The Beach House Cookbook
You don't have to own a beach house to enjoy Mary Kay Andrews' recipes. All you need is an appetite for delicious, casual dishes, cooked with the best fresh, local ingredients and presented with the breezy flair that make Mary Kay Andrews' novels a summertime favorite at the beach.From an early spring dinner of cherry balsamic-glazed lamb chops and bacon-kissed green beans, to Fourth of July buttermilk-brined fried chicken, yuppie potato salad, and Coca-Cola cake, to her New Year's Day Open House menu of charcoal-grilled oysters, home-cured gravlax, grits n' greens casserole, and Meyer lemon bar trifle, this cookbook will supply ideas for menus and recipes designed to put you in a permanently carefree coastal state of mind all year long.

The Beach House Cookbook Details

TitleThe Beach House Cookbook
Author
FormatHardcover
ReleaseMay 16th, 2017
PublisherSt. Martin's Press
ISBN1250130441
ISBN-139781250130440
Number of pages224 pages
Rating
GenreFood and Drink, Cookbooks, American, Southern

The Beach House Cookbook Review

  • Cindy
    May 1, 2017
    This review was originally posted on Cindy's Book Binge
  • Lesa
    May 26, 2017
    I do understand the meaning of Memorial Day, that it's a day to honor those who served and died in our wars. However, we've also made this weekend the kickoff to summer. That means it's also the perfect time to discuss Mary Kay Andrews' new book, The Beach House Cookbook.Andrews' preface is charming. It's her life story as it connects to the beach and beach houses. And, each recipe begins with a story that's as chatty as that preface, welcoming readers to summer and beach and summer foods. Betwe I do understand the meaning of Memorial Day, that it's a day to honor those who served and died in our wars. However, we've also made this weekend the kickoff to summer. That means it's also the perfect time to discuss Mary Kay Andrews' new book, The Beach House Cookbook.Andrews' preface is charming. It's her life story as it connects to the beach and beach houses. And, each recipe begins with a story that's as chatty as that preface, welcoming readers to summer and beach and summer foods. Between the pictures, the chatty descriptions, and the titles of each section, readers will recognize a chance to relax. If you don't think of cooking as relaxation, you may after reading Andrews' recipes. It there are a number of ingredients, most of them come from the seasonings. She's tried for beach simple.Mary Kay Andrews has recipes for a Low Country Boil, a Fourth of July Dinner, a Lazy Weekend Brunch, a Beach Picnic. And, the recipes are from the South - Savannah Red Rice, Fried Okra Cakes, fried chicken and potato salad, garlic shrimp, pimento cheese. And, of course, there are biscuits. Andrews has a story to tell about those as well. There are stories and gorgeous photos of food that are guaranteed to make you hungry. Andrews even has interesting names for some of the dishes, ones that you probably recognize if you're from the South, such as Pig Candy, which is brown sugar-spiced bacon. The one recipe I can attest to is one I've made before, but with the recipe in front of me, I made it again for a potluck at work, and it was a hit. I hadn't heard it called "Trailer Trash Dessert" before, though. But, it consists of layers of ice cream sandwiches, hot fudge topping, caramel topping, whipped topping and chocolate toffee bits. It's the perfect ending to a beach lunch or supper.The Beach House Cookbook is bright, cheerful, and filled with delicious looking Southern food. It's just right to take to the beach, or to make easy recipes so you can pretend you're on vacation at your own beach house.
    more
  • Mary
    May 5, 2017
    One of my go-to authors is Mary Kay Andrews. Her novels are always entertaining and invariably land on my favorite beach reads list. That’s why I was so excited to receive a copy of The Beach House Cookbook. Andrews compiled her favorite recipes in a beautiful cookbook. The photos are gorgeous and will tempt the reader to try each recipe. Lemon cake is my favorite and I can’t wait to try the Lemon Cream Cheese Pound Cake!The book is divided into theme meals such as Low Country Boil, Fourth of Ju One of my go-to authors is Mary Kay Andrews. Her novels are always entertaining and invariably land on my favorite beach reads list. That’s why I was so excited to receive a copy of The Beach House Cookbook. Andrews compiled her favorite recipes in a beautiful cookbook. The photos are gorgeous and will tempt the reader to try each recipe. Lemon cake is my favorite and I can’t wait to try the Lemon Cream Cheese Pound Cake!The book is divided into theme meals such as Low Country Boil, Fourth of July Dinner; Full Moon Party, and Christmas Brunch. There are many more and each one looks amazing. I especially enjoyed the short description and credit that MKA included with each recipe.With Mothers Day and Fathers Day coming up soon, The Beach House Cookbook would be a wonderful gift for the cook in your life. *I received a copy from the publisher in exchange for my honest opinion.
    more
  • Dale Cousins
    May 25, 2017
    Nice take on classic Southern summer recipes but I prefer my own pimento cheese recipe---isn't that the way everyone feels about pimento cheese and deviled eggs??
  • Patricia Romero
    May 24, 2017
    You probably recognize the name Mary Kay Andrews from her many NYT bestsellers such as The Weekenders, Beach Town, Summer Rental and more.Now she has come out with a very Southern Cookbook. Easy, laid back, summery cookbook. First let me say this is such a pretty book and you all know how much I love a pretty book cover and inside.All of the recipes are old, and well loved southern and beachy dishes. All a big part of my childhood and adulthood.The recipes are listed under categories such as Sum You probably recognize the name Mary Kay Andrews from her many NYT bestsellers such as The Weekenders, Beach Town, Summer Rental and more.Now she has come out with a very Southern Cookbook. Easy, laid back, summery cookbook. First let me say this is such a pretty book and you all know how much I love a pretty book cover and inside.All of the recipes are old, and well loved southern and beachy dishes. All a big part of my childhood and adulthood.The recipes are listed under categories such as Summer Solstice Dinner, Beach Picnic, Book Bash Cocktail Party and so many more. Easy recipes for Pimento Cheese, Biscuits, Fried Chicken, Crab Cakes, Pound Cake and so much more.I hope y'all love it as much as I do! It just came out in time for my birthday this month, so I had to have it!
    more
  • Ellen
    May 21, 2017
    Too many pages with extra pictures that have nothing to do with the recipes. Please if you are making the shrimp recipes CLEAN your shrimp . Yes, I know people up North don't seem to mind eatingShrimp that have the dirty vein but most SouthernersDo mind.
    more
  • Michelle
    May 23, 2017
    Love Mary Kay Andrews. She was always a favorite author at Borders and was so gracious when she would come for signings. She tells fun stories of how she acquired her beach houses and how she likes to spend her beach time as well as sharing some wonderful recipes. This one is a must buy.
    more
  • Deena
    May 15, 2017
    I look forward to her fiction every summer. This year it wasa cookbook instead. . .
  • E G
    May 30, 2017
    Ready to cook a bunch of these recipes!
  • Michele Crowley
    May 29, 2017
    Will cook theseAs always Mary Kay made a cookbook gun relating recipes to her books that I have read. I have a love of tybee and Savannah
  • Tina
    May 31, 2017
    I cannot wait to try these recipes! Along with my Lilly Pulitzer Cookbook, I think I have southern and beachy food completely covered! I so could easily slip right into Andrews lifestyle!
  • Monica
    April 7, 2017
    As a blogger, I don’t review cookbooks that often but when one of my favorite authors writes one I make an exception! This new cookbook by MKA is a winner hands down! What I love most is how simple and easy yet decadent these recipes are. I love how they are categorized by occasion everything from drinks to apps to holiday meals and they all seem doable for all the non-cooks out there. I definitely see myself trying quite a few of these over the next few months and I know my family will just lov As a blogger, I don’t review cookbooks that often but when one of my favorite authors writes one I make an exception! This new cookbook by MKA is a winner hands down! What I love most is how simple and easy yet decadent these recipes are. I love how they are categorized by occasion everything from drinks to apps to holiday meals and they all seem doable for all the non-cooks out there. I definitely see myself trying quite a few of these over the next few months and I know my family will just love them! I highly advise everyone who wants to try their hand at cooking to start with this one because everything you will need is all in one book.
    more
  • Allie Smith
    May 3, 2017
    I love a Mary Kay Andrews novel! I’ve read them all. She’s a fantastic storyteller and loves to write about woman’s friendships. She also likes to throw in a mystery, some antiquing and heroines who love to eat. In the past she’s occasionally included recipes in her books. Well guess what? Mary Kay Andrews wrote a cookbook. Yes she did, and it’s fabulous. I was lucky enough to get an early copy and made her black bean and corn salsa, which will be a staple for my family this this summer.Review c I love a Mary Kay Andrews novel! I’ve read them all. She’s a fantastic storyteller and loves to write about woman’s friendships. She also likes to throw in a mystery, some antiquing and heroines who love to eat. In the past she’s occasionally included recipes in her books. Well guess what? Mary Kay Andrews wrote a cookbook. Yes she did, and it’s fabulous. I was lucky enough to get an early copy and made her black bean and corn salsa, which will be a staple for my family this this summer.Review continued:http://thelatchkeymom.com/the-beach-h...
    more
  • Mrs Mommy Booknerd http://mrsmommybooknerd.blogspot.com
    May 3, 2017
    I am obsessed with cookbooks, but I am no cook. With MKA's new cookbook I can actually make the recipes and host great summer parties! I cannot wait for the weather to warm and to get cooking. My son is also excited about this book because he loves to cook and this book will give us something to go together this summer. I promise you there is something for EVERYONE in this cookbook! I love that you can make stuff for a picnic or a big bash and even for a game night. This book is super versatile I am obsessed with cookbooks, but I am no cook. With MKA's new cookbook I can actually make the recipes and host great summer parties! I cannot wait for the weather to warm and to get cooking. My son is also excited about this book because he loves to cook and this book will give us something to go together this summer. I promise you there is something for EVERYONE in this cookbook! I love that you can make stuff for a picnic or a big bash and even for a game night. This book is super versatile with refreshing food to comfort food and everything in between! A must for every kitchen!!! The meal I am most excited to make it the Souper Supper...but the book to see what it all entails!
    more
Write a review