What Goes Up
Action-packed and wildly funny, this near-future sci-fi features three teens on an inter-dimensional mission to save the world.Rosa and Eddie are among hundreds of teens applying to NASA’s mysterious Multi-World Agency. After rounds of crazy-competitive testing they are appointed to Team 3, along with an alternate, just in case Eddie screws up (as everyone expects he will). What they don’t expect is that aliens will arrive from another dimension, and look just like us. And no one could even imagine that Team 3 would be the only hope of saving our world from their Earth-destroying plans. The teens steal the spacecraft (it would be great if they knew how to fly it) and head to Earth2, where the aliens’ world and people are just like ours. With a few notable exceptions. There, the teens will find more than their alternate selves: they'll face existential questions and high-stakes adventure, with comedy that's out of this world.

What Goes Up Details

TitleWhat Goes Up
Author
FormatHardcover
ReleaseJul 18th, 2017
PublisherBloomsbury USA Childrens
ISBN1619639122
ISBN-139781619639126
Number of pages336 pages
Rating
GenreYoung Adult, Science Fiction, Teen, Science Fiction Fantasy, Space

What Goes Up Review

  • Sara (A Gingerly Review)
    May 23, 2017
    I enjoyed this so much!! I never thought I'd like science books but Katie makes. Me want to read more. I cannot wait to write my review. Huge thanks to the publisher for sending me an arc for review!!---After reading Katie Kennedy's debut novel, Learning To Swear In America, I knew I found a new favorite author. I normally am not the biggest fan of science books but Katie has made me change my tune.Short recap: Rosa and Eddie are two brilliant teenagers that are jockeying for a position on a NAS I enjoyed this so much!! I never thought I'd like science books but Katie makes. Me want to read more. I cannot wait to write my review. Huge thanks to the publisher for sending me an arc for review!!---After reading Katie Kennedy's debut novel, Learning To Swear In America, I knew I found a new favorite author. I normally am not the biggest fan of science books but Katie has made me change my tune.Short recap: Rosa and Eddie are two brilliant teenagers that are jockeying for a position on a NASA’s mysterious Multi-World Agency, for the coveted Team 3. The competition is stiff as there are hundreds of just as smart teens going after the same spot. Eddie and Rosa make the cut after strenuous testing and begin training. What they don't expect during their training is for aliens to arrive on Earth looking exactly like we do. Eddie and Rosa do the unthinkable: steal the alien spacecraft and try to save their planet.I thoroughly enjoyed this sci-fi adventure! I enjoyed the characters, the challenges they faced, and the crazy space travel to an alternate Earth. From the start I knew I was going to like Rosa and Eddie. These two characters felt real to me, as if they were people I would meet in real life. As a pair, these two just clicked. They worked in glorious harmony and it was so much fun to read. Anytime that dynamic duo was mentioned, I couldn't help but smile. Rosa was full of OCD traits, proper upbringing, and trying to live up to her parents' greatness, while Eddie was always trying to prove he was better this his family and his ghosts. It felt like pure magic the way they just fed off of each other. Some people may struggle with the fact this is set around NASA, outer space, and the idea of life on other planets. To that I say this - calm down. It's a fiction story. Give it a chance! Especially this one - give this book a chance. It works. It works and flows so well that I was sad when the story was over. I was not ever bored or scratching my head at what was going on. It was easy to follow and just a fun adventure to be a part of. Kennedy nailed it out of the park with how she brought the idea of life on other planets into the story. She did so in such a natural way that I couldn't see this story going any other direction. What this book did cause me to do when it was over was ask some questions of my own. Are we really alone in the universe? Could there be another universe that is set up exactly like ours except things are a little different based on decisions that were made? It's a lot to think about!It is no doubt that I loved this one. Kennedy has found a forever reader in me. I wish everyone would give this a chance and just have fun with it. The banter between Rosa and Eddie alone makes this worth reading. Please, add this to your TBR and come back to me to discuss. I'd love to hear what you thought of it
    more
  • Jonah Lisa Dyer
    June 24, 2017
    Buy this book. It's light, fast-paced, near-future Science Fiction with well-rounded characters and very sharp, funny writing. In other words, the perfect summer read. I loved it. The way the Katie Kennedy blends science, philosophy & humor is so freaking entertaining I just can't get enough. It was like an amazing mashup between ARRIVALS & ENDER'S GAME but mirrored in an alternate universe where all the scientists have a wicked sense of humor.
    more
  • Lisa
    April 2, 2017
    You will definitely need to suspend your disbelief for this story. I loved the energy and mystery of the first part of the book, but the second half fizzled a bit in its delivery and dialogue. Still a solid science fiction read.
  • Kathy Martin
    June 28, 2017
    WHAT GOES UP was an exciting science fiction story filled with great characters and lots of adventure. NASA is looking for the best and the brightest high school juniors to become part of an Interworlds Agency team. They start with 200 but will be weeding it down to 2. The main characters in this story are Rosa who is the child of scientists and who feels she needs to live up to their accomplishments; Eddie who was raised by his physicist grandmother while his violent father has been in prison; WHAT GOES UP was an exciting science fiction story filled with great characters and lots of adventure. NASA is looking for the best and the brightest high school juniors to become part of an Interworlds Agency team. They start with 200 but will be weeding it down to 2. The main characters in this story are Rosa who is the child of scientists and who feels she needs to live up to their accomplishments; Eddie who was raised by his physicist grandmother while his violent father has been in prison; Theo who is the son of medical professionals; and Brad whose father can buy or sell NASA and thinks he deserves special privileges because of it.After a series of tests both normal and abstract, the two hundred are narrowed down to Rosa, Eddie, Theo and Brad. They are being mentored by Reg who is recovering from a plane crash. Barely into training, something happens that puts them right on the front line when aliens appear. I enjoyed the all the characters but my favorite was definitely Eddie. He was smart but dealing with lots of difficulties in his life. He was used to being distrusted just because of who is father is. He also is essentially on his own and aware of his own loneliness. Fans of adventure and science fiction will enjoy this story.
    more
  • Lisa Brennan
    June 20, 2017
    With What Goes Up, Kennedy delivers an action-packed thriller that will appeal to a range of readers beyond the expected sci-fi crew. The story is launched in the not-so-distant future at NASA headquarters; here, 200 teens are vying for 2 available spots. While reminiscent of Divergent and The Testing, What Goes Up propels the action with a faster speed; the challenges derived for these candidates are incredibly original, and because the characters are so well-drawn, it's impossible to not feel With What Goes Up, Kennedy delivers an action-packed thriller that will appeal to a range of readers beyond the expected sci-fi crew. The story is launched in the not-so-distant future at NASA headquarters; here, 200 teens are vying for 2 available spots. While reminiscent of Divergent and The Testing, What Goes Up propels the action with a faster speed; the challenges derived for these candidates are incredibly original, and because the characters are so well-drawn, it's impossible to not feel magnetized as the tests ensue. Neither their rigorous testing nor their comprehensive training could prepare them for what lies ahead. Fasten your seatbelts, What Goes Up will take you on a fast ride. Recommended for grades 8 and up. ~ ARC via Netgalley ~ Lisa Brennan, Middle School Librarian @noveltalk
    more
  • Evelyn B.
    June 5, 2017
    What a terrific book! It’s fascinating, suspenseful, humorous, and definitely has heart! In this near-future sci-fi, Rosa and Eddie are initially competing with 198 other high school juniors to be on a new team at NASA’s Interworlds Agency. The competition is fierce and the tests intriguing (one of my favorite parts of the story). After Rosa and Eddie are selected, the suspense continues to build as aliens arrive on Earth. The two teenagers, along with a third teammate and their instructor, end What a terrific book! It’s fascinating, suspenseful, humorous, and definitely has heart! In this near-future sci-fi, Rosa and Eddie are initially competing with 198 other high school juniors to be on a new team at NASA’s Interworlds Agency. The competition is fierce and the tests intriguing (one of my favorite parts of the story). After Rosa and Eddie are selected, the suspense continues to build as aliens arrive on Earth. The two teenagers, along with a third teammate and their instructor, end up traveling through extra-dimensional space on a death-defying mission to save our planet. Katie Kennedy has definitely written another wonderful book, with characters I loved and an action-packed plot.
    more
  • Becky
    June 21, 2017
    In the near future NASA is recruit a group of genius teens. Rosa, Eddie, Trevor, and Brad are among those trainees. The group will work together, make romantic connections, and possible betray each other to win the chance to be a new member of NASA's exclusive team.I had a mixed reaction to this book. I thought the testing and training of the NASA possible trainees was incredible well done. I found some of their exercises/test to be downright fascinating. However when the book transitioned to th In the near future NASA is recruit a group of genius teens. Rosa, Eddie, Trevor, and Brad are among those trainees. The group will work together, make romantic connections, and possible betray each other to win the chance to be a new member of NASA's exclusive team.I had a mixed reaction to this book. I thought the testing and training of the NASA possible trainees was incredible well done. I found some of their exercises/test to be downright fascinating. However when the book transitioned to the mission I began to lose interest. The beginning of the book felt like a very realistic since fiction and the second half moved into a more fanciful science fiction that I didn't enjoy as much.
    more
  • Renee
    June 18, 2017
    I got to read an ARC of this book thanks to Netgalley, and I'm so glad! I'm an astronomy teacher & am always looking for books that my students can read and enjoy, but also learn. This book really fits that bill. I loved the characters, especially that the female characters were smart & strong. I thought the main conflict was an interesting take and I know my students would really enjoy it!
    more
  • Sydney Elizabeth
    June 25, 2017
    Review forthcoming! I'll post when it's up!
  • Marianne McKiernan
    March 16, 2017
    A very fun read- interesting premise, great characters, action, and humor.
  • Trisha
    May 30, 2017
    Quirky, funny and action-y.
  • Debbie
    June 1, 2017
    Well written science fiction story with space facts and humor interspersed throughout . Good for book discussion. Advance Reader Copy.
  • Ms. Yingling
    June 18, 2017
    I enjoyed this, but felt early on that it was just too long for my students. The print is so tiny! Would definitely take a look at this for high school if good, solid sci fi is needed.
  • Sarah
    May 26, 2017
    It has been proven that the world is infinite, with infinite possibilities. NASA is preparing for the inevitability of visitors from space by creating a training program for high school students. NASA will only take the best of the best. Rosa, Eddie and many others compete for the limited spots in the program. Along the way, friendships are made, broken, and hearts are tested. I really liked this book. I thought the characters were clever and the challenges were super compelling. Kennedy fully i It has been proven that the world is infinite, with infinite possibilities. NASA is preparing for the inevitability of visitors from space by creating a training program for high school students. NASA will only take the best of the best. Rosa, Eddie and many others compete for the limited spots in the program. Along the way, friendships are made, broken, and hearts are tested. I really liked this book. I thought the characters were clever and the challenges were super compelling. Kennedy fully invested me in her characters in the beginning, that by the end...the plot was not as well developed, but I didn't care because I was totally sold on the characters. I totally want to hang out with these characters IRL. I would even read a follow-up book, though I think this first book could have been expanded out into a series. I loved it.
    more
  • Helen McFarland
    February 19, 2017
    Another great book by Katie Kennedy! Read it--you'll love it!
  • Emily
    September 26, 2016
    LOVED this book. Nerds. Space. Saving the world.
  • Sage Thoughts
    June 20, 2017
    Content Ratinghttp://sagethoughtsonbooks.blogspot.c...
  • Michele
    June 11, 2017
    3.5 stars. thanks to the publisher for an advance copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. I did not enjoy this as much as Learning to Swear in America (which I really loved), but it was still decent and interesting. basic plot: teens are going to save the world from some unknown disturbance being monitored by NASA. this calls for some suspended disbelief. like, majorly. 200 high school juniors compete to join a NASA team of two? sure. the anomaly in space can't be solved by scientist 3.5 stars. thanks to the publisher for an advance copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. I did not enjoy this as much as Learning to Swear in America (which I really loved), but it was still decent and interesting. basic plot: teens are going to save the world from some unknown disturbance being monitored by NASA. this calls for some suspended disbelief. like, majorly. 200 high school juniors compete to join a NASA team of two? sure. the anomaly in space can't be solved by scientists with multi doctorates or engineers or, you know, anyone else? nope! only a couple of teenagers will cut it. luckily, they're teenagers with SARCASM. witty, even. but also bodily fluids to expend in the planetary defense. I really did like a lot of the fun repartee. and their training master. And some of the competition tests. as I said, fully a decent book. anyone who liked Katie Kennedy's first should pick this up. anyone who likes YA hard science-fiction should consider picking this up. would recommend especially to ages 13-17.
    more
Write a review