Duke with Benefits (Studies in Scandal, #2)
LADY + DUKE = TRUE LOVE?Lady Daphne Forsyth is a brilliant mathematician with a burning passion for puzzles. When she learns that the library belonging to her benefactress houses the legendary Cameron Cipher an encrypted message that, once solved, holds the key to great riches Daphne is on the case. Unfortunately, her race to unlock the cipher s code is continually thwarted by a deliciously handsome distraction she hadn t counted on. . .and cannot resist.Dalton Beauchamp, the Duke of Maitland, is curious as to why Daphne is spending so much time snooping around his aunt s bookshelves. He s even more intrigued by her bold yet calculating manner: She is unapologetic about her secret quest. . .and the fiery attraction that develops between them both. But how can they concentrate on solving a perplexing enigma once the prospect of true love enters the equation? Witty, sensual historical romance that will captivate readers. Romance Junkies"

Duke with Benefits (Studies in Scandal, #2) Details

TitleDuke with Benefits (Studies in Scandal, #2)
Author
FormatPaperback
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJun 27th, 2017
PublisherSt. Martin's Paperbacks
ISBN1250109884
ISBN-139781250109880
Number of pages320 pages
Rating
GenreRomance, Historical Romance, Historical

Duke with Benefits (Studies in Scandal, #2) Review

  • Mary - Buried Under Romance
    March 5, 2017
    I did not like Daphne in the first book - being crude without a filter is not exactly an endearing trait - however, she seems to possess some ounce of self-awareness over her failures, yet she never tries to improve her social skills, and suddenly wants a duke...I'll see if she can surprise me.
    more
  • Tracy
    April 21, 2017
    *I am voluntarily reviewing an ARC provided to me by NetGalley and the publisher*Release Date: 6/27/17I thought that Ready, Set, Rogue was my new favorite Manda Collins book and it was, until I read Duke with Benefits! Sorry, Ivy and Quill - Dalton and Daphne's story has taken over as my favorite!I loved the Duke of Maitland aka Dalton in the first book, he was charming, easy going and obviously head over heels for Daphne. Daphne was a bit off-putting in the first book, not unlikable - she kind *I am voluntarily reviewing an ARC provided to me by NetGalley and the publisher*Release Date: 6/27/17I thought that Ready, Set, Rogue was my new favorite Manda Collins book and it was, until I read Duke with Benefits! Sorry, Ivy and Quill - Dalton and Daphne's story has taken over as my favorite!I loved the Duke of Maitland aka Dalton in the first book, he was charming, easy going and obviously head over heels for Daphne. Daphne was a bit off-putting in the first book, not unlikable - she kind of reminded me of Temperance Brennan aka Bones - brilliant, blunt and socially oblivious - not intentionally unkind but still somewhat obnoxious.The prologue of this book starts shortly before the end of RSR, with Daphne propositioning Dalton and him refusing her. Chapter One starts about 3 months later. Daphne has been searching for the Cameron Cipher, which leads to the stash of gold that the Cameron clan hid after the uprising. The letter that Lady Celeste left for her made it clear that she wanted Daphne to find and solve the cipher. She didn't tell any of the others about her search and reasons that Ivy didn't tell her about her quest and she assumes that Sophia and Gemma have their secrets too. So when, Nigel Sommersby, someone from Daphne's past shows up and mentions the cipher, Daphne must reveal her secret. The others are all willing to help her, but she wants to do it on her own. That is until Sommersby turns up dead and someone takes a shot at Daphne.Dalton goes into hyper protective mode and is determined to keep Daphne safe. Dalton is the only person that Daphne truly feels comfortable with and even though his rejection still hurts her, she enjoys his company and trusts him. She accepts his offer of protection and begins to open up about her past. The more Dalton hears, the more he wants to keep her safe. So when her father shows up and demands that she leave the estate with him, Dalton claims they are betrothed.Daphne is stunned by this announcement, but plays along knowing that her father would never turn away a duke! And Dalton convinces her that being betrothed will enable them to spend more time together searching for the cipher without damaging her reputation. What she doesn't know is that Dalton has every intention of making their pretend engagement real. While following up on a clue, they are caught in a storm and take shelter at an inn. Once inside they are spotted together by an old acquaintance of Dalton's who is a notorious gossip. When "Pinky" makes a rude insinuation about Daphne, Dalton claims that they are married. He later tells Daphne that they must marry and she agrees, if he will be her lover. She wants to make sure that her past will not interfere with their future and makes him promise to let her go if she can't be a true wife to him.From here the story really takes off, there are more clues, more victims, more betrayal, more steamy love scenes, an abduction, treasure and finally a very sweet HEA.Daphne really grew as a person in this book and that was due in large part to Dalton. She isn't perfect and is still a bit socially awkward, but it comes across as more endearing than annoying. The relationship between Daphne and Dalton was perfectly paced and believable, I felt the connection between them and it was much more than lust. I would highly recommend this book and would strongly suggest reading Ready, Set, Rogue before starting this story. It is not 100% necessary, but it will give you a better understanding of the characters and why they are all at the estate. Not to mention it is a really awesome book!
    more
  • Joann Maggio
    April 23, 2017
    Duke with Benefits ⭐⭐⭐⭐ written by Amanda Collins(Study in Scandals #2)While is did not read the first book of this series I did find this a throughly enjoyable romance/mystery.Lady Daphne Forsyth is renowned mathematician she has a true passion for puzzles and alike. It is her gift that brings her to the attention of Lady Celeste. Celeste upon her untimely death bequests her estate the Beauchamp House to four great female minds. Her nephew Dalton Beauchamp upon meeting Lady Daphne is quite int Duke with Benefits ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ written by Amanda Collins(Study in Scandals #2)While is did not read the first book of this series I did find this a throughly enjoyable romance/mystery.Lady Daphne Forsyth is renowned mathematician she has a true passion for puzzles and alike. It is her gift that brings her to the attention of Lady Celeste. Celeste upon her untimely death bequests her estate the Beauchamp House to four great female minds. Her nephew Dalton Beauchamp upon meeting Lady Daphne is quite intrigued by her abilities and her less than proper struggles to get along with others. Although, Daphne hides a secret from them all about her once almost suffering a rape attack as she becomes close to them she reveals her circumstances. It is the hidden cypher that truly draws the reader into the story. The cunning way both Dalton and Daphne hunt down clues and become closes and begins to fall in love. The cypher has the reader making assumption as to what the actual treasure is as well as trying to find out who is the murderer.Here lies my disappointment in this story. Once the treasure box is uncovered we are never told of its contents. Why did the author leave us hanging. I found the romance lovely both seemed to compliment each other even though Daphne had a long way to travel learning to interact with others. I do believe she succeeded. I received this book from Netgalley for an honest review.
    more
  • Heather andrews
    April 20, 2017
    I loved Dalton's honesty, “because I couldn’t bear the thought of some rich social climber with piles of money but no appreciation for how special you are to have you.” She didn’t know what to say. And didn’t need to, because he said finally, “I did it because I wanted you for myself, Daphne. I wanted you to be mine.” Both Daphne and Dalton are both quite matter of factly people, “I’ve heard there is some pain for the lady the first time,”he said against her ear, even as he caressed over her nak I loved Dalton's honesty, “because I couldn’t bear the thought of some rich social climber with piles of money but no appreciation for how special you are to have you.” She didn’t know what to say. And didn’t need to, because he said finally, “I did it because I wanted you for myself, Daphne. I wanted you to be mine.” Both Daphne and Dalton are both quite matter of factly people, “I’ve heard there is some pain for the lady the first time,”he said against her ear, even as he caressed over her naked skin. “I will try to be gentle, but I don’t know if once I begin I’ll be able to…”She stopped his words with a kiss." I really enjoyed this book, I loved Dalton and Daphne.
    more
  • Synergy
    April 19, 2017
    Who wouldn't want to be on the receiving end of a sexy, honorable, ducal proposal? Exactly, no one. Which is why Lady Daphne Forsyth is my new role model. She's a bit socially awkward, far more concerned about her academic pursuits, than social graces. Yet, she's caught the eye of Dalton Beauchamp, the Duke of Maitland. No academic slouch, the Duke's real talent lies in understanding people. From the very beginning Dalton finds Daphne's blunt speaking charming. Their personalities compliment eac Who wouldn't want to be on the receiving end of a sexy, honorable, ducal proposal? Exactly, no one. Which is why Lady Daphne Forsyth is my new role model. She's a bit socially awkward, far more concerned about her academic pursuits, than social graces. Yet, she's caught the eye of Dalton Beauchamp, the Duke of Maitland. No academic slouch, the Duke's real talent lies in understanding people. From the very beginning Dalton finds Daphne's blunt speaking charming. Their personalities compliment each other and their passion is undeniable. Their’s is a romance laced with a bit of danger and peppered with intrigue and betrayal.It's an entertaining story and a satisfying read.I received an ARC of this book, via Net Galley, in exchange for a fair and honest review.
    more
  • Brittany
    April 18, 2017
    I received this from Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This is book two in an new series from Manda Collins. I just thought it was okay. We first meet Daphne in book one where she and four others have inherited a house that comes with some stipulations. Daphne is a little bit odd. She just speaks her mind and is little bit rough around the edges. Her man is really uptight. The story was well done but just not a fan of her.
    more
  • Nicole
    April 16, 2017
    I received this book from net galley for an honest review. Thank you!!This novel was a good continuation about the next woman at the Beauchamp house that Lady Celeste gave to 4 bluestocking women who have great abilities. This novel contains romance, adventure, and mystery.Lady Daphne Forsyth is a brilliant mathematician, but says exactly what is on her mind. This causes problem with other people due to her bluntness. She is given a cipher by Lady Celeste. She heard about this cipher in her chil I received this book from net galley for an honest review. Thank you!!This novel was a good continuation about the next woman at the Beauchamp house that Lady Celeste gave to 4 bluestocking women who have great abilities. This novel contains romance, adventure, and mystery.Lady Daphne Forsyth is a brilliant mathematician, but says exactly what is on her mind. This causes problem with other people due to her bluntness. She is given a cipher by Lady Celeste. She heard about this cipher in her childhood and Lady Celeste wants her to solve it and seek help from her nephew.Dalton Beauchamp, the Duke of Maitland, has an immediate interest and attraction to Daphne. He knows he is not as intelligent as she is, but he has a way with people. When Daphne offers to have an affair with her, he turns her down.Daphne has had a troubled childhood, involving her father. Her father used her abilities to pursue his own interests. When Daphne is confronted by a man from her past that winds up dead, it sets into motion the need to solve the mystery of the cipher Lady Celeste gave to Daphne. As Daphne and Maitland follow the clues left by his aunt, their attraction for each other grows. Maitland would do anything to protect Daphne and after meeting her father, he tells them they are betrothed to keep her safe. However, Daphne has no desire to marry. Daphne and Maitland have to keep one step ahead of others who want to have the treasure for themselves. There are potential suspects, but I did not realize who the main instigator was until this person revealed themselves. Part of the enjoyment of this novel is the mystery of the cipher and the journey to find it. When Daphne is kidnapped, will Maitland be able to save her or will the villain use her to find the treasure and destroy anyone who gets in the way?
    more
  • Moriah
    April 23, 2017
    I received a copy of this title from the publisher for an honest review. The second title in the Studies in Scandal series features Lady Daphne, the mathematician with limited social skills. Raised by her father who saw her as a way to pay his bills through her skill with cards, Daphne finds social interactions challenging. She tends to say exactly what is on her mind without thinking and doesn't understand the need to stick to save conversation topics. Three months prior, Daphne propositioned D I received a copy of this title from the publisher for an honest review. The second title in the Studies in Scandal series features Lady Daphne, the mathematician with limited social skills. Raised by her father who saw her as a way to pay his bills through her skill with cards, Daphne finds social interactions challenging. She tends to say exactly what is on her mind without thinking and doesn't understand the need to stick to save conversation topics. Three months prior, Daphne propositioned Dalton, the Duke of Maitland to have a strictly physical affair with no strings attached. After growing up with a father known for his scandalous behavior, Dalton refuses Daphne and hurts her feelings. Lady Celeste, Dalton's aunt and Daphne's benefactor, has left clues to the Cameron Cipher for Daphne, but she will need Dalton's help to find a Jacobite treasure. A murder complicates the search; Daphne and Dalton soon realize that they are better together than individually. I could totally relate to Daphne and her social awkwardness and appreciated a character that wasn't socially adept. I love how Dalton understands Daphne's quirks and appreciates of her incredible math skills without feeling threatened. Dalton's defense of Daphne when her father shows up proves that he is the perfect man for her - he is proud of her knowledge but will also protect her from anyone wanting to take advantage of her. Like Manda Collins other stories, the mystery aspect is well done and keeps the reader guessing throughout. I can't wait to see what is in store for the final two beneficiaries of Lady Celeste's legacy.
    more
  • Kelly Tyree
    April 22, 2017
    Duke with Benefits is book two in the Studies in Scandal series. I had not read book one and I did feel at a disadvantage because of that, but the author did a good job of catching you up to speed on the characters and the setting. Lady Daphne Forsyth is one of four benefactors of the famous home of Lady Celeste. Each of the benefactors were selected because of their great minds. Daphne's area of expertise is in mathematics. Daphne was told prior to moving to the home that there was a treasure h Duke with Benefits is book two in the Studies in Scandal series. I had not read book one and I did feel at a disadvantage because of that, but the author did a good job of catching you up to speed on the characters and the setting. Lady Daphne Forsyth is one of four benefactors of the famous home of Lady Celeste. Each of the benefactors were selected because of their great minds. Daphne's area of expertise is in mathematics. Daphne was told prior to moving to the home that there was a treasure hidden and that she would find clues to unlocking ciphers code. Dalton Beauchamp, the Duke of Maitland is in the home visiting his sister. There is immediate chemistry between Dalton and Daphne. Although Daphne is a genius when it comes to mathematics, she struggles with interacting with others. She tends to say exactly what is on her mind. She propositions Dalton to engage in a physical relationship with her. Dalton rejects her offer and tries to persuade her to marry him instead. Daphne rejects the idea of marriage and turns Dalton down. Daphne and Dalton embark on trips to try and solve the clues to the treasure hunt. As they go on these trips, they become more and more fond of one another. Also the treasure hunt becomes more dangerous as a dead body is found in their home. Daphne has been hurt by the men in her life and despite the fact that Dalton is different, she has her own fears about whether she will be able to be a good wife to Dalton and whether she would be able to give him an heir. Duke with Benefits was a book that kept me engaged. I liked the characters and enjoyed trying to solve who was at the heart of the attacks and the murder. I was certainly surprised. I enjoyed watching the characters develop and watching the romance between Daphne and Dalton blossom.
    more
  • Leslie
    April 22, 2017
    Far more enjoyable than the first in this series, Ready Set Rogue. And there was a lot more action, what with a mysterious cipher, hidden treasure, spies, kidnapping, fake engagement, riddles and clues galore. But the real pleasure was Daphne and Dalton dancing around each other.In the first book, Daphne was almost insufferably blunt-spoken without no social filters. Here, we find layers of what makes her tick - she's not just an awkward bluestocking so much as someone dealing with real psycholo Far more enjoyable than the first in this series, Ready Set Rogue. And there was a lot more action, what with a mysterious cipher, hidden treasure, spies, kidnapping, fake engagement, riddles and clues galore. But the real pleasure was Daphne and Dalton dancing around each other.In the first book, Daphne was almost insufferably blunt-spoken without no social filters. Here, we find layers of what makes her tick - she's not just an awkward bluestocking so much as someone dealing with real psychological conditions while trying to find a place to belong. The author makes it obvious that Daphne is probably a high-functioning autistic with obsessive compulsive disorder, but it is depicted in a gentle, respectful manner and not as a literary gimmick. I loved that Daphne tried so hard, not to change her true self, but to make adjustments so as not to hurt or offend her newly found friends. As a result, Dalton wasn't nearly as interesting a character as Daphne, but his obvious adoration and adulation of Daphne, ticks and all, was a lovely tribute. Dalton may not fully understand Daphne, but he loves all of her. 3.5 starsNote: I received an ARC in exchange for a honest review.
    more
  • Anna Swedenmom
    April 22, 2017
    I know arguable rating! BUT BUT BUT, I have met people in real life that has the same problem as the heroine, with no filter and too many brains at times where everyday life escapes them. Having said this, i must say I truly enjoyed this book. I found it funny, entertaining and I loved the hero and the heroine had my heart pulling for her with all her problems of not understanding everyday life or people. I truly like the writing by this author and cannot wait for her books to come out. They are I know arguable rating! BUT BUT BUT, I have met people in real life that has the same problem as the heroine, with no filter and too many brains at times where everyday life escapes them. Having said this, i must say I truly enjoyed this book. I found it funny, entertaining and I loved the hero and the heroine had my heart pulling for her with all her problems of not understanding everyday life or people. I truly like the writing by this author and cannot wait for her books to come out. They are entertaining and always enjoyable for me. I enjoy the way the plot lines are different the characters have depth and complexity but overall the books are enjoyable and funny to some extent. I like the romance and honesty within the relationships. I can only say I sincerely enjoyed this book. I was given this arc in return for an honest review. Anna
    more
  • La Cava
    April 15, 2017
    Duke With BenefitsThe second book in Manda Collin's Studies in Scandals series has a unique quality and so is not like every other Regency Romance. The novel features four young ladies, who unexpectedly inherit a country estate. Lady Celeste Beauchamp, a woman of superior intelligence, wished to enable these four bluestockings to pursue their studies without the responsibilities they have regarding their families. To make sure the ladies have this opportunity Lady Beauchamp bequeathed them her h Duke With BenefitsThe second book in Manda Collin's Studies in Scandals series has a unique quality and so is not like every other Regency Romance. The novel features four young ladies, who unexpectedly inherit a country estate. Lady Celeste Beauchamp, a woman of superior intelligence, wished to enable these four bluestockings to pursue their studies without the responsibilities they have regarding their families. To make sure the ladies have this opportunity Lady Beauchamp bequeathed them her home. A manor complete with artifacts and a fabulous library. A Duke With Benefits can read as a stand-alone, but it is entertaining to watch these four young ladies begin their relationship as strangers to each other, and develop into a loving family of their own. The hero and heroine, Dalton Beauchamp, the Duke of Maitland and Lady Daphne Forsyth share witty dialog while trying not enjoy themselves. The passion level between Dalton and Daphne is not combustible, but it is believable. The memorable journey they share is packed with adventures, villains, dark deeds and hidden treasures. I enjoyed reading the tale of Dalton and Daphne as they earn their HEA.
    more
  • Blushing Reader
    April 22, 2017
    3.5 starsThis was a cute caper romance, but I feel like I really should have read this in order. I liked the characters, but the ending happened too quick after all the build up. Definitely interested in reading more in this series.
  • Amary Chapman
    April 17, 2017
    The second book in the Studies in Scandal series brings Dalton Beauchamp, the Duke of Maitland, and Lady Daphne Forsythe close as they try to solve the Cameron Riddle Treasure cipher left to Daphne by Dalton's aunt, Lady Celeste. Lady Daphne lacks tact, and Dalton has charm in spades so Lady Celeste's pairing of them is her solution to solving the age old puzzle. Murders, assaults and thefts delay but do not deter the pair, their smoking hot attraction only slows them until they submit to the in The second book in the Studies in Scandal series brings Dalton Beauchamp, the Duke of Maitland, and Lady Daphne Forsythe close as they try to solve the Cameron Riddle Treasure cipher left to Daphne by Dalton's aunt, Lady Celeste. Lady Daphne lacks tact, and Dalton has charm in spades so Lady Celeste's pairing of them is her solution to solving the age old puzzle. Murders, assaults and thefts delay but do not deter the pair, their smoking hot attraction only slows them until they submit to the inevitable...each other. The descriptions of the places, and people are vivid. You come to care for the characters of good character and want to smack the self-centered and dishonest ones. This is one historical romance/mystery you don't want to miss. I can't wait for Serena, Gemma and Sophie's stories. I requested and received a NatGalley ARC of this book.
    more
  • Pamela
    April 20, 2017
    Really enjoyed this story of mystery and romance that continues the series involving 4 bluestocking women who inherit the estate of an older woman who wanted to encourage women to learn and grow. This story was about Daphne, a young Lady skilled in maths, but awkward with people and social situations, and the Duke nephew of their mentor. Daphne wasn't particularly likeable in the first book, but is delightful in this one. Her "plainspeaking" is charming and endearing. The Duke is just a good man Really enjoyed this story of mystery and romance that continues the series involving 4 bluestocking women who inherit the estate of an older woman who wanted to encourage women to learn and grow. This story was about Daphne, a young Lady skilled in maths, but awkward with people and social situations, and the Duke nephew of their mentor. Daphne wasn't particularly likeable in the first book, but is delightful in this one. Her "plainspeaking" is charming and endearing. The Duke is just a good man with a great personality. They are drawn together initially, but she has no plans to marry, so propositions him. He is taken aback, though he is attracted to her. His aunt has left letters with missions for all of them, and hers is to find and decipher a message that leads to Jacobite gold. The plot twists and turns several times, as they are also drawn into a betrothal which blossoms into love. Highly recommended for romance and mystery lovers. I received a free arc in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Michelle
    April 22, 2017
    Thank you to NetGalley and St. Martins Press for an ARC of this book in exchange for a honest review of this book.This book is the second in a series and although I did not read the first book you really didn't have to in order to understand the plot. That's probably the only thing I liked about this book. I found Lady Daphne to be an insufferable main character. In fact, I disliked her so much I that I didn't really care when bad things happened to her. The Duke was not much better. In the begi Thank you to NetGalley and St. Martins Press for an ARC of this book in exchange for a honest review of this book.This book is the second in a series and although I did not read the first book you really didn't have to in order to understand the plot. That's probably the only thing I liked about this book. I found Lady Daphne to be an insufferable main character. In fact, I disliked her so much I that I didn't really care when bad things happened to her. The Duke was not much better. In the beginning I can't tell if he's a rake or a prude. You kind of figure it out halfway through the book but you really only get a one chapter explanation on him and then the story continues. The writing is about average for a historical romance. I will say Amanda Collins did present an original concept and the book wasn't as formulaic as your typical romance novel. Would I recommend this one? No. Would I read another Manda Collins book? Absolutely, just maybe not another Studies in Scandal book.
    more
  • Deb Diem
    April 25, 2017
    Duke With Benefits by Manda Collins is a fantastic historical romance. Ms Collins has penned a story with plenty of suspenseful twists and turns and loaded it with lovable characters. Daphne and Dalton's story has enough drama, humor and spice to keep a reader glued to this book from cover to cover. I totally enjoyed reading Duke With Benefits and look forward to reading more from Manda Collins in the future. Duke With Benefits is book 2 in the Studies in Scandal Series but can be read as a stan Duke With Benefits by Manda Collins is a fantastic historical romance. Ms Collins has penned a story with plenty of suspenseful twists and turns and loaded it with lovable characters. Daphne and Dalton's story has enough drama, humor and spice to keep a reader glued to this book from cover to cover. I totally enjoyed reading Duke With Benefits and look forward to reading more from Manda Collins in the future. Duke With Benefits is book 2 in the Studies in Scandal Series but can be read as a standalone. This is a complete book, not a cliff-hanger.I voluntarily reviewed an Advance Reader Copy of this book that I received from NetGalley.
    more
  • Lindsey Gray
    April 16, 2017
    Review to come!
  • Samurdhi
    April 18, 2017
    **Honest Review for NetGalley**I tried. I tried hard to like this book but I couldn't. If you know me you'd know how much I love a strong independent woman character. Add to that a woman with a special inclination for mathematics. But, the story was a little bland for my taste. Sorry I couldn't like it.
    more
  • Barbara Rogers
    May 5, 2017
    Series: Studies In Scandal #2Publication Date: June 22, 2017DUKE WITH BENEFITS is the second book in this series. I have not read the first book, though I fully intend to go back and do so. You can enjoy this book without having read the first one because this one catches you up with much of what went on. The series features four bluestockings – each outstanding in her particular field – who jointly inherit the estate of Lady Celeste Beauchamp (also a bluestocking). Each heir is left a particula Series: Studies In Scandal #2Publication Date: June 22, 2017DUKE WITH BENEFITS is the second book in this series. I have not read the first book, though I fully intend to go back and do so. You can enjoy this book without having read the first one because this one catches you up with much of what went on. The series features four bluestockings – each outstanding in her particular field – who jointly inherit the estate of Lady Celeste Beauchamp (also a bluestocking). Each heir is left a particular mystery to solve based on their specific skills. The mystery in the first book was to solve the murder of Lady Celeste and this one was the solving of a cypher that would lead to the discovery of a large cache of gold.This book is witty and sensuous and will captivate you and suck you in right from the first.Okay – picture Temperance Brennan from the TV series Bones – or Walter from the TV series Scorpion and you have Lady Daphne Forsyth who is our heroine in this book. She’s lovely to look at, has a brilliant mathematical mind, but has absolutely no social skills. She’s plain spoken to the point of rudeness. She doesn’t mean to hurt anyone, she’s just totally unaware of how her very plain words affect others. She just states facts and doesn’t dress them up prettily.Dalton Beauchamp, the Duke of Maitland is one of the few people in the world who admires Daphne and appreciates her absolute honesty. He was attracted to her from the beginning (in the first book) and that attraction just grows as he gets to know her better. One of Dalton’s foremost skills is in dealing with people, so he and Daphne are wonderfully suited. Each complements the other’s weaknesses.Someone else is out to find the treasure and Daphne and Dalton must find the cypher, solve it and then find the treasure first. There is a murder, an attempted murder and a kidnapping before it all comes to an end. It is a fun entertaining read and I enjoyed getting to know Dalton and Daphne. I am looking forward to the other books in the series. I know that there will be at least two more books to tell the stories of the remaining two heiresses, but I’d also like to see one featuring Serena. She is Dalton’s sister and the chaperone of the four heiresses – and she definitely deserves a happily ever after of her own."I requested and received this book at no cost to me and volunteered to read it; my review is my honest opinion and given without any influence by the author or publisher."
    more
  • Jessica Grogan
    May 4, 2017
    Ebook or not, it shouldn't take me 19 days to get to the second chapter in a book. Just couldn't get into the story which really sucks because I was looking forward to Daphne's story. I just do not have the patience it takes to wait for a slow story to get going.
    more
  • Emily S.
    March 4, 2017
    I've liked all of Manda Collins' books up until now, but this fell flat for me. I found the heroine distinctly unlikeable, and the story too far-fetched to believe. This was a miss for me.
  • Pamela
    May 3, 2017
    I actually wanted to rate this book higher than a four, but some little details about the heroine, Daphne, held me back. Other than those small issues, I really loved the plot of DUKE WITH BENEFITS. The chemistry between Daphne and Maitland is off the charts! I found myself laughing at Daphne's forthrightness on more than one occasion. Poor Maitland is in no way prepared for this bright young woman. The must work against time together to find the Cameron Treasure and the adventure is certainly s I actually wanted to rate this book higher than a four, but some little details about the heroine, Daphne, held me back. Other than those small issues, I really loved the plot of DUKE WITH BENEFITS. The chemistry between Daphne and Maitland is off the charts! I found myself laughing at Daphne's forthrightness on more than one occasion. Poor Maitland is in no way prepared for this bright young woman. The must work against time together to find the Cameron Treasure and the adventure is certainly something to see.
    more
Write a review