The Map That Leads to You
"Romantic and unforgettable." –Nicholas SparksA romantic, vivid novel that takes place in the tender time of a young woman’s life: Heather has graduated from college and is traveling around Europe with her two best friends. She’s left school responsibility behind and adult responsibility is looming, but this is her one, ONE last summer to be free. Heather doesn’t expect to even meet Jack, let alone fall in love with him. Jack is an enigmatic Vermonter a few years older than she is, who is following his grandfather’s journal to various cities around Europe. But in the same way that forces are bringing Jack and Heather together, life and duty are pushing them apart. And Jack has a secret that is going to change absolutely everything.

The Map That Leads to You Details

TitleThe Map That Leads to You
Author
FormatHardcover
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJun 13th, 2017
PublisherSt. Martin's Press
ISBN1250060761
ISBN-139781250060761
Number of pages400 pages
Rating
GenreRomance, Fiction

The Map That Leads to You Review

  • Maddie
    March 18, 2017
    What I loved most about the novel is the visualization of traveling Europe, always been a dream of mine, maybe someday!! Heather JackWe meet Heather as she travels Europe, she was reading her kindle when she met Jack, asking her to hold his bag, they started chatting and hit it off instantly becoming friends and traveling together to various destinations, but wow what happened left me breathless, I do not want to reveal to much as this book is only being released in June this year “It is the la What I loved most about the novel is the visualization of traveling Europe, always been a dream of mine, maybe someday!! Heather JackWe meet Heather as she travels Europe, she was reading her kindle when she met Jack, asking her to hold his bag, they started chatting and hit it off instantly becoming friends and traveling together to various destinations, but wow what happened left me breathless, I do not want to reveal to much as this book is only being released in June this year “It is the last great minute before he walks into your life, but you don't know that yet, can't know. Later, though, you will try to imagine where he was in this exact instant, when he had turned and started to travel toward you, you to him, and how the world around both of you took no notice. Your life would not be the same, but that was all waiting, up in the air, all fate and chance and inevitability.” ― J.P. Monninger, The Map That Leads to YouThis is a very deep novel, and as most of Nicolas Sparks books have a twist in the tale, in the beginning I really tried to not close my kindle, I struggled with the first few chapters, but wanted to know why Nicholas said below, and yes he is correct! .”Romantic and unforgettable." –Nicholas SparksARC was received from Netgalley for an honest opinionSynopsis A romantic, vivid novel that takes place in the tender time of a young woman’s life: Heather has graduated from college and is traveling around Europe with her two best friends. She’s left school responsibility behind and adult responsibility is looming, but this is her one, ONE last summer to be free. Heather doesn’t expect to even meet Jack, let alone fall in love with him. Jack is an enigmatic Vermonter a few years older than she is, who is following his grandfather’s journal to various cities around Europe. But in the same way that forces are bringing Jack and Heather together, life and duty are pushing them apart. And Jack has a secret that is going to change absolutely everything.
    more
  • Jennifer ~ TarHeelReader
    May 27, 2017
    3.5 stars rounded up This read like a Young Adult romance with the added fun of a group of friends traveling through Europe after college. I absolutely loved the adventurous travel. That part really made the book for me. I think if I were fifteen or even twenty years younger, I would have given this book five stars. It was harder for me to connect to these characters and the drama and angst within the pages, but I kept reading to see how it all ended. Thanks to the author and publisher for an ad 3.5 stars rounded up This read like a Young Adult romance with the added fun of a group of friends traveling through Europe after college. I absolutely loved the adventurous travel. That part really made the book for me. I think if I were fifteen or even twenty years younger, I would have given this book five stars. It was harder for me to connect to these characters and the drama and angst within the pages, but I kept reading to see how it all ended. Thanks to the author and publisher for an advance copy.
    more
  • Hristina
    May 7, 2017
    Copy received through NetGalley.There’s something about this review, it just doesn’t want to get written \_(ツ)_/Getting into this book was close to impossible, but once I did, I enjoyed every minute of it.The start is slow, but the writing is well-done, and while the characters don’t carry any special characteristics, they still jump off the page. The organization of the text left me with question marks throughout the reading process, but something about the story kept me reading. I loved the ab Copy received through NetGalley.There’s something about this review, it just doesn’t want to get written ¯\_(ツ)_/¯Getting into this book was close to impossible, but once I did, I enjoyed every minute of it.The start is slow, but the writing is well-done, and while the characters don’t carry any special characteristics, they still jump off the page. The organization of the text left me with question marks throughout the reading process, but something about the story kept me reading. I loved the abundance of drama, it’s why I love romance novels so much.This is the perfect read for any fan of romance novels. That Nicholas Spark’s quote on the cover says it all.Pre-review note: (May 7th 2017)I finally focused long enough to finish it. RTC.
    more
  • ⊱ Poppy ⊰
    December 8, 2016
    Synopsis:A romantic, vivid novel that takes place in the tender time of a young woman’s life: Heather has graduated from college and is traveling around Europe with her two best friends. She’s left school responsibility behind and adult responsibility is looming, but this is her one, ONE last summer to be free. Heather doesn’t expect to even meet Jack, let alone fall in love with him. Jack is an enigmatic Vermonter a few years older than she is, who is following his grandfather’s journal to vari Synopsis:A romantic, vivid novel that takes place in the tender time of a young woman’s life: Heather has graduated from college and is traveling around Europe with her two best friends. She’s left school responsibility behind and adult responsibility is looming, but this is her one, ONE last summer to be free. Heather doesn’t expect to even meet Jack, let alone fall in love with him. Jack is an enigmatic Vermonter a few years older than she is, who is following his grandfather’s journal to various cities around Europe. But in the same way that forces are bringing Jack and Heather together, life and duty are pushing them apart. And Jack has a secret that is going to change absolutely everything.
    more
  • Lisa Aiello
    January 25, 2017
    I received this NetGalley ARC in return for my honest review. This was an unedited copy, and it had a lot of issues with formatting and grammar. Sometimes I hard a hard time telling who was talking or who was thinking the thoughts...so I focused on the story itself instead.This book touched me, right to my very soul. Oh, I struggled with it at first. I couldn't find my way - it was deep and symbolic. It had that insta-love, where you just know without a doubt, down to your very toes, that this p I received this NetGalley ARC in return for my honest review. This was an unedited copy, and it had a lot of issues with formatting and grammar. Sometimes I hard a hard time telling who was talking or who was thinking the thoughts...so I focused on the story itself instead.This book touched me, right to my very soul. Oh, I struggled with it at first. I couldn't find my way - it was deep and symbolic. It had that insta-love, where you just know without a doubt, down to your very toes, that this person is your everything. That your soul sees theirs - but it happened too quickly, and I was rolling my eyes. What kept me going was the characters. I loved the interactions between our hero and heroine. I laughed out loud. I swooned. I was mesmerized by the way they related to each other and the easiness of their souls fitting together. Yet, there was something beneath the surface of the story. Some secret that was being foreshadowed. And I didn't want to go there. But, I hung on and powered through. And then, my heart was handed to me, and I wasn't sure I could recover or go on, just like our heroine. I had to know the answers, just like she did. And I got my answers, and I didn't like them one little bit. There is beauty and cruelty here - in the words, in the symbolism and in life.
    more
  • Kelsey
    December 21, 2016
    I received this book from a goodreads giveaway. I finished the book in two days. I often endure reading sometimes simplistic books about women falling in love in Europe because I'm hopeless romantic who likes to indulge in the occasional trope. Most of them lack what I'm seeking: page turning magic. This time the author delivered. Enjoyed that the book was self aware, Heather knowing that falling in love on a train in Europe to a handsome stranger is every American woman's dream. I was happy to I received this book from a goodreads giveaway. I finished the book in two days. I often endure reading sometimes simplistic books about women falling in love in Europe because I'm hopeless romantic who likes to indulge in the occasional trope. Most of them lack what I'm seeking: page turning magic. This time the author delivered. Enjoyed that the book was self aware, Heather knowing that falling in love on a train in Europe to a handsome stranger is every American woman's dream. I was happy to read that the traveling done within the book wasn't cliched like "my new boyfriend and I ate croissants under the Arc de triumph and stared at the Mona Lisa afterwards". The characters visited places off the beaten path, and for good reason. I would recommend this book to a friend.
    more
  • Tracy Thomas
    March 1, 2017
    This book was sweet, and romantic, and one of my first dips into a romance travel novel. It was written quite well, and I did enjoy the characters. I had issue connecting with them at first, but they did grow on me, and and learned to appreciate them. I made it through this book fairly quickly, within 36 hours. I Received this book for free, via Netgally in exchange of an honest review.
    more
  • Julie
    January 12, 2017
    I received a copy of this book from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.I wanted to like this book. I love travel romances, so I thought that this would be right up my alley. But everything about this book was cliched and almost unrealistic.I never got a vibe for the main character. What was her personality? I get that she had oppressive parents, kind of, but was she sarcastic? Was she a dreamer? What? The boy, Jack, was entirely a manic pixie dream boy, deep and sarcastic and zany for no I received a copy of this book from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.I wanted to like this book. I love travel romances, so I thought that this would be right up my alley. But everything about this book was cliched and almost unrealistic.I never got a vibe for the main character. What was her personality? I get that she had oppressive parents, kind of, but was she sarcastic? Was she a dreamer? What? The boy, Jack, was entirely a manic pixie dream boy, deep and sarcastic and zany for no reason. He felt exactly like Augustus from The Fault In Our Stars, except he was supposed to be older, which took away some of the charm.And I never really "got" the relationship. One second, they are exchanging witty repartee, the next they're fighting, the next they are so in love they can't possibly live without each other. Their fights were all about the same exact thing, and always resulted in the same breakup/reunion (where he magically found her in whatever country she was in). After the big "twist" at the end of the second third of the book, I had no sympathy for the main character at all. She was better off without him.The last third of the book, when the focus remained with Heather, definitely picked up again. There was SOME intrigue and some mystery, though the cliches didn't go away.The author also shifted tense multiple times. There would be a short chapter in second person(which was jarring to me as a reader), then half the book in first person, then several more short chapters in second person, followed by more first person. I think I understand what the author was trying to do, but it didn't work for me.
    more
  • Vicki
    March 19, 2017
    It took me less than 24 hours to read “The Map That Leads To You.” I was thoroughly caught up in the close friendship of the three young women and their adventure through Europe. The romance between Jack and Heather alternated between beautiful, maddening, and heartbreaking. Some of the scenes in the novel had me laughing hysterically and others had me sobbing. The ending was gut-wrenching and a reminder that life is not fair. All the pieces blended together to create a beautiful love story. I w It took me less than 24 hours to read “The Map That Leads To You.” I was thoroughly caught up in the close friendship of the three young women and their adventure through Europe. The romance between Jack and Heather alternated between beautiful, maddening, and heartbreaking. Some of the scenes in the novel had me laughing hysterically and others had me sobbing. The ending was gut-wrenching and a reminder that life is not fair. All the pieces blended together to create a beautiful love story. I wouldn’t be surprised to see this book playing out on the big screen one day. It’s that good! Thank you to St. Martin's Press and NetGalley for a complimentary digital ARC in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Claudia
    December 3, 2016
    I was enjoying the first chapters, but this story is so dramatic, like all the other YA that are very popular and I lost interest. Sorry but I didn't enjoyed. Thanks for sending me a copy to review.
  • Tamara
    May 23, 2017
    “It is the last great minute before he walks into your life, but you don't know that yet, can't know. Later, though, you will try to imagine where he was in this exact instant, when he had turned and started to travel toward you, you to him, and how the world around both of you took no notice. Your life would not be the same, but that was all waiting, up in the air, all fate and chance and inevitability.” Heather has her whole life planned out and after college she is entering the corporate w “It is the last great minute before he walks into your life, but you don't know that yet, can't know. Later, though, you will try to imagine where he was in this exact instant, when he had turned and started to travel toward you, you to him, and how the world around both of you took no notice. Your life would not be the same, but that was all waiting, up in the air, all fate and chance and inevitability.” Heather has her whole life planned out and after college she is entering the corporate world and plans to make it ‘big’ in New York. After college graduation, she and her two best friends take a summer long vacation, touring Europe - making memories and most of all have fun before life intervenes and responsibilities are imminent.Jack is also touring Europe, but he is following his grandfather’s journal in which he recorded his travels after WWII. The site’s his grandfather visited could not be found in any tour guide, and they are all off the well-traveled roads, but Jack needs to take this journey to understand more of his grandfather.When Heather and Jack meet on a train, neither could imagine how well they would ‘click’. As the two travel together, they never imagined that they would fall in love – making plans for the future and treasuring each moment that they are together. “Our eyes locked. It wasn’t on a mountaintop, or beside a blue ocean, or in a flowered meadow. It was in the center of Kraków. I couldn’t speak for him, but I wasn’t feeling particularly in love, or gushy, or anything else. But then he turned to me and smiled, and I smiled back. We didn’t say anything. The world kept going on around us, I was aware of that, but then the world no longer mattered. What mattered was Jack’s gaze and his shy, soft smile that invited me in, invited me to share the pleasure of being here, in a foreign city, being in love, or the beginning of love, and knowing that we had the world by the goddamn tail if we wanted it, wanted each other, stayed with each other.” With such a romantic story, I just knew that something tragic would happen, and I kept waiting for it – even having a box of tissues nearby, you know…just in case. Heather and Jack were just perfect together, and I could feel the love that they shared and I did not want anything interring with that love. While I won’t spoil the story for anyone, something did happen and it was tragic, but in the end the whole story was just so tragically beautiful, my heart was both happy and sad but amazingly enough I was completely satisfied with this love story and only happy tears fell from my eyes. Jack had given Heather hope and taught her to trust that life held surprises if she allowed it to reveal itself. She didn’t need photographs or social media posts to clutter her life. She just needed to give herself to the situation – live in the moment and love every minute of that moment. That was Jack’s great lesson and one she would hold dear to her heart for her the rest of her life. “To say we find love is a misuse of the word find. Love finds us, passes through us, continues. We cannot find it any more than we can live without love. Love is essential and as common as bread. If you look for it, you will see it everywhere, and you will never be without it. I absolutely LOVED this story! The Map That Leads to You is an utterly exquisite story. It’s romantic without being cheesy and is a story that will remain in my thoughts and in my heart for quite some time. The author’s writing is like a well-orchestrated symphony – the words flowing effortlessly and beautifully throughout. With stunning attention to details and vivid descriptions, it was so easy to become engrossed in the story and I found myself completely captivated with each and every word. The Map That Leads to You is a really sweet and touching story that is by far my most favorite book this year. J.P. Monniger truly has an amazing talent and is destined to take the literary world by storm with his outstanding storytelling abilities. Mr. Monniger is an author that will now be on my radar and I can’t wait to see what he presents his readers next. If this one book is any indication I have a feeling it will be epic!I am giving this book 5 well deserved stars but really that is just not enough for this book because it was just that amazing.*The quotes in the review are from an Advance Readers’ Edition and subject to change.*ARC provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.#MapMakers#MyMapLeads#TheMapThatLeadstoYou
    more
  • Linda Zagon
    May 28, 2017
    Kudos to J.P. Monninger for her storytelling in “The Map That Leads to You” by J.P. Monninger. OMG! I can’t believe that a book can emit so many emotions. I loved everything about this book, was happy, got angry, and cried hysterically.The genres of this novel are Fiction, Women’s Fiction and Romance. This book has a touch of Nicholas Sparks, who does have a quote on the cover, “Romantic and Unforgettable.”The characters are complicated and complex. They are mostly likeable, and at times not so Kudos to J.P. Monninger for her storytelling in “The Map That Leads to You” by J.P. Monninger. OMG! I can’t believe that a book can emit so many emotions. I loved everything about this book, was happy, got angry, and cried hysterically.The genres of this novel are Fiction, Women’s Fiction and Romance. This book has a touch of Nicholas Sparks, who does have a quote on the cover, “Romantic and Unforgettable.”The characters are complicated and complex. They are mostly likeable, and at times not so likeable. This book reminds me of a rite of passage. Three friends who started college, graduate and celebrate by vacationing in Europe before they have to face their “grown up” lives and responsibility. The three young women start their adventure and meet some interesting characters that will change their lives forever!I love the way that the author describes the many destinations in Europe. I felt and probably wished I was going for the ride on their adventure. One of the characters that the girls meet has his grandfather’s journal with drawings of pictures and places that the grandfather had been to. The author describes many of these places of personal significance to some of the characters.In my opinion, the author describes this novel as a map of life, of youth, of growth, of learning, of disappointment, of happiness, of love and hope. Life is a cycle and this book is a cycle of life., a journey of lifeI highly recommend this book and suggest that you have a box of tissues and a shoulder to cry on. Happy Reading! This is a book that I will read again and again! I can see this being made into a movie!!
    more
  • Beth
    May 29, 2017
    I was given this book by the publisher.This is the perfect book for a romantic at heart. Two people traveling Europe meet on a train and instantly feel a connection. I did not feel the same connection though between the two characters. Sometimes they seemed connected and sometimes they did not, which is what happens when you fall in love too soon. I just was not totally sure they should end up together at the end, but it was a sweet romance. Being in Paris with the one you love is pretty romanti I was given this book by the publisher.This is the perfect book for a romantic at heart. Two people traveling Europe meet on a train and instantly feel a connection. I did not feel the same connection though between the two characters. Sometimes they seemed connected and sometimes they did not, which is what happens when you fall in love too soon. I just was not totally sure they should end up together at the end, but it was a sweet romance. Being in Paris with the one you love is pretty romantic. There was a twist I did not see coming and I will say I felt it ended abruptly and I was left wanting more.
    more
  • Debbie Akers
    May 20, 2017
    I received this advance copy book (actually, TWO copies) free from the publisher. It sounded a bit more romantic and "fluffy" than my usual taste, but I was also intrigued enough to put it ahead of many others on my shelf. In many ways, I wasn't disappointed. Due to most of the book involving travel, it was a good mental escape to me. The love story is bordering on cheesy at times, and yet somehow not annoyingly overdone. I liked the main characters and also the descriptions of female friendship I received this advance copy book (actually, TWO copies) free from the publisher. It sounded a bit more romantic and "fluffy" than my usual taste, but I was also intrigued enough to put it ahead of many others on my shelf. In many ways, I wasn't disappointed. Due to most of the book involving travel, it was a good mental escape to me. The love story is bordering on cheesy at times, and yet somehow not annoyingly overdone. I liked the main characters and also the descriptions of female friendships. It made me nostalgic for simpler times. I caught wind of the plot twist and how it may end a little more than halfway through. So without giving it away, I will say I wasn't happy about the outcome. However, it remains a nicely written book and I suggest it for fellow reluctant romantics.
    more
  • Oz Mikhail
    March 16, 2017
    Romantic, dramatic, emotional, is what I kept thinking while reading this book along with who's thinking what? and who is saying what?This book by its self as in the moral of the story was deep and absolutely lovely. its perfect for the Valentines day season and really put you in a place to think, wheres my soul mate. A great read, emotional and touching perfect chick-lit. The characters where nicely detailed and the world building was okay. A great read.
    more
  • Elizabeth
    March 6, 2017
    Engaging but found the story manipulative, and the intelligent female lead rather obtuse when it came to finding out the answer to the problem with her lover. It was obvious from an early conversation; plus, there were multiple ways she could have discovered the answer quickly and easily.Got tired of the sophomoric Hemingway lessons and the bantering with her lover.For the most part (if you overlook two of the three women meeting their soul mates on a post college tour of Europe), the relationsh Engaging but found the story manipulative, and the intelligent female lead rather obtuse when it came to finding out the answer to the problem with her lover. It was obvious from an early conversation; plus, there were multiple ways she could have discovered the answer quickly and easily.Got tired of the sophomoric Hemingway lessons and the bantering with her lover.For the most part (if you overlook two of the three women meeting their soul mates on a post college tour of Europe), the relationships among the three female friends are believable.Author writes well. She should trust her ability and have a lighter hand on the literary references and "cute" dialogue.
    more
  • Kirstie Ibrahim
    February 9, 2017
    What a wonderful and different book. It was witty, romantic and had me wondering what it was that made Jacks mood change so suddenly. I enjoyed the friendship of the girls and I also liked the snippets of text messages that started some chapters. The travel through Europe was great and the way it was written and the places they went seemed so much more real that some other travel romances. I really liked the "finding your true" and the feelings came across well enough to give me that first love What a wonderful and different book. It was witty, romantic and had me wondering what it was that made Jacks mood change so suddenly. I enjoyed the friendship of the girls and I also liked the snippets of text messages that started some chapters. The travel through Europe was great and the way it was written and the places they went seemed so much more real that some other travel romances. I really liked the "finding your true" and the feelings came across well enough to give me that first love feeling in my gut. I also like how it ended, just a perfect teary love story ending
    more
  • Ashley
    January 14, 2017
    Rating: 3.7There were parts of this book that filled my stomach with butterflies because it reminded me of what it's like to be so in love that everything else seems irrelevant in comparison. The writing was beautifully clear and didn't ever seem choppy or odd. But now for the bad - the reason I gave it a 3.7 rating (which isn't a terrible rating). The first 100 pages of this book are very cringe worthy. The main character, Heather, is instantly and creepily in love with Jack. It doesn't seem li Rating: 3.7There were parts of this book that filled my stomach with butterflies because it reminded me of what it's like to be so in love that everything else seems irrelevant in comparison. The writing was beautifully clear and didn't ever seem choppy or odd. But now for the bad - the reason I gave it a 3.7 rating (which isn't a terrible rating). The first 100 pages of this book are very cringe worthy. The main character, Heather, is instantly and creepily in love with Jack. It doesn't seem like something that would happen in real life, but rather as if someone made a spoof off of a Nicholas Sparks book. If you're really into cliches then maybe that won't bother you, but at times it was too much for me to bear, which is why it took so long for me to end up finishing the book. On the other hand, I did love the funny dialogue that happens between characters from pages 160 to the end of the book. Personally, the banter between characters was what saved this book from being a two-star rating. In the end, I did enjoy reading it once I got past the first 100 pages.
    more
  • Nina
    January 30, 2017
    This novel is one of the best I've read this year. It has all the elements of a romance and mystery. Yet it is also a coming of age novel about friendship, family, and the choices we make as we grow into adults. I won it through Goodreads! I truly hope this author has more books coming out. The prose style of this novel was compelling and her characters believable. It was easy to fall in love with the characters as they fell in love with each other. The plot moves forward in parallel with the tr This novel is one of the best I've read this year. It has all the elements of a romance and mystery. Yet it is also a coming of age novel about friendship, family, and the choices we make as we grow into adults. I won it through Goodreads! I truly hope this author has more books coming out. The prose style of this novel was compelling and her characters believable. It was easy to fall in love with the characters as they fell in love with each other. The plot moves forward in parallel with the travels of our protagonist. The descriptions were heady and made it easy to visualize the emotional climate and the physical qualities of the settings. As I was reading, I was taken back to a time when I was younger and it was safer for a young woman to travel alone or with girlfriends. Although I have never been to Europe, I was there in that train headed for Amsterdam; I was sipping wine in an outdoor café in Paris as the Spring rain trickled down the windows of the shop across the way. I love this book and I am so glad I read it! Thank you!
    more
  • Castille
    February 6, 2017
    3.5-- this is a solid novel for people who are somewhere between YA/romance and literary fiction. It's sprawling, and much longer than your typical romance or YA narrative, but still very accessible and contains many of the tropes you'd expect from YA/romance. The changing of tenses threw me off, and then at certain points it becomes pseudo-epistolary, which was kind of out of nowhere. While I enjoyed reading this book and would recommend it, it seems like it was slightly too ambitious a piece f 3.5-- this is a solid novel for people who are somewhere between YA/romance and literary fiction. It's sprawling, and much longer than your typical romance or YA narrative, but still very accessible and contains many of the tropes you'd expect from YA/romance. The changing of tenses threw me off, and then at certain points it becomes pseudo-epistolary, which was kind of out of nowhere. While I enjoyed reading this book and would recommend it, it seems like it was slightly too ambitious a piece for the writer. But kudos to take on such a challenge, and it is a solid effort! I also commend the publisher on taking a chance on something that's not completely YA or romance. It's elevated, and I think there's an audience eager to graduate to a more involved, epic story like this!
    more
  • Jo
    January 25, 2017
    The story of Jack an Heather, their paths crossing on a train to Amsterdam and the relationship that develops. If you believe in fate then this book emphasises that when you look the least life deals you some interesting cards. As Jacks character emerge he's a love ,I can't say hate character because you know from the description he has a secret and there are clues to determine this but you don't really want to believe them. Heather almost seems a predictable character who for the more organised The story of Jack an Heather, their paths crossing on a train to Amsterdam and the relationship that develops. If you believe in fate then this book emphasises that when you look the least life deals you some interesting cards. As Jacks character emerge he's a love ,I can't say hate character because you know from the description he has a secret and there are clues to determine this but you don't really want to believe them. Heather almost seems a predictable character who for the more organised controllers amongst us you can identify with but this girl has an amazing strength that makes you want to cheer and hug her. Wow. The author takes you on the most amazing trip around Europe in this book where you almost feel that you smell and taste everything.. the characters that surround Jack and Heather are well written and not predictable.This book had me in tears in more than one place. Excellent book. Thank you for the opportunity to review.
    more
  • Carolyn's
    January 26, 2017
    What I liked- okay- loved- the friendship of Heather, Amy and Constance. Three college graduates out to explore Europe before settling in to the real world of work and bills. Sounds fun and amazing.Intellectually written, gorgeous descriptions of the sights in Paris, Amsterdam, Germany, Bulgaria, etc., but it causes a loss of focus or concentration on the characters. When things come together around 75% into the book it's already such a tragic, heart breaking story that I found myself angry. I k What I liked- okay- loved- the friendship of Heather, Amy and Constance. Three college graduates out to explore Europe before settling in to the real world of work and bills. Sounds fun and amazing.Intellectually written, gorgeous descriptions of the sights in Paris, Amsterdam, Germany, Bulgaria, etc., but it causes a loss of focus or concentration on the characters. When things come together around 75% into the book it's already such a tragic, heart breaking story that I found myself angry. I know the world is full of love, loss and tragedy, and we need to deal with those issues-I prefer to do so by hiding behind romance novels with HEAs. Nicholas Sparks fan will love this book.
    more
  • Donna
    December 2, 2016
    Heather and two friends are on vacation in Europe after graduating from college. The streets of Amsterdam are full of tourists and the girls run into another American named Jack who is on an extended vacation himself. Heather and Jack get together and travel around Europe following Jack's grandfather's journal. The story is beautifully written and emotionally charged. I highly recommend this book to fiction lovers and those who love contemporary romance. The Map That Leads to You by J.P. Monning Heather and two friends are on vacation in Europe after graduating from college. The streets of Amsterdam are full of tourists and the girls run into another American named Jack who is on an extended vacation himself. Heather and Jack get together and travel around Europe following Jack's grandfather's journal. The story is beautifully written and emotionally charged. I highly recommend this book to fiction lovers and those who love contemporary romance. The Map That Leads to You by J.P. Monninger will be available June 13, 2017 by St. Martin's Press. An egalley of this book was made available by the publisher in exchange for a honest review.
    more
  • Allison
    January 1, 2017
    This book has witty dialogue, some cool characters and several severely romantic moments. I chose 3 stars because "I liked it." For quite a while I felt I was being dragged through Europe just so the characters could go somewhere more original than Paris to have a romantic moment. Paris seemed the least forced given the romantic natures of both Jack and Heather.Personally, I enjoyed the relationship between the three friends. The book had a really strong start with graduation, and Heather's pare This book has witty dialogue, some cool characters and several severely romantic moments. I chose 3 stars because "I liked it." For quite a while I felt I was being dragged through Europe just so the characters could go somewhere more original than Paris to have a romantic moment. Paris seemed the least forced given the romantic natures of both Jack and Heather.Personally, I enjoyed the relationship between the three friends. The book had a really strong start with graduation, and Heather's parents were hysterically familiar.I would read more from J.P. Monninger.
    more
  • Jazmine Collins
    December 14, 2016
    It took me a while to get into this book, but once I did I couldn't put this one down! Amazing story telling that really made the characters come alive. Thanks NetGalley for a free copy of this book in exchange for this review!
  • C bond
    December 11, 2016
    via netgalleywell written overall good read.
  • Susan McGrath
    May 21, 2017
    I received a copy of The Map That Leads to You by J.P. Monninger from the publisher (St. Martin’s Press) in exchange for an honest review.This is a contemporary story following a recent college graduate on a backpacking trip through Europe before she settles down into corporate New York. Heather is traveling with two friends on a well-planned tour of the continent. Unsurprisingly, things do not go according to plan. One friend loses her wallet and passport and heads back to the U.S. The second f I received a copy of The Map That Leads to You by J.P. Monninger from the publisher (St. Martin’s Press) in exchange for an honest review.This is a contemporary story following a recent college graduate on a backpacking trip through Europe before she settles down into corporate New York. Heather is traveling with two friends on a well-planned tour of the continent. Unsurprisingly, things do not go according to plan. One friend loses her wallet and passport and heads back to the U.S. The second friend meets the Australian love of her life and heads off with him. Heather meets her own love, Jack. The story follows Heather and Jack through Europe and into their lives after the trip. Without spoilers, obstacles get in the way of their relationship, which they must find a way to work through.I struggled a bit to get into this story. My trouble was with the main character, Heather. She is fresh out of college and set to start a demanding (and well-paying) job in New York in a few months. She is living a very privileged life, and seems completely unaware of how lucky and blessed she is. This is not an issue, in itself, as there are a lot of people who do live privileged lives and don’t realize it is a gift. It did make it difficult for me to connect with Heather, however, as it was not my life experience. Heather was also given moments in Europe to recognize her privilege and grow. I was a bit disappointed that she did not.The other reason I struggled to fall into the story was the introduction of Jack as a character. Jack meets Heather on a train from Paris to Amsterdam. They obviously find each other attractive. Their initial conversation, however, consists of what is intended to be banter. Something about this sequence felt off to me. The tone of the conversation was a little too harsh for flirty banter. The characters crossed the line into insulting each other. The conversation went so far that Heather even thought that she wanted to punch Jack, and had to restrain herself. It made it difficult for me to envision these two as a couple. I didn’t buy that their attraction was enough to overcome what seemed to be blatant hatred of what they each represent.As the novel progressed, Heather and Jack moved through some of their initial comments to (and about) each other into a more believable relationship. The major obstacle their relationship faces is supposed to be a surprise to the reader. I saw it coming way too early, however, and it made me a bit disappointed in the choices the characters made from that point forward. It was especially difficult to buy that Heather, who is presented as an intelligent, capable woman, couldn’t find her way to and through the issue. Overall, this was a story of true love, heartbreak, and friendship. There were a lot of great moments, but I struggled a bit with the overall arc of the story and main character.
    more
  • Jennifer
    May 11, 2017
    Kleenex alert with this one! The Map That Leads to You is an amazing story about young adults traveling through Europe! Heather, Amy, and Constance have just graduated from college and taking a trip before starting jobs and entering “the real world.” Jack is traveling through Europe following his grandfather’s journal, visiting the places he once visited and just trying to enjoy life. After meeting Jack, Heather decides to ignore her detailed itinerary and follow along with Jack and his journal Kleenex alert with this one! The Map That Leads to You is an amazing story about young adults traveling through Europe! Heather, Amy, and Constance have just graduated from college and taking a trip before starting jobs and entering “the real world.” Jack is traveling through Europe following his grandfather’s journal, visiting the places he once visited and just trying to enjoy life. After meeting Jack, Heather decides to ignore her detailed itinerary and follow along with Jack and his journal travels and experiencing the most amazing romance of her life. All of the characters were instantly likable in this novel, but especially Jack and Heather. From the first time they meet they engage in endless banter back and forth between them that is sometimes serious, but often hilarious and sarcastic. After Amy has to suddenly return home, Heather and Constance continue on with Jack and his friend Raaf, resulting in both Heather and Constance finding love. Romantic just isn’t a strong enough word to describe this powerful love story. Romance is everywhere whether they are strolling through Paris, reading and discussing Hemingway, or just experiencing new things together. It would have been impossible for them not to fall in love on this incredible journey, but despite the setting, I still think Jack and Heather were soulmates and simply meant to be together. The author’s writing transports you to the places they visit where you can see and hear what’s around them, smell the food, taste the drinks, and fell the emotions building between them. The vivid imagery, dialogue, and characterization completely blew me away from beginning to end. I don’t want to give any spoilers about this amazing story, but you will need a box of Kleenex nearby while reading this one. This novel evokes feelings of adventure, romance, disappointment, sadness, and joy – but there are a few tearjerker moments! I cannot stress how much I recommend this novel which I found myself completely lost in for hours. Between Monninger’s exquisite writing and the beauty of the plot, this is an amazing novel. *THANKS TO NETGALLEY FOR PROVIDING THIS ARC IN EXCHANGE FOR AN HONEST REVIEW.
    more
  • Sharon May
    May 24, 2017
    Thanks to NetGalley, St Martin's Press, and JP Monninger for the opportunity to read and review this book.I ended up liking this book a lot more than I thought I would, or even that I did while reading it! It is somewhat of a coming-of-age young adult romance travel story - how's that for mixing genres? Three best friends - Heather, Amy, Constance - head off to travel Europe after college graduation. The friends fit specific roles - Heather is the responsible one, with a perfect job awaiting her Thanks to NetGalley, St Martin's Press, and JP Monninger for the opportunity to read and review this book.I ended up liking this book a lot more than I thought I would, or even that I did while reading it! It is somewhat of a coming-of-age young adult romance travel story - how's that for mixing genres? Three best friends - Heather, Amy, Constance - head off to travel Europe after college graduation. The friends fit specific roles - Heather is the responsible one, with a perfect job awaiting her with Bank of America in NYC; Amy is the wild child; Constance is the spiritual beauty, intrigued with saints. What was interesting was that they visited more off-the-beaten path kind of places, which added to the mystique and romance of the book. While on the train to Amsterdam, Heather meets Jack. They seem to perfectly fit together, they spar on equal terms, they delight in learning about each other in unique ways (fencing!). Jack is traveling around Europe following his grandfather's journal cataloguing his end-of-the-war traveling before returning to his Vermont farm.While I couldn't always see real people saying the words, I loved Heather's exit lines and thoughts. She didn't fall into the trap of having total blinders on during her time with Jack in Europe. When he said something that upset her, she let him know - in succinct, admirable ways. As opposed to real life when we all seem to exist in that "I wish I would have said..." mode in those situations.A great read!
    more
Write a review