The Inevitable Collision of Birdie & Bash
Birdie never meant to be at the party. Bash should have been long gone. But when they meet, a collision course is set off they may never recover from.Sebastian Alvaréz is just trying to hold the pieces together: to not flunk out, to keep his sort-of-best friend Wild Kyle from doing something really bad, and to see his beloved Ma through chemo. But when he meets Birdie Paxton, a near-Valedictorian who doesn’t realize she’s smoking hot in her science pun T-shirt, at a party, an undeniable attraction sparks. And suddenly he’s not worried about anything. But before they are able to exchange numbers, they are pulled apart. A horrifying tragedy soon links Birdie and Bash together—but neither knows it. When they finally reconnect, and are starting to fall—hard—the events of the tragedy unfold, changing both their lives in ways they can never undo. Told in alternating perspectives, The Inevitable Collision of Birdie & Bash by Candace Ganger is a beautiful, complex, and ultimately hopeful teen novel that will move you to the very last page.

The Inevitable Collision of Birdie & Bash Details

TitleThe Inevitable Collision of Birdie & Bash
Author
FormatHardcover
ReleaseJul 25th, 2017
PublisherSt. Martin's Griffin
ISBN1250116228
ISBN-139781250116222
Number of pages320 pages
Rating
GenreYoung Adult, Contemporary, Romance

The Inevitable Collision of Birdie & Bash Review

  • Patty Blount
    August 24, 2016
    I'm proud to tell you I read and provided a quote for this novel. Tight writing, vividly portrayed characters, and a plot so poignant, it'll stick with you long after you close the book, BIRDIE & BASH is a smart debut that needs to be on top of your reading pile. I think fans of John Greene's ABUNDANCE OF KATHERINES will enjoy this story. I know I did.
    more
  • K.M. Walton
    August 24, 2016
    I was lucky enough to read and blurb this debut novel, emphasis on the lucky. The characters of Birdie and Bash stuck with me long after I finished reading - the sign of an excellent read. Candace Granger is one talented writer. Add it to your TBR pile now.
    more
  • Kim
    August 24, 2016
    Thrilled to have had the opportunity to read this book already. I devoured it in one sitting because I couldn't pull myself away from these richly crafted characters. The plot and writing reeled me in then refused to let me go. This debut is a stunner. Add it to your must read list now!
    more
  • YA Wednesdays
    June 21, 2017
    Oh man, oh man, oh man...is this book on everyone's TBR?!?
  • Ms. Yingling
    April 21, 2017
    Wow. NOT a middle grade book! I think the descriptions of this should include the fact that it's got REALLY raunchy language. While I appreciate that this occurred on the very first page, the cartoon cover lead me to think it was more of a MG than YA book. Will NOT purchase anything with the f-word in it for my grade 6-8 readers. I was looking forward to this one, darn it.
    more
  • Kerry Bush
    May 2, 2017
    This was a wonderful book! It reminded me very much of John Green's works, which are among my favorite YA literature. Highly recommended!
  • Katherine
    April 1, 2017
    I received an advanced copy of this book from a Goodreads giveaway in exchange for an honest review. Many thanks!!!I'm going to have to agree with another reviewer when they said that they had never read about two more reprehensible characters before. And while I wouldn't go that fare, Birdie and Bash certainly rank up there in terms of unlikability.If I could compare what this book was trying to be, I would say that this book was trying to be John Green mashed up with Eleanor & Park with a I received an advanced copy of this book from a Goodreads giveaway in exchange for an honest review. Many thanks!!!I'm going to have to agree with another reviewer when they said that they had never read about two more reprehensible characters before. And while I wouldn't go that fare, Birdie and Bash certainly rank up there in terms of unlikability.If I could compare what this book was trying to be, I would say that this book was trying to be John Green mashed up with Eleanor & Park with a side dash of Richard Linklater's films all rolled up in one. The result was a disaster of epic proportions. Birdie Jenkins and Sebastian Alvarez meet at a party and fall head over heels in instalove. But their potential romance could very well become squashed by the fact that Bash was a part of something catastrophic in Birdie's life, though they both don't know it. I could have gotten behind the book if these two main characters we such that I could root for them. Sadly, I couldn't. Again, I'm going to go with the fact that I may have been simply too old for this type of teenage drama.**Trolls pop out from behind the bushes and whisper.'Then why the fuck do you still read YA??!!'**Trolls take their toll and disappear behind the bushes.**I still read YA because underneath all those books about generic teenage problems are gems of stories. Being a teenager can be a pretty crappy time for some, but a scary time for all. It's a time when you're discovering who you are and who you want to be. It's the final years when a person's values, morals, and personalities are being shaped. When a teenager makes up their mind about their religious stance, political stance, and what is right and wrong, there's usually no turning back. Seeing these teenagers change their views, become (hopefully) better people, learn from their mistake is why I still have faith in the YA genre. So here are some books to help you with that.* Want a book about a girl breaking free from her parent's control discovering who she wants to become? Read I Am Her Revenge.* Want an escapist read about rich teenagers who, despite tragic circumstances, become resilient adults? Read Even in Paradise.* Want a book about finding your own path and doing what's right even if it's impossible? Read Prisoner of Night and Fog.* Want a book about teens that act like real teens, talk like real teens, and has very much the same presence, except a bit better executed? Read Suffer Love.Those are the books that still give me hope in the YA genre, despite some misfires. And unfortunately, this book was a misfire. But some will like the portrayal of these teens, major warts and all. So don't let that deter you.Endnote: Is it just me, or did anybody else get the vibe that this book was taking place in the 70s or 80s? Or am I just becoming too obsessed with Stranger Things?
    more
  • Ellen
    April 7, 2017
    First two chapters are really rough, but if you can power through that, it's a good story. I received this ARC from the publisher.
  • Wendy
    May 5, 2017
    “The Inevitable Collision of Birdie & Bash” which I won through Goodreads Giveaways is a beautifully written and poignant story that begins when sparks ignite at a party between Sebastian Alvaréz (Bash) who’s floundering under the weight of poor high school grades, an responsible best friend and a mother undergoing chemo, and brainy, goal-oriented Birdie Paxton. From two different worlds, they never expect to meet again until fate intervenes and their lives collide after a tragic accident.Em “The Inevitable Collision of Birdie & Bash” which I won through Goodreads Giveaways is a beautifully written and poignant story that begins when sparks ignite at a party between Sebastian Alvaréz (Bash) who’s floundering under the weight of poor high school grades, an responsible best friend and a mother undergoing chemo, and brainy, goal-oriented Birdie Paxton. From two different worlds, they never expect to meet again until fate intervenes and their lives collide after a tragic accident.Emotionally-charged and riveting the story that revolves around bad choices, lies and secrets as Birdie and Bash recount the tragic circumstances that set their lives on a collision course after their infatuation for each other is renewed while working at the local skating rink. Candace Ganger creates intensity and suspense as the plot heats up with Bash’s struggle to survive destitution and the pain of his mother’s failing health while being coerced into keeping a secret and suppressing his moral conscience when his best friend’s shows rash irresponsibility after a tragic accident. Tension constantly builds not only as Bash fights his inner demons and heartbreak, but Birdie faces her own guilt while falling hard for a scarred and broken- hearted boy.The romance between Bash and Birdie is moving as these two talented individuals so different in temperament and background connect only to be torn apart by a bad choice that shatters her family and a loss that undermines his sense of self-worth. Yet with every good story there is hope, forgiveness, healing and love even in a time of sorrow.Candace Ganger brings characters to life who are complex, realistic and unforgettable with all their flaws and faults. Birdie Paxton a smart and driven senior at West Clifton High School has always been obedient and responsible unlike her sister the troubled and rebellious Brynn. From a hardworking close-knit family, she’s determined to make her dream of success a reality although lack of a scholarship and a tragedy may rob her of her goal. In contrast, poverty-stricken Sebastian Alvaréz (Bash) a talented artist is flunking at school, his chief fan and loving mother at death’s doorstep. A teen with lots of potential who feels like a failure, Bash is devoted to his mother and protective and loyal to his best friend Kyle Taylor. “Wild Kyle” who’s wealthy and self-absorbed, is a loner with only one friend who can tolerate him. Cocky, obnoxious and reckless as he feeds his perverse habits, he’s a coward who will betray his best friend to save himself. “The Inevitable Collision of Birdie & Bash is a story with amazing characters woven into a complex and highly-charged plot that stirs your heart as it progresses quickly and smoothly to a sad but hopeful climax. I loved it and rate it highly.
    more
  • Jen Bojkov
    June 19, 2017
    First, let me say, this is the first book I have won through the Giveaway program from Goodreads. So thank you to Goodreads, St. Martin's Press, and Girffin Teen for the advance copy of The Inevitable Collision of Birdie & Bash. I was so excited to receive my copy in the mail! A big thank you to all parties.Now for the book. I admit that I am notorious for judging a book by it's cover and this book was no exception. Based on the cover alone-to me- it looks like a light-hearted, fun read- it First, let me say, this is the first book I have won through the Giveaway program from Goodreads. So thank you to Goodreads, St. Martin's Press, and Girffin Teen for the advance copy of The Inevitable Collision of Birdie & Bash. I was so excited to receive my copy in the mail! A big thank you to all parties.Now for the book. I admit that I am notorious for judging a book by it's cover and this book was no exception. Based on the cover alone-to me- it looks like a light-hearted, fun read- it is not. This is a fairly serious book about very serious issues: alcohol abuse, poverty, hit-and-run accidents, and cancer. So on some level, I was a little disappointed in the content of the book- but that was my fault for giving more credence to the cover than how the book is described in the synopsis.Overall, this was a pretty good book. I liked the characters and the story was decent. It was not a difficult book to read. I think I could hand this to some of the older teens who come to the library where I work and they would like the book. However, it does have some intense scenes and strong language- so I don't think I'd hand this to anyone under grade 9.My biggest quibble with the book was some things that were just not believable to me. The characters sometimes were not consistent- for example, Bash is on the verge of out-and-out poverty and yet he never seems to run out of gas for his car of spending money to pay for snacks, etc. But the biggest inconsistency is how Bash is bailed out at the end by the father of the boy who is the actual culprit in the hit and run incident. I mean this kid is getting bailed out constantly and then his dad suddenly decides that he's going to protect Bash and expose his son? It just didn't seem to fit the story. I think it was the only way that the author could get her character out of trouble.Also, I don't know that I believe that Birdie would be able to accept Bash after she learns of his involvement in the accident that almost caused the death of her little brother. I just can't believe it. I think most people are fiercely loyal to their family and that would trump her attraction to Bash.But it's not a bad read- it's just not the best I've read. I read a lot of YA so it needs to be exceptional to receive more than 3 stars from me.
    more
  • Eve
    May 18, 2017
    When we meet Bash, he is going along with best friend kyle to a party, so not his scene but then he see's 'couch girl' at said party and she takes his mind off his friend or his try hard ex at the party.Then after, a near miss collision between two cars nearly collides their lives before it actually later does in an even bigger way.As Birdie's younger brother sat in his pushchair it accidentally wheeled down into the road, a driver speeding along hit it and threw him high into the air and this l When we meet Bash, he is going along with best friend kyle to a party, so not his scene but then he see's 'couch girl' at said party and she takes his mind off his friend or his try hard ex at the party.Then after, a near miss collision between two cars nearly collides their lives before it actually later does in an even bigger way.As Birdie's younger brother sat in his pushchair it accidentally wheeled down into the road, a driver speeding along hit it and threw him high into the air and this landed him in intensive care in a coma due to extensive brain injuries and head bone fractures.Birdie needs to distract herself from the chaos happening to her family, she also feels guilty over her mum being distracted as they were speaking when the pushchair rolled away.As the book moves on we learn more about Bash, having to cover for Kyle and promise to not turn him in when he realises they played a major role in the accident which happened. We also learn Bash's mum has stage four ovarian cancer and as her condition worsens and Bash's guilt builds over the situation with Kyle after he starts working alongside Birdie, will the guilt become too much?But then Birdie's family hand in a single small piece of possible evidence and a new doctor comes along just before life support is withdrawn from her brother. Can things get better?This was a rollercoaster! As Birdie's life crashes then gets slowly better as hope comes along, Bash's life hits turmoil as his mum's cancer gets too much and guilt overwhelms him their lives are so much in and out of sync with each other my head was spinning with all the drama! I loved it, really great and a book you can place yourself into and feel the characters emotion's through their situations.Many thanks to the publishers for allowing me to review this book for them!
    more
  • Charlotte
    June 20, 2017
    I don't want to be TOO hard on this book since it did hold my attention and stir some emotions in me. But I also have some issues with it. It tried really hard to use science as an analogy for love. But all the talk of chemical reactions and equations missed the mark in my opinion. In the same vein, I didn't believe Birdie as a nerd. It was only on the surface - glasses, a math t-shirt, good grades. I didn't buy it. It also didn't feel realistic that a minor was living on his own with no money, I don't want to be TOO hard on this book since it did hold my attention and stir some emotions in me. But I also have some issues with it. It tried really hard to use science as an analogy for love. But all the talk of chemical reactions and equations missed the mark in my opinion. In the same vein, I didn't believe Birdie as a nerd. It was only on the surface - glasses, a math t-shirt, good grades. I didn't buy it. It also didn't feel realistic that a minor was living on his own with no money, no electricity, ONE shirt... and nobody seemed to notice. I wish the cover had been different. This one is a cute cover - for a different book. The roller skates make it look like a light-hearted teen story that it is anything but. The entire book is filled with tragedy. I would have preferred one of Bash's bear drawings to be featured. All that being said, there is a lot packed into this book from small details to major questions about life and death.[I received a free copy of this book in exchange for my unbiased review.]
    more
  • Donna
    June 20, 2017
    Funny, sad, heartwarming story about 2 people who meet, fall apart, and meet again. Sebastian (Bash) is just trying to keep his head above water. His mother is dying, he is failing out of school, and his friend is self-destructive and brings him along. Birdie is the straight A, never does anything bad, type of girl. The two meet at a party and click. Then things go bad. When they meet again, they both have issues and secrets. Can their relationship survive? Should they be together? Good story ab Funny, sad, heartwarming story about 2 people who meet, fall apart, and meet again. Sebastian (Bash) is just trying to keep his head above water. His mother is dying, he is failing out of school, and his friend is self-destructive and brings him along. Birdie is the straight A, never does anything bad, type of girl. The two meet at a party and click. Then things go bad. When they meet again, they both have issues and secrets. Can their relationship survive? Should they be together? Good story about friendship, doing what's right and family.Won this ARC from a Goodreads contest.
    more
  • Jackie Rogers
    May 21, 2017
    Having just finished this book, am glad to say I'm glad I stayed with it. Found it difficult at times as subject matter was raw and full of grit and sadness. Had this dark feeling throughout and fought to keep on going. Am so glad I did as the characters fulfilled my vision of themselves and grew to a place of new beginnings. Loved both Birdie and Bash and their difficulties in being teenagers. Ms. Ganger has a way with a story line that caused me to want another book with these two. The writing Having just finished this book, am glad to say I'm glad I stayed with it. Found it difficult at times as subject matter was raw and full of grit and sadness. Had this dark feeling throughout and fought to keep on going. Am so glad I did as the characters fulfilled my vision of themselves and grew to a place of new beginnings. Loved both Birdie and Bash and their difficulties in being teenagers. Ms. Ganger has a way with a story line that caused me to want another book with these two. The writing was god throughout. Just took my heart some time to catch up. Thanks to Goodreads.
    more
  • Ms.Kim
    January 22, 2017
    I'm so glad to have read this book. It could have gone awry what with the "small world-ness" of the whole situation, but it didn't. Instead, it worked to create a realistic complicatedness that is real life. Both Bash and Birdie have flaws. Both are broken in ways we can relate with, even if we've different circumstances or personality make-ups. This story is not formulaic, and there is no pat, sit-com ending. And there's roller skating. And chemistry. So...you know, this book pretty much reache I'm so glad to have read this book. It could have gone awry what with the "small world-ness" of the whole situation, but it didn't. Instead, it worked to create a realistic complicatedness that is real life. Both Bash and Birdie have flaws. Both are broken in ways we can relate with, even if we've different circumstances or personality make-ups. This story is not formulaic, and there is no pat, sit-com ending. And there's roller skating. And chemistry. So...you know, this book pretty much reaches maximum bonus points levels.
    more
  • Sophie Potter
    June 30, 2017
    I received this book through Goodreads giveaways in exchange for a fair review.I suspect that part of my problem from this book stems from the fact that I am getting a bit old to be it's target audience. In general I found it a bit melodramatic, and I wasn't a fan of the dialogue style in the beginning (though this did stop bothering me later on). On the plus side, once I settled in to it I did plough through it, so the narrative definitely kept me interested to the end. All in all, it's a solid I received this book through Goodreads giveaways in exchange for a fair review.I suspect that part of my problem from this book stems from the fact that I am getting a bit old to be it's target audience. In general I found it a bit melodramatic, and I wasn't a fan of the dialogue style in the beginning (though this did stop bothering me later on). On the plus side, once I settled in to it I did plough through it, so the narrative definitely kept me interested to the end. All in all, it's a solid book, just not one of my favourites this year.
    more
  • Lindsey
    June 6, 2017
    Thanks to St. Martin's press for sending me an ARC. This novel had me feeling all kinds of things. Sure to be a hit in the YA genre.
  • Lekeisha The Booknerd
    June 30, 2017
    *4.5 stars* RTC for blog tour!
  • Jamie Blanchard
    May 15, 2017
    I personally didn't like it. It reads like a John Green novel. I am not a fan of John Green (except for TFIOS). Bash was annoying and Birdie was okay.
  • C. L.
    March 9, 2017
    I don't think I've ever hated two characters so much, so quickly before. Thanks to NetGalley for the ARC, but no thanks all the same. Hard pass.
  • TJ Burns
    February 13, 2017
    I received a copy of this book from St. Martin's Press via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.
Write a review