Rising Star
Rising Star is the definitive account of Barack Obama's formative years that made him the man who became the forty-fourth president of the United States—from the Pulitzer Prize-winning author of Bearing the CrossBarack Obama's speech at the 2004 Democratic National Convention instantly catapulted him into the national spotlight and led to his election four years later as America's first African-American president. In this penetrating biography, David J. Garrow delivers an epic work about the life of Barack Obama, creating a rich tapestry of a life little understood, until now.Rising Star: The Making of Barack Obama captivatingly describes Barack Obama's tumultuous upbringing as a young black man attending an almost-all-white, elite private school in Honolulu while being raised almost exclusively by his white grandparents. After recounting Obama's college years in California and New York, Garrow charts Obama's time as a Chicago community organizer, working in some of the city's roughest neighborhoods; his years at the top of his Harvard Law School class; and his return to Chicago, where Obama honed his skills as a hard-knuckled politician, first in the state legislature and then as a candidate for the United States Senate.Detailing a scintillating, behind-the-scenes account of Obama's 2004 speech, a moment that labeled him the Democratic Party's "rising star," Garrow also chronicles Obama's four years in the Senate, weighing his stands on various issues against positions he had taken years earlier, and recounts his thrilling run for the White House in 2008.In Rising Star, David J. Garrow has created a vivid portrait that reveals not only the people and forces that shaped the future president but also the ways in which he used those influences to serve his larger aspirations. This is a gripping read about a young man born into uncommon family circumstances, whose faith in his own talents came face-to-face with fantastic ambitions and a desire to do good in the world. Most important, Rising Star is an extraordinary work of biography—tremendous in its research and storytelling, and brilliant in its analysis of the all-too-human struggles of one of the most fascinating politicians of our time.

Rising Star Details

TitleRising Star
Author
Formatebook
ReleaseMay 9th, 2017
PublisherWilliam Morrow
ISBN0062641859
ISBN-139780062641854
Number of pages1,472 pages
Rating
GenreBiography, Politics, Nonfiction, History, Literature, 21st Century, Presidents, Us Presidents

Rising Star Review

  • Erin
    June 1, 2017
    The New York Times book review described Rising Star as "tedious & bloated" I agree 100%. Rising Star: The Making of Barack Obama is a mammoth endeavor. This book is very,very,very long and to make matters worse I didn't learn anything important that I didn't already know. This book could've really used a editor.. Badly. You would think at well over 1000 pages you would learn something about our 44th President but nope. Nothing.. The entire 8 year Obama Presidency is smushed into a 50 page e The New York Times book review described Rising Star as "tedious & bloated" I agree 100%. Rising Star: The Making of Barack Obama is a mammoth endeavor. This book is very,very,very long and to make matters worse I didn't learn anything important that I didn't already know. This book could've really used a editor.. Badly. You would think at well over 1000 pages you would learn something about our 44th President but nope. Nothing.. The entire 8 year Obama Presidency is smushed into a 50 page epilogue and described as a failure because Republicans didn't like him. I don't know the authors political affiliation but he doesn't appear to be a fan of Barack Obama. In my opinion the author had a clear agenda when writing this and he voices it throughout the book. It really seemed to bother the author that Obama chose to embrace his blackness. The author can't seem to understand why someone would choose to live in the black world when the white world had been so embracing. If you follow the authors reasoning the only reason Obama married Michelle is because she's black. The author also relies very heavily on the insights of a woman who was dumped by Obama 30 years ago( she seems to think he's miserable and would've been happier if they hadn't broken up). The author also seems to think that Obama is too ambitious and should've become a college professor or minister( basically Obama should've stayed in his place). I did learn a lot about about Chicago politics in the 1980's (though I still have no clue what an Alderman is). I also learned not to rely on the bitter musing of ex-girlfriend( did I mention how much happier he'd be if they were still together).I don't recommend this book. Popsugar 2017 Reading Challenge: Book with more than 800 pages.
    more
  • Lena♥Ribka
    May 9, 2017
    yes, I'm curious, but I'm not sure I can get through a 1461 pages long non fictional book... https://www.theguardian.com/us-news/2...
  • Owlseyes
    May 5, 2017
    Before Michelle, Barack Obama asked another woman to marry him. Then politics got in the way.in:https://www.washingtonpost.com/news/b...Obama biography stirs controversy with tales of politics, sex and a rising starin: https://www.theguardian.com/us-news/2... "it was...,guess who..."
    more
  • BonnieL
    May 22, 2017
    A difficult book to rate - with this genre, it's not really possible to "like" the book - it's more that one can appreciate the work without necessarily agreeing with the author or accepting his conclusions. The book is 1400+ pages, over 7 pounds, extremely small type. It seems to be meticulously researched, has 400 pages of notes, references and index. It ends just before the 2008 campaign so the author probably has a second volume planned. It is not particularly complimentary to the former Pre A difficult book to rate - with this genre, it's not really possible to "like" the book - it's more that one can appreciate the work without necessarily agreeing with the author or accepting his conclusions. The book is 1400+ pages, over 7 pounds, extremely small type. It seems to be meticulously researched, has 400 pages of notes, references and index. It ends just before the 2008 campaign so the author probably has a second volume planned. It is not particularly complimentary to the former President and will probably greatly offend his supporters and cause his detractors to say "I told you so - the press should have discovered all of this prior to the 2008 election". It certainly offers a detailed viewpoint of the former President that will intrigue presidential history buffs and it is certainly a counterbalance to the many, previously published, adoring titles already available.
    more
  • Ken Ransom
    May 28, 2017
    3-1/2OMG, at more than 1,084 pages (plus 275 pages of notes), Rising Star based on more than 1,000 interviews and consultations, and just about everything that was written about the 44th president. Sometimes the book feels tedious and just too much of a good thing. Incidents and Statements are repeated often enough that a reader might feel they've lost their place and were rereading what they'd already read. If there is an advantage to this it is that the reader can cherry pick those things that 3-1/2OMG, at more than 1,084 pages (plus 275 pages of notes), Rising Star based on more than 1,000 interviews and consultations, and just about everything that was written about the 44th president. Sometimes the book feels tedious and just too much of a good thing. Incidents and Statements are repeated often enough that a reader might feel they've lost their place and were rereading what they'd already read. If there is an advantage to this it is that the reader can cherry pick those things that correspond to their already held beliefs, e.g., Michael Obama should have bought stock in Disney since she appeared on so many of its TV shows, or Barack just might be a lot more impressive during his interviews for a job than he is at the job, or he is just so darn good, intelligent, funny, articulate, etc., that everybody realizes it as soon as they meet him. I think the author wanted us to share with the reader his belief that Obama was an efficient creator of himself, or at least giving that impression.Despite being really long the book manages to be interesting and readable for all of its pages and friend, foe, or just the curious will find something in it worth the time it took to read.
    more
  • Phil Oakley
    May 28, 2017
    The research in this book is phenomenal and exhaustive. It's a fascinating story, no matter how much any reader may know about the life of President Obama. However, David Garrow tarnishes his own hard work significantly and needlessly with a long epilogue that is at least 75 percent drivel and personal judgments the author probably doesn't have either the perspective or expertise to make. Sheila Jager is a fascinating character, but Garrow attached objectivity to her she is unlikely to have.
    more
Write a review