I Need a Lifeguard Everywhere But the Pool
The bestselling and “perennially hilarious” mother-daughter team is back with a new collection of stories from their real lives, guaranteed to make you laugh out loud. Join Lisa and Francesca as they regret drunk-shopping online, try smell-dating, and explore the freedom of a hiatus from men - a Guyatus. They offer a fresh and funny take on the triumphs and facepalm moments of modern life, showing that when it comes to navigating the crazy world we live in, you’re always your own best lifeguard

I Need a Lifeguard Everywhere But the Pool Details

TitleI Need a Lifeguard Everywhere But the Pool
Author
FormatHardcover
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJul 11th, 2017
PublisherSt. Martin's Press
ISBN1250059968
ISBN-139781250059963
Number of pages320 pages
Rating
GenreHumor, Nonfiction, Womens Fiction, Chick Lit, Autobiography, Memoir

I Need a Lifeguard Everywhere But the Pool Review

  • Jill Croce-McGill
    May 6, 2017
    The mother-daughter duo has done it again! This is the perfect pick-me-up book!!!This book is a collection of short, entertaining stories by Lisa Scottoline and her daughter Francesca Serritella. In it you will find quick, hilarious, and some touching stories about life, love, politics, pets, and pretty much everything in between that most everyone can relate to. The way they write each story will make you feel like you are sitting down having lunch or a cup of coffee with them. Highly recommend The mother-daughter duo has done it again! This is the perfect pick-me-up book!!!This book is a collection of short, entertaining stories by Lisa Scottoline and her daughter Francesca Serritella. In it you will find quick, hilarious, and some touching stories about life, love, politics, pets, and pretty much everything in between that most everyone can relate to. The way they write each story will make you feel like you are sitting down having lunch or a cup of coffee with them. Highly recommend!I won a copy of this book from a Goodreads giveaway in exchange for this honest review.
    more
  • Judy Collins
    April 21, 2017
    A special thank you to St. Martin's Press and NetGalley for an early reading copy. Review to follow.
  • Bobbi
    March 24, 2017
    They've done it again! If you haven't had the pleasure of reading the humor series written by this mother/daughter team, please do yourself a favor and get a copy. Their work has been rightfully compared to Erma Bombeck and Nora Ephron.The chapters alternate between Lisa and Francesca; some are laugh-out-loud funny, some are poignant, and some are downright profound.Lisa Scottoline is so very supportive of the women she refers to as "extraordinary, ordinary women," and that comes shining through They've done it again! If you haven't had the pleasure of reading the humor series written by this mother/daughter team, please do yourself a favor and get a copy. Their work has been rightfully compared to Erma Bombeck and Nora Ephron.The chapters alternate between Lisa and Francesca; some are laugh-out-loud funny, some are poignant, and some are downright profound.Lisa Scottoline is so very supportive of the women she refers to as "extraordinary, ordinary women," and that comes shining through in this latest offering. I highlighted so many quotes and paragraphs that my copy looks like it was printed on yellow paper!I particularly enjoy reading the perspectives and concerns of two women who, though related, come from different generations - fascinating insights.And there were many instances that mentioned things most of us have in common, but since they happened to the authors, we can find the humor in them and not feel put down or laughed at - love that!My thanks to St. Martin's Press, Lisa Scottoline, and Francesca Serritella for the ARC. On sale July 11, 2017.
    more
  • Jane
    June 24, 2017
    Thanks to Goodreads and St. Martin's Press for this ARC. I'm a big fan of Lisa Scottoline's books and especially her non-fiction with daughter Francesca. I look forward to reading these once a year. Hysterically funny as always in her life no matter what she talks about. I can relate to her more so than Francesca probably because she's a few years older than me. Francesca has a different point of view but I do like her take on things being mature at 30 years old.
    more
  • Brittany Gardner
    June 21, 2017
    There are so few books that actually make laugh out loud, to the point where my husband asks what's so funny, but this is one of those. Lisa and Francesca feel like my best friends, sharing my same complaints and reflecting on life in the same way I do, only funnier. I love how the book switches between Lisa and Francesca, both of whom are in different stages of life and even live in different areas - Lisa the suburbs, Francesca the city. It just goes to show how much of life is the same for eve There are so few books that actually make laugh out loud, to the point where my husband asks what's so funny, but this is one of those. Lisa and Francesca feel like my best friends, sharing my same complaints and reflecting on life in the same way I do, only funnier. I love how the book switches between Lisa and Francesca, both of whom are in different stages of life and even live in different areas - Lisa the suburbs, Francesca the city. It just goes to show how much of life is the same for everyone, something that I love about these books.I've read a few others in the series and can honestly say that these are my favorite nonfiction books that I've ever read. If you're looking for a good, lighthearted laugh, with some real-life hard emotions thrown in, this book is for you. In fact, this series is for you. Actually, these women are for you.
    more
  • Patricia Romero
    May 13, 2017
    Mother and Daughter have once again succeeded in making us laught until we cry as they share their lives, and views on every topic you can think of!Two generations give us their take on life today. And it all works beautifully. Funny, Touching and Thought provoking subjects that each one shares with us in alternate chapters.It was my pleasure to read this book and I only wish it was out before Mother's Day!
    more
  • Lynnski
    June 26, 2017
    “Life gets in the way” is an understatement when it comes to why I haven’t read a book in so long. But you don’t want to hear about that…..you want to know what I thought about this book. Well, I loved it! As I do all the antidotal books this mother/daughter team puts out. I’m about a decade younger than Lisa, but relate and find plenty of humor in her stories. And although a different generation than Francesca, I enjoy her stories as well. I truly enjoy them all and feel like they are family wh “Life gets in the way” is an understatement when it comes to why I haven’t read a book in so long. But you don’t want to hear about that…..you want to know what I thought about this book. Well, I loved it! As I do all the antidotal books this mother/daughter team puts out. I’m about a decade younger than Lisa, but relate and find plenty of humor in her stories. And although a different generation than Francesca, I enjoy her stories as well. I truly enjoy them all and feel like they are family while I read these books.These stories are just the dose of humor needed. I’ve read a couple biographies of comedians this year and actually enjoy these books more. Neither make you laugh ‘til you cry, but I find these stories more relatable and thus more funny and endearing. They are an easy read to take you away from the chaos of everyday life. And with it being a book of short stories, you can easily put it down and pick it back up without worrying about where you left off (or you can just read it in two days like me).Thank you to Net Galley and St. Martin's Press for an advanced copy of the book in return for an honest review.
    more
  • Sue Fernandez
    May 1, 2017
    Thank you to Net Galley and St. Martin's Press for the ARC of this book. I've read Lisa Scottoline and her daughter before, and I enjoyed them then...I enjoyed it now. I love books with alternating chapters, and this one alternates between mother and daughter. I love the positive vibe and it was wonderful to see mother and daughter, being of different generations, but really....we're all the same deep down. This goes on sale 7/11/17....it would make a GREAT summer read.
    more
  • Jennifer
    April 14, 2017
    I received a copy of this book from the publisher via NetGalley. The opinions expressed are my own.The mother-daughter duo of Lisa and Francesca have another hit for readers! Their style of short essays with humor and (some) seriousness are addicting. I can't wait to buy the audio version and listen to them read their work. Highly recommended and appreciated!
    more
  • Carla Johnson-Hicks
    May 8, 2017
    I have read a couple of these books by Lisa and Francesca and I enjoy them. They are a collection of short anecdotes (newspaper column-type) of their lives. This book highlights many humorous moments in their lives and allows you a peak at various areas such as their love life, pets, jobs, friends etc. I love their sense of humor in these stories, especially Lisa's (the majority of the chapters are written by her). A reader can often picture themselves in the same or similar situations and smile I have read a couple of these books by Lisa and Francesca and I enjoy them. They are a collection of short anecdotes (newspaper column-type) of their lives. This book highlights many humorous moments in their lives and allows you a peak at various areas such as their love life, pets, jobs, friends etc. I love their sense of humor in these stories, especially Lisa's (the majority of the chapters are written by her). A reader can often picture themselves in the same or similar situations and smile and nod as they read along. Even though I am of Lisa's age, I was able to relate to many of Francesca'a stories and picture my daughter in the same situation. I think the one I laughed at the most was the "Smart Bra" story. Being a recent widow with a big house, I also enjoyed reading about Lisa's renovations and home improvements. If anyone looked in my cupboards and closets, they would also see all the things I bought that I rarely use as well. Lisa, besides that fact that I am not an author, we share so many things. It is great to be able to laugh about things when you see them in a different perspective. These are great books that I would recommend to other mothers and daughters so they can see the other side of the coin. Because each story is a short chapter this is a great book for busy people because they can pick it up and read a story in between their busy tasks. Women will definitely enjoy this book and probably all the others this mother/daughter team has written. I am definitely going to continue reading these humorous books so I can laugh at both my and their lives. We need that. Thank-you Netgalley and St. Martins for the opportunity to read this e-arc.
    more
  • Christina Torretta
    May 11, 2017
    Received by publisher in exchange for an honest review. You may be tempted to skip around because this is built up like tiny little stories inside the lives of Lisa Scottoline and her daughter, Francesca Serritella, but the stories build on themselves. There are multiple stories from Lisa about gardening and then snakes and more gardening. They all made sense in her life but also in a broader perspective, which I would not have if I had skipped around.Both girls are hilarious. I just have to put Received by publisher in exchange for an honest review. You may be tempted to skip around because this is built up like tiny little stories inside the lives of Lisa Scottoline and her daughter, Francesca Serritella, but the stories build on themselves. There are multiple stories from Lisa about gardening and then snakes and more gardening. They all made sense in her life but also in a broader perspective, which I would not have if I had skipped around.Both girls are hilarious. I just have to put that out there. Their storytelling is also compelling enough, to make me laugh, cry, snort even! To be completely honest I have not read either gal but I definitely will now. I am more than ever curious about their lives and the way they both seem to be a force to be reckoned with!Plus while it seems like there isn't a theme, it kind of seem like it all was around a generality of girl power. Not IN YOUR FACE girl power, but a nice little high five in book form to the other gals in the world. It is lovely to see that women can and do live their lives happily, with or without men! I, personally, love my husband but there are times when I want to smother him. Mostly at night while he snores or when he tries to out fart the dog. Yay for men! But also, yay for women! Where would any of us be without them?I love reading non-fiction. There's just something about it, especially when it's comedic, that is so soothing. Like a balm for the soul. This is especially soothing, even through all the snorts and laughter. These gals are amazing.
    more
  • Valerie
    May 5, 2017
    I've been a longtime fan of Lisa Scottoline's writing, way back to her earliest legal thrillers. In addition to fiction, Lisa, along with her daughter Francesca Serritella, writes "Chick Wit," a weekly column in the Philadelphia Inquirer. Periodically they publish a collection of these essays. I Need a Lifeguard Everywhere But the Pool, due out in July 2017, is the most recent in this series. I've read every other book in the essay series, some more than once, and own almost all of them because I've been a longtime fan of Lisa Scottoline's writing, way back to her earliest legal thrillers. In addition to fiction, Lisa, along with her daughter Francesca Serritella, writes "Chick Wit," a weekly column in the Philadelphia Inquirer. Periodically they publish a collection of these essays. I Need a Lifeguard Everywhere But the Pool, due out in July 2017, is the most recent in this series. I've read every other book in the essay series, some more than once, and own almost all of them because I love them so much. I was thus absolutely thrilled to have the opportunity to read an early copy of the newest book. Following the format of the previous compilations, the chapters in "I Need a Lifeguard" alternate between Lisa and Francesca, with a few more being written by Lisa. Most are hilarious, some are sentimental and touching. As with their earlier essays, the authors are at their best when they write about family, friends, pets and life experiences that most everyone of us can relate to. This is humor with a heavy dose of love mixed in. I'm not generally someone who likes books that people refer to as being "laugh out loud" funny but I defy anyone to read this and not laugh out loud at least a few times. You will laugh, feel good, and probably tear up a time or two as well. Thank you so much to St. Martin's Press and NetGalley for providing me with an advance copy in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Jill Elizabeth
    May 30, 2017
    I don't know what I expected from this book - I don't generally like short stories, but I do like memoir tidbits and personal narratives. But this one didn't read like any of those things - it read like a series of personal growth columns or blog blurbs. The pieces were anecdotes, not so much stories. I'd start enjoying one and it would end within a page or two of beginning. And some of them, well, let's just say I was glad they were so short... I have tried reading Lisa Scottoline before; her b I don't know what I expected from this book - I don't generally like short stories, but I do like memoir tidbits and personal narratives. But this one didn't read like any of those things - it read like a series of personal growth columns or blog blurbs. The pieces were anecdotes, not so much stories. I'd start enjoying one and it would end within a page or two of beginning. And some of them, well, let's just say I was glad they were so short... I have tried reading Lisa Scottoline before; her books are very popular, but her writing has never held me. I don't know why - I have enjoyed similar authors, and generally like a beach-read mystery/thriller as much as the next girl, but for some reason I have never connected with her fiction. I was intrigued by the idea of a mother/daughter duo of stories about life though, so picked this one up anyway. I will admit that I found the writing easier going in this book than in her fiction - BUT the style/format didn't resonate with me any more than in her other books. These felt a little too pithy, like they were trying to be world-wise and sagacious, when they were instead just tidbits and teasers about stories in the women's lives... My expectations may have been the issue here - there's nothing wrong with the book or the writing, it just didn't catch my attention. I think it's also possible that she's just not an author for me...
    more
  • Nancy
    May 21, 2017
    My thanks to Netgalley and the Publisher for an opportunity to read an advanced copy of this book.Every summer I look forward to the publication of their essays, but this time, it is bittersweet. In previous years, I would pop the audio into the car and listen as I took my daughter to check out colleges or to drop her off for the upcoming semester. She has now graduated and our mother daughter time listening to this mother daughter team has come to an end.Now I am not going to get weepy over lif My thanks to Netgalley and the Publisher for an opportunity to read an advanced copy of this book.Every summer I look forward to the publication of their essays, but this time, it is bittersweet. In previous years, I would pop the audio into the car and listen as I took my daughter to check out colleges or to drop her off for the upcoming semester. She has now graduated and our mother daughter time listening to this mother daughter team has come to an end.Now I am not going to get weepy over life changes, I have been doing that for the last couple of months, what I am going to do is celebrate that I have wonderful memories and as each new compilation comes out, I will remember our trips.Each year Lisa’s essays talk to me in a different way, sorry Francesca, but your essays make me glad that I am not thirty anymore. Even though Lisa does comment on the aches and pains of aging, I would not trade them for the aches and pains of discovering who I am. This is one of those books that you do not want to read in public, not that the cover would embarrass you, but because you will suddenly burst into uncontrollable laughter -- namely her essay on pot. That had me laughing so hard that I had to reread it again the next day to laugh some more.Thank you ladies for a wonderfully enjoyable book and lasting memories.
    more
  • Donna
    June 14, 2017
    A humorous and entertaining collection of short anecdotes by two talented authors, Lisa Scottoline and her daughter, Francesca Serritella. This book of amusing , "laugh out loud " (or should I say LOL) stories of real life, show the ridiculous and absurd in our lives today as well as a positive glance of two successful women in a crazy world! I personally loved the introduction of the book written by Lisa describing herself and her daughter! ( Lisa asks the reader if they have ever had a daughte A humorous and entertaining collection of short anecdotes by two talented authors, Lisa Scottoline and her daughter, Francesca Serritella. This book of amusing , "laugh out loud " (or should I say LOL) stories of real life, show the ridiculous and absurd in our lives today as well as a positive glance of two successful women in a crazy world! I personally loved the introduction of the book written by Lisa describing herself and her daughter! ( Lisa asks the reader if they have ever had a daughter roll her eyes behind her back. ) Lisa's descriptions show the reader her honesty and love of life. Lisa Scottoline is a best-selling author of many fabulous thriller/mysteries. I have loved her and her books since I heard her speak at a library convention years ago. When I got to meet her, I told her that we could definitely be friends! I'm sure that she's heard it a lot since she exudes intelligence, down-to-earth friendliness and a narration that delights the heart of every modern, independent woman alive! You will laugh, sigh and marvel at the wittiness and insight shown by Lisa and Francesca in their stories. I Need a Lifeguard Everywhere But the Pool by Lisa Scottoline and Francesca Serritella will be available July 11, 2017 by St. Martin's Press. An egalley of this book was made available by the publisher in exchange for a honest review.
    more
  • Geetanjali Mukherjee
    May 11, 2017
    *I received a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.*I love Lisa and Francesca's line of humorous books and eagerly try to get my hands on the next one. Which is why I was quite excited when I got a copy of this book from NetGalley to review. In the same vein as the others in the series, this book was a quick, fun read. In fact, I found myself trying to read it slower so I could drag out the experience. Reading the essays makes you feel like you know the Scottolines and want to *I received a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.*I love Lisa and Francesca's line of humorous books and eagerly try to get my hands on the next one. Which is why I was quite excited when I got a copy of this book from NetGalley to review. In the same vein as the others in the series, this book was a quick, fun read. In fact, I found myself trying to read it slower so I could drag out the experience. Reading the essays makes you feel like you know the Scottolines and want to get to know them more. I like to think that if I were to meet Francesca at a party, we would hit it off (if I were the partying kind, that is). And that Lisa is like the fun, slightly eccentric, next-door neighbor I would like to have. This book is a little bit more political than the earlier ones, and has less of a focus on family. While there may be obvious reasons for that, I did miss the family anecdotes from the earlier books. Overall though, a great beach or in-bed-with-cookies read. And the title is awesome!
    more
  • Liz
    June 25, 2017
    Lisa Scottoline has long been one of my favorite authors, so I couldn’t wait to jump into this collection of essays by Ms. Scottoline and her daughter Francesca. With lots of humor, the two authors take us through events and thoughts from their everyday lives. They share stories about turning thirty, trips to the dermatologist, holidays with friends and family, and disputes with apartment neighbors. I Need A Lifeguard Everywhere But In The Pool is a great choice for anyone who enjoys funny short Lisa Scottoline has long been one of my favorite authors, so I couldn’t wait to jump into this collection of essays by Ms. Scottoline and her daughter Francesca. With lots of humor, the two authors take us through events and thoughts from their everyday lives. They share stories about turning thirty, trips to the dermatologist, holidays with friends and family, and disputes with apartment neighbors. I Need A Lifeguard Everywhere But In The Pool is a great choice for anyone who enjoys funny short essays. Laugh out loud as Lisa shares her love of school supplies and Francesca discusses the most recent primary and general elections. The book is written in a down-to-earth way that makes you feel like you are just emailing with your friends Lisa and Francesca! A great read!I received an advanced reader copy of this book in exchange for my unbiased review.
    more
  • Angela Mcvay
    June 8, 2017
    I love this series, but I've missed a few, so I went back and added those to my "want to read" list. This is a mother daughter writing team who write about their own personal life experiences as well as some very funny chapters on everyday life observations. I was interested in the amount of time they spend on the internet just researching stuff that I never would dream of researching. It was really funny the things they were able to find out lol. It's also very charming, and I enjoyed how much I love this series, but I've missed a few, so I went back and added those to my "want to read" list. This is a mother daughter writing team who write about their own personal life experiences as well as some very funny chapters on everyday life observations. I was interested in the amount of time they spend on the internet just researching stuff that I never would dream of researching. It was really funny the things they were able to find out lol. It's also very charming, and I enjoyed how much they enjoy people. I can't imagine hosting a whole weekend for 1200 book club fans and spend 5 hours hugging each and every fan. I want to hug them too! Thank you Netgalley for this entertaining and enjoyable read in exchange for my honest review! BTW...I read this book by the beach, and I'm sure folks stared at my LOL moments!
    more
  • Amy
    June 20, 2017
    Oh my gosh, if you need or want some laughs, this book will have you giggling out loud from just about the beginning. The timing that I read this book was perfect because my book club had just read a few books that were slow, dreary, and/or heavy. I desperately needed something happy and funny and I Need a Lifeguard Everywhere but the Pool (The Amazing Adventures of an Ordinary Woman) certainly fit that bill. Just make sure you do not read somewhere you can't laugh. My husband kept asking me to Oh my gosh, if you need or want some laughs, this book will have you giggling out loud from just about the beginning. The timing that I read this book was perfect because my book club had just read a few books that were slow, dreary, and/or heavy. I desperately needed something happy and funny and I Need a Lifeguard Everywhere but the Pool (The Amazing Adventures of an Ordinary Woman) certainly fit that bill. Just make sure you do not read somewhere you can't laugh. My husband kept asking me to stop laughing while he was sleeping. I tried to muffle my giggles, but finally put the book aside until morning because the muffling made me shake and that woke him up too! I chose this book for our next book club selection and know everyone is going to love it. ** Thank you to NetGalley and St. Martin's Press for giving me this book in exchange for an honest review. **
    more
  • Amanda
    June 8, 2017
    I received an advance copy of this book in a Goodreads giveaway. I very seldom laugh or cry when reading a book. Lisa Scottoline makes me do both, and in the case of these memoirs, she makes me laugh out loud at the most inappropriate moments. Like when I'm sitting in the middle of my workplace in an otherwise silent room, reading while on my lunch break or listening to an audiobook while I work. I wouldn't trade it for anything. I look forward to these books every year, and this installment def I received an advance copy of this book in a Goodreads giveaway. I very seldom laugh or cry when reading a book. Lisa Scottoline makes me do both, and in the case of these memoirs, she makes me laugh out loud at the most inappropriate moments. Like when I'm sitting in the middle of my workplace in an otherwise silent room, reading while on my lunch break or listening to an audiobook while I work. I wouldn't trade it for anything. I look forward to these books every year, and this installment definitely does not disappoint. Lisa and Francesca are a great team, and any mother and daughter will find something to relate to in these books. I look forward to reading it again and finding something new to laugh about each time!
    more
  • Brenda
    May 18, 2017
    I look forward to the summer humor book by Lisa Scottoline and her daughter Francesca.This year's book was a bit of a disappointment. The stories were time sensitive to US politics and as a non-US reader American politics are not that interesting, especially when it features the 2016 winner.There were some great chapters, especially Lisa's purchase of a new truck and Francesca's successfully overcoming a traumatic anniversary.Maybe Lisa's book club guests can start a petition like Make A Wish an I look forward to the summer humor book by Lisa Scottoline and her daughter Francesca.This year's book was a bit of a disappointment. The stories were time sensitive to US politics and as a non-US reader American politics are not that interesting, especially when it features the 2016 winner.There were some great chapters, especially Lisa's purchase of a new truck and Francesca's successfully overcoming a traumatic anniversary.Maybe Lisa's book club guests can start a petition like Make A Wish and send it to Mr. Cooper's agent. Now that I'd love to read about!I am waiting for Lisa's next Rosati & DiNunzio novel in August.I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Amanda
    May 28, 2017
    I love these books by one of my favorite authors Lisa Scottoline and her daughter Francesca. I really enjoyed reading this latest book in the series. Lisa and Francesca share their lighthearted short stories that are so fun to read. I laughed so much while reading this book but I also found myself relating to what Lisa and Francesca write about. My favorite stories are the ones about their pets. I also loved Francesca's fragrance story. I share her love of perfumes and now I know about a awesome I love these books by one of my favorite authors Lisa Scottoline and her daughter Francesca. I really enjoyed reading this latest book in the series. Lisa and Francesca share their lighthearted short stories that are so fun to read. I laughed so much while reading this book but I also found myself relating to what Lisa and Francesca write about. My favorite stories are the ones about their pets. I also loved Francesca's fragrance story. I share her love of perfumes and now I know about a awesome fragrance review website. This mother/daughter book series is so light, funny and entertaining and I definitely recommend for summer reading. I received an advanced copy of this book thanks to St. Martin's Press Goodreads giveaway.
    more
  • Kim
    May 7, 2017
    I consider myself fortunate to be able to review Lisa Scottoline and her daughter Francesca's latest installment in their summer reading series in advance from Net Galley. They give just the right amount of zany, humorous spin on life's oddities and annoyances. I find myself laughing out loud at their craziness, yet they truly just give voice to the things we all think but are afraid to say. The book is broken into short segments; chapters, sentences, leaving a lot of room for the sarcasm and wi I consider myself fortunate to be able to review Lisa Scottoline and her daughter Francesca's latest installment in their summer reading series in advance from Net Galley. They give just the right amount of zany, humorous spin on life's oddities and annoyances. I find myself laughing out loud at their craziness, yet they truly just give voice to the things we all think but are afraid to say. The book is broken into short segments; chapters, sentences, leaving a lot of room for the sarcasm and wit that mark this dynamic duo's writing style. On topics about dating (or lack of it), home renovations, city life, owning pets, and body image. Perfect for light, make-you-laugh summer reading!
    more
  • Chitra916
    May 7, 2017
    I won the advance copy of this book through Goodreads giveaways, thank you St.Martin's Press for the book in exchange for this honest review.This is the first book I have read of Lisa and Francesca and i loved it. It made me smile through out reading your short humorous stories and some of it which i could relate to and I learnt so many new things. It is mainly short stories that tells the mother daughter's everyday happenings, no matter what age you are you can definitely relate to. I would hig I won the advance copy of this book through Goodreads giveaways, thank you St.Martin's Press for the book in exchange for this honest review.This is the first book I have read of Lisa and Francesca and i loved it. It made me smile through out reading your short humorous stories and some of it which i could relate to and I learnt so many new things. It is mainly short stories that tells the mother daughter's everyday happenings, no matter what age you are you can definitely relate to. I would highly recommend the book to all, a nice change to the books i have read so far. Glad to have read it and look forward to reading more of their books.
    more
  • Sharon
    May 9, 2017
    I've read and enjoyed several other of the Lisa/Francesca books and this one did not disappoint. The stories are short and cute and I love the alternating voice and perspective between Lisa and Francesca. I've listened to the audio versions of their other books, so I was a little apprehensive about reading this one. I shouldn't have worried; their voices come through loud and clear.Thank you to Netgalley and St. Martin's Press for providing me with an advance copy of this book in exchange for an I've read and enjoyed several other of the Lisa/Francesca books and this one did not disappoint. The stories are short and cute and I love the alternating voice and perspective between Lisa and Francesca. I've listened to the audio versions of their other books, so I was a little apprehensive about reading this one. I shouldn't have worried; their voices come through loud and clear.Thank you to Netgalley and St. Martin's Press for providing me with an advance copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Kathy
    June 6, 2017
    This mother - daughter writing team will make you laugh out loud. From Philadelphia to New York City, told in alternating voices, they keep it real and talk about everyday life experiences...smell dating, pets, online drunk shopping, recipes, New Year's Eve, etc. Both women are equally funny and have no problem tackling sensitive subjects and making themselves the object of the joke. Thoroughly enjoyable! Read my review at http://pennyformythoughts-nona.blogsp...
    more
  • Sharon May
    June 18, 2017
    Thanks so much to NetGalley, St Martin's Press and the author for the opportunity to read and review this book!What can I say? I always love these books! This mother-daughter writing duo never fail to make me laugh, cry, relate, and basically want to be their best friends - because they already seem like best friends! I kept reading these short chapters in between other things, basically prolonging finishing the book.If you haven't read any of these books - start at the beginning so you know and Thanks so much to NetGalley, St Martin's Press and the author for the opportunity to read and review this book!What can I say? I always love these books! This mother-daughter writing duo never fail to make me laugh, cry, relate, and basically want to be their best friends - because they already seem like best friends! I kept reading these short chapters in between other things, basically prolonging finishing the book.If you haven't read any of these books - start at the beginning so you know and love all the backstories, and just enjoy! Highly recommended as always!
    more
  • Helen Callahan
    June 5, 2017
    I laughed !!! I cried !!! I laughed till I cried !!! And, I wanted More !!! I am a loyal reader of Lisa Scottoline yet this is my first book authored by she and her daughter, Francesca Serritella. I will now fix that mistake. This collection of 'their own' stories can make a bad period just a bit easier. Each story brings insight and/or memories as they share their own life experiences. While reminding us, It's ok To Be Your Own Lifeguard. It's a visit to nostalgia worth taking. The type of book I laughed !!! I cried !!! I laughed till I cried !!! And, I wanted More !!! I am a loyal reader of Lisa Scottoline yet this is my first book authored by she and her daughter, Francesca Serritella. I will now fix that mistake. This collection of 'their own' stories can make a bad period just a bit easier. Each story brings insight and/or memories as they share their own life experiences. While reminding us, It's ok To Be Your Own Lifeguard. It's a visit to nostalgia worth taking. The type of book that gets reread !!!
    more
  • Terrie
    June 2, 2017
    I finished this book 2 days ago and I am still laughing. “I Need a Lifeguard Everywhere but the Pool” is the latest installment in Lisa Scottoline and Francesca Serritella’s humorous story series. Whether you are 30 something or 70 something or anything in between these stories will have you laughing and thinking and enjoying this wonderful life adventure we are all on.Thanks Lisa and Francesca for another phenomenal book.Reviewer received this as part of a Goodreads Advance Readers Giveaway - t I finished this book 2 days ago and I am still laughing. “I Need a Lifeguard Everywhere but the Pool” is the latest installment in Lisa Scottoline and Francesca Serritella’s humorous story series. Whether you are 30 something or 70 something or anything in between these stories will have you laughing and thinking and enjoying this wonderful life adventure we are all on.Thanks Lisa and Francesca for another phenomenal book.Reviewer received this as part of a Goodreads Advance Readers Giveaway - therefore you will have to wait until July 11, 2017. To tide you over try Lisa and Francesca “Does this Beach Make Me Look Fat?”.
    more
  • Lena Bastenie
    May 21, 2017
    Rating: 3.5 starsThis is the first book I read about this duo and I was not disappointed. They turn normal situations in hilarious stories and make you laugh out loud the whole time!I think the main reason that I didn’t give this book more stars, is that it is a little bit too American for me. Especially the parts written by Francesca. Or the parts about the elections. I couldn’t relate very much and the tone of those parts was a lot more serious than the rest of the books.There were some really Rating: 3.5 starsThis is the first book I read about this duo and I was not disappointed. They turn normal situations in hilarious stories and make you laugh out loud the whole time!I think the main reason that I didn’t give this book more stars, is that it is a little bit too American for me. Especially the parts written by Francesca. Or the parts about the elections. I couldn’t relate very much and the tone of those parts was a lot more serious than the rest of the books.There were some really funny parts in this book! I’m 22 years old, so both women are many years older than me. But I still laughed a lot with how they turned their everyday struggles into hilarious situations. The parts about the smart bra and the incontinent corgi. Reading this book feels like sitting in a bar with your best friend and just hearing her tell the most hilarious stories about her day.I will definitely read more books from these two!
    more
Write a review