Down Among the Sticks and Bones (Wayward Children, #2)
Twin sisters Jack and Jill were seventeen when they found their way home and were packed off to Eleanor West’s Home for Wayward Children.This is the story of what happened first…Jacqueline was her mother’s perfect daughter—polite and quiet, always dressed as a princess. If her mother was sometimes a little strict, it’s because crafting the perfect daughter takes discipline.Jillian was her father’s perfect daughter—adventurous, thrill-seeking, and a bit of a tom-boy. He really would have preferred a son, but you work with what you've got.They were five when they learned that grown-ups can’t be trusted.They were twelve when they walked down the impossible staircase and discovered that the pretense of love can never be enough to prepare you a life filled with magic in a land filled with mad scientists and death and choices.

Down Among the Sticks and Bones (Wayward Children, #2) Details

TitleDown Among the Sticks and Bones (Wayward Children, #2)
Author
FormatHardcover
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJun 13th, 2017
PublisherTor.com
ISBN0765392038
ISBN-139780765392039
Number of pages176 pages
Rating
GenreFantasy, Fiction

Down Among the Sticks and Bones (Wayward Children, #2) Review

  • karen
    September 28, 2016
    this woman….according to miranda, between her two author-personas; Seanan McGuire and Mira Grant, this woman has SIX books coming out in 2017. which is crazy. and some of them, like this one, are on the short side, but they are in no way flimsy, tossed-off sketches. the amount of thick detail and lingering emotional resonance here’ll make your head spin. ‘cuz while this one may be short, it sure ain’t sweet.i mean, it’s sweet in the “OH MY GOD, MY HEART IS BREAKING” way that appeals to me as a r this woman….according to miranda, between her two author-personas; Seanan McGuire and Mira Grant, this woman has SIX books coming out in 2017. which is crazy. and some of them, like this one, are on the short side, but they are in no way flimsy, tossed-off sketches. the amount of thick detail and lingering emotional resonance here’ll make your head spin. ‘cuz while this one may be short, it sure ain’t sweet.i mean, it’s sweet in the “OH MY GOD, MY HEART IS BREAKING” way that appeals to me as a reader, but it isn’t a sugar and spice fairytale - this one’s got teeth for miles.it takes place before the events of Every Heart a Doorway, and tells of the circumstances that brought jack and jill to eleanor west's home for wayward children. fans of that book already know the basic outline of their journey, but here we get the entire story in all its blood-soaked majesty.like most of her work, this is both an excellently-built story that entertains, but it also delivers a serious message it its focus on issues of identity - from the familial and personal to identities based in gender or sexuality; what is imposed, what is chosen, what is inherent. there’s maybe a smidgen too much of a preachifying tone to this exploration here, and it’s drilled in a bit too hard and often for such a short piece, but it’s interesting and important enough to bear repeating for people who don’t get it the first time, and repetition is a genre standard of the fairytale, so it’s not wholly off-putting, even if it does obstruct the narrative flow a bit.apart from that, it’s truly masterful - the way character is shaped by the tyranny of parental expectations and how either submission to or rebellion against these expectations informs future choices and values, the bone-deep loyalty of sisters despite diverging paths, first love, loss, jealousy; everything that makes a person tick, where each of those ticks signifies the bomb’s inevitable explosion.it’s a perfect follow-up to Every Heart a Doorway, and it’s maybe a vegetable-peeling’s width less awesome, but it’s a welcome explanation of these characters’ backstory and could absolutely work as a standalone story. however, if you haven’t read every heart, you’re really missing out on something special. ********************************************OH MY GOD COVER REVEAL IS SPECTACULAR!!!
    more
  • Melanie
    November 1, 2016
    1.) Every Heart a Doorway ★★★★★ ARC provided by Tor in exchange for an honest review.This book is beyond words. No amount of word combinations I could possibly string together could do this book justice. This series is truly a gift from above, and I can't urge you enough to drop any and everything you're reading to pick up this or Every Heart a Doorway.I didn't think it would be possible, but I actually enjoyed Down Among the Sticks and Bones more than Every Heart a Doorway. Once I turned that l 1.) Every Heart a Doorway ★★★★★ ARC provided by Tor in exchange for an honest review.This book is beyond words. No amount of word combinations I could possibly string together could do this book justice. This series is truly a gift from above, and I can't urge you enough to drop any and everything you're reading to pick up this or Every Heart a Doorway.I didn't think it would be possible, but I actually enjoyed Down Among the Sticks and Bones more than Every Heart a Doorway. Once I turned that last page, I immediately ran to my bookshelves and read Every Heart a Doorway. Then, I just laid there on the ground in awe, while trying to convince myself to not reread Down Among the Sticks and Bones at 2 o'clock in the morning. Seriously, this series is that amazing. If you've read Every Heart a Doorway then you know how Jack and Jill's story ends in that book, so I was absolutely ecstatic when I found out that the next book in this series was their back-story about their magical world. The twin sisters' doorway is very different than Nancy's in Every Heart a Doorway. Their doorway, the Moors, is a place of neutral territory surrounded by vampires, werewolves, gargoyles, Drowned God worshipers, and more in the paranormal vein. And a few individuals in the Moors are very excited when children stumble through from portals from different worlds. Jack and Jill stumble through when they are only twelve years old, and stay for another five years, even though they wished to stay forever. In those short five years, they discover who they are and who they want to be. They thrive in this scary world because they are able to be themselves, not what is forced upon them. The tone of this book just feels so dark and eerie, while also being so magical and lovely. My body feels such a vast array of feelings and emotions reading Seanan McGuire's work. The writing is so atmospheric; you will feel like you stumbled upon your own doorway. “She had tried to make sure they knew that there were a hundred, a thousand, a million different ways to be a girl, and that all of them were valid” The discussion on gender roles and the impact they have when we force them on our children, sometimes knowingly and other times unknowingly, is so important. It's okay to be a tom-boy, it's okay to be a girly-girl, and, most importantly, it's okay to be both. We should never be defined by the world's gender stereotypes. This is something that I have personally struggled with a lot growing up, and I could write about this topic until my fingers bled, but Seanan McGuire perfectly executes this point in such a perfectly crafted story that is under 200 pages! I am seriously so awestruck. “The concept that perhaps biology was not destiny, and that not all little girls would be pretty princesses, and not all little boys would be brave soldiers” There is also amazing representation and explanations on how it feels to suffer from Mysophobia/Germaphobia. I actually do not think I've ever read a book about someone dealing with their Mysophobia, and it just made me love and admire Down Among the Sticks and Bones even more. If you've read Every Heart a Doorway you will know that there is lesbian representation in here, but the depiction of first love was something I wasn't expecting, and it was so beautiful I can't possibly put it into words. I, too, truly loved the Moors and wasn't ready to leave. I loved the village and the feel of this magical world. I loved seeing Jack grow into what she wanted to be , while seeing Jill grow into what could happen if your needs and wants are repressed to a dangerous point. I loved the representation and all of the feelings that Seanan McGuire was able to evoke from me. I loved this book and these characters, and I will cherish this story forever, while trying to get everyone I come in contact with to read it. Also, I need Kade's story like I need air in my lungs. Please, Lord, make Beneath the Sugar Sky be his book. Also, please give me and my heart the strength to wait for it to come out. “A man who has lived his entire life in a cave does not mourn the sun until he sees it, and once he has he can never go back underground.” Blog | Twitter | Tumblr | Instagram | Youtube | TwitchThe quotes above were taken from an ARC and are subject to change upon publication.
    more
  • Monica
    February 15, 2017
    4.5 - full video review to come.I received this book in advance from the publisher.
  • Kaitlin
    February 16, 2017
    * I was sent this by the publisher in exchange for a review *I think I loved this one more than the first. It's the story of Jacqueline and Jillian and the world they cross into. In the first book we meet Jack and Jill and so we already know a bit of their story, but this novella shows us their true adventure and what really happened when they went through the mysterious door to another world.I have to say that Seanan McGuire has continued to really, really impress me in this series. She's tackl * I was sent this by the publisher in exchange for a review *I think I loved this one more than the first. It's the story of Jacqueline and Jillian and the world they cross into. In the first book we meet Jack and Jill and so we already know a bit of their story, but this novella shows us their true adventure and what really happened when they went through the mysterious door to another world.I have to say that Seanan McGuire has continued to really, really impress me in this series. She's tackled all sorts of underrepresented themes once again, and in particular gender steroetypes, young love, lies, deception, and the awkwardness of adolescence. Her stories don't feel like they're telling you life lessons, but when you think deeply about them she's describing the struggles of being a girl in day to day life through a fantastical lens.This was beautiful, smile-worthy and at some points wild. It was carefree and poised, delicate and charming and filled with twists on fairytales and fantasies. I love the worlds McGuire has managed to craft for this series so far, and I really hope it just continues to grow and develop becuase I would certainly keep reading more about each of the characters from the first book and the worlds that they went to.If you liked book #1 I am certain you'd enjoy this one, and as this is set before the first you could probably even start here. It's a series of novellas I thoroughly enjoy and I look forward to more of her work in future - 4.5*s and highly recommended :)
    more
  • Figgy
    May 7, 2016
    OMG THERE'S A SECOND ONE!(By which I mean a prequel... So... there's a first one? Or a "more" first one?)
  • Tasha (faeriedrugs)
    February 26, 2017
    An advanced readers copy of this was sent to me by the publisher Tor.comA proper review will follow (along with a video review) closer to the release date but for now I will say that this was a wonderful sequel to Every Heart a Doorway. I didn't like it as much as the first book but there are still several things I loved about Down Among the Sticks and Bones.
    more
  • Thomas Wagner
    January 18, 2017
    Seanan McGuire’s Wayward Children novellas continue with a stand-alone tragedy that erases virtually every concern and gripe I had with its (admittedly widely acclaimed) maiden volume, Every Heart a Doorway. And while Down Among the Sticks and Bones doesn’t elevate my opinion of that story in specific terms, it does place many of the things that happen in its plot within the broader context of the series’ growing mythology. The motivations and deeds of two of Doorway’s key characters, the creepy Seanan McGuire’s Wayward Children novellas continue with a stand-alone tragedy that erases virtually every concern and gripe I had with its (admittedly widely acclaimed) maiden volume, Every Heart a Doorway. And while Down Among the Sticks and Bones doesn’t elevate my opinion of that story in specific terms, it does place many of the things that happen in its plot within the broader context of the series’ growing mythology. The motivations and deeds of two of Doorway’s key characters, the creepy, death-fixated twins Jack (Jacqueline) and Jill are shown in a much clearer light, as we see the metastory taking a more defined shape at last.The most distinct improvement between the first volume and this one is in consistency of tone. Where Doorway had a hard time matching an appropriate tone to its content (off-kilter whimsy in moments of shocking violence, to give an example), Sticks and Bones is a marvel of precision craft. From satire to suspense to sweetness all the way to anguish and despair, McGuire places each note right where it belongs, bringing a flow to the narrative that draws full emotional investment out of the reader.This is Jack and Jill’s story, the account of their adventure through their own private doorway into a fantasy realm, and how the experience shapes them. Knowing what befalls these characters in Every Heart a Doorway (and it’s reasonable to assume most readers coming to this tale will already be fans of the first) actually has the effect of boosting this story’s gravitas. ( continued... )
    more
  • Katie
    January 21, 2017
    Enjoyable but not quite as charming as the first for me
  • Amy (Other Amy)
    November 17, 2015
    9/12/16: Gorgeous cover is gorgeous!
  • Jananee (headinherbooks)
    March 7, 2017
    Review to come closer to release date!
  • Ashley
    March 28, 2017
    Seanan McGuire has a way with short fiction. The amount of substance she manages to pack into such a short amount of pages continuously astounds me. This prequel to Every Heart a Doorway follows the story of Jack & Jill before and during their time in The Moors. While I did enjoy this one, I must admit I enjoyed the first story more. It was fascinating learning more about Jack & Jill and how they came to be who they are post-Moors but I really was missing some of the other characters. Lo Seanan McGuire has a way with short fiction. The amount of substance she manages to pack into such a short amount of pages continuously astounds me. This prequel to Every Heart a Doorway follows the story of Jack & Jill before and during their time in The Moors. While I did enjoy this one, I must admit I enjoyed the first story more. It was fascinating learning more about Jack & Jill and how they came to be who they are post-Moors but I really was missing some of the other characters. Looking forward to seeing how this series progresses.Much thanks to the publisher for providing me a copy for review!
    more
  • Nicole Brinkley
    March 6, 2017
    A companion novel to my beloved EVERY HEART A DOORWAY, DOWN AMONG THE STICKS AND BONES tells the story of Jack and Jill: their childhoods, their twinship, and what happened to them in the Moors. Reading Seanan McGuire is always a delightful (if slightly murderous) romp. Putting the pieces together on how Jack and Jill came to be Jack and Jill was fun and fascinating, if a little heartbreaking, in a world that readers won't soon forget.
    more
  • Alexandra
    November 23, 2016
    So yes, I'm very privileged. I got to read Every Heart a Doorway a long time before it came out. And now I've had the chance to read the prequel a long time before it comes out, too. It's out from Tor.com on 13 June 2017...The blurb saysTwin sisters Jack and Jill were seventeen when they found their way home and were packed off to Eleanor West’s Home for Wayward Children.This is the story of what happened first.Jacqueline was her mother’s perfect daughter—polite and quiet, always dressed as a pr So yes, I'm very privileged. I got to read Every Heart a Doorway a long time before it came out. And now I've had the chance to read the prequel a long time before it comes out, too. It's out from Tor.com on 13 June 2017...The blurb saysTwin sisters Jack and Jill were seventeen when they found their way home and were packed off to Eleanor West’s Home for Wayward Children.This is the story of what happened first.Jacqueline was her mother’s perfect daughter—polite and quiet, always dressed as a princess. If her mother was sometimes a little strict, it’s because crafting the perfect daughter takes discipline.Jillian was her father’s perfect daughter—adventurous, thrill-seeking, and a bit of a tomboy. He really would have preferred a son, but you work with what you've got.... and the opening, which is set in the Real World, is about the most horrifying part of the whole thing. Parents who have children because they think it will make them look good, who force children into preconceived notions and potentially do a lot of damage: it's just hideous. And the worst part is the way that McGuire writes about this from a very knowing, self-aware position: the narrator is pointing out what the parents are doing, making sure the reader knows how dreadful this is. And it works to heighten the horror rather than defuse it; this is not 'telling instead of showing', this is a sympathetic yet almost malicious commenter making sure you know exactly what's happening.Then the twins find themselves in a different world, and they get to make choices for about the first time ever and those choices have serious implications. And the way they've been brought up has consequences for the choices they make, and also doesn't in the slightest prepare them for them. I can't tell you how happy I am that Every Heart a Doorway wasn't a standalone story. And this is an absolutely standout addition to the world of portal fantasies that McGuire created there, with Other Worlds matching the people who find them and having an irrevocable impact on the inadvertent travellers. I love how McGuire takes bits of other stories and fairy tales and weaves them into her story in her very own way: you get the pleasure of recognition combined with the shock of difference and it's a delight.Apparently there will be a third book. I'll just be over here, watching my inbox, waiting...
    more
  • Heather
    June 27, 2016
    *INCOHERENT SCREAMING**grabby hands*
  • Janet Martin
    March 15, 2017
    A stylized fairy tale, with consistent voice and steadily unfolding horror, both in the contemporary world where the girls lived their first 12 years and later in the Moors where their peculiar characters were honed.
  • Lexie
    March 6, 2017
    This explains soooo much. I feel like I need to reread EVERY HEART with these new hindsights.
  • Rachel
    February 2, 2017
    Seanan McGuire does not disappoint. In the second book in her Wayward Children series, McGuire applies the same recipe from her previous novel (Every Heart a Doorway) to this one: a riveting fantasy tale with empathy and heart. Our two protagonists, Jack and Jill, must live up to their parents' set expectations and have no identities but the ones they are forced into. Jill longs to wear the pretty, frilly dresses Jack suffers in, and Jack wistfully wishes to be rowdy and sporty as is encouraged Seanan McGuire does not disappoint. In the second book in her Wayward Children series, McGuire applies the same recipe from her previous novel (Every Heart a Doorway) to this one: a riveting fantasy tale with empathy and heart. Our two protagonists, Jack and Jill, must live up to their parents' set expectations and have no identities but the ones they are forced into. Jill longs to wear the pretty, frilly dresses Jack suffers in, and Jack wistfully wishes to be rowdy and sporty as is encouraged of Jill.McGuire's stories recall beloved fairy tales like Alice in Wonderland, where societal conventions are turned on their heads and to be among magic is to be free. It's often her fantasy worlds that prove how strange and convoluted our real one is. Here is another page-turning, captivating, empathetic and socially-responsible story about the importance of individuality and shattering norms that feel like chains.(a huge thanks to Tor for the early reader's copy!)
    more
  • Barb (Boxermommyreads)
    January 23, 2017
    This doesn't come out for a long time but I couldn't wait any longer to read it. Review will be up closer to release date. Needless to say, LOVED IT!
  • Lucille
    November 26, 2016
    Not sure between 4,5 or 5, but it was really really great. Not home right now so I'll write my review next week. I really cannot wait for the other book in this series!!
  • Lauren
    March 10, 2017
    Electronic ARC provided by NetGalley. "Down Among the Sticks and Bones" is a fantastic addition to Seanan McGuire's Wayward Children series of novellas. The story follows Jack and Jill (Jacqueline and Jillian to their parents), the twins who feature prominently in "Every Heart a Doorway", as they first stumble through their door and into the dark and dangerous land of the Moors. It is not necessary to have read "Every Heart a Doorway" to understand the story here, although I would still recommen Electronic ARC provided by NetGalley. "Down Among the Sticks and Bones" is a fantastic addition to Seanan McGuire's Wayward Children series of novellas. The story follows Jack and Jill (Jacqueline and Jillian to their parents), the twins who feature prominently in "Every Heart a Doorway", as they first stumble through their door and into the dark and dangerous land of the Moors. It is not necessary to have read "Every Heart a Doorway" to understand the story here, although I would still recommend it since knowing what ultimately happens to Jack and Jill adds a lot to the reading. One of the best things about this series so far is McGuire's handling of gender and sexuality. Jack and Jill's parents, while not abusive in ways most would recognize, manage to do a lot of damage to the girls through forced gender expectations. The main reason that their new world seems so welcoming to the girls is that it offers them the chance to explore their true selves in a way that has never before been available. The Wayward Children novellas are so far a wonderful interpretation of what might happen to the children of portal fantasies after the story ends and I can't wait to see what comes next.
    more
  • Matthew Galloway
    March 28, 2017
    I found this to be leagues better than the prior book, even though I was initially not excited about the protagonists. I mean, I liked Jack best of all from Every Heart a Doorway, but we already knew how her story ended and we'd learned the summary of her portal adventure... It didn't seem that there was more to know. I was wrong. I loved following Jack and Dr. Bleak in the Moors. I was less enamoured of Jill and the Master, but it was interesting. However, I think I am just going to have to und I found this to be leagues better than the prior book, even though I was initially not excited about the protagonists. I mean, I liked Jack best of all from Every Heart a Doorway, but we already knew how her story ended and we'd learned the summary of her portal adventure... It didn't seem that there was more to know. I was wrong. I loved following Jack and Dr. Bleak in the Moors. I was less enamoured of Jill and the Master, but it was interesting. However, I think I am just going to have to understand that, unlike so much of the rest of the world, I don't love McGuire's writing style. I feel like I always see the strings pulling her characters here and there and it pulls me out of her story. I also tend to not love her endings -- this one included. I'm night sure it feels sensible to me that it led from here to the prior book. Additionally, while I did enjoy the new narrative tone, it reminded me too much of Valente's Fairyland books and I enjoyed those much more. They also dropped pearls of wisdom throughout the journey, but they felt more natural to me than here. Still, all in all, I'm glad the publisher sent me an ARC and I am interested in seeing where the next book in the series takes us.
    more
  • Lena
    March 22, 2017
    Excuse me, for a week, while I gather the shattered pieces of my heart.
  • Jen Petro-Roy
    March 10, 2017
    Gorgeously creepy.
  • Allonsythornraxx
    September 22, 2016
    Hey hey hey, we have a cover!
  • Booniss
    January 22, 2017
    Set in the same world as the wonderful Every Heart A Doorway, this also works as a standalone story.This follows twin girls Jack and Jill before the events of EHAD, their childhoods and the rigid moulds their parents tried to force them into (one feminine, one masculine, both trapped by their gender stereotypes) before they step through a magical doorway into another world.Sadly for Jack and Jill, this is no Narnia but a dark and dangerous moor where they are forced to choose between serving a v Set in the same world as the wonderful Every Heart A Doorway, this also works as a standalone story.This follows twin girls Jack and Jill before the events of EHAD, their childhoods and the rigid moulds their parents tried to force them into (one feminine, one masculine, both trapped by their gender stereotypes) before they step through a magical doorway into another world.Sadly for Jack and Jill, this is no Narnia but a dark and dangerous moor where they are forced to choose between serving a vampire or a mad scientist. Their choices are driven by their desires to leave behind the artificial identities assigned to them at birth and only serve to create very real differences and danger to themselves and others.This is a beautifully written modern fairy tale and like all the best fairy tales it brings a warning message - however unlike traditional fairy tales, this warning is not for children, but for their parents.
    more
  • Susannah Grace
    January 19, 2017
    Jack and Jill's world by far fascinated me the most I'm so PUMPED THAT THE NEXT BOOK WILL BE ABOUT THEM AND THAT COVER IS PERFECT
  • Sunil
    March 23, 2017
    In two pages of Every Heart a Doorway , Jack tells the story of how she and her sister Jill traveled to the Moors, a world of monsters, and then returned to our world before ending up at Eleanor West's Home for Wayward Children. In this stand-alone prequel, Seanan McGuire takes the opportunity to expand their story, and my God. I love the voice of this novella, told by an omniscient fairytale narrator infused with deep sadness and pity, for the story of Jack and Jill is not a happy one at all. In two pages of Every Heart a Doorway , Jack tells the story of how she and her sister Jill traveled to the Moors, a world of monsters, and then returned to our world before ending up at Eleanor West's Home for Wayward Children. In this stand-alone prequel, Seanan McGuire takes the opportunity to expand their story, and my God. I love the voice of this novella, told by an omniscient fairytale narrator infused with deep sadness and pity, for the story of Jack and Jill is not a happy one at all. Their parents are awful and do not understand them; the first third or so delves into childhood and parenting in a way that feels authentic in its understanding of both children and parents. Once Jack and Jill enter the Moors, they find new parental figures, and things only get worse. This is a book about siblings and gender roles and the perils of forcing an identity on someone else. Luckily, it had been long enough since I read Every Heart a Doorway that I didn't remember that it had laid out essentially the entire plot of this book—if I had I may have been prepared for the abruptness of the ending—but even if you did know the story, it's the way it's told, my God, that's so utterly compelling. You want to get lost in every paragraph. There's so much love and care put into every word. This book is its own doorway into another world, and it's one you'll be just as sad to leave.
    more
  • MAB LongBeach
    March 15, 2017
    A prequel to Every Heart a Doorway, giving Jack and Jill's backstory. For someone who has read the first book, there are not a lot of surprises here; the pleasure is in the details of their lives before and after finding their way to the Moors. In some ways, their parents were bigger monsters than the vampire and mad scientist they were apprenticed to on the other side of the portal.This can be enjoyed on its own terms, without having read the other book, but Every Heart a Doorway will read quit A prequel to Every Heart a Doorway, giving Jack and Jill's backstory. For someone who has read the first book, there are not a lot of surprises here; the pleasure is in the details of their lives before and after finding their way to the Moors. In some ways, their parents were bigger monsters than the vampire and mad scientist they were apprenticed to on the other side of the portal.This can be enjoyed on its own terms, without having read the other book, but Every Heart a Doorway will read quite differently to someone who starts with this one.Effective and affecting. Recommended.
    more
  • Veronica
    March 20, 2017
    Definitely an interesting read! I didn't know which characters from Every Heart a Doorway this would follow, and I was happy to see more of Jack. Of course if you've read Every Heart... you know how things will turn out in this one, but I still was invested in the sequence of events. They gave more weight to the sacrifices Jack made for Jill in Every Heart... as well. Overall recommended, maybe even more than the first novella!
    more
  • Alex C
    March 24, 2017
    So many feelings... *insert crying face*
Write a review