Collared (Andy Carpenter, #16)
Lawyer Andy Carpenter's true passion is the Tara Foundation, the dog rescue organization he runs with his friend Willie Miller. All kinds of dogs make their way to the foundation, and it isn't that surprising to find a dog abandoned at the shelter one morning, though it was accompanied by a mysterious anonymous note. But they are quite surprised when they scan the dog's embedded chip, and discover that they know this dog. He is the -DNA dog.-Two and a half years ago, Jill Hickman was a single mother of an adopted baby. Her baby and dog were kidnapped in broad daylight in Eastside Park, and they haven't been seen since. A tip came in that ID'd a former boyfriend of Hickman's, Keith Wachtel, as the kidnapper. A search of his house showed no sign of the child but did uncover more incriminating evidence, and the clincher that generated Wachtel's arrest was some dog hair, notable since Wachtel did not have a dog. DNA tests showed conclusively that the hair belonged to Hickman's dog. Wachtel was convicted of kidnapping, but the dog and baby were never found.Now, with the reappearance of the dog, the case is brought back to light, and the search for the child renewed. Goaded by his wife's desire to help a friend and fellow mother and Andy's desire to make sure the real kidnapper is in jail, Andy and his team enter the case. But what they start to uncover is far more complicated and dangerous than they ever expected.

Collared (Andy Carpenter, #16) Details

TitleCollared (Andy Carpenter, #16)
Author
FormatHardcover
ReleaseJul 18th, 2017
PublisherMinotaur Books
ISBN1250055350
ISBN-139781250055354
Number of pages336 pages
Rating
GenreMystery, Fiction, Cozy Mystery, Animals, Dogs

Collared (Andy Carpenter, #16) Review

  • Liz
    June 18, 2017
    I have been a fan of David Rosenfelt’s Andy Carpenter series since the first book. It's a winning formula - smart aleck lawyer (low on energy but high on smarts), dogs and a good mystery. These are light, fun books. They won't have you on the edge of your seat but they always bring a smile to your face. And for as light as these books are, the mystery is always well thought out. Rosenfelt has done it again. Collared starts off when a border collie is left at the doors of the Tara Foundation. Tur I have been a fan of David Rosenfelt’s Andy Carpenter series since the first book. It's a winning formula - smart aleck lawyer (low on energy but high on smarts), dogs and a good mystery. These are light, fun books. They won't have you on the edge of your seat but they always bring a smile to your face. And for as light as these books are, the mystery is always well thought out. Rosenfelt has done it again. Collared starts off when a border collie is left at the doors of the Tara Foundation. Turns out this dog was stolen, along with an adopted baby, three years ago. The baby was never returned or recovered. A man, the ex-boyfriend of the adoptive mother, was convicted of being the abductor. Andy agrees to investigate what the return of the dog means for the case. There are lots of twists and turns along the way. You are given glimpses to know some but not all of the story. Anyone who enjoys Janet Evanovich’s Stephanie Plum or Nelson DeMille’s John Corey series would do well to check out these books. It's not necessary to read them in order but it will flesh out certain relationships and provide the background that Rosenfelt doesn't reiterate like some authors always feel the need to do. My thanks to netgalley and Minotaur Books for an advance copy of this book.
    more
  • Sandy
    June 28, 2017
    Good Lord, is this really #16? I can’t believe I’ve been reading the series for so long but I guess that’s a testament to this author’s winning formula. This is one of those series where if you enjoy one, you’ll enjoy them all.The beginning made me think of that old book “The Cat Came Back”. Substitute a canine & you’ve got Cody, a loveable Border Collie found outside the Tara Foundation dog shelter one morning by Willie Miller. After Willie scans him for a microchip, his next call is to par Good Lord, is this really #16? I can’t believe I’ve been reading the series for so long but I guess that’s a testament to this author’s winning formula. This is one of those series where if you enjoy one, you’ll enjoy them all.The beginning made me think of that old book “The Cat Came Back”. Substitute a canine & you’ve got Cody, a loveable Border Collie found outside the Tara Foundation dog shelter one morning by Willie Miller. After Willie scans him for a microchip, his next call is to partner Andy Carpenter. Turns out Cody is a bit of a celebrity. Almost 3 years ago, Jill HIckman’s nanny Teresa was assaulted while on an outing with Cody & Dylan, Jill’s adopted baby son. Teresa identified the attacker as Keith Wachtel, a scientist who worked for Jill’s company & her former lover. The most damning evidence came when dog hair found in Keith’s car & home was DNA matched to Cody. Keith was convicted but Dylan & Cody were never found.As it happens, Jill is friends with Laurie, Andy’s wife & while she’e overjoyed to see Cody, she’s also hopeful this will lead to Dylan. Reluctantly, Andy agrees to poke around & begins by giving the heads up to Det. Pete Stanton. Pete worked the original case & is sure they got their man but after visiting Keith in prison, Andy’s not so sure. From here, the plot stretches out in multiple directions as more players are introduced. The underlying conspiracy is complex & there are several sneaky twists that’ll catch you off guard. It’s not long before Andy’s worst fear is realized….yup, he’ll have to dust off a suit & be a lawyer. Oh the horror! The only person more distraught about this turn of events is Edna, Andy’s “office manager”. This will seriously cut into a strict training regime for her next run at the crossword puzzle title.Rosenfelt’s books are always cleverly constructed but for me, at least half the reading pleasure comes from spending time with characters that have become old friends. Andy is the heart of the eccentric cast & narrates the story with a self deprecating voice. His interactions with other characters & sly internal observations provide much of the humour. As usual, Laurie is the voice of reason & Marcus continues to scare the bejeezus out of anyone smarter than a house plant. Who am I kidding…plants are afraid of him, too.The author is a master of pacing & interspersed with the laughs is a cleverly plotted mystery that clips right along. Besides wanting to know how it all shakes out, you’ll keep reading because it’s just so darn entertaining.Like other authors with long running series such as John Sandford, Janet Evanovich or Lee Child, Rosenfelt has a distinctive style. They all contribute to the same genre but have found their own niches by creating signature characters who inhabit stories that run the gamut from grit to humour. You may have your favourites among their books but picking up the next instalment is a no-brainer. This author is one of my go-to’s when I’m in the mood for familiar faces, witty dialogue & genuine laughs all wrapped around a smart mystery.
    more
  • Hobart
    June 27, 2017
    ★ ★ ★ 1/2 (rounded up)This originally appeared at The Irresponsible Reader.--- I know I take dog-loving to a somewhat absurd degree, but what he just said pleases me. Someone who doesn’t care about dogs, or this one in particular, would have said, “It’s about the dog being found.” But he said Cody instead of the dog, which to me is a sign of respect and caring.I may need to get out more.Cody has been assumed to have been one of two victims of a kidnapping -- the other was the baby the dog's owne ★ ★ ★ 1/2 (rounded up)This originally appeared at The Irresponsible Reader.--- I know I take dog-loving to a somewhat absurd degree, but what he just said pleases me. Someone who doesn’t care about dogs, or this one in particular, would have said, “It’s about the dog being found.” But he said Cody instead of the dog, which to me is a sign of respect and caring.I may need to get out more.Cody has been assumed to have been one of two victims of a kidnapping -- the other was the baby the dog's owner had recently adopted. It's been two and a half years, with no trace of either. The mother's ex-boyfriend and ex-employee has been convicted for the crime, on some pretty flimsy evidence. Now Cody has been left at the front door of The Tara Foundation. Naturally, once Andy is told about this, he brings in the police and the dog's owner (a friend of Laurie's, as coincidence would have it). The question at the front of everyone's mind is: can the dog somehow lead to answers about her son?Jill, the boy's mother and Cody's owner, asks Andy to look into this for her. Almost as soon as he begins, Andy uncovers some evidence that leads him to become Keith's attorney and get him a retrial. Andy is pretty clueless (as is everyone) why someone would kidnap the boy and the dog (and return the dog), not to mention frame Keith for the crime. But while he can't answer that, he can chip away at the evidence that put Keith behind bars -- the only hope the boy has is that by doing so, someone may stumble on an explanation for what happened to him. Along the way, Andy's associate Hike has to go down to North Carolina to do a little research. While there, something happens to him -- I won't ruin anything for you, but it's a lotta fun for people who have been around since Hike's introduction -- you will enjoy it. Laurie does what Laurie does, ditto for Marcus (who might be his most-Marcus-y here) and Sam. I do worry that Rosenfelt isn't doing much with these characters beyond their regular heroics and chuckle-worthy antics, but we got some good Hike material this time, maybe it'll be someone else's turn to shine next. I don't think the addition of Ricky to things added that much to the series, and that's the last major change since Hike came along.I really would've appreciated a little more courtroom action, but I'm not sure what else could've happened. It just seems like less time is being given to the courtroom lately -- maybe I'm wrong. I can't imagine that Andy would approve of someone doing the work to determine if I'm right or not -- he sure wouldn't -- so let's just assume I am.I sound like I'm complaining about the book -- that's not really my intention. I wouldn't expect so much from it if I wasn't such a fan. Collared has a clever mystery, some funny moments, a nice twist or two, and we get to spend time with characters that readers have come to know and like. For a series 16 books in, that's pretty good. Where else are you going to get a friend of the protagonist describe a potential suspect like this?“Because Kaiser is a bad guy— a very bad, very dangerous , very evil guy . He might even be a Cardinals fan.”It's a fun read -- from the moment that Andy assembles the family to help him decide if he'll renew his law license to the party at Charlie's, Rosenfelt keeps you turning the pages with a smile on your face. Disclaimer: I received this eARC from St. Martin's Press via NetGalley in exchange for this post -- thanks to both for this. N.B.: As this was an ARC, any quotations above may be changed in the published work -- I will endeavor to verify them as soon as possible.
    more
  • Betty
    July 18, 2017
    The last Andy Carpenter book is one of his best. A border collie is left at the Tara Foundation. A scam reveals that this is the dog that was stolen when a baby was kidnapped a few years ago. A boyfriend of the Mother was convict of the crime but the child and dog were never located. In order to help resolve the case, Andy becomes the attorney of record for the convicted party. Before long Andy feels that the man was not guilty and sets out to find answers. He wants to know if the child dead or The last Andy Carpenter book is one of his best. A border collie is left at the Tara Foundation. A scam reveals that this is the dog that was stolen when a baby was kidnapped a few years ago. A boyfriend of the Mother was convict of the crime but the child and dog were never located. In order to help resolve the case, Andy becomes the attorney of record for the convicted party. Before long Andy feels that the man was not guilty and sets out to find answers. He wants to know if the child dead or where he is now. The answers give no satisfaction and become dangerous. Marcus is called to defend Andy. A new trial is ordered for the convicted man. I highly recommend this book and series.
    more
  • Fredrick Danysh
    July 24, 2017
    Almost three years ago a baby boy and the mother's dog were abducted. Suddenly the dog turns up at the Tara Foundation and the case reopens as Andy Carpenter defends the man convicted of the abduction in an effort to find the boy. Someone is willing to kill to keep that from happening.
    more
  • Ruth Ferguson
    July 23, 2017
    Come on how can a book with that cover not be adorable! Actually it is a story that involves a kidnap child (with the dog) gone for three years while a man who says he is innocent sits in jail. Andy and his team begin the case not trying to prove the man's innocence. They are hoping the reappearance of the dog means there's a slim chance the boy is still alive. It will take a trial and several dead bodies before the truth is known. But with an interesting plot a sense of humor and plenty of dogs Come on how can a book with that cover not be adorable! Actually it is a story that involves a kidnap child (with the dog) gone for three years while a man who says he is innocent sits in jail. Andy and his team begin the case not trying to prove the man's innocence. They are hoping the reappearance of the dog means there's a slim chance the boy is still alive. It will take a trial and several dead bodies before the truth is known. But with an interesting plot a sense of humor and plenty of dogs it is the story you will enjoy.This is number 16 in the series that I now have to go back to book one for.
    more
  • Angie
    July 15, 2017
    Andy Carpenter (and David Rosenfelt) does it again. A sweet #16!When a border collie is abandoned at the Tara Foundation, no one is especially surprised. After all, lawyer Andy Carpenter founded the foundation as a shelter for homeless dogs. Things become much more interesting when a microchip scan identifies the collie as a dog that disappeared three years earlier during the abduction of a baby and the beating of the baby’s nanny. The baby’s mother, Jill Hickman, is a successful businesswoman, Andy Carpenter (and David Rosenfelt) does it again. A sweet #16!When a border collie is abandoned at the Tara Foundation, no one is especially surprised. After all, lawyer Andy Carpenter founded the foundation as a shelter for homeless dogs. Things become much more interesting when a microchip scan identifies the collie as a dog that disappeared three years earlier during the abduction of a baby and the beating of the baby’s nanny. The baby’s mother, Jill Hickman, is a successful businesswoman, and the crime had received wide publicity. She is also a friend of Andy’s wife Laurie, which gives Andy a second reason to delve into the mystery. Although Jill’s former boyfriend, Keith Wachtel, was convicted of the kidnapping, baby Dylan has never been found. The more Andy and his team learn, the stranger the case becomes. Soon Andy is trying to prove Keith’s innocence and learn who was behind the baby’s disappearance and perhaps even a murder or two.David Rosenfelt's legal thrillers featuring wise-cracking New Jersey defense lawyer Andy Carpenter and an array of lovable canines and quirky humans are favorites of mine. They have interesting plots, likable characters, and a quiet but sassy humor that provokes more smiles than guffaws. A special feature is how Rosenfelt's own love for dogs (He and his wife founded a dog rescue foundation in real life.) shines via Andy's love for his Tara and the reliable involvement of dogs, even if they are in the background . These are not cozies, but they do NOT have the level of gore and grittiness common in urban mysteries today.Narrator Andy is always at center stage in the book, but his faithful team members add color as usual. In this book, the terminally morose Hike, the only other lawyer in Andy’s firm, takes the investigation to South Carolina and becomes infected by Southern friendliness and courtesy, to the bewilderment of all who know him.In Collared, Rosenfelt’s many devoted fans can be reassured that narrator Andy (and Rosenfelt) is still at the top of his game, both at solving crimes and delivering his low-key witticisms. The introductory opening scene was both saddening and intriguing, as a guilt-ridden woman drops off a dog at the Tara Foundation, but then narrator Andy took over and soon had me smiling as he described the interplay at the Carpenter breakfast table between Andy, his wife Laurie, and their adopted son Ricky. As usual, Andy provoked a final smile with the closing line. And there were plenty of smiles in between, whether Andy is at Charlie’s bar with his friend Police Captain Pete Stanton or annoying the judges and opposing counsel in court. If you are new to the series, you can enjoy this book very much without reading any of the others, but I would suggest you read the first book, Open and Shut, to get the background for Andy’s team and their circumstances, after which you can enjoy them in any order. There’s not a bad one in the bunch.Andy’s cases are always interesting, but this one was especially suspenseful, with some very unexpected twists and surprises. As I neared the end of the book I wondered how Rosenfelt was going to take all the loose ends and weave them into a plausible conclusion, but, by golly, he (and Andy) did it again. Andy may be a self-described “reluctant lawyer”, but he can’t resist a puzzle or ignore injustice, so I have every hope and expectation that he and his team will soon be at work again solving cases and entertaining his many readers.NOTE: I received an advance reader copy of this book from NetGalley in exchange for a fair and honest review.
    more
  • Kathy
    June 25, 2017
    David Rosenfelt has done it again with his latest, Collared. In this book, a border collie is left at Andy Carpenter’s Tara foundation for abandoned dogs. This border collie is a long-lost dog that, along with a baby, was kidnapped two years before in a well-publicized case. The baby, Dylan, was in the care of his nanny and was the son of an entrepreneurial woman who owns a well-known, important DNA company. After a trial, her ex-boyfriend was convicted of the kidnapping and sent to prison. In t David Rosenfelt has done it again with his latest, Collared. In this book, a border collie is left at Andy Carpenter’s Tara foundation for abandoned dogs. This border collie is a long-lost dog that, along with a baby, was kidnapped two years before in a well-publicized case. The baby, Dylan, was in the care of his nanny and was the son of an entrepreneurial woman who owns a well-known, important DNA company. After a trial, her ex-boyfriend was convicted of the kidnapping and sent to prison. In this case, Andy Carpenter, working with his crew of would-be misfits, discovers clues that lead them to wonder if the man in prison was falsely accused and convicted, and if the truth about the kidnapping still remains to be uncovered. In his mercurial way, Andy sets about figuring out what really happened the day the dog and baby were kidnapped and who is really responsible and why. As he pushes from clue to clue, Andy unravels a fascinating mystery, with a myriad of twists and turns until he figures out what really occurred. I have read most of the other Andy Carpenter books and found this one as enjoyable as the rest. If you love dogs and a good, light mystery, with none of the sex themes that so often fill mysteries, this one is a good one for you. Andy may come across as a bit lazy, but he is clever and smart—and rich enough not to really worry about costs or money, as he delves into his case. His is a solid, down-to-earth character, a lawyer who is fighting for compelling causes, and most of these involve dogs in some way shape or manner. This one involves both the newly found lost border collie and a baby. The story moves along at a good clip—Andy and his cohorts are never dull. I found it as entertaining as every other Andy Carpenter story I have read, and it only made me eagerly anticipate the next in the series. If you enjoy dogs (or even if you don’t) and a good cozy Collared will make for a great summer/vacation/beach read. I highly recommend it. I received this from NetGalley to read and review.
    more
  • Suzy (ereaderuser)
    July 25, 2017
    Another great Andy Carpenter story. And as with previous books this one had a nice little mystery to solve, and a ton of that Andy humor. Loved it!
  • RO G'ma
    June 4, 2017
    Collared is the 16th book in David Rosenfelt’s Andy Carpenter Mystery series and is a great book that can be read as a standalone. I really enjoy this author’s writing style and witty dialog. Mr. Rosenfelt has written a fast paced, well thought out and interesting mystery, with a good story line, excellent character development, intriguing characters, and unexpected twists and turns that keeps the reader engaged. I highly recommend this book to all cozy mystery fans.Andy Carpenter is a reluctant Collared is the 16th book in David Rosenfelt’s Andy Carpenter Mystery series and is a great book that can be read as a standalone. I really enjoy this author’s writing style and witty dialog. Mr. Rosenfelt has written a fast paced, well thought out and interesting mystery, with a good story line, excellent character development, intriguing characters, and unexpected twists and turns that keeps the reader engaged. I highly recommend this book to all cozy mystery fans.Andy Carpenter is a reluctant attorney who also runs the Tara Foundation, an animal rescue organization, with Willis and Sondra Miller. Andy lives in Paterson, New Jersey with his wife, Laurie, their adopted son, Ricky, and two dogs, Tara and Sebastian. Andy calls their first family meeting because he’s trying to decide if he should renew his to practice law and spend more time with his family and the foundation. Everyone, including Willis and Sondra, say they love him, but to please renew his license because sometimes he gets more than a little cranky if he isn’t busy. One morning Willis and Sondra find a border collie tied to the foundation’s door, along with an odd note. When they scanned the dog to see if he was chipped, they learned his name was Cody and his owner was Jill Hickman. Jill’s adopted infant son, Dylan, and their dog were abducted about three years ago from Eastside Park while with his nanny, Teresa Mullins, who was pistol-whipped. Strong evidence pointed to her ex-boyfriend, Keith Wachtel. Keith denied having anything to do with Dylan’s disappearance, but the evidence pointed to him and he was convicted, receiving a lengthy prison sentence. They uncover that the case is far more complicated and dangerous than they originally thought.I voluntarily reviewed an Advance Reader Copy of this book.
    more
  • Hannelore Cheney
    June 16, 2017
    A lot of fun, a puzzling mystery, a very surprising ending and dogs make this book a great read. Andy, an attorney, is working on behalf of a newly acquired client, who has been in prison, convicted of kidnapping a baby and a doing 2-1/2 years ago. When the dog is found tied up outside of the dog rescue center Andy helps run, it opens up the case again. Who really did the kidnapping and why? Is the baby still alive? The mother, who adopted the baby and just had him for a few months, is desperate A lot of fun, a puzzling mystery, a very surprising ending and dogs make this book a great read. Andy, an attorney, is working on behalf of a newly acquired client, who has been in prison, convicted of kidnapping a baby and a doing 2-1/2 years ago. When the dog is found tied up outside of the dog rescue center Andy helps run, it opens up the case again. Who really did the kidnapping and why? Is the baby still alive? The mother, who adopted the baby and just had him for a few months, is desperate to find out. The former nanny, who was pistol whipped during the kidnapping and pointed the finger at Andy's new client, is impossible to find. Andy is trying to solve a crime the likes of which he has never experienced before.The ending was a big surprise to me, and along with Andy, his partner Laurie, the dogs and Andy's staff, the book is full of highly likeable characters and quite a few chuckles. Great series!Thank you, Netgalley and the publisher for the eARC.
    more
  • Teena in Toronto
    July 8, 2017
    Andy is a criminal defense lawyer who doesn't want any clients ... he's even considering not sending in the paperwork to keep his license up-to-date. Because of the millions his father left him, he is able to not work and spend his time with his friend, Willie, running the Tara Foundation, a dog rescue that he and Willie formed. He is married to Laurie and they recently adopted eight-year-old Ricky, so he is enjoying family life.A dog is abandoned at the dog rescue and a chip and DNA show that i Andy is a criminal defense lawyer who doesn't want any clients ... he's even considering not sending in the paperwork to keep his license up-to-date. Because of the millions his father left him, he is able to not work and spend his time with his friend, Willie, running the Tara Foundation, a dog rescue that he and Willie formed. He is married to Laurie and they recently adopted eight-year-old Ricky, so he is enjoying family life.A dog is abandoned at the dog rescue and a chip and DNA show that it is Cody, a dog that has been missing and presumed dead. Three years ago, Laurie's friend, Jill, had broken up with her boyfriend, Keith, and then adopted a baby named Dylan. Cody and Dylan were kidnapped shortly thereafter and evidence pointed to Keith to be being the one who took them. He ends up being convicted and sent to prison. With the dog reappearing, Jill asks Andy and Laurie to investigate. Andy eventually is hired by Keith when the case is reopened and sent back to court.This is the sixteenth in the Andy Carpenter series (I've read them all). I enjoyed this book and am really enjoying this series. The story was interesting and there were some twists and turns along the way. Even though it is part of a series, it works as a stand alone (so you don't need to have read the ones before it to know what is going on). I like the writing style of this author as it was funny, sarcastic and amusing. It was written mostly in first person perspective in Andy's voice.I like Andy ... I think he would be a hoot to be around and he's quite generous with his time and money. He loves his dog, Tara, and thinks she's the most wonderful and smartest dog in the world. He also has another less lively dog named Sebastian who came with Ricky. Part of Andy's team is Laurie, his wife and former police officer and now his investigator. Hike is his associate who is the most depressed and downer person ever but in this book we see "Pod Hike". Marcus, an investigator with persuasive reasoning skills, continues to provide protection when it's most needed (which is often since Andy is a self-professed coward). Sam is his accountant who is also a computer hack but wants to get more action like shooting people.Blog review post: http://www.teenaintoronto.com/2017/07...
    more
  • Vicky
    July 28, 2017
    I've read all of the Andy Carpenter books and hands down this is the best! It started as a dog left at the Tara Foundation Center until its chip was read. The dog turned out to be a missing dog from a child abduction case in which the abductor was found guilty and in prison but the child was never found. Andy gets involved in the case. There is murder, mystery - who committed the murders, and intrigue - a lot of whys which have no dots to connect. There's also a great twist at the end!!!As with I've read all of the Andy Carpenter books and hands down this is the best! It started as a dog left at the Tara Foundation Center until its chip was read. The dog turned out to be a missing dog from a child abduction case in which the abductor was found guilty and in prison but the child was never found. Andy gets involved in the case. There is murder, mystery - who committed the murders, and intrigue - a lot of whys which have no dots to connect. There's also a great twist at the end!!!As with all of the other Andy Carpententer books, all of the characters are brought back in this book: Pete Stanton, Hike, Sam, Edna, Vince, and of course Laurie, Ricky, Tara, and Sebastian. David Rosenfelt's books are always easy reading and keeps you engaged so much that you want to read them in one sitting! I hope there's another Andy Carpenter book on the computer! Can't wait for the next one......
    more
  • Robyn
    July 29, 2017
    loved this latest entry in the Andy Carpenter mystery series just slightly less than usual...all Andy's self-deprecating humor is there, as is the usual cast of well-drawn characters, including Tara, the best dog in the world......and the mystery unwinds in Andy's usual reluctant, then determined, investigation that starts with a dog and in this case a missing child......so all the best elements are there, but with a few disappointments.....secondary characters barely appear, not even Tara, and loved this latest entry in the Andy Carpenter mystery series just slightly less than usual...all Andy's self-deprecating humor is there, as is the usual cast of well-drawn characters, including Tara, the best dog in the world......and the mystery unwinds in Andy's usual reluctant, then determined, investigation that starts with a dog and in this case a missing child......so all the best elements are there, but with a few disappointments.....secondary characters barely appear, not even Tara, and with the exception of Hike (who gets a fun turn), do very little; the rescued dog features strong in the mystery but otherwise appears in the beginning and never again, the bad guys are too similar to past baddies, and worst of all, the two dogs pictured on the cover are, as far as i could tell, appear nowhere in the story ...the adorable puppy may be a border collie, but the found dog who launches the story is a grown dog...quibble, i know.......
    more
  • Pattyh
    June 5, 2017
    Thank you Netgalley for the opportunity to preview Collared by David Rosenfelt. This is part of a series and for those of us who are fans of Andy Carpenteer, you will not be let down by Rosenfelt's latest edition.A woman is seen leaving a dog stranded by the roadside, which is not unusual in itself. This dog is brought to the Tara Foundation - the dog was last seen three years ago when a young boy was with him when he disappeared. Andy Carpenter, the owner and founder of the Tara Foundation, rea Thank you Netgalley for the opportunity to preview Collared by David Rosenfelt. This is part of a series and for those of us who are fans of Andy Carpenteer, you will not be let down by Rosenfelt's latest edition.A woman is seen leaving a dog stranded by the roadside, which is not unusual in itself. This dog is brought to the Tara Foundation - the dog was last seen three years ago when a young boy was with him when he disappeared. Andy Carpenter, the owner and founder of the Tara Foundation, realizes that something is wrong with this picture - why is the dog appearing now and where is the young boy that was with him at that time.The familiar cast of characters return as well as Andy's great sense of humor. I really liked this book - Rosenfelt never disappoints with this series.I am ready for one of his standalone novels - but this one will suffice for now!RECOMMEND.
    more
  • Jan
    July 31, 2017
    Earlier this year I discovered David Rosenfelt and his Andy Carpenter series. I loved the first one so much that I read the rest of them at a very fast pace. I am now listening to them with my husband at a slower pace and thoroughly enjoying them again. And now he has the latest book out and again, not surprisingly, I love it. I like the newer version of Andy since he and Laurie got married and they adopted Ricky. He’s just as funny, but a little bit more mature. Just a little bit! This book has Earlier this year I discovered David Rosenfelt and his Andy Carpenter series. I loved the first one so much that I read the rest of them at a very fast pace. I am now listening to them with my husband at a slower pace and thoroughly enjoying them again. And now he has the latest book out and again, not surprisingly, I love it. I like the newer version of Andy since he and Laurie got married and they adopted Ricky. He’s just as funny, but a little bit more mature. Just a little bit! This book has him taking on a prisoner that was accused of kidnapping, but the boy was never found. There are a lot of red herrings along with some pretty fast action. It is another great read from David Rosenfelt!
    more
  • Freda Malone
    July 30, 2017
    Whenever I read an Andy Carpenter novel, I have learned to set the bar pretty high in the plot of the story and this one was brilliant. I don't know where David Rosenfelt gets his ideas, but he hardly disappoints and I'll say it again from the summary:What Andy and his team uncover is something more dangerous and complicated than you'll ever expect and Rosenfelt doesn't make it easy for you to figure it out on your own. Every time a dead body showed up, poor Andy was losing evidence of the one t Whenever I read an Andy Carpenter novel, I have learned to set the bar pretty high in the plot of the story and this one was brilliant. I don't know where David Rosenfelt gets his ideas, but he hardly disappoints and I'll say it again from the summary:What Andy and his team uncover is something more dangerous and complicated than you'll ever expect and Rosenfelt doesn't make it easy for you to figure it out on your own. Every time a dead body showed up, poor Andy was losing evidence of the one thing he needed to win his case and exonerate Jill's ex-boyfriend and kidnapper, Wachtel. You'll play the guessing game right up until the last chapter and you'll wonder why you didn't think of THAT.
    more
  • Linda C. Brizendine
    July 18, 2017
    Very good!Rosenfelt has outdone himself on this one. All the Andy Carpenter books are good, but I think this one is even better. It has a different twist to it and really keeps you guessing what revelation is next. If you've never read any of the other books, it won't hinder your enjoyment and understanding of this one. The Andy Carpenter books are a pleasure to read. Yes, there is murder and mayhem wound into the mysteries that take unexpected twists and turns. There is enough humor included to Very good!Rosenfelt has outdone himself on this one. All the Andy Carpenter books are good, but I think this one is even better. It has a different twist to it and really keeps you guessing what revelation is next. If you've never read any of the other books, it won't hinder your enjoyment and understanding of this one. The Andy Carpenter books are a pleasure to read. Yes, there is murder and mayhem wound into the mysteries that take unexpected twists and turns. There is enough humor included to keep the stories from being dark. If you haven't read the other books, you will certainly want to after you read this one and I recommend you do just that.
    more
  • Joey
    July 23, 2017
    Fabulous book! I've read all of the Andy Carpenter books, and I think this is the best of the series. Loved the book! I read for pleasure, I don't try to figure out the end before I get there. That's a good thing when reading this one. I had no idea where DR was going with this one. Every time I thought I knew what was happening, he'd take a turn and I'd have to start thinking of the possibilities all over again. This book definitely kept me on my toes through the entire book. Great read! Highly Fabulous book! I've read all of the Andy Carpenter books, and I think this is the best of the series. Loved the book! I read for pleasure, I don't try to figure out the end before I get there. That's a good thing when reading this one. I had no idea where DR was going with this one. Every time I thought I knew what was happening, he'd take a turn and I'd have to start thinking of the possibilities all over again. This book definitely kept me on my toes through the entire book. Great read! Highly recommend the entire Andy Carpenter series, read in order.
    more
  • Martin Benvenuto
    July 23, 2017
    I have read every one of the Andy Carpenter series, and was eagerly awaiting the latest. In preparation I decided to go back and start the series over (something I do often) to get back into the hilarious world of Andy and friends. When the book ended (from Audible) I can only say is that I was left wanting by the latest adventure. Gone was the witty repartee, the guffaw producing lines on almost every page, and how can one forget 'song talking'! From book one on I wished I could award ten stars I have read every one of the Andy Carpenter series, and was eagerly awaiting the latest. In preparation I decided to go back and start the series over (something I do often) to get back into the hilarious world of Andy and friends. When the book ended (from Audible) I can only say is that I was left wanting by the latest adventure. Gone was the witty repartee, the guffaw producing lines on almost every page, and how can one forget 'song talking'! From book one on I wished I could award ten stars. Sadly, for book #16 I feel I'm being generous with 3.
    more
  • Linda
    June 5, 2017
    Another great mystery novel from David Rosenfelt, starring everyone’s favorite rich lawyer with a sense of humor, Andy Carpenter. A border collie named Cody is found outside the rescue Andy and Willie run; when his microchip is scanned, the information leads back to a sensational abduction case from several years prior. Is the man who was jailed really guilty? Where was Cody the dog since the trial, and who left him at the rescue? Andy pieces together the facts of the case, while someone is tryi Another great mystery novel from David Rosenfelt, starring everyone’s favorite rich lawyer with a sense of humor, Andy Carpenter. A border collie named Cody is found outside the rescue Andy and Willie run; when his microchip is scanned, the information leads back to a sensational abduction case from several years prior. Is the man who was jailed really guilty? Where was Cody the dog since the trial, and who left him at the rescue? Andy pieces together the facts of the case, while someone is trying to kill him. A plot with many twists and turns and great writing make this a must-read.
    more
  • Herzog
    July 27, 2017
    I find the constant dog themes in these books a bit annoying. There is a definite template to each the books involving some criminal event, a meal at Charlie's, the reluctant taking on of a client, chaotic investigation, violence with support from Marcus, weak humor, a trial complete with dialogue, an unexpected event during jury deliberation and most everybody living happily ever after. The plot here was pretty well done, if a bit convoluted and the rest of the book what we've come to expect in I find the constant dog themes in these books a bit annoying. There is a definite template to each the books involving some criminal event, a meal at Charlie's, the reluctant taking on of a client, chaotic investigation, violence with support from Marcus, weak humor, a trial complete with dialogue, an unexpected event during jury deliberation and most everybody living happily ever after. The plot here was pretty well done, if a bit convoluted and the rest of the book what we've come to expect in an Andy Carpenter story.
    more
  • Alicia
    July 24, 2017
    I just love this series. I wish they came out much faster :) Andy Carpenter is sarcastic, witty and at times, just hilarious. I love his personality and all the characters in these series. The narrator of this series is awesome! Whenever he speaks, I can just imagine Andy Carpenter and see his actions. I think a great narrator just makes the book when listening especially. This story was a bit confusing at the end...kind of strange, but i still really enjoyed everything about it and I cant wait I just love this series. I wish they came out much faster :) Andy Carpenter is sarcastic, witty and at times, just hilarious. I love his personality and all the characters in these series. The narrator of this series is awesome! Whenever he speaks, I can just imagine Andy Carpenter and see his actions. I think a great narrator just makes the book when listening especially. This story was a bit confusing at the end...kind of strange, but i still really enjoyed everything about it and I cant wait for more!!!!
    more
  • Joyce
    July 29, 2017
    I love this series with Andy Carpenter- a courtroom lawyer who's clever andHas a great team and loves animals. A wonderful combination for a mystery.This story is about a baby and dog that were kidnapped and now the dogHas shown up at the doors of the Tara Foundation. A light, fast, mysteryThat will keep you reading as well as enjoying Andy's wit and humor. It isEntertaining, heartwarming and suspenseful.
    more
  • Wanda
    July 25, 2017
    I'd never heard of this author or series when Collared's cover caught my eye on the library's website. I'm glad it did. BTW, the title's a fun play on words - someone gets collared at the end of this mystery and it isn't the dog. Main character Andy Carpenter's cheeky sense of humor along with an offbeat cast of characters and plenty of twists and turns made for a very entertaining read. So nice to think there are 15 more Andy Carpenter books out there to catch up on.
    more
  • Kim
    July 17, 2017
    I have always enjoyed David Rosenfelt's book and this one doesn't disappoint. A women's child and collie dog are stolen three years ago when all of the sudden the dog turns up tied to the front door of the Tara Rescue Foundation. It is now up to lawyer Andy to find out where the dog has been for three years and if the is any chance of finding the missing baby.Thank you Net Galley for this advanced copy in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Kristen
    July 21, 2017
    A fun new addition to the Andy Carpenter series. I'm a long-time fan thanks to the winning combination of dogs, a mystery, and clever Jersey sarcasm. A few of the more recent ones felt too formulaic to me, however. Thankfully Rosenfelt shook things up a bit in this one - enough to break that mold while still retaining all the elements that make this series so fun. 3.5 stars.
    more
  • Dee
    July 28, 2017
    What a good read. I love Andy Carpenter and this was an action packed to the minute ending. The characters are always real and have you liking them immediately. The story was believable and kept you thinking. The Tara Foundation is for unwanted dogs and plays a role in most of the books, sometimes large and sometimes small and the books titles usually have some type of animal title.
    more
  • Gloria
    July 31, 2017
    Another fun, suspenseful entry in the Andy Carpenter mystery series. In this one, the sudden reappearance of a border collie who has been missing for three years involved Andy and company in a case of kidnapping, and a wrongly-convicted man. Murder follows before things are resolved. Good entry in this ongoing series.
    more
  • susan welch
    July 28, 2017
    Another great Andy Carpenter novelLove the quick wit, deprecating humor and of course the dogs. I just wish Rosenfelt would introduce more books in a shorter time frame. I am always waiting for his next one!
Write a review