The Other Girl
From the NYT bestselling author comes a chilling new thriller about a ritualistic murder of a college professor that sends a small town cop back into the trauma she thought she’d put behind her.Officer Miranda Rader of the Hammond PD in Louisiana is known for her honesty, integrity, and steady hand in a crisis—but that wasn’t always so. Miranda comes from Jasper, just south of Hammond, a place about the size of a good spit on a hot day, and her side of the tracks was the wrong one. She’s worked hard to leave the girl she used to be behind and earn respect in her position as an officer.However, when Miranda and her partner are called to investigate the murder of one of the town’s most beloved college professors, they’re unprepared for the gruesomeness of the scene. This murder is unlike any they’ve ever investigated, and just when Miranda thinks she’s seen the worst of it, she finds a piece of evidence that chills her to the core: a faded newspaper clipping about a terrible night from her long-buried past. Then another man turns up dead, this one a retired cop, and not just any cop—Clint Wheeler, the cop who took her statement that night. Two murders, two very different men, two killings that on the surface had nothing in common—except Miranda. 14 years ago.And when her fingerprints turn up at the scene of the first murder, Miranda once again finds herself under the microscope, her honesty and integrity doubted, her motivations questioned. Alone again, the trust of her colleagues shattered, Miranda must try to trust the instincts she’s pushed down for so long, and decide what’s right—before it’s too late.

The Other Girl Details

TitleThe Other Girl
Author
FormatHardcover
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseAug 22nd, 2017
PublisherSt. Martin's Press
ISBN1250083656
ISBN-139781250083654
Number of pages352 pages
Rating
GenreMystery, Thriller, Fiction

The Other Girl Review

  • Mary Beth
    July 10, 2017
    This was my first Erica Spindler book and I really did love it. I will definitely be reading more of her books. This one grabbed me straight from the beginning. I found it to be very well plotted and entertaining. It had me turning the pages quickly to see what was coming next. Some of it is fairly obvious but, equally, there are a few good twists and unexpected turns. As much as I could predict the ending, I really enjoyed everything in the book. I just wanted it to keep on going. The charact This was my first Erica Spindler book and I really did love it. I will definitely be reading more of her books. This one grabbed me straight from the beginning. I found it to be very well plotted and entertaining. It had me turning the pages quickly to see what was coming next. Some of it is fairly obvious but, equally, there are a few good twists and unexpected turns. As much as I could predict the ending, I really enjoyed everything in the book. I just wanted it to keep on going. The characters were well developed, with realistic dialogue. I love Miranda, and her partner Jake. They made this book addicting, and engaging. You wanted to know about them, and their back story, and how they would fit in this wonderful twisty puzzle of a book!Miranda is a cop with a past that has turned her life around. A incident in her teen years has came back to haunt her. A savage murder opens up the past. She and her partner Jake have been called to the scene of a gruesome murder. A local college professor has been murdered. His father is very influential in town and wants the case closed, fast, and he doesn't want it to reflect badly on the University. As the investigation carries on, Miranda's prints are found at the crime scene even when she is certain she did not touch anything without her gloves on. But then it hits her that the deceased professor is the one who had abducted her. Things get complicated for her when another body turns up and the only connection the dead men have with each other is Miranda. She is then thrown off the case. A classic example of people not being who they seem and a friend being disguised as a ruthless enemy. This was so gripping and felt like I was on a roller coaster ride. Even though I was able to guess who the killer was right away, I found the story to be very thrilling. This was a very quick story. I had to find out what was going on and kept me up late at night. I practically finished this in a day. The next day I only had 30 minutes left in the book. I can't wait to read my next Erica Spindler book. I always love to find a new author who has many books out there to read.I want to thank Netgalley, the Publisher, and Erica Spindler for the copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Christine
    July 2, 2017
    4.5 stars (rounded to 4 stars)My first Erica Spindler book was Justice for Sara. I read it 4 years ago and thought it was great. What took me so long to get back to this author? The answer baffles me. All I know is that as much as I loved that one, this standalone novel is even better!The story centers around Detective Miranda (Randi) Rader (is that a great name or what??) and her partner Jake Billings. The scene is Louisiana. The crime is a gruesome killing of a local college professor, who hap 4.5 stars (rounded to 4 stars)My first Erica Spindler book was Justice for Sara. I read it 4 years ago and thought it was great. What took me so long to get back to this author? The answer baffles me. All I know is that as much as I loved that one, this standalone novel is even better!The story centers around Detective Miranda (Randi) Rader (is that a great name or what??) and her partner Jake Billings. The scene is Louisiana. The crime is a gruesome killing of a local college professor, who happens to be the son of the president of the same college. Miranda and Jake are assigned the case. There are many pretzel-worthy twists to this story, none of which you are going to hear about from me. Just know that my head was spinning from all my mind changes as to how this was going to play out.There are flashbacks to an event that changed the life of our protagonist when she was 15 years old. These are well done, totally nonintrusive, and do not break the flow of the story. We are introduced to an appropriate number of side characters; some deplorable, some very likeable. There is some romance, but it does not dominate the story. The writing style flows easily; the dialogue is realistic. The character of Miranda is very well done, a strong point of the book. We get a good feel for her motivations and actions. She has issues and no matter how hard she has worked to overcome them, they still come back to haunt her and to some extent control her. I also want to mention how much I liked her relationship with bar owner/bartender Summer. I really connected with Miranda and am sorry this is not the first book of a series. The ending is well done, and an epilogue is included—something that always pleases me (I’m an epilogueaholic).I was absorbed by this tale and motored through it in a little over 2 days, very fast for me. I am now craving more Erica Spindler. The majority of her books are rated above 4.00, and she does not appear to have lost readers over the years. Good harbingers. I highly recommend The Other Girl to readers looking for a nifty police procedural combined with a big dose of heart. Thank you Net Galley, St. Martin’s Press, and Ms. Erica Spindler for an advanced copy of this novel. The opinions are mine alone and are not biased in any way.
    more
  • Lindsay
    June 17, 2017
    4 stars! This was a gripping and addictive page-turner!This was my first experience reading an Erica Spindler book and it definitely won’t be my last - her writing had me addicted to this novel from the very first chapter. I was completely drawn into the story and hanging on every word to find out what was going to happen next. I really liked the main character, Miranda Rader, a small-town police officer with a past she thought was behind her. The shifting of writing in past and present was done 4 stars! This was a gripping and addictive page-turner!This was my first experience reading an Erica Spindler book and it definitely won’t be my last - her writing had me addicted to this novel from the very first chapter. I was completely drawn into the story and hanging on every word to find out what was going to happen next. I really liked the main character, Miranda Rader, a small-town police officer with a past she thought was behind her. The shifting of writing in past and present was done very well – just enough information given within each segment to keep me hungrily reading for more details.It was refreshing reading such a fast paced, well written thriller after having read some heavier family and historical dramas lately. It’s nice to change it up sometimes and I’m so glad I tried this book out considering it is not my usual genre. I would highly recommend this book to anyone looking for a fast-paced, police drama.A big thank you to NetGalley, St. Martin’s Press and Erica Spindler for providing an ARC in exchange for an honest review!
    more
  • Arah-Lynda
    July 9, 2017
    I would like to thank St. Martin’s Press, Erica Spindler and NetGalley for an opportunity to read this chilling new thriller.Can you believe that I have never before read an Erica Spindler novel and man is she prolific.  That is great news for me because based on my experience with The Other Girl I will definitely be going back to the well.Harmony PD Detective Miranda Rader parked behind the two cruisers already at the scene.  Their flashing blue lights violated the otherwise still, spring night I would like to thank St. Martin’s Press, Erica Spindler and NetGalley for an opportunity to read this chilling new thriller.Can you believe that I have never before read an Erica Spindler novel and man is she prolific.  That is great news for me because based on my experience with The Other Girl I will definitely be going back to the well.Harmony PD Detective Miranda Rader parked behind the two cruisers already at the scene.  Their flashing blue lights violated the otherwise still, spring night, bouncing off the trees and surrounding homes, spinning and tilting like a carnival midway on crack.She closed her eyes and for a moment she was fifteen again.  Police lights bouncing off the trees.  This knot in the pit of her gut, this sense that nothing was going to be the same, not ever again.She let out a pent- up breath and flexed her fingers on the steering wheel.   Shake it off, Miranda.  Focus. Miranda (Randi) comes from the wrong side of the tracks in the spit sized town of Jasper, Louisiana.  She has worked hard to pull herself up and become a respected homicide detective with the Harmony police department, but when her and her partner Jake are called in to investigate the murder of one of the town’s esteemed college professors, not only are they shocked by the brutality of the crime scene but Miranda finds a piece of evidence that takes her back to her fifteen year old self, to a crime that no one truly believed had actually happened and the screams of another girl that no-one believed actually exists.  Whoa, this one grabbed me by the short and curlys almost immediately and even though I was able to identify the perpetrator early on, I never lost interest in the story being told or the fate of Miranda Rader.  I kept turning the pages, fast and furious, and became more than a little disgruntled when life and it’s demands on my time, pulled me out of the story.  The protagonist and all the supporting characters are well drawn, engage in realistic dialogue and have a solid place in the story, which moves forward at an engaging pace that leaves the reader invested in the outcome.   Oh and I love when the author takes the time to construct an epilogue. :)There are so many thrillers on the market these days with kickass female leads but this one is so well done that it stands apart from the herd.  You will not want to miss it.4.5 fully engaged stars.
    more
  • Erin Clemence
    June 6, 2017
    Thanks to NetGalley and the publisher for an electronic ARC of this novel, received in exchange for an honest review Bestselling author Erica Spindler is back on the scene with her new police crime novel, “The Other Girl”. When teenaged Miranda “Randy” Rader is kidnapped and escapes, everyone believes it to be just another lie told by the girl from the wrong side of the tracks. No matter how hard Randi tries, no one will believe her story and what’s most heartbreaking for Randi is she wasn’t t Thanks to NetGalley and the publisher for an electronic ARC of this novel, received in exchange for an honest review Bestselling author Erica Spindler is back on the scene with her new police crime novel, “The Other Girl”. When teenaged Miranda “Randy” Rader is kidnapped and escapes, everyone believes it to be just another lie told by the girl from the wrong side of the tracks. No matter how hard Randi tries, no one will believe her story and what’s most heartbreaking for Randi is she wasn’t the only one held captive- when Randi escaped she left behind another young girl, and the promise that she would return with help. Decades later, Miranda is now a police officer, putting criminals behind bars. When a wealthy university professor and son of a prominent and influential man is killed, Miranda and her partner take the case. However as the investigations unfold Miranda makes a startling discovery- all the evidence at the crime scene points to her as the perpetrator. I am unfamiliar with Spindler’s former work but I can definitely say that she knows how to write a police procedural. This novel has action, suspense, and even a little romance and it plays out like a television crime drama (not a bad thing as they are one of my favourite genres!). Miranda is a brave, misunderstood woman who will quickly build empathy and support from readers. Although there are quite a few supporting characters (various detectives and officers, etc.) each has their own personality and role to fill, making it easy to keep up with the fast-paced storyline. The novel is written well, and is only slightly predictable. In fact, the end has just the right amount of surprise built it and will leave the reader feeling satisfied. Although the market seems to be inundated lately with police novels with a strong female lead, this novel has enough creativity to stand on its own. It is definitely something fans of the genre should investigate (no pun intended) and I will definitely keep an eye out for Ms. Spindler’s works in the future.
    more
  • Gary
    June 17, 2017
    I really enjoyed this latest Erica Spindler novel and found it to have a touch of everything good in a book, suspense, twists, excitement and even a touch of romance.The novel features Officer Miranda Rader of the Hammond PD in Louisiana who is known for her honesty, integrity, and steady hand in a crisis, but that was not always the case. She has tried hard to change from the young troubled girl and earn respect in her position as an officer.When Miranda and her partner are called to investigat I really enjoyed this latest Erica Spindler novel and found it to have a touch of everything good in a book, suspense, twists, excitement and even a touch of romance.The novel features Officer Miranda Rader of the Hammond PD in Louisiana who is known for her honesty, integrity, and steady hand in a crisis, but that was not always the case. She has tried hard to change from the young troubled girl and earn respect in her position as an officer.When Miranda and her partner are called to investigate the murder of one of the town’s most beloved college professors, they’re unprepared for the scene. This murder is unlike any they’ve ever investigated, and just when Miranda thinks she’s seen the worst of it, she finds a piece of evidence that chills her to the core, a faded newspaper clipping about a terrible night from her long-buried past. Then another man turns up dead, this one a retired cop, and not just any cop, Clint Wheeler, the cop who took her statement that night. Two murders, two very different men, two killings that on the surface had nothing in common, except Miranda. 15 years ago.A very good read that flew by due to the excitement and eagerness to learn the truth.I would like to thank Net Galley and St. Martin's Press for supplying a copy of this novel in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Carol
    July 27, 2017
    Erica Spindler can really spin a tale!Randi Rader was a reckless teen. They called her wild....a bad girl....and a liar....but was she?Now, fifteen years later, they call her Detective Miranda Rader....stubborn....headstrong....well-respected and a ten year veteran of the Harmony, Louisiana PD. Her past still haunts her....her family let her down, but she has a job to do....a murder to solve....a violent gruesome act of "hatred and rage" that quickly becomes complicated and threatens not only he Erica Spindler can really spin a tale!Randi Rader was a reckless teen. They called her wild....a bad girl....and a liar....but was she?Now, fifteen years later, they call her Detective Miranda Rader....stubborn....headstrong....well-respected and a ten year veteran of the Harmony, Louisiana PD. Her past still haunts her....her family let her down, but she has a job to do....a murder to solve....a violent gruesome act of "hatred and rage" that quickly becomes complicated and threatens not only her job, but close relationships.THE OTHER GIRL is yet another fast-paced crime-mystery published this year, but Erica Spindler brings to the table a little something extra the others I've read didn't....a bit of romance (with some hot sex) that adds another layer to her already volatile storyline.Enjoyed it! Great novel for your summer reading pleasure.Many thanks to NetGalley and St. Martin's Press for the ARC in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Bam
    June 28, 2017
    *3.5 starsI really enjoyed this thriller by Erica Spindler, my first taste of her writing. Officer Miranda Rader is called to the scene of the grisly murder of a college professor. Clues implicating Miranda herself in the crime soon start popping up and she wonders just who is trying to frame her. Can she trust anyone? There is an interesting backstory that slowly unfolds which ties all the threads together to make for a fascinating page turner. Highly recommend for summer vacation reading.Many *3.5 starsI really enjoyed this thriller by Erica Spindler, my first taste of her writing. Officer Miranda Rader is called to the scene of the grisly murder of a college professor. Clues implicating Miranda herself in the crime soon start popping up and she wonders just who is trying to frame her. Can she trust anyone? There is an interesting backstory that slowly unfolds which ties all the threads together to make for a fascinating page turner. Highly recommend for summer vacation reading.Many thanks to NetGalley, the publisher and the author for the opportunity to read this new thriller. I am looking forward to reading more of her books.
    more
  • Latanya
    June 1, 2017
    (Review courtesy of https://craftyscribblescom.wordpress.com/2017/06/01/hues-reviews-the-other-girl/)“A horrific crime. One witness―a fifteen year old girl from the wrong side of the tracks, one known for lying and her own brushes with the law.Is it any surprise no one believed her?” – AmazonOfficer Miranda Rader, former bad girl makes good, investigates the murder of a popular and well-respected professor in a small Louisiana town. Gruesome and outside the realm of her department, she intends t (Review courtesy of https://craftyscribblescom.wordpress.com/2017/06/01/hues-reviews-the-other-girl/)“A horrific crime. One witness―a fifteen year old girl from the wrong side of the tracks, one known for lying and her own brushes with the law.Is it any surprise no one believed her?” – AmazonOfficer Miranda Rader, former bad girl makes good, investigates the murder of a popular and well-respected professor in a small Louisiana town. Gruesome and outside the realm of her department, she intends to find the killer. However, she realizes her past may relate to her past. How far will she go to solve this crime and what ties does her past hold with the case?Erica Spindler creates an entertaining story with an excellent premise. She presents a first chapter with all the right tools to push you further into the story: a grisly murder, small town, sexual undercurrents, and a female detective pushing to solve the case. You aim to finish this book as soon as possible to find out the whodunit. Also, Spindler helps by creating quick and short chapters.While this story entertains, you find, as you read more chapters, a story committing more crimes than a juvenile delinquent. First, the story rests on cliche: Misunderstood female detective with a personal vendetta (though well within reason), sexual predators, and cover-ups within the department. While I do not mind these cliches (I like them beyond reason), I enjoy well-written stories using these tropes. Spindler misses the mark by over-explaining key plot points readers will gather on their own (sooner than desired). Into one-third of the story, I figured the ending without breaking half the sweat Miranda emits. In a debut novel, I forgive these momentary lapses. A veteran novelist? Not so much…Furthermore, for a fine detective, Miranda scores a myriad of rookie mistakes (including talking too much to iffy folks around her, telling others about discoveries). For a known liar, she trusts with the naivete of a Girl Scout at a Friday night frat party. This behavior earns a few eye-rolls.Maybe it’s the arc, but the story runs short. The ending feels rushed a bit. A subplot involving her mother comes and go without much fanfare. A romantic subplot runs in and out the front door before the windy draft pokes inside and says “hello”. There’s a moment where her partner mentions leaving town, hinting darker paths, which leads to nowhere. I would prefer some padding in these subplots. The ending wraps too concise and sanitary.If you want an entertaining and swift beach read, go for this tale. If you want something deeper, seek elsewhere.Verdict: 3 out of 5*I received a copy of this book through NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.*
    more
  • Sandra ~ ♥ Cross My Heart ♥
    July 31, 2017
    4.5 Stars - What a fantastic, chilling read! Be prepared to be totally immersed in this story as Spindler weaves the past and present into one heart-racing thriller. I read this book in mostly one sitting, simply unable to put it down. This is my second book by Erica Spindler and all the proof I need that she deserves a spot on my "go-to" author list. I look forward to exploring more of her books. Detective Miranda Rader is a respected, ten year veteran of the Harmony, La. police force. She has 4.5 Stars - What a fantastic, chilling read! Be prepared to be totally immersed in this story as Spindler weaves the past and present into one heart-racing thriller. I read this book in mostly one sitting, simply unable to put it down. This is my second book by Erica Spindler and all the proof I need that she deserves a spot on my "go-to" author list. I look forward to exploring more of her books. Detective Miranda Rader is a respected, ten year veteran of the Harmony, La. police force. She has earned the respect of fellow officers and her commander through years of hard work and dedication to her job. But it hasn't always been so as witnessed in her sordid past of lies, wild parties, drugs, and alcohol. How many times can a young girl yell "wolf" before everyone stops believing her? Fifteen-year-old Miranda found out one dark, rainy night and ended up branded a liar and a slut. The resulting chaos and devastation led her to flee town, leaving behind the family who turned their backs on her. Miranda made her own second chance and is a different person now, keeping her old life buried. That is until the day she's called out to investigate the brutal, ritualistic murder of a beloved college professor and finds a piece of evidence tying her to the murder scene and linking to her buried past. Things quickly escalate out of control when a cop also turns up murdered and more evidence points an accusing finger at Miranda. It seems her past has finally caught up with her, placing her in imminent danger as her new life is torn apart. Is someone seeking revenge by setting her up? Or is Miranda finally seeking vengeance against the ghosts that haunt her?Intense, fast-paced action kept me burning through the pages of The Other Girl. The detail-oriented plot is enhanced by an atmospheric setting, lending a dark, ominous tone of impending gloom and doom to the story. The characterizations are spot-on, beautifully crafted, leaving me questioning who I could really trust and whose loyalty is a mask. There are some twisted surprises in this story . . . some I figured out ahead of the reveal and some I didn't. Either way, they don't deter from the reading pleasure of this intriguing, mesmerizing suspense thriller. A Must Read!*Many thanks to St. Martin's Press, Netgally, and the author for an arc of this book.**Reviewed at Cross My Heart Writings and Reviews
    more
  • Magdalena aka A Bookaholic Swede
    May 24, 2017
    Why haven't I read any books by Erica Spindler before? This one was fabulous and now I want to read more books by her. Review to come.
  • Debra
    June 2, 2017
    Police Officer Miranda Rader is a respected officer in Hammond, Louisiana. She is known for her work ethic, dedication and professionalism. This was not always the case. When she was younger she spent 6 months in juvenile detention for possession of marijuana. She was known to engage in underage drinking and came from a troublesome family. At the age of 15, she was the victim of a crime and no one seemed to believe her as she was constantly in trouble and was known in her hometown to be a liar.M Police Officer Miranda Rader is a respected officer in Hammond, Louisiana. She is known for her work ethic, dedication and professionalism. This was not always the case. When she was younger she spent 6 months in juvenile detention for possession of marijuana. She was known to engage in underage drinking and came from a troublesome family. At the age of 15, she was the victim of a crime and no one seemed to believe her as she was constantly in trouble and was known in her hometown to be a liar.Miranda has worked very hard to improve herself and to become a respectful member of society. She has become a police officer who is looked up to and respected in society. Although she is not the same girl she once was, she is haunted by the past. She is haunted by a crime that no one believed occurred. What do you do when a crime has been committed against you, when you run for help, when another girl is being held captive and no one believes your story? No one goes to help the other girl. How does this affect your life?One day Miranda is called to investigate the gruesome murder of a respected professor at a local college. While on the scene she finds a newspaper clipping referring to the heinous crime committed against her and another girl in the past. Just what was the professor doing with a clipping from her past? Who is this man? Does he know who she is and what happened to her? Is this just research for a book he is writing? Just when she begins to put things together, her fingerprints are found at the scene of the crime. Her work ethic, honesty, integrity and professionalism are questioned. To make matters even worse, another murder occurs - a death which is related to that fateful night years ago. Why does she appear to be the only suspect? Who is the real killer and why does this killer seem to know everything that happened to her all of those years ago?Miranda is a strong female character who cannot seem to keep from getting into trouble in this book. She continues to defy orders and break police procedures in order to get to the truth. She knows that the college professor is not the "nice" guy everyone believes him to be. She will not stop until she has uncovered the truth about his killer and has exposed the murdered professor to be the predator she knows him to be.I really enjoyed this book. It was a fast paced read with a few twists and turns. There were a couple of times that I wanted to shake the main character as she acted without thinking on numerous occasions. This story jumps back and forth between the current day and when Miranda was a 15 year old girl. As the book progresses, the reader is shown what happened all those years ago. This book is a double "whodunit" as there is a killer in the current day, a predator from the past and also the question remains...what happened to the other girl all of those years ago?This is a good mystery but not an earth shattering one. I think most readers will have figured out a couple of the plot points. The ending is not a big shocker but it is still an enjoyable one. I figured out a couple of things but even guessing the truth did not prevent me from fully enjoying this book. I found that the past and present story lines really worked in this book.This was my first Erica Spindler book and it will not be my last.I received a copy of this book form the publisher and NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.See more of my reviews at www.openbookpost.com
    more
  • Tudor Vlad
    June 1, 2017
    The Other Girl is one of those books you can’t help not read from start to finish in one day, it’s the perfect summer read. Erica Spindler’s writing is fast paced and engrossing, it begs to be read to the point that you have to drop everything you're doing because you need to know what happens next. I finished this in two 2 hour reading sessions and each time I just could not feel the time passing, I was fully immersed in the story. To call this book addicting would be an understatement. Through The Other Girl is one of those books you can’t help not read from start to finish in one day, it’s the perfect summer read. Erica Spindler’s writing is fast paced and engrossing, it begs to be read to the point that you have to drop everything you're doing because you need to know what happens next. I finished this in two 2 hour reading sessions and each time I just could not feel the time passing, I was fully immersed in the story. To call this book addicting would be an understatement. Throughout the novel, Erica Spindler manages to maintain a sense of urgency that had me biting my nails.For what was an almost perfect suspense novel, there was only one thing that didn’t quite work for me, and the reason I can’t give it a full 5 star rating, and that thing was the ending. It felt rushed and abrupt. I wanted to see more.The story follows Miranda, a police officer, who takes the case of the gruesome murder of Richard Stark, a charming college professor beloved by students and faculty alike. Coupled with the present-day story we also get glimpses from Miranda’s past, 14 years ago, when she was kidnapped and witnessed a girl get raped. Given the opportunity to escape, she does something she’ll never be able to forget.Miranda is certain that she has moved on from her past, but when she discovers new details about the murder of Richard Stark, she realizes that her past has come back to haunt her and this time it could cost her everything: her career, her friends and even her life.The Other Girl is a perfect book for Mystery fans and for newcomers to this genre alike, a quick and compelling read, ideal for a lazy summer day.My sincere thanks to Justine Sha from St. Martin’s Press and Netgalley for giving me the opportunity to read an advanced copy of this book in exchange for my honest review.
    more
  • Patty
    June 13, 2017
    NetGalley gave me this book in exchange for an honest review.This is a fast pace book and it really grabbed me right from the beginning. The main character of the book, Randy Rader, is a police officer in her local town where she also grew up. She grew up in the very poor part of town, trailer park living with little supervision. One night she has a horrific experience and runs to the police department to report the crime, but no one believes her, and not only don't they believe her, but they ar NetGalley gave me this book in exchange for an honest review.This is a fast pace book and it really grabbed me right from the beginning. The main character of the book, Randy Rader, is a police officer in her local town where she also grew up. She grew up in the very poor part of town, trailer park living with little supervision. One night she has a horrific experience and runs to the police department to report the crime, but no one believes her, and not only don't they believe her, but they arrest her for possession of marijuana, and she ends up going to the juvenile facility. She decided to change her life while she was in jail, and many years later she actually becomes a police officer and the very person who didn't believe her all those years ago is chief of police.A horrible crime has been committed, Randy arrives at the scene and while she is gathering evidence she comes upon an article about herself and the crime that she reported all those years ago. She has no idea why this article would be in this mans house. But she soon figures it out and there is where the story begins.In the process of reliving her past experiences she comes to term with herself, her ability to love and trust others, and how to truly let go of her past and embrace her life as it is in the present. This is the first book I read by this author, but I doubt it will be the last.
    more
  • Ashley (5171MilesBooks)
    July 26, 2017
    Thank you to St. Martin’s Press and Netgalley for the chance to review The Other Girl on 5171 Miles Book Blog! Erica Spindler can spin one heck of a story (pun intended)! This was a gripping page-turner I couldn’t put down.Miranda Radar is a detective for her local police department investigating an ugly crime of passion against a revered college professor. When she stumbles upon an article about a crime she reported as a teenager among the victim’s belongings, things turn personal. Miranda can’ Thank you to St. Martin’s Press and Netgalley for the chance to review The Other Girl on 5171 Miles Book Blog! Erica Spindler can spin one heck of a story (pun intended)! This was a gripping page-turner I couldn’t put down.Miranda Radar is a detective for her local police department investigating an ugly crime of passion against a revered college professor. When she stumbles upon an article about a crime she reported as a teenager among the victim’s belongings, things turn personal. Miranda can’t seem to pin down how the victim holds a part of the history she has worked hard to bury, but she is hell-bent on figuring it out and proving her side of the story once and for all. Even if she loses everything in the process.Erica Spindler had me hook, line, and sinker from the very first chapter. I was glad to have my hands on something that would be a fast-paced, easy read to get lost in for a little while. Though I had the ending of this story mostly pegged from the beginning chapters, I couldn’t stop reading, anxiously awaiting to see if my conclusions were correct. While I predicted the series of events, I would not begin to call this a predictable novel. I found it to be a well plotted and paced novel that held my interest throughout. I enjoyed Miranda’s determination and the depth of her character. Viewing her past perspective and her growth to the present day allows readers to feel more of an understanding of what drives her. I was pleasantly surprised with the bits of romance sprinkled in, and the addition of Miranda being suspicious of her lover as the case became more tense.I would give this novel 3.5 stars, rounding up to 4 based on my interest level. Though it was an exciting read, I didn’t find anything within that stood out as exceptionally unique. It was simply a good book with a Mary Higgins Clark-mystery-feel. Based on the author’s skilled plotting, I would be thrilled to pick up more of her work in the future, for a day of reading something quick and enjoyable.Be sure to pick up this thrilling novel on August 22nd, or pre-order a copy now!
    more
  • Yesha (Books Teacup and Reviews)
    July 11, 2017
    *** Note: I received a review copy of this book via NetGalley, in exchange for an honest review. Many thanks to Publishers and author. I am glad I got a chance to read this book. ***This was my first Erica Spindler book and I so loved this book and her writing that this won’t be last one.Characters– Detective Miranda Rader. She was portrayed very nicely throughout the book. I loved this character. Strong, full of emotions, learning from mistakes, logical. Perfect woman character I would like to *** Note: I received a review copy of this book via NetGalley, in exchange for an honest review. Many thanks to Publishers and author. I am glad I got a chance to read this book. ***This was my first Erica Spindler book and I so loved this book and her writing that this won’t be last one.Characters– Detective Miranda Rader. She was portrayed very nicely throughout the book. I loved this character. Strong, full of emotions, learning from mistakes, logical. Perfect woman character I would like to see as a protagonist. Her development was really amazing in the book. All secondary characters were interesting specially police department one and victims.What I liked? “The Other Girl” opens with the crime scene. Damn that gruesome chilling description, and feeling of killer (when you’ll read, you will know why I said that), I could see I’m going to like this book. And next thing that caught my attention in starting only was mind blowing police procedural writing.First few chapters gave the basic idea what’s going on and who is going to be killer, of course without name and identity (just idea). Not much guesswork.You know, it was like, the dots are given of the picture and by covering few dots you can know what picture is going to be at the end. But few dots are given here and there to mislead you. That was what the book was and so was the protagonist.The book revolves around Miranda and the case she was leading. She had quite a history. Events from the past life of Miranda in between present life added the spices in the book. That was excellent, well written and very interesting. It gave all the clarity what happened with Miranda, and why this case and why she was accused and that only ultimately leads to killer. Twist and turns– Book also had few shocks that I haven’t expected. Those timings was perfect I mean, you could guess what was going to come in the book at some points but you keep reading for it to come and Boo! It’s there. Not at any point it felt stretched or boring.Another remarkable thing was I started doubting everyone in the book. Though you know that person is not killer, it gave that feeling ‘Something is wrong with this person’. Rage, vengeance, hatred, compassion, love- these feelings ruled the book. Dysfunctional family drama was really touching. This book made me cry. I never thought crime thriller can have that effect on me. Oh! And message for women, don’t fall for the face it can be very harmful. 😉End– Great! No words for this. I was holding my breath in last few chapters. It was amazing.Why 4.5? One thing I couldn’t understand was each chapters starts with time and no dates, why dates were not given? I had to keep a track that ‘okay here starts another day’. I feel, if the dates were mentioned it would have been easier to follow.Who should read it? Definitely for Mystery Thriller lovers.Overall, I was so into the book that I haven’t even noticed time or made any note or comment to write for the review. This is entertaining, thrilling and real fast paced book. It took me 2 days to read but those who are real fast readers this is one sitting read for them.Read reviews on my blog Books Teacup and Reviews
    more
  • Shukri
    May 31, 2017
    I received a copy of this book through NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. I just want to know why I haven't read any of Erica Spindler books before.. This book had me gripped from the first chapter. I wanted to know what will happen next. I literally had no idea who was the murderer, I myself while reading couldn't trust any of the characters in the book. This book was not predictable at all. If you like thrillers, try this one out because it's nothing like any of the thrillers I've rea I received a copy of this book through NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. I just want to know why I haven't read any of Erica Spindler books before.. This book had me gripped from the first chapter. I wanted to know what will happen next. I literally had no idea who was the murderer, I myself while reading couldn't trust any of the characters in the book. This book was not predictable at all. If you like thrillers, try this one out because it's nothing like any of the thrillers I've read.
    more
  • Brenda
    July 19, 2017
    Review to follow closer to publication
  • Nicole Chinnici
    June 25, 2017
    A suspenseful and intriguing page turner, The Other Girl delivers what Spindler is supposed to be known for: “thrill-packed page turners, white-knuckle rides and edge-of-your-seat whodunits.”**Spindler’s writing in this novel is powerful. Short sentences are used to great effect to create urgency when needed. Descriptions are specific and precise, setting the scene using all five senses. Dialogue is witty and realistic. Characters are uniquely complex, especially the main character, Miranda. I w A suspenseful and intriguing page turner, The Other Girl delivers what Spindler is supposed to be known for: “thrill-packed page turners, white-knuckle rides and edge-of-your-seat whodunits.”**Spindler’s writing in this novel is powerful. Short sentences are used to great effect to create urgency when needed. Descriptions are specific and precise, setting the scene using all five senses. Dialogue is witty and realistic. Characters are uniquely complex, especially the main character, Miranda. I was so involved in her story and empathized with her completely. While The Other Girl was basically a straight up crime novel, there were a few twists. Although they didn’t exactly surprise me, I was so preoccupied in the moment watching events unfold to actually see them coming too far in advance.Honestly, I feel there is not much more to say except that you should read it. (Trigger warnings for discussion of rape and a graphic crime scene.) This was the first book I’ve read by Erica Spindler but it definitely won’t be the last!*Thanks to the publisher for providing an arc of this edition via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.**http://www.ericaspindler.com/press-ki...
    more
  • Linda Strong
    May 11, 2017
    Fourteen years ago Police Officer Miranda Rader was a 15-year-old girl with an attitude. She was known as a liar, shoplifter, all around hellion.One night she makes some really bad choices and finds herself tied wrists and ankles in the woods somewhere. Close by is another girl, also tied. The man who took them is no where to be seen. Feisty Miranda chewed the tape around her wrists, but as she was trying to help the other girl, the man returns.Miranda runs vowing to the girl that she would be b Fourteen years ago Police Officer Miranda Rader was a 15-year-old girl with an attitude. She was known as a liar, shoplifter, all around hellion.One night she makes some really bad choices and finds herself tied wrists and ankles in the woods somewhere. Close by is another girl, also tied. The man who took them is no where to be seen. Feisty Miranda chewed the tape around her wrists, but as she was trying to help the other girl, the man returns.Miranda runs vowing to the girl that she would be back with help. But that was before she found that no one believed her. And when the police searched, the girl had disappeared. She wound up 6 months in juvie jail because she had some weed on her. Her own mother and brothers would not believe her or help her in any way.That is when Miranda made some life altering changes. She is now known for her honesty and integrity. She turns her life around becoming the person she is and wants to be.But when she's called to investigate the murder of a prominent college professor, her past comes roaring back with a vengeance. She discovers that the murdered man is the man who abducted her all those years ago. And someone has planted evidence that points to Miranda as the killer.Then another man turns up dead... the cop that took her statement all those years ago. There are no ties between the men ... only Miranda is the common ground.Once more, she's having to make people believe her .... and if she must, she will go it alone to prove she's innocent of these horrific killings.I've been a big fan of this author for several years. I have always found her books to be well written, with memorable characters, usually lots of suspense and/or mystery. There is always twists and turns that sometimes leave the reader turning pages at a ridiulous pace.This book is no different. The chapters flow seamlessly back and forth from today to Miranda's memories of the trauma she suffered when she was a young teenager. There are plenty of suspects....it's no easy task picking out the one who-dun-it. There's lot of action, especially as she crosses the lines to find evidence. Her partner, Jason, seems to believe her in the beginning, but then he slowly turns away .. leaving her totally alone. Her boss, who has been her mentor, father figure for so long, is not the man Miranda always thought he was.This is a very engaging book, highly recommend for Spindler fans ... or for those who have never read her suspense stories. It's a fast easy read.Many thanks to the author / St. Martin's Press / Netgalley for the advance digital copy of THE OTHER GIRL. Opinions expressed here are unbiased and entirely my own.
    more
  • Sheila
    July 8, 2017
    2 stars--it was okay.The story, though predictable, was the best thing about this book; it did keep me reading. However, everything else was kind of bland. The characters and writing were overly simplified, I thought.I received this review copy from the publisher on NetGalley. Thanks for the opportunity to read and review; I appreciate it!
    more
  • Amanda
    May 30, 2017
    Ok, my first question is why have I not read an Erica Spindler novel before!? Seriously, The Other Girl was SO good and I need more of this writing!Miranda Rader is a detective for the Harmony, Louisiana police department. Murder scenes are usually no big deal when you’ve seen it all before, except for the murder of the towns most successful and loved college professor. Gruesome and no doubt a revenge crime, Miranda and her partner have quite a case on their hands. Shortly after, clippings from Ok, my first question is why have I not read an Erica Spindler novel before!? Seriously, The Other Girl was SO good and I need more of this writing!Miranda Rader is a detective for the Harmony, Louisiana police department. Murder scenes are usually no big deal when you’ve seen it all before, except for the murder of the towns most successful and loved college professor. Gruesome and no doubt a revenge crime, Miranda and her partner have quite a case on their hands. Shortly after, clippings from a nightmare of Miranda’s past show up, and then fingerprints and another murder. They all only have one thing in common, Miranda.I couldn’t put this book down, I was reading through these pages like rapid fire! The Other Girl flows so well and it’s just begging to be read.Miranda was such a fascinating character to me, she grew up in a trailer park in Jasper, Louisiana. She had two older brother’s and an attitude to go right a long with it.Smoking, drinking, lying…This book is really about following Miranda’s journey, past and present and I loved learning about her wild teenage years and what happened fifteen years ago that got her to where she is now. The author wrote a very strong female character and I really appreciated it.There’s so much suspense and longing for answers while reading this. For me, a mystery is all about just wanting to figure out what happens next and what that big twist will do to you. Even though I predicted the ending a little bit, it still didn’t lose it’s suspense feeling which is what I was looking for.Plus, there’s some romance sprinkled in-between these pages and it was hot! I was so surprised by it but it totally got two thumbs up by me for throwing that curveball in there.I thought The Other Girl had a pretty solid pace, the only thing I thought was a bit of a bummer was the ending. I just wanted so much more out of it, I wanted to know what the aftermath for everyone involved was, but more on how they felt about it if that makes sense. It was a bit rushed and I just didn’t feel closure I guess is what I’m trying to get at.Overall though, I really enjoyed this book and it’s a great story. Now the only thing I need to do is read more from this author, she defiantly writes my kind of mysteries! The Other Girl should be on your radar for August!
    more
  • Christine Moore
    July 20, 2017
    A great thrilling fast paced suspense book that kept me up late into the night then picking up again first thing in the morning! Miranda is a police officer in the town she grew up in. She and her partner are called to the scene of a murder and all the evidence points to Miranda. Miranda must figure out who is trying to frame her and who the murderer is and clear her name. It was a great book and I can't wait for the author's next book!!! Thank you to NetGalley and St. Martin's Press for an ARC A great thrilling fast paced suspense book that kept me up late into the night then picking up again first thing in the morning! Miranda is a police officer in the town she grew up in. She and her partner are called to the scene of a murder and all the evidence points to Miranda. Miranda must figure out who is trying to frame her and who the murderer is and clear her name. It was a great book and I can't wait for the author's next book!!! Thank you to NetGalley and St. Martin's Press for an ARC in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Dee
    July 28, 2017
    Review to follow
  • Vanessa
    June 25, 2017
    This one is really good. I couldn't put it down. It definitely took way less than a day to read it. I had to force myself to stop periodically so that I could accomplish other things, but it was definitely a struggle. If all books were like this, I'd probably starve because no way would I ever leave my apartment. In this, Miranda is a cop in a small town and her past is about to come back to haunt her. A beloved professor is found murdered in a rather unsavory manner and the clues are pointing t This one is really good. I couldn't put it down. It definitely took way less than a day to read it. I had to force myself to stop periodically so that I could accomplish other things, but it was definitely a struggle. If all books were like this, I'd probably starve because no way would I ever leave my apartment. In this, Miranda is a cop in a small town and her past is about to come back to haunt her. A beloved professor is found murdered in a rather unsavory manner and the clues are pointing to Miranda as the murderer. I hope that doesn't give too much away. It is so gripping. I recommend this to anyone that enjoys a good mystery. It gets extra points because I didn't figure it out until the main character did.
    more
  • Paula DeBoard
    June 23, 2017
    I read this in two sittings (erm, walks on treadmill). Fast-paced narrative of a detective investigating a present-day crime that dredges up a horrible incident from her past.
  • Shannon (Mrsreadsbooks)
    June 16, 2017
    This is the first book I have read by Erica Spindler and although it was interesting, it wasn't my favorite. I really enjoy thrillers and suspense, but I am not really a fan of police based thrillers. But the synopsis sounded interesting, so I decided to read it.Our main character Miranda Radar is an officer in Louisiana, but she came from a very small town where she had a rather rough and traumatic past. Miranda and her partner are called to the murder of one of the town's most loved and well r This is the first book I have read by Erica Spindler and although it was interesting, it wasn't my favorite. I really enjoy thrillers and suspense, but I am not really a fan of police based thrillers. But the synopsis sounded interesting, so I decided to read it.Our main character Miranda Radar is an officer in Louisiana, but she came from a very small town where she had a rather rough and traumatic past. Miranda and her partner are called to the murder of one of the town's most loved and well respected college professors, where she finds a piece of evidence linking her traumatic past to the murder. The book is filled with action and suspense, I just personally didn't really like the police story line. I felt like I was reading an episode of Law and Order or a similar show. Which isn't necessarily a bad thing, just not really my style. Miranda as a character is a fairly strong and likeable woman, as are most of the other characters, who are mostly other detectives and police officers. I enjoyed the author's writing and the plot does move along at a fairly steady pace, although slightly predictable at times. I am sure that fans of Spindler and/or police/detective books will really like this book.Thank you to the publisher for sending me an ARC.
    more
  • Melanie Johnson
    July 9, 2017
    A prominent professor has been killed in Louisiana and Miranda is the detective that is handling the case. Quickly she realizes that this killing is connected to something in her past, so it is up to her to find out who killed the professor and how it connects to her. There is also a romantic plot line in the novel so that it is very similar to a Debra Webb or Wendi Corsi Staub novel. A quick read for me on a Saturday afternoon and enjoyed it very much. Thanks to NetGalley for the advanced copy A prominent professor has been killed in Louisiana and Miranda is the detective that is handling the case. Quickly she realizes that this killing is connected to something in her past, so it is up to her to find out who killed the professor and how it connects to her. There is also a romantic plot line in the novel so that it is very similar to a Debra Webb or Wendi Corsi Staub novel. A quick read for me on a Saturday afternoon and enjoyed it very much. Thanks to NetGalley for the advanced copy in return for an honest review.
    more
  • Judy Collins
    July 30, 2017
    5 Stars ++ Top Books of 2017! Loved . . . "Unputdownable!" A special thank you to St. Martin's Press and NetGalley for an early reading copy. Review to follow.
  • Betty
    July 20, 2017
    Review coming soon.
Write a review