The Last Place You Look (Roxane Weary, #1)
Sarah Cook, a beautiful blonde teenager disappeared fifteen years ago, the same night her parents were brutally murdered in their suburban Ohio home. Her boyfriend Brad Stockton - black and from the wrong side of the tracks - was convicted of the murders and sits on death row, though he always maintained his innocence. With his execution only weeks away, his devoted sister, insisting she has spotted Sarah at a local gas station, hires PI Roxane Weary to look again at the case.Reeling from the recent death of her cop father, Roxane finds herself drawn to the story of Sarah's vanishing act, especially when she thinks she's linked Sarah's disappearance to one of her father's unsolved murder cases involving another teen girl. Despite her self-destructive tendencies, Roxane starts to hope that maybe she can save Brad's life and her own.With echoes of Sue Grafton, Dennis Lehane and the hit podcast Serial, The Last Place You Look is the gripping debut of both a bold new voice and character.

The Last Place You Look (Roxane Weary, #1) Details

TitleThe Last Place You Look (Roxane Weary, #1)
Author
FormatHardcover
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJun 13th, 2017
PublisherMinotaur Books
ISBN1250120519
ISBN-139781250120519
Number of pages336 pages
Rating
GenreMystery, Thriller, Mystery Thriller, Adult, Fiction, Crime

The Last Place You Look (Roxane Weary, #1) Review

  • Emily May
    May 17, 2017
    This is exactly how I like my mysteries. It's a shame mediocre books like Into the Water will soar the charts this year, when books like this probably won't get the attention they deserve.The Last Place You Look follows private investigator - Roxane Weary - as she attempts to solve a fifteen-year-old case and, possibly, save an innocent man from death row. It doesn't look good; in fact, the guy looks guilty as sin, but Roxane needs the PI money. However, her digging into small town secrets and a This is exactly how I like my mysteries. It's a shame mediocre books like Into the Water will soar the charts this year, when books like this probably won't get the attention they deserve.The Last Place You Look follows private investigator - Roxane Weary - as she attempts to solve a fifteen-year-old case and, possibly, save an innocent man from death row. It doesn't look good; in fact, the guy looks guilty as sin, but Roxane needs the PI money. However, her digging into small town secrets and a buried past unearth something bigger than she'd ever imagined. It's just so damn compelling.The real strength of this book is Roxane herself. I adore mystery/thrillers that make you care about the investigator and their private life just as much as you care about the whodunnit. Roxane is bisexual and juggling two unhealthy relationships, one with a man and the other with a woman. She also has a drinking problem that is starting to affect her work. Roxane's messy, imperfect life makes her all the more interesting. She's set up as someone I would like to read more about - not just to see her solve crimes and get her hands dirty, but because I care about her. I'm really glad to hear there are more books planned for this series.Some of the reveals are not difficult to guess, but I've said this maybe a hundred times: the best mysteries are those where it doesn't matter if you work out who did it. And here, it doesn't matter. The story stands strong without leaning heavily on its reveals; it is so much more than its outcome.So if you like small town mysteries, charmingly screwed-up private investigators, cases that expand and get bigger and bigger, and a touch of weird phone calls and creepy houses, I would highly recommend this book. Tana French aside, it's easily the best mystery/thriller I've read in a while. Blog | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | Youtube
    more
  • Deanna
    May 26, 2017
    My reviews can also be seen at: https://deesradreadsandreviews.wordpr...Private investigator Roxane (one N) Weary finds things for a living."Objects. People. Answers. Whatever needs to be found."And she's VERY good at itShe gets a call from a woman, Danielle Stockton who tells Roxane that she needs her help. Roxane asks her what she needs to find."The girl who can get my brother off death row."Danielle's brother, Brad Stockton was convicted of murdering his girlfriend's mother and father 15 year My reviews can also be seen at: https://deesradreadsandreviews.wordpr...Private investigator Roxane (one N) Weary finds things for a living."Objects. People. Answers. Whatever needs to be found."And she's VERY good at itShe gets a call from a woman, Danielle Stockton who tells Roxane that she needs her help. Roxane asks her what she needs to find."The girl who can get my brother off death row."Danielle's brother, Brad Stockton was convicted of murdering his girlfriend's mother and father 15 years ago. That same night his girlfriend 17-year-old Sarah Cook disappeared. Most people believe that he also killed Sarah and that her body just hasn't been found.Apparently this was an open and shut case with evidence pointing directly to Brad Stockton. At the time Brad was no real help to himself. When others asked him if he thought Sarah could have done it, he refused to consider the idea even though it may have helped him with his own case.So why is his sister looking for Roxane's help now?Her brother is due to be executed in just a few weeks and she will do anything she can help him. This includes spending money she doesn't really have hiring Roxane. What's more, Danielle believes she saw Sarah Cook recently. The sighting seems unbelievable considering there has been no other sightings in the last 15 years.Is Danielle imagining things or is it actually possible that she saw Sarah?Is it possible that Brad Stockton is innocent? And if he is who is the real killer?Even Roxane thinks he's probably guilty. But she takes the case as she needs the money. It's been nine months since her father passed away. Frank Weary was a cop for 38 years and was killed in the line of duty. We learn more about her relationship with her father, brothers and mother. She knew her father didn't really approve of her line of work and she often felt off-kilter in her relationship with him. Roxane's also having a tough time in the relationship department.With everything going on the bottle is beginning to become too good of a friend...Roxane has her issues but she also has determination, a big heart, and she really is damn good at what she does.Then she starts to see some connections between Sarah Cook and a couple of other cases, one of which her father had worked on. When another local girl goes missing, Roxane becomes even more determined to figure out what is going on, even if it means putting herself in danger.But is it too late for Brad and Danielle Stockton? And why are some people so insistent that Roxane stop hanging around and asking questions?It took me a little while to get into the story and I had some confusion when the other cases were introduced. I found it hard keeping everyone straight. But after a while it all started to flow pretty well. The last few chapters of the book were especially intense and exciting. I felt like I was holding my breath at times. Overall, this was a solid, entertaining, and exciting read that I was quick to devour. And if the #1 after the title is anything to go on, it looks like we may be hearing more from PI Roxane Weary. I am looking forward to it.Thank you Minotaur Books and Kristen Lepionka for providing an advanced readers copy of this book for me to read in exchange for my honest review.
    more
  • karen
    November 8, 2016
    i will be interviewing mizz lepionka for LARB soon! wheee!My father always had a drink in his hand. It was part of him, like his broad shoulders or his temper or his antifreeze-blue eyes. It was the catalyst to every good time and every bad time he ever had. It was a magnifying glass he put himself under, revealing the truth of him. It was the only thing we had in common, the only thing we ever agreed on.this is an unexpectedly strong debut. debut novels are always a risk: synopses are written w i will be interviewing mizz lepionka for LARB soon! wheee!My father always had a drink in his hand. It was part of him, like his broad shoulders or his temper or his antifreeze-blue eyes. It was the catalyst to every good time and every bad time he ever had. It was a magnifying glass he put himself under, revealing the truth of him. It was the only thing we had in common, the only thing we ever agreed on.this is an unexpectedly strong debut. debut novels are always a risk: synopses are written with the express purpose of enticing a reader, and blurbs are often the result of author friendships or other writers in the publisher's stable doing a favor for the team, and i usually doubt their sincerity. so, even though the wonderful james renner blurbed this book enthusiastically, i went into this a wary reader. part of my apprehension was because i wasn't in love with the cover (i'm totally shallow, i know), but also because of the character. going into it knowing she was a bisexual private investigator with emotional damage and a drinking problem, i worried that it would be:A) a clichéd genderswap of the noir archetype - sam spade in a skirt.B) romantic suspense heavy on the romance (or at least on the intercoursing), light on the crime aspect.C) some sort of lisbeth salander nonsense - a loose cannon of a woman operating outside of the law, defined by casual sex and violence with no emotional depth other than generic damage. but it is not even one of those things.i've read so many crime fiction/psych suspense novels this year featuring female investigators, whether professional or of the amateur sleuth variety, and nearly every one of them has been flat or stock in nature. which is fine for someone like me who can focus on the story aspect of a book even if it has weak characters, but is still a little disappointing. the only one i've read recently that came across as a real flesh-and-blood woman was conway in tana french's The Trespasser. but now i can add roxane weary to that tally. the two definitely wouldn't be friends if they met at some mystery novel character convention, but they would absolutely respect each other. for lepionka to have succeeded in both story and character her first time out is very encouraging for the future of her career. sure, roxane has daddy issues, which can be a cliché in the "female in a traditionally male-dominated profession" character type, but her cop father was a complicated, near-legendary man, and his recent death in the line of duty left many people carrying the weight of issues - his wife, his sons, his former partner, and others with whom he'd worked in his 38 years on the force; people who revered him, despite his gruff, unfuzzy nature. roxane and her brother andrew, in particular, find themselves in the same emotionally conflicted place:"I think… that after losing Dad, you just don't want to pick back up and keep going."I didn't respond right away. Then I said, "That's not true.""It is.""Why?""You're scared. That it would mean you're as over it as you're going to get."I swallowed my second shot and thought about that. Neither of us had a good relationship with Frank, but that didn't make it any easier. In fact, it might've made it worse. "Aren't you?" I said."Roxane, I'm fucking terrified."roxane became a private investigator despite her father's feelings on the matter, and she's very good at what she does. however, after his death she's been hitting the bottle harder than usual; wallowing in angry grief and not at her professional best when her brother matt sends a client her way; a woman named danielle stockton - the sister of a man who has been on death row for fifteen years after allegedly killing his girlfriend sarah's parents, and presumably sarah as well, who went missing the same night. danielle swears she saw sarah the other day, and needs someone to track her down, and soon, since brad's execution date has just been scheduled and she only has two months to prove his innocence. the police have plenty of evidence incriminating brad, and are unwilling to reopen the investigation, so danielle is desperate for assistance outside the police force. desperation gets you roxane weary, struggling to cope even without the stress of investigating a case everyone considers solved, especially when she discovers a connection between sarah's disappearance and one of her father's cold cases.already, the book has plenty to keep the reader interested - the ticking clock, the compromised sleuth, the shadow of her father as she follows in his footsteps… there's also excellent dramatic friction between roxane and the local police force, who do not want her investigating this matter. belmont, ohio is a town 13 sq. miles in size, where the police have little to do apart from responding to smalltown complaints, as roxane discovers when she gets herself a police scanner: One thing was immediately clear: people in Belmont called the cops a lot.Even shortly after ten in the morning, there were complaints about noise, about traffic jams at afternoon kindergarten drop-off at the Montessori school, about a suspicious individual entering a neighbor's house.("I advised the caller that the individual was actually the neighbor, wearing a new coat.")the cops don't want one of their few "big" cases undermined, and they have a professional disdain for private investigators, who although licensed, are not part of their blue family. roxane is dismissed as a pest; an amateur, despite her impressive track record.this is literary crime fiction; it's not the kind of book that ends with a cliffhanger or a huge action sequence at every chapter's end, nor is there any skimping on character development. it's a more mature, steadily-paced novel that borrows elements from the noir sensibility without aping its stiff and stylized tone. this is noir with curves.* the investigation process is handled well - the case unfolds unpredictably but not unrealistically. there are plenty of red herrings and misleading clues causing roxane to make some missteps and the reader is locked right in it with her. she does indeed prove to be an excellent investigator without coming across as a contrived mastermind solving the case without breaking a sweat. she's smart, but she's not infallible, and she makes many mistakes and errors in judgment along the way, but she's far from bumbling. even better - she gets hangovers and suffers like a human does, instead of just bouncing back to work the next day like some superhero. that's the kind of stuff that excites me as a reader, that she's a believable, human character, and even more refreshing, she reads like a real woman instead of some neutered or hypermasculine figure. she's certainly not girly, but she's a woman, psychologically fleshed-out with a complex personal life full of self-sabotage and discomfort with emotional intimacy. i loved the relationship between roxane and her father's former partner tom, and even more so her relationship with her brother andrew, which felt so damn genuine in its mix of respect and familial protectiveness."Roxane, you're a grown-ass woman and you can do whatever you want," he said, "but you're also my baby sister and I worry about you."and yes - she has both a male and a female lover, but there's no gratuitous sex slapped in just to keep the reader distracted from a ho-hum crime plot, nor is her life some series of anonymous hookups. both relationships matter to her; they provide something essential to her, flawed as both relationships are. The night of the funeral had been a protest fuck, an act of defiance. But we'd seen each other quite a few times in the nine months since. There was nothing to it, just stress relief, pain relief, all of the above. But I still needed those things.and her need is deeper than she allows herself to admit.a firecracker of a debut. and not one of those pussy little sparklers you give to kids -it's just an all-around excellent piece of crime fiction, and i'm hoping lepionka returns to this character in future books, because she's a breath of fresh air in a sea of half-assed, forgettable female sleuths. also, i simply must applaud her taste in food, because a hot dog topped with sriracha cream cheese and Fritos and a side of Tater Tots sounds like something i need to be eating right now and also every night forever.* i wish i could say that it is like megan abbott's excellent girlnoir, because comparisons are good for excitement-generating, but it's not. it's great in its own way, but abbott sticks to the noir tradition more formally, while giving it her own spin.***********************************************a high four that might even turn into a five once i give it a second pass for review purposes. which review i've been dillydallying with all week, so it should happen soon. but for now - definitely one for your to-read list. sez this lady.
    more
  • Arah-Lynda
    April 8, 2017
    Wow,  I needed that.  This one has me rethinking  ratings I have given to other recent Thriller type reads.  I mean whoa,  it blew them to hell out of the water.Meet Roxane Weary, private investigator still struggling with the death of her cop father, struggles that she  drowns in whiskey and then  accepts a case that involves finding evidence of innocence of her client’s brother, Brad Stockton, currently cooling his heels on death row but the date of execution has been set and time is running o Wow,  I needed that.  This one has me rethinking  ratings I have given to other recent Thriller type reads.  I mean whoa,  it blew them to hell out of the water.Meet Roxane Weary, private investigator still struggling with the death of her cop father, struggles that she  drowns in whiskey and then  accepts a case that involves finding evidence of innocence of her client’s brother, Brad Stockton, currently cooling his heels on death row but the date of execution has been set and time is running out for Brad.The evidence comes in the form of Brad’s one time girlfriend Sarah, whose parents murder he has been found guilty of committing.  Danielle, Roxane’s client believes she saw Sarah recently at a gas station.  Sarah has been missing since the night of her parents murder and is for most practical purposes considered deceased.  If Brad knows Sarah’s current whereabouts he is not talking.    Roxane is having a hard enough time dealing with her own issues: that include of course her Dad and her Mom and brothers, her Father’s one time partner Tom with whom she is intimate as well as a past girlfriend who seems to enjoy messing with Roxane’s head.  Add in a missing girl who has been just that, missing,  lo these many years and a local small town police force who see no point in Roxane’s investigation into an old murder that has already been solved.  They are much  less than helpful.  Roxane is the star of this show.  You cannot help but love her and root for her, perhaps because she reads as so perfectly flawed,  so wonderfully fallible and damn human.  Her personal life is in chaos and Roxane does not appear to be in control.  She drinks, blacks out  and puts herself in one compromising position after another as she trips around attempting to validate her client’s claim,  but now another young woman that Roxane has met recently through her search, suddenly goes missing.  The stakes could not be higher and Roxane is stumbling big time.    And Brad’s clock?  Still ticking. I did it, I stumbled right along with Roxane and despite her alcoholic daze, foolish blunders, wrong assumptions and poor choices I was rooting for her to hold her personal demons at bay long enough to get a grip. I'm just going to say it. I loved the way this ended, an all round success.  And yes, I would do it again in a heartbeat. A Full Woot! I owe a huge word of thanks to karen brissette for first putting this on my radar and then facilitating an electronic arc of this novel.  I would also like to thank Shailyn Tavella of  Minotaur books and NetGalley. The Last Place You Look  releases June 13, 2017.  You do not want to miss this one.Read karen's review here: https://www.goodreads.com/review/show...
    more
  • Melissa ♥ Dog Lover ♥ Martin
    May 25, 2017
    This is one of those books where you want the answers now! I did have an idea of some things that were going on when some other certain things started to happen. Don't you just love my meanderings =) Roxane is a PI and she's hired by Danielle who is the sister of a man on death row, Brad Stockton. Supposedly, 15 years-ago he killed his girlfriends parents and the said girlfriend, Sarah Cook, disappeared. No one knows what happened to her. But there was some evidence against Brad that sealed his This is one of those books where you want the answers now! I did have an idea of some things that were going on when some other certain things started to happen. Don't you just love my meanderings =) Roxane is a PI and she's hired by Danielle who is the sister of a man on death row, Brad Stockton. Supposedly, 15 years-ago he killed his girlfriends parents and the said girlfriend, Sarah Cook, disappeared. No one knows what happened to her. But there was some evidence against Brad that sealed his deal. He was just a young kid and had no idea what was going on. Roxane's father was a cop and he had died recently. She was still getting over this and would spend some time with her mom and brothers from time to time. It was kinda funny when they were all together. Made me think of family times with my grandparents. Anyway, Roxane goes through some of her dads old case files and she finds some stuff on Brad and Sarah. She also finds some other things that are very curious, very curious indeed. There are other things that are linked to people. Geez, I want to tell y'all some stuff so bad but I can't, I want you to read them yourself. This book has a great story line, a sadistic person that is off their nut, drinking, slight sexual situations with a guy and girl that are both cared for (not at the same time!), and just a really sad story all around when it comes to the end and everything is revealed. I enjoyed it and I think other mystery peeps will too =)MY BLOG: Melissa Martin's Reading List
    more
  • Dan Schwent
    February 10, 2017
    When Roxane Weary takes on a case to find a woman that's supposedly been dead for fifteen years to clear her incarcerated boyfriend's name before he's executed, she's in way over her head. Can Roxane put her alcohol problem and her pain over her father's death aside long enough to crack the case?Every time I try to quit accepting ARCs, something like this falls into my lap. Thanks again, karen!I've been out of the detective fiction game for the past few months for the most part. Once you read a When Roxane Weary takes on a case to find a woman that's supposedly been dead for fifteen years to clear her incarcerated boyfriend's name before he's executed, she's in way over her head. Can Roxane put her alcohol problem and her pain over her father's death aside long enough to crack the case?Every time I try to quit accepting ARCs, something like this falls into my lap. Thanks again, karen!I've been out of the detective fiction game for the past few months for the most part. Once you read a couple hundred crime books, everything starts seeming the same. Then a gem like this comes along.The Last Place You Look stars Roxane Weary, a woman reeling from her cop father's death, coping by drinking a small ocean of whiskey. Between an ex-lover named Catherine that continuously toys with her to her current companion, her deceased father's partner, Roxane's life is a train wreck. She's just the type of girl you can count on to keep a man from getting executed, right?Roxane reminds me of some unholy offspring of George Pelecanos's Nick Stefanos and Sara Gran's Claire DeWitt. If only she spent as much time detecting as she did throwing back slugs of whiskey... I kid. I loved Roxane, from her complex relationships with her family members to her questionable taste in sex partners.In between black out drunks, she finds time to get wrapped up in quite a case. What seems like one murder ages ago winds up being quite a bit more. Roxane goes through both physical and emotional wringers multiple times on the way to one of the better crime fiction endings I've read in a long time.One of the hallmarks of a great crime book, for me, anyway, is when the author makes me feel like a rube when the big reveal comes. I thought I had the killer pegged really early but that turned out to be a read herring. I pondered the title while cooking dinner and still didn't tip to who the killer was. Well done, Kristen. Well done.I don't have a single bad things to say about this book. I'm greatly looking forward to reading more of Roxane's drunken escapades in the future. Five out of five stars.
    more
  • Carol
    March 26, 2017
    4+ Stars.....Ok.....sign me up for this new series!To start things off, I was feeling that touch of mystery-noir in the air, but nope (for me) mystery-crime-thriller is what we have here, and a protagonist with a complex and tumultuous life style.....to put it mildly.Roxane Weary is a licensed P.I. She likes her whiskey neat (and plentiful) and her sexual preferences diversified.She finds things for a living and happens to be in desperate need of a job so has taken on a difficult assignment to l 4+ Stars.....Ok.....sign me up for this new series!To start things off, I was feeling that touch of mystery-noir in the air, but nope (for me) mystery-crime-thriller is what we have here, and a protagonist with a complex and tumultuous life style.....to put it mildly.Roxane Weary is a licensed P.I. She likes her whiskey neat (and plentiful) and her sexual preferences diversified.She finds things for a living and happens to be in desperate need of a job so has taken on a difficult assignment to locate one long-time missing (but recently seen) Sarah Cook in hopes of saving a man's life on death row, but the search is complicated and her nosing around leads to big trouble and a shocking conclusion of a case for Roxane.....and the reader.THE LAST PLACE YOU LOOK is a debut novel and (IMHO) going to be one hell of a popular series. I know the direction I'd like her love interest to go (but probably won't???) and have a sneaking suspicion were going to find out even more about her father's in-the-line-of-duty demise. As for Roxane's family...they're an interesting one, as is her relationship with them. Can't wait to find out more!Many thanks to NetGalley and St. Martin's Press for the opportunity to read this ARC in exchange for an honest review!
    more
  • Paromjit
    May 30, 2017
    This is an atmospheric and stunning crime fiction debut set in Columbus, Ohio. PI Roxane Weary has a gift for finding things, but hasn't had a job for a while. Her brother, Matt, sends Danielle Stockton to Roxane. Danielle is the sister of Brad, who is on death row for the murder of Garrett and Elaine Cook, and is suspected of the murder of Sarah Cook, his girlfriend. However, Brad will not have a bad word said about Sarah, even if it could save his life. Danielle is convinced she has seen Sarah This is an atmospheric and stunning crime fiction debut set in Columbus, Ohio. PI Roxane Weary has a gift for finding things, but hasn't had a job for a while. Her brother, Matt, sends Danielle Stockton to Roxane. Danielle is the sister of Brad, who is on death row for the murder of Garrett and Elaine Cook, and is suspected of the murder of Sarah Cook, his girlfriend. However, Brad will not have a bad word said about Sarah, even if it could save his life. Danielle is convinced she has seen Sarah at a gas station recently and she wants Roxane to find evidence that will clear Brad, but time is running out. Roxane's father, Frank, a cop, has recently died, she is griefstricken but full of conflicting emotions and it is beyond her capabilities to talk about her relationship with her father and what he meant to her. Her unresolved feelings bring forth anger and hostility to those around her, including her family. She is hitting the bottle too frequently in her attempts to cope and her personal life is a car crash revolving around a woman who is no good for her and having sex with Tom, Frank's partner, which ends. Tom, though is always there for Roxane, despite having a new partner, Pam. Roxane struggles to find any evidence of Sarah being at the gas station and instead looks at the case from a different angle, and finds stab victim Mallory Evans with a similar MO. She discovers that this was an unsolved case for her father. The Belmont police are unhappy that she is looking into Brad and Mallory's case, and go to inordinate lengths to run her out of the area. Another body is discovered and another young local girl goes missing. Roxane is tenacious and determined, but can she find the missing young woman, solve her father's old case and save Brad? This is a top notch crime thriller, with a compelling central character in Roxane. Roxane is a deeply flawed character, having to pick herself up from drunken blackouts, but I rooted for her and wanted her to deal with her demons. She eventually comes closer to achieving this by working the Brad investigation and by her close, if fractious, relationships with Tom and her family. I also loved Roxane's positive relationship with the young Shelby. I am really looking forward to reading the next book in the series. A brilliant read that I highly recommend. Thanks to Faber and Faber for an ARC.
    more
  • Meredith
    April 23, 2017
    The Last Place You Look is book one in a dark and gritty mystery series driven by an extremely flawed, yet likable heroine. Roxane Weary is dealing (or more like not dealing) with the aftermath her revered Police Officer father’s death. Roxane, a struggling PI, is barely holding it together, existing mostly in drunken states. She has pushed those who are closest to her away and is hanging on by thread. When she takes on a case that seems hopeless, she doesn’t realize how it will change her life The Last Place You Look is book one in a dark and gritty mystery series driven by an extremely flawed, yet likable heroine. Roxane Weary is dealing (or more like not dealing) with the aftermath her revered Police Officer father’s death. Roxane, a struggling PI, is barely holding it together, existing mostly in drunken states. She has pushed those who are closest to her away and is hanging on by thread. When she takes on a case that seems hopeless, she doesn’t realize how it will change her life, as it brings her closer to her father and forces her to come to terms with who she is.Roxane’s character is what makes this book shine. She is a strong, intelligent female protagonist, but she’s also supreme mess that I couldn’t help but root for. Not only is her personal and professional life a mess, her love life is equally messy and adds an interesting layer to her character. I highly recommend The Last Place You Look-- Roxane’s character is intriguing and the mystery held my attention. I’m looking forward to reading the next book in the series and seeing how Roxane’s character develops. I received a copy of this book from NetGalley and the publisher in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Sophie Hannah
    January 17, 2017
    The most enjoyable and well written book I've read for a long time - brilliant! Thoroughly recommended. private eye thriller about a terrible miscarriage of justice, with a protagonist I am v keen to see more of!
  • Liz Barnsley
    March 18, 2017
    So I read this today which should tell you how addictive it is.Top notch Crime fiction right here, really excellent debut, totally engaging main protagonist and a story that is twistier than a pretzel but still entirely authentic and utterly believable. Absolutely bang on writing style that just perfectly tells a beautifully plotted story.Full review nearer publication. One to watch!
    more
  • Kristy
    May 23, 2017
    Roxane Weary is good at finding things. She always has been. So when she's hired by Brad Stockton's sister, Danielle, to find Brad's teenage girlfriend, Sarah, she doesn't think it will be a difficult case. Danielle is convinced she spotted Sarah at a gas station--despite the fact she disappeared fifteen years ago. Meanwhile, Brad is in jail--set to soon be executed--for the brutal murder of Sarah's parents the night Sarah disappeared; the prosecution also alleged that Brad killed Sarah as well. Roxane Weary is good at finding things. She always has been. So when she's hired by Brad Stockton's sister, Danielle, to find Brad's teenage girlfriend, Sarah, she doesn't think it will be a difficult case. Danielle is convinced she spotted Sarah at a gas station--despite the fact she disappeared fifteen years ago. Meanwhile, Brad is in jail--set to soon be executed--for the brutal murder of Sarah's parents the night Sarah disappeared; the prosecution also alleged that Brad killed Sarah as well. Brad did not put up much of a fight in his defense, but Danielle refuses to give up. Roxane quickly becomes caught up in Sarah's story and finds ties between her disappearance and other girls in the seemingly idyllic town of Belmont-- as well as connections to cases worked by her father, a police officer. This is just a great book. It's easy to read and funny, albeit dark and sad at times. Roxane's dark, sarcastic humor is perfect. She gives off a Kinsey Millhone type vibe, if Kinsey was a functioning alcoholic with major Daddy issues. She's a complicated character (a complicated, real, female character - so refreshing!). She's bisexual (so wonderful to see reflected realistically in a novel). The other characters are well-formed and range from awful to sweet, but they support Roxane and the story perfectly. As for the plot, it draws you immediately and keeps you constantly guessing, wondering what people know, who is telling the truth, and what's the actual story. I actually didn't figure this one out, so kudos to Lepionka. There are a few amazing "aha" moments that basically made me gasp. The town of Belmont is creepy and dark, and you'll find yourself completely wrapped up in its twisted, sad characters. It looks like this is the first in a series, and I couldn't be happier; I can't wait to see where Roxane is headed next. Definitely recommend this one to mystery and thriller fans alike. I received a copy of this novel from the publisher and Netgalley (thank you!); it is available everywhere as of 06/13/2017.Blog ~ Twitter ~ Facebook ~ Google+
    more
  • Lisa
    January 17, 2017
    *author provided me an ARC to read/review*What an amazing book. I read it in the span of 4-5 hours simply because I could not put it down. I tried (girl's got to sleep) but I had to pick it up again because I had to know how it ended. I'm usually very good at spotting twists/turns in a plot, but Lepionka fooled me. You won't see that ending coming.Perhaps, though, my favorite thing about this new series is Roxane. Let me spell it out - she is fierce, she struggles with dependency on alcohol, she *author provided me an ARC to read/review*What an amazing book. I read it in the span of 4-5 hours simply because I could not put it down. I tried (girl's got to sleep) but I had to pick it up again because I had to know how it ended. I'm usually very good at spotting twists/turns in a plot, but Lepionka fooled me. You won't see that ending coming.Perhaps, though, my favorite thing about this new series is Roxane. Let me spell it out - she is fierce, she struggles with dependency on alcohol, she has complicated family, and she is bisexual *swoons* Lepionka makes Roxane leap from the pages with her personality, vices, and wit, and I can't wait to read future books.
    more
  • Amanda Rawson Hill
    November 13, 2016
    Oh my goodness, be prepared to stay up late to finish this one! Tension, a flawed and intriguing detective of an MC, and a great plot twist! Love, love, love!
  • Amanda Jane
    May 12, 2017
    What a debut! Loved everything about it especially the protagonist Roxane! Review to come
  • Thebooktrail
    April 11, 2017
    Races you to the end as if you're in a racing car whizzing around Columbus, Ohio. From scenes on death row to the dark corners and narrow streets of the city, this is a search fr the truth but there are many a dark alley and you never know who you're going to meet.That Roxanne is one of the most vibrant and fascinating characters I've met in a long while. She's up against it from the start, has hardly any one supporting her, suspicious to everyone....and did she really need to have a drink probl Races you to the end as if you're in a racing car whizzing around Columbus, Ohio. From scenes on death row to the dark corners and narrow streets of the city, this is a search fr the truth but there are many a dark alley and you never know who you're going to meet.That Roxanne is one of the most vibrant and fascinating characters I've met in a long while. She's up against it from the start, has hardly any one supporting her, suspicious to everyone....and did she really need to have a drink problem? She's complex and messed up enough with out that cliche!A gripping novel from start to finish. What did really happen to Sarah? Did Brad really do it? Buckle up and get on your marks and this novel is going to fly. Full review nearer the time
    more
  • Elaine Tomasso
    March 27, 2017
    I would like to thank Netgalley and Faber & Faber for an advance copy of The Last Place You Look, a PI novel set in Columbus, Ohio featuring Roxane Wearly.Roxane is a PI who hasn't done much investigating but lots of drinking since her father died 9 months earlier so when Danielle Stockton approaches her with a strange story and a chequebook she feels compelled to accept. 15 years ago her brother, Brad, was convicted of his girlfriend Sarah's parents' murder and it was assumed that he had ki I would like to thank Netgalley and Faber & Faber for an advance copy of The Last Place You Look, a PI novel set in Columbus, Ohio featuring Roxane Wearly.Roxane is a PI who hasn't done much investigating but lots of drinking since her father died 9 months earlier so when Danielle Stockton approaches her with a strange story and a chequebook she feels compelled to accept. 15 years ago her brother, Brad, was convicted of his girlfriend Sarah's parents' murder and it was assumed that he had killed Sarah too as she disappeared. Now, Danielle believes she saw Sarah Cook recently and wants Roxane to find her and save Brad from his impending execution.I thoroughly enjoyed The Last Place You Look. Told in the first person by Roxane the novel has an intimate feel as the reader follows her through a series of adventures and misadventures. What comes shining through is her gritty, determined personality despite her lack of self confidence. She is an attractive personality whom I hope we will see more of in the future.The plot has plenty of twists and turns as it broadens out from a simple missing person case into something much darker and more sinister. It held my attention throughout until close to the end when the tension of the situation forced me to walk away for a few minutes! I lived every second with Roxane, followed her reasoning, groaned at some her decisions and was satisfied at the outcome. What more could you ask for in a novel?The Last Place You Look is a good read - I can see it selling well in the supermarkets - and a very accomplished debut so I have no hesitation in recommending it.
    more
  • Bonnye Reed
    March 17, 2017
    GN I received a free electronic copy of this novel from Netgalley, Kristen Lepionka, and Minotaur Books of New York in exchange for an honest review. Thank you all, for sharing your hard work with me.I have really enjoyed this protagonist, Roxane Weary, and look forward to more novels featuring her. If John D. McDonald had had women PI's, she would be a feminine Travis McGee - a little hard, a little scarred, and a mindset that fully understands bad guys. This is a fast read, with lingering echo GN I received a free electronic copy of this novel from Netgalley, Kristen Lepionka, and Minotaur Books of New York in exchange for an honest review. Thank you all, for sharing your hard work with me.I have really enjoyed this protagonist, Roxane Weary, and look forward to more novels featuring her. If John D. McDonald had had women PI's, she would be a feminine Travis McGee - a little hard, a little scarred, and a mindset that fully understands bad guys. This is a fast read, with lingering echoes of dialog and plots. Bring them on, Ms. Lepionka! We need more of Roxane. pub date June 13, 2017Minotaur Books of New York
    more
  • Aleasha
    April 17, 2017
    What a brilliant debut by Kristen Lepinoka! 'The Last Place You Look' is totally addictive, I read it in one day! Whilst the material is brilliant and twisty, the tale of Roxane Weary, a private detective, is an easy read and will pull you right in from the beginning. Roxane is approached by the sister of Brad Stockton - a man on death row, asking her if she will look into his case one last time before his death approaches. The sister, Danielle, believes with everything in her that her brother d What a brilliant debut by Kristen Lepinoka! 'The Last Place You Look' is totally addictive, I read it in one day! Whilst the material is brilliant and twisty, the tale of Roxane Weary, a private detective, is an easy read and will pull you right in from the beginning. Roxane is approached by the sister of Brad Stockton - a man on death row, asking her if she will look into his case one last time before his death approaches. The sister, Danielle, believes with everything in her that her brother did not kill his girlfriends parents in a brutal double murder. As Roxane begins to look into Brad's case, things begin to not add up and Roxane feels a sense of foreboding, as if she is being followed or watched. I love these kind of crime fiction books, that delve into past cases and dig things up that were otherwise lost. I won't spoil the ending or give away anything in regards to whether Brad did or did not do anything, but I will say that this novel is delightfully twisty, with a complex lead character and addictive writing. Thank you to netgalley and the publisher for an ARC in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Evelyn
    April 6, 2017
    PI Roxane Weary is still hurting from her cop father's recent death when she's asked to investigate a death row inmate's murder conviction by a friend of her brother. It's been fifteen years, but the small town of Belmont holds a lot of secrets and no one wants Roxane anywhere near--especially the police.This is a good, solid first novel and I will definitely look forward to the next one in the series. Set in a fictional town near Columbus, OH.
    more
  • Jenny Ferguson
    March 31, 2017
    THE LAST PLACE YOU LOOK promises a mystery that will solve a long-ago double murder and possibly get a man off of death row. Author Kristen Lepionka’s voice is one that’s savvy and smooth, one you want to listen to, and the mystery set up is compelling and urgent. After all, no one wants to see an innocent man—if he is innocent—suffer the death penalty. Roxane, our down-on-her-luck-and-drowning-herself-in-whiskey detective, is a great main character to follow: she’s got baggage, and she’s got a THE LAST PLACE YOU LOOK promises a mystery that will solve a long-ago double murder and possibly get a man off of death row. Author Kristen Lepionka’s voice is one that’s savvy and smooth, one you want to listen to, and the mystery set up is compelling and urgent. After all, no one wants to see an innocent man—if he is innocent—suffer the death penalty. Roxane, our down-on-her-luck-and-drowning-herself-in-whiskey detective, is a great main character to follow: she’s got baggage, and she’s got a heart, but does she have the skills to solve this dead-end while she’s grieving? Plus, the clock is ticking. So friends, readers, humans, I’m happy to report that THE LAST PLACE YOU LOOK does not disappoint! This is one that mystery lovers everywhere need to read. Plus, it’s set in Ohio—part of America that can get ignored for say L.A. or NYC—and it’s so nice to read a book with a bisexual protagonist where her bisexuality isn’t the point of the book. THE LAST PLACE YOU LOOK is refreshing, with a plot that twists, and a protagonist that you’re rooting for!Last tidbit. It’s a little thing, but it’s super endearing: Roxane tells us what’s she eating often enough to remind us that we eat three or so meals a day, and I’ve wanted to try almost every meal!I was lucky to get an ARC from NetGalley, but I’ve still preordered THE LAST PLACE YOU LOOK. I want this one on my bookshelf forever! Oh and I can’t wait for Roxane’s next case!!
    more
  • Tracy Gold
    May 23, 2017
    "The Last Place You Look" kept me turning the pages to find out what happened to Private Investigator Roxane Weary and the cast of characters in this dark, intriguing world Lepionka built around Columbus and Belmont, Ohio. Roxane Weary is pulled out of her lethargy and grief over her father's death by a client in need: the client's brother is going to be executed for murders he says he didn't commit in two months, and the client thinks she saw one of his alleged victims at the gas station. Along "The Last Place You Look" kept me turning the pages to find out what happened to Private Investigator Roxane Weary and the cast of characters in this dark, intriguing world Lepionka built around Columbus and Belmont, Ohio. Roxane Weary is pulled out of her lethargy and grief over her father's death by a client in need: the client's brother is going to be executed for murders he says he didn't commit in two months, and the client thinks she saw one of his alleged victims at the gas station. Along the route, Roxane is led down many wrong--yet very convincing and fun to read--paths, until she finally discovers the truth in a riveting climax. I enjoyed watching the plot unfold, and seeing Roxane struggle to overcome her complicated grief over her father's death. I also appreciated that Roxane had both a male and female love interest--something you don't get to see too much in mysteries! I can't wait to see what will happen with Roxane in future books.
    more
  • Pgchuis
    March 25, 2017
    I received a copy of this novel from the publisher via NetGalley.Roxane, a private investigator, is hired by Danielle, the sister of a man (Brad) on death row, who is about to be executed. 15 years ago Brad was convicted of the murder of his girlfriend's parents. His girlfriend, Sarah, disappeared on the night of the murders, but Danielle believes that she recently saw Sarah at a local gas station. Roxane has two months before the scheduled execution to find Sarah and thereby (hopefully) clear B I received a copy of this novel from the publisher via NetGalley.Roxane, a private investigator, is hired by Danielle, the sister of a man (Brad) on death row, who is about to be executed. 15 years ago Brad was convicted of the murder of his girlfriend's parents. His girlfriend, Sarah, disappeared on the night of the murders, but Danielle believes that she recently saw Sarah at a local gas station. Roxane has two months before the scheduled execution to find Sarah and thereby (hopefully) clear Brad's name.I thought this was an excellent novel; Roxane was a fully-fleshed out character with an infuriating but loving family, believable romantic entanglements and a back story which felt concrete. At one point I worried that she was becoming unbearably self-destructive, but thankfully she pulled things together. The plot was coherent and easy to follow and a good mixture of investigation and adventure.Highly recommended; I look forward to the next instalment.
    more
  • Natalie
    May 23, 2017
    A very well-written contemporary take on the classic crime-fiction genre that still manages to feel like a bit of a throw-back. This book features a great lead in the whip-smart but slightly damaged female PI, Roxane Weary. Definitely looking forward to more from this series and this author! I really enjoyed this book :)
    more
  • Rachel (TheShadesofOrange)
    May 8, 2017
    4.0 StarsThis is an compelling mystery novel following a fantastic bisexual main character.I requested this book from the publisher. Watch out for my full written & video reviews closer to the release date.
  • Lea
    March 12, 2017
    Thank you Kristen Lepionka and Netgalley for a copy in exchange for an honest review.I read the first chapter and put it down. I read it again and put it down. The third time I didn't move until I had read the final page. What a fantastic writer you are Kristen. You now have a new fan of Roxane"s (one "n") and I am definitely looking forward to her next case.. I highly recommend this book.
    more
  • Elle Jauffret
    October 26, 2016
    I love Roxane Weary, the novel's protagonist . She is a PI like no other, with depth and complexity.*I read this book before it was published*
Write a review