The Last Kid Left
A family secret turns deadly in this powerful study of how far we go to protect those we loveNineteen-year-old Nick Toussaint Jr. is driving drunk through New Jersey on his way to Mexico. The dead bodies of Toussaint’s doctor and his wife lie in the backseat. When Nick crashes the car, police chief Martin Krug becomes involved in the case. Despite an easy murder confession from Nick, something doesn’t quite add up for the soon-to-be retired Krug. An itch he can’t help but scratch.Nick is extradited to his hometown of Claymore, New Hampshire—a New England beach town full of colorful characters, bed-and-breakfasts, and outlet malls—where the local scandal rocks the residents. Meanwhile, his girlfriend, sixteen-year-old Emily Portis, rallies behind her boyfriend, her protector. Rosecrans Baldwin’s The Last Kid Left charts the evolution of their relationship and of Emily’s own coming-of-age in the face of tragedy and justice.

The Last Kid Left Details

TitleThe Last Kid Left
Author
FormatHardcover
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJun 6th, 2017
PublisherMCD
ISBN0374298564
ISBN-139780374298562
Number of pages352 pages
Rating
GenreFiction, Mystery, Thriller, Mystery Thriller, Contemporary

The Last Kid Left Review

  • Fran
    June 28, 2017
    In the secluded town of Eagle Mount, New Jersey, Chief of Police Martin Krug answered a call. Tequila drinking, nineteen year old Nick Toussaint Jr. had crashed his truck. He confessed to the murders of the two dead bodies in the trunk. Taken into police custody, Nick wrote and signed a confession. Martin found Nick's story implausible, containing many inconsistencies. How could Nick,scrawny with a pronounced limp, have overpowered the victims stabbing Dr. Ashburn, strangling his wife and then l In the secluded town of Eagle Mount, New Jersey, Chief of Police Martin Krug answered a call. Tequila drinking, nineteen year old Nick Toussaint Jr. had crashed his truck. He confessed to the murders of the two dead bodies in the trunk. Taken into police custody, Nick wrote and signed a confession. Martin found Nick's story implausible, containing many inconsistencies. How could Nick,scrawny with a pronounced limp, have overpowered the victims stabbing Dr. Ashburn, strangling his wife and then lifting them into his truck?The double homicide of Dr. Nathan Ashburn and his wife was committed in Claymore, New Hampshire, Nick's hometown. When Nick was extradited and placed into Claymore police custody by Sheriff Portis, Martin, newly retired from the Eagle Mount Police Department extended an offer of investigative assistance convinced that Nick was taking the fall for the real murderer. But why?Sheriff Portis was the father of Nick's girlfriend, Emily. Once it was established that Nick had entered the home of Dr. and Mrs. Ashburn, Sheriff Portis forbade Emily from visiting Nick in jail. Emily maintained her opinion that whatever Nick did, he did for them and that the murders were her fault.Emily Portis, sixteen years old, was a girl who disappeared into herself. She had dark thoughts. She was socially backward with only one true friend, Alexandra. Nick's love and affection for Emily was like a salve. She felt protected and cared for. After Nick's arrest, naive Emily made a costly mistake. She decided to take provocative selfies to send to Nick in jail, however, the selfies went viral. Nick and Emily now had the moniker "The Claymore Kids" and a media frenzy surrounded the case. Nick refused to help prove his innocence. Emily, misguided by friend Alex, turned her scrutinized life into monetary opportunities for photos and interviews. The reality was that Nick and Emily, two fragile, small town kids just wanted to run away together to San Francisco. Nick and Emily had a similar view of life. Life was all bullshit, it didn't matter. People either got screwed or screwed someone else over. Although damaged souls, their love was the one thing that was real to them."The Last Kid Left" by Rosecrans Baldwin contained a double homicide investigation, social media frenzy, rumor-mongering, pornography and pedophilia. Baldwin's overly ambitious attempt to connect all of these elements encouraged him to create too many, albeit unique, characters. The story, though well crafted, would have benefited from one hundred less pages.Thank you Farrar, Straus and Giroux and Net Galley for the opportunity to read and review "The Last Kid Left".
    more
  • Drew
    June 18, 2017
    gonna give this one a proper review I think, so stay tuned.
  • Chelsea McCann-Eros
    June 7, 2017
    Disclaimer: I received an advanced copy of this book from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. After five days of trying, I could not get into this book. My rule is usually to give a book 100 pages before giving it a DNF, but I just could not get there with this book. I was not very enamored by the writing style and language. The shifting perspectives were erratic and confusing, and often hard to keep up with. I found all of the characters to be hard to related to and illogical. After the Disclaimer: I received an advanced copy of this book from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. After five days of trying, I could not get into this book. My rule is usually to give a book 100 pages before giving it a DNF, but I just could not get there with this book. I was not very enamored by the writing style and language. The shifting perspectives were erratic and confusing, and often hard to keep up with. I found all of the characters to be hard to related to and illogical. After the police officer finds Nick with his car smashed into the cowgirl statue with two bodies in the back, he doesn't think he's guilty? Where does that come from??To be fair, I did not get very far into it. I made it until Nick is telling the story of why he limps. He explains two his two new friends about the snowmobile accident that happened when he was 16 and how it kept him basically immobile for almost a year. When asked about if he had gone to school, he tells the girls that he had a tutor and got his GRE. Now, for anyone like me who has studied for the GRE, you would know that this is a standardized test to get into graduate school. This is very different than a GED, which I believe is what the author was referring to. Things like this, and this wasn't the first case, keep me from being able to emerge myself into the story, so for that reason I give this a DNF.
    more
  • Vnunez-Ms_luv2read
    June 6, 2017
    This book is about a small town and three main characters. The premise is good, murder in a small town, with one of the main characters being the sheriff, Nick who confesses to a double murder and Emily, his girlfriend. Too many other characters are introduced at various times which muddles down the story. This is a book that will hold your interest in some areas, and had me skipping pages or flipping back to remember what a certain character did or said. A character will appear in the reading a This book is about a small town and three main characters. The premise is good, murder in a small town, with one of the main characters being the sheriff, Nick who confesses to a double murder and Emily, his girlfriend. Too many other characters are introduced at various times which muddles down the story. This is a book that will hold your interest in some areas, and had me skipping pages or flipping back to remember what a certain character did or said. A character will appear in the reading and disappear only to show up many pages after. I took away from this book that there is no rhyme or reason why at times people's words are spread when maybe they should not be. This was an ok read for me. Thanks to NetGalley, the author and the publisher for the ARC of this book in return for my honest review.
    more
  • paulie
    June 18, 2017
    (3.75 stars - thanks to mcd/fsg/all involved in this goodreads giveaway copy)as i was reading this novel, two distinct references came to mind: james m. cain and the film 'inherent vice.' that is not to say the book captures mildred pierce and shasta fey sharing a fifth, just that for whatever reason my mind was digging in its archive seemingly remembering some parallel(s) to cain's style of writing (though this story is probably less gritty), and its pace, flow needed undivided attention to kee (3.75 stars - thanks to mcd/fsg/all involved in this goodreads giveaway copy)as i was reading this novel, two distinct references came to mind: james m. cain and the film 'inherent vice.' that is not to say the book captures mildred pierce and shasta fey sharing a fifth, just that for whatever reason my mind was digging in its archive seemingly remembering some parallel(s) to cain's style of writing (though this story is probably less gritty), and its pace, flow needed undivided attention to keep straight.teen love (to whichever degree one thinks then, before the now), dirty daddy, thelsa's complex journey (urine for a surprise), seediness, neediness, references to greta gerwig, kim gordon, david foster wallace - plus being published through fsg's new offshoot... elements of higher brow comedic moments within a rough edged, leaning toward gripping plot makes this a solid read.
    more
  • Diane Mitschke
    June 19, 2017
    I listened to the audio version of this novel after hearing a review on NPR that made it sound like an interesting summer read. I found it frustrating and hard to follow for the first half of the book, as each short chapter focuses on a different character, and the story doesn't really come together until the half-way point. While several of the characters were interesting, there are long stretches that are pretty boring, and the pacing of the book just felt off for me. I was hoping for a plot t I listened to the audio version of this novel after hearing a review on NPR that made it sound like an interesting summer read. I found it frustrating and hard to follow for the first half of the book, as each short chapter focuses on a different character, and the story doesn't really come together until the half-way point. While several of the characters were interesting, there are long stretches that are pretty boring, and the pacing of the book just felt off for me. I was hoping for a plot twist or revelation that really never happened.
    more
  • Jo
    June 1, 2017
    I found the pace to be a little slow, and I skimmed a good bit of it. There were no earth-shattering reveals, and sadly, no unexpected twist at the very end. Really well written, though.
  • Susan
    June 28, 2017
    EW grade: B
Write a review