Song of the Current (Song of the Current #1)
Caroline Oresteia is destined for the river. For generations, her family has been called by the river god, who has guided their wherries on countless voyages throughout the Riverlands. At seventeen, Caro has spent years listening to the water, ready to meet her fate. But the river god hasn’t spoken her name yet—and if he hasn’t by now, there’s a chance he never will.Caro decides to take her future into her own hands when her father is arrested for refusing to transport a mysterious crate. By agreeing to deliver it in exchange for his release, Caro finds herself caught in a web of politics and lies, with dangerous pirates after the cargo—an arrogant courier with a secret—and without the river god to help her. With so much at stake, Caro must choose between the life she always wanted and the one she never could have imagined for herself.From debut author Sarah Tolcser comes an immersive and romantic fantasy set along the waterways of a magical world with a headstrong heroine determined to make her mark.

Song of the Current (Song of the Current #1) Details

TitleSong of the Current (Song of the Current #1)
Author
FormatHardcover
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJun 6th, 2017
PublisherBloomsbury Childrens Books
ISBN1681192977
ISBN-139781681192970
Number of pages373 pages
Rating
GenreFantasy, Young Adult

Song of the Current (Song of the Current #1) Review

  • Brittney ~ Her Bookish Things
    May 28, 2017
    Man this is a tough one. I adored the story and there was so much potential, but the writing was so difficult to wade through that the plot was a bit lost on me. The first 10% or so was very meh - so much sailor lingo and I honestly had no clue what was going on for the first several pages. For those of you who would rather know what is going on at first... Caro is sailing with her father on her wherry (which is basically their home- they live on the river) and when they arrive at Hespera's Watc Man this is a tough one. I adored the story and there was so much potential, but the writing was so difficult to wade through that the plot was a bit lost on me. The first 10% or so was very meh - so much sailor lingo and I honestly had no clue what was going on for the first several pages. For those of you who would rather know what is going on at first... Caro is sailing with her father on her wherry (which is basically their home- they live on the river) and when they arrive at Hespera's Watch (I think it is..), they see boats on fire and a bunch of crap. Long story short, they get arrested and the dock master dude (i think) basically throws Caro's father in prison and tells Caro the only way she can help him is to deliver a crate for them. Caro realizes that whatever is in the crate is the reason the port city was attacked, but she agrees for her father. Thus the story begins. Caro is told to never open the crate -under and circumstances. So what does she do? She opens the crate. And THAT is where the story got good. I won't spoil what is in it, but that's where I legit got excited.Anyway, I'd rather not touch on what happens after the first 12% or so aside from saying it had its ups and downs. Some bits were SO FUN and I couldn't put the book down for pages at a time. Other parts were SOOOOO slow and I dreaded picking the book back up again.So that brings me back to the writing. The thing is - it was lovely but oh my gosh frustrating at the same time. I kid you not, literally half this book was describing Caro's actions on how she's sailing the ship. If you don't know anything about boats/ships/wherrys, you won't understand a darn thing thats happening. I was totally confused. In some books, I get excited to look up the terms, but for this one, UGH there was just way too much. It was so frustrating. I'm glad the author did all that research, and I have no doubts that it was totally accurate, but it was seriously overkill. If you took out all that crap, this book would have perfect pacing. I'm not even joking. And that's the thing - I adored all the characters. Caro was fine, but ahhh.... Tarquin was definitely my favorite for obvious reasons. I loved his personality and was hooked on him from the beginning. I was also super intrigued by Caro's mother. I loved the world and the dynamics/politics, but it was a little difficult to follow at times because of all these new terms thrown at us. Anyway, I still totally recommend this book and I have a lot of respect for the author. Seriously, the plot really is fun and worth a try. Just go in with the right expectations maybe? My Blog ~ Instagram ~ Twitter ~ Etsy
    more
  • Cait • A Page with a View
    May 30, 2017
    This one's hard to rate because I LOVE ships and finding girl characters who go off on pirate adventures. And there were a ton of elements of this world that I loved, like the shadowmen, hints of magic, and harbor towns. So I so recommend it!!Caroline's father is arrested for smuggling, so she signs a contract with the soldiers saying she'll transport a box for them in exchange for her father's eventual freedom. Caro's ancestors were all badass smugglers or excellent sailors, so she's following This one's hard to rate because I LOVE ships and finding girl characters who go off on pirate adventures. And there were a ton of elements of this world that I loved, like the shadowmen, hints of magic, and harbor towns. So I so recommend it!!Caroline's father is arrested for smuggling, so she signs a contract with the soldiers saying she'll transport a box for them in exchange for her father's eventual freedom. Caro's ancestors were all badass smugglers or excellent sailors, so she's following in their footsteps. She's told not to look into the box, but she does... and it contains a boy around her age. In the end I neither liked nor disliked the love interest. I just rolled with that part of the story. But I did like Caro! She was sassy & tough and seemed like a much younger Lila Bard if that makes sense. But there was just something about the story that really didn't draw me in... I kept reading because certain elements were super interesting, but I was honestly a bit bored throughout. The whole story is FINE, though, and there's nothing wrong with it... it just wasn't particularly engaging for me. But I do love ships and anything to do with sailing! Caro has a wherry, which is more of a tiny boat (and referred to as a "wooden bucket"). So my enthusiasm still remains:Thank you to the publisher for sending me an ARC.
    more
  • Chelsea Humphrey
    April 4, 2017
    Oh man. Just got my hands on this one and I am PSYCHED to read it. Clearly I'm on a pirate kick, and if that makes me wrong then I don't want to be right.
  • Shauna (b00kstorebabe)
    March 26, 2017
    I have the biggest grin on my face from finishing this book. It's 1:00am and I did that thing where I couldn't sleep until I finished the book but my basic thoughts are 1. I love girls on ships!!!!2. The writing was a bit clunky at times, but the talent is there and ready for refinement3. It took a looong time for me to warm up to the LI, which made it a little frustrating. 4. I love the world building so much!!!! It's unique yet familiar, complex without being confusing, and exciting!5. I NEED I have the biggest grin on my face from finishing this book. It's 1:00am and I did that thing where I couldn't sleep until I finished the book but my basic thoughts are 1. I love girls on ships!!!!2. The writing was a bit clunky at times, but the talent is there and ready for refinement3. It took a looong time for me to warm up to the LI, which made it a little frustrating. 4. I love the world building so much!!!! It's unique yet familiar, complex without being confusing, and exciting!5. I NEED MORE LADY PIRATESThis one is definitely worth it. I'll write more eloquent thoughts once I've slept.
    more
  • Gillian
    March 1, 2017
    SO I TOTALLY COMPLETELY FULLY ENJOYED THAT. It's far tooearly for a full review, but I was in a mini slump and this just swooped in and saved me with its pirates and riverboats and bickering and fiesty-ness and fun-ness. That was just a good old fashioned GREAT FUN READ.
    more
  • Stacee
    May 20, 2017
    3 stars might be too high...I had seen a lot of buzz around this book and I was pretty excited to finally get to it. Sadly, I was a bit disappointed. I liked Caro well enough. She's strong and sassy and can take care of herself. There is an interesting group of characters here and I don't want to say anything and ruin the perception of them. I will say that the banter between Caro and one person in particular was amusing and most of the reason I kept reading. Plotwise, it felt like a lot of thin 3 stars might be too high...I had seen a lot of buzz around this book and I was pretty excited to finally get to it. Sadly, I was a bit disappointed. I liked Caro well enough. She's strong and sassy and can take care of herself. There is an interesting group of characters here and I don't want to say anything and ruin the perception of them. I will say that the banter between Caro and one person in particular was amusing and most of the reason I kept reading. Plotwise, it felt like a lot of things mashed together and for me, they didn't really fit. I found myself bored most of the time and yet I kept reading. By the high reviews that are already here, I'm in the minority. Overall, there was something that kept me going, but I couldn't tell you what it was, as it was lacking a bit of a spark that I was expecting. I don't know if I will read the next one. **Huge thanks to Bloomsbury for providing the arc free of charge**
    more
  • Lisa
    March 10, 2017
    This book has everything I love: quests, mystery, emotional journeys, romance and kicking butt action. This is the pirate book to read this year!
  • Laurie
    October 24, 2016
    Get ready for 2017s best YA fantasy sailing adventure! SONG OF THE CURRENT is the story of how bold 17 y.o. Caro becomes captain of her very own pirate ship. Author Tolcser spent years as a sailing instructor and her infectious love of all things nautical absolutely sparkles off these pages. I had all sorts of fun being whisked along into her fantasy world with clever, likeable Cara and a colorful cast of characters that includes Caro’s seamerchant mother and wherryman father (who hilariously ar Get ready for 2017s best YA fantasy sailing adventure! SONG OF THE CURRENT is the story of how bold 17 y.o. Caro becomes captain of her very own pirate ship. Author Tolcser spent years as a sailing instructor and her infectious love of all things nautical absolutely sparkles off these pages. I had all sorts of fun being whisked along into her fantasy world with clever, likeable Cara and a colorful cast of characters that includes Caro’s seamerchant mother and wherryman father (who hilariously argue about whether Caro is truly ready to have her own pirate ship to bring to war) as well as my personal favorite – Fee (who is a frogperson). This book has everything a reader could want in a sailing adventure – pirate battles, a high-stakes ship chase, gorgeous vistas, SEA MONSTER, delightfully witty banter and a delicious romance (with a charming, arrogant, irritating, humorous love interest - note to author: NICE chemistry ;) ). I’m sure many future readers will want to join me as I raise a glass to toast this rousing celebration of female independence, swashbuckling adventure and pure love of the sea (AND SEAMONSTER!) #TeamFee
    more
  • Anya
    March 6, 2017
    Wow. Seriously, wow. River gods and female pirates, sorry privateers, and hate to love romance that worked SO WELL. And enthusiastically consensual teen sex (fade to black) where the guy keeps checking as things get going! And a world where women are still at a disadvantage but several women don't let that stop them including Caro's mom! Oh and Caro is a red head with dark skin and tightly curled hair who is repeatedly shown she is beautiful and deserves to be cherished. Omg!!!!!!!!! Also drakon Wow. Seriously, wow. River gods and female pirates, sorry privateers, and hate to love romance that worked SO WELL. And enthusiastically consensual teen sex (fade to black) where the guy keeps checking as things get going! And a world where women are still at a disadvantage but several women don't let that stop them including Caro's mom! Oh and Caro is a red head with dark skin and tightly curled hair who is repeatedly shown she is beautiful and deserves to be cherished. Omg!!!!!!!!! Also drakon, the best drakon.
    more
  • Miranda (MrsLeif's Two Fangs About It)
    May 27, 2017
    Song of the Current was such a surprisingly delightful read. This book pulled me in right from the beginning, and I didn't want to put the book down! There were some slower portions of this book, but it was entertaining as a whole. There were so many fun elements to this story. The Song of the Current had pirates, humor, flirty banter, action, adventure, mythology, and some fantastic kissing scenes. Some parts of the book felt a little slow and clunky, which caused me to lose some interest, but Song of the Current was such a surprisingly delightful read. This book pulled me in right from the beginning, and I didn't want to put the book down! There were some slower portions of this book, but it was entertaining as a whole. There were so many fun elements to this story. The Song of the Current had pirates, humor, flirty banter, action, adventure, mythology, and some fantastic kissing scenes. Some parts of the book felt a little slow and clunky, which caused me to lose some interest, but the author would then introduce something fun and exciting to grab my attention again. Some of the storylines were predictable, but I liked that the author also included some twists that I didn't see come. There was some romance in this book, and I thought it was fantastic. The author did a great job at creating a delicious romance that was believably paced and that never took over the plot of the novel. The romance made me smile and feel all the feels. The main character, Caro, was such a spunky and badass character. I loved how she didn't let anyone or anything get in the way of her and her goals. Caro was rough around the edges but in the best way possible. Her thorny exterior resulted in some hilarious banter and jabs, and I loved how sweet and considerate she could underneath that tough exterior. Her bravery and loyalty were just some of the things about her that I admired greatly.There were some great side characters that I became extremely attached to. There was one male character in particular that I simply adored. He started off as an entitled ass-hat, but as the book progressed, he became more and more lovable. He turned out to be such a smart, caring, and loyal character. His sassy quips and flirty lines made me fall head-over-heels in love with him. He made me laugh out loud and swoon more times than I can count. Overall, this was an exhilarating, delightful, and charming book. If you want a YA novel filled with badass pirates, witty banter, swashbuckling action, fantastic characters, and a steamy romance, then this is the book for you! 4 / 5 Fangs *This ebook was given to me in exchange for an honest review. * MrsLeif's Two Fangs About ItFacebookTwitter
    more
  • Bekah AwesomeBookNut
    May 31, 2017
    Full review to come...
  • Cookie
    April 5, 2017
    This was fantastic.
  • Helena & Rebeca❤️Loveable,Sassy and Nerdy
    February 23, 2017
    Consider me struck, charmed, fascinated, and thrilled by this story. This is a book that will have you captivated from the very first pages. The beginning of the story was at a moderate pace, but it was in an interesting, absorbing, engaging and exciting way.I really admired that this author was able to keep me speculating and invested in these impressive characters and story. The the main character was a delight and refreshing character. She’s a 17-year-old that’s energetic, powerful and would Consider me struck, charmed, fascinated, and thrilled by this story. This is a book that will have you captivated from the very first pages. The beginning of the story was at a moderate pace, but it was in an interesting, absorbing, engaging and exciting way.I really admired that this author was able to keep me speculating and invested in these impressive characters and story. The the main character was a delight and refreshing character. She’s a 17-year-old that’s energetic, powerful and would do anything to save her family. My students loved every part of this epic story. It's an excellent fantasy, filled with action. Where a strong girl kicks pirates butts along with following her heart.There is a light-hearted romance that was marvelous. But that doesn’t take away from the story.Song of the Current is full of action packed scenes, to epic twists that you never saw coming. This story will keep you at the edge of your seat, throughout the whole story. Like one of my students said, “ That was freaking cool!”If you haven’t read or heard of this book yet, then you should definitely amend that. ASAP!! Because trust me, you don’t want to miss the awesomeness of Song of the Current. This book was satisfying, remarkable, with some witty bantering and two main characters that you could not possibly not love. Overall, I really enjoyed this story. My students and I were left expecting more but we were satisfied with the ending. An ending that definitely has the potential for a kick-ass sequel. We need a spin-off or a continuation, something, anything! *hint-hint*Basically, READ THIS BOOK!! Twitter reacting
    more
  • Christina
    August 1, 2016
    Five hundred stars. I could only put Song of the Current down for sleep and a pre-existing commitment I couldn't get out of. The action is perfectly-paced and the writing is descriptive yet concise, framing the story while giving me lots of time with the compelling characters. Best of all is Caro, a hero I wish I had known as a teen. She's smart, self-sufficient, funny, and relatable; I rooted for her all the way. When I finished the book, I spent the next several days wanting to swashbuckle aro Five hundred stars. I could only put Song of the Current down for sleep and a pre-existing commitment I couldn't get out of. The action is perfectly-paced and the writing is descriptive yet concise, framing the story while giving me lots of time with the compelling characters. Best of all is Caro, a hero I wish I had known as a teen. She's smart, self-sufficient, funny, and relatable; I rooted for her all the way. When I finished the book, I spent the next several days wanting to swashbuckle around my apartment. Here's hoping for a sequel.
    more
  • Emily
    November 9, 2016
    What a great debut fantasy! Loved the strong female protagonist, the system of rivers and gods, and the wonderful set of supporting characters. Full of adventure, and as a bonus, I learned a lot about boats!
  • Brittany (Brittany's Book Rambles)
    March 27, 2017
    Read my full review of Song of the CurrentA swashbuckling tale for lovers of The Girl from Everywhere, this book has everything you could possibly want. With pirates, sword fights, and even river and sea gods, this plot-driven book is utterly brimming with adventure and mystery. I really identified with the main character, Caroline's, feeling of not belonging, as well as with her struggle to find her place in the world. Her story is truly compelling, and I adore her individuality and need for in Read my full review of Song of the CurrentA swashbuckling tale for lovers of The Girl from Everywhere, this book has everything you could possibly want. With pirates, sword fights, and even river and sea gods, this plot-driven book is utterly brimming with adventure and mystery. I really identified with the main character, Caroline's, feeling of not belonging, as well as with her struggle to find her place in the world. Her story is truly compelling, and I adore her individuality and need for independence.I'm a huge fan of romance and tend to prefer books with more of it. However, I loved this book, despite the fact that the romance was on the back-burner—so that says a lot! I was utterly immersed in Caroline's journey, the amazing mythological details of the story, and all of the fantastic characters! Overall, Song of the Current is a wonderfully fun and fast-paced read that I thoroughly enjoyed.
    more
  • Julie (*Happily Ever Chapter*)
    May 22, 2017
    This is Sarah Tolcser's debut YA novel, and I have to say that I was pleasantly surprised by how much I loved this book. I feel like a lot of the YA titles that I've read recently have been letting me down, but this one didn't disappoint at all. I couldn't put it down and I ended up reading it all in one sitting. I NEEDED to know what was going to happen.Song of the Current has a little bit of everything: adventure, and enemies-to-lovers romance, witty banter, a sea creature, some twists and tur This is Sarah Tolcser's debut YA novel, and I have to say that I was pleasantly surprised by how much I loved this book. I feel like a lot of the YA titles that I've read recently have been letting me down, but this one didn't disappoint at all. I couldn't put it down and I ended up reading it all in one sitting. I NEEDED to know what was going to happen.Song of the Current has a little bit of everything: adventure, and enemies-to-lovers romance, witty banter, a sea creature, some twists and turns, and PIRATES. Yeah, I love pirates. lol! I don't want to give too much away about the plot, so I will leave it at that.I really enjoyed each of the characters. They all had their unique personalities. Caro is a great main character. I ended up really loving her. She is tough and sassy and doesn't make any excuses for the way she is. The male MC of the book comes off as an entitled jerk at first but we learn that looks can be deceiving. Caro's parents were also really interesting characters. I loved Fee! She is a frogperson who is basically Caro's first mate. She is a person of few words but I still really enjoyed her character. I can't wait to see more of these characters in the next book.I loved the budding romance between the two MCs. They start out as enemies and REALLY get on each other's nerves. I loved the banter between the two of them. They were always pushing each other's buttons. Since this is a young adult book I should mention that there is a "sex scene" in this one but it is more of a fade to black scene and is not overly descriptive.I took off a star only because I felt as if the last little part of the story had strange pacing and I felt as if things were left up in the air, which it's the first book in the series, so I probably should have expected that. I thought it ended up feeling a little directionless at the end....if that makes sense? That being said, I will definitely be picking up the next book in the series because I loved the world and characters that Sarah Tolcser created. I'm not ready to say goodbye to them yet.*I received an ARC of this title via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. All opinions are my own. *
    more
  • Gaby
    April 26, 2017
    That was enjoyable. Not sure I'll read book 2, but fun.
  • Heather
    March 14, 2017
    “Now I see.” His voice dropped low. “You respect people who take care of other people. People who are bold. And brave. I couldn’t figure it out at first. Why you thought more of common wherrymen than you did of me. You respect people because of the things they do. You were different from everyone I’d ever met. You knew what I did not – that it’s the things we do that make us who we are.”Oh thank goodness, this was exactly what I’d been hoping for and more. The original, feminist fantasy I’ve bee “Now I see.” His voice dropped low. “You respect people who take care of other people. People who are bold. And brave. I couldn’t figure it out at first. Why you thought more of common wherrymen than you did of me. You respect people because of the things they do. You were different from everyone I’d ever met. You knew what I did not – that it’s the things we do that make us who we are.”Oh thank goodness, this was exactly what I’d been hoping for and more. The original, feminist fantasy I’ve been craving. It has everything I love: a totally fresh new world with original gods and just a touch of magic. Things I especially loved: A river god that speaks in the “language of small things” to the wherrymen who work and live on the rivers; they call him the Old Man so as not to speak his name. (SO COOL.) Royal intrigue - though I assume we’ll spend more time on this in later book(s), as Caro, our MC, works a wherry in the riverlands with her father and thus is pretty far removed from the politics of these other countries. Frogmen who are literally...frog men. Completely three-dimensional, real characters, different than I’m used to seeing in fiction, who have faults and grow and change and mature throughout the book. A heroine that is both smart and capable, who is brave and loyal to her people, and loves her family, despite their faults. A boy who apologizes for making a move on the heroine when he mistakenly thought she was receptive, and then makes sure to ask for consent (multiple times) in the future. Places called Hespera’s Watch and Heron Water and Amassia That Was Lost. Beautiful, descriptive language. A world we haven’t all read about a dozen times before, and it feels real and alive and breathing – you can smell the water and hear the birds and the river lapping at the banks. A culture of people who stick together and defend each other from all comers, and just make your heart swell with love for how good people can really be. It was a delightful romp that was exciting, exhilarating, mysterious, and funny - plus a little romantic. Also, the two main characters? Are adorable. Their bickering was my favorite. Every line sparkles – especially the dialogue. I’d started noting quotes I liked and realized I had to stop because it was just about the whole book. Some favorite bits:He shook his head. “You have so many opinions about things.”“Thank you,” I said, though I suspected it hadn’t been a compliment.“So a privateer is a pirate with a letter?” She didn’t look impressed.Since she was more or less correct, I didn’t have anything to say to that.“Something inside all of us is always calling out to the world.” She shrugged. “That’s what magic is: when something in the world calls back.”He gave me a half smile. “You think you can do just about anything, don’t you?”If I did, it was only right. I was descended from blockade runners and explorers. Boldness was twice in my blood. I felt it singing through me as I stood on deck, the wind tangling my hair.Quotes are from advance copy of book, not yet checked against final edition.I loved it. I’d like ten more please. <3
    more
  • nick
    May 31, 2017
    This was so much fun. I loved it. I loved the characters. I loved the world. I loved the plot. And I definitely loved the romance. RTC
  • CR Daylex
    May 22, 2017
    I came for the badass female pirates and I was not disappointed. Thank you so much to the publisher for sending me an advanced. I'll be honest: Caro is probably my favourite protagonist of 2017 so far. She's just so clever and epic. I also loved her parents (who are both alive -- RARE FOR YA) who bickered constantly. Everyone in this world is so well fleshed out and multi-faceted. LOVE.
    more
  • Mic
    April 11, 2017
    What a delight! SONG OF THE CURRENT is an exciting story with great characters and world building that kills. The mythology is rich, the politics of wherrymen and emparchs vibrant, and there's a bit of magic. *sparkle sparkle*I loved Caro, the MC. She's a tough first mate, privateer, piiirate?, and captain. She's totally badass, but also likes dresses, and I was soooo happy to see a girl that doesn't shun 'weak girly things.' And she's not the only badass girl. There's her cousin, and a fellow w What a delight! SONG OF THE CURRENT is an exciting story with great characters and world building that kills. The mythology is rich, the politics of wherrymen and emparchs vibrant, and there's a bit of magic. *sparkle sparkle*I loved Caro, the MC. She's a tough first mate, privateer, piiirate?, and captain. She's totally badass, but also likes dresses, and I was soooo happy to see a girl that doesn't shun 'weak girly things.' And she's not the only badass girl. There's her cousin, and a fellow wherrywoman. I liked how the narrative didn't center Caro as this special snowflake. There are others like her, and just... *slow clap* Let's say it louder for the people in the back: you can have multiple epic women and it doesn't take away from how great your MC is. You can have strong girls who also wear dresses. You can have strong girls that have sex. Could there have been more epic women? Could they have had a little more page time? Sure. But I feel like SONG OF THE CURRENT is a step towards fantasies that get it right. What it does, it certainly does right, to me. So I loved Caro. I loved her arc, how she goes from being confident in who she is and her plan for her life, to dealing with the insecurities she's been burying, and eventually embracing a new part of herself. As for the romance, awwww man, it was adoooorable! It's definitely a hate-to-love dynamic, and they both grow and change, and it's so much fun to watch. Caro's exasperation with his lack of sailing knowledge made my day. So often it's the girl who doesn't know what she's doing being taught by a hot guy, and here it was reversed. I feel like this book played with the reversal of traditional fairy tale narratives a lot. Like, Caro even rescues him from a TOWER. This is the kind of stuff I'm here for. Anyway, I shipped it, I loved it, and it was so much fun. This book has loads of great surprises! I won't talk about them because I want it to stay a seeecret! But read it :D SONG OF THE CURRENT is amazing.
    more
  • Kaitlyn
    March 27, 2017
    4.5 starsPirate-mayhem, magic, and mystery- Song of the Current brings readers on the journey of a girl who has lived her life on the water, and a boy who has secrets that threaten to unfold. Caroline Oresteia embarks on a dangerous adventure to prove her worth to her father, other wherrymen, and the river god, as she seals her fate. Caught in political intrigue and trouble with pirates, Caro learns more about herself, her skills, and her future to save those she loves. Join Caro as she escapes 4.5 starsPirate-mayhem, magic, and mystery- Song of the Current brings readers on the journey of a girl who has lived her life on the water, and a boy who has secrets that threaten to unfold. Caroline Oresteia embarks on a dangerous adventure to prove her worth to her father, other wherrymen, and the river god, as she seals her fate. Caught in political intrigue and trouble with pirates, Caro learns more about herself, her skills, and her future to save those she loves. Join Caro as she escapes danger, faces pirates, and protects her family, despite the costs she may face. This story is exciting and adventurous as readers embark on this journey themselves.
    more
  • Sarah
    July 30, 2016
    I beta-read an early version of this and it was amazing. Can't wait for it to be out in the wild in 2017!
  • Austine (NovelKnight)
    May 27, 2017
    Current carry you, my friend, because this book certainly will! I was so excited about Song of the Current and usually all that excitement tends to mean I absolutely love a book or it doesn’t meet my expectations. This happened to be the former (yay!) and I am SO ready for the next book in the series.Tolcser creates such an interesting world with the god at the bottom of the river, the frogmen, the wherries traveling the rivers beholden to no emparch or lord. It’s the story of the common people Current carry you, my friend, because this book certainly will! I was so excited about Song of the Current and usually all that excitement tends to mean I absolutely love a book or it doesn’t meet my expectations. This happened to be the former (yay!) and I am SO ready for the next book in the series.Tolcser creates such an interesting world with the god at the bottom of the river, the frogmen, the wherries traveling the rivers beholden to no emparch or lord. It’s the story of the common people with a destiny that cannot be escaped and that immediately stood out for me. There’s such a vibrancy to the writing, the way the characters talk, the different cultures of the people Caro meets along the trip. It’s rich, unique, and I devoured it.Caro is the perfect example of what I look for in a heroine. She’s strong and brave, but makes mistakes, gets flustered, knows a lot about some things but still has a lot to learn—she is a character who grows. In this book alone she’s not the same girl she started out as and I loved watching that transformation. She’s caring and devoted and if I had to pick a character to be in my corner, I’d want her.Not that Tarquin is anything to sneer at, quite the swordsman that one. Tolscer actually showed a great character arc for him too which I was really impressed by. He and Caro have to work together and it changes both of them ultimately for the better. Plus, their dynamic made for some pretty entertaining scenes (a bucket of water comes to mind…).I even liked their romance even though I saw it coming. While I don’t think it was necessary exactly, I totally want more. I love romance in my stories and this one was perfect, somewhat of an enemies-to-lovers deal but not rushed and also not childish. The characters are treated as both teens and adults in the decisions they make which I appreciated as a reader.The other characters that came and went throughout the book never suffered either. I felt like each received enough detail to give them life depending on how large of a role they played. There are definitely some side stories I can see coming out in the future, like Kenté’s (oh PLEASE give us her story!).Song of the Current is full of action and adventure that sang to my inner pirate lover (even if the main character isn't a pirate). Perfect for fans of the sea-driven  Daughter of the Pirate King and the beautifully written The Hundredth Queen . I don’t think I can recommend this book enough, and if you haven’t already, definitely get this one on your TBR and pre-ordered. It’s time to sail down the river in your own wherry!
    more
  • Maren
    May 28, 2017
    I received a copy of this book through NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.Wow! This book was definitely one of the most adventurous pirate stories I have ever read. I loved that Caro was such a strong female lead in a roll that is usually fulfilled by a male character. She was so fierce and spunky which made her really endearing. I also loved Fee, the frogman who worked for Caro and her father. When Caro and Fee set off on their journey, there were some heart pounding moments, along with I received a copy of this book through NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.Wow! This book was definitely one of the most adventurous pirate stories I have ever read. I loved that Caro was such a strong female lead in a roll that is usually fulfilled by a male character. She was so fierce and spunky which made her really endearing. I also loved Fee, the frogman who worked for Caro and her father. When Caro and Fee set off on their journey, there were some heart pounding moments, along with some comedic moments. The writing was fantastic and the world building was on point even though some of the names felt a little hard to pronounce. Overall this book was very enjoyable complete with thrilling adventures and lovable characters.
    more
  • K
    March 31, 2017
    I had a bit of trouble getting into this one at first, but I'm glad I hung in there because it was a really fun book with a unique world (well, the riverland culture was unique, the rest of the worlds were kind of vaguely and broadly sketched). I thought I was going to hate the romance — one boy, one girl, one boat, GEE I WONDER WHERE THIS IS GOING — especially since at one point he (view spoiler)[tries to kiss her without her permission to manipulate her into doing what he wants (oh, and becaus I had a bit of trouble getting into this one at first, but I'm glad I hung in there because it was a really fun book with a unique world (well, the riverland culture was unique, the rest of the worlds were kind of vaguely and broadly sketched). I thought I was going to hate the romance — one boy, one girl, one boat, GEE I WONDER WHERE THIS IS GOING — especially since at one point he (view spoiler)[tries to kiss her without her permission to manipulate her into doing what he wants (oh, and because he wanted to so that tooootally makes it okay), but I loved that they weren't making wild confessions of love by the end and even had one hell of a meta conversation in which they pointed out this is only natural because they were trapped on a boat together. (hide spoiler)] Which actually did wonders to win me over, since it was so much hormones.I loved the Bollards. So, soooo much. I want more of the Bollards everywhere always. Especially Caro's mother, because sometimes (view spoiler)[women just don't have any maternal instinct in them and realize that and thus leave their daughter in the hands of someone who CAN love and nurture them the way a mother should and (hide spoiler)] THAT'S OKAY. And I loved Kenté. I want to read a book about HER.
    more
  • Trin
    February 5, 2017
    From page one this book was like a refreshing glass of water. (So many potential current puns, my brain can't handle it.) I bitch a lot about books -- especially YA fantasy books -- that, despite being set in mystical lands, feel like they take place entirely inside a black-box theater. This book is, immediately and consistently, the exact opposite. You can see the landscape, smell the water, hear the wind through the reeds. Tolcser nails the atmosphere, and thanks primarily to that, I sailed (s From page one this book was like a refreshing glass of water. (So many potential current puns, my brain can't handle it.) I bitch a lot about books -- especially YA fantasy books -- that, despite being set in mystical lands, feel like they take place entirely inside a black-box theater. This book is, immediately and consistently, the exact opposite. You can see the landscape, smell the water, hear the wind through the reeds. Tolcser nails the atmosphere, and thanks primarily to that, I sailed (sorry) through this book in less than three days.Caro is also a terrific main character. Rather than being some random "chosen one," she has training and skills that absolutely justify why she is right for this adventure. She is complex and likable. The male MC, who I don't want to discuss too much for risk of spoilage, is precisely my usual type; oddly, given that, I didn't find myself falling for him quite so completely. I'm not sure the arc of his motivation is mapped out with as much clarity as it could have been. (Admittedly, we're in Caro's head, not his.) Similarly, there were a few other plot points that felt either over- or under-foreshadowed: Caro's cousin's secret, the deal with Caro's god... There were also aspects of the world-building that were a little too confusing (I never fully grasped the political conflict) or where I simply wanted more (the Frogmen!!!). I really hope there's a sequel, in part because this is a world and a group of characters worthy of further exploration, but mostly because Tolcser shows so much potential here. Song of the Current reminded me a little bit of Leigh Bardugo's more recent work -- and it took her like three and a half novels to reach the skill level she's now at. So yeah, I have high hopes here!
    more
  • Ryan Scott
    August 4, 2016
    Read an early version of this and loved it. Can't wait for the new version with all the changes!
  • Dani
    May 24, 2017
    Stunning cover. Ok, book. I was beyond thrilled when I realized this book was about pirates and smugglers. Unfortunately, the story failed to capture my attention. To be fair, after the 50% mark, things started getting more interesting, but a book should excite the reader as early as possible. And sadly, this wasn't the case. Such a pity. The writing was quite nice, however, the LI was extremely unlikable. I've read some other reviews, and apparently I am not alone on this. He was petty and arro Stunning cover. Ok, book. I was beyond thrilled when I realized this book was about pirates and smugglers. Unfortunately, the story failed to capture my attention. To be fair, after the 50% mark, things started getting more interesting, but a book should excite the reader as early as possible. And sadly, this wasn't the case. Such a pity. The writing was quite nice, however, the LI was extremely unlikable. I've read some other reviews, and apparently I am not alone on this. He was petty and arrogant. And although, Ayah was a though and fierce MC she falls for this condescending individual. Why you ask? I honestly can't understand. It wasn't a good pairing at all. I would never put these two together!! I absolutely loved some elements in this world - frog people, and shadowmen. However, for the most part, everything else was extremely confusing, and instead of engaging, it alienates you. Things I liked: Strong and Fierce women!! 👍🏼Will continue? No
    more
Write a review