural and often amusing. I feel the novel is top heavy on Gina and Kate's relationship as Ms Bramhall rehashes all the key elements of her previous novel (no point in reading it now) and concentrates on Gina's efforts to survive its aftermath. While it is sweet it has no bearing on the investigation.Under Parr is a good read.
    more
  • Liz
    May 20, 2017
    This is book 2 in a series. I read as a stand alone novel, which worked well and has made me want to add book one and others that will follow to my reading list.The story centres on a mystery of a skeleton found inside a WW2 bunker and the ongoing relationship/courtship of the 2 main characters.I felt the mystery was reasonable easy to work out, but this did not detract from the story telling and I found myself wanting to read on. I enjoyed the slow burn romance, understandable given one of the This is book 2 in a series. I read as a stand alone novel, which worked well and has made me want to add book one and others that will follow to my reading list.The story centres on a mystery of a skeleton found inside a WW2 bunker and the ongoing relationship/courtship of the 2 main characters.I felt the mystery was reasonable easy to work out, but this did not detract from the story telling and I found myself wanting to read on. I enjoyed the slow burn romance, understandable given one of the MCs traumas from book one. It felt realistic and showed depth of both characters dealing with the aftermath in a sensitive way.I loved the scene setting of Norfolk. Overall a well written story, which kept my interest. I particularly enjoyed the balance between character development and the mystery.The only thing I did not like about it is having to wait for book 3 to see how some subplots turn out. Patience is not a virtue of mine. ARC received from Ylva in return for honest review.
    more
  • Velvet Lounger
    May 21, 2017
    When a skeleton is found in a previously sealed up WWII bunker Detective Sergeant Kate Brannon is faced with a cold case which some intriguing twists. Scraps of women's clothes on a man’s bones, different names on the labels, different sized shoes on the wrong feet. Kate isn't sure they will ever find out who he was, let alone how he died and ended up in a bunker that has been sealed since the storm floods of 2013, but she is determined to do her best find out.As the investigation unfolds the tw When a skeleton is found in a previously sealed up WWII bunker Detective Sergeant Kate Brannon is faced with a cold case which some intriguing twists. Scraps of women's clothes on a man’s bones, different names on the labels, different sized shoes on the wrong feet. Kate isn't sure they will ever find out who he was, let alone how he died and ended up in a bunker that has been sealed since the storm floods of 2013, but she is determined to do her best find out.

As the investigation unfolds the twists and turns become more of a puzzle, unusual activity at the golf course, above average deaths at the local care-home, and a series of clues that just make the detective’s radar ping.

Book 2 of the Norfolk Coast Investigation Stories series and the events of book 1, “Collide-O-Scope” are still being felt in the fishing village of Brandale. Gina has recovered physically but emotionally the scars are deep. Sammy is having nightmares and being bullied at school by kids whose fathers are either waiting for trial or out of a job. The impact on Kate and Gina isn't good either, Gina has withdrawn, and Kate doesn’t know how to get through to her.

As always Andrea Bramhall’s story arc are excellently thought through and executed. This is a solid detective story, occasional leaps of intuition and faith, but essentially the local “Plod” following a series of interrelated clues and gradually uncovering how the events we see in the prologue came about.

The characters are becoming old friends, deepening as we get to know them, filling out details, colouring in history; their friendships and relationships growing over time. The police team has a new member who doesn't quite fit and is definitely causing friction, but Kate and Stella’s friendship provides wonderful light relief and flashes of laugh out loud humour.

Sammy is particularly well drawn and the combination of childhood simplicity and trauma induced maturity is intriguing to see. Bramhall always manages to introduce a serious theme in her novels and here we have several; Sammy’s bullying, Gina’s emotional struggles and care-home abuse. However his is not a heavy book, these serious threads add to the reality without detracting from the gentle romance. The flashes of humour and the reasonably fast paced unfolding make it a genuinely pleasurable read.

“Under Parr” is set a few weeks after the events in “Collide-O-Scope” and while it stands alone as a story arc there is no doubt it is firmly part of a series; indeed we are left with a tantalising thread to carry over into book three. I would definitely recommend reading them as a series, if you like romance/crime and excellent writing, this is one you don’t want to miss.

Set on the east coast of England these stories have a decidedly English feel, and it is a delight to read. The characters are solid, the events fit the time and place, even the weather has a very English role to play. The angst is there but underplayed, the emotions and relationships are realistic and the whole is grounded in a very English setting. Midsomer Murders with a lesbian twist.



    more
  • susan
    May 23, 2017
    OmgI really hope there is a book three in the works. I know this one just came out. I have to know who is sending Gina flowers...and what happens with her mother. Also have to know what happens with Kate. I love this series and definitely recommend it.
    more
  • Ted
    May 10, 2017
    Great book. I don't think going into this that you can get away with not reading Collide-O-Scope though. I mean she does explain some of what happens and you *could* go into it as a stand alone but I really think it's better to read the first one. I'm a huge Bramhall fan. The mystery/crime drama is done very well. Kate and Gina have to sort some stuff out and there's no doubt that another novel is planned. I look forward to seeing book 3.
    more
  • Tiffany Shamaly
    May 25, 2017
    What can I say, I love an Andrea Bramhall mystery. This was another great addition to the series she has started. The characters are great and fun and of course have their own issues they need to work on, but it's nice to see Kate stand by Gina while she works those issues out. The mystery itself was interesting and kept me guessing for a while. Of course the leaving it with a bit of a cliff hanger was frustrating, but just because I want the next installment sooner than later, but I'm sure it'l What can I say, I love an Andrea Bramhall mystery. This was another great addition to the series she has started. The characters are great and fun and of course have their own issues they need to work on, but it's nice to see Kate stand by Gina while she works those issues out. The mystery itself was interesting and kept me guessing for a while. Of course the leaving it with a bit of a cliff hanger was frustrating, but just because I want the next installment sooner than later, but I'm sure it'll be worth the wait. Run don't walk to read this story. Great read!!
    more
  • Mazzie
    May 8, 2017
    I received an ARC in exchange for my honest review.I enjoyed this one, but not as much as I did with the first book in this series, Collide-O-Scope. It was fun reading about Kate and her team try to solve their case regarding the skeleton found in a bunker. However, I think the person who "did it" was easy to figure out from my perspective. Still, I enjoyed the investigation process and didn't mind knowing who it was. The relationship between Gina and her daughter, Sammy, is endearing. They both I received an ARC in exchange for my honest review.I enjoyed this one, but not as much as I did with the first book in this series, Collide-O-Scope. It was fun reading about Kate and her team try to solve their case regarding the skeleton found in a bunker. However, I think the person who "did it" was easy to figure out from my perspective. Still, I enjoyed the investigation process and didn't mind knowing who it was. The relationship between Gina and her daughter, Sammy, is endearing. They both went through trauma in the first novel and They relied on each other for support as they face several challenges during this novel. I think that how they react to situations regarding their traumas was pretty realistic and flawed in good way. The main downfall of this novel, in my opinion, is lack of progress or development in the relationship between Kate and Gina. It kind of was put on backburner while Kate focused on the investigation and Gina focused on dealing with her trauma. I can see hints of progress, but feel like that was not enough. I assume that the author will save some of that for next novel (it totally will happen considering the ending of the novel!). Overall I enjoyed this novel and will read next one for sure.
    more
  • Andrea
    May 7, 2017
    I really liked this book, actually a lot more than the previous one. The prolog was very catchy and intriguing and it was interesting to find out what happened and how all the different pieces fit together. Like in her first book, the mystery part was not predictable and the case was not a usual murder mystery kind of thing but with more substance and meaning. I think Andrea Bramhall ventured into a very difficult topic with this book. PTSD on one side and the problematic situation in nursing ho I really liked this book, actually a lot more than the previous one. The prolog was very catchy and intriguing and it was interesting to find out what happened and how all the different pieces fit together. Like in her first book, the mystery part was not predictable and the case was not a usual murder mystery kind of thing but with more substance and meaning. I think Andrea Bramhall ventured into a very difficult topic with this book. PTSD on one side and the problematic situation in nursing homes on the other side. She described the PTSD part very well and what emotions and worries come with it and that the smallest trigger can be enough to cause an episode of PTSD with flashbacks. Gina suffers because of her scars and it is portrait in a realistic way. The situation in the nursing home is also very realistic and true for some nursing homes. It is definitely eyeopening and takes on two difficult subjects that many other books are not talking about. All the characters are very likable and the flow of the dialogue feels natural. The romantic part in the book is kind of slow but that is where the PTSD part comes in so it is used as a medium to describe Gina's fight with her demons since the attack. Since they have only been together for 6 weeks in this book and the circumstances, the speed of their relationship seems realistic to me. She explained a lot of things from the first books to better understand the connections that are to the first book but I think it is still easier to understand some of the context better with the first book but the mystery part is a stand alone one. I think the book could be read alone but I would recommend to read the first one first.andreazupanc.wordpress.com
    more
  • Colleen Corgel
    May 15, 2017
    In this sequel to Collide-O-Scope we are reintroduced to Sergeant Detective Kate Brannon and Gina Temple as they work through the aftermath of the first book. Kate is thrown into another intriguing murder investigation involving a body uncovered in an old World War II bunker. Gina must work through the emotional trauma she and her daughter, Sammy, experienced. The mystery takes a back seat to the the characters in this sequel, which is a bit of a mixed bag. Gina really shines here as she handles In this sequel to Collide-O-Scope we are reintroduced to Sergeant Detective Kate Brannon and Gina Temple as they work through the aftermath of the first book. Kate is thrown into another intriguing murder investigation involving a body uncovered in an old World War II bunker. Gina must work through the emotional trauma she and her daughter, Sammy, experienced. The mystery takes a back seat to the the characters in this sequel, which is a bit of a mixed bag. Gina really shines here as she handles the worst of the fallout from the events from the last book. She and Sammy must now face a town that views them as the sole reason for its downfall and deal with their traumatic experiences. Kate, while still interesting, doesn't have too much development happening - she just seems to be there for all the people in her life. I'm glad that Gina's emotional issues aren't treated as traumatic fodder to propel their relationship, and Kate's understanding is more believable due to her profession. The murder investigation and the mystery surrounding it is the weakest point of the book. It was kind of interesting, and had some great moments, but it really didn't have that same emotional impact that the first book did. I felt that it was just a way to highlight Kate's interpersonal skills and her talent as a detective. The reveal of the murderer was fairly anti-climatic, as well. There are one or two hints that Bramhall might have set up for a super exciting mystery, but they look like they weren't addressed in this book, so I hope we get a third one to explore them further. *This is an ARC that I received from the publisher in exchange for my honest opinion.
    more
  • MiskaCZ
    May 19, 2017
    I received this ARC for my honest review. This book is a second one in the Norfolk Coast Investigation Serie. This book is well written and altough I didnt read the first book, I could follow the story very well. Information that I needed are provieded, so I could follow the story. As a reader, you are a tad in advance to Kate Brannon (detective and one of the main character) but you are curious to find more about the death body and the motive. It is also a heavy stuff in this book => how to I received this ARC for my honest review. This book is a second one in the Norfolk Coast Investigation Serie. This book is well written and altough I didn´t read the first book, I could follow the story very well. Information that I needed are provieded, so I could follow the story. As a reader, you are a tad in advance to Kate Brannon (detective and one of the main character) but you are curious to find more about the death body and the motive. It is also a heavy stuff in this book => how to deal with traumatic events, Post traumatic syndrom, how to deal with old/ ill people. The story between Gina (second main character with her daugther Sammy) and Kate is complicated and in the book is a huge cliffhanger.I really liked the book
    more
  • Devin
    May 15, 2017
    This book was wonderful! It had me guessing all the way through it and was well written with suspense and twists and turns throughout. Very well thought out plot and characters. I am thinking I need to read more of Andrea Bramhall's work if this is any indication of her writing. I can not wait till the next book in this series comes out. You will not be able to put this one down wondering who did it and why. I had to force myself to stop reading when I realized it was 2 am and I had to get up in This book was wonderful! It had me guessing all the way through it and was well written with suspense and twists and turns throughout. Very well thought out plot and characters. I am thinking I need to read more of Andrea Bramhall's work if this is any indication of her writing. I can not wait till the next book in this series comes out. You will not be able to put this one down wondering who did it and why. I had to force myself to stop reading when I realized it was 2 am and I had to get up in three more hours. If you like murder mysteries, this one can not be passed up. There is even humour laced throughout it that keeps it from being so serious. I will be impatiently waiting for her next book to see what happens with Detective Kate.
    more
  • Lisa Beavan
    May 8, 2017
    I've been looking forward to this book since I finished Collide-O-Scope, and now I can't wait for the next one! This series of books is ideal for me, a crime story with a lesbian romance. A very enjoyable read. I would just say that anyone going to read both books should start with the first one as there are many spoilers in Under Parr that will totally ruin the enjoyment of it otherwise.I was given an advance review copy by Ylva in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Jane Clements
    May 12, 2017
    I liked the first book in this series, Collide-O-Scope, so I was looking forward to reading this second book, Under Parr. Too many sequels disappoint so I was very pleasantly surprised to find that this book is even better than the first.I grew up in King’s Lynn and remember quite clearly the North Norfolk area that Bramhall draws so evocatively in her writing. A good sense of place in any novel helps to locate the action in the reader’s imagination. Think of the rugged Yorkshire landscape that I liked the first book in this series, Collide-O-Scope, so I was looking forward to reading this second book, Under Parr. Too many sequels disappoint so I was very pleasantly surprised to find that this book is even better than the first.I grew up in King’s Lynn and remember quite clearly the North Norfolk area that Bramhall draws so evocatively in her writing. A good sense of place in any novel helps to locate the action in the reader’s imagination. Think of the rugged Yorkshire landscape that is almost a character in Wuthering Heights, for example.Bramhall has created two sympathetic leads in her police officer protagonist Kate Brannon and her love interest Gina Temple. It’s a pleasure to get to know them and to follow their relationship as it develops. Even more interesting though, is the plot of the mystery.I’m really impressed with Bramhall’s work on this novel. She has obviously done her research into police procedure and the details she adds serve to enrich the story. Equally, she expertly weaves all sides of the euthanasia debate into the story, never reducing the complex issues to the trite or the simplistic.The plot involves the unsavoury happenings in a nursing home for the elderly – a place where people are sent and forgotten when they become inconvenient. Bramhall paints a sympathetic – but not maudlin – picture of such a place and its people. Where an overworked staff are paid a measly wage to ‘wipe the arses’ of residents who are routinely stripped of their dignity. Bramhall highlights that most of the staff are immigrants – sometimes highly trained in other areas – who cannot find work elsewhere. In Britain currently, these people tend to be Eastern European. Bramhall does not enter into the politics of Brexit, but they are there as subtext.What I enjoyed most about the book is that the reader is privy, courtesy of the prologue, to the details of the crimes that Brannon investigates (although not to the identity of the perpetrator). That puts us in possession of knowledge that Kate doesn’t have, so that we can see both how the mystery is constructed and unravelled by her investigation. We can see where Kate and her team are following red herrings, and the questions she asks reveal how difficult it is to understand the unusual series of events that led to the location, disappearance and discovery of the skeleton. This requires Bramhall to be very careful in the construction of the plot, because the reader will easily spot where something is illogical.In addition to the great plot work, I also really appreciated that Kate and Gina are dealing with the negative consequences from the events of the first book. Too often, writers of thrillers present their heroes as automata who are unaffected by the trauma they receive. That is not the case here and the development of Kate and Gina’s relationship is all the better for it.Those who like a lot of sex scenes in their books may be disappointed here, but those who appreciate a slow burn of sexual tension – who enjoy the foreplay that comes before the climax – will be rewarded by this book.Bramhall has set the stage for the next instalment in the series, leaving some subplot threads untied, and has left me eager for more to read. I can’t wait for the next one.Note: I received a free advance copy in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Aj Smith
    May 7, 2017
    So, having waited for this book for what felt like forever, suffering through two postponements of its release I ultimately found it oddly unsatisfying. The case is a bit meh and extremely obvious to the reader and the relationship between Kate and Gina doesn't really develop; if you're writing what's supposedly a crime/mystery story with a lesbian romance subplot you generally have a decent crime and a good whiff of romance to keep the punters happy!My main issue, however, is the author's use o So, having waited for this book for what felt like forever, suffering through two postponements of its release I ultimately found it oddly unsatisfying. The case is a bit meh and extremely obvious to the reader and the relationship between Kate and Gina doesn't really develop; if you're writing what's supposedly a crime/mystery story with a lesbian romance subplot you generally have a decent crime and a good whiff of romance to keep the punters happy!My main issue, however, is the author's use of what is still a decent novel as a medium for her message of "mental health problems are just as important and real a physical ones." Not that I disagree, as someone who suffers with depression, I know first hand how debilitating mental illness can be but I don't want to have the notion shoved down my throat while reading crime fiction. Either save the polemics for your blog or just get better at weaving the theme into your narrative so it's less preachy. See David Foster Wallace for tipsAnyway, rant over. In the plus column; Kate is still an excellent protagonist, Gina could be a very good romantic foil if her character was allowed to develop and Sammy is a brilliantly drawn nine year old tearaway. Bramhall clearly plans on writing more in this series as there are plenty of loose ends left trailing both in the police station and in Kate's private life and while this wasn't a patch on Collide-O-Scope I will still read/devour the third instalment when it appears.
    more
  • Joyce
    May 22, 2017
    4 starsDS Kate Brannon and her sidekick Jimmy are called out to the scene of a man’s body found in a bunker on the beach at Brancaster on the North Norfolk coast. It has been reduced to a mere skeleton though and there are odd things about it. There are several items about the body that are labeled with different people’s names, including women’s things. Since it is a skeleton, DNA is no good. How are they going to go about discovering who the man was? Was it an accident? Murder? Or something el 4 starsDS Kate Brannon and her sidekick Jimmy are called out to the scene of a man’s body found in a bunker on the beach at Brancaster on the North Norfolk coast. It has been reduced to a mere skeleton though and there are odd things about it. There are several items about the body that are labeled with different people’s names, including women’s things. Since it is a skeleton, DNA is no good. How are they going to go about discovering who the man was? Was it an accident? Murder? Or something else?Another thread in the book is that Gina Temple who is Kate’s girlfriend and her daughter are having problems with falls out from the events in the previous novel. Gina has a bad temper and attitude and her daughter Sammy talks like a much younger child would and throws infantile tantrums. Kate and Gina are having problems of their own and seem to be at a stalemate in their relationship. We do get to know Kate and Gina better though and to understand their relationship better.This book deals with many issues: school bullying, self-harming, mistreatment in care homes and euthanasia of the elderly. Interspersed with bits of humor, the book is a winner! It is a cliffhanger though. (sigh)The writing was well done and the plotting was as well. This was my first Andrea Bramhall book, but I will most certainly look into her other novels. The characters were well drawn and likeable. I enjoyed this book very much.I want to thank Netgalley and Ylva Publishing for forwarding to me a copy of this book to read.
    more
  • Jane Shambler
    May 17, 2017
    OMG I can not believe Bramall ended her book the way she did. Talk about leaving it open, Frustrated is an understatement. So I'm guessing there is going to be a third. If not I am not going to be very happy. I hope it is released soon.This book is the second book in an on going series. Yes, you could read this as a stand alone book, but I personally would not advise it. Although the author keeps you up to date by referring to book one, I think you would enjoy it better having read book one firs OMG I can not believe Bramall ended her book the way she did. Talk about leaving it open, Frustrated is an understatement. So I'm guessing there is going to be a third. If not I am not going to be very happy. I hope it is released soon.This book is the second book in an on going series. Yes, you could read this as a stand alone book, but I personally would not advise it. Although the author keeps you up to date by referring to book one, I think you would enjoy it better having read book one first.If you want a good mystery then this book is for you. The main character Kate is really easy to like. She is honest and straight forward copper (Police). Old School in someways. Her partner Gina is where you need book one as she is coping from her ordeal and so is her daughter Sammy. That is all you are getting. This is a down to earth police investigation on the North Norfolk coast. With all the problems that result from such an investigation.I really enjoyed this book and I really could not put it down. The other thing I liked was that it is set just up the road from me. I was able to recognise the places and language used a lot easier. Also, I like the way Bramall continued the aftermath from book. It added more depth to just a mystery.I would recommend this book to all crime fans, but with the caution that you should read Collide-o-Scope first.*ARC provided by publisher via Ylva Publishing*
    more
  • Karen
    May 8, 2017
    This was a great mystery! We know from the prologue that someone is killing elderly patients at a rest home, but the detectives don’t know that. We get to watch them figure everything out as well as deal with some personal and professional issue. Gina, Sammy and Kate are all back from Collide O Scope and the women are still dating. There is more than that going on in this book, though.Sammy is having nightmares and being bullied at school due to the events in the previous book. Gina seems to hav This was a great mystery! We know from the prologue that someone is killing elderly patients at a rest home, but the detectives don’t know that. We get to watch them figure everything out as well as deal with some personal and professional issue. Gina, Sammy and Kate are all back from Collide O Scope and the women are still dating. There is more than that going on in this book, though.Sammy is having nightmares and being bullied at school due to the events in the previous book. Gina seems to have PTSD from her traumatic experience as well. They struggle throughout the book as they try to cope with the past and continue their lives. More than that, the past is catching up with both Kate and Gina as the novel unfolds. It’s a multilayered story with that plus the introduction of Gareth Collier, a detective who partners with Kate because he can’t get along with his previous partner. The story kind of ends on a cliffhanger. I say kind of because the killer is found and arrested but something else happens but we don't know who or why. Based on a brief passage, I have a suspicion, but now I have to wait for the next book. I hope Ms. Bramhall writes quickly.This was a great read which I finished in a day because I couldn’t put it down. It’s well-written and has depth and layers. I think Andrea Bramhall improves with each book and I can't wait for the next one.I received an ARC from the publisher for an honest review.
    more
  • tlev 4242
    May 21, 2017
    I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.Andrea Bramhall does a great job in describing the location and creating a good feel for the location, such that even people in Canada (me), can get a handle on what is located where and how far. I also quite liked how the characters were fleshed out and the relationships between police officers were built up. The investigation and the police work involved behind it feels real, and you can see the large amounts of research that was I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.Andrea Bramhall does a great job in describing the location and creating a good feel for the location, such that even people in Canada (me), can get a handle on what is located where and how far. I also quite liked how the characters were fleshed out and the relationships between police officers were built up. The investigation and the police work involved behind it feels real, and you can see the large amounts of research that was done by the author. The same with the challenges facing nursing homes, and while I am not form the UK, the funding process for patients seems realistic as well. I read through this quickly as it did keep my interest and I wanted to know what happened next.This is the second book in a series, and makes many references to events that occurred in the first. One of the sub-plots actually deals extensively with the aftermath of events from the first book. A summary of those events are provided, but I feel that the experience of reading this might have been different if I had read it shortly after Collide-O-Scope . While the murder was solved in this story, a lot of other sub plots were brought up and not resolved, making this very obviously feels like part of a series, more than a complete story, which does it a bit of a disservice.
    more
  • Maritza
    May 21, 2017
    I received an ARC from Ylva Publishing in exchange for an honest review.A fantastic read!Within these pages old people die, not from natural causes but from violent ones. And though we readers are allowed to witness two of these murders we are left wondering who has done this and why.When the bones of one of the victims are found, one of several mysteries begins to unfold. Who was he, how did he come to be where he was found, how did he die? It becomes Detective Sgt. Kate Brannon and her team's I received an ARC from Ylva Publishing in exchange for an honest review.A fantastic read!Within these pages old people die, not from natural causes but from violent ones. And though we readers are allowed to witness two of these murders we are left wondering who has done this and why.When the bones of one of the victims are found, one of several mysteries begins to unfold. Who was he, how did he come to be where he was found, how did he die? It becomes Detective Sgt. Kate Brannon and her team's responsibility to solve these mysteries.Although the case of "Mr. Bones" is the bulk of the novel, an additional part of the story concerns Kate's girlfriend, Gina Temple. Their relationship and history is a wonderful addition to the story, as are the tidbits of information we get regarding the personal lives of some of the other members of Kate's squad.I genuinely enjoyed the mystery, the action, and the relationships in this novel. Each was well paced and excellently placed!Towards the end Andrea Bramhall introduces yet another mystery to whet our appetite for yet another upcoming novel. I can't wait!
    more
  • B
    May 15, 2017
    *Note: I was provided with a free copy of the book by Ylva Publishing in exchange for a fair reviewBramhall’s second book in the Norfolk Coast Investigation series is just as pleasant as her first one. Under Parr is a cozy murder mystery in which the readers get reacquinanted with characters from the first book. I appreciated the fact that Kate and Gina’s personalities were further deepened and complicated, as was their relationship. There was interpersonal drama without it becoming overwrought. *Note: I was provided with a free copy of the book by Ylva Publishing in exchange for a fair reviewBramhall’s second book in the Norfolk Coast Investigation series is just as pleasant as her first one. Under Parr is a cozy murder mystery in which the readers get reacquinanted with characters from the first book. I appreciated the fact that Kate and Gina’s personalities were further deepened and complicated, as was their relationship. There was interpersonal drama without it becoming overwrought. It also dealt with the after effects of the trauma that Sammy and Gina went through in the first book, which I thought was a nice touch. Lots of murder mysteries don’t engage with the idea that the things characters go through scar them in significant ways. The murder arc of the story was neatly tied up at the end in a plausible and satisfying way, but some of the personal elements weren’t quite resolved. I imagine it’s to drum up interest in the next book, but it was still jarring to get to the end of the book without that kind of closure. I’d definitely recommend this book for readers who love murder mysteries and lesbians and murder mysteries solved by lesbians.
    more
  • Jasmine
    May 15, 2017
    This is the second book in a series. I did not read the first book and I had no trouble following along in the second one. I will however, be going back to read the first book, because the second one was impressive! Kate is back on a new case, investigating the potential murder of a man discovered trapped in an old WWII bunker. The case brings the police to a retirement home, that has an abnormally high rate of deaths. The reader knows from the prologue that someone is killing the elderly patien This is the second book in a series. I did not read the first book and I had no trouble following along in the second one. I will however, be going back to read the first book, because the second one was impressive! Kate is back on a new case, investigating the potential murder of a man discovered trapped in an old WWII bunker. The case brings the police to a retirement home, that has an abnormally high rate of deaths. The reader knows from the prologue that someone is killing the elderly patients, and the reader follows along in Kate's Mini Coop as she slowly unravels the mystery. The mystery was brilliant. Truly brilliant. I couldn't put the book down. Kate and Gina began dating in the first novel, and we get to watch their new relationship grow. The two women, as well as Gina's daughter Sammy, are dealing with some emotional fallout caused by the previous case in Book 1. The romance isn't the main focus of this story, but it's sweet and its complementary and I'm looking forward to seeing it grow in future part of the series. At least, I'm hoping there is more, because the ending left me wondering!I received and ARC from YLVA in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Donna Montague
    May 14, 2017
    This is the first book of Andrea Bramhall's that I have read. It seems to be the second of her offerings set in the Norfolk seaside. I read Under Parr first. But had to go back to read the first one, Collide-o-scope. There was too much background in it not to try to catch-up. Under Parr reads very well and could easily stands on its own. I'm just OCD enough to like doing things in order. Every good book has a theme that run through it. One which the characters act and react to in order to furthe This is the first book of Andrea Bramhall's that I have read. It seems to be the second of her offerings set in the Norfolk seaside. I read Under Parr first. But had to go back to read the first one, Collide-o-scope. There was too much background in it not to try to catch-up. Under Parr reads very well and could easily stands on its own. I'm just OCD enough to like doing things in order. Every good book has a theme that run through it. One which the characters act and react to in order to further the story. Under Parr has several. There's the one about how abysmal institutional elder care is especially for those suffering with dementia. The predominate one though revolves around scars; both physical and emotional. What the characters do to manage, live with and overcome their scars is, I think, the central theme. In addition to watching the characters and their relationships grow, a good book tosses in the unexpected. This police procedural does that too. Often enough to keep us guessing as we try to solve the crime along with DS Kate Brannon. But not too often as to confuse us. I must say, the culprit didn't reveal themselves to me until very near the end. Well done Andrea!! As you can tell I thoroughly enjoyed this book and its prequel. Enjoy!
    more
  • Cheryl Shrock
    May 14, 2017
    I enjoyed this mystery very much. And I loved the characters and their relationships. BUT... I think it needs to be made very clear that this is book 2 of, at least, a 3 book series. All through this book references were made of the happenings in the previous book. Which sounded very interesting, exciting and scary. And I am sad that I missed it. And the ending of this book is left open for book 3. The reader needs to know this. I will definitely look for book 1 and anxiously await book 3. Good I enjoyed this mystery very much. And I loved the characters and their relationships. BUT... I think it needs to be made very clear that this is book 2 of, at least, a 3 book series. All through this book references were made of the happenings in the previous book. Which sounded very interesting, exciting and scary. And I am sad that I missed it. And the ending of this book is left open for book 3. The reader needs to know this. I will definitely look for book 1 and anxiously await book 3. Good mystery, good dialogue, great character development, good writing. I enjoyed it very much. Just inform the reader of the series, please.
    more
  • Dreaming
    May 16, 2017
    I loved Collide-O-Scope and I reread just before starting this book. And I really enjoyed Under Parr, maybe even more. I liked the mystery and the dilemma og good death/bad death and I really liked the developing relationship. And I like most that there are several unfinished threads that hopefully mean more books in this series. I was given an ARC copy by NetGalley and Ylva Publishing for an honest review.
    more
  • Della
    May 15, 2017
    I read this novel as a stand alone story. There was sufficient back gazing to figure out how Gina and Kate arrived at this point and time. The characters are solid and well rounded. The mystery is unique. The writing is lush and evocative. A captivating novel well worth the read.
    more
  • Gail
    May 9, 2017
    I rec'd an ARC from Ylva in exchange for an honest review. Under Parr is #2 in a series. It is a mystery/romance interwoven with issues of mental health/nursing homes. While the mystery aspect was not "cut and dried" I found myself wanting a bit more romance. A good read!
    more
Write a review