The Breakdown
THE NEW CHILLING, PROPULSIVE NOVEL FROM THE AUTHOR OF THE INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES AND USA TODAY BESTSELLING BEHIND CLOSED DOORS.If you can’t trust yourself, who can you trust?Cass is having a hard time since the night she saw the car in the woods, on the winding rural road, in the middle of a downpour, with the woman sitting inside―the woman who was killed. She’s been trying to put the crime out of her mind; what could she have done, really? It’s a dangerous road to be on in the middle of a storm. Her husband would be furious if he knew she’d broken her promise not to take that shortcut home. And she probably would only have been hurt herself if she’d stopped.But since then, she’s been forgetting every little thing: where she left the car, if she took her pills, the alarm code, why she ordered a pram when she doesn’t have a baby.The only thing she can’t forget is that woman, the woman she might have saved, and the terrible nagging guilt.Or the silent calls she’s receiving, or the feeling that someone’s watching her…

The Breakdown Details

TitleThe Breakdown
Author
FormatHardcover
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJul 18th, 2017
PublisherSt. Martin's Press
ISBN1250122465
ISBN-139781250122469
Number of pages336 pages
Rating
GenreThriller, Mystery, Fiction, Psychological Thriller, Mystery Thriller, Suspense, Crime, Contemporary, Adult, Adult Fiction

The Breakdown Review

  • Deanna
    March 21, 2017
    My reviews can also be seen at: https://deesradreadsandreviews.wordpr...To say I was excited for this novel is an understatement. I loved Behind Closed Doors so I couldn't wait to see what B.A Paris had in store for me this time."If you can't trust yourself, who can you trust?"The beginning of The Breakdown is like a scene out of a horror movie. I could picture it. Cass Anderson is in a rush to get home....it's raining and the weather is only getting worse. She speaks with her husband, Matthew a My reviews can also be seen at: https://deesradreadsandreviews.wordpr...To say I was excited for this novel is an understatement. I loved Behind Closed Doors so I couldn't wait to see what B.A Paris had in store for me this time."If you can't trust yourself, who can you trust?"The beginning of The Breakdown is like a scene out of a horror movie. I could picture it. Cass Anderson is in a rush to get home....it's raining and the weather is only getting worse. She speaks with her husband, Matthew and he cautions her to drive carefully and makes her promise not to take the shortcut through the woods. It's not safe at night. However, at the last second Cass veers off the main road to the shortcut she just promised she wouldn't take. She decides what Matthew doesn't know won't hurt him. She just wants to get home as fast as possible.As she nears her house she swerves to avoid hitting a car parked at the side of the road. There's a woman inside. Cass stops in front of the car to see if the woman indicates that she needs help. The woman doesn't do anything. All the stories Cass has heard about people tricked into stopping to help someone go through her head. Someone stops thinking they are being a good Samaritan only to end up getting car-jacked......or worse. Eventually Cass decides the woman must have already called for help, so she continues on her way home. The next day, Cass is horrified to learn that a woman, Jane Walters was killed in the woods. It was the woman whose car was stopped on the side of the road. What's worse is Cass realizes she knows this woman. She actually had lunch with her the week before. Cass is overcome with guilt over Jane's murder. If she had only got out of the car to check on Jane. Would she still be alive? or would Cass have been killed too? Cass has been having trouble with her memory and it's gotten worse since the murder. At first it was just little things. She would misplace something or forget she made plans with friends. But forgetting that she agreed to have an alarm installed? How could that be? But she sees the job order is written in her handwriting so she must have agreed to the installation.Is she going to suffer the same fate as her mother?Then come the phone calls. Someone is calling every day....over and over. But they NEVER say a word. Everyone tells her it's just a call center making cold calls. But Cass worries that it's something or someone much worse. When I read about the constant calls a part of me thought, oh come on! Unplug the phone, change your number, OR buy a whistle and blow that suckers ear off!!! But fear can leave you frozen, unable to think straight.Cass starts to think someone is watching the house, that someone has been in the house. When she goes shopping and is leaving for home she can't find her car. She KNOWS where she parked, so it must have been stolen. Cass and the parking attendant look everywhere, on all the different floors only to eventually find her car.....Right where she left it.Her mind feels like it's going to break....everything is spiraling out of control. She's in a constant state of anxiety. The phone calls are amplifying all of her fears. Plus all of the things she's forgetting makes things worse. With everything going on Cass is desperate to know....WHO KILLED JANE?But then something happens. Cass gets advice and information from very surprising sources. Things start to click into place.....things that she NEVER would have expected. She tells herself she's lost enough time and she's determined that she's going to figure it all out. She wants to know who is behind the constant phone calls and if it's connected to what happened to Jane. Cass wants answers and now no one is going to stop her. As Cass gets stronger and searches for answers you can't help but cheer for her. The web of lies that she starts to unravel.Well Ms. Paris....you didn't let me down. I loved this one too.I know that everyone is different and not everyone will love the same books and that's completely understandable. There were times that I started getting annoyed with Cass, but when I imagined something like this happening to me? I can't imagine how alone and helpless I would feel. Occasionally I find it really hard to get into a book that requires me to suspend disbelief, but I found with "Behind Closed Doors" and this book that I was able to do that easily. The authors writing style and the suspenseful plot allowed me to let go of reality and really enjoy what I was reading."The Breakdown" was intense and gripping, especially the second half. I was shocked. I may have been right about a thing or two but it didn't matter as how everything played out was fantastic to read. This author knows how to pull her readers into her story, not letting go until the final word on the last page is read.I can't wait for more from this author! Thank you to Jessica at St. Martin's Press and B.A Paris for providing me with an advanced copy of this book to read in exchange for my honest review.
    more
  • Kristin (KC)
    March 7, 2017
    *4.5 Stars…because I would not, COULD NOT, put this down!There are no profound reasons as to why this book was so much fun for me. It certainly doesn't shatter any psychological-thriller molds, and to be quite honest, there wasn't much shock value in its pages. There were some seemingly mundane moments that some could even call repetitive. So why, oh why then, could I Not. Stop. Reading?It boils down to an exhilarating execution: The quick pacing; the heavy buildup of anticipation; the spark of *4.5 Stars…because I would not, COULD NOT, put this down!There are no profound reasons as to why this book was so much fun for me. It certainly doesn't shatter any psychological-thriller molds, and to be quite honest, there wasn't much shock value in its pages. There were some seemingly mundane moments that some could even call repetitive. So why, oh why then, could I Not. Stop. Reading?It boils down to an exhilarating execution: The quick pacing; the heavy buildup of anticipation; the spark of mistrust in everyone, and the growing fragility of the main protagonist…Cass Cass is literally having a mental breakdown after the murder of a local woman is discovered…a woman she could possibly have helped. As the guilt eats away at her conscience, Cass’s emotional distress quickly spirals into hysteria. Add the growing forgetfulness and constant paranoia to her heaping pile of anguish, and suddenly Cass doesn't recognize the lunatic she’s become. She’s almost certain she’s suffering from early onset dementia—the condition that has stole her mother’s life—and no one, not even her husband, will believe that someone is out to get her. Cass’s continual highs and lows will cause you whiplash, and you will FEEL her frustration as she grasps at straws (tongs, and cans of hairspray) to keep her crumbling life together! It is exhausting for her.It will be exhausting for you.And that is the genius of it. Because, like it or not, you’re sitting shotgun on the roller coaster of Cass's emotions. And then there is the final 25%…packed with action and epiphanies, and decisions that will make you want to high-five your fictional friends. From beginning to end, this read was addictive. I gobbled it whole, and even though some of the logic in this plot may not hold up under the heavy scrutiny of the savvy thriller-reader—I cannot recommend this one enough to fans of the genre! My only problem is what to read after this…*Arc provided by publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review*
    more
  • Arianna✦❋SteamyReadsBlog❋✦
    February 10, 2017
    3.75 Stars!!If you read and enjoyed this author’s debut novel, 'Behind Closed Doors', you might consider trying this one as well, because this one was just as fantastically written and gripping. Since I enjoyed B.A. Paris's first novel, I was eagerly looking forward to read this one ever since I’ve heard about it. 'The Breakdown' is a psychological thriller that really sucked me in from the very beginning.Cass is a teacher who lives with her husband, Matthew, in a great, but isolated house in a 3.75 Stars!!If you read and enjoyed this author’s debut novel, 'Behind Closed Doors', you might consider trying this one as well, because this one was just as fantastically written and gripping. Since I enjoyed B.A. Paris's first novel, I was eagerly looking forward to read this one ever since I’ve heard about it. 'The Breakdown' is a psychological thriller that really sucked me in from the very beginning.Cass is a teacher who lives with her husband, Matthew, in a great, but isolated house in a small English town. Cass makes the worst decision of her life one rainy night when she decides to take a shortcut home, despite the fact that her husband told her many times the woods are too dark and dangerous for a woman. Cass is a little scared and she believes no one is as stupid as her to drive in the rain, especially in the woods, so she’s surprised to see a car. At first she thinks someone is driving it, but as soon she realizes the car is actually parked and sees a woman in the driver’s seat, she stops. Since the rain is pouring, Cass can’t tell who the woman is or if she needs help, but she’s willing to help with whatever problem she may have. She stays a couple of minutes in her car, waiting for the woman to give her a sign she needs help, but the sign never comes. Cass, wanting to get home as soon as possible, drives off. The next day, Cass finds out from the news the strange woman she “met” was found dead, murdered. She doesn’t tell her husband about the woman, feeling more than guilty, believing she could have saved her, even if she doesn’t know when or how was she murdered. Everything gets worse for Cass when she realizes she met the deceased woman when she had lunch with her not so long ago.Stressed and depressed, feeling so guilty with each and every day, Cass’s mental state worsens considerably. She starts experiencing episodes of memory loss, forgetting even the most simple and obvious things. The fact that her mother suffered from dementia before she died doesn’t help Cass’s mental state since she didn’t tell her husband anything about it. Everything changes for Cass when she starts getting “strange” calls from someone, which she suspects to be from the one who killed the woman in the woods.'The Breakdown' was, most of all, an addictive read. From the moment I started it, I couldn’t put it down. With each and every chapter I was more confused and more enthralled with everything. The fact that the story was fast-paced made me devour this thrilling read in one sitting. Cass’s story was filled with suspense from the first chapter, so yeah, the book definitely starts with a bang. I liked how the suspense aspect was blended with the psychological one. The suspense was fantastically done and I loved how it grew with each and every chapter. It held me at the edge of my seat as the story unfolded and the fact that our heroine wasn’t a reliable narrator made me love this story even more.Cass was an unreliable heroine so I obviously questioned everything she said and everything she did for a good part of the story. I sympathized with her and, even though I found her to be an interesting and well-developed character, she frustrated the hell out of me. God, at times, I wanted to slap the woman senseless.The big revelation/twist didn’t do anything for me since I saw it coming. However, I enjoyed the twists and turns as the story unfolded and with the outcome of the story in general. I also liked the fact that each one of them plays a role into the story. As 'Behind Closed Doors', the other book by this author, this one had a realistic vibe that made me think, keeping me at the edge of my seat the entire time.If you are looking for a fast-paced, twisted, page-turner psychological thriller, with a captivating plot and interesting characters, look no further and try this awesome read!Find me on:
    more
  • Linda O'Donnell
    February 28, 2017
    Yikes!When those ol' marbles start rollin' around inside your head and they seem to shift and move back and forth as if on cue........you know you're in trouble.......big trouble.Cass Anderson feels that crazy rotation. Battling a torrential downpour late one night, she takes the shortcut home. Her headlights are cast upon a car parked to the side with what appears to be a blonde woman behind the wheel. Stalled? Cass pulls ahead of her and waits for a few brief seconds. The woman never indicates Yikes!When those ol' marbles start rollin' around inside your head and they seem to shift and move back and forth as if on cue........you know you're in trouble.......big trouble.Cass Anderson feels that crazy rotation. Battling a torrential downpour late one night, she takes the shortcut home. Her headlights are cast upon a car parked to the side with what appears to be a blonde woman behind the wheel. Stalled? Cass pulls ahead of her and waits for a few brief seconds. The woman never indicates that she needs help. Cass promised her husband earlier that she would stay only on the main highway. Instinct tells her to get home quickly.The next morning Cass finds out that a woman had been murdered on that same road the night before. The marbles begin to collide from intense guilt and fear. Could she have prevented what happened on that dark, lonely road? Would going to the police now make any difference? And would the murderer recognize her car and pay her a little visit?Consumed by terrifying thoughts, Cass is blanketed in paranoia. She begins to hear unaccustomed sounds within her house, misplacement of items, phantom phone calls, and the dreaded presence of someone watching her. Her greatest fear seems to be coming true. Her mother was diagnosed at the young age of forty-four with early on-set dementia. Is this what awaits Cass or something far more menacing?B.A. Paris does it again with The Breakdown. If you read, Behind Closed Doors, you know that Paris has both hands tightly on the wheel taking you on some mighty slippery slopes. This one proves, in another go-round, that she has an uncanny knowledge of what makes those marbles roll and spin in staccato motion. As the character of Cass becomes unglued, you feel the trigger of instability happening a bit too close. Many Sherlocks out there may fit the pieces together early on. But what eventually develops within this glass jar will cleverly put the lid on in the finale. This is a fast read and a satisfying one for all B.A. Paris fans, and certainly, those new to this talented author's game table. Looking forward to the next round, Ms. Paris.I received a copy of The Breakdown through NetGalley for an honest review. My thanks to St. Martin's Press and to B.A. Paris for the opportunity.
    more
  • Emily May
    March 14, 2017
    Last year, I read and enjoyed Paris's Behind Closed Doors. I made it clear in my review that it wasn't a clever, twisty thriller of the Gone Girl-variety. In fact, the book quickly gave up all its secrets and was more about what happened to the characters after that. And yet, it was very compelling.The Breakdown is more of a traditional mystery and, in my opinion, it is less compelling. I feel like the author simply didn't play to her strengths. Paris is fantastic at creating dramatic scenes fil Last year, I read and enjoyed Paris's Behind Closed Doors. I made it clear in my review that it wasn't a clever, twisty thriller of the Gone Girl-variety. In fact, the book quickly gave up all its secrets and was more about what happened to the characters after that. And yet, it was very compelling.The Breakdown is more of a traditional mystery and, in my opinion, it is less compelling. I feel like the author simply didn't play to her strengths. Paris is fantastic at creating dramatic scenes filled with horror. She can even master the villainous psychopath with a fucked up agenda. But creating mysteries that keep you guessing? Here, she fails.The story begins with Cass taking a shortcut home down a dark, rural road, against her husband's advice. She sees a car by the side of the road and sees a woman sat in it. After briefly considering asking if the woman needs any help, Cass drives on and goes home. Then the woman turns up dead. Cass feels guilty, but there's more than that. Because soon she starts receiving calls from someone who doesn't say anything, and seeing a man watching her from outside her house. And what's more, she's having trouble remembering certain things. She goes somewhere without her purse, or makes a purchase she can't remember making. As her mother died of early-onset Alzheimer's, Cass becomes more and more concerned that her problems may extend beyond the physical.It sounds interesting, but the story puts all its weight on the reveal... and it is too easy to guess. And I don't mean just guess who is responsible, but also guess the entire reasoning behind it. The pool of suspects is too small; there are so few characters in the book, and many readers will be immediately suspicious of the culprit (honestly, they seem shady as hell).Also, because everything is built up around solving the mystery, the getting there wasn't that interesting. The repetitive scenes of Cass being afraid to answer the phone and forgetting something else irrelevant to the main plot quickly made the story slow and boring. It was one of those situations where I thought I knew what was going on, but I kept pushing through the tedious chapters and hoping I was wrong and that the ending would surprise me. It didn't. It's way too easy to work out. You might even be starting to suspect the answers before beginning if you (view spoiler)[read the author's previous book (hide spoiler)].Blog | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | Youtube
    more
  • karen
    January 28, 2017
    well, that was fast…i can't remember the last time i blitzed through a book as quickly as i did this one (*EDIT - yes, i can - it was Gemina). i had about fifty pages to go in the book i was reading (The Three Heretics) which i knew would not be enough to last me my whole day, and i didn't want to carry TWO books into the city like some donkey, so i grabbed this one on my way out the door, and by the time i went to bed that evening, i had finished it with time to spare, and with time to finish t well, that was fast…i can't remember the last time i blitzed through a book as quickly as i did this one (*EDIT - yes, i can - it was Gemina). i had about fifty pages to go in the book i was reading (The Three Heretics) which i knew would not be enough to last me my whole day, and i didn't want to carry TWO books into the city like some donkey, so i grabbed this one on my way out the door, and by the time i went to bed that evening, i had finished it with time to spare, and with time to finish those final 50 pages. ordinarily, on my way to work in that sleepy time of the morning when the sun's not even up yet, i use my subway time to doze a little over my book, but with this one, i was too sucked in to nap, which is pretty remarkable. quickplot - cass is a teacher living in a lovely, but isolated, house in a small english town with her devoted husband matthew. one violently rainy night, driving home to matthew after an end-of-year party, cass takes the shortcut home, despite matthew's insistence that the path through the woods, with no mobile signal, would be too dangerous in the storm. she is nearly home when she sees a car pulled over on the side of the road with a woman inside. the rain makes it too blurry to see much, but cass is concerned that the woman might need help, so she pulls over. she waits for the woman to take advantage of her good samaritinism, but as the minutes tick by with no action or signal from the woman, cass becomes increasingly paranoid, imagining all the urban legend scenarios of a hitchhiker in the backseat of the woman's car, and she bounces. the next day, it is all over the news: the woman she saw was found murdered in her car right where cass left her. even worse, it was a woman with whom she was acquainted, and she feels guilty for having left her the way she did. however, not wanting to admit to matthew that she took the shortcut he warned her against, she suffers her guilt in secret. she is also hiding another secret from her husband; her recently-deceased mother suffered from early onset dementia, and cass has herself been experiencing episodes of memory loss, which the stress of the murder intensifies. between the weight of her secrets and the fear that she will end up as helpless as her mother, cass' mental state worsens as the long empty days of summer stretch on; she's preoccupied, forgetful, paranoid, and she begins to suspect she was seen by the killer that night, and is his next target. it's one of those books that, once it starts, just never lets up, and cass' unraveling is a wonderful trainwreck. apart from one necessarily exposition-heavy chapter at the beginning, the chapters are wicked short, which speeds up the pacing, and with threats both internal and external, killer and mental breakdown (because the book's title is doing two jobs, yeah?), it's my favorite combination: suspense and an unreliable narrator.although only one star separates this from Behind Closed Doors in my gr ratings, i liked this one considerably more. it's much more plausible, although it does rely on a genre-standard that i've come to accept as par for the course in psychological suspense, even as it irritates my common sense. (view spoiler)[everyone who is close to you is eeeeevil and are all masterminds at concealing it (hide spoiler)]but, from a thriller standpoint, it definitely delivers. i recently read Gone Without a Trace, which delivered a similarly claustrophobic reading experience, as you get immersed in the perspective of a character whose world seems to be disintegrating and can no longer trust their own mental faculties. which would be horrifying in real life, but delivers a chillingly pleasant intensity when you're safely reading.more like this, please!
    more
  • Maureen
    January 9, 2017
    Cass is about to make the worst decision of her life when she decides to take a shortcut home on a dark and stormy night. The drive home takes her on a rural road through the woods during a torrential rainstorm. She passes a car parked near the woods with a woman inside, and she stops the car momentarily, thinking the woman will approach her if she needs help. The woman doesn't get out so Cass drives off. The next morning she discovers that the woman was later found dead in the car - and had bee Cass is about to make the worst decision of her life when she decides to take a shortcut home on a dark and stormy night. The drive home takes her on a rural road through the woods during a torrential rainstorm. She passes a car parked near the woods with a woman inside, and she stops the car momentarily, thinking the woman will approach her if she needs help. The woman doesn't get out so Cass drives off. The next morning she discovers that the woman was later found dead in the car - and had been brutally murdered!Cass is beside herself with guilt, could she have saved this woman? or would she herself have been murdered if she'd stopped to help?Her decision that night has impacted badly on her health and she becomes really forgetful, forgetting even the simplest of things. This causes her extreme anxiety as she believes she's suffering from early onset dementia, just as her mother had. Then she starts receiving silent phone calls and believes whoever murdered the woman must have seen her that night, and is now watching her!Oh Boy! I thought the author did a good job with her last book 'Behind Closed Doors', but she's excelled herself with this one. The characters are well formed, the plot is intricate but extremely clever, and the anxiety and fear jump out from every page - you've no choice but to be pulled helplessly along, yearning to discover what's coming next.As is usual for me, I had a suspect lined up for the murder immediately- had them questioned, charged, and locked away. Well I was wrong! And that's what happens when I pit my wits against someone as adept at her craft as B.A.Paris is.Do yourself a favour and don't miss out on this one - you'll be missing a treat if you do!*Thank you to Netgalley & Harlequin (UK) Ltd for my ARC, for which I have given an honest and unbiased review*
    more
  • Susanne Strong
    February 12, 2017
    Wow - this Knocked my Socks Right Off! What a Crazy Wild Roller Coaster of a Ride. 5 Stars! This has to be the thriller of the year! There were times when I was holding my breath, gripping the book so intensely I thought I would break my e-reader. It was that crazy. B.A. Paris’ “The Breakdown” is an emotional psychological thriller. It grips you from the first sentence and keeps hold till the last. The main character, Cass is a teacher who, after leaving a party, drives down a poorly lit, wooded Wow - this Knocked my Socks Right Off! What a Crazy Wild Roller Coaster of a Ride. 5 Stars! This has to be the thriller of the year! There were times when I was holding my breath, gripping the book so intensely I thought I would break my e-reader. It was that crazy. B.A. Paris’ “The Breakdown” is an emotional psychological thriller. It grips you from the first sentence and keeps hold till the last. The main character, Cass is a teacher who, after leaving a party, drives down a poorly lit, wooded road and sees a car stopped on the side of a road with a woman inside. Cass stops in front of it and tries to get the woman’s attention to see if she is alright but decides not to get out of her own car in case it’s a trick as she is a woman alone and has always been told not to do so. Fearing for herself, Cass drives off, as most women alone would. I know that I probably would. The next morning, Cass discovers that this woman was murdered that evening, on that dark wooded road. For fear of being judged, Cass told no one that she saw this young woman, not even her husband Matthew. This woman’s name was Jane, and it turns out that Cass knew her. And that triggers a chain of events, leading Cass to fear for her own life. She becomes scared, forgetful, paranoid and begins to show signs of early onset dementia, which what her mother passed away from. After the murder, Cass is terrorized and spends every second looking over her shoulder. And we do too. My heart was in my throat throughout most of this book, petrified for Cass, wondering if she was in danger or if she was imagining everything. B.A. Paris did an incredible job keeping the readers on the edge of their seats. I wanted to tear through the book as fast as possible but didn’t want to miss a second of it. This is the best emotional psychological thriller I have read in years. I can’t recommend it highly enough. If you want to read a book you can’t put down, that will keep you on the edge of your seat from the second you pick it up, till the moment you put it down, this is it. I did not read B.A. Paris’s debut “Behind Closed Doors” - however, “The Breakdown” was so fantastic that I just ordered it on Amazon and am planning to read it next as this was amazing and I can’t wait to read her debut.Thank you to NetGalley, St. Martin’s Press and B.A. Paris for an ARC of this novel in exchange for an honest review.Published on Goodreads and NetGalley on 2/12/17.*Will be published on Amazon on 6/20/17.
    more
  • Meredith
    February 14, 2017
    3.5 Stars The Breakdown is a suspense-filled psychological thriller about a woman who is slowly having a nervous breakdown brought on by a car that breaks down.While driving home late one night in the midst of a storm, Cass decides to take a shortcut through isolated back roads. She passes a woman whose car appears to have broken down. Since it’s stormy and spooky out, Cass decides that rather than stop to see if she can help, she will call for help when she arrives home. However, she forgets ab 3.5 Stars The Breakdown is a suspense-filled psychological thriller about a woman who is slowly having a nervous breakdown brought on by a car that breaks down.While driving home late one night in the midst of a storm, Cass decides to take a shortcut through isolated back roads. She passes a woman whose car appears to have broken down. Since it’s stormy and spooky out, Cass decides that rather than stop to see if she can help, she will call for help when she arrives home. However, she forgets about the woman and the next morning she wakes to discover that the woman was murdered.Cass’s forgetfulness begins to haunt her. She feels like the murderer is watching her every move. As her paranoia grows, she becomes plagued with forgetfulness. She begins to forget making plans with friends and her husband. She forgets that she ordered things online. She forgets how the appliances in her home work. Pretty soon, she starts questioning her sanity and wonders if she has early onset dementia, a disease her mother suffered from. Cass’s behavior continues to spiral out of control until she comes to the realization that all is not right in her world and not everything she thinks to be true adds up.While I enjoyed this book, there were times when I was just waiting for something to happen. I predicted the twist, but it was still fun to see how things played out. It goes a bit lifetime movie at times, but overall it was a quick and entertaining read.I received a copy of this book from NetGalley and the publisher in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Zoeytron
    February 22, 2017
    Copy furnished by Net Galley for the price of a review.As a fierce storm rages, Cass fights to maintain control of her car as she makes her way home on a dark and winding road. Straining to see through the pounding rain, she passes a car pulled over to the side, and catches sight of a woman's face. Desperate to get home and out of the storm, Cass drives on, vowing to call the police to alert them of a possible breakdown of a vehicle by the side of the road. Upon arriving home, Cass fails to make Copy furnished by Net Galley for the price of a review.As a fierce storm rages, Cass fights to maintain control of her car as she makes her way home on a dark and winding road. Straining to see through the pounding rain, she passes a car pulled over to the side, and catches sight of a woman's face. Desperate to get home and out of the storm, Cass drives on, vowing to call the police to alert them of a possible breakdown of a vehicle by the side of the road. Upon arriving home, Cass fails to make that call. She forgets. Next day, the news is full of the murder of the woman in her car. Cass is forgetting quite a lot of things these days. Riddled with guilt, self-doubt, and untold truths, her mind begins to slip. Then the telephone calls begin, with no one speaking but with an air of menace about them. Has someone been in the house? Why can't she remember anything? The paranoia begins to eat her alive, and she fears she is going mad. Her wild ravings and accusations have eroded her credibility with her husband, her friends, and the police. Cass is convinced the killer of the woman in the car is after her now. I applaud the pacing, and like the title, which carries multiple meanings. This was a quick and entertaining read, but as a psychological thriller, it just didn’t mess with my head quite enough.
    more
  • Gary
    December 11, 2016
    I had previously read and enjoyed 'Behind Closed Doors' by the same author so was eagerly looking forward to reading this new novel due to be released in February 2017.This is a psychological thriller that features Cass a young woman who fears she is suffering from early signs of dementia an illness that her mother had.The book starts with Cass taking a shortcut home by driving through the woods when she sees a car parked up. Through the heavy storm she glances into the car to see a woman who sh I had previously read and enjoyed 'Behind Closed Doors' by the same author so was eagerly looking forward to reading this new novel due to be released in February 2017.This is a psychological thriller that features Cass a young woman who fears she is suffering from early signs of dementia an illness that her mother had.The book starts with Cass taking a shortcut home by driving through the woods when she sees a car parked up. Through the heavy storm she glances into the car to see a woman who shows no signs of distress and decides to drive off without stopping.The following day, news comes in that the same woman was brutally murdered the night before which sets off guilt, fear and paranoia and after subsequent events leaves her questioning her own sanity. She begins to lose control of her life and fears that she will be the next victim of the murderer.This is a book full of suspense and will make you want to read more and more to find out what happens next. Maybe lacks a big twist but nevertheless is an excellent read.I would like to thank Net Galley and Harlequin UK for supplying me with a copy of this novel in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Mary Kubica
    January 4, 2017
    Every bit as good as Behind Closed Doors, if not even better! I tore through this as breakneck speed. Wow!
  • Lisa
    February 28, 2017
    Wow this book The Breakdown by B.A Paris had me on a huge roller coaster unable to get to get off.My head was all over the place trying to take it all in I found it very manic everything was moving at 100 miles an hour, it was a well written Psychological thriller that I could not put down.Cass decided to drive home on a dark stormy night through dark water lane through the woods what she discovers is a body in a car but doesn't go to help, her husband Matthew tells her she should not have gone Wow this book The Breakdown by B.A Paris had me on a huge roller coaster unable to get to get off.My head was all over the place trying to take it all in I found it very manic everything was moving at 100 miles an hour, it was a well written Psychological thriller that I could not put down.Cass decided to drive home on a dark stormy night through dark water lane through the woods what she discovers is a body in a car but doesn't go to help, her husband Matthew tells her she should not have gone that way as its lonely, she tells him what she saw but he tells her to forget about it.All of a sudden she feels tremendous guilt & gets frail & forgetful, Matthew decides to take her to see Dr Deakin who decides to put her on pills to control her anxiety & fear, as her mother had died due to Dementia she feels that she may have the same illness as she starts forgetting things like ordering an alarm, forgetting where she parked the car. As her fear gets worse the anxiety consumes her paranoia sets in & she then thinks someone is in the house & doesn't know who can she trust, Matthew keeps telling her she is imagining it but IS She? Then she starts getting silent calls she goes to her best friend Rachel who calms her down & tells her not to worry.BUT CAN SHE TRUST MATTHEW & RACHEL!!There were so many moments in this book that I wanted to scream at Cass but then I put myself in her shoes I wont go any further lets just say I didn't think Breakdown could out do Behind Closed Doors but it did by a whisker.
    more
  • Laura
    January 25, 2017
    Book reviews and more on www.snazzybooks.comThe Breakdown had me gripped pretty much from page one. I read a large portion of it in bed at night, and I have to say that made for tense and eerie reading! I don’t usually get unsettled whilst reading or watching things (I am a big horror film fan) but, perhaps due in part to the darkness and being alone, this did leave me feeling a bit creeped out – it plays on your mind, but not in any way that hampered my enjoyment! I raced through it and felt it Book reviews and more on www.snazzybooks.comThe Breakdown had me gripped pretty much from page one. I read a large portion of it in bed at night, and I have to say that made for tense and eerie reading! I don’t usually get unsettled whilst reading or watching things (I am a big horror film fan) but, perhaps due in part to the darkness and being alone, this did leave me feeling a bit creeped out – it plays on your mind, but not in any way that hampered my enjoyment! I raced through it and felt it was a real page turner.The characters are, at times, a bit frustrating – sometimes I felt like screaming at Cass to tell someone – but as you read on you understand, more and more, why she feels like this. They all feel like really well-crafted,convincing people that you can imagine having in your life...As a reader you can also get a real sense of how it must feel to worry that you’re going mad or starting to show symptoms of dementia, and how that must affect how you confide in people.This is a story where you’re never quite sure who’s being honest, who’s telling the truth or who’s a threat – and I love books like this. I’m a huge psychological thriller fan but some novels in this genre can get rather samey and completely ridiculous. This felt like a fresh take on the genre - it had some strange parts to it which seem a little unbelievable at first, but it all makes sense in the end!The Breakdown felt like something a little different; something that stands out in the genre. It really gripped me, leaving me completely absorbed in the story and not wanting it to end! A definitely recommendation for any fans of the genre – or anyone fancying a fast paced, captivating read. I definitely want to read her other novel, Behind Closed Doors, now!Many thanks to Harlequin and Netgalley for providing a copy of this novel on which I chose to write an honest and unbiased review.
    more
  • Jules
    January 29, 2017
    Having loved Behind Closed Doors (in fact, it made it into my Top Ten Reads in 2015), I was a little nervous that the author’s second novel might not be quite as impressive. However, fear not book lovers as The Breakdown is yet another cracker!I love books that don’t have many characters, as I find it easier to keep track of a few characters, and it also gives the author the ability to focus on developing each of those characters. I really liked the mix of characters in this book. I felt myself Having loved Behind Closed Doors (in fact, it made it into my Top Ten Reads in 2015), I was a little nervous that the author’s second novel might not be quite as impressive. However, fear not book lovers as The Breakdown is yet another cracker!I love books that don’t have many characters, as I find it easier to keep track of a few characters, and it also gives the author the ability to focus on developing each of those characters. I really liked the mix of characters in this book. I felt myself connect with Cass very early on, due to our shared memory issues. At times I wondered who was more confused, Cass or me. Due to my own short term memory problems, I sometimes struggled to remember the things Cass kept forgetting, and at one point I was tempted to write a list for us both to keep track of things.There I was happily enjoying the story at a comfortable pace, feeling somewhat unnerved, paranoid, not knowing who to trust and sick with worry and guilt, when all of a sudden, BOOM! The story takes an unexpected turn and the pace accelerates so fast, I think I may have forgotten to breathe again. I was completely glued to my Kindle screen for the later part of the book. Karma at its best. Absolutely loved it!If you enjoy psychological thrillers this is a must read book!
    more
  • Linda Strong
    March 16, 2017
    Cassandra is a woman afraid. Coming home late one night she sees a car parked halfway on the road. She pulls up in front thinking someone needs help. It is storming and the rain is coming down in sheets ... all she can vaguely see is a blond woman. But as the woman doesn't wave or get out of the car, Cass drives off. She tells herself it could have been a trap..maybe someone was waiting to attack her.The next morning she hears on the news that the woman was murdered. She feels so much guilt thin Cassandra is a woman afraid. Coming home late one night she sees a car parked halfway on the road. She pulls up in front thinking someone needs help. It is storming and the rain is coming down in sheets ... all she can vaguely see is a blond woman. But as the woman doesn't wave or get out of the car, Cass drives off. She tells herself it could have been a trap..maybe someone was waiting to attack her.The next morning she hears on the news that the woman was murdered. She feels so much guilt thinking that perhaps she could have stopped it. She doesn't tell anyone what she saw. But she does place an anonymous call to the police.Cass thought she's feel better after calling the police, but the exact opposite is happening Police are going to the media asking that the woman who called to please call them back. And when Cass suddenly starts getting hang up calls, she's afraid that the killer thinks she knows more than she does.This whole scenario sets the stage for a woman who is afraid she's losing her mind. The calls only come when she's alone. Is someone watching her ...watching her house? And now she's forgetting things like where she parked her car .... ordering jewelry from home shopping TV...she doesn't remember asking friends over for a BBQ. What was that alarm code again? Why did she order a pram when she isn't pregnant?With a history of having a mother who died of dementia at a young age, Cass is so terribly afraid. She doesn't know who to trust .... especially if she can't trust herself.I read this author's first book .. BEHIND CLOSED DOORS... and was extremely impressed by her writing. I was so hoping this one would create the same feeling ... and I was not disappointed. This is a well-written psychological thriller.The first half of the book is setting the stage ... you can feel Cass's terror as she realizes that she is losing her mind. Her husband is trying to be compassionate but even he, after a while, begins to wonder. There are several characters that play a secondary part of the story, but they are all so important.The ending is not what I had envisioned. There are some major twists and turns that took me by surprise. This is an author who is well-worth watching.Many thanks to the author / Harlequin (UK) Limited / St. Martin's Press / Netgalley for the digital copy of THE BREAKDOWN. Opinions expressed here are unbiased and entirely my own.
    more
  • Pauline
    March 24, 2017
    I've just finished reading 'The Breakdown' by B A Paris, a psychological thriller by the author who wrote 'Behind Closed Doors'. I didn't want to put this book down because I loved it. Towards the end I had butterflies in my tummy it was so good.
  • Laura
    February 23, 2017
    The hotly anticipated second novel from B.A Paris after the success of Behind Closed Doors, which was a fantastic read. For most fans of the genre, this will not disappoint although some readers may argue the pace is much different to that of its predecessor. Cass is driving in a storm and comes across a woman who has broken down and is stranded in the isolated countryside. She contemplates stopping to help but ultimately drives on, only to find out some time later the woman was someone she know The hotly anticipated second novel from B.A Paris after the success of Behind Closed Doors, which was a fantastic read. For most fans of the genre, this will not disappoint although some readers may argue the pace is much different to that of its predecessor. Cass is driving in a storm and comes across a woman who has broken down and is stranded in the isolated countryside. She contemplates stopping to help but ultimately drives on, only to find out some time later the woman was someone she knows a little - and that she, Jane, has been found brutally murdered by the roadside. This was an enjoyable book and delves into a particular fear common in adults - that we are slowly losing our minds. Touching upon the issue of early onset dementia was a clever idea on the authors part, but this is never fully explored. Like some readers, I hypothesised different endings: and only guessed half right. A worthwhile read for fans of mystery, but don't expect as much tension as the authors first novel.
    more
  • Kendall
    March 9, 2017
    Ok.....had to ponder on this one for a little bit. I feel a little bit out of the norm since EVERY review I see it's 4's and 5's. Apparently I'm on a different wave length haha or just super picky as usual ;) I would give this an overall 3. Like B.A's first novel... the characters just got on my DAMN nerves. I was super annoyed overall by Cass.... and it made me sometimes want to stop reading the novel. Cass clearly presents with paranoia due to driving home one evening and seeing this woman on Ok.....had to ponder on this one for a little bit. I feel a little bit out of the norm since EVERY review I see it's 4's and 5's. Apparently I'm on a different wave length haha or just super picky as usual ;) I would give this an overall 3. Like B.A's first novel... the characters just got on my DAMN nerves. I was super annoyed overall by Cass.... and it made me sometimes want to stop reading the novel. Cass clearly presents with paranoia due to driving home one evening and seeing this woman on the side of the road in a storm and she does not stop to help her and the next morning finds out that she has been murdered. Cass starts receiving random phone calls with no one speaking and feels like she is being watched. Cass starts to forget things and believes she may have onset early dementia (a disease her mother had) and it just continues to tumble down from there..... ehhh I felt like some of the things in this novel were just NOT believable (like Behind Closed Doors). I feel like the author could have done some AMAZING things with this storyline but it just fell flat for me. I was expecting more and it wasn't there unfortunately. It didn't have the ever dropping mouth twist that it could of had nor the WOW factor in a psychological thriller. I do feel I liked it a little better then Behind Closed Doors but again just kinda meh. I felt like it was a little bit predictable based on the small set of characters in this book (Rachel, John, Cass, and Matthew). So, I pretty much was able to guess part of the plot and storyline. Anyways, just my opinion maybe you will love it. I know a lot of people really enjoyed this one and the debut novel! :)
    more
  • Liz Barnsley
    December 18, 2016
    I was a huge fan of Behind Closed Doors, the first novel from B A Paris, it was intense and haunting so I was extremely interested to see what she would give us next…The Breakdown follows Cass, who one night makes a decision that haunts her life – we’ve all done the “what if” thing but Cass is genuinely guilt ridden. This seems to be tipping over into all aspects of her day to day routines as she forgets the simplest of things and believes she is being stalked. But is it all in her head?Again, B I was a huge fan of Behind Closed Doors, the first novel from B A Paris, it was intense and haunting so I was extremely interested to see what she would give us next…The Breakdown follows Cass, who one night makes a decision that haunts her life – we’ve all done the “what if” thing but Cass is genuinely guilt ridden. This seems to be tipping over into all aspects of her day to day routines as she forgets the simplest of things and believes she is being stalked. But is it all in her head?Again, BA Paris messes with your perception, keeping the story twisting and turning throughout, it is absolutely gripping stuff as Cass sinks further into the mire – but is she having a breakdown or is someone trying to break her? This is the question the reader keeps reading to find out and there is a beautiful unpredictability to proceedings and a lovely depth to Cass as a character which keeps you rooting for her.With the explosion of the psychological thriller it is hard to keep track – if like me you are a fan of them as long as they are not boringly cliched – in the case of The Breakdown and Behind Closed Doors B A Paris brings us two true page turners that are very different kettles of fish, yet each extraordinarily compelling in their own way. Plus I like that they make sense. Those who read widely in this genre will know what I mean!Beautifully constructed, cleverly discombobulating, The Breakdown is a read in one sitting, paper cut inducing, emotionally haunting story. Loved it.Highly Recommended.
    more
  • Amy (Foxy)
    March 9, 2017
    FOUR POINT FIVE STARS”I veer off to the left, taking the shortcut that Matthew didn’t want me to take.”It was a dark and stormy night when Cass was leaving a party and phoned her husband to say she’s on her way home. Her husband, Matthew, tells her to NOT take the shortcut home through the woods. He won’t be up when she gets home because he has a migraine and he’s going to sleep in the guest room. Right away, I can relate to Cass because I’d probably take the shortcut and figure my husband would FOUR POINT FIVE STARS”I veer off to the left, taking the shortcut that Matthew didn’t want me to take.”It was a dark and stormy night when Cass was leaving a party and phoned her husband to say she’s on her way home. Her husband, Matthew, tells her to NOT take the shortcut home through the woods. He won’t be up when she gets home because he has a migraine and he’s going to sleep in the guest room. Right away, I can relate to Cass because I’d probably take the shortcut and figure my husband would never know. I mean what can go wrong … it’s only late at night on a deserted road. Seems perfectly safe, right? Just like Cass, it would be my luck to come upon a car pulled off the side of the road with their lights on. Cass can see there’s a woman in the car but because of the downpour, she can't make out any details. Now she has a dilemma on what is she supposed to do:A) Does she get out of her car to see if they're okay? B) Drive on because hey she shouldn't have been in the woods at night by herself in the first place. The boogeyman lives there. C) Drive to where she has cell signal and phone the police?Cass picks option B and the next morning she learns that the woman in the car has been murdered. Now her guilt sets in because she questions why she hadn’t stopped to help or at least called the police?!! Had she done that then maybe that woman would have been alive now! Or maybe Cass would have been murdered too! Gah! Her indecisions on what she had done continued to plague her throughout the story. ”Fear and guilt have become such constant companions that I can’t remember what it was like to live without them.”Cass begins to spiral downwards with guilt. I began to feel like the story was gaslighting me because Cass couldn’t remember anything. It makes the reader question their own sanity as they read about Cass doubt her own mental health. Cass lived in a state of constant paranoia to the point that she couldn’t even hear the phone ringing without being sure someone was calling her torment her. The last 25% is golden - it’s where the rubber meets the road and we start to see pieces of the puzzle fit together. I called the book early on and to see it come fruition was fun. Especially, when Cass started to put it all together and gain her life back.The Breakdown is a standalone thriller. This thriller will leave you questioning who you can trust and wondering if you’re having your own mental breakdown. ✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦RELEASE DATE: July 18, 2017 (The story takes place on July 17)Pre-order | order: http://amzn.to/2nkGVIPSTANDALONE**Complimentary copy in exchange for an honest review.** Follow Foxy Blogs at: Blog ♥ Twitter ♥ Instagram ♥ Facebook
    more
  • Amy
    March 14, 2017
    All of my reviews can be found on www.novelgossip.comLast year, Behind Closed Doors was one of my favorite reads and is still one of my most recommended books, hands down. (By the way, everyone I’ve recommended it to has been just as pleased as I was, it’s really that good) It knocked me off of my feet and to say I’ve been eagerly awaiting Paris’ second book is an understatement. I was actually so impatient that I ordered a U.K. copy because I didn’t want to wait until this summer for the U. S. All of my reviews can be found on www.novelgossip.comLast year, Behind Closed Doors was one of my favorite reads and is still one of my most recommended books, hands down. (By the way, everyone I’ve recommended it to has been just as pleased as I was, it’s really that good) It knocked me off of my feet and to say I’ve been eagerly awaiting Paris’ second book is an understatement. I was actually so impatient that I ordered a U.K. copy because I didn’t want to wait until this summer for the U. S. version to be released. If you missed my review, you can find it here and if for some reason you haven’t it read it yet I urge you to ignore your growing TBR and get on it in a hurry. The Breakdown had many of the same elements that BCD had that made me such a fan. It was another addictive page turner with the same breathless pacing that makes for such a compelling read. I read it in one frantic, do not disturb, me sitting making it totally absorbing. There was something missing for me though, maybe a huge shocking twist? Though there were still surprises nothing that kicked me in the teeth like BCD, and the ending wasn’t nearly as chilling either, but I was consumed by this one and feel that Paris is a force to be reckoned with as a psychological thriller writer. The less you know the better here, but when Cass makes the decision to keep on driving after passing a woman on the side of the road she has no idea how much that minor choice will effect her entire life. The guilt consumes her and turns her into a paranoid, insecure person who’s entire life starts to crumble in the aftermath. Paris sure knows how to set an uneasy stage full of suspense, spine tingling dread and later, full blown hysteria. She is extremely talented at getting under the reader’s skin as you race through the pages trying to figure out who is trustworthy and who isn’t. All in all, this was a really entertaining read and a solid follow up to a massive success. Maybe it’s unfair of me to compare this book so much to her debut, but it’s inevitable I think, and it was still a really gripping read and a powerful psychological thriller in the truest sense of the word.
    more
  • Adrian Dooley
    February 13, 2017
    I flew through this book so that should tell you how good I thought it was. It hits the ground running and doesn't stop until the last full stop and boy is it a fun ride. Cass, a young teacher on her way home from her school holidays break up party, despite her husbands insistence not to, because of the really bad storm and the bad state of the roads that way, decides to take the short cut home. Through the pelting rain and windy roads she sees a car stopped at a lay by. It's in the middle of no I flew through this book so that should tell you how good I thought it was. It hits the ground running and doesn't stop until the last full stop and boy is it a fun ride. Cass, a young teacher on her way home from her school holidays break up party, despite her husbands insistence not to, because of the really bad storm and the bad state of the roads that way, decides to take the short cut home. Through the pelting rain and windy roads she sees a car stopped at a lay by. It's in the middle of nowhere, not somewhere you would willingly stop, especially for the night that's in it. As she drives slowly by she she's a woman's face in the window of the drivers seat. She pulls in ahead of the car to see if she needs assistance. Maybe she has broken down?She waits in her car expecting the woman to get out and come to her or flash her lights or do something but she doesn't budge. Cass is in no mood to get out into the pouring rain and run back to the stopped car to see if she is ok so, after waiting a few minutes to see if the woman in the car approaches her, she drives the short distance home deciding the woman must be ok. She wakes up the next day to the news that the woman in the car has been brutally murdered. Riddled with guilt she can't bring herself to tell anyone that she saw the car and stopped but didn't help, especially not her husband. Her life starts falling apart as she becomes consumed by guilt. She starts forgetting things and then forgetting more things and is terrified she may have the symptoms of early onset Alzheimer's, a disease her mother was diagnosed with in her early forties. But that's not all Cass has to worry about. She's convinced the murderer saw her stop that night and knows now where she lives. She is receiving phone calls everyday but there's no one on the other end. She's having more and more trouble remembering things she did and is convinced she will be the next murder victim, all the while her guilt of not helping the woman in the car is eating her up and she fears she is losing her sanity. Wow this was one enjoyable read. I flew through the book. Couldn't wait to get it finished to see how it all played out and it didn't disappoint. I said earlier it hit the ground running and it really did. Like one of those wind up toy cars that you rev the wheels up first before placing on the ground, it just shot off from the word go. There's a real urgency to the writing that suited the story perfectly, as the story is told from Cass,s perspective. You have total empathy with Cass throughout as she falls deeper into hopelessness, struggling to keep her sanity. There's a small cast of characters but they all play their part in the story, a story that's perfectly paced and played out. My reading just got quicker and quicker the last few chapters as I couldn't wait to find out how it all ended. A brilliantly entertaining psychological thriller, I just had great fun and got great enjoyment out of reading it. An easy five star rating and of course would whole heartedly recommend you get your hands on a copy. I would lie to thank NetGalley, Harlequin (UK) and B.A. Paris for an ARC in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • samantha (books-are-my-life20)
    February 21, 2017
    Definitely five stars!!!!
  • Maxine (Booklover Catlady)
    December 26, 2016
    Devoured in 3 hours. Another winning psychological thriller from this fantastic author. Full review to come!
  • KC
    February 11, 2017
    I would like to thank NetGalley, St. Martin's Press, and B.A. Paris for the advanced digital copy in exchange for an honest review. Cass and her husband Matt seem to have the perfect marriage. One evening, Cass is on her way home from a night out with friends as she passes a suspicious car on the side of the road during a downpour. The next day a local woman is found brutally murdered in her car. Cass realizes that she may have been a witness to that murder. She chooses not to come forward but t I would like to thank NetGalley, St. Martin's Press, and B.A. Paris for the advanced digital copy in exchange for an honest review. Cass and her husband Matt seem to have the perfect marriage. One evening, Cass is on her way home from a night out with friends as she passes a suspicious car on the side of the road during a downpour. The next day a local woman is found brutally murdered in her car. Cass realizes that she may have been a witness to that murder. She chooses not to come forward but the guilt gnaws at her. She starts to receive silent phone calls, she becomes forgetful, and she's frightened at every turn. Her life goes into a tailspin. Paris' prior novel, 'Behind Closed Doors', was a blockbuster debut and this second novel is a thrill ride that is hard to put down.
    more
  • Joanne Robertson
    January 22, 2017
    Like most readers and reviewers I absolutely adored Behind Closed Doors by B.A. Paris, her debut psychological thriller. I recommended it to so many people and not one came back to say they were disappointed. So as soon as her second novel came up on Amazon, I pre-ordered it straight away. But then the publication date was pushed back and I started to worry a little. Was she struggling with that second novel syndrome that can strike after such a brilliantly received debut? How would this new boo Like most readers and reviewers I absolutely adored Behind Closed Doors by B.A. Paris, her debut psychological thriller. I recommended it to so many people and not one came back to say they were disappointed. So as soon as her second novel came up on Amazon, I pre-ordered it straight away. But then the publication date was pushed back and I started to worry a little. Was she struggling with that second novel syndrome that can strike after such a brilliantly received debut? How would this new book compare with Behind Closed Doors and was it unfair of me to compare it anyway and have such high expectations? So it was with a smidgen of trepidation that I started to read The Breakdown. But OH MY WORD! Once that book was in my hands, it did not leave them! The term “unputdownable” seems a strangely mild description of how much this book grabbed me by the throat and squeezed tighter and tighter until I could hardly swallow! I think I was physically shaking with the dread of what was happening to Cass and how it was all going to end.The opening scenes of The Breakdown are absolutely terrifying. It was like watching a horror film where the heroine always does what she’s told not to do! In an horrendous summer storm, Cass doesn’t take the better lit and busy dual carriageway whilst driving home from a meal with colleagues. No, scared by the water and the lorries on the road she takes a shortcut onto a dark and twisting country lane. Why would she do that!? But that decision ends up setting off a series of events that make Cass doubt her very sanity. This was where I started to appreciate the cleverness of that ambiguous title as Cass seemed to be heading for a breakdown of her own. But instead of the frustration I expected to feel with the way the plot was developing, I was gripped, well and truly overinvolved in the petrifying path Cass was quickly sliding down. And all the time it felt so utterly convincing and truthful, that I just couldn’t tear my eyes away from the page.I always say I like the surprise nowadays with these types of books as this is such a popular genre nowadays that it’s so difficult to keep twists new and fresh. But weirdly enough here, it wasnt about that! It was about a natural storyteller drawing me in from the very start and refusing to let me go by developing characters I really cared about and situations I felt powerless to stop. And I’m going to let you in on a little secret now-I actually think I loved this more than Behind Closed Doors! It’s certainly as good as its predecessor, if not better and I feel ashamed to admit that I ever doubted that it wouldn’t be.Very highly recommended by me!
    more
  • Tracy Fenton
    November 20, 2016
    The Breakdown is BA Paris' second book after the amazing Behind Closed Doors which I personally loved and therefore was concerned that her next book had a lot to live up to. My concern was totally unwarranted as The Breakdown is utterly brilliant. This is a master class in psychological thrillers. Full of twists and turns, dread and guilt with a hint of paranoia. This story kept me on the edge of my seat throughout. A phenomenal, tense and gripping thriller which I thoroughly recommend and if yo The Breakdown is BA Paris' second book after the amazing Behind Closed Doors which I personally loved and therefore was concerned that her next book had a lot to live up to. My concern was totally unwarranted as The Breakdown is utterly brilliant. This is a master class in psychological thrillers. Full of twists and turns, dread and guilt with a hint of paranoia. This story kept me on the edge of my seat throughout. A phenomenal, tense and gripping thriller which I thoroughly recommend and if you like stories that give you that uncomfortable feeling almost like heartburn then please read this with a bottle of Gaviscon close by. 5 big fat stars.
    more
  • Karen
    January 28, 2017
    B A Paris’ debut thriller, Behind Closed Doors, was one of my Top 10 books of 2016 and I actually squealed with excitement when a proof copy of The Breakdown arrived through the letterbox. I did wonder how this second novel would match up to the first – would it be as good? would I be disappointed? The answer to that is a big fat YES and NO. This is a cracking read – its a completely different story to that of Behind Closed Doors in my opinion; it’s not as dark a subject matter and is a more ‘ty B A Paris’ debut thriller, Behind Closed Doors, was one of my Top 10 books of 2016 and I actually squealed with excitement when a proof copy of The Breakdown arrived through the letterbox. I did wonder how this second novel would match up to the first – would it be as good? would I be disappointed? The answer to that is a big fat YES and NO. This is a cracking read – its a completely different story to that of Behind Closed Doors in my opinion; it’s not as dark a subject matter and is a more ‘typical’ psychological thriller – one that you can get your teeth into whilst your mind is being messed with!The story begins with Cass, a teacher, driving home late at night along a deserted country lane during a storm. She sees a car parked at the side of the road with a woman driver and faces a dilemma. This results in a ‘what would you do’ scenario. Would you take the risk of getting out of your car, and possibly walking into a trap or would you drive by? Cass’ decision that night forms the rest of the story.The tension increases when it seems that somebody is targeting Cass. Silent phone calls spook her and she is convinced that she is being stalked. Add in her escalating memory issues – all of which take their toll on her mental health; I guess this is where one meaning of ‘The Breakdown’ could apply. I felt some sympathy for Cass – my memory is rubbish too but I also wanted to shake some sense into her when her feelings of paranoia overwhelm her and she makes some questionable decisions. Her husband Matthew is sympathetic at first but he begins to question her sanity.I really enjoyed this fast paced and insightful thriller. I did have suspicions from early on about the who and the what however with each new revelation my list of suspects grew and I certainly didn’t know who to trust so I entirely sympathise with Cass when she began to have those same doubts.B A Paris has certainly shown that she is more than capable of repeating the success of Behind Closed Doors. This was a suspenseful, addictive read and I can’t wait to see what the author has in store for us next.
    more
  • Loyda
    February 21, 2017
    3.5★★★StarsGenre: Physiological Thriller Type: StandalonePOV: First Person - FemaleCassandra is a teacher living with her gorgeous husband of almost a year. Life was perfect, money wasn't a problem for her. After the death of her mother she inherited a good amount of money. One stormy day changed her life though. She took a short cut home that evening and finds a woman broken down in the middle of the storm. I honestly don't blame her for not getting out of her vehicle to help. However; that n 3.5★★★StarsGenre: Physiological Thriller Type: StandalonePOV: First Person - FemaleCassandra is a teacher living with her gorgeous husband of almost a year. Life was perfect, money wasn't a problem for her. After the death of her mother she inherited a good amount of money. One stormy day changed her life though. She took a short cut home that evening and finds a woman broken down in the middle of the storm. I honestly don't blame her for not getting out of her vehicle to help. However; that night hunted Cass for months. Cass life came crashing down so fast she hardly saw it coming. A murder the news said, one she thought she could have prevented or maybe not. The mystery of who the murder was, had Cass going crazy and losing her mind.This book was a fast pace read that will have you on the edge of your seat. I honestly read it in one setting I just had to know what happened. However; I found myself guessing some of the twists way before they came up. I found myself frustrated a little with Cass because I felt she had it all in front and didn't bothered to wonder. Even though the book was predictable I still enjoyed it because it had me glued to the pages from the beginning. I did however, felt like the ending needed a little more. I guess I'm a sucker for revenge even though justice was made I felt it could have ended bloody and more twisted. The Breakdown' is a psychological thriller that really sucked me in from the very beginning. I honestly couldn't put it down it will be appealing to readers looking for a fast pace read. After reading this author’s debut novel, 'Behind Closed Doors', I was super excited to to read this book. This author's writing fascinated me with her well written work.For more reviews/reveals/giveaways visit:
    more
Write a review