Single-Minded
Alex has planned and executed her life with laser focus since she first met her future husband at the play-doh table on the first day of kindergarten. They have a terrific life, a gorgeous house on the bay, and fantastic careers they love. There's only one problem: Alex's husband Michael is gay, a fact he neglected to mention in the 23 years since they first met.Now, Alex's perfectly planned life has completely fallen apart, her biological clock is starting to feel like the timer on a nuclear device, and she finds herself drooling over her completely-dreamy-but-definitely-off-limits client, a star chef opening a hot new restaurant. Armed with dating guidance from her oddball collection of advisers including her gay ex-husband, a foul-mouthed political consultant, a perkily masochistic yogi, and a pot-smoking octogenarian Alex navigates the booby-trapped world of modern dating, in her search for a second chance at love.

Single-Minded Details

TitleSingle-Minded
Author
FormatHardcover
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJun 27th, 2017
PublisherThomas Dunne Books
ISBN1250060443
ISBN-139781250060440
Number of pages304 pages
Rating
GenreRomance, Womens Fiction, Chick Lit

Single-Minded Review

  • Bibi
    June 28, 2017
    “But you’ll never get a new ending if you keep starting with the same tired beginning.”Imbued with humour, spiced with burning hot cajun romance, Single-Minded is skillfully written by an author well versed on the vagaries of life, love, and relationships.Lisa Daily brings her expertise as a life coach to this story about a woman-Alex- who suddenly finds herself in the middle of a snowball of infidelity and divorce, alongside the perplexing dating atmosphere she never imagined would become her l “But you’ll never get a new ending if you keep starting with the same tired beginning.”Imbued with humour, spiced with burning hot cajun romance, Single-Minded is skillfully written by an author well versed on the vagaries of life, love, and relationships.Lisa Daily brings her expertise as a life coach to this story about a woman-Alex- who suddenly finds herself in the middle of a snowball of infidelity and divorce, alongside the perplexing dating atmosphere she never imagined would become her life.As we follow Alex post-divorce through tears, laughter, and the odd tantric sex yogi, Daily illuminates the difficulties and curveballs that are prevalent in online and real life dating. Friendships, love and laughter; these intangibles are what makes Single-Minded a must read for anyone looking for a smart and entertaining summer read.
    more
  • Amy
    June 27, 2017
    All of my reviews can be found on www.novelgossip.comPoor Alex, I warmed to her character right away, how could you not?! She just found out her husband is gay and her entire world has crumbled. After the initial few chapters detailing their breakup, things fast forward to five months later which was a decision that I really liked. Instead of outlining Alex moping about and eating ice cream straight from the carton for weeks, you catch up with her again after she’s started the healing process. H All of my reviews can be found on www.novelgossip.comPoor Alex, I warmed to her character right away, how could you not?! She just found out her husband is gay and her entire world has crumbled. After the initial few chapters detailing their breakup, things fast forward to five months later which was a decision that I really liked. Instead of outlining Alex moping about and eating ice cream straight from the carton for weeks, you catch up with her again after she’s started the healing process. Her two best friends are insisting that she gets back to dating, especially since she’s only slept with one man before. Since he’s gay, they determine it doesn’t really count and implore her to lose her gay husband virginity. How? Online dating. Thankfully, I was married well before dating apps were a thing because I’ve heard some horror stories about them, but living vicariously through Alex was hugely entertaining. Some of them men she meets where a walking nightmare! Fun to witness for sure, but it made me extremely grateful for my husband. Daily is a great writer, her prose is smooth and light and infused with so much humor. There were countless scenes that made me giggle and plenty of conversations that had me in stitches. The characters were realistic and relatable and Alex is the type of friend I would want to have in real life. There was a sweet romance and I so badly wanted Alex to find happiness with a man worthy of all she has to offer. This is an ideal book to pick up this summer, super light and easy going but with enough heart and substance to keep you engrossed.
    more
  • ItaPixie
    June 26, 2017
    This was a lovely and funny read.I really liked how our heroine tried to go on with her life after the most shocking news that left her without her husband,her best friend.When she got divorced she finds pretty soon how difficult is to find a nice man who will be her forever love.I've enjoyed to follow Alex during her journey towards her "fish",perfect man, through disastrous dates and awful guys until the end that left me with a big smile on my face.Looking forward to reading more Lisa Daily s This was a lovely and funny read.I really liked how our heroine tried to go on with her life after the most shocking news that left her without her husband,her best friend.When she got divorced she finds pretty soon how difficult is to find a nice man who will be her forever love.I've enjoyed to follow Alex during her journey towards her "fish",perfect man, through disastrous dates and awful guys until the end that left me with a big smile on my face.Looking forward to reading more Lisa Daily stories. Copy kindly provided by the Publisher/Author.
    more
  • Sam (Clues and Reviews)
    May 27, 2017
    When I came across Single-Minded by Lisa Daily I knew immediately it would be added to my list of summer reads. I am always on the hunt for a solid palette cleanser that breaks the mold from a traditional chick-lit novel. An incredibly type A, overachiever type, Alex, has planned and executed her life since she met her future husband on the first day of kindergarten. There is only one problem. Alex’s husband, Michael, is gay and he didn’t mention that in the 23 years since they first met. Now, A When I came across Single-Minded by Lisa Daily I knew immediately it would be added to my list of summer reads. I am always on the hunt for a solid palette cleanser that breaks the mold from a traditional chick-lit novel. An incredibly type A, overachiever type, Alex, has planned and executed her life since she met her future husband on the first day of kindergarten. There is only one problem. Alex’s husband, Michael, is gay and he didn’t mention that in the 23 years since they first met. Now, Alex finds her perfectly planned and balanced life falling apart. Out of practice and unsure what to do, she turns to her girlfriends and her now ex-husband for dating advice. Alex is forced to navigate the modern dating scene and try to find a second chance at love. I loved the writing style of Daily. I found her prose to be engaging and I easily read this book in a single sitting! Lots of humorous moments and pop culture references kept it light and beach read appropriate. There were several laugh out loud moments. The plot of the book was a little bit different than what I originally thought it would be. I figured maybe she would be trying to figure out how to live her life on her own, depend on some sassy girlfriends for kooky dating advice and then run into a love interest. However, I was actually surprised when she jumped back into the dating scene right away and decided to follow all the ridiculous dating advice to sleep with as many men as possible to accomplish the “Naughty Nine” (which is the magic number her friends believe will make her a more “well rounded” lover). I think I may have loved the book more if she had done her own thing and then met her love interest. Either way, I think this one is a perfect beach read!
    more
  • Ema Threse
    April 16, 2017
    Daily is a splendid writer and my heart was in my throat through many of the scenes of this book. I think at heart this book stood out to me as a romance, though it did also address issues of self-worth and how one can view and value themselves as the world around them changes. I can relate to Alex in how driven she is and in how she plans for things to go in a certain way so that she can meet success. I definitely would have liked to have seen more about her business--the scenes were she had ev Daily is a splendid writer and my heart was in my throat through many of the scenes of this book. I think at heart this book stood out to me as a romance, though it did also address issues of self-worth and how one can view and value themselves as the world around them changes. I can relate to Alex in how driven she is and in how she plans for things to go in a certain way so that she can meet success. I definitely would have liked to have seen more about her business--the scenes were she had events that could make or break it were really interesting and I was fascinated by her job as an environmental psychologist and wanted to learn more. I loved seeing her entering the world of dating. I generally enjoy this, but it was especially great as she was a very put together character who just simply had never really been on a date in her life and because of that, there were many pitfalls that she had to work with throughout. Her first "Tinder"-esque dates especially were intriguing, and I was curious about her friend's idea of needing to date a certain number of people of certain types before being able to marry. The "fish" especially resonated with me--that most people will have one person that is perfect in many ways, but there's something that just makes the relationship incompatible. I felt like several scenes were sped through and could have used more detail to build up suspense and to really put me in the scene. I also wish there had been more resolution about a certain intriguing portrait. This is a lovely women's fiction novel that I found to have quite a satisfying romance. I recommend it as a light read. I received a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. 
    more
  • Kristen
    May 15, 2017
    Single-Minded is about a woman (Alex) who thought her life was successfully on track until she finds out that her husband is gay. Alex has no choice but to divorce her gay husband and find a new life for herself. Since her (former) husband is the only man she has ever been with, Alex's friends step in to help Alex find the Naughty Nine- or just 9 guys to sleep with in order to help her find mister right. Alex takes on a new client and helps to design one of the hottest restaurants in Sarasota, b Single-Minded is about a woman (Alex) who thought her life was successfully on track until she finds out that her husband is gay. Alex has no choice but to divorce her gay husband and find a new life for herself. Since her (former) husband is the only man she has ever been with, Alex's friends step in to help Alex find the Naughty Nine- or just 9 guys to sleep with in order to help her find mister right. Alex takes on a new client and helps to design one of the hottest restaurants in Sarasota, but what begins as a professional client relationship quickly turns into a steamy romantic one that Alex can't ignore.Taking her readers though a whirl wind of emotions, Lisa Daily does an amazing job putting her readers right there in the story. The openness and ease of conversation as well as the relationship dynamics amongst characters makes for an easy and engrossing read. **Book was received via Goodreads Giveaway in exchange for an honest review: Overall 5 Stars**
    more
  • Nina
    April 14, 2017
    I won this book through Goodreads! This is another book that jumped the queue. The premise of this book seems unlikely, yet this author made it work - beautifully! I never laughed so hard while reading! It was so funny and yet sad sometimes. The whole concept of an LGBT divorce party where the divorced spouses and their friends celebrate, was hard to get my mind around, but the believable characters made the story work. I loved this book!
    more
  • Kim
    April 6, 2017
    won from www.bookstr.com got in mail this morning
  • Wendy
    April 14, 2017
    Received as goodreads giveaway.
  • Lovely Loveday
    April 30, 2017
    Single-Minded by Lisa Daily is scheduled to release on June 27, 2017 by St. Martin’s Press and is a women’s fiction novel. I found this to be a romance novel with a lot of twists. Daily is an amazing writer and has created an outstanding novel about first love, hope, loss, and fear of the future. Alex is very driven and plans for things to go in a certain way so that she can meet success. The writer tells of all the ups and downs of a newly single women as she is entering the dating world after Single-Minded by Lisa Daily is scheduled to release on June 27, 2017 by St. Martin’s Press and is a women’s fiction novel. I found this to be a romance novel with a lot of twists. Daily is an amazing writer and has created an outstanding novel about first love, hope, loss, and fear of the future. Alex is very driven and plans for things to go in a certain way so that she can meet success. The writer tells of all the ups and downs of a newly single women as she is entering the dating world after many years of being married. Overall, I found this to be a very fun, romantic novel. **I received an Advanced Readers Copy in exchange for an honest and unbiased review.**
    more
  • Brittany
    June 2, 2017
    Thank you to Goodreads/the author for providing me with this book for free for review. This was a very interesting read for me. I felt a lot of emotions while reading this story and it really kept me hooked from page one. It started off immediately with Alex finding out that her husband Michael had been lying to her for the past twenty three years. Alex and Michael had a picture perfect life on the outside. But unknown to Alex, Michael is gay and had been cheating on her during their entire marr Thank you to Goodreads/the author for providing me with this book for free for review. This was a very interesting read for me. I felt a lot of emotions while reading this story and it really kept me hooked from page one. It started off immediately with Alex finding out that her husband Michael had been lying to her for the past twenty three years. Alex and Michael had a picture perfect life on the outside. But unknown to Alex, Michael is gay and had been cheating on her during their entire marriage. Basically, all of their friends and family knew except for Alex. She had no idea and feels very stupid. She and Michael grew up together and had been together for thirteen years. Then her world falls apart. I was very proud of Alex when she stood up for herself against Michael. Michael kept trying to have a pity party for himself because he chose to be closeted for his whole life. He didn't trust anyone not even Alex enough to tell the truth. She had been in a false marriage for years! It's time she'll never get back because Michael decided to be selfish. Now, I am a big LGBT supporter so don't get me wrong here. I'm happy he did finally tell her the truth, but he should've done it sooner! He loved Alex yes, but he was never in love with her and those are years of her life she will never get back because of his selfish reasons. Alex made me proud. She stood up to Michael, but at the same time she was supportive about him coming out. She helped him keep his career which I know I wouldn't have done. Then Alex's friends tell her she has to go and sleep with other straight men to truly lose her virginity. That was not the right thing to do in my opinion. If Alex wanted some time to herself then she should've taken it. She doesn't have to go off sleeping with people immediately. And I just didn't like how her friends put it. Just because she slept with someone who was gay doesn't mean she never lost her virginity. Seriously, are they in high school? Eventually, Alex does meet someone after a string of bad dates and one awesome one night stand. She thinks she can move on and be happy, but she's not entirely sure. After everything that happened with Michael she's not sure if she can trust anyone again. But she also does want to get married and have children so she has to learn to trust and love all over again. While Alex does say during the book that she wants things to move slowly she doesn't really stick with that. Which is fine, but I feel like she moved on too quickly. I feel like that kind of betrayal she experienced would've been more of a process to get over. Yes she dived into her work for a bit and didn't do much else. But I feel like she probably wouldn't have been able to actually move on for a year or even more with how everything happened. And I did not like Michael. He was so selfish and moved on so quickly not ever considering Alex's feelings. I know coming out for him was hard, but everyone supported him. So it wasn't as big of a deal as the story was making it to be. Alex is quite a character to still be friends with him because I wouldn't have been. I feel like the book could've been more emotional, but it wasn't in the way I thought it could've been. But it kept me hooked and was something different.
    more
  • Stephaniereads
    May 13, 2017
    Nothing in life truly goes to plan. Welcome to the life of Alex an environmental psychologist. Alex shockingly discovers that her husband Michael is gay via the news and is confused when her friends do not respond the same as her. Now officially divorced, Alex’s friends and weirdly Michael, gives her advice to start dating which also includes online dating. Alex’s friends create a plan where she will find her Mr Right by dating at least nine different types of men. As dating doesn’t go accordin Nothing in life truly goes to plan. Welcome to the life of Alex an environmental psychologist. Alex shockingly discovers that her husband Michael is gay via the news and is confused when her friends do not respond the same as her. Now officially divorced, Alex’s friends and weirdly Michael, gives her advice to start dating which also includes online dating. Alex’s friends create a plan where she will find her Mr Right by dating at least nine different types of men. As dating doesn’t go according to plan, Alex throws herself into her work. Alex meets handsome client who is a star chef opening his new restaurant. Will Alex fall for his good looks or will he been off limits as she stays professional by helping him create an outstanding a successful restaurant?I liked how the start of this book was fast paced and exciting. Alex has a big decision to make which could end Michael career, although Alex could have made a selfish and spiteful decision, she decided on what will be best for the both of them. Also at the end of the book Alex still sees Michael as family and is there to support Michael and his father when Michael ends up in hospital.Alex’s occupation as an environmental psychologist was very interesting to read and I was so pleased that Lisa Daily had written so much about Alex and her job. It was so interesting and inspiring to read as I have never heard of this job title before. Alex has built an amazing career for her and to work on so many different projects at a time. But you always get the one challenging client.This was a fun easy read with a pinch of Bridget Jones’s Diary humour. * I received an ARC copy of this book from St. Martin’s Press Thomas Dunne Press via Netgalley in return for an honest and fair review.
    more
  • Gayle Cappelluti
    May 8, 2017
    I won this book in a Goodreads giveaway. I found it very well written, if predictable, yet also less than believable and absolutely mis-named. Alex and Michael have everything going for them, plus the enviable status of having been childhood sweethearts who met on the first day of Kindergarten and have loved each other ever since. Unfortunately, to Alex's utter shock and dismay, Michael comes to realize that he is gay, and being unable to live a lie anymore, he comes out to her and to the rest o I won this book in a Goodreads giveaway. I found it very well written, if predictable, yet also less than believable and absolutely mis-named. Alex and Michael have everything going for them, plus the enviable status of having been childhood sweethearts who met on the first day of Kindergarten and have loved each other ever since. Unfortunately, to Alex's utter shock and dismay, Michael comes to realize that he is gay, and being unable to live a lie anymore, he comes out to her and to the rest of their world. While Alex deals with her heartbreak, she realizes that no one else who knows them is the least bit surprised by Michael's defection of the marriage and sudden leap out of the closet. But no worries, for Alex and Michael will remain the best of friends. Within months, they are holding a joint divorce party; she is sad, devastated actually, but he is thrilled, wearing a sparkly Princess crown and leather pants and dancing with drag queens. But don't cry for Alex. She's gonna start sleeping around! In fact, along with her closest of girlfriends, Michael is going to help Alex line up suitable suitors and future sex partners, and in virtually no time at all, Alex is subscribed to online dating sites in hopes of chalking up some seriously needed sexual exploits. This may have been the element I found least believable. For one thing, she needed no time at all to recover. And she stayed angry with Michael for about a minute before asking him to set her up with a quarterback. WHAT??!! I found myself questioning whether I would even want to be friends with someone who had so broken my heart. Could I share a party with him? be heartbroken while watching him dance with other guys? Would I want my former husband who I thought had humiliated me and stolen my child bearing years to find me a hook-up? I just don't think that part of the story rang true. As for the book being mis-named I just don't think anyone in this story is "Single- Minded," as the entire crux of the story revolves around finding Alex a cast of at least nine sexual exploits, if not a suitable partner. After all, she has been sleeping with a gay man; to their way of thinking, then, she's practically a virgin!! Both Alex and Michael waste no time finding replacements for the other. So,as you might expect, if she, or she and Michael are Single-Minded, they certainly won't remain so for very long! I guess I just don't get it!
    more
  • Claire
    May 4, 2017
    I received Single-Minded as part of a Goodreads giveaway.Alex Wiggins' well-ordered world is blown to smithereens when her husband (and best friend since childhood) is caught in an affair with a star (male) college athlete. Now divorced, she finds herself on the dating scene for the first time. Her friends are determined to get her to move on and embrace the singles dating scene, while professional and personal lines cross when she finds herself attracted to a new work client, a New Orleans chef I received Single-Minded as part of a Goodreads giveaway.Alex Wiggins' well-ordered world is blown to smithereens when her husband (and best friend since childhood) is caught in an affair with a star (male) college athlete. Now divorced, she finds herself on the dating scene for the first time. Her friends are determined to get her to move on and embrace the singles dating scene, while professional and personal lines cross when she finds herself attracted to a new work client, a New Orleans chef looking to open a new restaurant.There were snippets of Single-Minded that I liked--I thought the concept was interesting, speaking as someone who was raised in the conservative Midwest, where a lot of people I know married their high school and college sweethearts only to split up later as they began to grow and develop in adulthood. The story of someone picking up their life after all of that certainty is torn to shreds is an idea worth exploring.That said, I feel like the whole thing (especially certain parts) moved very quickly. For instance, when news of Michael's affair leaks, she's pissed, she's sullenly silent, and then, voila, they're divorced. Alex's reaction just didn't seem authentic--and not because she didn't break down weeping. The whole thing felt kind of rushed so that the narrative could move onto the "swinging single" part of the story, and doesn't begin to cover the complex emotions that accompany an out of the blue breakup (especially with your first and only love). Her relationship with Daniel also seemed to develop out of nowhere. I didn't feel like they had great chemistry--one minute they're lightly flirting, the next minute he declares that he's falling for her. The characters just didn't seem particularly deep. It was a fine novel as far as chick lit romance goes, but nothing I'd be running back to.
    more
  • Bette Hansen
    June 23, 2017
    Hilarious! An easy read with a nice quick pace that is perfect for the beach. Alex is a planner. She's had her life planned since she was 11 years old. When a bombshell implodes her perfectly planned life she's at a loss on how to move forward. Since she's never really dated before (she met her ex in kindergarten!) she's not really sure how to get back out there but she's determined to give it a try.This one is very well written with some of the best secondary characters ever! Getting dating adv Hilarious! An easy read with a nice quick pace that is perfect for the beach. Alex is a planner. She's had her life planned since she was 11 years old. When a bombshell implodes her perfectly planned life she's at a loss on how to move forward. Since she's never really dated before (she met her ex in kindergarten!) she's not really sure how to get back out there but she's determined to give it a try.This one is very well written with some of the best secondary characters ever! Getting dating advice from this ragtag group of friends may not be her smartest move. This is definitely a book I would recommend.
    more
  • Teresa
    June 14, 2017
    ****3.5 Stars****When Alex finds out her husband, Michael, is gay she doesn't know how to pick up her life and move on...who is Alex without Michael? This was a funny story that touched on all kinds of relationships but ultimately the relationship that you have with yourself...how you see yourself, how you find your self worth...Looking forward to see more from Lisa Daily!Thanks to MPS for the ARC!
    more
  • Jamie D.
    June 29, 2017
    What a great read! Perfect for a day poolside or at the beach. Alex is a relatable character with realistic friends, and I finished the book wanting some Boudreaux (both the food AND the chef!)
  • Ann Z
    April 8, 2017
    ~4.8/5~ Single-Minded was a relatively light women’s fiction novel about the main character, Alex, and her second chance at love. The writing was wonderful, smooth, and simple. If you wanted to read the book because of the description, then you’ll be pleasantly surprised at the fluff later on. At least I was, anyway.Alex and Daniel were couple goals, and I wish that the author would’ve included more about their relationship in the synopsis (like how well they work together), because it was kind ~4.8/5~ Single-Minded was a relatively light women’s fiction novel about the main character, Alex, and her second chance at love. The writing was wonderful, smooth, and simple. If you wanted to read the book because of the description, then you’ll be pleasantly surprised at the fluff later on. At least I was, anyway.Alex and Daniel were couple goals, and I wish that the author would’ve included more about their relationship in the synopsis (like how well they work together), because it was kind of obvious that they’d be a thing from the start. Daniel’s the dream guy, down to earth, sweet, and perfect, as unrealistic as it is, so I guess with all the marriage issues Alex was going through, she deserved him. Alex’s story and development were really fun to read, and I particularly loved how her friends were there to guide her along the way. I think Alex’s group was the key factor to the way everything turned out the way it did, and they really seemed like a great group of characters, although I held a bit of a grudge against the ex-husband. Honestly though, stringing Alex along for so many years is just such an awful move. Anyway, I don’t have much to say about what I didn’t liked about the book, so I’ll just keep this review short and sweet and say that Single-Minded was a great read and I enjoyed the second-chance romance. Thank you to St. Martin’s Press and Netgalley for another great read!
    more
Write a review