Whichwood
A new adventure about a girl who is fated to wash the bodies of the dead in this companion to Furthermore.Our story begins on a frosty night…Laylee can barely remember the happier times before her beloved mother died. Before her father, driven by grief, lost his wits (and his way). Before she was left as the sole remaining mordeshoor in the village of Whichwood, destined to spend her days washing the bodies of the dead and preparing their souls for the afterlife. It’s become easy to forget and easier still to ignore the way her hands are stiffening and turning silver, just like her hair, and her own ever-increasing loneliness and fear.But soon, a pair of familiar strangers appears, and Laylee’s world is turned upside down as she rediscovers color, magic, and the healing power of friendship.

Whichwood Details

TitleWhichwood
Author
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseNov 14th, 2017
PublisherDutton Books for Young Readers
ISBN-139781101994795
Rating
GenreFantasy, Childrens, Middle Grade, Young Adult

Readers also enjoyed


Whichwood Review

  • Whitney Atkinson
    January 1, 1970
    3.5 starsReview to come when I get off work. (but a teaser: Furthermore was better.)5/4/2017LOOK AT THAT PRELIMINARY COVER ART!!!! AHHHHH!!!!!! I'm basically going to beg Penguin to get me any advanced copy that exists because I am DYING for this. I need more Tahereh in my life. I need this. Persian MC? YES PLS. The dark counterpart to Furthermore? YES PLS. UGGHHH I just want this so bad. I have a feeling it's gonna be a slam dunk bc of underlying messages about self love and maybe even politics 3.5 starsReview to come when I get off work. (but a teaser: Furthermore was better.)5/4/2017LOOK AT THAT PRELIMINARY COVER ART!!!! AHHHHH!!!!!! I'm basically going to beg Penguin to get me any advanced copy that exists because I am DYING for this. I need more Tahereh in my life. I need this. Persian MC? YES PLS. The dark counterpart to Furthermore? YES PLS. UGGHHH I just want this so bad. I have a feeling it's gonna be a slam dunk bc of underlying messages about self love and maybe even politics. I hope this book is real good. 1/12/2017WE GOT A TITLE!!! WHICHWOOD!!!! WHICH WOOD IS IT???? WE DON'T KNOW!!!!!!!! OH MY GOD I'M SO EXCITED FOR THIS!!!! SEPTEMBER 2017!!!! THIS IS THE ONLY LIGHT OF MY LIFE IN THE DARK, DISMAL TIME BEFORE US. THIS WILL SAVE ME FROM THE TRUMP ADMINISTRATION. Okay genuinely I thought Furthermore was such a gorgeous and atmospheric book and I hope this one can deliver that as well <3 I was nervous going into Furthermore because I didn't know if it would be as good and as pretty as Shatter Me, but now I know that Tahereh can never let me down. Let's just hope she tours to Texas this year! I miss my woman :') <3 10/06/2016So it's confirmed that this is middle grade in a "neighboring magical land" to Furthermore. Kinda dampens my excitement but I mean, come on. IT'S OUT IN 2017!!!! I DON'T HAVE TO WAIT 3,000 YEARS!!!!!!09/09/2016I'M READY FOR IT!!!! I'M HERE FOR IT!!!!!!!!!!!! WHERE IT AT!!!!!!!!!!!
    more
  • Andreea Pop
    January 1, 1970
    Holy Sh*t. *please be YA please be YA OR BETTER YET NA*
  • Saania Zee Jamal ϟ
    January 1, 1970
    Edit: I CANNOT EXPLAIN TO YOU HOW HAPPY THIS COVER MAKES ME :'))))))___________MY PRAYERS HAVE BEEN ANSWERED.IT'S FINALLY HAPPENING.I neeeeeed ittttttttt.
  • P
    January 1, 1970
    Beautiful !Persian fantasy ! yeah !
  • Jessi ♡
    January 1, 1970
    maybe it was not naiveté, but suffering, that inspired kindness. maybe, she thought, it was pain that inspired compassiontahereh mafi has a way of making me relate to any character, no matter how fantastical or ridiculous or far fetched from reality their situation is. i can always bring back what she's saying into my own life. it's so important that books like these are being written for kids today.
    more
  • Kainat 《HUFFLEPUFF & PROUD》
    January 1, 1970
    WHAT THE HOLLY FUCK?!As long as she doesn't pull another Warner on us, i think i'll be fine. :D
  • Sharon
    January 1, 1970
    "a dark Persian fantasy about a girl who washes dead bodies for a living" <---- SIGN ME UPPPPPPP (not for the washing dead bodies, but for the book, of course LOL)
  • Glire
    January 1, 1970
    A fantasy about a girl who washes dead bodies for a living? Yas! Please, let her be as badass as Arya.
  • Julie Zantopoulos
    January 1, 1970
    This is probably closer to a 3.5 read for me but I'm rounding up because the message seemed incredibly fitting for today's climate. That said, this is still pitched in the unfinished ARC copy that I have as a middle grade, 5th grade, 10+ book and while I respect young readers I think this is incredibly graphic for a young reader. There were parts that I got squeamish reading and found deeply disturbing. I didn't ever love Laylee and while I liked Ben, Alice and Oliver and Laylee enough the buddi This is probably closer to a 3.5 read for me but I'm rounding up because the message seemed incredibly fitting for today's climate. That said, this is still pitched in the unfinished ARC copy that I have as a middle grade, 5th grade, 10+ book and while I respect young readers I think this is incredibly graphic for a young reader. There were parts that I got squeamish reading and found deeply disturbing. I didn't ever love Laylee and while I liked Ben, Alice and Oliver and Laylee enough the budding romances seemed a bit forced and unnecessary to me. The family dynamics upset me and while the friendships were strong and the overall message was good-the delivery wavered in places. I'm still so happy to have been gifted this ARC and had a chance to read it early. A video review is upcoming closer to the publication date mid November.
    more
  • Sakina (aforestofbooks)
    January 1, 1970
    THERE'S A HIJABI ON THE COVERI REPEAT...A HIJABI ON THE COVER
  • Alexa
    January 1, 1970
    4.5 stars. What a delight to read! I thoroughly enjoyed Mafi's latest middle grade. The magic, the tale, the characters - it all came together beautifully to become the whimsical, wonderful content between these pages.
  • Maggie
    January 1, 1970
    THIS SOUNDS AMAZING AND I NEED THIS RIGHT NOW PLEASE
  • Alyssa
    January 1, 1970
    I don't care who. I don't care when. I don't care how. I WANT THIS NOW.
  • Iryna (Book and Sword)
    January 1, 1970
    So I will read this just for the cover. Because BEAUTIFUL!! 😍
  • Nina (JustAddAWord)
    January 1, 1970
    Why helloooo there, gorgeous cover.
  • Sabrina
    January 1, 1970
    Checkout more of my reviews on my blog!! https://omgbooksandmorebooks.blogspot...Just like Furthermore, Whichwood is magical with lyrical writing that ensnares readers from beginning to end. Along with the lyrical writing, I loved the Persian fantasy elements interwoven throughout the novel. It's hard to find Persian fantasy elements done so well and I cherish this book dearly. Laylee, along with Alice and Oliver from Furthermore, go on a magical journey of self discovery. The world building was Checkout more of my reviews on my blog!! https://omgbooksandmorebooks.blogspot...Just like Furthermore, Whichwood is magical with lyrical writing that ensnares readers from beginning to end. Along with the lyrical writing, I loved the Persian fantasy elements interwoven throughout the novel. It's hard to find Persian fantasy elements done so well and I cherish this book dearly. Laylee, along with Alice and Oliver from Furthermore, go on a magical journey of self discovery. The world building was amazing and the characters were so relatable. I believe anyone would greatly enjoy this story. There are some dark elements but I believe it was handled well for a middle grade novel.This is a wonderful tale of friendship and self discovery. I believe all age groups will love Whichwood.
    more
  • Bookevin
    January 1, 1970
    4.5 starsCurrently writing my review for the Whichwood Malaysian Blog Tour!Initial thoughts:Took me a while to finish this due to life but I have a feeling that if I had the time, I would have finished Whichwood in a matter of hours because I loved the idea of the Persian fantasy inspiration to the story and a strong tale of friendship that was included in the book.I am constantly amazed by how Tahereh Mafi writes because the writing in Whichwood was fantastic. Tahereh Mafi managed to retain the 4.5 starsCurrently writing my review for the Whichwood Malaysian Blog Tour!Initial thoughts:Took me a while to finish this due to life but I have a feeling that if I had the time, I would have finished Whichwood in a matter of hours because I loved the idea of the Persian fantasy inspiration to the story and a strong tale of friendship that was included in the book.I am constantly amazed by how Tahereh Mafi writes because the writing in Whichwood was fantastic. Tahereh Mafi managed to retain the whimsical and playful writing style she had in Furthermore and it was such a thrill to read this!Full review to come.
    more
  • theo ☂
    January 1, 1970
    OH.MY.GOD.DO.Y'ALL.SEE.THIS.FUCKING.COVER.I HAVE NEVER SEEN SOMETHING SO RIDICULOUSLY GORGEOUS IN MY FUCKING LIFE.Okay turns out this is a companion to Furthermore so I'ma be reading that shit REAL SOON
  • Dana Al-Basha دانة الباشا
    January 1, 1970
    Oh my God! I'm so excited! I really wanted Tahereh Mafi to write something inspired by her origins! I can't wait for September! Aren't they just the cutest couple??
  • theravengirl (salmaagroudy)
    January 1, 1970
    HAVE YOU GUYS SEEN THE COVER? It was posted on Bustle earlier today and it's the most beautiful cover i've seen all year. It's bold and beautiful and just—Tahereh. The beauty of this cover is honestly beyond my words.
  • Raven (Fatima)
    January 1, 1970
    I just learned that I won this book in a giveaway! I'm so excited, I've never won a Goodreads giveaway before. The book could take as long as 4-6 weeks to reach me but I can't wait to read it.
  • Audrey
    January 1, 1970
    Als er een schrijfster is die me altijd weer moed, kracht en onoverwinnelijke liefde kan toestoppen, is het wel Tahereh Mafi. Dit boek was helemaal anders dan ik had verwacht, maar het was pure perfectie en naar mijn mening nog beter dan Furthermore. Die mini-5 sterretjes zouden er dus eigenlijk duizenden moeten zijn. Wat prachtig Tahereh, dank je wel. Je bent toch steeds de beste. Dit zijn mijn eerste ongelofelijke gevoelens, maar een volle recensie komt er binnenkort aan. PS: Laure, je bent ee Als er een schrijfster is die me altijd weer moed, kracht en onoverwinnelijke liefde kan toestoppen, is het wel Tahereh Mafi. Dit boek was helemaal anders dan ik had verwacht, maar het was pure perfectie en naar mijn mening nog beter dan Furthermore. Die mini-5 sterretjes zouden er dus eigenlijk duizenden moeten zijn. Wat prachtig Tahereh, dank je wel. Je bent toch steeds de beste. Dit zijn mijn eerste ongelofelijke gevoelens, maar een volle recensie komt er binnenkort aan. PS: Laure, je bent een held. Dank je wel. <3
    more
  • Estefani at Fiction Jungle
    January 1, 1970
    COLOR ME INTRIGUED
  • enqi ✨ (high lady of the night court)
    January 1, 1970
    WHAT IS THIS?! I NEED. NOW.
  • Julie
    January 1, 1970
    I haven't read a book by Mafi in YEARS and I'd definitely forgotten how gorgeous her prose is. The world was beautiful, the characters were wonderful, the content possibly could've gotten this book pushed into YA, but the voice and whimsy kept it firmly middle grade. From a technical standpoint, I loved it. From a personal standpoint, I never had a connection? I was engrossed when I started reading and desperate to know what was going to happen, but never felt that burning itch to pick it up whe I haven't read a book by Mafi in YEARS and I'd definitely forgotten how gorgeous her prose is. The world was beautiful, the characters were wonderful, the content possibly could've gotten this book pushed into YA, but the voice and whimsy kept it firmly middle grade. From a technical standpoint, I loved it. From a personal standpoint, I never had a connection? I was engrossed when I started reading and desperate to know what was going to happen, but never felt that burning itch to pick it up when I put it down. I can't pinpoint what it was - maybe it's because I have a hard time with middle grade? Maybe it's just not what I was in the mood for? I dunno. But since that was a ME thing, I HIGHLY recommend this book and I would love to see a YA sequel featuring Laylee and Oliver and Alice and Benyamin in the future.
    more
  • Courtney (A Wonderland of Books)
    January 1, 1970
    1/12/2017: Okay so we now have a title and the month it's releasing in and a vague yet extremely intriguing synopsis and I HAVE OFFICIALLY LOST ALL CHILL.10/26/2016: Honestly though, Tahereh could release a book of her grocery lists and I would be in love with it okay I AM SO READY FOR ANOTHER BOOK BY TAHEREH.
    more
  • Jen
    January 1, 1970
    I loved this book. Perfect to read to my daughter when she gets a tiny bit older. This is a middle grade book so my rating system is different than my usual rating. Beautiful story about friendship with some darker elements and a strong and interesting female character.
    more
  • leenahreads
    January 1, 1970
    *deep breath* as long as this doesn't have a love triangle I WILL BE SATISFIED!! LOOK AT THAT BLURB!!!!!
  • Jordan (pagetravels)
    January 1, 1970
    SOOOO IN LOVE. Tahereh's writing really is an art, and the way she crafts settings and characters is unbelievably beautiful. Whichwood, just like Furthermore, was vivid and colorful and an absolutely incredible tale <3.
  • Jenna
    January 1, 1970
    WOW! I really enjoyed this! Such an interesting book!
Write a review