Ghosts (Hell Divers Trilogy, #2)
Ten years ago, Hell Diver Xavier “X” Rodriguez fell to Earth. Those he left behind went on without him aboard the airship he once called home.Michael Everheart -- the boy once known as Tin -- has grown into a man and the commander of Hell Diver Raptor Team. While Michael dives to help keep the Hive in the air, Captain Leon Jordan rules with an iron fist at the helm of the ship. But unrest stirs under his strict leadership as a prophecy of hope sweeps the lower decks.When a mysterious distress signal calls the Hell Divers to the surface, Michael and his loyal team begin to uncover long-buried truths and the secrets Captain Jordan will do anything to keep. They dive so humanity survives… but will they survive the ultimate betrayal?

Ghosts (Hell Divers Trilogy, #2) Details

TitleGhosts (Hell Divers Trilogy, #2)
Author
FormatKindle Edition
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJul 18th, 2017
PublisherBlackstone Publishing
Number of pages288 pages
Rating
GenreScience Fiction, Apocalyptic, Post Apocalyptic, Dystopia, Fiction

Readers also enjoyed


Ghosts (Hell Divers Trilogy, #2) Review

  • Kristen Burns
    March 23, 2017
    4 StarsReview:*I received an ecopy of this book via NetGalley. This has not influenced my review.*Much like the first book, this was an intense, gripping post-apocalyptic read. The world-building in this series is incredible and really makes me feel like I’m there, especially on the bleak, terrifying surface. The characters are all flawed and gruff, but most of them are still likeable and good people. The concept of the airship and the hell divers is such a unique one (I mean, come on, just look 4 StarsReview:*I received an ecopy of this book via NetGalley. This has not influenced my review.*Much like the first book, this was an intense, gripping post-apocalyptic read. The world-building in this series is incredible and really makes me feel like I’m there, especially on the bleak, terrifying surface. The characters are all flawed and gruff, but most of them are still likeable and good people. The concept of the airship and the hell divers is such a unique one (I mean, come on, just look at the kickass suit on the cover). In short—these books are so well thought-out and well-written, and there is so much to love about them.I felt like this book suffered a bit from middle book syndrome though. It seemed kind of repetitive (the ship was falling apart, hell divers had to go on dangerous missions, the surface was filled with mutated monsters that tried to kill them, etc.), and even though it did eventually start getting to the secrets mentioned in the blurb, it still seems like little actually happened plot-wise. But the things that did happen were significant, some info was found that shed more light on the world and the creatures, and it seems as though a lot of interesting stuff is going to happen in the next book.There was one major difference between this book and the first one though, and that was the main characters. I admit I was disappointed to find out X wouldn’t be a main character in this one since, to put it simply, his character was awesome, but all the hell diver POV characters were just as unique and well-written. I’ve read a lot of books lately in which all the third person POVs sounded the same, but I never found myself getting confused about whose POV I was in while reading this book. And for anyone who has finished Book 1 but is unsure about whether to continue because of the ending, *SPOILER* (view spoiler)[he survived! And although he did not make an appearance in this book, aside from the prologue, he is presumed to still be alive, and it seems likely he’ll make an appearance again in Book 3. (hide spoiler)] *END SPOILER*There was also Captain Jordan instead of Captain Ash this time, and JORDAN WAS AN AWFUL PERSON. He liked to pretend he had the best interests of all the people on the ship at heart, but most of his decisions were actually as selfish as selfish can get. If you like a good hate-able antagonist to root against, you won’t be disappointed. *SPOILER* (view spoiler)[It was funny, he made up a story about how the hell divers were planning to kill him, even though they weren’t, but, in a sort of self-fulfilling prophecy kind of way, they did all want to kill him by the end. (hide spoiler)] *END SPOILER*Overall, despite some repetition in the plot, this was a gripping book that I didn’t want to put down with flawed but good-hearted characters, intense scenes, and a unique, complex post-apocalyptic world!Recommended For:Fans of Book 1 in Nicholas Sanbury Smith's Hell Divers Series. Anyone looking for a crazy, intense, gritty, gripping, unique post-apocalyptic story and gruff, flawed, but still likeable characters. Original Review @ Metaphors and Moonlight
    more
  • Michael Hicks
    July 1, 2017
    Readers of the first Hell Divers novel will feel right at home with Ghosts, Smith's follow-up to last year's hit. Set ten years after the shocking ending of volume one in this trilogy, the Hell Divers continue to deploy from their airship to explore the poisoned, desolate remains of an uninhabitable Earth. This elite squad of future soldiers are constantly searching for parts to keep the Hive afloat and in one piece, a task easier said than done for a centuries old airship that has seen far bett Readers of the first Hell Divers novel will feel right at home with Ghosts, Smith's follow-up to last year's hit. Set ten years after the shocking ending of volume one in this trilogy, the Hell Divers continue to deploy from their airship to explore the poisoned, desolate remains of an uninhabitable Earth. This elite squad of future soldiers are constantly searching for parts to keep the Hive afloat and in one piece, a task easier said than done for a centuries old airship that has seen far better days. Adding to the importance of each mission is the unstated fact that humanity itself depends on their success. Aboard the Hive are four hundred souls, the last of a very nearly extinct human race.Adding to the stakes in Ghosts are a duplicitous captain seeking to keep secret the truth of what waits below on the devastated planet. As certain factions aboard the Hive get closer to uncovering his lies, Captain Jordan will go to any lengths to keep those secrets hidden, including betraying the Hell Divers.If you've been reading Smith's work for any length of time, then you'll know what to expect here - lots of frenetic military action and plenty of high-stakes adventure set against a high concept sci-fi backdrop, with plenty of horrifying, bloodthirsty monsters thrown into the mix. Hell Divers II: Ghosts has all this, plus a few new wrinkles to broaden the scope of the overarching Hell Divers story. This is a fun, fast-paced read and it sets the stage for a big, wild, head-long race to the finish in next year's Deliverance.[Note: I received an advanced copy of this title from the publisher via NetGalley.]
    more
  • Greg at 2 Book Lovers Reviews
    July 18, 2017
    *4.5 StarsI love a summer sequel; getting reacquainted with some old friends, making some new ones and just enjoying the time spent together. The familiarity of the sequel is comforting. I am already invested in the world, I know the backstory, and I have an idea of where I would like the adventure to go. Ghosts fits the summer sequel spot superbly.In all honesty, I think that Hell Divers #2 had some challenges to overcome. You see, I felt like the original was a complete story. I didn’t think t *4.5 StarsI love a summer sequel; getting reacquainted with some old friends, making some new ones and just enjoying the time spent together. The familiarity of the sequel is comforting. I am already invested in the world, I know the backstory, and I have an idea of where I would like the adventure to go. Ghosts fits the summer sequel spot superbly.In all honesty, I think that Hell Divers #2 had some challenges to overcome. You see, I felt like the original was a complete story. I didn’t think that I needed anything more, but curiosity got the best of me and I jumped at the opportunity to read book #2. Well, Sansbury Smith kicked this one off with an unexpected bang and I was on board. He created a necessity where there was none.With X out of the picture, we have a new hero. Our little friend Tin from book #1 is all grown up and has enlisted in the family business. He is the perfect hero to pick up where X left off. He is everything that X is not, yet the two have so much in common. As a reader, I was glad to see that things worked out for Tin, as much as they could in this environment. It was good to see him come into his own. Tin is not X, but he is just as complex. The supporting cast contained a mix of new and familiar faces, each one critical in moving the story forward. The villain, well, he is just pure “Dr. Evil”, I loved to hate him.Ghosts was a great story that pulled me further into the franchise. Unlike book #1, this story is not over, the shit has really hit the fan and I’ll be sticking around to find out where it all lands. I have a summer sequel for 2018 already on my list.​*I received a copy of the book from the publisher (via NetGalley) in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • PHYL
    June 28, 2017
    This is another excellent book written by the very creative author, Nicholas Sansbury Smith. The story picks up 10 years after Hell Divers 1 left off. It is a fast paced adrenaline rush! The characters are interesting, different and well developed. I think all readers of Dystopian/Sci-Fi will enjoy this story. . I received an advance review copy from the publisher in return for an honest review.
    more
  • J.J. Nordman
    June 20, 2017
    I won this book as a giveaway. I really enjoyed it without having read the first, but probably best to read in order. Looking forward to the next book. I like post-apocalyptic fiction and this book didn't disappoint. It has an excellent story that I couldn't put this book down. It is action filled and I enjoyed the way the story is written and how the characters are developed.
    more
  • Lisa Omstead
    May 12, 2017
    If you’re on blood pressure medication, you might want to swallow that pill just prior to reading HD2. This remarkable series continues to ramp up the suspense. Ten years after Xavier “X” Rodriguez was left behind on earth’s horrific surface, the dwindling survivors aboard the airship Hive are running out of time. Strong writing and an ingenious plot line meld to create an outstanding work of post-apocalyptic fiction! Looking forward to HD3 and more adventures with the stalwart "RodgeMan".*I was If you’re on blood pressure medication, you might want to swallow that pill just prior to reading HD2. This remarkable series continues to ramp up the suspense. Ten years after Xavier “X” Rodriguez was left behind on earth’s horrific surface, the dwindling survivors aboard the airship Hive are running out of time. Strong writing and an ingenious plot line meld to create an outstanding work of post-apocalyptic fiction! Looking forward to HD3 and more adventures with the stalwart "RodgeMan".*I was given an ARC in return for an honest review.
    more
  • That Girl KL.
    July 24, 2017
    is book #3 out yet..? I FREAKIN' NEED IT NOW. Awesomeness.
  • Nikki
    July 12, 2017
    Worst part about reading a NSS book? Having to wait a whole year for the next one!! WAAAAA!!!Review to come.
  • Kim
    July 24, 2017
    It's nearly impossible to describe this book without a major spoiler for the first book in the series. If you'd like to keep that a surprise before you read it, here's the place to stop.When book one of the Hill Divers trilogy ended, X (Xavier Rodriguez) was floating in space having missed his rendezvous with the main ship. He had fought off the hideous siren monsters that had followed him up into the stratosphere. Wounded and bound to fall back to earth it was pretty clear that he was dead.Book It's nearly impossible to describe this book without a major spoiler for the first book in the series. If you'd like to keep that a surprise before you read it, here's the place to stop.When book one of the Hill Divers trilogy ended, X (Xavier Rodriguez) was floating in space having missed his rendezvous with the main ship. He had fought off the hideous siren monsters that had followed him up into the stratosphere. Wounded and bound to fall back to earth it was pretty clear that he was dead.Book two opens with the surprising information that X survived. He's now alone back on an earth that is a nuclear wasteland with massive storms sweeping through and monsters everywhere. Making his way around the area where he fell back to earth he's found weapons, a cache of food, and, in a cryogenics lab, found frozen people and one frozen dog. He thawed out the dog, made protective clothing for it and now has a companion. He also found a way to send radio signals.The story jumps to eight years later. There have been major changes in the ship. Captain Ashe retired and, shortly after, died of cancer ... a common disease for many on the ship now circling the globe. The new captain is Leon Jordan, who has developed a relationship with X's love interest Katrina. Captain Jordan is overcautious. He'll barely let the Hell Divers make worthwhile dives for replacement equipment. He's also become a paranoid leader. Worse yet, he has received information that a message has been received from survivors on earth. He also knows that X survived and has been signalling the ship, but he's determined to "protect" Katrina from the information.With the growing intrigue on the ship some of the Hell Divers discover information about the survivor's message along with information that the monsters on earth were part of a genetics project before the bombs hit.As with the last book, Smith writes top-notch heroes and great action sequences. The new generation of Hell Divers has a great collection of men and women willing to risk their lives to keep the ship working. But now they need to go against orders on a drop to earth, and into one of the dangerous "red zones", to look for survivors and also to investigate a secret plan that the previous captain had to move the population of the ship down to earth and underground, sure that this last ship can't stay in the sky forever.Other than X only being part of the beginning and ending of the book, this second volume reads much the same as the first one in the trilogy.  If you read and liked that one, as I did, this one will not be a disappointment other than the need to adjust to a new cast of characters. 
    more
  • Toad Oliver
    July 31, 2017
    This is an excellent follow up to book 1. Nicholas Sansbury Smith has become one of my favorite authors! I am loving this series so far. Lots of action! It's not your typical post apocalyptic series. This series takes place 250 years after WW3. Humanity has been forced to live in sky ships where it is safer. The planet is full of mutated life and electrical storms. This is one of those books you just can't put down! Great narration by R. C. Bray! He is one of the best narrators out there in my o This is an excellent follow up to book 1. Nicholas Sansbury Smith has become one of my favorite authors! I am loving this series so far. Lots of action! It's not your typical post apocalyptic series. This series takes place 250 years after WW3. Humanity has been forced to live in sky ships where it is safer. The planet is full of mutated life and electrical storms. This is one of those books you just can't put down! Great narration by R. C. Bray! He is one of the best narrators out there in my opinion. Looking forward to book 3!
    more
  • Felicia
    July 19, 2017
    Set 10 years since "X" was left on the surface, the Hell Divers are still diving to the planet. Absolutely loved this one..even better than the first one, if that's possible. The Hell Divers are sent on a one-way mission, (they don't know) but that won't stop them. Death awaits on the dying planet and again they must battle for their lives. Nicholas a Sansbury Smith does not disappoint with this book. The action never ends, the characters are amazing, and the end of the book leaves you wanting m Set 10 years since "X" was left on the surface, the Hell Divers are still diving to the planet. Absolutely loved this one..even better than the first one, if that's possible. The Hell Divers are sent on a one-way mission, (they don't know) but that won't stop them. Death awaits on the dying planet and again they must battle for their lives. Nicholas a Sansbury Smith does not disappoint with this book. The action never ends, the characters are amazing, and the end of the book leaves you wanting more. Great job!!
    more
  • Tanya Procknow
    April 12, 2017
    While I may not have started reading if I had known they were to be a trilogy, I'm glad I did. This one continued with nonstop action. It picked up the story ten years later and added to the characters flawlessly. You learn more about what brought about the changes in the world. And then with a surprise...its continued! Thanks Netgalley for the arc.
    more
  • Melissa Levine
    July 4, 2017
    Let me start by saying that it was my husband who got me to listen (audiobook) to book 1 of this series. Needless to say, it caught and held my attention throughout. The author, whom he speaks to/follows on Facebook provided him with a copy of book 2. While my husband isn't a big reader, per se, he'd rather listen to a story than have to read it himself, I am. And on that note, I just finished book 2 and wow! There was so much that took place this time around with a variety of characters that I Let me start by saying that it was my husband who got me to listen (audiobook) to book 1 of this series. Needless to say, it caught and held my attention throughout. The author, whom he speaks to/follows on Facebook provided him with a copy of book 2. While my husband isn't a big reader, per se, he'd rather listen to a story than have to read it himself, I am. And on that note, I just finished book 2 and wow! There was so much that took place this time around with a variety of characters that I had a hard time not finishing the story in a single sitting. There were several surprises in this one that really had me going and glad I decided to continue on with book 2. I do have to mention that there were several times when I noticed the author forgot to include either a beginning or ending quote to dialogue (had to mention this because that's who I am), yet it wasn't detracting to the story because the story, overall, was just that good.The reason I gave this one 4 stars instead of 5 stars, I'm thinking is because I had to read this one unlike book 1 which I listened to. Since I don't usually go for these type of stories (action), having to read all the action...well, I ended up skipping over parts because it felt a little excessive to me. Again, I'm not a big action kind of person. How was X's death actually confirmed? I couldn't figure that out from book 1. Even in book 2 Weaver comments that he, Magnolia and Katrina had all witnessed his death.He'd only been keeping track of his time in Hades for a year and then gave up, yet, him supposedly having been there for two years is repeatedly mentioned.Interesting he was in the same area as he and the other hell divers were, yet, there are carnivorous plants now...There's a room that had enough "stuff" to last 500 years? That seems a little bit...questionable. Humans had created a battery of sorts that would last "...another 250 years..." where he found Miles and where other animals were located? And he had planned on leaving this magical place? In the end, I would definitely recommend this series to others and can't wait for book 3 to come out.
    more
  • Susan
    June 29, 2017
    Outstanding book! The story begins 10 years after the conclusion of book one. Since WWIII, Earth has been uninhabitable. Orbiting Earth, in a ship called, "The Hive," is what is left of the human race. Living and surviving on the ship is challenging, and conditions are worsening. An elite group of men and women called Hell Divers, make periodic trips to the planet. They search for much needed parts, equipment, and other necessities. While scavenging, they must deal with high levels of radiation, Outstanding book! The story begins 10 years after the conclusion of book one. Since WWIII, Earth has been uninhabitable. Orbiting Earth, in a ship called, "The Hive," is what is left of the human race. Living and surviving on the ship is challenging, and conditions are worsening. An elite group of men and women called Hell Divers, make periodic trips to the planet. They search for much needed parts, equipment, and other necessities. While scavenging, they must deal with high levels of radiation, inhuman beings that seek to kill them, and numerous other hazards. During a severe storm, damage occurs that has incapacitated the ship. As divers attempt to make repairs to the outside of the vessel, the storm worsens and one diver falls from the ship and out of reach of the other divers. What follows is a story of intense drama, action, thrills and mystery. Was the Hell Divers fall an accident? What are the leaders of The Hive keeping from the people? Are there really no other humans on Earth? If you love action-packed, edge-of-your-seat, nail-biting suspense, this book is for you! I can hardly wait for the third and last book.I received an ARC in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Gregoire
    July 25, 2017
    un 5 étoiles pour l'action, l'atmosphère angoissante au possible, le caractère héroïque de ces "hell divers" et celui, plus médiocrement humain, du nouveau capitaine du Hive Une vision dantesque d'une terre et d'une humanité au bord de l'extinction ...mais que je hais les séries !!! il va falloir attendre semble-t-il 2018 pour avoir la suite (et fin ?) alors pour me venger, je n'ai pas mis de note NAH ;-))
    more
  • Sabrina
    July 30, 2017
    A fantastic sequel to the riveting 'Hell Divers' series! With post-apocalyptic and sci-fi blended together into an incredible adrenaline-fueled story, this book was almost impossible to put down!The characters are so real and vivid as they attempt to survive in such a dangerous environment. It was absolutely amazing!Without leaving any spoilers, I will only say that I love and fully recommend this series... And I can't wait for the third book! Incredibly well done!
    more
  • Michael Flanagan
    July 15, 2017
    Sooner are later I am expecting Nicholas Sansbury Smith to drop the ball. Surely he can't keep up this pace whilst maintaining the quality. Well in his this second instalment of the Hell Diver Trilogy he has managed to deliver yet another top notch read. Ghosts takes us back into the world ripped apart from a nuclear war with a handful of humans fighting for survival. After the explosive first book the author takes no hostages in the second. The Hell Divers seek the truth the only was they no kn Sooner are later I am expecting Nicholas Sansbury Smith to drop the ball. Surely he can't keep up this pace whilst maintaining the quality. Well in his this second instalment of the Hell Diver Trilogy he has managed to deliver yet another top notch read. Ghosts takes us back into the world ripped apart from a nuclear war with a handful of humans fighting for survival. After the explosive first book the author takes no hostages in the second. The Hell Divers seek the truth the only was they no know how, they dive to survive.This book was responsible for my blood pressure going sky high as the tension at times become unbearable. Nicholas Sansbury Smith definitely knows how to tell a great yarn again and again.
    more
  • Nathan Yokoyama
    June 30, 2017
    I had been eagerly awaiting for the second book of Hell Divers and was not disappointed in the least! The action was gripping and felt very real. We meet some new characters which I really liked and finally found out what happened to X. I love the world the author has created and am really looking forward to the third book!
    more
  • Barb Gunzenhauser
    July 8, 2017
    Nicholas has done it again. This book is all action. It is better if you read Hell Divers I first. The characters are well developed and the kind of people who you can really get to know and like. Can't wait to get the next one!
  • Yalonda Butler
    June 29, 2017
    OMG! This 2nd book in this series is even better than the first if you can believe that! NSS delivers some high octane action in this book. It'll make you mad, sad and laugh all within a few pages of each other. Pick your copy up today to continue this exciting saga!
    more
  • PJ Lea
    July 27, 2017
    Who survives?Stunning sequel that thrills from beginning to end. A heck of a rollercoaster ride, leaving a cliffhanger that begs for the next book to be read.
  • Jenny
    June 23, 2017
    OMG! How can I give this more than 5 stars? It's more like 10 stars! SO good there are no words but ...Intense. Jaw Dropping. AMAZING! Didn't get to see much of my favorite character X. But, I love Rodger and Michael. Loved it and can't wait for Deliverance!!
    more
  • andrew jackson
    June 28, 2017
    Ghost a very fitting title, for the ghosts from your past can haunt your every minute or could be the salvation the Human race needs. Nicholas has brought new characters to life to join old ones from the first book. One is Rodger , who seems to be a brave diver but shy around Magnolia, one he is very interested in and even carved her a special item out of wood which is hard to find in a world destroyed. A new captain runs the Hive with a nefarious hand. Treachery is afoot while he gets to malcon Ghost a very fitting title, for the ghosts from your past can haunt your every minute or could be the salvation the Human race needs. Nicholas has brought new characters to life to join old ones from the first book. One is Rodger , who seems to be a brave diver but shy around Magnolia, one he is very interested in and even carved her a special item out of wood which is hard to find in a world destroyed. A new captain runs the Hive with a nefarious hand. Treachery is afoot while he gets to malcontent while the Divers seem the truth and learn X is still alive. Now we have to wait for book three Deliverance to see if Rodger, Magnolia, Michael find X and safety for them and the rest of humanity. We Dive so that humanity survives.
    more
  • Leslie Bryant
    March 30, 2017
    Stunned! Totally stunned at this harrowing book by Nick Smith. Literally had to stop reading, step away, look around, take a deep breath, and then immerse myself back into this incredible book. The first book was wonderful but this one surpasses even what I expected from Nick. Absolutely no spoilers- but wow, just wow! Such a big smile on my face! And boy is next year not going to be soon enough. Very excellent job Nick. As a Helldiver says "Handle your present with confidence. Face your future Stunned! Totally stunned at this harrowing book by Nick Smith. Literally had to stop reading, step away, look around, take a deep breath, and then immerse myself back into this incredible book. The first book was wonderful but this one surpasses even what I expected from Nick. Absolutely no spoilers- but wow, just wow! Such a big smile on my face! And boy is next year not going to be soon enough. Very excellent job Nick. As a Helldiver says "Handle your present with confidence. Face your future without fear."
    more
  • Josh Levine
    July 26, 2017
    What an emotional roller coaster! My favorite author’s work being read by my favorite narrator, what a ride. This is the series that introduced me to, and hooked me on, Nicholas Sansbury Smith’s works late last year. To say that I have been anxious for the first sequel in this trilogy would be the understatement of the century. This was a sequel that was worth the wait and then some.Let me start by saying that the transition from the first book to the second was very well done. The opening to th What an emotional roller coaster! My favorite author’s work being read by my favorite narrator, what a ride. This is the series that introduced me to, and hooked me on, Nicholas Sansbury Smith’s works late last year. To say that I have been anxious for the first sequel in this trilogy would be the understatement of the century. This was a sequel that was worth the wait and then some.Let me start by saying that the transition from the first book to the second was very well done. The opening to this book picked up right where I am certain every fan of the series wanted it to. What happened to X? Where has he been? Did he even survive? I now know the answer and, to steal a quote from the Starship Troopers movie, “I would like to know more”.This was a book that I wanted to push through as quickly as possible, but also didn’t want to finish because I know part three is some time off still. I couldn’t wait to start the book and watched as I became more and more depressed as the time on the Audible app ticked down to the end of the story. There were times I considered slowing down the narration just to make the story last longer. Nick uses his masterful writing and descriptive talents to bring us up-to-date, 10 years later, about the status of X, the hell divers, and the other citizens of the Hive. I was almost taken aback mid-book as I listened to R.C. Bray narrate his purposeful mispronunciations of the names of US cities and America, only to realize that I would have understood had I read the physical book. My wife had to set me straight on this one.As I said above, there were several key emotional scenes throughout this story that had me angry, upset, and intrigued. The issues surrounding Janga and her prophecies (I came to refer to her as The Oracle) brought about great anger later in the story. Witnessing the evolution of Michael (Tin) from the timid boy to the commander of a Hell Diver team was like watching the child you once knew grow up into a successful adult. The new monsters (Vultures, eyeball creatures, and the vines) left me imagining them the story progressed and I listened to Nick’s vivid descriptions. The origins of the creatures on the surface is explained in this chapter of the series and helps paint a new picture on whether or not humanity actually stands a chance at survival. The challenge, of course, is whether or not the hive will actually make it to the surface given the drama surrounding the new pilot of the Hive. To give you an idea of what I mean, I will give you a simple quote from the book: “There is no room for mercy in the sky”. This entry in the series is filled with just about every thematic element I could think of. Relationship building, betrayal, drama, action, horror, suspense, it is all there. And it is all masterfully tied together through Nick’s wordsmithing skills. There is a new team bond formed and I can say that I am proudly a member of Team Rodgnolia. If you have not listened to the first entry in this series yet, please do so; you will not regret it. If you have, then what are you reading my review for as you already know the awesomeness that surrounds this series. Go forth and read/listen! If you have read the books, I highly recommend giving the Audible narration a try as R.C. Bray does an absolutely fantastic job of bringing Nick’s words to life. This is an easy 5/5 although I am now saddened about having to leave as I now know that I have to wait for the conclusion. At just over 8 hours, this is a book where you will find yourself wishing it were twice that length.
    more
  • Thomas Murphy
    July 17, 2017
    This is the second installment of the Hell Divers Trilogy, and it did not disappoint. I Loved the first book in this series. It had a fresh new take on a dystopian world that I hadn't read before then. Ghosts carried that feeling in spades. There were many great things about the book, a lot of good things, and some not so great.The Great:The author does an amazing job keeping you on the edge of your seat. The world that he depicts is unrivaled in its detail an originality. There are points, espe This is the second installment of the Hell Divers Trilogy, and it did not disappoint. I Loved the first book in this series. It had a fresh new take on a dystopian world that I hadn't read before then. Ghosts carried that feeling in spades. There were many great things about the book, a lot of good things, and some not so great.The Great:The author does an amazing job keeping you on the edge of your seat. The world that he depicts is unrivaled in its detail an originality. There are points, especially on the airship, that you feel as though you are watching the event unfold in front of your eyes. The way that the characters are all flawed in their own way just creates a world that you feel you are a part of; hating some loving others. (view spoiler)[ The rollercoaster that this book takes you on is finding which characters to truly like and dislike. Some that you start out rooting for turn out to be rotten eggs, while others you started out hating turned out to be not so bad. A prime example of the former is Captain Jordan. He starts out great, especially if you remember him from the first book. Then he turns sour real quick. (hide spoiler)]The Good:The plot line was pretty decent. It furthered the primary plot from the first book in the series forward; advancing the overall story line while giving the reader small tidbits of information that felt lacking in the first book. As I said, the level of detail is amazing (sometimes I feel as though I am walking through the story with the characters); that said it is sometimes misplaced. Some scenarios are written in much more detail than it feels necessary. While this helps create the overall world, it feels like it detracts from the real juicy parts of the story that you want.The not so great (but still pretty good):(view spoiler)[The first book in the series followed a Hell Diver named X. He has survived the end of book one, and returns for the prologue. I really wish that he had a larger role in this installment. This doesn't make the book bad, just my personal preference. You had an extremely difficult time not rooting for X in his exploits. Now in book two, he seems more a pushed to the way side kind of character. (hide spoiler)]Overall I give this book a solid 4 stars. I highly recommend it to anyone that is looking for that something different in their library.
    more
  • Jjceo
    May 30, 2017
    This is an excellent story that I couldn't stop reading! It has suspense and action on every page!This is the second book of the series and it is excellent. It is a post WW III story and it is 10 years after the first book A new set of younger characters are involved in the story and the operation of the Hive air ship. The Hive is the last of its kind in the world and may be the only home for the last humans alive on Earth. The Hive is a massive airship that is well over 260 years old. Unfortuna This is an excellent story that I couldn't stop reading! It has suspense and action on every page!This is the second book of the series and it is excellent. It is a post WW III story and it is 10 years after the first book A new set of younger characters are involved in the story and the operation of the Hive air ship. The Hive is the last of its kind in the world and may be the only home for the last humans alive on Earth. The Hive is a massive airship that is well over 260 years old. Unfortunately it is a wreck because of its age and the shortage of fuel and spare parts. The new generation of Hell Divers still risk their lives to help humanity live. The new Captain, Leon Jordan, is hiding secrets from the entire crew. The previous Captain shared them with him before she died. Jordan will do anything to hide the truth from the crew and passengers of the Hive. He will kill and even sacrifice his most valuable and loyal crewmen. He believes that only he knows the way for the people on the Hive to survive, but what if he is wrong? The Hell Divers are sent to the ground on an impossible mission with little chance of surviving. They have to face mutant killer species, a deadly environment and carnivorous plants. They discover what really caused the mutants and a possible way to survive. They also know that they have been tricked and sent out to die by Captain Jordan. The only problem is that they have to get back to the Hive before they all die or else they can't share the truth……..This is an excellent book. It is action filled and I loved the way the story is told and how the characters are developed. Nicholas Smith has become a top class author and I like his writing a lot. I have purchased all of his books on Amazon an I highly recommend them all to you. This new series of Hell Divers is especially well written and I rated this story at five stars. It is full of action.I was able to read an Advanced Review Copy of the book for this review. I have already purchased the preorder version of the Kindle book from Amazon.
    more
  • laurel [suspected bibliophile]
    July 19, 2017
    Returning to the dystopian world of a radioactive and scorched earth, we discover that X didn’t die in the first book. He survived, and began to make his way across the wastelands of the United States from Hades to the east coast . . . but did he make it, or not?Ten years later, Michael aka Tin and the other Hell Divers begin to discover that Captain Jordan has been withholding information. In a desperate attempt to force his people to realize that the only chance for survival is to continue abo Returning to the dystopian world of a radioactive and scorched earth, we discover that X didn’t die in the first book. He survived, and began to make his way across the wastelands of the United States from Hades to the east coast . . . but did he make it, or not?Ten years later, Michael aka Tin and the other Hell Divers begin to discover that Captain Jordan has been withholding information. In a desperate attempt to force his people to realize that the only chance for survival is to continue aboard the Hive, Jordan sends a team down to search for survivors from a mystery SOS beacon. But did anyone survive the 260 years of hell? Or it is another trap for the Hell Divers?This is a non-stop adrenaline rush of action, monsters and terror wrapped around the question of the price for humanity’s survival. One question is never asked but haunted me throughout the course of the book—at what point do we cease being human? As before, each character wants to survive against the ever mounting odds and a steadily failing ship, but their ideas for salvation all differ, making the different objectives and the consequences of their choices play out in deadly and destructive ways. (view spoiler)[ The only downside to this book is that as I got more and more invested in the story—seriously, it flies by—I began to realize that the ever diminishing pages weren’t going to resolve all of the loose threads. The good news? There’s going to be a third book. The bad? Not much gets answered here in book 2 and now I’m left with a burning desire to see how it all turns out. (hide spoiler)]I received this ARC from NetGalley for an honest review.
    more
  • Heather Duff
    July 21, 2017
    Usually after I've read the first book in a series and I've really enjoyed it, I long for the second book. When that second book lands in my hand then the nerves set in, will it be as good as the first book, will the characters that I have invested my time in still be worth reading about.Hell Divers II - Ghosts thankfully is I feel better than the first book, it is sent ten years after the events that left X Rodriguez stranded on the godforsaken planet that was destroyed during WW3. A new crew o Usually after I've read the first book in a series and I've really enjoyed it, I long for the second book. When that second book lands in my hand then the nerves set in, will it be as good as the first book, will the characters that I have invested my time in still be worth reading about.Hell Divers II - Ghosts thankfully is I feel better than the first book, it is sent ten years after the events that left X Rodriguez stranded on the godforsaken planet that was destroyed during WW3. A new crew of Hell Divers are on duty and a new ship's captain.The main Hell Diver is Michael aka Tin from book one, now grown up he is following in his late father and his late guardian X's footsteps. I won't go in depth with the story but this instalment centres around a mysterious signal that has been received from down below on Earth. As we discovered in the last book the planet below is far from empty but the creatures that roam the planet are far from friendly and they are in the way of the Hell Divers getting to the source of the signal.Is there anyone left alive down there after all these years and why is the Captain hiding another transmission that has been broadcast?I really enjoyed this, the setting is still hellish and perfectly described. The creatures down below are still murderous and what I liked was that you get an idea of exactly how the came about.This series has gotten better which is a rare treat and has me very hopeful for the next book.Thank you to Blackstone for providing me with a copy in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Cheryl
    June 30, 2017
    The future of Earth looks bleak but the characters are kick a**First of all, if you haven't read the first book in the HELL DIVERS trilogy, you definitely should so that you get the best reading experience. HELL DIVERS I was an awesome book and this one is just as good, if not better.Book II starts ten years after the first one ended so 260 years in the future after Earth was decimated by World War III. It's getting more difficult on a daily base for the airship Hive to stay in the air and its p The future of Earth looks bleak but the characters are kick a**First of all, if you haven't read the first book in the HELL DIVERS trilogy, you definitely should so that you get the best reading experience. HELL DIVERS I was an awesome book and this one is just as good, if not better.Book II starts ten years after the first one ended so 260 years in the future after Earth was decimated by World War III. It's getting more difficult on a daily base for the airship Hive to stay in the air and its passengers aren't faring well. A team of HELL DIVERS is sent to the surface tracking a radio transmission and also looking for much-needed supplies.Author Smith has quite a knack in creating worlds that are easy to imagine and scary as he**. And his characters are super. I love the character of Rodger "Dodger" Mintel in this offering. Funny with lots of heart.My only problem is the same one I always have with all of Smith's books - waiting for the next book in the series to be published.If you like dystopian, post-apocalyptic, adventure, science fiction or thriller fiction, you should appreciate this well-crafted tale.I received this book from Blackstone Publishing in exchange for my unbiased review. But I have also pre-ordered the book because this is definitely an author I want to support.
    more
Write a review