Because You Love to Hate Me
Leave it to the heroes to save the world--villains just want to rule the world.In this unique YA anthology, thirteen acclaimed, bestselling authors team up with thirteen influential BookTubers to reimagine fairy tales from the oft-misunderstood villains' points of view.These fractured, unconventional spins on classics like "Medusa," Sherlock Holmes, and "Jack and the Beanstalk" provide a behind-the-curtain look at villains' acts of vengeance, defiance, and rage--and the pain, heartbreak, and sorrow that spurned them on. No fairy tale will ever seem quite the same again!Featuring writing from . . .Authors: Renée Ahdieh, Ameriie, Soman Chainani, Susan Dennard, Sarah Enni, Marissa Meyer, Cindy Pon, Victoria Schwab, Samantha Shannon, Adam Silvera, Andrew Smith, April Genevieve Tucholke, and Nicola YoonBookTubers: Benjamin Alderson (Benjaminoftomes), Sasha Alsberg (abookutopia), Whitney Atkinson (WhittyNovels), Tina Burke (ChristinaReadsYA blog and TheLushables), Catriona Feeney (LittleBookOwl), Jesse George (JessetheReader), Zoë Herdt (readbyzoe), Samantha Lane (Thoughts on Tomes), Sophia Lee (thebookbasement), Raeleen Lemay (padfootandprongs07), Regan Perusse (PeruseProject), Christine Riccio (polandbananasBOOKS), and Steph Sinclair & Kat Kennedy (Cuddlebuggery blog and channel).

Because You Love to Hate Me Details

TitleBecause You Love to Hate Me
Author
FormatHardcover
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJul 11th, 2017
PublisherBloomsbury USA Childrens
ISBN1681193647
ISBN-139781681193649
Number of pages320 pages
Rating
GenreYoung Adult, Fantasy, Short Stories, Anthologies

Because You Love to Hate Me Review

  • Adam Silvera
    May 31, 2016
    I can't wait for you all to meet my villain. And I'm also praying you'll never HAVE to meet her. *EVIL LAUGH**CHOKES ON SOUR PATCH KIDS**RESUMES EVIL LAUGH*
  • Victoria Schwab
    March 11, 2017
    My story is about Death waking up at the bottom of a well.
  • Zoë
    May 5, 2016
    My announcement video here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Pq2Om... SO excited for this! It's already been an amazing experience getting to go behind the curtain and see the publishing process from initial concept to publication (well, not yet, but in a year!). I'm so honored to be part of this project and I'm loving the whole idea, both booktubers and authors working together as well as seeing the world from the eyes of villains. Can't wait for you all to read it in July 2017!
    more
  • Ben Alderson
    July 4, 2016
    JUST SO YOU ALL KNOW THISBOOKISGOINGTOBEEVERYTHINGIAMSOEXCITEDFORYOUALLTOREADITPASDNGIAJSNGLJNjungijgnjn
  • Raeleen Lemay
    April 28, 2016
    If you want to know a little bit more about what this mysterious book is, check out my announcement video! https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tCLFy...I'M SO EXCITED WE CAN FINALLY TALK ABOUT THISLIKE SERIOUSLY IT HAS BEEN KEPT SECRET TOO LONG I COULDN'T TAKE ITMore info to come at a later date, but for now.... Just chill. Be excited.
    more
  • Kimi
    April 28, 2016
    Update: *gasps* Look at it. Just look at it.Update:Okay, so I'm seeing a good number of my lovely Goodreads friends that are actually unhappy about this book and I'd like to address the issue. Basically, people are saying that it's not fair that writers have to go through hell to get a book published while booktubers make their way to the top easily. As an aspiring author myself I really do understand your pain HOWEVER, saying that these people don't deserve to be published isn't fair, in my opi Update: *gasps* Look at it. Just look at it.Update:Okay, so I'm seeing a good number of my lovely Goodreads friends that are actually unhappy about this book and I'd like to address the issue. Basically, people are saying that it's not fair that writers have to go through hell to get a book published while booktubers make their way to the top easily. As an aspiring author myself I really do understand your pain HOWEVER, saying that these people don't deserve to be published isn't fair, in my opinion. These people have worked their butt off making videos for years and they started from nothing just like everyone else. It's not like they have no idea what they're doing, I've been following Raeleen, Sasha and Jesse's Nanowrimo progress for years and Christine is just hilarious in person so imagine how awesome her writing is going to be. It's not like these people were born famous. They have worked hard for it and more importantly they love books and that's why we love them. Overall, I'm very excited for this book. I've been watching these people's videos for so long that I feel like they're my friends and I'm genuinely happy for them. Feel free to share your thoughts in the comments :D -----------DROP EVERYTHING YOU'RE DOING AND COME FANGIRL WITH ME!!!!!! A BOOK BY A BUNCH OF GREAT AUTHORS AAAAND BOOKTUBERS. WHAT IS THIS? WHAT IS THIS!!!!!
    more
  • Steph Sinclair
    April 28, 2016
    I'm a little bias, but  (•_•)/<)   )     this'll  /   \\( •_•)  (   (>      be  /   \ (•_•)/<)   )      awesome!   /   \
  • Ameriie
    April 28, 2016
    SO INCREDIBLY EXCITED TO SHARE THIS WITH EVERYONE. ^_^
  • Giovanna
    April 28, 2016
    Why I want to read this: VICTORIA SCHWAB Why I don't want to read this: long story. Let's make this clear. I'm not angry because these people are getting published. I'm not even an aspiring author, so it's not like I'm ranting cause I'm envious, really.What I'm saying is that I wonder why these people are being published. Is that because they're good writers or because they have a lot of followers?Guys, let's be honest, yes, they work hours on their videos and they probably deserve their followe Why I want to read this: VICTORIA SCHWAB Why I don't want to read this: long story. Let's make this clear. I'm not angry because these people are getting published. I'm not even an aspiring author, so it's not like I'm ranting cause I'm envious, really.What I'm saying is that I wonder why these people are being published. Is that because they're good writers or because they have a lot of followers?Guys, let's be honest, yes, they work hours on their videos and they probably deserve their followers, but is that a reason to get published? Is it right to have a short story, or essay, published just because you're famous and you worked hard on your channels? I don't think so.So until I have proof that these people can write I have every right to think that this might be just a marketing move.
    more
  • Sophia
    April 28, 2016
    i have absolutely no chill!!!!!!!!
  • Errin
    April 30, 2016
    This is such a fun and innovative idea! Here's the article that explains this anthology, I can't wait! I love Christine, Jesse, Sam, Sophia, and Whitney's videos and I'm so happy for everyone involved!Regarding negativity, some people are upset about how easy or unfair it is that youtubers are published. 1) They didn't write the actual stories. They provided villain related prompts for authors to write about and short essays on good and evil. 2) Booktubers and bloggers work hard to provide thoug This is such a fun and innovative idea! Here's the article that explains this anthology, I can't wait! I love Christine, Jesse, Sam, Sophia, and Whitney's videos and I'm so happy for everyone involved!Regarding negativity, some people are upset about how easy or unfair it is that youtubers are published. 1) They didn't write the actual stories. They provided villain related prompts for authors to write about and short essays on good and evil. 2) Booktubers and bloggers work hard to provide thoughtful content and gain an audience, why shouldn't their efforts lead them to some recognition and payoff in a field they are passionate about? Idk that's just my opinion.
    more
  • Lu
    April 29, 2016
    How to become a writer, a simple guide:1. Study hard2. Work your ass off 24/73. Stay strong and have hope4. Deal with mean publishing houses5. Choose independent publishing6. Cry because you thought it'd be easier7. Cry because you thought you'd earn more1. Start a youtube channel.I mean, do you like food guyz? Anyone? Then why don't you become a chef and come to work with me tomorrow? After all it's the same thing, isn't it? :D :D :D(At least I appreciate how in this case our youtubers will con How to become a writer, a simple guide:1. Study hard2. Work your ass off 24/73. Stay strong and have hope4. Deal with mean publishing houses5. Choose independent publishing6. Cry because you thought it'd be easier7. Cry because you thought you'd earn more1. Start a youtube channel.I mean, do you like food guyz? Anyone? Then why don't you become a chef and come to work with me tomorrow? After all it's the same thing, isn't it? :D :D :D(At least I appreciate how in this case our youtubers will contribute only slightly in the writing process, but they're still going to have their words printed (in the form of a premise or prolouge of some sort, it's still unclear) - so, long story short: "I don't approve this message").(And mind me, I don't give a fuck if these booktubers are in truth some of the best writers out there in the world - that's not the point. Because You Love to Hate Me is not happening because of their talents, Because You Love to Hate Me is not happening because of their magic with words.)
    more
  • Maggi
    April 29, 2016
    wAIT DID SOMEONE SAY VICTORIA SCHWAB
  • Maye
    May 1, 2016
    13 authors paired with 13 booktubers? YES PLEASE!!!!Authors:AmeriieRenée AhdiehSoman ChainaniSusan DennardSarah EnniMarissa MeyerCindy PonVictoria SchwabSamantha ShannonAdam SilveraAndrew SmithApril Genevieve TucholkeNicola Yoon Booktubers:Ben of BenjaminoftomesCatriona of LittleBookOwlChristina of ChristinaReadsYA blog and TheLushablesChristine of polandbananasBOOKSJesse of JessetheReaderRaeleen of padfootandprongs07Regan of PeruseProjectSamantha of Thoughts on TomesSasha of abookutopiaSophia o 13 authors paired with 13 booktubers? YES PLEASE!!!!Authors:AmeriieRenée AhdiehSoman ChainaniSusan DennardSarah EnniMarissa MeyerCindy PonVictoria SchwabSamantha ShannonAdam SilveraAndrew SmithApril Genevieve TucholkeNicola Yoon Booktubers:Ben of BenjaminoftomesCatriona of LittleBookOwlChristina of ChristinaReadsYA blog and TheLushablesChristine of polandbananasBOOKSJesse of JessetheReaderRaeleen of padfootandprongs07Regan of PeruseProjectSamantha of Thoughts on TomesSasha of abookutopiaSophia of thebookbasementSteph Sinclair + Kat Kennedy of Cuddlebuggery blog and Cuddlebuggery channelWhitney of WhittyNovelsZoe of readbyzoe
    more
  • Lexi
    April 28, 2016
    Effing Renée Ahdieh and Victoria Schwab and Marissa Meyer and Jesse George and Sasha Alsberg and Christine Riccio and what did I ever do to be so blessed
  • Ayesha Syed
    January 2, 2017
    Me: *reads authors' names*Me: *reads blurb*Me: *frantically presses Want To Read*
  • мαүғℓσωεя
    October 6, 2016
    RENEE AHDIEH, MARISSA MEYER, AND NICOLA YOON - CAN I HAVE NOW PLEASE?
  • Pragya
    October 5, 2016
    Renee Ahdieh, V.E. Schwab, Adam Silvera, Marissa Meyer... SIGN ME THE HELL UP.
  • Chesca
    October 6, 2016
    I'm not even sure if I really want to read this but it says Victoria Schwab.
  • Selene
    April 28, 2016
    I heard of this from Catriona from the Little Book Owl, Regan from the Peruse Project and Jesse from Jesse the Reader! I seriously can't even get it together right now!!!
  • Giselle (Book Nerd Canada)
    April 28, 2016
    Psyched to see this play out! I want to see how they incoporate an actual book with the BookTube community. ALSO VILLAINS!!!!!!!
  • Hollie (hollieblog)
    May 4, 2016
    I feel like, if you took the booktubers out of the equation, we would still have the same outcome. Are they involved purely for publicity? After watching some of the announcement videos, it seems like they won't be doing much writing anyway, just 'hosting' their paired writers' content, and then talking about it loads on their channels. I mean look, we're already talking about it and it doesn't come out until mid 2017.
    more
  • Anna-Emilia
    April 28, 2016
    If you watch booktube, or have read some of these authors, you can join me in looking like this:--> https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oU-w4...
  • Chantal (Every Word A Doorway)
    April 29, 2016
    AHHHH! This is so exciting and I'm so freaking jealous but also happy. GAHHH This will be amazing :)
  • Samantha Shannon
    November 16, 2016
    Here's my pairing and villain! I loved working on my story – a gender-swapped take on the legend of the Erlking – from Regan's prompt, and can't wait to read everyone else's contributions. Hope you'll all enjoy our little book of evil.
  • Noha Badawi
    December 17, 2016
    There's Schwab and Villain in the same place. I'M SOLD.
  • Adam
    April 28, 2016
    ALL OF MY FAV BOOKTUBERS AND AUTHORS LETS GO
  • Tina
    April 28, 2016
    [edit] - Today, all the booktubers have been participating in a #revealthevillains campaign, telling y'all which authors we've been paired with and what villains they wrote about. If you want to know who I'm paired with, here's my booktube video & my blog post with more info.[edit] - Have you seen the GORGEOUS cover?So excited to be participating in this anthology!
    more
  • Sarah (thegirltheycalljones)
    April 29, 2016
    What is this thing ? I'm not sure I'm getting the concept... Authors and people reviewing books on Youtube are writing a book ? Are they gonna pair up for short stories or are each person will write its own story ? Or is it a single big story written with a thousand hands ?I'm not sure I'm really interested in this but it can be interesting to see the result, so...
    more
  • Chloe
    April 29, 2016
    __________PRE-RELEASE__________WowAll the names are making me really dizzyAnd I love itCan I just say this book sounds amazing? It's written by people I love and the synopsis is fantastic. I've also always had a soft spot for villains and I think that this book will make feel all the feelsSo yeah. I need this in my life.
    more
Write a review