Why I Loathe Sterling Lane
Per her 537 rules, Harper Campbell keeps her life tidy—academically and socially. But the moment Sterling Lane transfers into her tiny boarding school, her twin brother gets swept up in Sterling’s pranks and schemes and nearly gets expelled. Harper knows it’s Sterling’s fault, and to protect her brother, she vows to take him down. As she exposes his endless school violations, he keeps striking back, framing her for his own infractions. Worst of all, he’s charmed the administration into thinking he’s harmless, and only Harper sees him for the troublemaker he absolutely is. As she breaks rule after precious rule in her battle of wits against Sterling and tension between them hits a boiling point, she’s horrified to discover that perhaps the two of them aren’t so different. And maybe she doesn't entirely hate him after all. Teaming up with Sterling to save her brother might be the only way to keep from breaking the most important rule—protecting Cole.

Why I Loathe Sterling Lane Details

TitleWhy I Loathe Sterling Lane
Author
FormatPaperback
ReleaseJun 6th, 2017
PublisherEntangled: Teen
Number of pages287 pages
Rating
GenreYoung Adult, Contemporary, Romance

Why I Loathe Sterling Lane Review

  • Maddie
    April 16, 2017
    HAPPY RELEASE DAY!! For lovers of YA Ed Sheeran – Perfecthttps://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1UQzJ...Rules: Reason 1: No one, and I mean NO ONE, delays the start of class.Since second grade Harper Campbell ensured that she was the perfect student!Harper created a list of 537 rules to ensure that she would remain the perfect daughter and student and nothing will get between her future plans or those rule. Since her mother’s death when Harper was in second grade her first rule was her brother Cole, HAPPY RELEASE DAY!! For lovers of YA Ed Sheeran – Perfecthttps://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1UQzJ...Rules: Reason 1: No one, and I mean NO ONE, delays the start of class.Since second grade Harper Campbell ensured that she was the perfect student!Harper created a list of 537 rules to ensure that she would remain the perfect daughter and student and nothing will get between her future plans or those rule. Since her mother’s death when Harper was in second grade her first rule was her brother Cole, always looking out for him.As the years progressed as well as her set rules she was called “Harper the Hag” by the cool confident students, reason → she got the captain of the basketball team suspended just before regional finals because he been failing 3 subjects! Harper and her brother had some fights as well because of her set of rules.Her life was perfectly mapped out, or so she thought, that was until she met Sterling Lane, and from the first day they met he interrupted Harper’s perfect day in History class and from that day he started upsetting her perfect 537 rules.Sterling the total opposite of Harper was expelled by most of the prestige schools, always getting in trouble wherever he went, but with a quick smile and a big heart and easy going personality and good looks it was easy getting what he wants, EXCEPT HARPER!Harper's feelings towards Sterling: Every muscle in my body convulsed in conflicted horror. All at once. I had a Sterling Lane-induced seizure. I took out my notebook and documented every detail of Sterling Lane’s depravity. Sterling Lane wasn’t just an annoyance – he was a public menace. And I had every intention of staying as far away from him as out tiny campus would allow. But will it even be possible for her to stay away from Sterling, when her brother and him became best friends almost instantly? This read have many twist and turns how Sterling riled Harper, and with ever twist and turn added had this huge smile to my face. Kygo, Selena Gomez - It Ain't Mehttps://www.youtube.com/watch?v=D5drY...My feelings while reading this: To say to people I loved Harper will be a lie, she really irritated me, in some chapters more than others, she did developed and for that I was glad, otherwise this would have been a really low star rating from me, and her character development is also what made me like the book in the end! THIS IS a good YA romance, there were times I laughed so hard, the author created a exciting world where a teenager who live according to her 537 rules, learned that life is not based on rules, and sometimes you need to break your own rules to learn how to live and enjoy your life. gnash - i hate u, i love u ft. olivia o'brienhttps://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BiQIc...To the author: Brilliantly written YA romance.ARC received via Netgalley for honest Opinion
    more
  • Annika
    April 2, 2017
    My lessons learned: blurbs can be deceiving and to let go of my unjust prejudices against the YA genre.To be honest, when I got approved for the ARC, I wasn't even sure any more why I'd requested it in the first place. While I'm gradually warming up to contemporary YA, I'm not usually big on hate-to-love romance, and the synopsis sounded so much like petty high school teen drama. The only reason I even started this book when I did was to get it over with.Boy, was I ever wrong. Ingrid Paulson ble My lessons learned: blurbs can be deceiving and to let go of my unjust prejudices against the YA genre.To be honest, when I got approved for the ARC, I wasn't even sure any more why I'd requested it in the first place. While I'm gradually warming up to contemporary YA, I'm not usually big on hate-to-love romance, and the synopsis sounded so much like petty high school teen drama. The only reason I even started this book when I did was to get it over with.Boy, was I ever wrong. Ingrid Paulson blew me out of the water with this one.So there's Harper. Harper has a firm set of rules she lives and acts by, never straying from them even if that makes her a school pariah. That is, until Sterling Lane, the new boy at her boarding school starts pushing her buttons in a way no one ever has, and her twin brother Cole gets tangled up in trouble that might get him expelled. Convinced that it's not a coincidence that all the mess began at the exact same time that Sterling started hanging out with Cole, Harper starts her own investigations on the charming manipulator. He doesn't know what he's in for.And thus starts a thrilling and hilarious battle of wills, pranks and emotions none of them would have ever expected. There weren't sufficient words in the English language to describe the width and breadth of my feelings for Sterling Lane - hate, loathe, revile, despise. And if I had a thesaurus on hand, I wouldn't use it to refine the list. I'd hurl it right at his head. If there's one thing I've learned since I started reading YA and NA novels, it's how hard it is to pull off the bad boy vs. good girl trope without getting lost in a sea of clichés. There's just too much that can go wrong, such a fine line between bad boy and insufferable, obnoxious douchebag, and between good girl and stuffy, boring weakling. I don't know how she did it, but Paulson walked that line with such an unexpected ease that I often felt like I should have, if not hated, then at least disliked the two protagonists, but for the love of me just couldn't.Don't get me wrong, there were times when I was mentally begging Harper to punch the smug smirk out of Sterling's face, or when I just couldn't help but roll my eyes at her rule-abiding perfectionist ways. But the thing is, I still loved them for their personalities and their flaws. Both of them were absolutely amazing characters. Sterling's smile widened. He was an alligator that wouldn't bother to bite before swallowing me whole. I might even go as far as to claim that Harper and Sterling are my new favorite romance couple. The banter, the tension, their strong wills and wits. I had so much fun reading this book, switching between aggravation, swooning and cracking up so many times I never knew what to expect next. I loved how they both influenced each other for the better without even noticing it.Add to that the fact that this book didn't have the typical YA feeling to it, and I was a goner from the start.The characters were mature (most of the time) and strong-willed, there were no bitchy co eds, no jealousies, nothing that felt contrived only to add more drama to the mix. What you'll get instead is a devilishly funny yet profound hate-to-love romance, a couple to ship, an unlikely but beautiful friendship, a well-construed mystery, a prank war, few but thus all the more lovable supporting characters and a touching twin sibling relationship.I seriously can't wait to read more of this author's amazing writing.ARC provided by the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Carrie
    May 20, 2017
    Harper Campbell has 537 rules rules that keep her life in her tiny boarding school very organized and under control. When Sterling Lane transfers to the school however he immediately begins to break Harper's rules putting her at odds of how to deal with the new bad boy. Harper's twin brother Cole ends up rooming with Sterling so Harper needs to come up with a way to keep Sterling away from her brother. But when Cole gets himself into trouble Harper knows she needs to protect him at any cost, eve Harper Campbell has 537 rules rules that keep her life in her tiny boarding school very organized and under control. When Sterling Lane transfers to the school however he immediately begins to break Harper's rules putting her at odds of how to deal with the new bad boy. Harper's twin brother Cole ends up rooming with Sterling so Harper needs to come up with a way to keep Sterling away from her brother. But when Cole gets himself into trouble Harper knows she needs to protect him at any cost, even if that means teaming up with Sterling to help save her brother. Why I Loathe Sterling Lane was another of those books I was back and forth on how to rate all during reading this one. It had potential to be a really cute young adult contemporary read but unfortunately Harper herself really brought this one down for me as I really didn't like her from the start. It is one thing to be the goody goody character going against the bad boy and even falling for him eventually but Harper bordered on being more of a bit too manic in her rules to sit well with me from the start and then ends up breaking more rules than Sterling. But with this story I think if Harper had been written a bit differently I probably would have really enjoyed the book. The overall plot was interesting with a bit of mystery to solving Cole's dilemma, a bit of fun and laughter involved with Sterling's antics, family loyalty between the twins with Harper wanting to do everything for her brother and a case of opposites attracting between Harper and Cole. Probably more that I'm failing to mention too so while I didn't care for Harper I still thought this one ended up being an OK read in the end. I received an advance copy from the publisher via NetGalley.For more reviews please visit https://carriesbookreviews.wordpress....
    more
  • Bekah AwesomeBookNut
    June 4, 2017
    When I opened my package and saw the title of this book, I immediately dropped everything and read this. Read it in one sitting because I couldn’t put it down. THESE are the books I LOOOOOVE ANY hate to love story and I will drop everything to read it. THEY. ARE. THE. BEST types of stories.This is like a 10 Things I Hate About merged with Taming of the Shrew which oddly enough 10 Things I Hate About You is a modern retelling of Taming of the Shrew… this book reminded me of that movie and concept When I opened my package and saw the title of this book, I immediately dropped everything and read this. Read it in one sitting because I couldn’t put it down. THESE are the books I LOOOOOVE ANY hate to love story and I will drop everything to read it. THEY. ARE. THE. BEST types of stories.This is like a 10 Things I Hate About merged with Taming of the Shrew which oddly enough 10 Things I Hate About You is a modern retelling of Taming of the Shrew… this book reminded me of that movie and concept. Even though there was no little sister some guy wanted so they had to get rid of the shrew older sister.This story is about Harper who has 537 rules that she eats, sleeps and lives by. She is the top of her class and is meticulous about everything she does especially in regards to her life and rules down the last second. She isn’t liked at school because of her goody-goody ways plus she is completely honest and tactless in her honesty which keeps people away from her. However, Harper has a twin, her brother Cole who recently has been pulling away from Harper and she can’t figure out why until she finds out her brother is in trouble.Enter Sterling Lane…ultimate rule breaker who immediately finds himself on Harper’s bad side. Things only get worse between them when Sterling is Cole’s new roommate. Everything wrong in Cole’s life, Harper believes is Sterling’s fault and they find themselves constantly battling with each other with words, pranks, and an every growing dislike for each other.When they find themselves actually on the same side in regards to trying to help Cole with his problems they decide to sort of put aside their dislike for each other for the time being in order to help each other help, Cole.I LOVED the chemistry of dislike between Sterling and Harper. I appreciated how the author stayed true to their characters with very subtle development which makes it all more realistic. There were times when Harper annoyed me but at the same time appreciated the fact that the author didn’t miraculously change the character. Harper is still Harper by the end of the book just a bit more refined which I appreciated.Overall I LOVED the story, I was drawn in by the title and therefore didn’t even bother reading the synopsis because I knew this would be my type of book.Sexual Content: moderateLanguage: moderateDrugs/Alcohol: moderateViolence: mild
    more
  • Jessica
    June 7, 2017
    4.5 stars. Huh, who would've thought? In the beginning I struggled so much with this! Harper wasn't exactly easy to like and I absolutely LOATHED Sterling Lane. I'm glad I stuck with it, though, since it turned out to be so much fun. I thoroughly enjoyed this and I only deducted half a star because I almost gave up on the book after the first few chapters because I struggled so much with it.
    more
  • Taylor Knight
    June 24, 2017
    I received an unsolicited copy of this book from the publisher There was so much of this book that I liked but I disliked the main character, Harper, so much and that really hindered me from falling in love with Why I Loathe Sterling Lane. This was a fun, light, quick read and I read it within a few days. I liked the plot, the writing style, and I actually loved Sterling. He's a stereotypical pretty boy that makes it his mission in life to annoy the one girl in school who doesn't like him but he I received an unsolicited copy of this book from the publisher There was so much of this book that I liked but I disliked the main character, Harper, so much and that really hindered me from falling in love with Why I Loathe Sterling Lane. This was a fun, light, quick read and I read it within a few days. I liked the plot, the writing style, and I actually loved Sterling. He's a stereotypical pretty boy that makes it his mission in life to annoy the one girl in school who doesn't like him but he was so funny. I loved him from the moment he was introduced. To be honest, there wasn't really anything different or original about him but I'm a sucker for witty dialogue and sarcasm so I thought he was a pretty great character. Harper on the other hand, was not a great character, in my opinion. She's the stereotypical (yeah, this book is like 90% stereotypes) straight laced girl that only has time for school and no fun but Harper was that times 10. She was so stuck up and had a stick so far up her butt, she was not fun to read about. I couldn't relate to her at all and I can't count how many times I rolled my eyes at her. Granted, she did get better as the book went on but she was really terrible at the beginning of the book. I did love the plot a lot. The prank war was a great touch and I really enjoyed that aspect of the book. The writing style was also really good. I didn't think it was overly detailed and had a great paced to it. Overall, despite this book having a ton of tropes and Harper being one of my least favorite characters ever, I enjoyed this book. It was a fun, fluffy read and I'm definitely going to keep my eyes open for any other contemporary books from this author.
    more
  • Lynndell
    June 8, 2017
    I voluntarily read and reviewed an ARC of this book. Thanks to NetGalley and Entangled Publishing for the opportunity to read and review Why I Loathe Sterling Lane by Ingrid Paulson! Harper and her twin brother Cole attend and reside at a boarding school. Their father is their only parent and they're not in a very close relationship with him. Harper has always felt responsible for taking care of her brother. Sterling Lane is a new student with a reputation of getting kicked out of schools. He bu I voluntarily read and reviewed an ARC of this book. Thanks to NetGalley and Entangled Publishing for the opportunity to read and review Why I Loathe Sterling Lane by Ingrid Paulson! Harper and her twin brother Cole attend and reside at a boarding school. Their father is their only parent and they're not in a very close relationship with him. Harper has always felt responsible for taking care of her brother. Sterling Lane is a new student with a reputation of getting kicked out of schools. He bulldozes into Harper's self-controlled life and she can't quite get her head around it. Cole seems to be in serious trouble and his life, as well as Harper's, begins to spiral out of control and Sterling is right in the middle of it all. Serious and mysterious, as well as cleverly intelligent and full of humor, this book is a wildly entertaining, young adult, realistic fiction read worthy of 5 stars! I had a blast reading this book and absolutely love the personalities of Harper and Sterling and the way they balance each other out and make formidable partners!
    more
  • Stacee
    May 19, 2017
    3.5 starsI am a huge fan of hate to love and after that synopsis, I was excited to started. I struggled with Harper in the beginning. She's so rigid and shrill and it comes across that she's knows better than everyone. No matter what the topic. Cole fell a little flat for me, but I loved Kendall. As for Sterling...he's sort of a jerk, but it really works in this story. Plus, it's probably the only way anything between Harper and him would have worked. The banter and pranks between Harper and Ste 3.5 starsI am a huge fan of hate to love and after that synopsis, I was excited to started. I struggled with Harper in the beginning. She's so rigid and shrill and it comes across that she's knows better than everyone. No matter what the topic. Cole fell a little flat for me, but I loved Kendall. As for Sterling...he's sort of a jerk, but it really works in this story. Plus, it's probably the only way anything between Harper and him would have worked. The banter and pranks between Harper and Sterling were the best part of this book. I loved that they constantly pushed each other's buttons and the morph into something else was gradual and believable. The plot thread about Cole was necessary for them to fall together, but it was fairly boring. Overall, it was a quick and mostly fun read. I would have liked a bit more from the ending, but the very last chapter was absolute perfection. **Huge thanks to Entangled Teen for providing the arc free of charge**
    more
  • Rê
    May 29, 2017
    4 “10 Things I Hate About You Feels!” StarsARC via NetGalleyThank you, Entangled Teen.This book is addictive, hot and gave me major flashback to late 90’s/beginning of 2000’s. If you were a teenager then, you’ll understand why.Before Heath Ledger became the Joker on that Batman movie, he was a bad boy teenager full of attitude in a movie called Ten Things I Hate About You. I love this movie. Like, LOVE LOVE, so if you haven’t watched it yet, fix it!For me, Sterling Lane took me back to Ledger’s 4 “10 Things I Hate About You Feels!” StarsARC via NetGalleyThank you, Entangled Teen.This book is addictive, hot and gave me major flashback to late 90’s/beginning of 2000’s. If you were a teenager then, you’ll understand why.Before Heath Ledger became the Joker on that Batman movie, he was a bad boy teenager full of attitude in a movie called Ten Things I Hate About You. I love this movie. Like, LOVE LOVE, so if you haven’t watched it yet, fix it!For me, Sterling Lane took me back to Ledger’s character. And Harper Campbell, the main character in this book, instantly reminded me of Julia Style’s character in that movie.Smart, sassy and protective of her sibling, Harper sees new student and known troublemarker Sterling Lane as an unwanted distraction. She has her entire school year (and possibly her life) planned out and she follows an impressive set of rules that will lead her toward success. As far as Harper is concerned, Sterling is the personification of a rule breaker and she wants nothing to do with him.It doesn’t help that Sterling’s charms (and his family’s influence) prevent him from getting in trouble even when he teases their teachers, lie to everyone’s faces, tries to pay her to do his school work and breaks all sorts of rules. Harper instantly sees him as an enemy. A situation that only gets worse when she discovers he’s sharing a dorm room with her twin brother.As Harper’s brother starts getting in trouble, she blames Sterling’s influence. But Harper doesn’t stop at that, she tries to get Sterling out of the way by exposing him. That makes Sterling notice her and their little hating/revenge game start.Watching those two go at each other is half the fun. The other half is watching them try not to be all over each other since their hate looks a little too close to attraction and passion.The puns and teasing and straight-out insane things they come up with to get even are pretty funny, even if some of them are borderline absurd. I didn’t care. I was too busy turning pages, desperate for me.The dynamic once again reminded me of that teen movie I was obsessed with.Sterling was sexy and loved to get under Harper’s skin, but she didn’t stay behind. Girlfriend was a force to be reckoned with. She wasn’t afraid to say the truth and she wasn’t about to turn into someone else just because she didn’t fit some pretty mold.Something I appreciated was that Harper’s arc didn’t end up changing her into someone else. Sure she learned a thing or two about making friends and being more approachable, but she didn’t become a different person because of that.The romance was HOT, HOT, HOT and swoony.The enemies to lover trope was played to almost perfection here. I adored their bantering and how they fought against their chemistry, which was off the charts, and how powerful it was when they gave in.I got my happy ending, but I thought it ended a bit abruptly. Maybe that’s just me wanting more of them because I seriously couldn’t get enough. I read this in one sitting and was eager for more. Now that it’s done, I’ll go watch Ten Things I Hate About You for the millionth time.
    more
  • Shannon
    April 17, 2017
    4.5* "You're a disaster. You fascinate me." As much as Harper fascinated Sterling, this book fascinated me. I could not put it down once I started reading! It's slightly bizarre, utterly unique, and totally engaging. I saw someone else mention it and I can't help but completely agree- Why I Loathe Sterling Lane is The Hating Game for the teen-age crowd. Before she even knows who he is, Sterling Lane has thrown Harper Campbell's carefully structured life into an uproar...and things only get crazi 4.5* "You're a disaster. You fascinate me." As much as Harper fascinated Sterling, this book fascinated me. I could not put it down once I started reading! It's slightly bizarre, utterly unique, and totally engaging. I saw someone else mention it and I can't help but completely agree- Why I Loathe Sterling Lane is The Hating Game for the teen-age crowd. Before she even knows who he is, Sterling Lane has thrown Harper Campbell's carefully structured life into an uproar...and things only get crazier from there.I love a quirky, oddball heroine- one who walks to the beat of her own drum, who doesn't care what people think of her, one who has no problems living her life by her own set of rules. And Harper Campbell fits that description to a T. She makes no apologies for who she is and has no problem speaking her mind. And with Sterling, she speaks her mind...a lot. He knows how to push all her buttons, and he does so with more than a little glee. Having a ringside seat to these two butting heads was completely enjoyable and so much fun- the banter, the back and forth, the pranks, all kinds of amusing!And when things finally started to become clear to Harper, that maybe she and Sterling weren't exactly working at cross purposes, the entertainment didn't let up one bit. In fact, the tension between them just got hotter. Why I Loathe Sterling Lane is such a delightful read-from the characters, to the bit of mystery, I was thoroughly entertained from start to finish.
    more
  • Liv (Olivia Chanel's Galaxy of Books)
    May 31, 2017
    Thank you so much, Entangled Teen, for my advanced review copy of Why I Loathe Sterling Lane by Ingrid Paulson!Why I Loathe Sterling Lane is a book that really surprised me. I did not expect to feel as invested in this book and the main characters as I was. However, it did take me a while to get there. Why I Loathe Sterling Lane is about Harper, her twin brother Cole, and Sterling, the new guy at their boarding school. Harper and Sterling are opposites and quickly become rivals, constantly tryin Thank you so much, Entangled Teen, for my advanced review copy of Why I Loathe Sterling Lane by Ingrid Paulson!Why I Loathe Sterling Lane is a book that really surprised me. I did not expect to feel as invested in this book and the main characters as I was. However, it did take me a while to get there. Why I Loathe Sterling Lane is about Harper, her twin brother Cole, and Sterling, the new guy at their boarding school. Harper and Sterling are opposites and quickly become rivals, constantly trying to up one on the other through masterful pranks. Things get pretty wild. However, despite this, they decide to cooperate to help Cole get out of the trouble he’s gotten himself into. I really liked Why I Loathe Sterling Lane a lot because it brought something new. The way the book is structured is unique because the chapters aren’t named chapter 1, chapter 2, etc. but instead, the chapter headings are reasons why Harper loathes Sterling. They really make you anticipate every time a new chapter begins. It was awesome.“I’m glad you found someone to stroke your already sizable ego. But I think you’ll find I’m not susceptible to your games.”“You know, that almost sounds like a challenge.” There was a quiet menace in his voice that made the hair on the back of my neck stand on end.The best part about Why I Loathe Sterling Lane is definitely the fact that it’s the trope hate to love. The masterful pranks are amazing, the chemistry and tension between Harper and Sterling is legendary, and the banter is on fire. I love it when rivals/enemies turn into lovers. It’s one of the best tropes out there. I also liked how in the beginning Harper was very much alone, her only friend her twin brother Cole. However, as the events of the book progressed Harper went more and more out of her comfort zone and did things she never had before. I really love the friendship that developed between Harper and Kendall. I also love the sibling dynamics in this book. The fact that Harper would do anything for her brother is just beautiful. I love it when characters have each other’s backs. More of this in Young Adult books, yes, please.Even if I ended up loving Why I Loathe Sterling Lane I have to say that the first half of the book did not impress me. It took me about 50 % of the book to get invested in the characters and the story. Also, some of the character’s actions were at times infuriating. I definitely wish the dynamics between the characters and more of their motives had been clearer from the start since that would have improved the first half of the book. Nonetheless, it really did turn around and the second half was truly magnificent. Another downside was the fact that the words crazy and lunatic were used once which was really unnecessary.Why I Loathe Sterling Lane is perfect for young adult readers who love a good hate to love story. They will fall in love with the banter, the pranks, and the ship. I know I did. There are amazing sibling vibes in this one, lovely friendships and a rivalry between the two main characters that will blow you away. It is very electric. If all of that is your thing, you definitely need to check Why I Loathe Sterling Lane out.
    more
  • Erica Chilson
    May 25, 2017
    I received a copy of this title to read and review for Wicked Reads 5 Frustrating Stars Young Adult age-range: 14+ due to swearing, drug & alcohol usage, and mild sexual situations (making-out). Ingrid Paulson is a new-to-me author, one I plan on keeping my eye on for future YA novels. Harper is the female half of a pair of fraternal twins who go to boarding school. Harper is definitely a type-A personality. With the death of her mother, the need to keep her twin safe (Cole is a free-spirit I received a copy of this title to read and review for Wicked Reads 5 Frustrating Stars Young Adult age-range: 14+ due to swearing, drug & alcohol usage, and mild sexual situations (making-out). Ingrid Paulson is a new-to-me author, one I plan on keeping my eye on for future YA novels. Harper is the female half of a pair of fraternal twins who go to boarding school. Harper is definitely a type-A personality. With the death of her mother, the need to keep her twin safe (Cole is a free-spirit who is gullible and sees the best in everyone), and the need to prove herself worthy to a misogynistic father. Harper has a list of rules she abides by, is one of the most stubborn heroines I've read to-date, and doesn't have a single cell in her body screaming TSTL or damsel-in-distress. She's a force to be reckoned with and makes no apologies for it.Sterling is a bad boy with a good heart- bit of a rich, misunderstood d-bag. Stirling is Cole's new roommate, and he and Harper do NOT start on the best of terms. What unfolds on the pages of this love-hate novel (one of the first which truly brings on the hate) frustrated me to no end. So frustrated, I was reading feverishly, while white-knuckling my Kindle from the need to reach in and strangle both Sterling and Harper. This isn't chemistry, tension, and foreplay, at least not at first. It's true hate. I was so frustrated for Harper on every front, but I couldn't help but understand and like Sterling. Cole... oh, brother- Cole. *sigh* Ms. Paulson, please write a followup with Cole- I want to see someone knock some sense into him. Harper and Sterling, they were both wrong. All. The. Time. The frustration finally abated as our antagonists started working together instead of against each other, and I was able to relax. The pages didn't fly by as quickly, I wasn't snapping at anyone who broke my concentration, but I enjoyed how it did start to feel like foreplay instead of grounds for premeditated murder. Mad props to the author for the level of frustration I felt. Harper was a right-fighter, no matter how wrong she may have been, and it bothered me how her voice wasn't heard in the beginning. I've been there- often -and it made me feel connected to Harper, even when she was going beyond the realm of rationality. I don't wish to give plot points out, so I'm being vague. Side characters: there weren't many, but they added to the storyline, allowing Harper and Sterling to shine. I also appreciated how there was no 'girl-shaming'. Harper was one type of girl, and her roommate another, and Harper made sure no one disrespected Kendall for being a girly girl or thought her unintelligent because of it. Highly recommended to fans of the young adult genre and the love-hate premise.
    more
  • T. Rosado
    June 2, 2017
    5 STARS!!I LOVE this book! It is immensely entertaining and smart. It helps that enemies-to-love is one of my most favorite romance tropes, because this book took that trope to such a height that I couldn't imagine a way down. Yet, Ingrid Paulson pulls it off with aplomb. Did I mention that this book is smart? I love when an author doesn't question the intelligence of their young adult readers and creates a non-patronizing story. One that not only entertains its intended audience, but also older 5 STARS!!I LOVE this book! It is immensely entertaining and smart. It helps that enemies-to-love is one of my most favorite romance tropes, because this book took that trope to such a height that I couldn't imagine a way down. Yet, Ingrid Paulson pulls it off with aplomb. Did I mention that this book is smart? I love when an author doesn't question the intelligence of their young adult readers and creates a non-patronizing story. One that not only entertains its intended audience, but also older readers. Yes, the main characters give off Ferris Bueller vibes by out-smarting adults with their craftiness and skirting of the rules, but those are some of the most enjoyable moments. A must-read for those who enjoy YA romance with comedy and swoon. (I voluntarily read an advanced copy of this book. This review is my honest and unbiased opinion.)
    more
  • nick
    June 4, 2017
    I am so happy that Ingrid Paulson is back to YA with a stellar YA contemporary. I have missed books that are set in a boarding school, so this was an absolute delight to read. Add to that a hate to love romance that was done beautifully, I was thrilled with the execution of this book. Why I Loathe Sterling Knight tells the story of Harper, a staunch rule-follower, who is very much of a determined, and hardworking young woman. Though I know some people will struggle with her from time to time, I I am so happy that Ingrid Paulson is back to YA with a stellar YA contemporary. I have missed books that are set in a boarding school, so this was an absolute delight to read. Add to that a hate to love romance that was done beautifully, I was thrilled with the execution of this book. Why I Loathe Sterling Knight tells the story of Harper, a staunch rule-follower, who is very much of a determined, and hardworking young woman. Though I know some people will struggle with her from time to time, I really enjoyed Harper’s character because I saw bits and pieces of myself in her. Despite how rule-driven and no-nonsense she is, she’s a young woman with a lot of vulnerabilities, that she tries not to show in public. Her devotion and love for her twin, Cole, was one of the highlights of the story for me. The whole plot of Why I Loathe Sterling Knight was centered around this bond of theirs, though it faces some rough obstacles. I wasn’t always keen on Cole’s side shenanigans, to be honest, but it wasn’t enough to take away from my enjoyment of the story. Sterling was the complete opposite of Harper. He drove me mad in the beginning, but I slowly warmed up to his character as his intentions were revealed. His and Harper’s dynamic was full of hate-to-love banter and I loved it. The romance definitely had a slow-burn quality to it that I enjoyed. I’m sometimes iffy about hate-to-love romances because they can be toxic if not written properly, but with Harper and Sterling, it was done very well. The pranks they pull each other, the witty back-and-forth dialogue and the chemistry between the two were great! Definitely add Why I Loathe Sterling Knight to your TBR if you’re a fan of unique heroines, and heroes who push their buttons.
    more
  • D.M.
    May 31, 2017
    I knew when I read the title this book was going to be for me. I love a hate relationship. Sterling rubs Harper the wrong way from the second she meets him. I mean who does he think he is!Harper follows her own rules which include studying, looking after her brother and keeping on target. She keeps her head in books and her mind on her education. That is until Cole her twin brother gets a new dormitory mate. Sterling is a bad influence right from the start, and Harper is happy to put him in his I knew when I read the title this book was going to be for me. I love a hate relationship. Sterling rubs Harper the wrong way from the second she meets him. I mean who does he think he is!Harper follows her own rules which include studying, looking after her brother and keeping on target. She keeps her head in books and her mind on her education. That is until Cole her twin brother gets a new dormitory mate. Sterling is a bad influence right from the start, and Harper is happy to put him in his place. This means war! Sterling is too cocky to take Harper's handouts without retaliation. I love this book. Harper and Sterling are both great characters. Harper is the ultimate geek and Sterling is the perfect enemy. 5 out of 5.I received an ARC copy of this book as part of the chapter by chapter blog tour. My review is in no way influenced by this fact. My blog tour date is the 21st June. Please check out my blog on this date for more about this book.http://chaptersthroughlife.blogspot.c...
    more
  • Moriah
    July 10, 2016
    **I received an ARC of this book from Entangled Teen in exchange for an honest review**Gilmore Girls and 10 Things I Hate About You fans rejoice! This is the book you’ve been waiting for. With enough wit and sarcasm to fill the Atlantic, it’s Paris Geller and Logan Huntzberger’s love story—and after reading this book, I’ve decided that should have been a thing! Harper Campbell lived by a strict set of rules, 537 to be exact. Her thorny exterior and achingly honest personality complimented her mo **I received an ARC of this book from Entangled Teen in exchange for an honest review**Gilmore Girls and 10 Things I Hate About You fans rejoice! This is the book you’ve been waiting for. With enough wit and sarcasm to fill the Atlantic, it’s Paris Geller and Logan Huntzberger’s love story—and after reading this book, I’ve decided that should have been a thing! Harper Campbell lived by a strict set of rules, 537 to be exact. Her thorny exterior and achingly honest personality complimented her monastic existence, which was how she liked it. As long as she had her twin brother, Cole, her detailed outlines, and the rules stuffed inside her head to guide her along her way, she didn’t need anyone else. The world she crafted to suit her purposes of an Ivy League school and the next Attorney General came crashing down when Sterling Lane sauntered into History, disheveled and as handsome and dangerous as sin. I liked Harper, a lot actually. Even though going into this book one could suspect she would be an unrelatable character, I found it easy to connect with her, especially when she entered the battle of wits with Sterling. She was funny and honest to a fault—and she had no remorse about it. She owned up to who she was and didn’t need other’s validation. Sterling Lane’s antics made me giddy. He tested Harper’s limits, and I love anyone who can enjoy sarcasm—not just enjoy it: thrive off it. If you know me in real life, I’m an honest to a fault and a sarcastic person. Sterling is the guy that anyone who can hold his or her own like a Gilmore would appreciate. Now, he did have his faults. I got to know him page after page, understand the person he was, and fell head over heels for him the more I learned about his true personality, the guy hidden beneath frayed boat shoes and a recalcitrant smirk. I understood why every girl on campus swamped him with adoration, but I fell on Harper’s side of things. I got why she wouldn’t want to. His arrogance carefully concealed his inner depths, and it took at least half of the book for her to discern something beneath the surface—to just look long enough and notice that it existed. Trite as it may be, he was the bad boy with depth, and I enjoyed discovering each new thing about Sterling Lane. The relationship with Harper and her twin, Cole, teetered precariously on the edge of destruction. Harper’s weak subject was Cole, as Rule 1 stated that she did anything to protect him first and foremost. If you start out this book wondering if Harper has a heart, Cole proved that she did. I liked the relationship they had and how far she went to protect him. It showed loyalty and brotherly love. I would like to know more about Cole’s character, because while a large reason for Sterling and Harper’s interaction hinged on his choices, he played in the background more than front and center. I’m hoping above all else that this isn’t the last time that I’ll see Sterling and Harper and maybe get more of Cole in the process. Harper managed to make one friend in the book, an unlikely ally: Kendall Frank, resident popular girl. They had a wonderful way about them and a rare friendship that didn’t make a lot of sense. I liked how Kendall saw something different in Harper than anyone else and how she clung onto that and created a friendship with her. Both of them didn’t go together, which made them perfect for each other. Why I Loathe Sterling Lane—more like Why I Can’t Get Enough of Him. The chapter headers are brilliant and detail the reasons she hates them, true to Harper’s nature. It added a dash of flair that made the book that much better and gave an indication of what to expect chapter to chapter. I’m wishing on every star in the sky that there is more to Sterling and Harper’s story and can’t wait to dive in, if so. Harper Campbell would do Paris Gellar proud, and Sterling would no doubt be the ring leader of the Life and Death Brigade.
    more
  • Suze
    June 13, 2017
    Harper Campbell lives by her own rules, she has 537 of them in total and she knows them all by heart. She's a serious student and never gets in trouble. Harper and her twin brother Cole are going to the same small boarding school. Harper's behavior there has always been exemplary, however, when Sterling Lane transfers to her school, after being suspended from many other boarding schools, this changes. Since Sterling's appearance in his life Cole has been in serious trouble and Harper blames Ster Harper Campbell lives by her own rules, she has 537 of them in total and she knows them all by heart. She's a serious student and never gets in trouble. Harper and her twin brother Cole are going to the same small boarding school. Harper's behavior there has always been exemplary, however, when Sterling Lane transfers to her school, after being suspended from many other boarding schools, this changes. Since Sterling's appearance in his life Cole has been in serious trouble and Harper blames Sterling for dragging her brother down. She hates him with a passion and she's determined to make him pay.Getting back at Sterling means Harper has to break many of her own rules and she even goes far enough to break those of the school. Harper isn't afraid to fight dirty and is convinced Sterling needs to be taught a lesson. While trying to win every battle they fight, she discovers that Sterling has another side as well and she might even like some parts of his personality. She also finds out Cole is having huge problems and Sterling is the only one who can help her to save her brother. Will they be able to work together as a team and what will happen when they try?Why I Loathe Sterling Lane is a funny romantic story with fabulous main characters. Harper is serious, stiff and brutally honest. She always tells people the truth in a snide way and often steps on their toes in the process. She doesn't have friends, but she loves Cole and does everything she can to protect him. I loved her loyalty and her willingness to go far to keep him safe. She's incredibly intelligent and she finally meets her match when Sterling transfers to her school. He's smart and cunning and his confidence never seems to waver. They have amazing chemistry and I loved their bickering. Their fights are interesting, the dialogue is humoristic and their pranks are hilarious. I love how Ingrid Paulson makes her characters come to life and really enjoyed reading about their antics.Why I Loathe Sterling Lane is a book about two resourceful people and I loved the creative way Ingrid Paulson writes about her main characters. Her story is entertaining and I laughed out loud several times while reading it. The trouble Cole is in adds a nice layer of depth to the story. I read it in one sitting, I liked it so much that I couldn't put it down. Why I Loathe Sterling Lane is a clever story with charming main characters and a fantastic sweet ending. I really liked this wonderful book.
    more
  • michelle (magicalreads)
    May 1, 2017
    **I received a free ARC from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.4.5 starsI have Feelings™ about Why I Loathe Sterling Lane okay, it's been 5 days and I'm still not over it tbh. Harper Campbell and her twin brother, Cole, attend a boarding school where Harper is the top of their class (thanks to 537 Rules that she lives by) and Cole is the star lacrosse player. Harper's life is running pretty perfectly until she finds out that Cole is short for the money he promised to raise for a new wei **I received a free ARC from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.4.5 starsI have Feelings™ about Why I Loathe Sterling Lane okay, it's been 5 days and I'm still not over it tbh. Harper Campbell and her twin brother, Cole, attend a boarding school where Harper is the top of their class (thanks to 537 Rules that she lives by) and Cole is the star lacrosse player. Harper's life is running pretty perfectly until she finds out that Cole is short for the money he promised to raise for a new weight room. And. Legendary Sterling Lane has transferred to their school and seems hellbent on ruining Harper's life; first, he's Cole's new roommate and might be "corrupting" him. Then he insists on Harper writing his notes and his work because of his "illnesses." Sterling is generally the antithesis of Harper's Rules. On top of all this, Harper gets a new roommate, Kendall, after living without one all year.At first, Harper and Sterling's relationship of pranking and generally irritating each other somewhat unnerved me because it seemed a bit too antagonistic without having a good reason. And Harper was pretty against all girls, especially Kendall, who is the prettiest, most popular girl in their grade. So yeah, I wasn't that into this book at first.And then the second half happened.Harper and Sterling's hostile relationship pretty much petered out so that the pranks were more in fun, and Harper starts to realize that Kendall is more than she seems, so there goes the female animosity. She befriends her later and they end up working together on some of the pranks. And!!! Harper defends Kendall's outer appearance of a "bubblehead" to her boyfriend when he makes a flippant comment.More good things about this book: all throughout it, Harper recognizes a lot of the sexism around her, such as when Sterling is excused from his behavior because "boys will be boys," and when her dad dismisses Harper's worrying about Cole because "girls overreact all the time." She also isn't typically "feminine," which Sterling points out sometimes and she defends her own decisions (although Sterling's comments bother me at times but more on that later).But the best thing about this book? Four words: Hate. To. Love. Relationship.Hands down, the romance was my favorite part of this book. Again, it's been 5 days, and I cannot stop thinking about Harper and Sterling. This book was probably one of the best with this trope in it to be honest. I don't want to spoil anything, but trust me. This book is worth it for the ship.The only thing I didn't quite like was Sterling's sexist comments. Whenever Harper would point them out, he would apologize, but then he would make another one later? I don't know, I just feel like sometimes he didn't really feel remorse about them, leading to not a lot of character development with him.I really loved this book despite some of its flaws. I really want to reread it, honestly, but I should probably wait till it officially releases . . . but who cares? Anyway, if you like private school books (which I do) or hate-to-love relationships (which I LOVE), you should definitely pick this book up on June 6!read on my blog
    more
  • Brittany Filopanti
    May 26, 2017
    I was sent this book through Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This book was so cute! I enjoyed every minute of it. I got some serious, Jamie McGuire, Beautiful Disaster vibes.
  • Michelle
    June 19, 2017
    **You can see this full review and more at Book Briefs: https://bookbriefs.net**Why I Loathe Sterling Lane is a young adult contemporary romance by Ingrid Paulson. Why I Loathe Sterling Lane felt kind of like 10 Things I hate about you, which is a movie that I love. It was a really fun read, and I would love to see more from these characters. Why I Loathe Sterling Lane is a standalone novel, but I really want to see a second book, maybe when Harper and Sterling are in college. That would be a lo **You can see this full review and more at Book Briefs: https://bookbriefs.net**Why I Loathe Sterling Lane is a young adult contemporary romance by Ingrid Paulson. Why I Loathe Sterling Lane felt kind of like 10 Things I hate about you, which is a movie that I love. It was a really fun read, and I would love to see more from these characters. Why I Loathe Sterling Lane is a standalone novel, but I really want to see a second book, maybe when Harper and Sterling are in college. That would be a lot of fun.Why I Loathe Sterling Lane is the story of Harper and Sterling. It is told from Harper's point of view. Harper lives her life by a crazy, and rigid set of rules. Sterling Lane comes blowing into her life and throws all of her rules into chaos. I got a total kick out of Harper and Sterling. They were so similar it was kind of scary. I liked that they recognized that in one another as well. One of my favorite parts of the book was when Sterling turns to Harper after she just executed her revenge prank, and instead of getting mad he said, well I'm surprised. I had no idea we would be friends. It just cracked me up because they totally loved riling each other up, and watching them admit that to themselves was great. There were a couple of things that irked me about the book. The first was the cover model. I love the cover of Why I Loathe Sterling Lane, but the young lady did not match the description of Harper and that bugged me. Harper is supposed to have very short choppy dark hair and green eyes. The girl on the cover has medium brown long and brown eyes. I just wished the cover artist did a better job matching, but other than that the cover is beautiful. It is very much a style that I love. The second thing was as much as I loved the enemy portion of Harper and Sterling's relationship, I really wanted to see more of the romance. The romance that was included was great but it was smashed into the end of the book. I want more. Like I said earlier, I really want another book now that Sterling and Harper have realized that they like one another. I think with the two of them, it would be so much fun. Harper is a good sister. Sure, she is crazy and uptight, but she really cares about her brother and she would clearly do anything for him. Harper got such a bad rep in the book for being crazy, and while she did have her tendencies and she certainly went way too far a time or two, I think she was misunderstood. I really liked her, and I wished that her brother was a little better to her in the start of the story. She was constantly on his side, and it seemed like he was quick to see the worst in Harper and that bummed me out. But their dynamic got a lot better as the story went on and we got to see just how deep the stuff her brother was involved in. Then everything made a lot more sense. Bottom line: Why I Loathe Sterling Lane was a fun, antics and prank filled enemies romance that I stayed up late into the night to finish. I really enjoyed this one. It was a little over the top at times, but it was always a lot of fun. There was a great romance thrown in but it doesn't develop until pretty late in the story, so just hang on and wait for it. I would love to see another book in the series featuring Harper and Sterling. They are truly a perfect match. This review was originally posted on Book Briefs
    more
  • Deniz
    June 1, 2017
    Great cute & fluffy that hits all the high school hate to love notes. Why I Loathe Sterling Lane reminded me of some of my favorite teen movies. In the best way possible. I really enjoyed reading it. But and there is always a but, it reminded me of teen movies. A lot. So while it is possibly not the most innovative, it does have quite a bit of cliche in there after all, it is however very entertaining. I really enjoyed reading it. In fact so much so that I read it in practically one sitting. Great cute & fluffy that hits all the high school hate to love notes. Why I Loathe Sterling Lane reminded me of some of my favorite teen movies. In the best way possible. I really enjoyed reading it. But and there is always a but, it reminded me of teen movies. A lot. So while it is possibly not the most innovative, it does have quite a bit of cliche in there after all, it is however very entertaining. I really enjoyed reading it. In fact so much so that I read it in practically one sitting. Which seems a rather rare thing for me these days. This is mainly due to the fun plot but also because of the great and witty writing of Paulson. I loved her humor and this had me chuckling to myself on several occasions. The character building was at the beginning rather expected. So quite typecast. But as the book went on we got more layers to MCs and the support cast. I ended up really liking the crew. I should mention that this is told from POV view. And she was beyond judgmental and put everyone into a box in the beginning. But she does end up seeing different sides to herself and the others, she does significant character growth during the course of the book, which is why I ended up liking her a lot. But even when I felt she was full of it, I could relate. Her insecurities were relatable. I just couldn't relate to her rigidity and her overzealousness. I mean I am Mrs. procrastination after all... writing outlines before a class? Has never and will never happen. My biggest issue with the character building however, was that they felt much older not like 17year old kids... Even their pranks ect. They just didn't seem high schoolers, they felt like last year in college . It is a minor thing I know. Why I loathe Sterling Lane was fun, cute, adorable and everything else I want from a cute & fluffy. A must read!
    more
  • Laura
    June 4, 2017
    This is an awesome story for anyone who loves YA books!!Harper is a Type A rule follower. She has over 500 rules that she follows for how to live her life, has the student handbook of her boarding school memorized, and is quick to point out the infractions of any of her fellow classmates. Needless to say, Harper doesn't really have any friends with the exception of her twin brother, Cole. When Sterling Lane strolls in to Harper's favorite class, late!!, and is disruptive, she starts a list of al This is an awesome story for anyone who loves YA books!!Harper is a Type A rule follower. She has over 500 rules that she follows for how to live her life, has the student handbook of her boarding school memorized, and is quick to point out the infractions of any of her fellow classmates. Needless to say, Harper doesn't really have any friends with the exception of her twin brother, Cole. When Sterling Lane strolls in to Harper's favorite class, late!!, and is disruptive, she starts a list of all the reasons she hates him. By the time the book is over, there's almost 30 of them. Sterling is a classic bad-boy rule breaker. He couldn't be more opposite from Harper if he tried. But when Cole gets into some trouble, Harper and Sterling have to work together to help him and along the way, they learn that they aren't as different as they seem. This story was adorable and once I started it, I couldn't put it down. I loved how Harper stayed true to herself but was also able to open up to others and finally make some friends. This was my first book by this author but I'll definitely be reading more by her in the future!!*This is my voluntary review of an advanced reader copy*
    more
  • Jessica Fether
    July 1, 2017
    Much better than I expected!
  • Caitlyn
    June 5, 2017
    Two teens at boarding school, duking it out over pranks (and kisses), with a huge scheme in the works? Yes, please.
  • C.J. Butcher
    April 26, 2017
    Per her 537 rules, Harper Campbell keeps her life tidy—academically and socially. But the moment Sterling Lane transfers into her tiny boarding school, her twin brother gets swept up in Sterling’s pranks and schemes and nearly gets expelled. Harper knows it’s Sterling’s fault, and to protect her brother, she vows to take him down. As she exposes his endless school violations, he keeps striking back, framing her for his own infractions. Worst of all, he’s charmed the administration into thinking Per her 537 rules, Harper Campbell keeps her life tidy—academically and socially. But the moment Sterling Lane transfers into her tiny boarding school, her twin brother gets swept up in Sterling’s pranks and schemes and nearly gets expelled. Harper knows it’s Sterling’s fault, and to protect her brother, she vows to take him down. As she exposes his endless school violations, he keeps striking back, framing her for his own infractions. Worst of all, he’s charmed the administration into thinking he’s harmless, and only Harper sees him for the troublemaker he absolutely is.As she breaks rule after precious rule in her battle of wits against Sterling and tension between them hits a boiling point, she’s horrified to discover that perhaps the two of them aren’t so different. And maybe she doesn't entirely hate him after all. Teaming up with Sterling to save her brother might be the only way to keep from breaking the most important rule—protecting Cole.What I really love about books like this is that at the end the hero has a story that shows he has redemptive qualities. I love Sterling and I might be in the minority, but I found him endearing. He reminded me of a friend I grew up with. That kid that always tugged your pigtails and yet picked relentlessly on you and then fell in love with Harper. Oh, Harper, you're a mess!! You need to throw your rules away girl!! Just let go of your 537 rules and let your hair down some. You probably have a rule that helps you pee. That's how rule focused you are. I know girls like this. When Harper starts to loosen up and give Sterling back some of what he's dishing out...I wanted to cheer. They are both a breath of fresh air. I found a couple editing issues but the truth is - it just didn't detract me enough to go...subtract a star - sure. I thought that the content was enough that it made up for it. The heat between these two was off the charts, but the sexual content was minimal. I thought it would be appropriate for 18 and over ages and maybe even 16. Well done and I would definitely read anything else by this author!!I was given a copy of this ARC from the publisher on NetGalley for an honest review. All of the above comments are my express opinions and no one else's.
    more
  • Jen Malone
    May 8, 2017
    Youuuuuuuu guuuuuuuuuuys!!!!! THIS BOOK! It's basically The Hating Game for teens and equally un-put-downable and addicting and happy-making. It's the Paris Geller/Tristan Dugray (definitely had to Google that last name-did Gilmore Girls never mention it?) ship I never knew I needed in my life like whoa. I can't wait to re-read this and I don't often say that. Apparently hate to love books are my jam:)
    more
  • Melissa (YA Book Shelf)
    May 9, 2017
    Perfect for fans who love hate to love, especially for Gilmore Girls fans - looking at Paris here - and bad boys, like Ferris Bueller.
  • Eri (Airy Reads)
    March 20, 2017
    This review is also posted on my blog as part of the blog tour and you can currently enter the giveaway <3.This book has been pitched as a Paris Gellar contemporary YA romance and I couldn't agree more. It's a love-hate rivals romance with a prank war and a frustratingly attractive boy who sparks with the heroine, who's type A and driven. The premise of this book isn't really out there or new, which initially made me wary until I picked up this book and was surprised by how quickly I became i This review is also posted on my blog as part of the blog tour and you can currently enter the giveaway <3.This book has been pitched as a Paris Gellar contemporary YA romance and I couldn't agree more. It's a love-hate rivals romance with a prank war and a frustratingly attractive boy who sparks with the heroine, who's type A and driven. The premise of this book isn't really out there or new, which initially made me wary until I picked up this book and was surprised by how quickly I became invested. Harper is a rather prickly heroine, with her rigid rules and single-minded devotion, but her love for her brother is one of her soft spots. Sterling Lane, the new kid in school, poses a threat in her opinion, and it kicks off some devious pranks that I quite enjoyed. The pranks were an aspect that was fun and daring to read and imagine, as I was impressed by the ingenuity both Harper and Sterling showed when it came to besting each other. They were clever and fun, while being realistic, and I will say I almost dropped my jaw in admiration at a few of them. Something I've always found annoying in these types of stories is when the heroine is too intent on destroying her rival that she crosses a line, but is never called out. Why I Loathe Sterling Lane manages to avoid this, and I loved how Sterling is a worthy opponent in that he gives as good as he takes from Harper. Of course, one of my favorite aspects is the romance. Harper and Sterling have chemistry from the start, but the banter they had was sharp and witty, perfect for antagonistic relationship they shared. Sterling is a charming and arrogant, but it melds well with Harper's self-righteous and earnest nature. Despite his devil care nature, I was pleased by how insightful Sterling was when it came to Harper, and seeing Harper come to terms with that was wonderful. They both crackle around each other, and I can just imagine them getting fired up whenever they either argue or make out haha. "The two of you are just--bizarrely, diametrically opposite, but that makes you fit together somehow." Overall if you're looking for a satisfying contemporary YA romance with a love-hate dynamic, Why I Loathe Sterling Lane is sure to please.
    more
  • Dísir
    March 22, 2017
    This is one of the oddest, most entertaining and weird books I’ve read in a long, long while. There’s the stilted speech of English boarding schools (the kids sound like uptight lawyers-in-training with sticks up their arses) and good ol’ teenage pranks wrapped up in the scheming of Cruel Intentions, the cold malice of mafia movies and the calculative manoeuvrings of some spy shows. But you know what they say about hate being the other side of the coin of love. At least I think it is, because I This is one of the oddest, most entertaining and weird books I’ve read in a long, long while. There’s the stilted speech of English boarding schools (the kids sound like uptight lawyers-in-training with sticks up their arses) and good ol’ teenage pranks wrapped up in the scheming of Cruel Intentions, the cold malice of mafia movies and the calculative manoeuvrings of some spy shows. But you know what they say about hate being the other side of the coin of love. At least I think it is, because I couldn’t quite be sure by the time I finished the book when denial and doublespeak hadn’t quite let down yet. Written wholly in Harper’s POV, I couldn’t decide where she was the judgemental, self-righteous, rule-following shrew or whether Sterling was truly the devil’s spawn wrapped up in sheep clothing. And without Sterling’s POV, he never quite appeared more than a shady character whose personality way surpassed his rich-kid stereotype who sort of decided that he could be more serious about his future post-boarding school. The book really begins with a ‘mortal enemies’ type of situation, where rule-follower (and breaker) Harper is determined to take down the rich, spoiled lazy kid whose schemes actually match hers for deviousness. Attraction only creeps in way, way later and their ‘relationship’ is barely formed when the book finally ends. I had a few good laughs though (the pranks *were* hilarious), despite my bewilderment at the tone, the setup and the characterisation and perhaps, the story's prominence simply lies in how much it differs from the typical NA/YA books that have sailed by as ships passing in the night. *ARC by netgalley(always grateful, mind)
    more
  • Jessie
    March 24, 2017
    ***I received an ARC through Netgalley***4.5 stars.I really did not like the main character in the beginning. She annoyed the crap out of me, just making really bad choices. Let me put it this way, it was like she was playing poker and everytime she got a decent hand she would say "Oh, there's no way you'll beat me!" and flash them her hand so they all end up folding and she gets nowhere. That's what this reminded me of. She does get better, she loosens up and I found her a lot more relatable af ***I received an ARC through Netgalley***4.5 stars.I really did not like the main character in the beginning. She annoyed the crap out of me, just making really bad choices. Let me put it this way, it was like she was playing poker and everytime she got a decent hand she would say "Oh, there's no way you'll beat me!" and flash them her hand so they all end up folding and she gets nowhere. That's what this reminded me of. She does get better, she loosens up and I found her a lot more relatable after she stopped doing that. I really loved Sterling. I especially loved his chemistry with Harper. A lot of the times chemistry in a love hate relationship can feel a bit forced, but here it seemed very natural. I loved Kendall. She was this pretty popular rich girl, but she wasn't a complete stereotype. Typically, she would have been vapid and mean. While she was a tiny bit vapid, she did have a personality. With hopes and dreams and aspirations, so not very vapid.I enjoyed the sibling relationship between Cole and Harper. I liked how they looked out for each other. Whenever I read a book with siblings that are boys and girls, I feel like it's almost always the boy who is constantly being over protective of the girl, that was flipped in this book. I enjoyed that. Overall, I think this book was well written and completely enjoyable. I'm definitely going to be reading more of this authors works.
    more
Write a review