According to a Source
We live in a society obsessed with celebrity, but have you ever wondered who is on the inside gathering the best celebrity gossip and how do they get access? According to a Source: A Novel by Abby Stern dishes on this behind the scenes world in a way that only a Hollywood insider could. Ella Warren works for celebrity news website, The Life, as a club reporter. She’s assigned to stake out Hollywood’s hottest clubs and spy on the celebrities inside. When Ella is pressured by her Devil Wears Prada-type boss to find an exclusive story to keep her job, she has to decide if being in Hollywood’s elite inner circle is worth jeopardizing her friendship with actress Holiday Hall, her budding romance with Holiday’s agent, and her family. A juicy, big-hearted novel about a young woman who loses herself in a fast-paced, glamorous world where finding your authentic self isn’t easy.

According to a Source Details

TitleAccording to a Source
Author
FormatHardcover
ReleaseMay 23rd, 2017
PublisherThomas Dunne Books
ISBN1250106796
ISBN-139781250106797
Number of pages304 pages
Rating
GenreWomens Fiction, Chick Lit, Contemporary, Fiction

According to a Source Review

  • Cindy Burnett
    January 15, 2017
    According to a Source is an entertaining, light read for those who love celebrity gossip and the lengths that people go to to obtain such stories. Abby Stern’s style of writing is hilarious, and she has names for all the various “types” of celebrities such as: “Romantic Comedy Actress Who’s Had Bad Luck With Men” and “Former A-List Hot Mess Actress”. However, while I thought I would love this book, I am really not interested in celebrity gossip and what it takes to obtain the gossip so in the en According to a Source is an entertaining, light read for those who love celebrity gossip and the lengths that people go to to obtain such stories. Abby Stern’s style of writing is hilarious, and she has names for all the various “types” of celebrities such as: “Romantic Comedy Actress Who’s Had Bad Luck With Men” and “Former A-List Hot Mess Actress”. However, while I thought I would love this book, I am really not interested in celebrity gossip and what it takes to obtain the gossip so in the end it was not the book for me. I think it will appeal to those who like reading about Hollywood drama, etc.Thanks to Thomas Dunne Books and NetGalley for the chance to read this in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  •  Martin
    May 22, 2017
    Life in the rag business sure is stressful for Ella when her new boss...http://sleaze-factor.blogspot.ca/2017...
  • Rebecca Lyman
    May 21, 2017
    I was provided a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest and fair review. This book tells the story of Ella Warren, an undercover freelance reporter for The Life, a gossip magazine. Ella's job involves her going to the hottest clubs and restaurants in Hollywood to search for a new scoop each night. This unfortunately takes her away from her boyfriend of seven years, Ethan. And then one night all of a sudden Ethan decides he's had enough. He moves out the next day and Ella is left adrift I was provided a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest and fair review. This book tells the story of Ella Warren, an undercover freelance reporter for The Life, a gossip magazine. Ella's job involves her going to the hottest clubs and restaurants in Hollywood to search for a new scoop each night. This unfortunately takes her away from her boyfriend of seven years, Ethan. And then one night all of a sudden Ethan decides he's had enough. He moves out the next day and Ella is left adrift. But between her heiress best friend Holiday and her college best friend Jessica, Ella manages to pull the pieces together and actually even finds a new boyfriend. Her new editor at the magazine though has started using a points system to decide who gets fired or not, and so Ella is under more pressure than ever to get the biggest and best scoop, no matter the cost. Overall I liked this book a lot. It reminded me a lot of the Gossip Girl books, which I loved as a teenager. The gossip about all the celebrities included code names instead of real names, which made sense because I think otherwise it would have been too hard to keep track of who was who with the celebrities. The pace of this book was great and there was a good amount of scandal and intrigue. There was also betrayal and romance and family drama. I can't imagine how anyone could have fit anything else into this book, it was bursting with interesting events. And while I liked it, there were pieces of it that I didn't love. I thought Ella was just too self-absorbed for my tastes. Even after she turned things around at the end she still seemed a little too all about her. Other than that though I really liked the book and I would recommend it.
    more
  • Laura
    May 5, 2017
    Overall, I loved this book. It was fast-paced, and while Ella wasn't super sympathetic early on, she was interesting enough to keep me engaged. Two things bothered me about the book:1. The celebrity names were really annoyed. Every time the Britney Spears rip-off appeared (and as I type this), I got Oops I Did It Again stuck in my head. Just give them made up names. To me, it came across like the author realized she needed to up the word count, so she gave everyone really long names to fill the Overall, I loved this book. It was fast-paced, and while Ella wasn't super sympathetic early on, she was interesting enough to keep me engaged. Two things bothered me about the book:1. The celebrity names were really annoyed. Every time the Britney Spears rip-off appeared (and as I type this), I got Oops I Did It Again stuck in my head. Just give them made up names. To me, it came across like the author realized she needed to up the word count, so she gave everyone really long names to fill the pages. And it annoyed me. My eyes started just skipping the names entirely because I didn't care about any of these characters. 2. Her real name is Ella Warren and the fake name she uses to mingle with celebrities is Bella Warren? SERIOUSLY? No matter what anyone says, the people of Los Angeles cannot be that stupid and self-involved. Also, it's weird that she let Holiday introduce her to some people as Ella when she was going to be reporting. Why not just use the fake name all the time? It annoyed me.But overall, I enjoyed seeing how Ella grows and changes throughout the book. It was a great read, and I look forward to the next book from this author.***I received a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review***
    more
  • Kerri
    May 10, 2017
    I received a free ARC of this book in a Goodreads Giveaway. Confession time (and this is probably not a huge secret): I LOVE chick lit celebrity gossip novels. Really, anything about the foibles of the rich and/or famous gets devoured like my kids' Halloween candy while they're at school. So, naturally, I enjoyed this one. Unfortunately, there wasn't anything really fresh about this, except maybe for the fact that it's a bit more recent than things I've read in the past. I feel like I've read th I received a free ARC of this book in a Goodreads Giveaway. Confession time (and this is probably not a huge secret): I LOVE chick lit celebrity gossip novels. Really, anything about the foibles of the rich and/or famous gets devoured like my kids' Halloween candy while they're at school. So, naturally, I enjoyed this one. Unfortunately, there wasn't anything really fresh about this, except maybe for the fact that it's a bit more recent than things I've read in the past. I feel like I've read this book before. And the use of descriptions in place of celebrity names drove me nuts. Make up fake names! So, it was cute, quick, amusing, and also annoying, trite, and a bit cliche. Still liked it. Grateful for the free copy and chance to read - and I'll keep my eye out for more from the author.
    more
  • Christie
    March 24, 2017
    I don't normally enjoy chick-lit and I'm also not into celebrities/celebrity gossip. So when I won this book in a Goodreads Giveaway, I was like "oh. yay. I guess..."And I was legitimately surprised. The first half of this book was agonizing for me. because it was 100% the protagonist being a bitchy spy, drinking and girls night-ing (gag).But the second half made me really like her, the character development in this book is really great, and the storyline (once it gets going) is well written.Thi I don't normally enjoy chick-lit and I'm also not into celebrities/celebrity gossip. So when I won this book in a Goodreads Giveaway, I was like "oh. yay. I guess..."And I was legitimately surprised. The first half of this book was agonizing for me. because it was 100% the protagonist being a bitchy spy, drinking and girls night-ing (gag).But the second half made me really like her, the character development in this book is really great, and the storyline (once it gets going) is well written.This is a book that takes a little persistence, but it's worth it! Not a favourite for me this year. But it's definitely not among the worst!
    more
  • Maureen Lee
    May 14, 2017
    This frothy confection of a novel has a much bigger heart and packs a bigger punch than you might anticipate from its delightful bubblegum cover. If you're a lover of Hollywood or gossip, it's a perfect novel for you--half of the fun is trying to guess who the litany of blind items could possibly be. It may also partly make you hate Hollywood a little bit for the less than glamorous truths it lays out, but ultimately it has a good message and a peppy heroine you can't help but rooting for.
    more
  • Liz
    May 20, 2017
    This is a great, beach-read worthy book. Nothing to strain the intellect ... just lots of fun. The characters are interesting, the plot moves fast, there is a sense of authenticity, the ending is right, the cover is great, and, most importantly, the story is well written. What more could you want in a enjoyable, lighthearted read?I won a copy of this book in a Goodreads giveaway for this honest review.
    more
  • Laurie Chittenden
    June 2, 2017
    Great heroine! Set in Hollywood and containing fun celebrity gossip this might sound like it's simply a light read, but it's deceptively deeper than that. It's really a story about making decisions and finding your way in the world. I cheered for Ella as she faced with some tough choices. Plenty of ups and downs I thoroughly enjoyed Stern's first novel. Perfect summer read.
    more
  • Julia
    May 24, 2017
    This was a really fun, enjoyable read! It reminded me a bit of Sophie Kinsella books. The pace of the book was nice, and it was very fun and entertaining. I liked the main character, Ella, and thought she was very authentic. Good plot, well-written, and I liked the Hollywood setting and how reading it made me feel like I'd been taken to that place! Fun, light-hearted, recommended!
    more
  • Lissa
    May 7, 2017
    A light, fluffy book about a Hollywood gossip columnist and her balancing act between her secret sneaky life and her real life. I'm not sure the plotline is incredibly inventive or has much substance but it is definitely entertaining and witty at times. This would be a great beach or pool read. I received this through a Goodreads First Reads giveaway in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Rebecca
    May 16, 2017
    I received a copy of this novel from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. When compared to typical chick lit, this novel is quite witty and well-written. Worth checking out if you're looking for a light beach read.
  • Sherry
    March 16, 2017
    I received this book as a free giveaway through Goodreads. I really wanted to like this book but I'm afraid it bored me. I would read a bit and then stop and look at my phone. One day I was reading it in a coffee shop and found the conversation of the middle aged men at the next table more interesting. My problem with it was, though there was some tension and problems, most were solved within 3 pages. Only at page 190 did things get a bit more interesting but - SPOILER WARNING - everything start I received this book as a free giveaway through Goodreads. I really wanted to like this book but I'm afraid it bored me. I would read a bit and then stop and look at my phone. One day I was reading it in a coffee shop and found the conversation of the middle aged men at the next table more interesting. My problem with it was, though there was some tension and problems, most were solved within 3 pages. Only at page 190 did things get a bit more interesting but - SPOILER WARNING - everything started improving within the 10 pages and the ending was anticlimactic. I hoped it would have a surprise - but it had a (perhaps this was appropriate) Hollywood ending. Reading the final 3 or 4 chapters reminded me of how I felt reading a Sociology text when I was in university - counting down the pages until I was finished. I like a happy ending as much as the next reader - but I need to have some doubt as to whether this will come about. On the positive side - there was some interesting bits about the Hollywood celebrity scene and it did cause me to laugh out loud 4 times. The dialogue seemed real and for the most part it was well written. I just passed my copy onto my daughter - perhaps she will enjoy it more than I did.
    more
  • Becca Reads A Lot
    May 22, 2017
    I found myself to be underwhelmed by this book. The story had a very quirky and spunky vibe to it. It was very fluffy chick-lit which can I do love! I think at the end of the day this book just wasn't quite for me.
  • Caryne
    June 1, 2017
    LOVED this book!! So cute and fun, perfect for a beach read.
  • Roxanne
    May 31, 2017
    I enjoyed this book for what the subject matter is worth. I won a copy on Goodreads in exchange for a review.
  • Donna Foster
    March 13, 2017
    Abby Stern's real life experience adds amazing depth and realism to this story of a woman walking a tightrope between her gossip reporter job and her private life, love and friendships.
  • Anne Derkat
    May 12, 2017
    I won this book from Goodreads and got as far as Page 40 and gave up. It's the kind of celebrity gossip thing I might have enjoyed 20 or 30 years ago but not at this age.
  • Kristi Lewis
    March 16, 2017
    This book was so good. Once I started reading it I couldn't stop. I can't believe that it's Abby's debut novel. I was drawn in quickly by Bella and Ella. All I can say is keep on writing Abby and I will keep on reading!
  • Theresa
    March 13, 2017
    I really enjoyed this book, it was a nice weekend read! I think, the author, Abby Stern might well be on her way to becoming the next Jackie Collins if she wanted to, I could see more novels in the same genre, that not only includes Hollywood but Nashville & the music world! I will keep an eye out for her name & her next novel!!
    more
  • Steph
    March 5, 2017
    'According to a Source' by Abby Stern is a light hearted novel about a gossip rag and how low they will stoop to get a story. Abbey Stern has a fun way of explaining celebrates with names like 'Sexy Indie Film Actor' or 'Not-So-Innocent Oversexualizd Pop Star' but some of these do get a little confusing at times as they are used constantly throughout the book.I found that the main character Ella Warren can sometimes lack some simple human emotions at certain timea, especually after breaking up w 'According to a Source' by Abby Stern is a light hearted novel about a gossip rag and how low they will stoop to get a story. Abbey Stern has a fun way of explaining celebrates with names like 'Sexy Indie Film Actor' or 'Not-So-Innocent Oversexualizd Pop Star' but some of these do get a little confusing at times as they are used constantly throughout the book.I found that the main character Ella Warren can sometimes lack some simple human emotions at certain timea, especually after breaking up with her boyfriend. But otherwise she was an enjoyable character you get to know as she struggles to stay true to herself and her friends and her family. Overall it was an enjoyable insight to the world of undercover journalism.I was given this book in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Brittany
    March 11, 2017
    I have never cared much for celebrity gossip, but I did really enjoy reading this book. It really is about so much more than that. It was fun to read and I had a hard time finding a good place to put it down. I would recommend this book.
  • Roxanne
    March 6, 2017
    This is a Goodreads win review. This is just my kind of book. I always lived where there was a lot of famous people so this book appeals to me. This reporter Abby is under a lot of pressure to get soem juicy news about the Hollywood elite.
  • KarnagesMistress
    March 4, 2017
    I received this book for free through Goodreads Giveaways. It is an advance uncorrected proof.
  • Jamie Holzberg / Fluff Smut & Murder
    December 20, 2016
    Thank you to NetGalley.com for the opportunity to read an Advanced Reader Copy of this book in exchange for my honest opinion.Since I greedily read a lot of celebrity gossip (Fluff!!), I was eagerly anticipating this novel. When my wish was granted to get a preview copy, I dove into it. What I found was a predictable plot of work vs. life, work vs. friends, work vs. family from the viewpoint of a twenty-something girl who thinks going out every night to the celebrity hot spots is fulfilling.What Thank you to NetGalley.com for the opportunity to read an Advanced Reader Copy of this book in exchange for my honest opinion.Since I greedily read a lot of celebrity gossip (Fluff!!), I was eagerly anticipating this novel. When my wish was granted to get a preview copy, I dove into it. What I found was a predictable plot of work vs. life, work vs. friends, work vs. family from the viewpoint of a twenty-something girl who thinks going out every night to the celebrity hot spots is fulfilling.What I loved: My mother in law is currently battling the same form of leukemia as Joan. It was reassuring to see her going through the same treatments that my MIL is facing right now – peace of mind that my MIL is also doing everything possible to fight this disease.What I didn’t love: From the minute Ella uses her real name as a by-line in The Life, it was so easy to figure out that she would eventually be caught. Duh – Bella isn’t enough of a name change to keep your cover if you’re using the same last name. From that point on, everything was just so predictable, cliché, and the book was turned into a not so fluffy fun read.What I learned: Celebrities can be just like us…with loads more money.Overall Grade: C+www.FluffSmutandMurder.com
    more
  • Rachel Chiapparine
    December 15, 2016
    I was blessed enough to get my wish request to read/review "According to a Source" by Abby Stern approved by the publisher via Netgally my personal review of the book is as follows:I really like the fact that the book wasn't unrealistic(for the most part)/didn't go with the attention grabbing subjects that a book with a storyline like this could have gone with, for me it was very fun to read. It was also really cool to read storyline where the best friend and sister (respectively) relationship f I was blessed enough to get my wish request to read/review "According to a Source" by Abby Stern approved by the publisher via Netgally my personal review of the book is as follows:I really like the fact that the book wasn't unrealistic(for the most part)/didn't go with the attention grabbing subjects that a book with a storyline like this could have gone with, for me it was very fun to read. It was also really cool to read storyline where the best friend and sister (respectively) relationship for the main character seemed relatable/realistic and not catty.For me personally the "moral of the story" was to own your stuff and be more honest/up front with people as well as the fact that sometimes in life you have to make sacrifices to stay true to yourself/your convictions. If you like "Chick Lit" definitely give this book a chance. Overall I personally rate this book an 8/10,
    more
  • TJ Burns
    February 7, 2017
    I received a copy of this book from St. Martin's Press via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.
  • laura8759
    April 24, 2017
    Thanks to St Martins press and Abby Stern for the advance uncorrected proof copy of this book it was amazing so much happened in this book . some good and happy , some bad and sad all around good book must read I would highly recommend this book to my friends and family my mom even asked if she could read it after me . LAURA8759 .
    more
Write a review