The Possible
What if...no one knows the truth about you? It's been thirteen years since Kaylee's infamous birth mother, Crystal, received a life sentence for killing Kaylee's little brother in a fit of rage. Once the center of a cult-following for her apparent telekinetic powers, nowadays nobody's heard of Crystal. Until now, when a reporter shows up at Kaylee's house and turns her life upside down, offering Kaylee the chance to be part of a high-profile podcast investigating claims that Crystal truly did have supernatural mind powers. But these questions lead to disturbing answers as Kaylee is forced to examine her own increasingly strange life, and make sense of certain dark and troubling coincidences...Unusual and gripping, The Possible will twist the reader round and round as it hurtles towards a sensational climax. For lovers of We Were Liars, Patrick Ness and Derren Brown.

The Possible Details

TitleThe Possible
Author
FormatHardcover
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJun 6th, 2017
PublisherBloomsbury USA Childrens
ISBN1619638053
ISBN-139781619638051
Number of pages304 pages
Rating
GenreYoung Adult, Mystery

The Possible Review

  • Cillian
    February 3, 2017
    I don't need to see every cover that'll come out until the year 2027 to affirm this is by far the best cover in the next 2 decades.I'm so in love with it; the detail, the idea, the imagination, all of it. Bonus: I'm also in love with the title and the author's last name. Don't ask me why, I just love "Altebrando."
    more
  • Elle ✦ Pretty Little Books ✦
    May 18, 2017
    Release Date: June 6, 2017 Genre: Young AdultFirst, let me say how fantastic this cover is! It's very eye catching for one (and if I didn't enjoy the authors work I would have picked it up solely because of this beautiful cover). HOWEVER, I do love the author work and I found the plot to be just as cool as this cover! Tara Altebrando has the unique ability to bring together a unique story line with concepts that are not normally used (for instance, telekinesis is the main plot point of this s Release Date: June 6, 2017 Genre: Young AdultFirst, let me say how fantastic this cover is! It's very eye catching for one (and if I didn't enjoy the authors work I would have picked it up solely because of this beautiful cover). HOWEVER, I do love the author work and I found the plot to be just as cool as this cover! Tara Altebrando has the unique ability to bring together a unique story line with concepts that are not normally used (for instance, telekinesis is the main plot point of this story- something we don't normally see). This was the same for her debut novel, The Leaving (which I LOVED). So I personally believe that Tara is going to be setting the way for some uniqueness in the storytelling world. YAY!!!! Overall, I found this book to be extremely interesting and I loved the entire concept. I also enjoyed the characters as a whole which is a good thing because sometimes the plot stands out more then they do which brings down the enjoyment of the whole story. In some instances I did have a hard time relating to the heroine as she is in high school and dealing with some weird stuff, but she makes sense for the story overall. Rating: 3.5 stars
    more
  • Stacee
    May 20, 2017
    I had read The Leaving and really enjoyed it, so I was pretty excited about this book. I struggled with Kaylee right away. She's bratty and self-centered and kind of a jerk to her friends. She gets obsessed with the podcast idea and in allowing that to take over her life, she doesn't realize how she's treating people. I'm 100% on board with this attitude if there's some growth; however, by the end of the book, it didn't feel like anything had really changed. It was hard to root for her. Plot wis I had read The Leaving and really enjoyed it, so I was pretty excited about this book. I struggled with Kaylee right away. She's bratty and self-centered and kind of a jerk to her friends. She gets obsessed with the podcast idea and in allowing that to take over her life, she doesn't realize how she's treating people. I'm 100% on board with this attitude if there's some growth; however, by the end of the book, it didn't feel like anything had really changed. It was hard to root for her. Plot wise, I loved the synopsis. I'm all over this sort of unreliable narrator type of plot and this one sounded promising. However, as things started to unfold, it was more of a hot mess than actual, planned layers being revealed. And the constant page breaks drive me absolutely insane. I kept reading because I did want to know what happened. Yet, I could have easily set the book down, not finished, and been absolutely fine. Overall, I loved the idea, but the execution was a bit lacking. **Huge thanks to Bloomsbury for providing the arc free of charge**
    more
  • Kaitlyn Davis
    May 30, 2017
    I enjoyed this book! The mystery drew me in and kept me turning the pages :) I wavered back and forth from believer to non-believer, which I think was the point, and the constant guessing and theorizing made the book really interesting! Such a unique premise for a book that was super unlike anything else I've read! The characters didn't really draw me in and the romance confused me a bit (seemed to come from nowhere), but I was drawn into the plot and the intrigue and enjoyed being surprised by I enjoyed this book! The mystery drew me in and kept me turning the pages :) I wavered back and forth from believer to non-believer, which I think was the point, and the constant guessing and theorizing made the book really interesting! Such a unique premise for a book that was super unlike anything else I've read! The characters didn't really draw me in and the romance confused me a bit (seemed to come from nowhere), but I was drawn into the plot and the intrigue and enjoyed being surprised by some of the twists the story took! Ending wrapped things up a little too quickly, until you reach, well, I don't want to give anything away...! I will note that I got this from netgalley, and the ARC was incredibly ill-formatted and choppy, I'm surprised the publisher didn't check it more closely before posting it for reviews (sentences cutting off, paragraphs starting and stopping for no reason, page breaks). I couldn't tell if any of it was intentional, but I'm guessing not, so I think I would have a more enjoyable reading experience with the final book.
    more
  • Aimee
    May 18, 2017
    Review to come.
  • Jennifer
    May 20, 2017
    I will need to reread the finished copy considering how chopped up this eARC was. the book had a lot of potential to be great but I just didn't enjoy it as much as I had hoped. review to come
  • Susan
    June 1, 2017
    The Possible by Tara Altebrando.What if ... no one knows the truth about you? It's been thirteen years since Kaylee's infamous birth mother, Crystal, received a life sentence for killing Kaylee's little brother in a fit of rage. Once the centre of a cult-following for her apparent telekinetic powers, nowadays nobody's heard of Crystal. This was a good read with good characters. Little slow. 4*. Netgalley and Bloomsbury publishing plc.
    more
  • angharad mair
    March 13, 2017
    The Possible is shockingly clever. It really gets you thinking about how perspective can and will change what people believe. If somebody sees something from a different angle than how you saw it go down, they could very well consider you a liar because that's not how they saw it and they know that they themselves aren't lying so it has to be you who speaks false truths. Going into this, I wasn't sure exactly what I expected from it but by the end I knew it to be better than I presumed. Not onl The Possible is shockingly clever. It really gets you thinking about how perspective can and will change what people believe. If somebody sees something from a different angle than how you saw it go down, they could very well consider you a liar because that's not how they saw it and they know that they themselves aren't lying so it has to be you who speaks false truths. Going into this, I wasn't sure exactly what I expected from it but by the end I knew it to be better than I presumed. Not only is the writing style unique and easily relatable, but the visual appearance such as the texting scenes were spot on. So why the three-star rating? Well, that's down to a few things. Firstly, I thought it odd that upon hearing about a podcast being made of Kaylee's birth mother so many of the people in her life turned against her. Not only her two best friends but her coach, fellow students, her teachers, etc. I understand that some of them had other reasons for turning their backs but it still seemed a bit sketchy. These people genuinely believed Kaylee was capable of using a paranormal force whether it be to trip them up, slice textbooks, smash light bulbs, break tree branches, predict the outcome of a roll of a dice or move things with her mind. She even got shelved from the softball team because they believed her to be using telekinesis in order to pitch so well. How unrealistic. What's worse is that some of those people were adults - like, thirty, forty (?) years old. Secondly, I didn't like the romantic interest Kaylee had in Bennett; it just didn't seem authentic. Sure, she daydreamed about him and they even made out but it just all felt... forced. And don't even get me started on how out of the blue Kaylee's realisation of her heart truly belonging to her best friend was. That right there came completely from nowhere ― no hints throughout that perhaps she liked him, or anything in that nature. It was just, 'Well, Bennett doesn't really like me. I guess I like Aiden now? After all, we danced at prom'. I don't know, it was weird and then she's all, 'I love you' to him. Like... okay? Anyway, I think I'm rambling but overall, the plot was enjoyable, Chiara's character was amazing and the payback on Crystal was great. 3/5 stars!
    more
  • Savannah
    May 22, 2017
    *I recieved an ARC of THE POSSIBLE via the publisher through a Goodreads giveaway.(2.5 stars)So, this book has a really interesting premise. Like, really interesting. Telekinesis? Podcast? Dark past? Sign me up!Sadly... it did not give as promised.I will now dive into the reasons I was disappointed.W R I T I N G:The main problem I had with THE POSSIBLE was the writing. It's so... simple. Incredibly simple. The author has seemingly never heard of "show, don't tell"; I think there was only one sen *I recieved an ARC of THE POSSIBLE via the publisher through a Goodreads giveaway.(2.5 stars)So, this book has a really interesting premise. Like, really interesting. Telekinesis? Podcast? Dark past? Sign me up!Sadly... it did not give as promised.I will now dive into the reasons I was disappointed.W R I T I N G:The main problem I had with THE POSSIBLE was the writing. It's so... simple. Incredibly simple. The author has seemingly never heard of "show, don't tell"; I think there was only one sentence where the description wasn't like "She has brown hair." or "He is cute."There was also a lot of "He said", "She said". PSA: there are other words to indicate that someone is speaking besides for "said". Despite the overuse of "said", I also lost my way in a lot of the conversations; I would have to rewind and think this person said this line, then that person said the next... to follow who was saying what. None of the characters' dialogue really made them stand out (as in no specific character was sassy or dull or had extremely bad grammar. They were all just average).Besides for the descriptions, we (the readers) were assumed to know what a lot of things are. I know next to nothing about softball, and I still don't. I had never heard of a granny pod before this novel, and it was described once and then never mentioned again.I think this novel could have been developed more and even earned another half-star in my book if the writing was a little more complex. It seems to be written for a younger audience because of the simplicity, but the content (especially some of the needless cursing) is for teens.C H A R A C T E R S:Kaylee. Basic name, bordering on boring character. She wasn't fun at all; I can't say that I truly enjoyed reading about her. She also made some decisions regarding relationships that I wasn't a fan of ((view spoiler)[like going immediately to Aiden and being all "Oh, I suddenly realize I love you" after Bennett was out of the picture (hide spoiler)]).Aiden. I hate to use the same word twice, but nothing describes Aiden as well as the word basic. He's your typical YA love interest: in love with the main character & will do anything for them, tall, available 24/7, etc. I just wasn't entertained & I didn't have a deep connection.Chiara. She's my favorite by far. She's also a bit typical, but at least she had personality and reacted realistically to Kaylee's actions. I'm sad that she wasn't a bigger character.Liana. I still think she's shady. That's all I gotta say.O T H E R:I just realized that the cover is supposed to be one of Kaylee's snowglobes. I have to admit, that's a cool detail.The plot was also everywhere. I couldn't dedicate a whole section of this review to talking about it, but this novel didn't end up being more about the telekinesis, which is kind of the impression I got/what I was hoping for.Also, there were so many stereotypes present in this novel. Despite the interesting integration of supernatural things and adoption and things like that, the characters weren't anything special and they were your "average" teens (are dumb, are always going after the popular guy, play one sport, etc). That really annoyed me.All in all, I feel like the simplistic writing really hurt the potential of this book. It was okay, but it's nothing I'd want to reread.
    more
  • Nannette Demmler
    May 31, 2017
    I picked this up because I had read The Leaving, and had really liked it. This one was good too, but it left me wanting a little more.Kaylee is not a very likable character but I found myself sympathizing with her a lot. She is a little stuck-up and mean in her own way. She doesn’t say a lot of what she thinks that is mean, except to close friends, so that is good. But still she thinks it, like her nicknames for the girls in school. She also kind of has this wall around her and doesn’t really le I picked this up because I had read The Leaving, and had really liked it. This one was good too, but it left me wanting a little more.Kaylee is not a very likable character but I found myself sympathizing with her a lot. She is a little stuck-up and mean in her own way. She doesn’t say a lot of what she thinks that is mean, except to close friends, so that is good. But still she thinks it, like her nicknames for the girls in school. She also kind of has this wall around her and doesn’t really let any one in, not even her friends. She has kept the secret of her birth mother from them, and she claims that this was because she didn’t think about her and didn’t think it was important, until this podcast came about. I’m not sure I believe her. She dreams about her brother sometimes and I think she thought about the telekinesis part of her mom’s story a lot. Kaylee is a dark character who is very self-centered and somewhat oblivious to others feelings as well. Also, the whole issue of telekinesis has her wondering, what if she could really make things happen.Kaylee has two very good friends, Aiden and Chiara. I’m not sure why they are friends with her as she doesn’t treat them very nicely most of the time. Aiden is supposedly in love with her, but I found him to be distant and not very supportive of her. I think he was just tired of the way she treated him, and I couldn’t blame him. Her crush, Bennett, was also a bit of a jerk most of the time. He did come around to being a slightly better person toward the end, and was somewhat helpful to Kaylee as well. Chiara was the nicest character of the three, I really liked her and she tried to be supportive, even when Kaylee was pushing her away. Liana, the woman doing the podcast, wasn’t a very likable character either. She was pushy and manipulative and often twisted things to her advantage. In the end though I think she was doing what she did for the right reasons, and she did prove helpful to Kaylee.The plot on the whole was very well done. The formatting was a little off putting at times though. There were times when Kaylee was reading articles about her mom or telekinesis that were cut off in the middle. She would sort of summarize the rest, but sometimes it was in the middle of a sentence which annoyed me. You were constantly questioning along with Kaylee about whether or not she or her mom had telekinesis and if her mom had really killed her brother. Even at the end I was still wondering about Kaylee and her abilities.As I reread through this review it doesn’t sound like I enjoyed the book. But I really did. I found it hard to put down, I found the whole mystery side of it very interesting and the way they handled Crystal at the end was great. I enjoyed the themes of how our histories makes us who we are, even when we are not necessarily conscience of it. I just would have liked some characters that were more likable.
    more
  • C.J. Sarcasm & Lemons
    May 19, 2017
    The Possible is a definite step up from Altebrando's debut, The Leaving: more thrill, more intrigue, stronger writing and characters. It's the summer of the young adult thriller, people. Altebrando mixes journalism, podcasts, prison, and the paranormal into one twisty beach read that's delightfully devourable in a single sitting. Kaylee is the perfect MC for a plot-driven book. She's what you'd call "unlikable." I always love the unlikable ones. She's brash, selfish, immature, and she lives in h The Possible is a definite step up from Altebrando's debut, The Leaving: more thrill, more intrigue, stronger writing and characters. It's the summer of the young adult thriller, people. Altebrando mixes journalism, podcasts, prison, and the paranormal into one twisty beach read that's delightfully devourable in a single sitting. Kaylee is the perfect MC for a plot-driven book. She's what you'd call "unlikable." I always love the unlikable ones. She's brash, selfish, immature, and she lives in her head. And she's incredibly relatable. What teen (or adult-as-former-teen) hasn't built up a relative stranger into an elaborate romance fantasy in their head? Who hasn't been self-absorbed and clueless? The plot wouldn't skip ahead so frenetically without Kaylee's recklessness, and it gives her plenty of room to learn and grow. So maybe she'll annoy you, but stick with her a minute. Her friends are a little weaker, mostly because they're absent a lot. Aiden is the strongest. He's the snarky, nerdy guy who's also refreshingly comfortable with himself, and he calls Kaylee on her crap. Although his total condescencion towards the paranormal annoyed me. Chiara really got shafted, because not only is she the only major POC in a very white book, but her literary sensibilities could have been used to much greater effect. For a best friend, she wasn't around a lot. The adults were all fleshed out enough to play their roles, although as a crime junkie I'd have loved more insight into Crystal's twisted head. The real winner here is the plot. There are some definite over-the-top moments (HIGHLIGHT FOR SPOILER: (view spoiler)[um, no prison is going to let some teenagers rig up a mechanical spectacle to teach an inmate a lesson; when I go to the jail, I can't even bring my freaking cell phone in) (hide spoiler)], not gonna lie. You have to suspend disbelief. I mean, no one remembers anything that vivid from age 3. On the other hand, Altebrando knows how to keep you guessing. I raced through this on a plane ride and later into the night than I should have, because I damn well needed to know who was pulling the strings and whether all these potentially paranormal happenings were real or just in Kaylee's head. You don't find out until the end and it's kept ambiguous throughout, so the tension stays high. Overall, The Possible is excellent if you're looking for a twisty crime thriller with low investment and a fast plot. It's not exactly Gillian Flynn or Stephanie Kuehn, but it's carved out a space in young adult thriller world. It's a quick candy read, and it does it well. I loved how it dealt with popular concepts like true crime podcasts (think Serial) and the downside of internet fame while sticking with old-school head games ala Hitchcock. I won't be gushing about it for years, but I had a whole lot of fun reading it.
    more
  • Sandra
    March 2, 2017
    After reading and loving Countless by Karen Gregory I checked out other forthcoming titles being published by Bloomsbury and found this one.The cover shows a girl stood alone looking out to sea. The byline featured says "Some Storms Rage From Within" and in the book the main character Kaylee certainly has some issues that she has buried quite deeply, as a safety mechanism and when she is faced with those issues being brought into the limelight her reaction is to get angry and act out, which is w After reading and loving Countless by Karen Gregory I checked out other forthcoming titles being published by Bloomsbury and found this one.The cover shows a girl stood alone looking out to sea. The byline featured says "Some Storms Rage From Within" and in the book the main character Kaylee certainly has some issues that she has buried quite deeply, as a safety mechanism and when she is faced with those issues being brought into the limelight her reaction is to get angry and act out, which is why I would add that parts of the story would fit into the "coming of age" and "teen angst" genres too. The genres listed for this one on Netgalley/Goodreads are YA, Mystery & Thriller, which I definitely agree with also.This book begins with us meeting the main character Kaylee Bryar, who is living a normal kind of teenage life, goes to school and does ok with her grades. Kaylee has two close friends a girl called Chiara, and a boy called Aiden. Of course as a teen girl Kaylee has a crush too. The guy she is crushing on, Bennett Laurie is dating a girl called Aubrey Hazleton who is so perfect Kaylee has nicknamed her "Princess Bubblegum". at a baseball game wishing for the opposing team member, Evelyn who is batting to be unable to hit the next ball that she throws, and strangely it happens! Kaylee actually wonders if she some how telepathically made the opposing team member miss the ball! Thinking it a possibility when she see's Princess Bubblegum with Bennett she "wishes" Princess Bubblegum to fall flat on her face...and it happens!? Coincidence right? Or some type of telekinesis perhaps?Kaylee begins to wonder about such supernatural things even more when she is contacted by Liana Fatone, a reporter that makes sometimes controversial podcasts. Liana has somehow found Kaylee who was adopted and had her name changed at age four by Christine and Robert Novell. Apparently Liana wants to talk to Kaylee about supernatural powers and her birth mother Crystal. When Crystal was a teen there was a fairly large news item about Crystal having some sort of strange powers, or was surrounded by poltergeist activity that she could move items around a room without touching them etc. There was even a photograph that actually depicted a telephone moving around Crystal. Rightly so, both of Kaylee's adoptive parents are wary of anyone wanting to talk to Kaylee about anything concerning or connected to her mother Crystal. As Crystal is serving a life sentence in prison for killing her youngest child, a boy called Jack. Kaylee remembers her mother and was in fact instrumental in her mother being given a life sentence. It was evidence, and the fact Kaylee testified in court at the age of four that finally made Crystal accept a plea deal of life imprisonment. So because of a combination of wanting to know more about Crystal, being curious as to whether she may have some telekinesis powers, and general acting out being a teenager, Kaylee decides not only will she meet Liana, she will help with the podcast and even more disturbing to her adoptive parents, she wants to meet Crystal. So Kaylee does a bit of sneaking around, though when she truly needs her parents they still end up finding out and being there for her.I found myself having mixed feelings about the characters in this book, there weren't always clear lines to separate the good and bad. Crystal hadn't had a great life herself, from all the attention of small press about her special powers, then outed as a fraud by a larger press she was abandoned. Crystal went on to meet Kaylee's birth father to get pregnant at 21 with Kaylee, then at aged 23 met Jack's father and once again found herself pregnant. Jack is the child that just a few years later is killed due to a blunt force trauma. Crystal had initially pleaded her innocence, yet when Kaylee gave evidence and it seemed that she would face the death penalty, Crystal had chose the plea deal. So did she actually commit the crime? I guess some would say she was a victim of circumstances, where others would say if her life was so bad and unhappy it should have made her strive to give her children a better start than herself. To begin with I thought Liana was being honest with Kaylee but it turns out she is not adverse to using Kaylee or Crystal to capture the right information for her next big story. I also think that Liana was rather underhand as it becomes clear that she wanted a story about the reasons Crystal was sentenced to life imprisonment.My thoughts upon finishing the book were Wow, different, really different. . .had an inkling about some sort of vague connection or history connecting the birth mom and adoptive parents? And what a twist at the end, maybe Kaylee had just been trying to bend the wrong cutlery? It all comes down to the individual and what you allow yourself to believe....or not.
    more
  • Teri
    May 12, 2017
    This author's previous book, The Leaving, was so compelling I immediately requested The Possible when I saw it on NetGalley. The cover is beautiful and the mention of telekinesis really caught my attention. Is Crystal's claim of telekinesis a hoax? Does Kaylee have telekinetic powers? A few twists caused me to change my mind several times throughout the book. And I loved the idea of a granny pod.Although Kaylee's best friends are likable, level-headed teens, I didn't care much for her character This author's previous book, The Leaving, was so compelling I immediately requested The Possible when I saw it on NetGalley. The cover is beautiful and the mention of telekinesis really caught my attention. Is Crystal's claim of telekinesis a hoax? Does Kaylee have telekinetic powers? A few twists caused me to change my mind several times throughout the book. And I loved the idea of a granny pod.Although Kaylee's best friends are likable, level-headed teens, I didn't care much for her character at all - which isn't a deal breaker for me - but I wondered why her friends stuck around. She undergoes a change by the end of the book, but for the better part of the story, I found myself searching for some characteristic to warrant the loyalty of her friends. The gradual building of the climax kept me hooked, but the events really require a heavy suspension of disbelief.The Possible didn't grab me like The Leaving, but I'd recommend this book to readers fascinated by unexplained events and the questionable effects and reliability of media coverage.Thanks to NetGalley and the publisher for the digital ARC.
    more
  • Sarah Capon
    February 22, 2017
    I really enjoyed The Possible and was going to give it a 4* rating but felt the ending let it down slightly. This is my own personal view and I'm sure others will be completely the opposite and love the ending. An intriguing story all about Telekinesis and whether it truly exists. We have all had those moments where we feel we have some kind of power - picking up your phone randomly and then at that exact moment your phone rings, thinking about someone in particular then they message you, wantin I really enjoyed The Possible and was going to give it a 4* rating but felt the ending let it down slightly. This is my own personal view and I'm sure others will be completely the opposite and love the ending. An intriguing story all about Telekinesis and whether it truly exists. We have all had those moments where we feel we have some kind of power - picking up your phone randomly and then at that exact moment your phone rings, thinking about someone in particular then they message you, wanting two sixes on a dice and getting them etc... The Possible examines both sides of the possibility of TK.Kaylee is the daughter of a woman who claimed to have TK powers before she murdered her son and was put in prison and now someone wants to do a podcast to get to the bottom of it once and for all. Kaylee feels she sometimes makes things happen with her mind and wants to find out if the power is real or fake. There are lots of twists to make you sway either side and ultimately, is filled with suspense to make sure you keep turning the pages. Also touches on bullying via social media and morality. Great read for KS3 or any fans of Derren Brown/ David Blaine.
    more
  • Aoife
    May 27, 2017
    I loved Altebrando's previous title The Leaving so I was incredibly excited to read her newest book The Possible. I raced through this book in less than 24 hours, devouring it in large chunks on my breaks in work and on the bus home. While I didn't find the characters quite as compelling as I'd expected, Altebrando still delivers a tense and thrilling read that has the reader questioning till the very end.
    more
  • Tabitha Darrah
    May 4, 2017
    I'm new to reviewing so please forgive me. I always read books before my children. There have been plenty Young Adult books that I feel cross the line that I'm comfortable with for my children. This one doesn't. It's well written for the intended audience. It was entertaining and had a lesson to learn. I'll be passing it now and know that it will be enjoyed.
    more
  • Cressa
    May 31, 2017
    I recieved an advance copy from Net galley in exchange for an honest review. I have mixed feelings about this book. There were times when I absolutely couldn't stand the main character. Several plot lines were cliche. However, Kaylee did an enormous amount of "growing up" througout the novel, and I enjoy the little bit of mystery at the end. Overall a fun light read.
    more
  • Libby Sullivan
    March 1, 2017
    “The Possible” sets a new standard for mystery and suspense novels. Even though it had some flaws, the book will stay with me for quite some time. Kaylee wants nothing more than to be normal. As a star player on her school’s softball team and an all A student with some of the best friends a girl could ask for, she fits the bill of “normal” pretty well. But after thirteen years, something comes up that makes Kaylee anything but normal. Her birth mother, Crystal. At one point she made her rise to “The Possible” sets a new standard for mystery and suspense novels. Even though it had some flaws, the book will stay with me for quite some time. Kaylee wants nothing more than to be normal. As a star player on her school’s softball team and an all A student with some of the best friends a girl could ask for, she fits the bill of “normal” pretty well. But after thirteen years, something comes up that makes Kaylee anything but normal. Her birth mother, Crystal. At one point she made her rise to fame for her supposed telekinetic abilities, but her downfall came when she murdered Kaylee’s younger brother when Kaylee was only four years old. Now, a reporter is knocking on Kaylee’s door asking for an interview to figure out if Crystal really had the abilities she claimed to have, and if Kaylee has them too. Something great about “The Possible” came from its immense amount of mystery. As the reader, I found myself sucked into the role of Kaylee. I knew just as much or as little as she did, I found myself hurt when people rejected or bullied her and I understood the choices she made more than any other character in the book did. The sort of connection author Tara Altebrando helps the reader make with the protagonist rarely offers the results “The Possible” gave. Authors try to make relatable teen characters, but often times overdo traits and mannerisms to make the character just blatantly annoying. Altebrando made a character with enough sass, realistic outlooks on life and hidden hope to create a character relatable to not only teens, but other age groups as well. As for the character development of the novel, “The Possible” could use some work. Since the book still has some editing to go before its release date in June, none of my judgements can remain set in stone. As of now though, the character development threw me off quite a bit. Kaylee went through a phase of being the perfect daughter, to the rebellious teen, to the depressed and confused child, back to perfect daughter (except this time with a boyfriend). Her mood swings, while interesting at times, made for a difficult character to keep up with. She could go from loving another person to hating them in seconds, well, pages. I know these developments had their place in the novel to show that Kaylee learned a lesson, they just seemed way too abrupt to leave an impact. Other than those few lacking points, the novel held its own against the other books I’ve read this month. It had a very creative organization - with the involvement of text messages, podcast layouts and flashbacks - all of which made for a very visually pleasing book. I hope to read more of Altebrando’s work, and will definitely be looking for the final copy of the book in June to see how well it turned out and what changed. “The Possible” by Tara Altebrando will be released in June of 2017.
    more
  • Dixie Keyes
    December 29, 2016
    An interesting and divergent plot takes us into some highly contemporary topics such as hoaxes (like telekinesis; journalistic falsities). This novel is definitely resonant of the events of the past year (2016) and perhaps the year to come. Unique in this novel are the portions of it that are excerpts from various podcasts by the journalist who is a central character. In what I think is a continued attempt to keep this novel highly contemporary, texts are formatted as what they look like on a ph An interesting and divergent plot takes us into some highly contemporary topics such as hoaxes (like telekinesis; journalistic falsities). This novel is definitely resonant of the events of the past year (2016) and perhaps the year to come. Unique in this novel are the portions of it that are excerpts from various podcasts by the journalist who is a central character. In what I think is a continued attempt to keep this novel highly contemporary, texts are formatted as what they look like on a phone. I did find some of the texts mundane. My biggest criticism of the book, which is a peculiarity of mine, is that I didn't really "like" the main character Kaylee, I didn't find her engaging and the plot or the novel in its entirety brought me no empathy or sympathy for the character. This left me feeling disappointed in a way, at the end, because one of my greatest joys is having the character of a book live close to my mind and heart for awhile after I'm done with the book. This book reads more like a mystery, so if you like mysteries, it's a good one!
    more
  • Brenda Kahn
    January 28, 2017
    I read about half of this book while waiting in an airport for a flight home. I was initially quite captivated by Kaylee. Then doubts settled in and I wondered if she was an unreliable narrator and thought I knew where the story was going. I landed and had to get back on track with work and couldn't get right back to the book. Truth be told, I was a bit reluctant to take it up again but I'm glad I did. This is a page-turner with plenty of surprises.
    more
  • Trisha
    April 2, 2017
    I was initially impatient with Kaylee, but found the twisting plot devious and clever.Longer review on my blog soon.Update: Finally, just as this book is released, I write some detailed thoughts at my blog, Trish Talks Texts.Thanks to publisher and Netgalley for advanced copy.
    more
  • Emily
    November 4, 2016
    Does Kaylee have special powers?? I couldn't put this book down as I tried to figure out what was happening. A great, thrilling read!
  • TJ Burns
    May 30, 2017
    I received a copy of this book from Bloomsbury USA Children's Books via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.
  • Sarah
    May 28, 2017
    Probably a 3.5. I absolutely love the concept and the resolution but it all felt a little fast and not fleshed out towards the end.
Write a review